Book Now: Hanoi Antique Legend Hotel

Excellent
From 963 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (963)Booking.com Reviews (596)
8.2
Excellent
From 963 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities7.7
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.4
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
Tiếng Việt
more
Room type
Family Suite
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Junior Suite Balcony
Family City View
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 845 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Soon from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Exceptional”
Freindly and helpfull staff. The staffs are well verse in English even for bellboy. Clean, nice and spacious room for small hotel. Near to lake Hoan Kiem. Convenience location. Road was not so jam or small compare with other location in old quarter.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Georgia from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Perfect for business stay”
Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make me comfortable when I arrived so early in the morning. Extremely comfortable bed and superb breakfast.
Reviewed October 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Yingchi from Taiwan
Family with teens
Family City View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Everything is perfect,including food ,room , and attendants are very good .”
My family is satisfy with this hotel , besides attendants are friendly and patience , which we feel like home . We will be choose this hotel again if travel here also recommend to other travelers .
Reviewed October 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
best hotel ever”
Great location, staff are amazing go out of way to help you, location is perfect few minutes walk to every thing, breakfast is beautiful and hotel is exceptionally clean I will certainly be staying here again just loved it
Reviewed October 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Amanda from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Great location, lovely staff and felt very safe as a solo female traveller.”
Excellent value, walking distance to all attractions, lovely large rooms and very attentive staff. Highly recommended.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
6.0
SOJUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Family City View
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
so so”
so so
Reviewed September 20, 2017
6.4
Good
Thanh from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Could have been better”
Had high hopes but was disappointed. We arrived at 10pm. I don't think we were given the correct "superior city view" room since our window looked directly at the backyard of someone's place where they were playing out their laundry to dry. Was a bit weird to say the least. The room was small but cute. Bed was comfortable. The cleaning staff and breakfast staff were great; super friendly. Breakfast was good. Unfortunately, there was drilling and loud banging sounds starting at 6:30am. We were told it was their neighbor doing construction. It was so loud and obnoxious; basically forced us to get out of bed no matter how tired we were. Our hallway was also filled with stuff each morning to afternoon (e.g., mattresses, towels, bedsheets, etc) making it awkward to walk to the elevator. The elevator also took a really long time to come down. We mostly end up walking. Overall, we wouldn't recommend his hotel based on our experience. Good luck to future travelers.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Daria from Russia
Business traveler
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Exceptional”
the hotel was overbooked and the hotel staff suggested the nearby hotel. Don't remember its name. It was brand new, clean and worth the money
Reviewed August 29, 2017
5.6
Amy from New Zealand
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Above average”
very handy location but very noisy , room is very small n towels not clean, i believe that u pay what u get.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
6.8
Good
Tim from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Good location, easy for taxis to find”
Antique is well located near the lake and right in the heart of old town. Since it's right on a corner, it was easy for taxi, Grab and Uber drivers to find. That can be key. The room was a good size with high quality bedding. Breakfast was pretty standard - or just below it.
Reviewed August 08, 2017
4.4
john from Australia
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in July 2017
Acceptable”
I stayed at this hotel for 1 week, I was prepaid and could not get a refund. I can say, nothing is as shown in the pictures. 1. A superior Room with City City view....turns out to be a window looking st at a wall within 2 meters..just a blank wall, no street below, just a small passageway and just the wall of the next building. 2. Only a bath not a Jacuzzi. 3. No condiments...just a barrel on the wall filled with condiment..one press at a time. 4. And the breakfast tricks are many..forget the offerings in the pictures, you have to ask for eggs, omelettes, sunny side up, boiled...no ask..no get. 5. The trick i liked the best tho, was asking the front desk clerk about trips to make, each trip costs 1/2 million dong and each one is run by one of his relatives, and lasts between 1 hr to 4 hrs which he tells you is them doing me a favour cos their time is sooo important. I also arrived early, very tired and I wanted to check in early, yep, you guessed it, 1/2 million dong to check in at 7 am other wise wait till 2 pm the guy said with a stone face. And as for a taxi pick up t the airport, I was lucky there they totally ignored my request for pick up and I was left to get to the hotel by my own devices, thankfully less than 1/2 million dong. Oooh one last trick is the old water trick, they do provide 2 free bottles of water, each one with a cling wrap vacuum tight around the bottle cap, so tight you need a sharp knife to get the cap off..BUT sitting right next to the free bottles are 2 other bottlers of water on which the caps are easy to get off....trouble is they cost 100000 dong each. Just love that trick
Reviewed August 05, 2017
7.2
Very good
William from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Very good”
Nice clean friendly place. Away from the noise of the bars etc and with a stop for the 86 express bus to the airport.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Huy from Canada
Group
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
value for money, great location”
anyone who is travelling on a budget can book this hotel, its very affordable and you get more than what you pay for. comfort, location, great service
Reviewed July 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Huy from Canada
Group
Family City View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
great value for what you get”
this is a small hotel in a great area, the price is amazing and for the star rating of the hotel, they exceed customer expectations with their great service and friendliness. completed recommend for anyone travelling with a tight budget and want great comfort
Reviewed July 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Deborah from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Exceptional”
Great place. Great location. 2 minutes walk to the lake. Would recommend .
Reviewed July 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mark from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Great staff great hotel”
Staff was superb regarding our comfort. We had a few issues with our situauation and young child and they helped us wonderfully.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Antonio from Norway
Group
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Great small hotel in the center of old Hanoi”
Great small hotel near the center of old Hanoi, just a few steps from the major lake in Hanoi, with restaurants and bars around the corner.
Reviewed July 05, 2017
7.2
Very good
Anthony from Singapore
Couple
Junior Suite Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Cool Stay!!!”
Hotel location is great..2 mins walk to Hoan Kiem Lake..we stayed over the weekend and there was a big night bazaar around the hoan kiem lake area..lots of street food and cheap shopping..hotel is pretty dated but they are upgrading..we stayed in their suite..room size is good but needs improvement..would recommend this place for 1st time traveller..
Reviewed June 21, 2017
3.2
Chatchalerm from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Acceptable”
Unclean room & bad smell...
Reviewed May 25, 2017
7.2
Very good
ZENOBIA from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Location is good but the facilities are just fair”
The location is indeed very good, near to bus stops and the old quarter. However, we experienced some noisy construction work near our room in late night and early morning which is not acceptable. Also, the choice of breakfast is so limited.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
joao from Germany
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Excellent”
Just perfect. We will be back!
Reviewed April 30, 2017
7.2
Very good
Alexandra from Thailand
Couple
Family City View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Nice stay overall”
The location of the hotel is great. The room was spacious and clean, but it was VERY humid with a lot of damp. The bed was comfortable. We could hear the noise from the street a little bit, but it didn't bother us at all. The included breakfast was OK.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
joao from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Great Boutique Hotel right in the center ”
Only negative comment is that our "non-smoking room" smelled smoke and had cigarette burns... and we had to have the windows open during our entire stay, which in a noisy area of town is not ideal...
Reviewed April 26, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Swee from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
I thnk it is quite good”
Everything is good. Just that the room is a bit small~~ it is near to the Hokien lake and every tourist spots is within walking distance~^^
Reviewed April 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
apinya from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Exceptional”
My son and I had just come back from Sapa to Hanoi. We were very tired and checked in very late at night. The front desk was very kind and upgrade the room for us and gave us the late check out for one hour. The hotel is in a good location not far from Huan Kiem Lake. Good service
Reviewed April 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jeremy from United Kingdom
Couple
Junior Suite Balcony
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Great little hotelIn great location ”
Nice hotel in a good location, near everywhere you need to be . Breakfast is good if you go Down early enough, we stayed for two nights and had the top room , which was ok , but we stayed another night after a cruise and had a different room on the 10th floor, it was 20 times better , so if you stay here try for the 10th floor
Reviewed April 16, 2017
5.2
KIAN from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Small hotel with mediocre service.”
No one at the front desk when checking in. Small rooms. Wifi was the weakest I have ever experienced in VIETNAM, and I have been to Vietnam a lot. Only good point was easy access to food downstairs. Not going there again.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
7.6
Very good
Thach from Vietnam
Business traveler
Junior Suite Balcony
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Good option Hotel”
Its an Exquiste Boutique Hotel in Central of Hanoi!!!
Reviewed March 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Olivia from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Best...”
Best hotel in Hanoi. Booked for 1 night then booked again for 1 night after travelled to Sapa. I feel comfortable and relax, clean and good smell inside the room. Water pressure in the shower good, location best. Love it...
Reviewed March 21, 2017
5.6
Chak from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Not too bad for a city tour”
The stay in Hanoi is the last stop of our Vietnam trip, so we just randomly picked a hotel with high C/P (Based on the location and hotel interior). Though the cost for the room here is really cheap, I would say there may be a better choice if we had spent a little more, or find another with about the price. About the not-so-good, I would say the room is rather old and worn, when I stepped into the bathtub, I heard some cracking sound which I thought it might be easily broken. The toilet seems to have a smell, but occasionally. Also, the bed is rather hard, but still good enough to rest. Regarding the service, I could not find enough help from the staff, either they know nothing much about the surroundings, or they didn't show their helping hands in a welcoming manner. I had better get the information through other channels. Yet still, this is a good location for transporting by airport bus, and near the Hoan Kiem Lake.
Reviewed March 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jacob from United States
Family with young children
Family City View
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Comfortable Stay”
Great location, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast.
Reviewed February 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jacob from United States
Family with young children
Junior Suite Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Comfortable Stay”
Great location, helpful staff, and great breakfast. Will stay here again!
Reviewed February 26, 2017
8.0
Excellent
itai from Israel
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Nice clean hotel polite staff ”
In old quarter close to shop stores bars and coffee shops.nice and polite staff ready to help with everything.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
EU from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Nice hotel, good location”
Nice view, nice room & nice hotel. Recommend traveller to stay this hotel for long vocation.
Reviewed February 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
sheiree from Philippines
Family with teens
Family City View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Nice hotel ”
Well just that the pic on line is not the one we had. All in all it was a great experience. Thanks! When we have a chance to come back we can still use it.
Reviewed February 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lauren from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite Balcony
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Pleasant hotel with great staff”
The staff were excellent, location is perfect in the Old Quarter near markets and restaurant. Room spacious and free water bottles provided daily. Buffet breakfast very satisfying. We would stay there om our next trip to Vietnam!
Reviewed January 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
APON from Bangladesh
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
excellent ”
excellent
Reviewed January 24, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Bryan from Canada
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
2nd staying staying here”
We stayed here before in the suite. This time we only stayed 1 night so we booked a standard room. Suite was amazing. Standard room not so much. Very cramped and damp. Staff was still awesome so that helped.
Reviewed January 24, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Yi from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Double Or Twin City View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Great value for money”
Everything was great, except that water heater sometimes seem to run out of warm water (given that we were in Hanoi during Winter (13-20degrees).
Reviewed January 18, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Senne from Netherlands
Couple
Family City View
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Well located, great staff”
Perfect Hotel that is located in the heart of Hanoi. The staff was really friendly and helpful, the room clean and the location outstanding.
Reviewed January 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Harris from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Two hotels ”
There are two hotels by this name. Maybe the photos are from the newer one? Either way it was a nice stay even though the room was much smaller than in the photos.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
5.6
Lim from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 15 nights in December 2016
Not honest”
I booked this hotel for a stay of 15nights and first when I reach the hotel, they relocate me to their "new" hotel across the street. Telling me that the hotel room there is "bigger" and "more luxury"... But I don't buy it but I have no choice and to settle down in the "new" hotel and it's noisy cause there's construction just next door to the hotel. When I went into the room, it was small and cramp and have a kind of smell. I open the window and it's facing a wall. Which actually I booked a room with city view. I ask my local friend to call this manager and he say maybe need to wait for few days to put me back to old hotel. And I say no... And when my friend call again, he did not pick up her call. And the hotel facility stated parking but it's not free. Anyway, parking for each night is only 10000dong but at the end of the day, they charged me at 240000dong for parking.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
7.2
Very good
joseph from United States
Family with young children
Family City View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Not What We Expected”
Booked a "suite river view" due to it showing it had 2 beds. When checking in, we were given a room on the top floor (elevator goes to 10 then you have to go upstairs to the top 2 rooms). The room was large but had only one king bed. When asking the staff about it, he acted confused even though I showed the Agoda website to him. He said he called the manager and we would have to pay for a second bed. Not acceptable. The manager arrived later and I showed her the documents and the website. She was friendly and understanding and gave us a roll-away bed free of charge. That said, this never should have happened. Poor advertising on Agoda led to this disaster. Also, we met other guests unhappy that they had booked the sister hotel down the road and been stuck in this facility. This seems common. The room was large but had the feel of an old attic grandparent's room that they attempted to turn into a hotel. Huge windows were covered over with wood, there was an empty bar (kid enjoyed that) and the balcony had walls that didn't meet causing a 10 cm gap to the outside. The floor creaked and the furnishings were old. Cracked glass in windows and doors. Lightbulbs burnt out. When the keycard was removed, power to the fridge turned off and anything left inside spoiled. The shower had tons of hot water but drained through a hole drilled in the wall. Rooms on lower floors costing less had much nicer furnishings and we would not request this room again. The staff in the restaurant and housekeeping were outstanding. Front desk was mostly great minus the check-in fiasco. Bellmen were also fantastic. Breakfast was nothing special but adequate. Location was noisy with beeping traffic 24/7 but a short walk to the old quarter and lake. Overall, it was ok for what we paid and we didn't expect 5 star facilities but the photos don't match the rooms and this really isn't acceptable.
Reviewed January 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Bryan from Canada
Couple
Family City View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Great hotel great location ”
Everything was great! The included breakfast was top notch! I would stay again for sure!
Reviewed December 13, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Colin from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Very Pleaseant Stay”
Despite a 2am late check in everyything was ready check in was easy and for no appeareant reason i was upgraded to a better room. the staff are freindly and eager to help. The location is great in the old quarter, with the lake only a 3 or 4 minite walk. For a budget hotel this was fantastic !
Reviewed November 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Panuporn from Thailand
Group
Family City View
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Good location”
Good location
Reviewed October 29, 2016
7.2
Very good
Bancha from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Good Service and Location”
OK
Reviewed October 26, 2016
7.6
Very good
Somphathay from Laos
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
ok”
ok
Reviewed October 19, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Barry from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Outstanding staff”
A very good hotel with outstanding staff. I would like to personally thank Trinh (reception desk) for her help in facilitating our every request and enquiry.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Chi from Vietnam
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Everything is good, except for that I want a room with the natural wind, they use the conditioner all days ”
Everything is good, except for that I want a room with the natural wind, they use the conditioner all days
Reviewed October 10, 2016