Grand Swiss Hotel
Grand Swiss Hotel
See all 29 photos

"Staff were polite"

NUR A.

|

May 14, 2018

Superior Double - Bed Grand Swiss Hotel
Superior Double - Bed
See all 29 photos
Lobby Grand Swiss Hotel
Lobby
See all 29 photos
Lobby Grand Swiss Hotel
Lobby
See all 29 photos
Interior view Grand Swiss Hotel
Interior view
See all 29 photos
See map Grand Swiss Hotel
See map
Excellent
Location
8.4
See all 29 photos Grand Swiss Hotel
See all 29 photos
Removed from saved list

Grand Swiss Hotel

Excellent location
- Inside city center
- What's nearby?
Very good
From 463 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10
Very good value for money
7.7
Recommended by 84% of guests
Value for money7.7
Location rating8.4
Nearest airportPenang International Airport (PEN)
Distance to airport14.9 km
  • 720 meters to public transportation

  • Located in heart of Penang

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Air conditioning

Room choices
This property is in high demand!Last booked 7 hours ago | 8 travelers are looking at this property right now
Superior Twin
Superior Twin
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Double
Superior Double
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Single
Superior Single
...
  • Non-smoking
  • Shower
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Single
Deluxe Single
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Grand Swiss Hotel?

    What people love about the property

    • "Clean, comfortable, and good location."

      Adam

      |

      February 18, 2018

    • "Clean, good location, staff friendly."

      Amy

      |

      December 7, 2017

    • "Location is good, walkable distance to places i need."

      wenny

      |

      November 22, 2017

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Grand Swiss Hotel

    More about Grand Swiss Hotel

    "The hotel was small, cozy and clean."

    Zahidah

    |

    February 23, 2018

    An overview

    Show more

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What they offer

    "Very basic stay in a very good location."

    Kim F.

