This property is in high demand!
Last booked 2 hours ago
140 meters to public transportation
Located in heart of Queenstown
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
Last booked 2 hours ago
|Value for money||8.6|
|Distance to city center||0.1 Km|
|Nearest airport||Queenstown Airport (ZQN)|
|Distance to airport||6.1 km|
"Highly recommend to others."
September 1, 2016
"Location was excellent, just a short walk from shops in the city centre and Lake Wakatipu."
June 16, 2018
"Its situation in a pretty good location in the center of town."
August 4, 2018
"Bed is very comfortable."
November 26, 2018
Built in , Haka Lodge Queenstown is a distinct addition to Queenstown and a smart choice for travelers. The hotel lies 0.2 Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as The Bead Shop, Queenstown Arts Centre, Dart River Jet Safaris.
At Haka Lodge Queenstown, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are free Wi-Fi in all rooms, facilities for disabled guests, express check-in/check-out, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas.
The hotel features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms, many of which include television LCD/plasma screen, carpeting, complimentary instant coffee, complimentary tea, linens. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Whatever your reason for visiting Queenstown, the Haka Lodge Queenstown is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away.
"Hostel was superbly clean, and the staff were really friendl..."
December 26, 2018
Children and extra beds
Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.
Minimum age of guests is: 18 year(s).
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Queenstown City Center
Queenstown City Center
Queenstown City Center
Queenstown City Center
Show reviews that mention
Excellent hostel. Great location and staff. I liked the curtains for privacy on the beds. The only issue would be that the six bunk room I was in would get quite crowded as there wasn't much space. That said, overall this is an excellent hostel.
Kia Ora Tomasz! Thank you for leaving us a great review. We are stoked to hear that you liked our staff, the location and our facilities. It's true that our rooms are not the biggest, but Queenstown has so much to offer that we don't expect our guests to spend a lot of time in the room except to sleep ;) We hope you had an amazing time in Queenstown and wish you safe onward travels. Kind regards, Anne
Location is ideal if you want to be close town, but still have some peace and quiet. Hostel was superbly clean, and the staff were really friendly. There are lockers under the bed, which we appreciated. And the bunk bed curtains gave us some privacy. Our only gripe would be that the rooms were a little bit of a squeeze, but that’s about it.
Kia ora Jasmine! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodge very clean and our staff really friendly. We wish you safe onward travels and hope we'll get to welcome you again. Kind regards, Anne
Best hostel I've ever stayed in”
Love this place and will stay again on my next Queenstown visit. The location is excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. And it is so clean! The beds were comfy and there was a TV in my room with DVDs in the kitchen to borrow. The communal areas were very well kept and the bathroom even had nice products for use in case you forgot anything.
Kia ora Lauren! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again :) Kind regards, Anne
Very good value for money. The only concern is the first come first serve parking. I was glad to have the only 5 spots available and did not drive out until I check out three nights later. Anne, whom I think is the manager was most helpful , friendly and accommodating. I had some trouble with my wifi connection and she sort it out with a big smile :-) All in all, a very pleasant stay ! Congrats and keep up the great work !
Kia Ora Joo! Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that I was able to contribute to your great experience. It was lovely to have you and I hope we get to welcome you again. Best wishes, Anne
Nice stay !”
Good location as it’s only few mins walking distance to market and shops nearby. Affordable price for backpackers and friendly staff there. Clean shared toilet and the room is smell really good. We enjoyed the stay here.
Kia ora Tan! Wow, 10 out of 10, you just made our day! :) Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and our facilities clean. Safe travels and we hope we'll get to welcome you again.
Comfortable bed and clean toilet with free hand towels and floor towels”
I was here for a week and it is by far the most clean hostel i’ve stayed and i love the heater and the location and the toilet for Haka Lodge. I was given room 12 and it is right next to the kitchen so banging and loud shoutings and chattings and laughter were heard till late night but it is a happy warm experience and i have no complaint for that because u sleep very late anyways. The toilet has hot water both at the wash basin and the shower and dry wc area inside the toilet with free hair dryer and free hair straightener and free hand towels and free floor towels are super heart warming as alot of hostel doesnt provide them. The wc and kitchen is super clean and made me feel like home. I love Haka lodge and will definitely stay here again when i visit queenstown
Kia ora Leng! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are stoked to hear that you found our facilities very clean and liked the amenities we provide. We know that this building has quite thin walls and therefor we close the kitchens and ask everyone to keep the noise to an absolute minimum after 10.30pm. It was great to have you here and we hope we'll get to welcome you again!
It was my first time stay in lodge which need to share bathroom with public. But the bathroom is clean. Staff is good. The most important is the hotel is walking distance to many restaurant and shop nearby.
Kia ora Chee! Wow, thank you so much for this amazing review. We are stoked to hear that you found our bathrooms clean and our staff friendly and hope you had a great time in Queenstown. All the best and safe travels :)
After staying in a party hostel this was a perfect break. Quiet, not a lot going on. Location is 2 min walk since town small. Staff was good. Stayed in 4 person dorm. Small but cozy. Lots of outlets. Laundry. 2 kitchens. Wifi was decent. Everything kept very clean. Bathrooms throughout hostel and not many so not perfect but was never too long of a wait. Common area with tv and movies. Outside seating area. Small but nice hostel.
Central location and nice stay”
We stay double room and the room is very clean and bed is comfortable... Near 4 square supermarket and walking distance to the street, the kitchen facilities also excellent.. A little minor disadvantage is the bed seems like twin bed combine together, so middle of the bed got wood frame which I feel weird..
Apartment Room rental”
Rented the apartment room. It was huge and spacious which had 2 single beds out in the living room and a queen sized in the additional room. Bathroom was huge too and even had washer and dryer. Of course like other apartment room, a fully stocked kitchen as well. Definitely value for money
Staff doesn't care despite great facilities and location”
You got curtains, individual power outlet and a light. Bed is very comfortable. Work holiday travellers manage the place. Toilets were constantly dirty and rooms were over packed despite empty room availability. WiFi is spotty and doesn't always work. Despite complaints, hostel staff did nothing and for this reason I do not recommend this place.
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sorry to hear that our service did not meet our usual high standards, we do our best to ensure that all of our guests do have a pleasant stay with us. We clean all of our bathrooms daily and try to keep this maintained however at the time of your stay we were fully booked and unfortunately some guests do not leave the bathrooms in the state they find them. We have been experiencing some issues with our Wi-Fi recently and we are having the system upgraded to improve this. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Queenstown and wish you safe travels. Many thanks Haka Lodge
Location is good but limited facilities ”
Pro: Near town area, within walking distance to ferg burger. Unlimited free wifi, a lot of bathroom and toilet, free parking, clean Cons: limited parking slot, kitchen will be closed from 10.30pm to 7am, it is very inconvenient if you want to take hot water to drink, the laundry also closed from 10.30pm to next day around 2pm if not mistaken, room is very small(6 bunk bed room), kitchen is small, limited dining table.
Kia ora Ng, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you found our location to be convenient and liked our facilities. Due to our central location in Queenstown there is limited parking available, but we are happy to help at reception if you have trouble finding a space. We close our kitchen and laundry facilities at 10:30pm to keep noise levels down, as we are a quiet hostel after 10:30pm, and we cannot make the laundry available to guests before 2pm as we use it to clean the hostel bedding, however there are laundry facilities available a short walk into town. We are a small hostel and some of our dorm rooms are small, as such we provide large luggage draws underneath the beds for guests to use as storage in order to free up the floor space. There are two kitchens and a lounge available for all guests to use, however around mealtimes they can become very busy. We hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and wish you safe travels, Many thanks Rhia
Convenient, friendly, clean”
I had single room, comfortable, clean. Good location.
Kia Ora! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room comfortable and clean. Safe travels and all the best, Anne
independent hostel with Maori culture
Kia ora Fumin, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Safe travels, Rhia
Affordable and worth the cost”
Its situation in a pretty good location in the center of town. Accessible to most of the information centers and bookings needed for any tour. Its a bit small but cozy. Clean and affordable. There are a number of different types of rooms available. So far its great for me.
Kia ora Jonathan! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to read that you found our lodge cozy and clean and we hope you had a great time in Queenstown. All the best and safe travels.
Good budget stay in Queenstown”
Room is ok. But it close to kitchen, this make food smell get into your room every time you open a door. Anyway, it's comfort enough, and shared bathroom is clean. Location is great, you can have a short walk to wharf area. Parking space is quite limited on road side. But we got luck on both nights we stayed.
Kia ora Klang! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Yes, there can be a bit of a food smell depending on what people are cooking but we also have kitchen fans to minimize it. We are happy to know that you found our bathrooms clean and our location great. We are very centrally located in Queenstown & as with all city centers this does mean parking availability is limited, however we are more than happy to advise of convenient places to park that are just a short walk from the hostel. We hop you had a great time in Queenstown and wish you safe onward travels.
Kitchen is always clean. Room too tiny”
Positive : good location (near supermarket & town) Kitchen is always clean. My favorite bathroom is next to the kitchen, it's pretty private. Comfy bed! Nice staff Negative : tiny rooms. Could hear people upstairs walking
Kia Ora! Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our nice and private bathrooms. Our rooms are standard in size but may look small if the suitcases are left on the floor instead of being stored in the drawers under the beds. This building has quite thin walls and therefor we close the kitchens and ask everyone to keep the noise to an absolute minimum after 10.30pm. We hope we'll get to welcome you again and wish you all the best.
Fantastic place! ”
Really enjoyed my stay at Haka Lodge. My family and I took the Apartment and we wished we had stayed here longer than one night as it had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Air conditioning was a nice touch in the summer and very the place was clean and nicely decorated. Sufficient couches, beds and amenities. Very close to supermarkets and shops as well! The only con I would have to mention is it’s a bit troublesome to find parking around the area.
Dear Sarah, thank you so much for this outstanding review! We are stoked you hear you enjoyed your stay in the Apartment. We are very centrally located in Queenstown & as with all city centres this does mean parking availability is limited, however we are more than happy to advise of convenient places to park that are just a short walk from the hostel. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you again if you were to come back to Queenstown. Kind regards,
A great hostel”
A really well thought out hostel. Six bed dorm was spacious because of the well designed space under the bunks for the beds and the bunk set up is excellent. Power point, light and a curtain for privacy. Nice lounge and good wifi. Good bonuses like chocolate fondue night and information board.
Great place to stay! I arrived in Queenstown in the morning, but they let me put my stuff in baggage storage and told me to feel free to stay and make use of the common room, free wifi and facilities until I was able to check in. The room was clean and all staff I encountered was super friendly. I would definitely recommend!