Book Now: Han's Royal Garden Boutique Hotel

Excellent
From 103 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10

Reviews of Han's Royal Garden Boutique Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (103)Booking.com Reviews (56)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities5.0
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.3
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (103)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 100 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Timothy from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Awesome hotel, fantastic location, friendly staff”

Decor, location and staff

Best hotel I've stayed in for a long time. The décor is awesome and brings you to another place on earth. The rooms are big and clean and very well furnished. Location is awesome with a very short walk to the train station and to the nearby hutongs for shopping. 10-15 min walk to houhai. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.

Reviewed September 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Hubert from France
Couple
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013

Unique Imperial experience in Beijing”

design, location, friendliness

The hotel is build and decorated following the principle of the imperial household. Colors layout, decoration. This is so perfectly implemented that you are better off visiting the hotel than the many (often poor) Beijing attractions showcasing the imperial architecture and lifestyle. The hotel is furnished with original Qing furniture and antiques. And the staff will gladly show you around. Don't miss the imperial dining rooms at the back. And I almost forgot: the rooms are clean and specious, the service excellent and efficient, the hotel is centrally located near the main tourist attractions, and within 50 meters of one of the main shopping street.

Reviewed November 11, 2013
7.0
Very good
Ah from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Mediterranean Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015

Hotel is beautiful but a bit old”

infrastructure, style and big room

The hotel is generally beautiful and the staff are nice. They helped us a lot and they are really friendly (i mean the Chinese). We took a lot of nice pictures in it with its special views and style. However, the rooms are quite old. We had a problem with the toilet. The shower place was clogged up and the water came out from it to the toilet floor and outside the toilet! I used a lot of time to clean up! The electric boiler was really slow. I hope the hotel can retain the rooms in a newer situation. The bed is big and comfortable, however, the bedding is not quite clean enough.

Reviewed April 13, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Bryan from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013

Absolutely Awesome Hotel!”

Style - Location - Staff

This hotel is the real deal - if you have a chance to stay here don't pass it up. IMPORTANT - this hotel is very, very hard for the taxi drivers to find. Get the name and directions written in Chinese before heading to this hotel. It took our cab driver 45 minutes to find it. Also, incredible shopping area 2 minutes away! You will live this hotel - very old, clean and authentic.

Reviewed April 05, 2013
3.7
Royal from New Zealand
Business traveler
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

traditional hotel with chinese feature”

very special experience of living in a traditional palace style garden hotel

it was around new year time the peak of winter season the garden was covered in snow the style of the building is amazing if you are into that kind of architecture all ornaments in the lobby apparently are all real and very expensive looking the layout of the building means it is not possible to be warm as you travel from lobby to room or to dining you have to wear full gears to be in and out of garden and indoor space it was very cold when we were there the building is old, although renovated our room smelled like drainage had issues we were upgrade to a bigger room because of that which smelled still it was in a hutong so many taxi driver could not find it and refuse to find it or drive in

Reviewed February 03, 2013
8.7
Excellent
JUAN from Panama
Family with young children
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Lovely restored hotel near to Forbidden City”

Internal courtyards, furniture, artwork, service

wonderful stay with wonderful; service in a lovely hotel with unusual features. the location too (near to the forbidden city) was outstanding. nearby is the most exciting entertainment and nightlife area in all beijing inside the hutongs of the dongchen district in the houhai (back lakes) area. the carpeting was a bit worn-out in the common areas and taxi drivers didn't know where it was but once inside, the service using european staff was just outstanding. broadband internet access was free and worked.

Reviewed January 29, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Christine from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Lovely hotel, highly recommended”

hotel setting, room quality

we really enjoy our stay in hrg. the setting of the hotel is amazing. our boys loved to watch the coy fishes and wander around the court yard. it gave them tons of fun. the room is large and well appointed with authentic chinese furniture. unlike other 5 star chinese hotel, hrg's bed is heavenly soft. cons: 1. extra bed too expensive ( ). the bed wobbles. 2. the tub area in the bathroom has some poor design. it floods when showering. 3. the location is not well known to beijing taxi drivers. prepare detailed map and direction for taxi.

Reviewed January 12, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Simply an amazing stunning hotel!!!!!”

gorgeous traditional chinese hotel

this is by far the most beautiful and stunning hotel we've ever stay!! we wanted to go for something more traditional chinese, instead of the usual high rise modern hotels, and my goodness, we are soo happy we made that choice. so beautifully presented, from the dining room to the main foyer, from the courtyards to our bedroom, we were left speechless; it looked like you were transported back to 100-150 years ago, but with all the modern cons. the staff was simply amazing too!! i would seriously highly recommend this place to anyone, and if i go back to beijing one day, i will not hesitate to go back there. the only problem is ( but this is beijing in general) the taxi drivers: they do not stop, and if they stop they simply do not wanna take you to this hutong or any hutongs. it is not that is far, is in the centre, in a really nice area, it's just that they do not wanna take you there. the only time we got cabs, it was when the hotel rang them up. but you know what? this still does not put me off to go back to hans royal garden boutique hotel, nothing will!

Reviewed January 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Christabel from Singapore
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

The Best!”

The people and atmosphere

Beautiful hotel! The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and did all they can to accommodate us. They helped locate places and directions without fail. The surroundings are so beautiful and the snow made the hotel look even more spectacular. The convience of a walking street just mins away and cheap. Many cafes.

Reviewed December 25, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Ye from China
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012

nice and special hotel”

decoration is awesome and the room is clean and comfortable

the hotel is in hutong and close to everything! The hotel is well decorated in a traditional Chinese style back in Qing Dynasty but the room is large, comfortable and super clean. We extremely like the restroom which is super modern and perfect for couples and families. The staffs are very friendly and efficient. We had a great time staying here. The hotel is also very close to C-stores, bars, restaurants~wonderful and we will def come back and stay here again in Beijing.

Reviewed November 28, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Linda from Australia
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012

Beautifully restored hotel and great service ”

The courtyard is hidden from the road and an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Beijing's traffic and constant movement, the staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were comfortable

We enjoyed our 5 day stay for all the reasons above and of course the hotel is in a great location off a hutong (although you should remember to arrange a map before arriving!) however we stayed in early April when the seasons were changing and the air-conditioning is central and had not cut over to affiliated the new heat. Therefore our room was very hot and stuffy - staff did what they could to assist providing ice and cool beverages and upgrading us to a lower level larger suite on our last night. We felt the car to the great wall and tickets to the acrobatic show the hotel arranged were a bit high but the service was exceptional. We would recommend this hotel and return (subject to the AC issue being sorted next time!).

Reviewed May 06, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Patrick from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2011

Great Location, Lovely Courtyard Hotel”

Location, and Beautiful Courtyward Feel

In traveling to Beijing for the first time, we decided to stay in a traditional Hutong Courtyard hotel, instead of the big hotel that my meeting was in. This hotel was a classic hutong hotel, although upscale, with gorgeous courtyards decorated in old style Chinese fashion. While not easy to find (no hutong hotel is), it was well worth it. We found out after the fact that this hutong and the area that it is in was a fabulous area -- right near a great pedestrian street (with few Westerners and many Chinese), called the Nan Luogu. We spent many wonderful hours walking and spending time on this street, and we felt that we really saw the real Beijing in doing so. When we checked in and informed them that we were 3 people instead of 2, which our 13 year old son, they informed us that they would charge us an extra US per night, but then upgraded us into a suite. The suite was very nice. The Bedroom was more traditional and the living was slightly more modern. We were off of one of the smaller courtyards. The breakfast that was included was very good. The only downside was that the staff at the front desk seemed a little difficult to communicate with (their English was not very good). All in all, a lovely hotel and well worth the stay.

Reviewed November 04, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Estelle from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Best hotel with Chinese architecture”

Luxury hotel in great Hutong area

Recommended by friends as a restored Chinese home ith beautiful furniture.and authentic feel. Modern beautiful bathrooms with great amenities. Deluxe room only has shower. Great location and wonderful breakfast.

Reviewed October 17, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Estelle from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011

Jewel boutique hotRl - 33 rooms and suites ”

Beautiful architectually designed hotel with several courtyards. Wonderful bedding and great bathroom ,

location difficult to find at 2:00 am . staff very attentive. hotel was phyically beautiful with several courtyards, lots of plantings and fabulous koi ponds with hundreds of fish. unbelievably clear water. deluxe rooom was lovely but did not have a dresser to put clothes away. there was a large arrmoir that did hold clothes. bedding was first class, hotel combined charm with style. lovely restaurant area in hotel. would be perfect for special functions.

Reviewed October 10, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011

Unbelievable gem in the heart of Beijing's hutongs”

Wonderful Chinese architecture, spacious comfortable rooms well appointed

We were not sure what we would find when we arrived. The hotel is a little hard to find as it is tucked away on a small street within the hutong. Once inside the hotel I was amazed at the beautiful traditional Chinese designs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We even received a free room upgrade which had a separate seating area. The bathroom was very large with both tub and separate shower. The king size bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful experience that is so much better than your standard 4 or 5 star chain hotels.

Reviewed April 23, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
John from Australia
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011

Fantastic Hotel boutique Hotel with great service.”

Large rooms. Traditional Chinese setting. Spacious court Yards. Fantastic Staff.

As soon as we arrived we realized we had made the right chive. We normally stay in large 5 star hotels with the main chains. Not any more. This hotel boasted fantastic rooms, beautiful setting. Staff that went out of their way to please. And of of this was situated in the centre of one of the best districts in Beijing. Our children loved the open spaces in the court yard and will probably remember the hotel over the great wall. A real credit to Ruseel and his team.

Reviewed April 23, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Kaimei from Sweden
Business traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011

In search for the real Beijing”

location, architecture, art collection, surrounding

In these days when everything old in the ancient country of China is facing the danger of demolishing, it is a treat to find this butique hotel which locates in the old hutong of the real Beijing. Just behind the busy Pin'an Avenue and not far away from the forbidden city, the Bei Bingmasi Hutong and its connected hutongers have become a new tourist attraction in Beijing with loads of bars, restaurants and shops selling retro-mao and retro-china stuffs. The hotel is built in the old residence of general of Qing court, but it is hard to identify which house belongs to its period and which house is newly built, as everything is polished and redesigned to suit the modern comfort. Still it is such a treat after coming back from the busy buzz streets outside the gray walls, the hotel offers tranquil, stillness and a moment of reflection. Wonderful place to be to expand your imagination of the history. although the art collection inside the hotel is replaced by new production, there is still a trace of the haunted past between walls, behind doors and beneath the white blooming magnolia...

Reviewed April 13, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2011

outstanding hotel”

great service; could not do more, ideal location, great food, beautiful chinease decor

brilliant! no complaints. staff were outstanding in every way - booking our next hotel, trains, everything! excellent english speaking staff which was a massive bonus - able to recommend sights etc. we were really looked after here. the only con - there is no swimming pool - but with so much to do in china - you dont have time for a swimming pool even if you wanted!

Reviewed March 28, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2010

Very Special Hotel - Pages from a History Book”

Beautiful courtyards, incredible architecture, unique experience
service needs work

This is my 3rd stay.Upgraded to suite this time. Extra room was great as sharing with elderly mother but for a couple the deluxe room is just as comfortable.Beautiful bathrooms & tasteful decor....with the best beds in china!Breakfast is good however I find the Restaurant in the basement a bit odd..the omelettes make up for it! The English speaking staff make a good addition. Thanks to Russell the Res Manager for his friendliness & great assistance.

Reviewed December 07, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2010

Loved it & did not wish to leave”

Great location
Breakfast staff need lesson

the only place where you feel the sense of the old imperial way of living. the courtyards are meticulous, the architectural embellishment over the top yet perfect. i have already spoken about the rooms in my other review. i have inspected other courtyard hotels in this area....no comparison. you pay more but you are not going to regret choosing the top shelf. booking with agoda you get the best prices possible plus take the worry out of hotel reservation. very happy.

Reviewed December 07, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Patricia from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in November 2010

It's like staying at the Forbidden Palace!!!!!!”

location, architecture, staff
none

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. It takes you back in time!!! The staff was amazing and the rooms are modern with everything you need. The location is not the best for taxi drivers bc they have trouble finding the hotel, but stay here anyways. I was a 30 year old woman traveling by myself and felt safe at all times. But the location is amazing for sightseeing and eating the best of Beijing, in my opinion. You are next to a great street with lots of shopping and restaurants and Hou Hai lake is a short 10 minute walk where you can rent a bike and ride around. You will have the best time staying at this hotel and experiencing Beijing in a way not possible at other hotels:)

Reviewed December 02, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Carl from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2010

Beautiful, luxury hotel in a great location”

beautiful buildings, inside and out; luxurious rooms; friendly and helpful staff; very good food; excellent General Manager.

Although this hotel is expensive, we felt that we got good value for our money. We loved the beautiful buildings on the property and the location, about 200 meters from Nan Luo Gu Xiang, is ideal. It is convenient to the major sights and close to good shopping and nice, reasonably priced restaurants. We will stay there again if we ever return to Beijing.

