Book Now: Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Excellent
From 307 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
90% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (307)
8.6
Excellent
From 307 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities7.5
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service8.9
Value for money8.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
Deutsch
Français
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe
Family
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
more
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 262 verified guest comments
7.6
Mya from Myanmar
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
good
no problem
Reviewed May 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
ADAM from United Kingdom
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Exceptional
great stay, superb location, helpful staff. beds just a little hard
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Yvonne from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 5 nights in April 2017
Great little hotel in a good location!😀
Lovely little hotel, right in the heart of Hanoi old town and steps from the lake. We had a great stay here, the staff are lovely, they go out of their way to help you. Breakfast is fantastic, lots of choice and cooked to order. We also had our meal on the last night with the staff all cooked for us and complimentary. Complimentary tea and coffee and nibbles in reception all day and night. Our room with balcony overlooked the bustling little street which was fascinating, ask for high floor as can get a bit noisy. The rooms on the high floors at the back overlook the lake. All in all lovely stay and would return in a heartbeat.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Gaius from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
A Great Place to Stay in Hanoi
The hotel is only a stones throw away from the lake. We went there during the weekends and the roads nearby were closed. People were on the streest playng games and having fun. The staff at the hotel were super friendly and helped us in many ways. They are just like a information centre, gave us many tips. We had a great time there. Will stay there again if I visit Hanoi again.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Steve from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Single Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Exceptional
This hotel is in a great location close to the lake and offers pretty decent value for money. The staff are very friendly and helpful and will do their best to help you. They offer tours and excursions but often at a premium to what you can buy them for from travel agents nearby. That said, they booked me a trip to Halong Bay that was pretty decent value for money.
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Steve from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Single Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Great location and great staff
The location is difficult to beat in that its very close to the lake and very quiet apart from a neighbour's cat that occasionally screeches. The staff are very friendly helpful and they will arrange tours for you but often at a premium to what you can buy them for from travel agents outside. That said, they put together a tour of Halong Bay for me at a decent price. All in all I would heartily recommend staying there and doubt you'll be disappointed.
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Doan from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Clean room and friendly staff
I checked out early and sent my luggage in the reception area to go out for 3 hours. After leaving Hanoi, I realized I forgot my flip-flops in the hotel. I knew it was my fault but I felt a little bit disappointed because the housekeeper didn't announce to the receptionist anything.
Reviewed March 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Jennifer from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Great stay, nice & central to old quarter + very helpful staff
We had a great stay and even when we decided to extend our stay and the price was more expensive online than we had originally booked, the hotel staff were more than happy to let us book again for the same price we had paid and pay direct at the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was cute and cosy and hotel has WiFi. Hotel location is great as really close to the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. We would definitely stay again if we are lucky enough to make it back to Vietnam
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.4
mark from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Over booked
Don't know about this hotel over booked we only booked it 10 MONTHS in advance . But the hotel a cross the road is brill !!! Staff very helpful .
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
mayura from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
location
Good location, near the Lake and walking market
Reviewed January 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Ory from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
A great and pleasant hotel in the heart of Hanoi
I've booked for 4 nights and my experience there has been very wonderful. I booked for an airport picukup and the driver showed up on time as expected. The hotel is located in the heart of the old quarter in hanoi and just few steps away from Hoan Kiem Lake. The staffs at the reception desk are very friendly informative attentive and fluent in English so they have been extremely helpful to fulfill my needs during my stay. My room is quite small for family but large enough for solo or couple travellers with balcony overlooking the street and K Circle store right across the hotel. There are complimentary foods and drinks beside the reception and in the room that are available everyday.During the breakfast they converted the lobby into dinning tables and they asked the guests to choose their preferences from the menu. There are western and vietnamese breakfast style available. They also provided currency exchange and tour services with reasonable rates as well. Overall it has been a great and enjoyable stay. I will surely be back here again when i visit hanoi next time.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Vito from Australia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
Great Location and Staff, but small rooms for a family
This was our second stay at the Hanoi Old Centre after our return from the cruise trip to Ha Long Bay. Staff are excellent and always willing to help.The rooms are a little small for a family and the decor is dated but its OK as it is ideally located in the old quarter near the lake and surrounding restaurants. With limited space for a full buffet setup you order breakfast from a reasonably listed menu, choices are good. You ask what you want and it will be made for you instantly, the banana shakes are a good start to the day. Staff are great, with two young children we did not want to spend hours on end on buses so asked staff recommend a few day trips which would meet our needs. They suggested short two hour rides which we could do. They organised all of this and it worked out well for us. They will even pack a breakfast of whatever you want to ensure you get away on your day trip on time. This was fantastic. Staff also organised our laundry, which is charged by weight, and ensured we had transport back to the airport.Overall as mentioned the rooms are small and dated, however I would stay here again.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Mohit from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Super location and welcoming staff
Super location and welcoming staff
Reviewed December 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Vito from Australia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good Location, Helpful staff, decent size rooms
We arrived at the hotel before usual check in time as our flight arrived early from BKK however staff allowed us to get to our rooms as it was ready. This was handy as our two boys had been up since 4:00am. Staff are great, speak very good English and ready to assist with anything. Our room, though small compared to what I have experienced in other parts of Asia, is clean and has everything we need. Decor is a bit dated but as long as it worked it was fine.Showers had good pressure and good temperature control. We had a room back from the main road so there was no problem with traffic noise. I understand rooms facing the road can be noisy. Breakfast is in the small area around reception on ground floor and is buffet style however its not spread out like a traditional buffet, you are handed a menu they then go away and make it and deliver to your table. This was not a problem for us and the items on the menu was OK and varied. The hotel is located very close to the lake and is in a very touristy area of Hanoi, so prices in restaurants may be higher then further afield. We walked around mostly to were we wanted to go. I would recommend the hotel and will stay here again.
Reviewed December 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Kevin from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
nil
We had 2 rooms which were very adequate for us. Staff were excellent and breakfast was a good variety
Reviewed December 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Elyse from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Friendly and helpful staff! Great location and breakfast included.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and kind! The included breakfast was very good as well. My room was clean and pretty quiet. I would recommend to family and friends!
Reviewed December 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
yunil from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Good room with balcony
Great staff and good breakfast.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
HyooKyung from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Nice
It was nice
Reviewed October 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
Sungil from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Disagreeable receptionist......
While I've stayed there, She looked so busy. no smile, a businesslike manner....and the place that I had breakfast was so small, not well-organized.
Reviewed September 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Christiane from Germany
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
perfect place to stay in Ha Noi
Location: In the old city, very close to the lake, but in a quiet (as quiet as it can be in Ha Noi ;-)) side street. Perfect if you just arrive in Vietnam and need some rest after the long fligt. Service: The staff is very friendly. You feel immediately at home. Rooms: The rooms are clean. We had a small balcony on which you can sit and drink some beer from the supermarket next door.
Reviewed September 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
taekohn from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
good
gOD
Reviewed September 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
CHANGAH from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
They try to help us with their best.
They try to help us with their best.
Reviewed July 23, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Ian from Australia
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 5 nights in July 2016
Small but well managed well located hotel
Hotel is very small BUT has the advantage of having really good staff led by their manager Ms May
Reviewed July 09, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Jessica from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Great services available
The Halong bay tour arranged for us was really good and suited our budget. The tour of Ninh Binh was also amazing and the busy company used to take us to sapa was great, all arranged by the hotel. Just outside the Old Quater so it's quieter especially at night but only a small walk to the busy shopping area so good location!
Reviewed June 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Amanda from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Great value and friendly staff
My room faced the street so was quite loud at night, and the wifi wasn't the most reliable (fine in the lobby though) but the location was convenient, free breakfast good, and staff super friendly and helpful.
Reviewed June 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Jack from United States
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Great staff
Staff at this hotel is what makes it great. The girls at the front desk were super friendly and more than happy to help out with anything they could. The porters were very helpful and friendly as well. Everyone there is great. Very good free breakfast also and this was a bonus we hadn't expected. No question I would return to this hotel.
Reviewed June 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Tadashi from Japan
Solo traveler
Lake View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Driver
friendly and flexable service
Reviewed May 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Jarungjit from Thailand
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
value of money, must come back
We didn't get the room we booked because the previous customers decided to lengthen their stay. It was the top room we booked, so we had to stay in the much smaller, lower grade room. But the staffs compensated our stay with free airport pickup and were very friendly and helpful. The room was good and we were happy.
Reviewed April 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Jarungjit from Thailand
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
excellent hotel exceeding expectation
With all the facilities the hotel provides, they are beyond our expectation regarding hotel cleanliness, room space and friendliness of hotel staffs. The location is right at the old quarter area and within walking distance to walking streets and tourist places in Hanoi. I would recommend you to choose this hotel when visiting Hanoi. Two thumbs up.
Reviewed April 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Sharon from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Good service the key
We arrived after 1am on a late flight and having warned the hotel of this, found someone waiting for us to check us in at that late hour. All service when we were at this hotel was pleasant and helpful so I found it surprising that when my young Vietnamese travel companion phoned about her favourite jeans that she'd left in the room's wardrobe, she was asked: "Do you really want them? It will cost you a lot of money for us to post them to you in Ho Chi Minh City." We are hoping to see my friend's jeans again soon.
Reviewed April 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Yue from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Comfortable stay
Clean rooms, comfortable size. Bathrooms with hot water. Excellent location at old city with night markets, close proximity to food, shopping, and sight seeing. Welcomed with tea and snacks, breakfast had great selection and was pretty good. Staff very nice, professional, accommodating. We were able to leave our baggage with them after checkout for almost 10hrs, no problems. CONS: rooms can be a bit noisy in the day, some nights from surrounding Street. Saw a mouse scurrying across the lobby. The restaurant recommendations and tour options are overpriced. You can find better pricing by shopping around.
Reviewed April 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Mohd from Singapore
Group
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Another group of happy stayers
1. Customer service was 1st class. Staff were very friendly. 2. Hotel room is clean. 3. Location is very good. Near to shops, lakes, wholesale market and night market. Very happy and satisfied.
We were very happy and satisfied. Especially all the stafff. Will stay there again.
Reviewed March 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Stephanie from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Excellent location in Hanoi
Friendly & helpful staff, excellent location, breakfast service.
We enjoyed our time.at Hanoi Old Centre very much.
Reviewed December 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Rachel from Malaysia
Group
Lake View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Lovely Hotel
Service, Cleanliness and Location
Pleasant and unforgetable stay. The hotel even refunded money to us when our taxi was late for half an hour!
Reviewed December 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Rachel from Malaysia
Group
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Good Service
Service, Cleanliness and Location
The staff was fantastic and helped us in everything. Nice hotel in a great location.
Reviewed December 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
Hendrik from Netherlands
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 13 nights in November 2015
wonderful stay
stadd, location, value for money
I stayed 13 night at Old Centre Hotel and enjoyed the hospitality of the staff, their readiness to help where ever needed. Room was a bit small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast (especially the Vietnam items) was great. Atmosphere informal and homely.
Reviewed December 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
3.7
Patrick from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Very clean and nice stuff, but not the room we boo
The location was very good. So was the breakfast
The only thing I didn't like at the hotel was that the room shown and booked at the website was way smaller in real. The was basically just the bed instead of a nice big room with seating possibilities. I really don't like things like that.
Reviewed September 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
Melissa from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Thankful for wonderful stay
Location, location and the staff
Reviewed August 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Bart from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Excellent stay
Location, staff, price
Stayed here before and after going to Sapa, and I really liked it. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the location is amazing. Just around the corner of the lake and close by to many nice restaurants, bars and eateries. I actually think the cheaper rooms are better, i requested to change rooms once. The rooms on the streatside are a bit more noisy but have a balcony. The cheaper rooms do not but are more quiet and have a bigger shower area. Wifi here is excellent and so are the rooms in general. Clean and good beds. I would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed August 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
hoong from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Indeed a 'Home away from Home'
1. Staff friendliness 2. Cleanliness 3. Strategic location
My stay there with my friend was very comfortable. The staff were always helpful and friendly . Tours can be booked by the hotel. They would also recommend places for good food and other tourist attractions. It's all in all a very good hotel where you will always be greeted with smile.
Reviewed August 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
bonnie from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
great hotel
the 3 best things are the helpful staff, the location and the comfort of the rooms
Great stay we were only meant to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 4 nights. Great staff very helpful and friendly. Very good location.
Reviewed July 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Lesley from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Enjoyable experience
service was outstanding, cleanliness and location
After a cancellation with our flight to Hanoi we missed the first night of our booking. Upon arrival the staff informed us that we were being upgraded at no charge. The hotel foyer had complementary juice, tea, coffee and snacks available 24 hours a day. The beds were comfortable, the family rooms had a small balcony and a window and the double rooms had a small balcony as well. The rooms were very clean and the location was great. This was the best hotel that we stayed at in the $20-$30 price range in our 3 weeks in Vietnam.
Reviewed July 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Nicole from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Great hotel
Staff, location & comfort
Really helpful staff always willing to give information. We booked the cruise of Halong Bay through this hotel and it was perfect Great location near the lake Nice breakfast too with drinks & snacks provided throughout the day
Reviewed July 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Chia from Taiwan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Nice environment and service
Comfortable environment, good service, and economy price
The service is so good, and it's so convenient to get restaurant and shopping mall around there.
Reviewed June 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Jose from United States
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Balcony
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Stay here!
Location. Staff. Cleanliness.
Amazing! No complaints. Look no further than the Hanoi Old Centre Hotel.
Reviewed June 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Lori from United States
Group
Family
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Lovely, yet inexpensive gem of a place
Staff, cleanliness, location
I was traveling with 2 friends. We stayed in a family room. Very clean, and the staff were ALL wonderful!
Reviewed May 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Kurtis from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Clean and friendly
Helpful friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms
Comfortable basic hotel with all that you need for a pleasant stay.
Reviewed March 31, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
Kurtis from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Comfortable and clean
comfortable clean rooms with very helpful and friendly staff.
Relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are basic with everything you need and clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lots of snacks at reception available whenever you felt like a snack.
Reviewed March 31, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Jesselle from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
got a room upgrade for free
location, good customer service and the lovely upgrade
...got upgraded to deluxe room. Too bad we did not get a good view of the Hoan Kiem lake
Reviewed February 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Georgia from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in January 2015
Fantastic hotel in Hanoi
Location, breakfast, staff
Reviewed February 05, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|