Book Now: Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2

Very good
From 1289 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (1289)
7.8
Very good
From 1289 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities6.7
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.2
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Tiếng Việt
Français
日本語
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe City View
Queen Suite
Connecting Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 1069 verified guest comments
10.0
Rowena from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
better than what you pay!
Lee was really nice to us.Affordable,clean and nice Hotel.Staff are accomodating.Location is walking distance to night market(for shopping) and St.Joseph Cathedral..Aff
Reviewed January 21, 2018
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
6.0
Bendixen from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Average
Since there were three of us, we booked a family room. We only booked one night because we have an overnight cruise in Halong Bay. I have arranged a separate airport transfer to save us the trouble of getting a cab at the airport. A day before the flight I added the flight information. This is to make sure they would not give our room reservation to walk-in guests. Hours later, I received a response from them confirming the transfer. When I read the message trail, I was dumbfounded. They have sent a message saying that if I want an airport transfer, I should send them my flight details. Immediatey, I responded to their message and asked them to cancel the airport transfer. I told them I did not request an airport transfer. I also sent a message through their website. I found their email address and sent another email to. But I did not receive a single response. As expected, we have two airport transfers when we arrived at the airport. In the end we used both transfers and paid for each of them. The room was big and clean. It had a balcony and kitchenette. The breakfast was decent tasting. The staff were nice. However, the bed covers had holes. The shower leaks to the main bathroom.
Reviewed January 13, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Jana from Slovakia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Everything was good
Good position of hotel, clean room, tasty breakfast, nice and helpful staff. I can recommend this hotel.
Reviewed January 13, 2018
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.8
Ivonne from Sri Lanka
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Convenient place
Great staff, very helpful. Lee helped us, by upgrading to a suite ! Which is Fab!
Reviewed January 09, 2018
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.8
Ivonne from Sri Lanka
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Value for money
We are very happy about the hotel. Everything is there, TV, free WiFi, hot water and good beds. The staff Lee and Joy were very helpful in arranging our trips to Sapa and Halong Bay, and they upgraded us to the suite room, after the second booking. Breakfast is set menu, which is reasonable. I would say Value for Money.
Reviewed January 09, 2018
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
4.4
Sara from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Dirty
This hotel is in a good location but there were hairs in the bed (they had not changed the mattress cover in a long time, and we could see the dark hairs on it through the sheets). The hallways were very dirty carpets. There was no hot water in the shower. We asked for the sheets to be changed and they were very helpful. We asked for a discount for these reasons and were give our water bottles and our bill for $4 of laundry was covered. We would not recommend staying here if you have other options in this price range
Reviewed January 01, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Kelly from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Amazing stay in Hanoi. Old quarter
Lee is the absolute best!! He is full of life, energy, knowledge and an all around great human being 💛 highly recommend this property!!
Reviewed December 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Kelly from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Absolute best!
Lee who works in reception was full of knowledge when it came to activities in and out of Hanoi as well as recommending amazing ! Restaurants 😍. He is full of life and has a wonderful heart. I fully recommend staying at this property!
Reviewed December 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
3.6
BINAYENDRA from India
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
ROOM NO 204 is absolutely nonsense room bad smell through out the room. night couldn't sleep.
On 25/12 on duty staff behaved very rudely and didn't understand well what I was complaining. I will never recommend this hotel for family staying
Reviewed December 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
PHAM from Vietnam
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Perfect service
I felt happy when I stayed here.Hotel was clean.location was good-near with many restaurants,shop...etc.Staffs were friendly.I appreciated with them.They helped me anytime when I need.I read all reviews before I came here.When I come,I fell amazing with Serenity hotel 2.It’s cozy as my house.When I go to Hanoi,I’ll come back here.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Svetoslav from Belgium
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Very good
Very polite and helpful staff; they had a problem with the room for the first night, but they upgraded me for that night, so that was nice; big city properties are by default bad value for money; room quite small; I never got hot water, which in Hanoi at the end of December is not nice; full set of toiletries.
Reviewed December 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.0
Haydn from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
A Superior Isn’t a Superior!!!
I wouldn’t recommend this place! A Superior is ridiculously small!! The bed is a small double! No windows, and we had an interior window in our room, overlooking a light in the corridor. Our reaction was, WHY?? Served no purpose. Don’t be tricked by the free breakfast either, not worth it. There was better hotels in Hanoi for the same price! The male receptionist was rude as well, however the female receptionist was friendly, warm and helped us. It didn’t help that we also had no towels in our room when we first arrived... Didn’t start well and didn’t end well!!!
Reviewed December 23, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Tai from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Honest staff
I left a prescription with $200 USD inside it at the hotel. At the airport I called back to the hotel and the staff found my prescription with the money. I asked them to send it through a courier for me, they suggested taking a picture of the prescription and doing to bank transfer to my girlfriend because she has a Vietnam bank account. They completed the transfer in an hour or two.
Reviewed December 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Katelin from Canada
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Nice clean hotel in old quarter
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights after visiting Ha Long Bay. It is centrally located in tha old quarter, walking distance to all the sights. Nice rooms, AC, window that opens, free breakfast and coffee/tea. Bed was really hard but thats our only complaint. Would recommend for $25cad a night, good value.
Reviewed December 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Richard from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Out of the way in quiet area
A nice little hotel friendly staff in old quarter. You get what you pay for , don’t expect luxury. But it’s clean and comfortable
Reviewed December 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Jordan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
You get what you pay for
Cheap hotel with mediocre facilities. Bathroom dingy and shower cut out half way through. Breakfast not great but staff friendly. Wouldn’t stay here again but was cheap for a night.
Reviewed December 07, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Lara from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Such a great stay, the staff went so far out of their way - would definitely stay again!
Room was exactly what was advertised, we were 2 backpackers that wanted a nice but reasonably cheap room and it was perfect! We arrived at 4.30am off the train and they accomodated our bags and gave us somewhere to sleep for a few hours which was beyond the expected! The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful. Returned to the hotel 2 days after the first stay without booking (the staff remembered us!!), however they were full but helped organise a cheap room at their ‘sister hotel’ which was greatly appreciated! All round really lovely experience.
Reviewed December 05, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
2.4
Nhi from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Totaly disappointed.
I feel wasted my money and depressed for attitude of staffs. NEVER COME BACK.
Reviewed December 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Suzan from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Skip the hostel or a more expensive place, go here instead
Having stayed in a few places in Hanoi, I found this hotel to offer very good value for money for a great Old Quarter address. Only a bit more than twice as expensive as a dorm-hostel, and half the cost of more luxurious places, here you have your own bathroom and a room you can lock up, plus good hot water and pressure. The facilities may be a bit dated or funky, but the linens are new and fresh. If at all possible, get a room with a window: room 703 is huge, with a kitchenette, couch-sitting area, full outdoor balcony, view of the rooftops, and beds to sleep 3. The place is safe, so I could sleep with the balcony door open for fresh air. All staff are very helpful, especially with travel arrangements and recommendations. Just be sure to let them know when you are arriving so that you don't miss out in case of over-booking (that's where the bad reviews come in) and book in advance if possible -- I saw lots of disappointed back-packers not be able to get a last-minute room.
Reviewed December 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Daniel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Clean, new, polite
Everything was perfect. The only 1 negative was there breakfast menu didn’t have any good vegetarian options.
Reviewed December 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
Queen Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Tired and poor maintenance!
Both sinks in the kitchen and bathroom had broken taps (hanging out of the sinks). Water didn't drain in the shower so you spent your whole shower time standing in dirty water. Hot water service wiring was literally wires coming out of a tile taped to the plug of the unit and hanging inches away from the shower head.... Don't even get us started on the breakfast, we nicknamed it "breakfast of disappointment"!
Reviewed November 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Minh from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Above average
My room was on the 9th floor, however the elevator only goes up to 7th floor. So I have to walk to 9th floor with my luggages. Room is extremely small
Reviewed November 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Trang from Vietnam
Group
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good Customer Service
Location is great, near to West Lake and local Restaurants. Helpful Front desk Clean and comfy room
Reviewed November 29, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Nicole from Canada
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Great location and value
The hotel is comfortable and located in a convenient corner of Old Hanoi. It is close to many great restaurants and coffee shops. The Internet connection worked well and the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful. They assisted us in booking an excursion to Ha Long Bay and with bus transfers. Lee was wonderful and answered many questions for us.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Kurt from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Customer service was meh....
I made a reservation a week in advance, when I showed up they apologized and told me there was no room for me. Then they moved me to another hotel for the night insisting that it was upgrade, It was not! I was staying in Hanoi for 2 nights and that means I had to pack and unpack two different times while I was there during my 2 night stay. It ruined my next morning plans I already made, then my room wasn't ready when I checked out of the hotel they sent me to. During checkout they were asking me how I liked the "upgrade." I told them that the other hotel was no better or worse and it was a real inconvenience to have to pack my things twice and checkout twice during my 2 night stay. The breakfast was pretty sad, but I liked their pillows.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Ellen from Canada
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 13 nights in November 2017
Great breakfast and staff
We really enjoyed staying with Serenity, the breakfast was great, got to choose from a menu, coffee and tea all day! The location is unique and close walk to lake. We did a Halong Bay cruise that we organized through them, our boat was run down and did not look like what the pictures showed. The name of the cruise was Golden Star. The hotel was great with kids!
Reviewed November 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Suzan from France
Solo traveler
Queen Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Excellent value for money, super-helpful front desk
An older woman traveling alone, I stayed on a high floor in a deluxe room with balcony so that I could work during my second stay in Hanoi. The room was very spacious and came with a small kitchenette (sink, microwave, fridge) and a great view over Old Town rooftops. The hotel is safe -- I could leave my balcony window-door open at night for fresh air -- and there was little noise inside the hotel. Outside I could hear roosters and a train in the morning, but there was very little street noise when the soundproofed door was closed. Sheets, towels and room were impeccably clean; the bathroom fixtures were not the newest, but everything worked and the water is hot. Joy at the front desk was extremely helpful and all the staff very kind; wifi worked okay; tea and coffee available during day; and the neighborhood is just great for charm, street food and good restaurants. The hotel street is not totally touristy like many others. I thought it terrific value for money and will be back again!
Reviewed November 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Wendi from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Okay, but not good value for money
Pros: hot water, good air conditioning, good location (in Old Quarter, but not in the main area so pretty quiet), made to order breakfast (though we can only recommend the Vietnamese breakfast as the "English/American" breakfasts were not good), nice and helpful staff (they helped us call a metered cab and exchanged larger bills for smaller bills) Cons: the room was not up to date at all - the toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor, there was only one functioning outlet in the room which was in the bathroom so you had to charge your electronic devices on the trashcan or the sink, and there were odd stains all over the room (the worst of which was a large blood stain on the mattress that could be seen through the clean sheet). Overall, it served our purposes, though I believe you can find a better facility in Hanoi for the same price.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Graeme from New Zealand
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Exceptional
Very helpful and obliging staff; only quibble was spartan breakfast.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Claudette from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
They need to do some maintenance
Place is a bit old.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Luis from Brazil
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Good
New facilities in the old city ok
Reviewed November 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Clement from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Excellent
Nice location, good value for money. Bathroom / wasn't too good though as it didn't have good plumbing system. But its ideal for a short trip if you are on a budget. Including reasonable breakfast.
Reviewed November 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
QuynhNhu from United States
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Above average
Everything here is in usd, and the conversion is 1us equal 23.000vnd. The facility is clean enough. The room where we stayed was a little old, bathtub was scratch, the window door was almost break, and we afraid that my 2year old girl could break it. But I think you got what you paid for
Reviewed November 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
Jocelyn from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Only booked for day use
In all honesty, we booked this with the intention to use this as a day room. Arrived in Hanoi in the morning, but our train to Sapa was the same night. We decided to book the room to put our luggage and to shower/freshen up before train ride. Don't really have much feedback other than it served its purpose.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.8
Stephanie from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Other reviews were true
We got moved to their 'partner' hotel, Hotel Camilla which had a makeshift wardrobe and bathroom with a temporary door. We weren't given advance notice and was just told of the change when we showed up at the hotel despite email correspondence (and them sending us tour packages) earlier. We were told that it was because there is no water in our room and the hotel is under maintenance - which was odd as there were other travellers around - before we got shuttled off. Unhappy, we were placated with the promise of breakfast at Serenity 2 the next day --> which clearly, did not happen. We were not happy with the situation because 1) the replacement hotel was nowhere up to what we paid - indeed we had much better hotel rooms for the same price later on in our trip. 2) no advance notice was given 3) when questioned, the replacement hotel staff told us it was an 'electrical problem' at Serenity 2 and then proceeded to fumble with some answer and pretend to not understand us, once we told them we were told it was a water problem instead. It's quite a business model - charge us their rates then book us into a cheaper hotel. Absolutely unethical. We read the other reviews of people complaining of this happening to them, interspersed with good reviews and we took a gamble. Clearly the wrong decision, just wanted to warn people this could definitely be you - save yourselves the annoyance of being scammed and taken advantage of as this is clearly been a tried and tested way they run their show.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
Erin from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Better Options Out There
Run down, not too clean (the shower looked like it hasn't been scrubbed for a least a month), and the mattress felt like plywood. The double bed was actually two twins pushed together. Hotel staff were okay, but we were repeatedly heckled to book a tour by an agent in the lobby which was very annoying.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.0
Thuy from Denmark
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Dissapointing - would NOT recommend
We arrived around 13 and were told our room wasnt ready. Fair enough we went out. Came back after 15. The receptionist asked how many nights we were staying, we said for now only one night. She then said there was a problem with the room, and that they would take us to their sisterhotel around the corner. We talked back and forth because that hotel didnt provide breakfast so we would have to go back in the morning and have breakfast at serenity - they said it was no problem they would send a motorbike to pick us up. We asked if there was another option. In the end they made it sound like we were upgraded to a room nearby, that hotel did have breakfast but they still insisted we had breakfast at Serenity and so we agreed. They said the room was much bigger than theirs. We found out it was a 1* hotel app. 1km away. Upon leaving for an early trip next day we saw other guests being picked up for breakfast at Serenity -guess thats how they operate. Would never book that place again!
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Jakub from Poland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Second time we stay here
We have come back from Lao.It's second times,We come back Hanoi Serenity 2.We chose this hotel.We felt happy for staying here.We appreciated with Lee.He helped us any time when we stayed here.I'll come back here next time!Thanks Hanoi serenity hotel.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Jakub from Poland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Nice hotel
The person and specially Lee is very friendly and helpful. It was pleasant to stay at this hotel.I fell relax at here.It's best hotel I have ever stayed.I'll recommend it
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Panchita from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good location, breakfast not good
I have to stay this hotel 1 day. Staff all to be friendly. Good location. Room clean But only breakfast not ok. I get Ham very small only.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
jordi from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good
Place is ok for the money you pay. My room had some tobacco smell... a bit weird, honestly. It's quite old place, but the price is really good.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Nazmus from Bangladesh
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Budget Hotel
Really good hotel. We faced problem with our locks but they changed it and tried to help everytime. Will recommend to friend
Reviewed November 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Angela from Colombia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Good hotel and best service
I stayed periods.At the first,We were welcomed by warm greeting from hotel. We fell that hotel is very nice especialy Mr Lee.He helped me many times in my stay here.He recommend best place for eating and visiting in Hanoi. We fell pleasure.Second times,We came back from Ha Long Bay. When we check out,Lee offered the bathroom for having shower for free.Hotel also clean.serenity hotel look like my house. We ll come back here again.
Reviewed November 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Anonymous
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Nice but small room
I booked this hotel by mistake. I wanted to stay nearer to the centre of Old Quarter. However, i was pleasantly surprised, the rooms were clean and the hotel had a nice feel to it. The room I was allocated was very small, yet other rooms apppeared to be somewhat larger. The cooked breakfast consisted of 2 fried eggs and a miniscule 1/4 of a slice of ham, 2 slices of toast, 2 slices of cucumber and 1 slice of tomato, but a buffet style spread of fruits was available as was a limitless supply of coffee. The hotel is a bit far to walk from the hub of the old quarter area, but there are many interesting side alleys and restaurants to see or visit along the way.
Reviewed November 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Craig from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 8 nights in October 2017
Everything was good except for breakfast.
The breakfast menu is minimal but adequate, except they are too cheap to buy a toaster. They just provide warm bread, gross!
Reviewed November 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Phong from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Acceptable
For 2 stars. Very Old bathroom. Small bed. Noise if others close or open their rooms. But Friendly staffs.
Reviewed November 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Tran from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Very good
Why i must pay 15% tax to get VAT invoice?
Reviewed October 29, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Georg from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Clean nice room, nice helping staff, would recommend to go there again
Had a problem with room, which was not available. Got a free upgrade to Serenity Diamonds Hotel. Very helpful staff. Thanks a lot
Reviewed October 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
jane from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
No frills hotel with friendly staff in interesting little street.
Best room in the hous is deluxe room with balcony, the balcony looks down on the busy street bellow offering a birds eye view of the fascinating daily life of the locals. Breakfast is basic but fine for the price. The staff are very helpful and offer a very component travel service. The hotel is situated next to the railway line. The trains don't run that often (maybe 5 a day) and a walk along the tracks is quite fascinating.
Reviewed October 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
Melanie from South Africa
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Not value for money
We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was tiny but comfortable. The bathroom was terrible. There were wooden latices across the floor which looked old and grimy.The tiles were chipped and the shower curtain wasn't great. The breakfast was fine - typical Vietnamese breakfast of runny eggs and warm bread. The staff were friendly and helpful. It certainly isn't the worst place i've stayed but compare to other hotels i've stayed in that are the same price, this was a bit disappointing.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|