Reviewed October 31, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Mike from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2010

The best hotel in Houhai”

The hotel itself, its location, and the staff
none whatsoever

What can be said about the Han Garden Hotel except for it perhaps being the best hotel that we have ever been to. Once you manage to find the hotel, given its secluded location in the hutongs of Houhai, you are greeted by friendly receptionists and a beautiful ornate courtyard hotel. The hotel is quiet and rooms immaculate (we stayed in the deluxe room, which was amazing). It is a 2 minute walk to the main food/drink hub of Houhai, where there is a wide range of bars and restaurants to sample (the Tibetan cafe is well worth a visit).

Reviewed August 28, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Alisha from United States
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010

Han Royal Garden”

Beautiful hotel, friendly & helpful staff.
No room service menu.

The hotel is a lovely alternative to the typical Western style hotels in Beijing and offers nicely furnished, spaceous rooms with a large bathroom. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. I needed to change some money in order to pay the taxi driver, but the hotel was unable to accept my $100 bill because it was "old"; however, they took it to a nearby bank and exchanged it for me while I got settled into my room - great service!!! The hotel is only a 2-3 min walk from a lively street full of interesting boutiques and cafes. Only had 1 dinner at the hotel, from the Chineese resturant, and it was quite good. I was only in Beijing for 2 nights to relax, but they are able to arragne guided tours around the city if your interested. Will stay at this hotel next time I'm in Beijing.

Reviewed June 02, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Bo from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010

Palace-like small boutique hotel in a hutong”

Beautiful ambience - you stay like an emperor! A hotel with a soul, very calm and undisturbed, a stone's throw from the bustling city. Nice, safe and genuine surroundings! Very friendly and helpful staff! Reasonably priced for its quality and location!
Most staff speak only Chinese, but try hard to help anyway! Taxis have difficulty finding it! No e-mail address found for the hotel!

Stayed here for the second time. Even better experience this time, and my suite was spacious and very comfortable. Air condition was off although ambient temperature was high, probably due to central energy-saving directives. But with open windows, facing the inner yard, at night I could still sleep snugly, bothered by neither noise nor mosquitoes (which both proved to be well represented at another hotel that I stayed at) If you accept that this is the real China, far from multi-national hotel chains without soul, you will truly enjoy the Han's Royal Garden Hotel. This time I also hosted a banquet meal for Chinese and Western friends in an incredibly beautiful dining room, truly worthy of an emperor. The restaurant and kitchen staff spoke little English, so I left them free hands. The result was truly excellent, and the meal was opulent. My Chinese friends asked to bring the remnants home in "doggy-bags", and it would indeed have been a waste to let such amounts of good food be lost! Price was not low but quite reasonable, considering the absolutely excellent quality, amount of dishes and perfect service. We also had the exclusive Moutai, here called "white wine", but with about 53 % alcohol. Goes well with a meal like this and prevents problems with digestion! Will stay there again, whenever I need to feel and be treated like an emperor.

Reviewed May 23, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Jeanne from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2009

Excellent Service and Comfort in a Beautiful Hotel”

Rooms Atmosphere Service
Restaurant Water pressure

This is one of the nicer hotels I have ever stayed in and while we only stayed for one night, it was near perfect. The first taxi we got didn't know where it was despite our address in English and Chinese, but the second one we got ended up dropping us at the entrance to the street. The area is safe and clean, there is a theatre nearby I believe. It was about a 2-3 minute walk to the hotel. Upon check in we were greeted by the bell boy and 3 people at the front desk. Even though our rate did not include breakfast they gave us breakfast vouchers for the next morning. The rooms were large and modern. There was everything we might need, ethernet hook-up, three phones, a converter to use, usb jump drive and cord, and an electric kettle which was wonderful to have when we came back from exploring in the cold. The water pressure was not a good as I thought it would be, so when I wanted to take a bath it took a while to fill, but at least there is a flat screen at the end of the tub to watch while its filling up! When we wanted to go somewhere for dinner, they offered to introduce us at a nearby restaurant and recommend dishes, and they wrote out everything in Chinese for us to make sure the taxis knew exactly where we were going. Also everyone speaks pretty good English, we had no misunderstandings while we were there. David, the bell boy was particularly kind to us and answered all of our questions. When we asked for a taxi for the next morning to leave at 5:00am, it was no problem and they even packed a "to-go" breakfast for us since we werent able to partake in the restaurant breakfast. The only strange thing about the restaurant was when we asked for a hot chocolate and cappuccino, they brought us powdered watered-down chocolate drink and instant coffee with whip creme on the top which I guess was supposed to be a cappuccino. After that, we didn't want to order from the restaurant. Plus there are many street vendors and restaurants around the area to eat at. All in al

Reviewed December 29, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
CHANG from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009

Wonderful hotel experience in Beijing Hutong”

Good service,good location to visit Beijing hutong,beautiful tradition Beijing house with good and modern internal renovation. very comfortable bed and clean bath/toilet. I will defenetly recommand to all my friends this hotel.
No.

