Excellent 8.7
Based on 35 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 35 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 9.3
  • Service 9.8
  • Value for money 9.3
  • Food and dining 7.1
Sort by

Tsuey from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed one night in November 2013
Beautiful cozy pension
Room design, quiet surrounding, fresh air
The pension is located quite far from city, and is inside forest, but the owner, mr moon pick us up at the nearest bus stop, expo part. We are surprise by the room because it is so beautiful! As if we are in the castle! The room is very big with kitchen, bathroom attached. Too bad that we only stayed for one day. One credit is that, I have lost my handphone in gyeongju and mr moon did not hesitate to help me call to police station to ask, and the next day he also brought me to police station and post office to report for the lost. I am very much appreciated for his kindness!!
Reviewed November 15, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Samantha from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Beautiful, peaceful stay
Cleanliness, friendly manager, spacious and well designed
Had an extremely comfortable stay here. Very pretty place with well designed rooms. Super friendly manager who always goes the extra mile for us. Close to nature. Definitely a memorable stay!
Reviewed October 21, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Bee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Serene and refreshing
Its location in a serene mountainous area, its gardens and the clean and comfortable room. Also, the friendliness of the owner, JM, who sent me and picked me up from the bus stop.
I enjoyed my stay tremendously because it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Eventhough it is far from the toursit attractions and other amenities, I feel it was worth the commute. However, to ensure that you get to see more of Gyeongju, you will need to stay at least 3 nights because of the extra travel time required. Also, it may be advisable to rent a car and do your own driving, which will save time. I would recommend the pension to anyone who wishes to relax and take a break from city life.
Reviewed June 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Peter from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Nice pension, but far from everything
Friendly owner, beautiful garden, large room
The pension is lovely. Each room has a different color scheme and has been lovingly decorated. The rooms are large with kitchenettes. We wished we had a car so that it would be easy to get around Gyeongju. Instead we had to ask the owner of the pension for rides to the bus stop, and we ended up spending a lot of time waiting for buses and riding all around. It was especially difficult when we were coming and going, as we had our luggage. The pension owner was kind and made us BBQ pork for dinner each night. Breakfast was included and it was basic: toast, a fried egg and cereal.
Reviewed May 08, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Ho from Hong Kong
Family with older children
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Well-designed houses surrounded by the nature
Scenery, staff, design
I went to Gyeongju for the Cherry Marathon and stayed at the pension for 2 nights. My mum and I took the walnut suite. The interior design is warm and classy and the pension itself is situated on a mountain, it's so nice to wake up in fresh air with birds humming outside. Staff are caring and can arrange pick-ups.
Reviewed April 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Xay from United Kingdom
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Absolutely perfect
too many to list
If you are going to Gyeongju this is the only place you need to consider staying at. We stayed here for 2 nights, and didn't want to leave. The location is away from the town centre however this to me is a plus point, the pension is located in the forest and is the most romantic, relaxing place I have ever stayed in. I have stayed in a number of 5 star hotels around the world but I can honestly say JY pension beats them all, I fell in love with the place within 5 minuets of arriving. The manager of the pension is very kind and provided us with fantastic service throughout our stay even offering to drive us to the bus stops and back late at night, a true gentleman. I cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful pension you have to stay in person to experience it fully, you will not regret it! 10/10!
Reviewed February 06, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

stewart from United Kingdom
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Fantastic hotel in a beautiful forest
Peace and quiet
We were originally going to stay for 2 nights but extended our stay. The owner is fantastic and will pick you up from the train/bus station. The area that the hotel is in is great for hiking. A great place to stay.
Reviewed November 16, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Jenny from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Lovely hotel with pesonal service from the owner
Quiet, quaint, clean in the midst of mountains
JM, the owner came to pick us (3 persons) up at the bus terminal. It was an half hour road trip to his place. The rooms are clean and pretty ala 'Laura Ashley'. Not having brought any food with us, JM prepared us a barbecue at KRW15000 per person, quite expensive by outside standards but a very good deal, given the warm and personal service from him. Breakfast can only be had after 9 am so for those who wish to start visiting early, breakfasting outside at the local 'starbucks' joints is an option. Autumn scenery at JY Pension is stunning.
Reviewed November 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Carey-Ann from South Africa
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Great getaway,HIGHLY recommende
Stunning pension, super facilities, helpful staff, great location
My sister and I received first class treatment at this pension. The pension is tucked away a little (in Gyeongju Nature Reserve) but it's so peaceful and a super getaway spot. It's nestled in the mountains and there are some great hiking trails to a lovely waterfall and famous Buddhist Temple. The owner picked us up from our bus stop and hen dropped us off at the bus station on our departure day. Definitely arrange that with the owners because they are really accommodating. Our little studio was very tastefully decorated with European touches and a lovely terrace looking out onto the mountains. We couldn't have asked for more! They also have a quaint little cafe with great coffee (and nice simple Western breakfasts!) This place really is a winner!
Reviewed October 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Edgardo from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Beautiful and relaxing!
Secluded and around nature area, very private and friendly staff
If you want to unwind and relax while being around nature, this is one of the best places to go in Gyeoungju. I really recomend this hotel. It's run by the owner. She knows English very well. It is a really nice place to stay in. It is kind of hard to get to the place, so I will recomend to use a GPS. It is located about 15 or 20 minutes from all the tourist attractions, but like I said iaf you want to relax this is the place. The hotel is not modern since it's an European style hotel. That is why I choose this hotel. It also has hiking trails around. We went and have fun around the main tourist attraction and then went to the hotel to have our private, quiet time. The best of both worlds!
Reviewed September 07, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: