Haka Lodge Queenstown
4 Share Mixed Dormitory Haka Lodge Queenstown
Lobby Haka Lodge Queenstown
Lobby Haka Lodge Queenstown
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list
8.6
Excellent
/10
(304 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.1
Exceptional
Location rating score
Exceptional location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Parking
FREE
  • The Bead Shop60 m
  • Queenstown Arts Centre70 m
  • Dart River Jet Safaris120 m
  • The Queenstown Bus Station130 m
  • Hetties Rock & Crystal Shop170 m
  • Double Decker Bus170 m
  • i-SITE Visitor Centre180 m
  • O'Connells Shopping Centre180 m
  • In The Pink190 m
  • Ivan Clarke Gallery190 m
  • Free Wi-Fi

    Haka Lodge Queenstown

    6 Henry Street, Queenstown City Center, Queenstown, New Zealand, 9300 - See map
    "The Haka Lodge is strategically located under 5 mins from the town centre which makes it super convenient to drop in to town for a meal or grab stu..."
    Jiun Y. - October 30, 2016
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 100% of guests
    Excellent cleanliness
    8.8 rating for cleanliness
    • 140 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of Queenstown

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Laundry service

    • Smoking area

    This property is in high demand!

    Last booked 2 hours ago

    Property ranking|Compared to 1,161 Queenstown properties
    See all rankings
    Value for money score
    8.6/10
    Location score
    9.1/10
    Review score - United States
    9.0/10
    Service score
    8.9/10
    Better than
    97
    %
    of Queenstown properties
    Better than
    97
    %
    of Queenstown properties
    Better than
    97
    %
    of Queenstown properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Queenstown properties
    Value for money8.6
    Distance to city center0.1 Km
    Location rating9.1
    Nearest airportQueenstown Airport (ZQN)
    Distance to airport6.1 km

    Rooms available at Haka Lodge Queenstown

    8.2
    Excellent
    Room comfort & quality
    4 Share Mixed Dormitory
    4 Share Mixed Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 4 m²/43 ft²
    • Garden view
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    One Bedroom Apartment
    One Bedroom Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Mountain view
    • 2 single beds and 1 queen b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Twin or Double
    Superior Twin or Double
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    • Mountain view
    • 2 single beds or 1 queen be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 4 m²/43 ft²
    • Garden view
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Economy Double
    Economy Double
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Garden view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double
    Double
    ...
    • Room size: 4 m²/43 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    Economy Double Room - Annex
    Economy Double Room - Annex
    ...
    • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Dormitory 2-Bed
    Dormitory 2-Bed
    ...
    • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
    • Mountain view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Double or Twin Room
    Superior Double or Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Shared bathroom
    Enter dates to see prices
    Economy Double Room
    Economy Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
    • Shared bathroom
    Enter dates to see prices

    What people love about Haka Lodge Queenstown

    • 9.6
      Exceptional

      "Highly recommend to others."

      Freyja

      |

      September 1, 2016

    • 9.2
      Exceptional
      Location

      "Location was excellent, just a short walk from shops in the city centre and Lake Wakatipu."

      Rachel

      |

      June 16, 2018

    • 8.4
      Excellent
      Location

      "Its situation in a pretty good location in the center of town."

      Johnathan

      |

      August 4, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Haka Lodge Queenstown

    More about Haka Lodge Queenstown

    6.4
    Good

    "Bed is very comfortable."

    Luis

    |

    November 26, 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    9.6
    Exceptional
    Staff 

    "Hostel was superbly clean, and the staff were really friendl..."

    Jasmine

    |

    December 26, 2018

    Read more reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Haka Lodge Queenstown from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (304)Booking.com Reviews (1082)
    8.6
    /
    10
    Cleanliness8.8
    Facilities8.2
    Location9.1
    Room comfort and quality8.2
    Service8.8
    Value for money8.6
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (111)
    8-9 Excellent (37)
    7-8 Very Good (44)
    6-7 Good (11)
    <6 Below Expectation (15)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (51)
    Jun - Aug (54)
    Sep - Nov (60)
    Dec - Feb (53)
    All guests (304)
    All room types
    All languages

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 218 verified guest comments
    12345
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Tomasz from United States
    Solo traveler
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

    Excellent hostel”

    Excellent hostel. Great location and staff. I liked the curtains for privacy on the beds. The only issue would be that the six bunk room I was in would get quite crowded as there wasn't much space. That said, overall this is an excellent hostel.

