Book Now: Gunung Merta Bungalows

Very good
From 241 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (241)Booking.com Reviews (219)
7.8
Very good
From 241 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.1
Facilities7.4
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.2
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Français
日本語
more
Room type
Garden View Bungalow
Rice Field View
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 230 verified guest comments
7.0
Very good
Stephen from United States
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Nice and quiet once you get beyond their gates.”
Breakfast, the layout of the place and how quiet it was.
We enjoyed our stay, staff was friendly and helpful.
Reviewed June 25, 2015
5.7
Joao from Brazil
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Good and bad things ”
Breakfast, architecture and swimming pool
I had a good stay in Ubud, but many things at Gunung Merta made me feel bad about the hotel. Good things: - Breakfast was awesome - The architecture of the family quarter is very beautiful. Beautiful pool with flowers and ponds around the guest quarter Bad things: - The room was dirty and old. The cleaning staff was not diligent, upper room full of spider webs, swept dirt under the bed, bathroom has never been properly scrubbed, etc. Also they didnt inform that upper windows have no glass nor nets - Seller come EVERY morning around breakfast to sell art and disturb the guests. The prices they present are 10x what it is really worth, and I caught one salesperson trying to sneek into my room.
Reviewed May 31, 2015
8.0
Excellent
paulus from Indonesia
Family with young children
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
delicious "nasi gorengbreakfast”
delicious breakfast, nice view from 2nd floor room
need more improvement about room cleaness
Reviewed March 26, 2015
7.3
Very good
Doan from Vietnam
Family with young children
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Nice bungalow with accepted price”
Nice place; large room; accepted price
We stayed 2 days. It is a nice bungalow with a great garden. Everything looks fresh and green. However, room was a little bit damp, breakfast was not good. No phone in the room.
Reviewed March 13, 2015
6.0
Laura from Canada
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Ant infested, loud music, but great pool”
Pool, bed, view
Our stay overall was mediocre. The bathroom was by far the worst we have seen in our entire 4 month stay in SE Asia. There were hundreds of ants infesting it daily which was extremely gross. The bed was very comfortable though which we thought would give us a great sleep however there was some kind of Balinese music, which we wouldn't consider music as it was one tune over and over that sounded like someone banging on pots and pans that started at 7pm and continued through until 1am each night. This was definitely disappointing. The bugs that make some ringing noise were also extremely loud which made for early riding around 5am. We slept with ear plugs every night which hardly drowned out the sound. The staff was amazing though, and the pool was great. Location is kinda far for anyone that wants restaurants or to be close to the centre of town. Wouldn't stay again simply because of the noise but it was an experience!
Reviewed March 10, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Aaron from United States
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Quintessential Balinese garden setting”
The home and gardens, the made to order breakfast with options, that POOL!
This place feels like Bali should. You are located in private home grounds among much greenery. The rooms are showing their age, especially the bathrooms. Yet the hot water works good. Fans could be upgraded, a bit dark. What makes this place stick out is the gorgeous pool that is kept very clean along with the gardens throughout the property. The family is kind yet gives you privacy. A bit of a walk to the main part of Ubud.
Reviewed February 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Deborah from New Zealand
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 10 nights in December 2014
Great Hotel”
The service, the pool and the breakfasts.
Great value for money. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. Would definitely return.
Reviewed December 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Nurhafizah from Singapore
Group
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Satisfying place”
Staff, location, cleanliness
Staff were friendly and attentive.
Reviewed November 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ratna from India
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Good home stay with great ambience and atmosphere”
Ambience, Comfort and the Home atmosphere
5 nights
Reviewed October 17, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ann from Ireland
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Value for Money”
quiet, Nice Surroundings, Nice Swimming Pool, Close to Centre
I highly recumbent Gunung Merta. You feel like you are in the middle of the country even though it's close to town. It's opposite a large supermarket and restaurants are only 10 mites walk away. The staff are friendly even tit not all of them speak English. The breakfast was very good, much better than other more expensive paces I've stayed.
Reviewed September 15, 2014
7.3
Very good
barbara from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Almost awesome but...”
Service was great. View from room balcony amazing. Close to coffee shop and grocery store.
It was almost awesome. It was a great place, especially at this price. Clean enough, good enough, pretty good breakfast, service was awesome. Only one huge negative. Every night once it got dark-- all kinds of bugs and things took over my bathroom. Hundreds of huge black ants everywhere and a few lizards. The first night I asked a staff member to lock the windows closed and they gladly did. But it turned out they were coming through holes in the ceiling. I so want to give this place a great review, unfortunately this super freaked me out.
Reviewed September 09, 2014
7.0
Very good
Monika from Slovakia
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Medium”
staff, bed, balcony
We spent there only one night, we came to the bungalow in the evening and left early in the morning. Staff were really kind and nice, helped us arrange breakfast even before starting the official breakfast time (7-10.00). We loved the room, we had something like the second floor terrace. Bathroom wasn't in a good condition, but the bungalow is not expensive, so we didn't expect it to be awesome. There was also a nice pool but we didn't have time to try it.Definitelly a good stay.
Reviewed August 01, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Rachel from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Excellent value”
Grounds, breakfast pool
The 'bungalows' are set amid a beautiful garden hidden back from the street. Our room was a good size, with balcony looking out back into tropical jungle. All of the staff were pleasant, the pool was lovely and very clean and the breakfast excellent. The bathrooms could be nicer but it was clean enough and had toiletries. Having drinking water and fruit in the room was a nice touch but it was disappointing that these were not replenished, we were given more bottled water but had to ask each day for it... It would make sense to simply replace it in the fridge when the room is cleaned, this would be more useful than changing the towels each day which was really not necessary... Otherwise though we really enjoyed out 4 days there, a very relaxing place and the best-value place we have stayed during a 10-month tour of Asia in terms of cleanliness, facilities, service and the quality of included breakfast.
Reviewed July 09, 2014
6.3
Good
Walter from Austria
Family with young children
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
as a ONS”
easy to find, central located, english spoken staff
was just for one Night its very much recommendable. For longer we would not stay.
Reviewed July 07, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
HSIU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
it's excellent and convirnt”
close to the mountain,nice swimming pool , good staff
it's good quality hotel,nice view and good decoration,room is clean and beautiful. like living in the castle. the breakfast is luxurious,staff is super nice,and the swimming is good. i definitly will live here when i got bali again.
Reviewed April 23, 2014
6.0
Wandrille from France
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
good, relaxing”
clean, cheap, quiet
everything was ok, very quiet and laid back atmosphere. family business well managed. Nice swimming pool.
Reviewed April 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Francisco from Canada
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Very relaxing stay in a friendly atmosphere.”
Friendly staff. Very nice garden. Relaxing place.
I enjoyed my stay at Gunung Merta. Thanks to the very friendly and family oriented atmosphere. It was the place I was looking for in Ubod. Great value for your money!
Reviewed April 04, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Sami from Finland
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Maybe the best room I have ever slept in”
Room basically outside, connection to nature, awesome staff
Absolutely fantastic. Room has walls up to like 2 meters or less and after that open space until the roof. I was a tiny bit shocked at first, but loved it for every moment after that. Being in the open air is great since the temperature in Ubud is a bit cooler, no need for AC. Mosquito net for the bed, and the few geckos take care of most of the bugs anyway. Room has warm water. The hotel area is small but absolutely beautiful. Staff is super nice. No motorbike rental but just ask the employees and they will get someone to bring you a bike, good experience, no problems for me at least. Only negative thing is that the rice field view name is misleading, there is somekind of field but not the kind you would expect.
Reviewed March 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Glenda from United States
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Good location. Attentive staff. Beautiful gardens.”
Great price. Lovely gardens. Friendly and helpful staff.
We enjoyed our stay in this traditional Balinese family compound. The staff is wonderful! Very attentive and helpful. The room is rustic but clean so we enjoyed it. We had a top floor with lovely balcony. It is a 20 minute walk to the traditional market and many local restaurants. We also rented a spotter for 69,000 a day and explored the area. Will definitely return here!
Reviewed February 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
emily from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
beautiful gardens and pool. We had a pleasant stay”
gardens, pool, staff
Good budget hotel. The gardens are beautiful and the hotel is very quiet and lovely. The staff was friendly and helpful, although their English was not great. Our room looked over a local river and we were able to watch locals go on their way. The bathrooms were a little dingy. The hotel is a 30 minute walk to the center of Ubud. The walk is not that nice but you could easily get a taxi.
Reviewed February 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Glenda from United States
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Quaint and rustic. Very quiet. Beautiful grounds.”