I love this hotel. Beautiful tradition Beijing house with good internal renovation. I recommand this hotel to all tourists who want to have a great experience in Beijing hutong. Location may be difficult for taxi driver, it's better to bring the Chinese address or the taxi driver might have difficulty to find it.

Reviewed December 02, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Siu from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2009

Han's Royal Garden”

Good room. Nicely furnished. Clean. Like the design of the room and the bathroom
Shower does not have a door to protect the water from splashing. Stairs have uneven steps which make them tricky to goup and down. No phone number and no full address on website.

Han's Royal Garden is a very nice hotel in an interesting area. It is off the beaten track and has excellent modern rooms in an old area which makes the hotel very attractive and charming. It is rather difficult to reach by taxi because the address information is incomplete and there is no phone number. It would help if the address and the phone number would be on the site in both Chinese and English so both guest and taxi driver can read the instructons. I would stay there again.

Reviewed October 11, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
henry from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in September 2009

like living in an Emperor's palace”

Gorgeous classical Chinese architecture, good location
limited in-house dining

This hotel is beautiful! The detailing is a reproduction of Chinese empire style and the hotel is full of wonderful antiques. The rooms are ample suites overlooking a lovely courtyard. The staff is extremely helpful, though only a few speak English. The dining consists of a fiercely expensive ($!,000 for dinner for two) gourmet Chinese restaurant that caters to local clientele) who want specialized Chinese cuisine and a Western restaurant in the basement with an unappealing ambiance. The good news is that there are excellent restaurants within walking distance.

Reviewed October 06, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Sidney from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2009

Authentic, historic and wonderful!!”

The authentic design of the now-becoming rare hutongs of Beijing. Beautiful, comfortable and peaceful setting in a central area of Beijing near the Houhai lakes.
Like most of Beijing, language is a bit difficult, yet the staff is very helpful and try very hard.

The Hans Royal Garden is a wonderful place in so many ways. It is one of the few hutongs that still exist and therefore offers one the experience of living in an authentic, historic and unique architectural style. It is luxurious, comfortable and very welcoming. The neighbourhood is delightful; it includes great shopping, restaurants, bars, and park lands along the Houhai lake region. A perfect place to really experience Beijing at its best!

Reviewed October 04, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
Sidney from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2009

Really authentic!”

Living in a true Beijing style
Difficulty with language

Beijing is rapidly changing and being modernized. The Hans Royal Garden is one of the few authentic places where foreigners can enjoy the historic setting coupled with all the modern amenities. Great staff, great food, great location. It is in a central location, in an original hutong neighbourhood filled wiith the hustle and bustle of an era gone by. Highly recommended.

Reviewed October 04, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2009

Wife's Review of Our Coutyard Hotel”

Absolutely great location. Close to shops, restaurants, bank, taxi , tour desks. Perfect mixture of western & chinese style room decor/quality fittings. Fabulous bed & lovely linen,towels compared with other hotels in China. CNN & BBC, Discovery Channels.Good coffee at Breakfast.
Miscommunications sometimes frustrating for all. Need hooks to hang clothes, hat etc. Sensed the glamour of the Olympics had faded.

This was our first trip to China & not interested in staying in a large hotel.Our daughter who studies at the Central Academy of Drama (across the lane)did an extensive search for us of courtyard hutong hotels in the HouHai/Dongcheng area. Hans Garden is by far more superior but pay more to get more. We stayed for 10 nights in total, enjoyed the breakfasts but dining out at nearby restaurants.Staff friendly & try hard to please. Beautiful buildings, ornate decor & quaint courtyards. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed September 08, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
Jean from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2009

Han's Royal Garden”

Really Beautiful
Services are limited

If you're into small boutique hotels and don't require a lot of services from the staff, this is the place for you. It's well-located, a brief taxi ride from the Forbidden City (it's just north), and the building itself is gorgeous. The rooms themselves are modern and comfortable, and outside, the hotel, which used to be a nobleman's house, is kind of dreamy. I kept whipping out my camera to photograph the lovely courtyards, the fish pond, the ornate paintings on the walls and ceilings, etc. The main reason I mention staff services is that they were very sweet people, but many didn't speak strong English. When a friend called and asked if she could leave me a message when I was away from the room, the person at the desk said, "no". Also, Beijingers generally eat early, so when I asked for room service slightly before 10pm, I was told my only options were noodles or fried rice (which I had, and it was great). I was given breakfast tickets with my booking, and was impressed at the options available (set menus as well as a la carte).