    Reviewed May 04, 2019

    Kia Ora Tomasz! Thank you for leaving us a great review. We are stoked to hear that you liked our staff, the location and our facilities. It's true that our rooms are not the biggest, but Queenstown has so much to offer that we don't expect our guests to spend a lot of time in the room except to sleep ;) We hope you had an amazing time in Queenstown and wish you safe onward travels. Kind regards, Anne

    Responded May 05, 2019
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Jasmine from Singapore
    Couple
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

    Awesome hostel”

    Location is ideal if you want to be close town, but still have some peace and quiet. Hostel was superbly clean, and the staff were really friendly. There are lockers under the bed, which we appreciated. And the bunk bed curtains gave us some privacy. Our only gripe would be that the rooms were a little bit of a squeeze, but that’s about it.

    Reviewed December 26, 2018

    Kia ora Jasmine! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodge very clean and our staff really friendly. We wish you safe onward travels and hope we'll get to welcome you again. Kind regards, Anne

    Responded December 26, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Lauren from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Economy Double
    Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

    Best hostel I've ever stayed in”

    Love this place and will stay again on my next Queenstown visit. The location is excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. And it is so clean! The beds were comfy and there was a TV in my room with DVDs in the kitchen to borrow. The communal areas were very well kept and the bathroom even had nice products for use in case you forgot anything.

    Reviewed November 29, 2018

    Kia ora Lauren! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again :) Kind regards, Anne

    Responded December 01, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Joo from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    Economy Double
    Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

    Solo traveller”

    Very good value for money. The only concern is the first come first serve parking. I was glad to have the only 5 spots available and did not drive out until I check out three nights later. Anne, whom I think is the manager was most helpful , friendly and accommodating. I had some trouble with my wifi connection and she sort it out with a big smile :-) All in all, a very pleasant stay ! Congrats and keep up the great work !

    Reviewed April 19, 2019

    Kia Ora Joo! Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that I was able to contribute to your great experience. It was lovely to have you and I hope we get to welcome you again. Best wishes, Anne

    Responded April 24, 2019
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Tan from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Twin or Double
    Stayed 1 night in August 2018

    Nice stay !”

    Good location as it’s only few mins walking distance to market and shops nearby. Affordable price for backpackers and friendly staff there. Clean shared toilet and the room is smell really good. We enjoyed the stay here.

    Reviewed August 07, 2018

    Kia ora Tan! Wow, 10 out of 10, you just made our day! :) Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and our facilities clean. Safe travels and we hope we'll get to welcome you again.

    Responded August 11, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    9.2
    Exceptional
    leng from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Twin or Double
    Stayed 6 nights in June 2018

    Comfortable bed and clean toilet with free hand towels and floor towels”

    I was here for a week and it is by far the most clean hostel i’ve stayed and i love the heater and the location and the toilet for Haka Lodge. I was given room 12 and it is right next to the kitchen so banging and loud shoutings and chattings and laughter were heard till late night but it is a happy warm experience and i have no complaint for that because u sleep very late anyways. The toilet has hot water both at the wash basin and the shower and dry wc area inside the toilet with free hair dryer and free hair straightener and free hand towels and free floor towels are super heart warming as alot of hostel doesnt provide them. The wc and kitchen is super clean and made me feel like home. I love Haka lodge and will definitely stay here again when i visit queenstown

    Reviewed June 25, 2018

    Kia ora Leng! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are stoked to hear that you found our facilities very clean and liked the amenities we provide. We know that this building has quite thin walls and therefor we close the kitchens and ask everyone to keep the noise to an absolute minimum after 10.30pm. It was great to have you here and we hope we'll get to welcome you again!

    Responded June 27, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    10.0
    Exceptional
    CHEE from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    Superior Twin or Double
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

    Good Location”

    It was my first time stay in lodge which need to share bathroom with public. But the bathroom is clean. Staff is good. The most important is the hotel is walking distance to many restaurant and shop nearby.