Excellent price. Helpful staff. Close to shopping.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to stay here again. Staying in a traditional family compound was a great experience and we loved our room! It is a 20 minute walk to the traditional market and there are many spas and restaurants nearby. The staff are very helpful and eager to please.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
zuleika from Brazil
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Peaceful and beautiful surroundings”
Balinese style, room view and friendly owners and staff
It was excellent and very rewarding considering the price.
Reviewed February 18, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
great value and lovely staff”
staff, price and gardens
It was fantastic value and the view, gardens and pool were fantastic. The staff were amazing, cant recommend enough.
Reviewed February 18, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
amy from Canada
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
lovely family, lovely place”
the delicious breakfasts!, the quiet location, the people - such great staff
I have not been in Bali and surrounding islands for two weeks and have not had any food as beautiful and delicious as the included breakfast at Gunung Merta. The family and staff are beyond lovely and so helpful and the best service I have had in all of indonesia. I would highly recommend staying here and only left after three nights because they were booked up. The location is a little outside of the main hub but the walking is nice and the cheap transport is always availble. I walked and enjoyed it.
Reviewed February 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Michelle from Canada
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Great staff who went above and beyond”
The staff were extremely attentive, good value for money, not far from main road.
Great. Welcome drink upon arrival. Easy checkin. Friendly staff - when we came home at night we found all of our lights to have been turned on and the incense was lit. At first, we thought this was odd, but actually came to appreciate the extra care. As well, shortly after we would arrive to our room at night, the staff would knock on our door and get our order for breakfast the following morning (which was delicious and filling). Very beautiful grounds as well - they definitely take pride in their place. Overall, highly recommend. The only issue we had was that the wifi often cut in and out, but not the end of the world when you're on holiday.
Reviewed December 29, 2013
8.0
Excellent
AG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Very nice, value for money, good location.”
Location, room rate, comfortable room.
The room was comfortable, with nice bed and balcony. The pool was great. The staff (especially pak Wayan) was very friendly, helpful and efficient. I had a good time staying there.
Reviewed November 11, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Kerri from United Kingdom
Group
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Best accommodation in 8 months travelling!”
Friendly Staff, Lovely room with a view, great pool
We absolutely loved our stay here! My boyfriend and I have been travelling Asia for 8 months and this has been the best place we've stayed so far- taking into account the beautiful peaceful garden, the lovely huge clean room, the amazing green views, the nice clean pool and of course the amazingly friendly staff. My parents joined us on this part of our travels and their standards are higher than ours (we've got used to slumming it) and they were equally as impressed as us. It is luxury accomodation on a backpacker (maybe flashpacker) budget! On arrival we were told that they had overbooked due to a problem with Agoda, but after a welcome drink and friendly apologies we were moved to another (more expensive) hotel for one night- this was no problem as it was a genuine mistake and they were very apologetic and as they drove us to the other hotel it was no problem for us. Although the other hotel was technically an upgrade as it was more expensive (it was very nice too) we actually still preferred Gunung Merta and returned the next day for an enjoyable 4 nights (again, they picked us up for no charge). The rooms were a little rough around the edges, but in the nicest possible way which just added to the character of the place. the views from the balcony were beautiful- hard to believe we were so central in busy Ubud! It was a 10 minute walk into the centre, not too far but far enough for peace and quiet. The best part was the lovely staff- so welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them and they always welcomed us with a smile. We felt like part of the family by the end of our stay and will definitely return here when we come back to Ubud.
Reviewed November 10, 2013
7.3
Very good
tamara from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in September 2013
Comfortable and close to nature.”
Attentive staff, nice swimming pool, away from hustle and bustle.
I stayed at the Gunung Merta bungalows and very much enjoyed my stay there. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The pool is nice to cool down and relax, perfect way to take a break from the hot weather.
Reviewed October 17, 2013
6.7
Good
ARMITHA from Indonesia
Group
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
large room, clean swimming pool, and comfortable”
large room, clean swimming pool, quite
I love this hotel, because the room is large and comfortable. The swimming pool is clean and located in front of my room. This hotel is in quiet location. Love that.
Reviewed September 25, 2013
6.7
Good
Patrick from Australia
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Nice place but NO Wifi for 3 days”
View from balcony, pool, breakfast
We were actively seeking hotels with pool and wifi so when we were daily told that there was no wifi we got a bit pissed off. With no wifi tv would've been good but only local channels. Breakfast was quite good and beer on the back balcony overlooking the greenery was real nice. Staff were great but no recompense offered for lack of wifi.
Reviewed September 20, 2013
6.0
Elizabeth from Singapore
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Simple, Value”
SImple, Value, Clean
It was pretty good and nice. Hotel is pretty clean, far away from town. Good fresh air. very basic rooms, but good for the price you pay.
Reviewed August 23, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
karen from Australia
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
very pleasant”
staff, food, location
only stayed 2 nights, basic accommodation with pleasant surroundings and very nice people to deal with
Reviewed August 21, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jenna from United States
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
A relaxing and peaceful stay. ”
The staff was incredibly attentive, the breakfast was delicious, and the gardens and accommodations were lovely.
I would highly recommend this hotel for the price. Our room was more like a two-story bungalow with two balconies, one with a view of the inner garden and the other with a view of the valley. The room included a refrigerator and T.V, which was a pleasant surprise. We walked to everything and did not even need to rent a bike. The breakfast selection was great, and you could even order in advance and have it ready at a certain time. Very charming and wonderful place to stay in Ubud.
Reviewed August 15, 2013
4.0
Caitlin from Australia
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Stay somewhere else”
The gardens were nice
We must have been given a bad room as we found our stay here not very comfortable at all - I'm even wondering if we checked in at the wrong hotel. Our room was clean and basic, but the bathroom was FILTHY. The room has very little privacy. The curtains were see through and the border around the top of the room was fly wire. We were unable to close the room off to the noise from surrounding temples. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that it was fully booked. The sheets had holes in them, the wifi didn't work in the rooms and the service at breakfast was pretty average. The bathroom was the dirtiest I have ever come across in my frequent travels to SE Asia. I felt dirtier after having a shower and one of the towels had a stain on it. We didn't use the pool, but it looked cleaner than our room. There were only two lounges which were being used at the time we wanted to go for a swim. Location was ok, but the temples on either side and the noise from the cock fights going on made it uncomfortable.
Reviewed August 14, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Julia from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
A lovely family run place to stay”
Friendly family, gardens and the pool
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Gunung Merta, the family who live there and therefore run the accommodation, are so welcoming and friendly, they really make you feel at home. I would definitely stay there again, the pool was lovely and the gardens beautiful. My only downside is the really loud chickens that seen to crow through most of the night....
Reviewed August 10, 2013
7.3
Very good
Pierre from Switzerland
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
Wonderful balinese garden”
nice atmosphere, affordable prices, friendly staff
The bungalows were built on land belonging to a local family and next to their own house. This made us feel like being the landlord's personal guests. Beautiful, typical Balinese architecture. The place is well located, about 15 minute walk to the central market of Ubud. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Magnificent garden, well kept, relaxing moments at the pool. Nice, big room. No aircon (we didn't really miss it, but beware of mosquitoes!). Bathrooms definitely need refreshing. All in one a very nice stay, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Reviewed August 07, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
premah from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
The best solo getaway”
stafffriendliness view price
Reviewed August 07, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Neil from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
A magical hotel”
Ambience, cultural, location
This was a magical hotel! Such a lovely feel! I was very impressed with the pool too! :)
Reviewed July 27, 2013
7.3
Very good
Cheryl from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Huge open air room, lovely views”
Good breakfast, close-ish to city, nice staff
The room was very nice - I stayed with my father and we requested an extra bed. There was a large king bed in the main area with a mosquito net and an additional mattress in the upstairs portion (I did not realize there was an upstairs when booking!) There were open windows at the top and a balcony with the view of wilderness. It was a little bit of a walk (15 minutes or so) to the main streets in Ubud. Overall, it was a very nice place - the staff was very friendly and spoke English well, breakfast was good. My only concern was mosquitoes because I am a walking target for the pests and the room being open air made me a bit nervous. However, I did use the mosquito net and was not bitten during the night, so perhaps my concern is unwarranted.
Reviewed July 16, 2013
6.0
Paula from Portugal
Group
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Bathroom not so clean and no internet working”
swimming pool, price, view
The internet was not working. The staff wasn´t always available. But the breakfast was good and it was only 10 min walking from the city center and major attractions
Reviewed July 14, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Christel from United States
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 6 nights in June 2013
Amazing beauty in an authentic Balinese compound. ”
Balinese family owned- Breakfast was delicious! The pool was charming and inviting. Staff was very attentive and professional. Spectacular setting among many gardens and Balinese architecture.