Reviewed August 30, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Ah from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Mediterranean Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015

good hotel”

decoration, food and room
Reviewed April 17, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
shen from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

amaizing hotel and good location,nice staff”

near pub area.

hotel really really nice. room is good, out side view is nice. easy to find food outside.

Reviewed March 04, 2013
6.3
Good
Tessa from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Beautiful hotel, great location but only a 3* Room”

Great location in heart of Hutongs, beautiful courtyards and embellishments decorating the communal areas of the hotel.

The communal areas of the hotel are beautifully decorated with lovely little courtyards around which the rooms are located. It feels authentic and fitting with the Hutong area but with it being two stories and rooms having an ensuite I assume it is newly built? Either way it looks great in both daylight and at night time. The staff were nice too, offering us late checkout without us asking, after we requested a taxi later in the afternoon. My mark down was because of value for money. As a regular business traveller to Beijing, staying in large international hotel chains such as Marriott, this hotel was twice as much as my room at the Marriott for lower quality room and breakfast. The breakfast wasn't great, most of the food had been eaten without being replaced and not great quality, although we did arrive in last 30 minutes of breakfast. Rooms were basic with large but weirdly designed bathrooms - seals showing around the sinks and a shower that flooded the bathroom floor no matter which way you aimed the shower head. We had a great weekend in Beijing, enjoying the Hutong area, and enjoyed the beauty of this hotel (it's not your average hotel), but not wowed by the room itself given price.

Reviewed September 30, 2015
6.0
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

great location but not five star”

location

we had booked a chinese style suite (han's suite) but were given a mediterranean suite - when we asked why, we were told that the rooms were larger. the bed was lovely and the bathroom was very large. however, this is not a five star hotel - the toilet had not been cleaned, the sofas were covered in stains and the carpets were dirty. the little extras that make somewhere 5 star were missing - for example, the television reception on the english speaking channels was poor, there were no ice cubes, the western restaurant was closed and the spa was closed.

Reviewed February 15, 2013
7.3
Very good
Trina from New Zealand
Family with young children
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012

Wow....best location you could stay”

Beautiful courtyards and location is outstanding

we loved the location of this hotel. we could walk to a funky eating street that had very cool little boutique shops. also walked all through other hutongs. we walked and caught local buses which was much easier than waiting for taxi etc. lovely chinese old style (some parts are a bit dated) but that didn't bother us, our room was huge and we were in our own little secluded area of hotel and felt like we had the little courtyard all to ourselves. reception staff were incredibly helpful.

Reviewed July 15, 2012
7.7
Very good
Ellen from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012

Wonderful experience”

Traditional Chinese atmosphere, located in old city of Beijing

Han's Royal Garden Hotel is a beautiful, courtyard hotel, built in the old traditional style of elegance, located in the hutong district of Beijing. It is embracing and gracious with a staff that is most helpful and quite well versed in English. The public rooms are authentically furnished while the sleeping accommodations are modern with excellent facilities. Breakfast is adequate and the location is excellent. Absolutely a place to experience what the local customs are all about. A real treasure in a city that is becoming modern and Western in hotel style.

Reviewed March 30, 2012
6.7
Good
Chiuyun from Taiwan
Family with teens
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011

THe room is really small and shower is not good”

the location is good

i won't go to this hotel anymore. the experience was not that good. the bedroom was really small and evenmore the shower water was not hot at all. as for the breakfast, i thought it did not reach certain quality.

Reviewed June 19, 2011
7.7
Very good
Joyce from United States
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2011

Super Cute, Traditional Chinese style”

Location

Hotel location was great. Right near Hou Hai, cute shopping street and forbidden city. Hotel is updated, with modern amenities (wifi, adaptors, etc) although the building itself is traditional. Breakfast is very poor, but it was included so no complaints. Staff is very friend and helpful (they help me to arrange spa treatments, taxi's, etc) however they have hit or miss english. Some of the staffs english was great, others a bit weaker but we got there in the end. Beautiful hotel with very cute fixtures and koi pond.

Reviewed March 05, 2011
7.3
Very good
JACQUELINE from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010

Great physical outlook but small normal room”

Scenic garden outside the room

None of the taxi drivers know the exact hotel location, even though you have the read out in mandarin the address. It is far >20mins to walk to the nearest subway. Most of the receptionists are friendly, The room are small. I like their internet access and power plug converter ready on the desk.

Reviewed November 08, 2010
6.7
Good
Henrik from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2009

Service at one star level”

Beautiful buildings and gardens, hutong location
Terrible reception service and no buffet breakfast

Terrible service at check in and check out, both took more than 20 mins each because staff cannot handle credit cards nor speak proper english and they also behaved in a rude way. This was my second stay in this hotel and the bad service was repeated which is very sad for this nice hotel.

Reviewed October 08, 2009
7.7
Very good
Richard from Australia
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 7 nights in August 2009

Chinese style hotel in Beijing Houtong area”

Location to Nan Luogu Xiang is 50 metres. Member of Small Luxury Hotels so you know...
Communication can be a problem as staff only have very basic english, so you need to be prepared and know what you want to do.

Location is great for exploring the Houtongs of central Beijing. Where ever you stay in Beijing, you will end up spending a fair amount of your time exploring this area anyway. Traditional Chinese architecture, with modern facilities in very pleasent grounds.

Reviewed August 18, 2009
5.7
Fong from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

5 stars charges but 3.5 standard. Not worth payin”

The room is clean and tidy. Bed is clean and comfortable. Overall environment is good for photo taking.

It is rated as 4.5 to 5 stars,

Reviewed May 19, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Better than the forbidden city,”

Location, style, two Italian women concierges

The best Fabulous

Reviewed November 16, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Madhav from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Mediterranean Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014

Personalised excellent service. Boutique Hotel. ”

Location was excellent. Quiet neighbourhood in a typical hutong. Staff was friendly and provided personalised service . Buffet selection and easy access to sights and shopping.

Thank you to Martina and Irene on their front desk to make our stay delightful.

Reviewed May 05, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Pascal from France
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

Central location, comfortable stay”

Central location, friendly staff, comforable room

it was a great experience stay in Han, staff are very friendly and helpful. Central location easy to access to Hou Hai, Forbidden city. Nice restaurant around.

Reviewed November 05, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Ferdinandes from Indonesia
Business traveler
Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

great hotel very nice experience and atmosphere”

location, beautiful hotel

very nice staff, as well very helpfull. beautiful hotel enjoyed the atmoshpere of the hotel. The rooms were clean rooms.

Reviewed September 25, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Richard from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013

It was a very good stay ”

ambience, location and quaintness

Except that the first two days the air con wasn't working, the stay was very enjoyable.

Reviewed May 12, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Alan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 8 nights in April 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed in”

comfort, authentic design and location
Reviewed April 29, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Nienh from United States
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Large bedrooms and bathroom!”

large room, fantastic bathroom, great garden view
Reviewed April 05, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Kai from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Excellent hotel, good service and it reli represen”

The services is good, the hotel itself is a signatue building

They will suggest you somewhere worthwhile to have a look They provide with good services

Reviewed January 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
SHERRY from Australia
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

lovely hotel and great service and location”

the service is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Will choose to stay next time if we travel to Beijing.

Reviewed July 02, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Jong from South Korea
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

Great Hotel but some transportaion problem”

Beautiful Hotel with great staffs.

Room was sapcious and luxurious. The garden of hotel provides great scnery and beautiful photo spots.

Reviewed May 03, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Larubbio from United States
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2011

Very beautiful hotel and great service”

The traditional building

The hotel decorates very beautifully, and the service is great. Everyone speaks English there, and the hotel is walking distance from HuTong.

Reviewed November 03, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Sona from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 6 nights in September 2010

Beautiful place in Beijing”

location was awesome, next to Nanluoguxiang which is full of shops, bars, cafes
breakfast buffet was huge but very westernized in taste

Hotel is just gorgeous; Elaine and Kacy and other staff were super polite and helpful.

Reviewed September 21, 2010
5.2
Daniel
Business traveler
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

beautiful, but not very practical...”

Stunningly beautiful boutique hotel located in a quiet and authentic hutong... While I'm glad I stayed there, for the chance to see it's aesthetic charm and historical beauty, I would not stay there again as it was too impractical and unclean... It was impossible to get a taxi in the morning on a weekday (requiring us to walk a mile down the hutong to the main street to try to find a taxi), and the amount of dust and hair in my room was an unpleasant surprise....

Reviewed May 27, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Neicia
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in May 2019

A quiet retreat in this excellent location”

This boutique hotel is located in the midst of a bustling houtong near the drum and bell towers. Yet its traditional courtyard atmosphere is a quiet oasis in Beijing. Karina and staff were very welcoming and helpful and the large room had a king size bed.

Reviewed May 27, 2019
7.7
Very good
Yun from China
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Beautiful garden”

Location is great; overall hotel environment is wonderful as surrounded by a garden, whole construction from Qing dynasty; room is great. We booked two rooms and they have a shared common entry.

Rooms design (two rooms have a shared entry) is perfect for group travelers, such as two families together. Garden and buildings are beautiful. Good experience and will refer to friends definitely.

Reviewed September 09, 2014
5.7
Nicole from United States
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

Beautiful architecture, true chinese style”

chinese architecture, kind staff

Overall, quite good. Cute location, incredible design/architecture although in need of remodel. Bathrooms smell.

Reviewed November 11, 2013
7.7
Very good
HeeKyong from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Great stay at traditional Chinese architecture”

Hotel's setting was so pond, Chinese style court y
Reviewed April 17, 2013
3.7
Ann from Denmark
Couple
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012

Can´t belive that it is a SLH hotel ”

close to a very cosy little street

ow standard, cant belive that it is at SLH, small luxury hotel. - needs renovation - bad breakfast - bad englishspeeking, poor help - terrible restaurant

Reviewed May 07, 2012
7.7
Very good
Daphne from Canada
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011

Gorgeous Hutong hotel in great walking area”

great service, beautiful room, gorgeus property

This hotel is very well located near an excellent walking street with many good shops and restaurants

Reviewed May 07, 2011
4.3
ChiaChia from Canada
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2009

Han Royal Garden Beijing”

Lovely, picturesque hotel. Located in a hutong (valley).
Extremely difficult to navigate, i.e. find the location and obtain service, if you do not speak Chinese.

I would not recommend this as a hotel for anyone used to Western standard. The walls are not insulated, staff really only speak Chinese, and the Western restaurant was closed when we were there.

Reviewed December 14, 2009
7.0
Very good
Henrik from Sweden
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2009

Beautiful hotel but lack of service”

Rooms, hutong location
Reception staff can not handle credit card (double charged me) and are not helpful, hotel hard to find, breakfast is very limited - no buffet
Reviewed September 28, 2009
7.7
Very good
ISABEL from Spain
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2009

CHINA A TOPE”

LAS CARACTERÍSTICAS AMBIENTALES DEL HOTEL LA INMERSION EN LA CIUDAD REAL DE PEKIN LA UBICACION
LA DIFICULTAD DE LOS TAXISTAS PARA ENCONTRAR LA DIRECCIÓN DEL HOTEL EL DESAYUNO EL AMBIENTE POCO CONFORTABLE DEL COMEDOR

Lo más interesante del hotel es su oferta de edificación al estilo chino (casa patio de lujo) en la estructura urbana más típica de la ciudad de Pekín, en un enclave no excesivamente perimetral, cercano a la torre del tambor, la pagoda budista,etc. Con un poco de esfuerzo se puede llegar incluso andando a estos lugares. Además, en la propia manzana del hotel hay una calle interior de gran actividad comercial restaurantes, etc. Las habitaciones son confortables, si bien la zona de comedor, en un sótano, es algo fría en invierno. Al no existir buffet, el servicio es algo complicado, ya que no sirven las cosas en el orden solicitado. Por otra parte, la dirección del hotel es de dificil localización para los taxistas, o al menos así lo hacen creer. de cualquier forma es una experiencia distinta, ya que se trata de un hotel tìpicamente chino, con comodidades y dotaciones occidentales.

Reviewed December 04, 2009
6.0
Adrien from Switzerland
Group
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2009

Beautiful hotel but terrible staff”

Hotel setting is amazing, location,
staff and atmosphere

Staff is very rude, they tried to nab us off on taxi ride to the airport by making us prepay 400 RMB to the clerck. We refused and paid the taximetre which turned out to be 60 RMB... They also tried to keep the credit card deposit to charge extras after our check out arguing it was custom of the hotel policy.. The women at the counter seems to have climbed the wall of china to get her get off her chair. This hotel should NO WAY be part of the Small Leading Hotels of the world as they claim to be.

Reviewed December 09, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
sandrine from France
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Magique et unique”

ancien palais conservé, magnifique et unique, très bonne position centrale et stratégique pour les visites, calme, beau et reposant.

Parfait. Un vrai plus dans l'immersion de notre voyage.

Reviewed August 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Pierre from France
Couple
Deluxe with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2011

tres bon hotel ”

bien situé et agréable de type chinois traditionnel tres bien reusii

dommage que la salle de petit dejeuner soit aussi moche le buffet est dailleurs decevant

Reviewed October 24, 2011