    |

    April 11, 2018

    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show more

    Announcements

    From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

    Real reviews from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (463)Booking.com Reviews (193)
    7.6
    /
    10
    Cleanliness7.6
    Facilities6.7
    Location8.4
    Room comfort and quality7.0
    Service7.6
    Value for money7.7
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    All languages
    All guests (463)
    All room types
    Showing 215 verified guest comments
    12345
    7.2
    Very good
    Juliana from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
    Near with Chulia Street ”
    Everything is fair enough. Water dispenser can be found at the ground floor, hair dryer can be requested from the reception counter. Housekeeping service is good and the housekeeper is professional. Was staying in room 120, the aircond is functioning well! Only the sound proof is very bad but it didn't cause us any big problems :)
    Reviewed November 07, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Shrivatsan from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
    Perfect Location for George Town ”
    Lots of facilities and amenities near by.Traveling was convenient as well
    Reviewed November 04, 2018
    6.0
    Yew from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
    Above average”
    room are small, the double bed is basically merging of 2 single bed, location is good, but parking limited
    Reviewed November 03, 2018
    4.8
    christopher from Thailand
    Solo traveler
    Superior Single
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
    Good a/c”
    Lots of small pubs near by if that's what you like. Many places to eat, mostly Chinese. Ten minute walk to Little India.
    Reviewed November 03, 2018
    7.2
    Very good
    Kelven
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 4 nights in October 2018
    Not bad ”
    The stay and facilities are not bad. It’s just that it’s smaller than I thought and it’s not as sound proof. I was awaken every morning by the sound of others or cars. If they could do something about it, it will be great. Overall it’s not a bad place for stay as location are quite strategic.
    Reviewed November 02, 2018
    Dear Kelven, Thank you for having chosen to stay at Grand Swiss Hotel and for providing a rate and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn based on your feedback that you had encountered an inconvenience during your check- in. We truly apologize that the incident had occurred due to an unexpected mishap in the system. We regard each feedback from all of our Guests as an opportunity to improve. Rest assured that we will have your feedback shared to the respective team members and we had taken serious note on the issues that you had mentioned and we will have the issue to be sorted out expeditiously. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Ritha, Asst Manager
    Responded November 02, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    2.0
    wei from Malaysia
    Group
    Superior Twin
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
    bad service”
    bad service
    Reviewed October 29, 2018
    Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for having chosen to stay at Grand Swiss Hoteland for providing a rate and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn based on your feedback that you had encountered an inconvenience during your check- in. We truly apologize that the incident had occurred due to an unexpected mishap in the system. We regard each feedback from all of our Guests as an opportunity to improve. Rest assured that we will have your feedback shared to the respective team members and we had taken serious note on the issues that you had mentioned and we will have the issue to be sorted out expeditiously. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Ritha, Asst. Manager
    Responded November 02, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    2.0
    wei from Malaysia
    Group
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
    bad hotel service”
    when booking, im choosing to pay at hotel counter, and i also had mention the time check in at afternoon 5-6, but at the same day early morning, they charge my credit card for 1 night, when check in the staff said can refund n pay cash at counter, total i had booked for 1 room 2 nights which check in at 25th and check out at 27th, and 3 rooms for check in at 27th and 29th, but at at midnight 4am at 27th, they charge to credit card for another 3 rooms fees. Will not come back again to this hotel
    Reviewed October 29, 2018
    Dear Wei, Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the problems that you encountered during your last stay. This is not the type of review that we like to see. Let me make it clear from our side that it is our hotel policy to charge one night of their stay to secure the booking from the credit card provided. But the transaction will be voided if the guest prefer to pay in cash upon check in, without any extra charges. We regard each feedback from all of our Guests as an opportunity to improve. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Ritha, Asst. Manager
    Responded November 02, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Vincent from Singapore
    Group
    Superior Double
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
    More can be done to lower the noise level”
    Room is very basic (I booked a superior single and the toilet/shower is the smallest I have ever had in all my years of travel) in a very good location, within walking distances to most places. I struggled a little with deciding to choose whether I will recommend this to a friend. We stay 3 nights. The 1st night was horrible with big group of noisy guest who slept late and woke up early. The next 2 nights were peaceful and quiet. I must commend on the day shift staff who was very polite, knowledgeable and quick to attend to your needs. I felt the night shift staff could do more to ensure that guests keep their volume to the lowest. What I really like is the provision of hot and cold drinking water dispenser and a flask in each room, helping us all in saving the environment not having to buy bottled water. Kudos to that. Maybe next up is to install soap dispenser in each room so as to minimise the need to provide 1 time use soap.
    Reviewed October 24, 2018
    Thank you for your review and we appreciate your detailed feedback. We are dissappointed your first night at Grand Swiss were unpleasant due to a large tourist group. We are very concerned about noise and unruly behaviour of our guest however we need your cooperation to report to our Front Desk Staff which is available 24/7 to assist you on these matters. We have a security staff on call for the whole night and any complaint from the guest will be treated with utmost urgency. Have you approached our Front Desk Staff to voice your concern? Thank you for your suggestion and we will look into this matter accordingly. Anhar / Front Office
    Responded October 26, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Tan from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Superior Single
    Stayed 1 night in October 2018
    Nice clean and no frills.”
    Great value for money. Good location, free parking.
    Reviewed October 22, 2018
    Thank you for your review and we look forward to see you again soon. Anhar / Front Office
    Responded October 26, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    7.2
    Very good
    Lee from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
    The staff is very accommodating but the room is small and the walls are thin ”
    We were given a room just next to the staircase and the footsteps are really loud at outside whenever people is going to upper floor. My room has a pillar near the bed and I did get knock a few times while climbing up to my bed or during sleeping. The bed is too soft and low while the water heater is not hot enough for 2 nights I had booked there. But I was sick and the staff kindly guide me to the nearest panel clinic for medicine. For that I am thankful. Location wise is ok as food can be easily accessible just behind the hotel.
    Reviewed October 21, 2018
    Dear Lee, Thank you for providing a rate and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn based on your feedback that you had encountered an inconvenience during your check- in. We truly apologize that the incident had occurred due to an unexpected mishap in the system. We regard each feedback from all of our Guests as an opportunity to improve. Rest assured that we will have your feedback shared to the respective team members and we had taken serious note on the issues that you had mentioned and we will have the issue to be sorted out expeditiously. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Ritha, Asst Manager
    Responded October 28, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    3.2
    UMADEVI from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 1 night in September 2018
    Worst trip ever”
    Air conditioning not working.. The room not occupied with cup, hot water even a hair dryer.. Only value for money.. The hotel oni have a bed and bathroom.. Window cant open.. Location not so good.. I will not recommend for couple or family for stay for longer...and no soundproof at all.. Pls management take note of all this.. Pls provide us some basic things that needed.. I jus search for groceries shop only for buy some glass n coffee.. Not worthy trip... Really sad for choosing tis kind of hotel.. And guys pls aware of hotel picture shown..
    Reviewed September 26, 2018
    Dear Ms Uma, Very sorry for the bad experience happened to you while staying with us. Apologist. By the way, all that you mentioned above are all available upon request. We do not provide drinks in the room as we serve complimentary coffee/tea from 12noon to 6.00pm at our Coffee Garden and water dispenser is available on every floor for our guest to have as much as they want for both hot and cold water. Flask and water glass are provided in the room. Hairdryer, is available upon request to the Front Desk as we have limited pieces. All our windows are sealed and cold not be opened is due to the worrying amount of mosquitoes around our hotel premise. About location, we are on the center of Georgetown which is very convenient for most of the tourist attractions in Heritage Areas. Public transports and eateries shops are conveniently available nearby. Hope all this will convince you to have you again in Grand Swiss Hotel. Best regards, Ritha, Asst Manager
    Show more
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Lazarus from Malaysia
    Group
    Superior Twin
    Stayed 1 night in August 2018
    Heritage style”
    simple but compact hotel. rooms are a bit too small.
    Reviewed September 25, 2018
    Dear Lazarus, Thank you for the feedback. Wish to have you again in Grand Swiss Hotel to serve you even better. Best regards, Ritha, Asst Manager
    Responded October 09, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Aina from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
    just nice”
    a good hotel for a short vacay. only problem is cant be find in waze. hope they can update for convenience. will comeback again next time.
    Reviewed September 18, 2018
    Dear Aina, Thank you for the great feedback. Yes we are still working on to fix the problem in Waze. Hope that can be solved sooner as possible. Hope to see have you again in our Grand Swiss Hotel! Best regards, Ritha, Asst Manager
    Responded October 09, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Leslie from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Single
    Stayed 1 night in September 2018
    Excellent”
    Very reasonably priced. The lighting in the room is good, the room is extremely clean 10/10
    Reviewed September 18, 2018
    Dear Leslie, Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. Please do spread your words and recommend your friends and relatives to stay with us. We wish to have you again in our Grand Swiss Hotel! Best regards, Ritha, Asst Manager
    Responded October 09, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    7.2
    Very good
    Yong from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 1 night in September 2018
    Great Budget Hotel”
    Great Budget Hotel but ants everywhere :(
    Reviewed September 12, 2018
    Dear Yong, Thank you for the feedback. And we are very sorry for the ants problem. We are working on the issue and hope will be solved as soonest the possible. we are looking forward to have you again in our Grand Swiss Hotel! Best regards, Ritha, Asst. Manager
    Responded October 09, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    helen from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Superior Double
    Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
    Value for money”
    Wonderful and great location, walkable distance to tourist spot. Highly recommended to everyone.
    Reviewed September 12, 2018
    Dear Helen, Thank you for the wonderful review and ranking. Please do recommend to stay with us among your friends and relatives, that would be very much appreciated. We are looking forward to have you again in our Grand Swiss Hotel!. Best regards, Ritha, Asst. Manager
    Responded October 09, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    RENDY from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 1 night in June 2018
    Exceptional”
    good
    Reviewed September 04, 2018
    Dear Rendy, Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to have you again at our hotel soon. Anhar / Front Office
    Responded September 11, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    RENDY from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Superior Double
    Stayed 1 night in July 2018
    Exceptional”
    The room was nice and clean,nothing to complain...this my third time stay here.
    Reviewed September 04, 2018
    Dear Rendy, Thank you for review and we look forward to have you again at our hotel soon. Anhar / Front Office
    Responded September 11, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Nurbahiyyah from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
    Exceptional”
    The room was ok, cleanliness is also fine. Location is a bit hard as it is in between buildings. The sign is also hard to see as there are a lot of others too. The makeshift table under the tv was a bit loose. Overall the stay was nice.
    Reviewed September 04, 2018
    Dear Norbahiyyah, Thank you for your review and we will improve on the matters that you have mentioned. Kindly be advised that we have a technician 24/7 in our hotel who will assist you in any technical misfortunes that you have encountered. Have you called our Front Desk Counter which is available 24/7 to rectify this situation? If you had, we would have provide you with an alternative solution. Regards. Anhar / Front Office
    Responded September 11, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    5.6
    Aravind from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Double
    Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
    Above average”
    Pros: Great location, value for money, and general cleanliness alright Cons: the mattress had bed bugs, and the ground floor room had lots of ants (though we didn't throw our food waste in the room)
    Reviewed September 02, 2018
    Dear Aravind, Thank you for your review and we regret that your stay has been an unpleasant one. Have you approached our Front Desk counter to escalate your complaint? If you had done that, we would have avoided this whole incident and provided you with another room. Bed bugs are major enemy to hotelier and and report from the guest regarding this will be treated with utmost urgency and attention. Further action will be taken the next morning and we would definitely move the person from the infected area and provide alternative solution to this problem. Regards. Anhar / Front Office
    Responded September 11, 2018
    Grand Swiss Hotel
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss