Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 37 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

R from United States
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015
Loyal Guest- earned because of service
Exceptional location; Exemplary staff
First of all, my warmest expression of gratitude to Ms. Lai, the conscientious manager and her always-smiling assistant, Ms. Lily, for their attention to the needs of me and my guest during our five day visit. They were exceptional during each of my three separate stays at The Hanoi Merci. Whether departing from or returning to the lobby, I always looked forward to seeing them and to our chats about generalities. And, if you require tour service, that too is easily arranged in an unpressured setting with good guidance to help with your selection. The location of the hotel is perfect. Turn LEFT upon stepping out of the hotel and you are within three minutes of the bustling Old Quarter; a minute more and you are at Hoan kiem Lake, also known as Sword Lake. Turn RIGHT and you are immediately at a beautiful urban park across from the lake and a short distance more, you'll be in awe of the beautiful Hanoi Opera House and some high end retail experiences. Ly Thai To Street is a scenic street. Regarding food service, I awakened too late to enjoy but my guest partook of items from the fixed menu and responded favorably. The rooms were comfortable, the mattresses & pillows were too. Housekeeping was diligent with its performance; its staff was prompt and friendly too. WiFi was fine--reliability and speed. The bathroom was ok; shower only and in my opinion (as mentioned before) the shower heads need improvement. If the venue compels showers, the water flow should be delivered uniformly! Hot water was plentiful and standard toiletries were provided. Overall, the Hanoi Merci has served my needs quite well and for that reason, I do not hesitate recommending it.
Reviewed April 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Bertrand from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Nice room but inconsistent service
Clean and comfortable room, great location, friendly female staff
Good: Great location near the lake. Clean and comfortable room. Quick check-in and check-out. Friendly female staff who speak excellent English. Pho offered for breakfast. Received a free upgrade to a better room. Airport pick-up service arranged speedily. Bad: Male staff with constant dour faces, weren't too keen on acknowledging your presence. Hotel padlocks it's entrance after midnight. Western breakfast option mediocre. Birthday went unnoticed by staff. Overall: Enjoyed my stay (to a point) but will not return.
Reviewed April 13, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Wong from Singapore
Group
Family Room
Stayed one night in March 2015
Stay at the Hanoi Merci Hotel
Location and staff service
Good location with excellent staff service. Helpful and will answer your queries to the best of their knowledge
Reviewed March 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

JUNG-PAO from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Not recommendation for this hotel
1. room fill with mosquito. 2. few choice for breakfast. 3. we stay 3 night, they did not change towel one day, and only provided free mineral water on first day
Not good memory for this staying
Reviewed March 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

cong from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
nothing
location
Reviewed March 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

R from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Delighted With This Discovery
Location, staff, ambiance
I happened upon this gem of a hotel while returning to my original one after a long walk in Hanoi. I subsequently decided to try the Merci and then extended my stay there. It was a very good decision. From the time I entered the small lobby, my experience was grand. The two young ladies managing the check-in process could not have been more personable----then and throughout my time there. Kudos to them! They also provided useful information aboutbHanoi and tours. The room was not large but ample for me; the pillows and bedding were comfortable; WIFI was reliable and its speed was fine. The bathroom was acceptable but desperately needed a new shower head. Promo keys instead of access cards were used. I did not eat breakfast component there but did notice that one orders from a menu and dines in a small area that is part of the lobby. The general vicinity is very safe and on a lovely street. Walking in either direction after stepping out of the hotel entry, one will quickly encounter many nearby attractions that make Hanoi the charming & elegant city it is. I give high marks to the Hanoi Merci and would return without hesitation.
Reviewed March 05, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Dovile from Lithuania
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
average
Location was acceptable
My room had no window and one of their receptionists, older guy, tried to rip me off at every opportunity. Didn't really enjoy my stay as a result.
Reviewed February 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Christian from Philippines
Group
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed one night in January 2015
5-star in service!
Staff, location, price
This hotel is along Ly Thai To Street, about a couple of minutes away from Hoan Kiem Lake and within walking distance to the tourist spots in the old quarter. We cannot recommend this hotel enough. Our rooms were spotless, breakfast was more than adequate (we even tried requesting for more bacon and to our surprise, the hotel manager served us more!), and the staff -- oh were they the real asset of this hotel! Mr. Peter was probably the most helpful staff in all of the hotels I've stayed at. He helped us book our HaLong overnight cruise without being too pushy. Ms. Lai, the hotel manager was just as helpful and friendly -- always making sure that the guests were given everything they need. We will definitely book this hotel when we go back to Hanoi!
Reviewed January 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Thomas from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
Great staff
Staff performance ....location......room facilities
Hotel was just great....the day manger..Lai.....just went overboard to help and accommodate us with anything we needed,etc...
Reviewed November 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Marilyn from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Good
Good Location, Staff speak English, Near supermarket
Good Location, Staff speak English, Near supermarket... The staff are great! The manager is knowledgeable and very hospitable. She really made our stay in Hanoi good. Will definitely recommend this hotel and come back to stay here if we come back to Hanoi.
Reviewed November 15, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: