Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 208 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

John from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Nice hotel with a nicer staff.
Staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Very peaceful settings.
The staff is very helpful and nice. The hotel is a traditional Balinese compound and has a very peaceful feel. There is a lovely pool towards the back. The included breakfast was very good.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Gokce from Turkey
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
“Everything is good excluding 3 things...”
it looks like a temple with really huge and nice garden, stuff very nice
when we got there, simply we said wow cuz it looks like a temple with really huge and nice garden. when we arrived there, we got our welcome drinks. gold bintang beers… it was really good after long trip there is a small pool for fish that makes u relax when u watch them. staff was really cute, gentle and friendly. every night they asked us what we wanna eat next morning for breakfast. you just simply choose from the menu (as i remember there were 3 options: continental, american and indonesian) and next day u see it is done already. the very best thing is you can choose where you wanna eat your breakfast. there is small place in the garden if you want u can eat ur breakfast over there or you can take your breakfast at your own balcony !!! it is completely adorable... they prepare your breakfast and bring them to your balcony. when everything is ready, you hear ` good morning, your breakfast ready` :) it was just perfect for me. when u eat ur breakfast, you also enjoy great forest view. may be this is only one thing i will never forget about… you don’t need to tell anyone to clean your room. every day they arrange everything. gusda is very cute guy. whenever we asked sth or needed help, he helped us. the most important thing he is really cute and always smiles. if you need driver, he can also arrange it for you. i can say 3 negative things about gunung merta --- bed sheets and towels smell… i don’t say they are dirty, may be because of the humidity but even in sea sides of bali i didn’t experience this. so in my opinion they need they need to take care of it… --- bathroom is not clean. i highly recommend they need to clean it regularly with powerful detergents. and they don’t put shampoo. just very small soap… --- they need wash curtains and mosquito netting regularly...
Reviewed March 06, 2013

Jessica from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 11 nights in February 2013
Exotic but comfortable
good breakfast, comfortable bed, very friendly staff, felt very safe, beautiful gardens and view, pool
i stayed at gunung merta for 10 days while i was in ubud. it's not a luxury hotel in some obvious ways: a small fan but not air conditioning, open air roof. but i found these features a welcome part of my bali experience. it's almost essential to experience bali in this way, especially if you are travelling alone or on a budget. i was actually very comfortable in my room with just the fan as long as i was on my bed and had the fan pointed in my direction. i could also open the balcony door and front door for a nice cross breeze. i didn't find mosquitoes a problem even with the open air roof because they provided mosquito coil every evening at turn down service. my room was spacious and had a nice balcony with a view. there was the occasional gecko on my wall, but i found that a charming part of being in bali. i also heard ceremonial drum music in the distance every night between 7:30 and 8:30. i guess a lot of people would not yet be in their room for the night at this time. there was a refrigerator in my room which was very useful.
Reviewed March 04, 2013

Thien from Vietnam
Group
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
the bungalow have nice garden
quite
It takes about 15mns to walk to main street from here. The bungalow have very nice and peaceful garden though the room is very old. Staffs are also helpful and friendly that waited for me every night to ask what did I want for breakfast. It remind me my mom lol. They also didn't charge me for all the phone calls I made.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Kaixin from China
Group
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
great location with lots mosquitos
We booked one room through agoda. Then, my family needs addtional room. We were charged more than double of the price as my family members didn't speak english. I personally think it is not very nice experience like this.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Scott from United States
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in January 2013
Nice e bungalows with a lovely young staff
Bungalows with two floors, comfortable beds, great breakfast. Coffee and tea all day
We had a great stay here. Very nice place. It's away from the main streets but easily walkable within 10 minutes. Wifi is not great and didn't work half the time we were there. Staff doesn't speak English, but they were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was great. You could choose between Indonesian and American breakfasts.also there are a lot of bus that hang around this place but they didn't bother us much
Reviewed January 25, 2013

James from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Cheap with lizards, spiders and ants etc
Very friendly staff
We didn't really enjoy this place too much as the bathroom was really not too great. The door was rusty and there were many gaps in the room so that mosquitos and other insects can come in. We had a few gecko droppings in our room as well. However, the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was nice.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Emer from Ireland
Group
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
walking distance too town
breakfast, balcony, greenery
nice little comminglement of buildings with lovely garden and balconys out the back of the guest rooms. the room was clean, we had a fan in the room which was fine for keeping us cool without air con. dvd player available if you ask them which was nice for a change. the town is literally spoiled for choice with great restaurants and bars.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Ivy from Malaysia
Group
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Nice garden and host but old rooms
Very nice gardens, Good service. Host is very easy going and friendly.
Rent a scooter and can go around Ubud Central and nearby places such as Sukawati(best to buy souvenirs), Kegenungan Waterfall etc.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Laura from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Beautiful, peaceful place
Lovely gardens, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, big rooms with nice view
I stayed here for 5 nights and could easily have stayed for longer. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are all away from the road so you don't hear any sounds. The room was really big with plenty of cupboard space, and nicely decorated. The balcony was really big with lovely view and a place to dry clothes. The included breakfast was really nice, with a few different options. The mee goreng was the nicest I had anywhere in Bali! The staff are really friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. Although its a little way out, its only about a 10-15 min walk to the main part of town. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, as well as a supermarket across the street.
Reviewed November 19, 2012


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: