Book Now: Halong Annam Junk

Excellent
From 180 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
80% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (180)
8.2
Excellent
From 180 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities5.8
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.1
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
Deutsch
日本語
more
Room type
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Deluxe Double 3 Days 2 Nights Full Board
Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 173 verified guest comments
7.0
Yu from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Great but...
Great food great crew
Great trip would recommend. But the staff kept on offering drinks which was annoying.
Reviewed September 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.0
Melissa from New Zealand
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
A great place to visit, choose boat carefully
VIP room, amazing views, fantastic location
Well even though overall we enjoyed our overnight cruise with Annam Junk it wasn't as perfect as I thought it would be. If it weren't for the other 3 couples we meet I dont think we would of had that amount of fun. The bay is amazing and a "must-see" for tourists. Our VIP room was at the back of the boat, with huge glass doors with a private balcony giving the best view. The boat was in pretty good condition - just lacked a rooftop shade cover, it was too hot for us to sit up on the roof. The food was the main thing that let the cruise down. We love seafood, but sadly it was overcooked & some of the worst food we had in Vietnam during our 2 week stay. The activities were good, but our guide was less than enthusiastic when taking us to go swimming, kayaking and through the caves. We had 2 girls who hadnt kayaked before & were scared, he left them at the back just sped off way ahead of everyone (obviously they have a tight deadline to stick to and he was bored with it). Squid fishing - dont bother, there is no squid. Nevertheless we made fun of our time on the boat - and would still recommend going. I guess it's just pot luck who you end up with & how good the chef is.
Reviewed July 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Marcin from Poland
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Overnight concept on the boat in Ha Long is a MUST
safe, VIP room, staff
as far as you get VIP room you will be delighted! nice staff, and great memories from 2 nights on the boat,
Reviewed January 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Natalie from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Authentic boat, friendly staff, great food
Food, rooms, staff
Beautiful authentic junk, rooms were great though the beds were very hard and only have one thin pillow. Food was amazing however make sure to let them know if you don't like seafood as the menu is 95% seafood based. Also bear in mind that you have to pay for all drinks including water tea and coffee. Was still exceptionally good value and the staff are lovely- would highly recommend!! Loved it!
Reviewed January 13, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Tang from Singapore
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
One Night on Halong Bay
Great Service and Accomodation
Comfortable stay and great service and food.
Reviewed January 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Li from Singapore
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Small Junk Boat with Good Service
Halong Bay, clean room, value for money
Enjoy myself at the Junk, the view is spectacular. The staffs and guide is very friendly. a small junk with 5 rooms so if you prefer to be in smaller group, you can book annam junk no 1. annam junk has 5 different junks which range from small to big.
Reviewed January 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Fiona from Australia
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Halong bay
The staff were amazing so friendly! Great itinerary and the rooms were lovely.
Reviewed December 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Peter from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Excellent way to see Ha Long Bay
Food, staff and intimate size of boat
We did a two night stay on the Annam junk and really enjoyed our time. The scenery is spectacular, but the same from any boat, so what makes a difference is the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff and guide, which couldn't be faulted. The junk looks perhaps a little scruffy on the outside from first impression, but inside it is well looked after, very clean and comfortable. The food was fantastic, fresh and plenty of it, almost too much! One thing I would say to English travellers, don't worry too much about the lack of English speaking skills on the emails you get from the company before the trip (I had grown a bit concerned trying to arrange a different transfer back from the boat) the actual guide is very good (ours was Ken) and was invaluable in making sure all arrangements went smoothly when we got back into port. Would recommend this to people who want a smaller more intimate experience than some of the other bigger boats we saw out there.
Reviewed October 25, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.3
Nico from Netherlands
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Average performance of the cruise
Halong Bay, Halong Bay, Halong Bay
Not so great experience with this cruise. Staff was friendly, nice guests to hang out with and Halong bay was amazing (I don't know why some people complain about too touristy and polluted Halong Bay). The kayaking we skipped and glad we did, because it was only a short bit in the bay. Nothing interesting. Food wasn't great, everything was fried. Cooking class was just rolling some spring rolls. Besides that we got a smaller room than we booked. Also the door that connects the next cabin was in poor condition so I had to hung a towel to get some privacy. We had a great time so it didn't ruin it for us, but I wouldn't book here again.
Reviewed October 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.0
Florita from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
The many annam junk
it is a junk
we were booked for 3 days 2 night stays. Apparently it is common for the junks operators to swap customers among junks to suit their own schedule. We were put on a different junk on our first night and then made to stay half a day on a day boat, which is apparently the schedule, and then we were put into the junk we paid for in agoda. One night stay in halong bay means you need to pay around US$ 22 per person. We thought it was US$ 22 per person for a duration of our stay. And if we would like to 'enjoy' the beach, we need to pay 50,000 dong! We should have done more research on this trip. But the changing of junks without notification is disappointing. We wanted a relaxing 3 days 2 night stays, but we these confusions are uncalled for. halong bay in itself is a place to visit though.
Reviewed October 11, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Michelle from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Enjoyed Halong Bay aboard Annam Junk
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was well prepared and very tasty, and the trip was very relaxing sitting watching the beautiful scenery slowly passing by.
We all really enjoyed the 2 night trip which included a visit to 2 caves and a beach and kayaking to the fishing village.
Reviewed September 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
guo from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
best memories on board a ship
view, food, programmes.
it was an amazing boat ride out in the open sea. The crew were so nice, our tour guide was amazing. The experience was one of the best i ever had. Attentive, exciting and interesting journey on this boat ride.
Reviewed September 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.3
David from Netherlands
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Halong tour
We had the boat (6 cabins) for ourself. Since we were the ony guests, we could adjust the programm. Our cabin(suite) had a nice balcony
We booked a two days tour in August2014. The seats in the bus that picked us up from the hotel was very basic.The boat was small, only six cabins and we were the only guests on board. The boat needs maintenance. We had a nice room ( a suite on the upperdeck) with very good views.Staff was friendly and the food was ok. We enjoyed the scenery.However since all the boats take the same route you are never alone in the bay and see constantly other ships. That goes also for the swimming and caves: you do that with the guests of other ships. The pictures on the site of Annam junk give a too comfortable and luxury impression of the trip
Reviewed August 31, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.7
Daniela from Chile
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Nice journey
Little ship with few guest, conditions of the rooms and the facilities
Reviewed August 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.7
Yenny from Indonesia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
The Halong Bay view is very satisfaction
the staff and guide is very helpful and kind, the food was good and the view of Halong Bay is really beautiful
It was really good experience to stay in Halong Annam Junk and feeling in the middle of the sea at a night. The staff and our guide are really kind and helpful. The food consist of 4-5 menu that actually too much for us. However, we do not consider that we should paid the entrance ticket to Halong approximately @ USD 25 per person excluding all of our payment done through Agoda. So we should really pay attention about what is included in the price.
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
jae from South Korea
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
We have much enjoyed
Food, View and Staffs
We have much enjoyed with excellent views staffs with kindness and foods I will again! 정말로 멋있는 여행이었습니다
Reviewed August 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
ANNE from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Excellent staff
Staff attentiveness
Staff excellent. We had VIP room which was great. Good views and a balcony. We were very well fed. Disappointed with Halong bay. Far too many tourist boats and rubbish in the water.
Reviewed August 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Gillian from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Very accommodating staff
Very accommodating staff, food was up to standards, many activities included for the 3D2N tour
The stay on the junk was pretty good, staff were very polite and accommodating. We did the 3D2N tour and many activities were included. Highly recommend 3D2N as you get to explore the caves, go to the beach/water sports, check out the caves (we went to 2 caves on the trip), go on the smaller boats with local ladies rowing, squid fishing, visit pearl making facilities etc... 2D1N is simply not enough. The only issue we had was with the booking via Agoda. The booking option states the booking is for 2 people but on the side it was showing "1 head" logo meaning the booking applies for 1 person only although the booking states for 2 people. Very
Reviewed August 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
Michiko from Japan
Group
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Very nice staffs but poor interiors
staffs, leisure, world heritage
really nice and warm staffs, They always tried to make us happy or comfortable. but room smells musty, unfortunately. sure the ship is on the ocean, so difficult to avoid getting to musty, maybe.
Reviewed July 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Heather from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
A great way to see Halong Bay!
Best things were the scenery, the food, and the staff
Overall great stay and everything was pretty much as advertised. The staff is really friendly on board. The wifi didn't really work, so that's probably the only thing that wasn't quite as promised... but you're presumably there to experience nature, so it doesn't really matter that much. Rooms are not immaculate (noticed mildew on the decorative pillows), but certainly adequate. The hot water and the A/C both worked well, so no complaints there. The food was a highlight. A wide variety of dishes served at every meal, and the portions were plentiful. I particularly enjoyed the fresh seafood -- some of the best squid I've ever had!
Reviewed June 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Adji from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Good
Food, scenery, sun
Great stay, nice staff, very good scenery, punctual itinerary
Reviewed June 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Kelly from Australia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Amazing !
,room ,view ,staff
We got the seaview suite, and that's the room we recommend. Very VIP, biggest room on the ship and your very own balcony. This was the highlight of our trip. Everything except the $20 entrance fee is included. Two days 1 night is more then enough. Kayaking on halong bay will be a memory held forever, and surprise cave is breathtaking. Highly recommend everyone goes on this ship beautiful staff, tour guide, rooms & facilities especially for the price. 10/10 in our eyes.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Kiat from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Got upgrade to Oriental Sails
- - -
Cant comment on Annam because we got ugraded to Oriental Sails
Reviewed May 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Farah from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Pleasant cruise in rainy weather
Able to take in pretty Halong scenery, Small number of rooms & Upgraded!
Pleasant cruise along Halong Bay in the rainy season.. Which meant outdoor activities like kayaking and swimming couldn't be carried out. We were upgraded to the VIP room and thoroughly enjoyed the panoramic view from the bed. Enjoyed the pit stops around the bay as well although it was drizzling mostly. Would definitely recommend this trip!
Reviewed May 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Owen from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great value for money.
Location, food, good service
Reviewed May 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.7
Laura from United Kingdom
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Great option for a mid-range priced tour
The room, the food, the staff
The Annam Junk is a great option for the price. Because the boat seemed to be one of the more moderately priced options we went for the suite on the back of the boat. I would highly recommend people did the same, you get a private terrace and huge windows to look out of. Halong Bay is a bit of a conveyor belt of tourist boats generally doing the same thing, so I guess you are paying for the quality of the room and food. We were very happy indeed.
Reviewed April 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
BEH from Malaysia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Crew is great and tries to please all guests
food, scenery, bathroom with jacuzzi
amazing cruise with friendly crews.the stay overall was good,
Reviewed April 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
robert from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Mind blowing landscape.
Ocean cruise, nice staff, relaxing
Reviewed January 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Melissa from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Relax and love the ambiance
Boat is well maintained, large windows in our room to overlook halong bay, and great friendly staffs
Our stay was good. Comfortable rooms and we were quite lucky to have a tour guide who knows how to converse in Cantonese. He is a vietnamese named David. A very friendly tour guide and he told us a lot of informations about the site visits to Surprise Cave and TiTop Island. He is very warm and nice towards all the guests, even stopped by each room to wish everyone goodnight on the rainy days. We were not so fortunate to visit halongbay during the rainy and cold weather. (missed out the kayaking activities). Room was good however, heater wasnt working too well. (Heater for the aircon and shower) The food was average. could be better. But for the price that we have paid, it was good enough.
Reviewed January 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Ceputra from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Good
Comfortable
We were lucky to have best weather during our stay at Halong Annam Junk. Though rooms were small, they were comfortable and clean. Food was however was pretty mediocre, they could have increased the servings.
Reviewed December 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Marianne from Australia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
A perfect two night getaway
Beautiful scenery, ask to stay away from the tourist areas and crowds. Friendly staff and superb meals. We had two nights on board and felt like we'd had a weeks holiday.
Reviewed December 12, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Donna from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Simply perfect!
Spectacular views, awesome food & superb staff!
We upgraded our room to the Royal suite on the Annam Junk 5 cabin boat, we were thrilled to have spectacular panoramic views of Ha Long Bay to fall asleep to & wake up to, with our own balcony at the back of the boat where we could sit down & enjoy a glass of wine as we sailed through... The food was superb, plentiful supply, freshly cooked & served hot with a smile. The itinerary was well thought out and delivered like clockwork, visiting the pearl farm, squid fishing & making Vietnamese spring rolls were all nice little extra experiences. The crew were attentive, informative & well organised. All in all a great experience and would highly recommend Halong Annam Junk :-)
Reviewed October 30, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.3
Pui from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
inexpensive yet not having good language skills
good itinerary for sight seeing, value for money, friendly staff
Staff/tour guide cannot communicate fluently in English, which deprive us from knowing lots of the details on the attractions that we visited. Food is average but could tell the staff had spent some time wishing to surprise and impress customers.
Reviewed August 21, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
teo from Singapore
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
The VIP suite was amazing for a 3 star junk!
Good English speaking guide with sense of humour; fantastic view with private deck (VIP room); tranquil surroundings with fresh air.