We loved our stay. We will certainly stay here again when we return to Ubud. Although the website says the poll I down the road, that must be out of date because there is a spectacular pool in the center of the compound. Also- it's clearly Balinese family owned. We were happy to support Balinese business owners in Ubud.
Reviewed July 09, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Chui-Ling from Canada
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Absolutely wonderful”
Gorgeous grounds and swimming pool, peacefulness and intimacy, friendly attentive staff
I stayed three days and would have happily stayed longer. Just simply a delightful retreat after three gruelling weeks in Indonesia. An oasis of calm and fantastic swimming pool.
Reviewed July 06, 2013
6.0
Junko from Japan
Couple
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
very quiet, nice view, but not clean”
design, cozy room, quiet
Should wash towels and lines properly. It smelled previous users'.
Reviewed July 01, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Talon from United States
Family with teens
Rice Field View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Nice surprise. Great room, staff, breakfast”
Breakfast, staff friendliness, location
Really enjoyed this hotel. We ended up extending our stay quite a bit. It's outside the city center craziness but still within easy walking distance of things. Super close to a grocery store, local restaurants. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Pool was a nice place to refresh yourself during the hot day. Room service rates are super reasonable. WiFi was good but very intermittent (typical to Ubud). Great with kids.
Reviewed June 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Kathryn from Canada
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in May 2013
Nice home stay ”
Beautiful garden, nice pool, friendly family
Reviewed June 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Yuhao from China
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Great staff and breakfast, some bugs”
Staff, breakfast, view
It was in general a decent experience. Nice and patient staff, great breakfast. There is a jungle behind my balcony so that was beautiful. But since its close to the nature, there were some bugs in the room including the bathroom. I had the mosquito curtain around the bed so I could sleep ok. Room was kind of dim and the desk was pretty small. Other than that everything was good. Great for nature lover!
Reviewed May 31, 2013
6.7
Good
zheng from Singapore
Family with young children
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Good experience to stay with family bungalows”
Friendly staff , quiet place , new swim pool
Reviewed May 01, 2013
7.3
Very good
Franziska from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
Beautiful mysterious garden and pool setting”
Garden, pool, quiet
The premises of Gunung Merta Bungalows are very pretty. You walk through the family coumpound behind ornamented walls with statues and a big, lush garden. It is like walking into another, mysterious world. It is all very well kept and clean. I have seen many of these homestays in Ubud and Gunung Merta was defenitely the prettiest and cleanest. The pool is also beautiful. Breakfast is good and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is a little ways to the center though, depending on where you want to go it is almost a good 20 mins walk (for example to Monkey Forest Sanctuary or Yoga Barn) and not just steps away as it says in the description. The garden view rooms are simple but nice. The verandah with view into the lush green jungle was pretty, the room spacious and clean. The bathroom is ok but rather old and simple, water pressure in the shower pretty bad. I dont know if this was only in my room, but the mattress had a strange smell. I didn't notice it right away, but when I did it was strong, musty or mouldy, and I was always glad when I got out of the room. Other than that I enjoyed my stay there and I would recommend the hotel.
Reviewed April 28, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Sander from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Rice Field View
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Great little home away from home”
Romantic rooms, small pool and views from the balcony
We stayed 3 days longer than planned as this little place is just hard to leave. There is no aircon in the room and they are not very luxurious in the western sence, but very romantic and well equipped. And what great views from the balcony of room nr 202! The rooms have high ceilings and are very airy. Liked the sleeping with sounds of jungle around me. Staff is very very sweet and helpfull, not all speak very well English tho.
Reviewed April 24, 2013
7.3
Very good
JENNA from France
Solo traveler
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Well located with an amazing view on the jungle”
Great breakfast, terrace with view on the jungle, nice traditionnal architecture
I loved my stay at Gunung Merta! The hotel facilities are superb, with traditional Balinese architecture and a nice swimming pool; my terrace had a beautiful view on the jungle and the room was quiet so the night was really pleasant (just one thing, the bathroom was acceptable but could be improved). It is also ideally located, close to Ubud’s main street but still in a quiet area. Special praise to the breakfast and the banana pancakes that were delicious! And also to the staff for its really good and friendly service.
Reviewed April 22, 2013