    Reviewed May 30, 2018

    Kia ora Chee! Wow, thank you so much for this amazing review. We are stoked to hear that you found our bathrooms clean and our staff friendly and hope you had a great time in Queenstown. All the best and safe travels :)

    Responded June 01, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    8.8
    Excellent
    adriana from United States
    Solo traveler
    4 Share Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

    Wonderful hostel”

    After staying in a party hostel this was a perfect break. Quiet, not a lot going on. Location is 2 min walk since town small. Staff was good. Stayed in 4 person dorm. Small but cozy. Lots of outlets. Laundry. 2 kitchens. Wifi was decent. Everything kept very clean. Bathrooms throughout hostel and not many so not perfect but was never too long of a wait. Common area with tv and movies. Outside seating area. Small but nice hostel.

    Reviewed February 19, 2017
    9.6
    Exceptional
    LI from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Twin or Double
    Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

    Central location and nice stay”

    We stay double room and the room is very clean and bed is comfortable... Near 4 square supermarket and walking distance to the street, the kitchen facilities also excellent.. A little minor disadvantage is the bed seems like twin bed combine together, so middle of the bed got wood frame which I feel weird..

    Reviewed September 26, 2016
    8.4
    Excellent
    Pong from Singapore
    Group
    One Bedroom Apartment
    Stayed 1 night in June 2016

    Apartment Room rental”

    Rented the apartment room. It was huge and spacious which had 2 single beds out in the living room and a queen sized in the additional room. Bathroom was huge too and even had washer and dryer. Of course like other apartment room, a fully stocked kitchen as well. Definitely value for money

    Reviewed June 07, 2016
    6.4
    Good
    Luis from United States
    Solo traveler
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Staff doesn't care despite great facilities and location”

    You got curtains, individual power outlet and a light. Bed is very comfortable. Work holiday travellers manage the place. Toilets were constantly dirty and rooms were over packed despite empty room availability. WiFi is spotty and doesn't always work. Despite complaints, hostel staff did nothing and for this reason I do not recommend this place.

    Reviewed November 26, 2018

    Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sorry to hear that our service did not meet our usual high standards, we do our best to ensure that all of our guests do have a pleasant stay with us. We clean all of our bathrooms daily and try to keep this maintained however at the time of your stay we were fully booked and unfortunately some guests do not leave the bathrooms in the state they find them. We have been experiencing some issues with our Wi-Fi recently and we are having the system upgraded to improve this. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Queenstown and wish you safe travels. Many thanks Haka Lodge

    Responded December 15, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    7.6
    Very good
    ng from Malaysia
    Group
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

    Location is good but limited facilities ”

    Pro: Near town area, within walking distance to ferg burger. Unlimited free wifi, a lot of bathroom and toilet, free parking, clean Cons: limited parking slot, kitchen will be closed from 10.30pm to 7am, it is very inconvenient if you want to take hot water to drink, the laundry also closed from 10.30pm to next day around 2pm if not mistaken, room is very small(6 bunk bed room), kitchen is small, limited dining table.

    Reviewed October 19, 2018

    Kia ora Ng, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you found our location to be convenient and liked our facilities. Due to our central location in Queenstown there is limited parking available, but we are happy to help at reception if you have trouble finding a space. We close our kitchen and laundry facilities at 10:30pm to keep noise levels down, as we are a quiet hostel after 10:30pm, and we cannot make the laundry available to guests before 2pm as we use it to clean the hostel bedding, however there are laundry facilities available a short walk into town. We are a small hostel and some of our dorm rooms are small, as such we provide large luggage draws underneath the beds for guests to use as storage in order to free up the floor space. There are two kitchens and a lounge available for all guests to use, however around mealtimes they can become very busy. We hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and wish you safe travels, Many thanks Rhia

    Show more
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Diane from Australia
    Solo traveler
    Economy Double
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    Convenient, friendly, clean”

    I had single room, comfortable, clean. Good location.

    Reviewed March 12, 2019

    Kia Ora! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room comfortable and clean. Safe travels and all the best, Anne

    Responded March 13, 2019
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    10.0
    Exceptional
    FUMIN from New Zealand
    Solo traveler
    4 Share Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    UNIQUE HOSTEL”

    independent hostel with Maori culture

    Reviewed November 15, 2018

    Kia ora Fumin, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Safe travels, Rhia

    Responded November 18, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    8.4
    Excellent
    Johnathan from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

    Affordable and worth the cost”

    Its situation in a pretty good location in the center of town. Accessible to most of the information centers and bookings needed for any tour. Its a bit small but cozy. Clean and affordable. There are a number of different types of rooms available. So far its great for me.

    Reviewed August 04, 2018

    Kia ora Jonathan! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to read that you found our lodge cozy and clean and we hope you had a great time in Queenstown. All the best and safe travels.

    Responded August 11, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    8.8
    Excellent
    Klang from Thailand
    Couple
    Superior Twin or Double
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

    Good budget stay in Queenstown”

    Room is ok. But it close to kitchen, this make food smell get into your room every time you open a door. Anyway, it's comfort enough, and shared bathroom is clean. Location is great, you can have a short walk to wharf area. Parking space is quite limited on road side. But we got luck on both nights we stayed.

    Reviewed May 11, 2018

    Kia ora Klang! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Yes, there can be a bit of a food smell depending on what people are cooking but we also have kitchen fans to minimize it. We are happy to know that you found our bathrooms clean and our location great. We are very centrally located in Queenstown & as with all city centers this does mean parking availability is limited, however we are more than happy to advise of convenient places to park that are just a short walk from the hostel. We hop you had a great time in Queenstown and wish you safe onward travels.

    Responded May 12, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    8.8
    Excellent
    Duangthip from Thailand
    Solo traveler
    4 Share Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

    Kitchen is always clean. Room too tiny”

    Positive : good location (near supermarket & town) Kitchen is always clean. My favorite bathroom is next to the kitchen, it's pretty private. Comfy bed! Nice staff Negative : tiny rooms. Could hear people upstairs walking

    Reviewed January 29, 2018

    Kia Ora! Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our nice and private bathrooms. Our rooms are standard in size but may look small if the suitcases are left on the floor instead of being stored in the drawers under the beds. This building has quite thin walls and therefor we close the kitchens and ask everyone to keep the noise to an absolute minimum after 10.30pm. We hope we'll get to welcome you again and wish you all the best.

    Responded January 31, 2018
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Sarah from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    One Bedroom Apartment
    Stayed 1 night in December 2017

    Fantastic place! ”

    Really enjoyed my stay at Haka Lodge. My family and I took the Apartment and we wished we had stayed here longer than one night as it had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Air conditioning was a nice touch in the summer and very the place was clean and nicely decorated. Sufficient couches, beds and amenities. Very close to supermarkets and shops as well! The only con I would have to mention is it’s a bit troublesome to find parking around the area.

    Reviewed December 11, 2017

    Dear Sarah, thank you so much for this outstanding review! We are stoked you hear you enjoyed your stay in the Apartment. We are very centrally located in Queenstown & as with all city centres this does mean parking availability is limited, however we are more than happy to advise of convenient places to park that are just a short walk from the hostel. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you again if you were to come back to Queenstown. Kind regards,

    Responded December 19, 2017
    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Mark from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    6 Share - Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

    A great hostel”

    A really well thought out hostel. Six bed dorm was spacious because of the well designed space under the bunks for the beds and the bunk set up is excellent. Power point, light and a curtain for privacy. Nice lounge and good wifi. Good bonuses like chocolate fondue night and information board.

    Reviewed April 13, 2017
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Stephanie from United States
    Solo traveler
    4 Share Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in February 2017

    Exceptional”

    Great place to stay! I arrived in Queenstown in the morning, but they let me put my stuff in baggage storage and told me to feel free to stay and make use of the common room, free wifi and facilities until I was able to check in. The room was clean and all staff I encountered was super friendly. I would definitely recommend!

    Reviewed March 12, 2017
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Haka Lodge Queenstown
    |Excellent 8.6
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Exceptional location
    • Queenstown Mall
    • The Queenstown Bus Station is within 0.13 km