I would recommend Halong Annam Junk's VIP Suite especially the 2nd one we had to transfer to cos we took up a 3D/2N stay. Initially I felt a little inconvenienced about having to transfer junk but the 2nd junk with a totally private deck and better shower facilities (I was surprised that the shower stall had jacuzzi jets though the water pressure was sporadic!) made the change of junk worth it! The bed was big & very comfortable with full length bay view! Beautiful sight to wake up to in the morning! I just wished Annam junk provided some shelter & more comfortable lounge-chairs on the upper common deck (the wooden ones provided were not comfortable after lying on it for prolonged period). Also, there should be more lounge-chairs provided so that at least every passenger can get one to lie on & enjoy the sun & breeze (the VIP deck though great, could get a little warm as i think the engine and kitchen is under the VIP room). I also like the size of this junk which accomodates not more than 20pax - good size for interacting with fellow travelers (more initimate) unlike some of the larger 3 storey junks which I imagine could get a little crowded & rowdy.
Reviewed August 10, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Amanda from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Most amazing place. EVER
STAFF, FOOD, VIEWS
The most amazing trip in the whole entire world. me and my boyfriend promised to come back to this place every 4 years. we had the most amazing host (chuong his name was) and the food was top quality. it did everything we wanted it to AND MORE!!!
Reviewed May 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Bruce from Australia
Group
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Halong Annam Junk
location, staff, price
great will be going back there great price, great staff
Reviewed May 05, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
mark from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
a great trip with amazing senery
view of the island formations,and tour of the fishing village and amazing caves
suggest the 2 night 3 day as you will see more than 1 day / overnight. They provide a translator who accomanies and explains the history and fats of the area. Well worth the money one of the new 7 wonders of the world.
Reviewed March 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.3
JIE from China
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Boat trip was a great experience.
friendly staffs,fluent english speaking tour guide and great meals.
We made an advance reservation for picking up at Hanoi city,but there was nobody come.We had to take taxi to catch the bus on the way to Halong bay which costed us 200,000VND. The reason they gave us was that the new staff forgot to inform manager our reservation. Although they apologized,we do suffer a economic loss.
Reviewed March 15, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
nattakarn from Thailand
Group
royal
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
lovely junk.
small junk without crowded people.
halong Anam junk is lovely small junk, it's mean if you like more private junk, not too crowded people, because Anam junk has only 5-6 rooms,especually the panoramic sea-view room (most beautiful room with big balcony, not others like when compare about the price,if you don't like quite at night,it has tv, dvd, like your own junk.
Reviewed March 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
nattakarn from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
small junk with best room.
panorama sea view room
we went to halong bay in November last year. choose Halong Anum Junk, because they have the 1 best bedroom suite with Panorama sea view from the room,the bed and big balcony,from this room, look like your own junk although you don't want to go out to the top roof. so privacy with tv, dvd,fruit welcome.
Reviewed March 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Darlene from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
lovely junk
the tour and junk itself
i had blast doing this junk tour.it was a great experience..the junk staff were nice, the junk was great, clean cabins with a view and jimmy our guide made us very special..thanks halong annam!
Reviewed February 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Ilin from United States
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Excellent All Round
Outstandning Seafood banquet. Everything else was also great
Our family tends to spend more on food than accomodations, so I was not quite sure more than $200 a night for 2 twin beds was worth it--well it was! We had 2 rooms, one of the rooms had a double bed in addition to a twin, the family were very comfortable in both. The food, how do I put it?--was simply fabulous if you are a seafood lover! The many choices of fresh seafood and the vegetables were so tasty and pleasing to the eyes. A shrimp cocktail came with a bouquette made with carrot rose, two different types of flowers made with white radish, one with cucumber and one with long, thin red pepper--so lovely! The staff was also outstanding, pleasant and efficient even if it was a bit late at night. We had such a great time throughout the whole stay with Annam Junk. Oh, the only thing is that the van taking you to and from Hanoi city put you at a rest stop with 2 touristy stores--their prices are twice as much as what you will find in Hanoi, so don't make the same mistakes as we did. The water on the Junk is also about 4-5 times than the price in Hanoi. Other than these, enjoy your time with Annam Junk and say Hello to the staff for us!
Reviewed February 09, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Ilin from United States
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Excellent All Round
Outstandning Seafood banquet. Everything else was also great
Our family tends to spend more on food than accomodations, so I was not quite sure more than $200 a night for 2 twin beds was worth it--well it was! We had 2 rooms, one of the rooms had a double bed in addition to a twin, the family were very comfortable in both. The food, how do I put it?--was simply fabulous if you are a seafood lover! The many choices of fresh seafood and the vegetables were so tasty and pleasing to the eyes. A shrimp cocktail came with a bouquette made with carrot rose, two different types of flowers made with white radish, one with cucumber and one with long, thin red pepper--so lovely! The staff was also outstanding, pleasant and efficient even if it was a bit late at night. We had such a great time throughout the whole stay with Annam Junk. Oh, the only thing is that the van taking you to and from Hanoi city put you at a rest stop with 2 touristy stores--their prices are twice as much as what you will find in Hanoi, so don't make the same mistakes as we did. The water on the Junk is also about 4-5 times than the price in Hanoi. Other than these, enjoy your time with Annam Junk and say Hello to the staff for us!
Reviewed February 09, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Martin from Czech Republic
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Looks better on picture, bad cancellation policy
Halong Bay
We have booked a 2 nights stay, left after one day. All boats look pretty much the same. We got a room close to the engine that smelled. At the end our guide was asking for tip separately for himself and the crew. if you buy your own wine you still pay 7 USD to the crew. Halong is nice, 1 day is enough though.
Reviewed January 24, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
Sonia from Australia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Great tour guide
Location and the VIP room
Beautiful location. This is a small boat which is what we wanted. We booked the suite which has a private balcony, however it is not usable most of the time due to the diesel fumes. Mother room and ensuite were fine, very hard bed. The highlight of this tour, besides the natural beauty, was our delightful host Cheung. His charming demeanour and knowledge of the area was exceptional. He speaks excellent English. He made sure everyone was comfortable and included in the daily activities. A lovely touch on the table were the flowers carved from vegetables.
Reviewed January 06, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Sivaram from Canada
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Good food, old boat, affordable price
Good food. Tour guide was good.
An Nam junk is affordable and priced near the mid to low-end. The boat is a bit old but looked just like all the other boats. We stayed in the VIP room with private veranda, which wasn't usuable when the boat was moving given the smoke and odour from the engine. However, the space was quite large for the VIP room. The tour guide was knowledgeable and easy to understand. The best thing was the finely presented, good, seafood that was served on the ship. On the downside, the itinery didn't seem to exactly match what I read before. I think the caves we visited weren't the best ones, and we didn't climb to the top of the hill. Also, the boat lost(?) power pre-dawn and our showers were cut off briefly. I'm not sure if this is a normal power cut-off or if something happened. Overall, I would recommend the boat given the reasonable price.
Reviewed January 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Trevor from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Great Staff
Not too big and great staff
The boat was in good condition compared to others that I saw. Also if you do not want too big a crowd this is ideal as only about 16 people could be accommodated on this boat. The fewer people definitely allow for you to meet and mix with some of the other tourists on the trip which was great. The staff were great and our main guide was very friendly and very knowledgeable. I plan to revisit Halong Bay in the summer months and will definitely consider using Halong Annam Junk again.
Reviewed January 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Trevor from United Kingdom
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Stunning Scenery
Sea View Suite
A trip to Halong Bay is a must for everyone. The views are breath taking. Absolutely stunning. We stayed in the Sea View Suite which had a private small terrace and if you are willing to pay the difference then I would fully recommend this room type.The staff on the boat were great and really helped make this such an enjoyable experience. I would definitely use Halong Annum Junk again when I revisit Halong Bay in the summer months.
Reviewed January 03, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Ashley from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Well worth the trip
Excellent food
Annam Junk was part of a package which included transport to and from Hanoi. The staff on the boat were very helpful. The room was comfortable and quite spacious. All meals served on board were well prepared and there was more than enough for the 14 people. The seafood lunch was amazing. I arranged the trip to be in Halong bay on New Years Eve. The crew made it extra special by arranging a party from 9PM to see in the New Year. If you are planning to fly out of Hanoi straight from Halong Bay, it is advisable to take a later flight. I had a flight to Danang at 6PM and it was a bit of a mad rush to get to the airport on time, as the road between Halong City and Hanoi is extremely busy and the road condition is not so good.
Reviewed January 03, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Jane from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Good boat, good crew and great service
Comfortable rooms. Attentive guide.
We really enjoyed our trip on the Annum Junk. Being winter, things were a bit quieter and there was only one other family sharing the boat with us, therefore we were well looked after. The program was well organised and we were kept well informed at all times. Our guide had good english and a great sense of humour. The food was plentiful and good. You only needed to pay for drinks with soft drink and beer . A bottle of wine was quite expensive . The rooms were comfortable, the beds warm and showers hot.
Reviewed January 01, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?|