Book Now: Hanoi Starlight Hotel

Very good
From 309 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (309)Booking.com Reviews (50)
7.8
Very good
From 309 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities6.8
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service7.9
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
Tiếng Việt
Español
more
Room type
Superior Double or Twin
Superior Triple
Deluxe Double or Twin
Deluxe Triple
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 268 verified guest comments
2.8
Lưu from Vietnam
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Bad Hotel!”
Staffs are very impolite! They gave us the bad room, not like we booked. Breakfast like a shi*! Never come back anymore, i recommend you guys should not come here!!!
Reviewed April 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
No from Cambodia
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Very good”
This hotel is situated in old quarter. The price is fair and we just walk to the night market. If I have a chance to go to Hanoi , I will choose that hotel again.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
Hannah from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
All round good stay. ”
Good location if you want to be in the heart of the old city with plenty of street food options, bars and the backpacker crowd. Breakfast is alright, standard.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
7.2
Very good
Goh from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Hotel is clean, quiet and u intrusive. Ms Tina at the front desk is very sweet and helpful and helped us with our transfer to the airport. The lady at the breakfast room is also pleasant and cheerful ”
Ms Tina is an asset to the hotel. Always service with a smile! Would recommend this hotel.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
7.2
Very good
Andre from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Very good”
You should make use you check out on time at exactly 1159 they switch off the power so you cant find anything if you left in the room
Reviewed March 10, 2017
3.2
Yee from Malaysia
Group
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Acceptable”
Kitchen staff very bad service
Reviewed March 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Paul from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Clean smart good breakfast ”
The room had all the niceties of a 3 star
Reviewed February 26, 2017
6.0
Josiah from Switzerland
Couple
Honeymoon Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Above average”
Getting a slightly more expensive room was really worth it
Reviewed February 26, 2017
5.6
Dennis from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Would not stay again”
Located in a backalley, I found myself unable to check in 3 times because the room I booked was locked by the previous guest, who left town with the key. I got offered a staff room for free, with just a matrass in it. Obviously it was my choice to accept or not, which I did. I have not seen an actual room so my review is just based on impression. Staff barely spoke English.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Pakhuan from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Flexible, Friendly, Comfortable”
I stayed the hotel for half a day. We arrived early in the morning and we asked to check-in and check-out early. The staff were flexible and negotiable. The bed and shower room were clean. The location is great. It is 15 minutes by walk from the lake and 2 minutes from the Old Quarter Market.
Reviewed February 06, 2017
4.8
Hayley from Canada
Group
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Would not recommend ”
Location is a little far from central part of old quarter . Also, one staff member was not helpful while checking in and giving us a hard time. Later, other staff members were pleasant but initial check in was not handled professionally. Rooms were small and a little smelly . Also, very noisey in my room. I would not recommend this hotel to others , had better stays at other hotels in hanoi.
Reviewed February 05, 2017
6.8
Good
Anastasia from Russia
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
very disappointing ”
pictures are very far from reality. mold in bathroom, broken tap. no hairdryer although it was included on the list of facilities. in fact - no window. very bad "superior double".
Reviewed January 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Idan from Israel
Solo traveler
Superior Triple
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
recommended! ”
Fair price, high quality! The location is great and comfortable. Nice breakfast, good wifi, hot water and really good price! Excellent service
Reviewed January 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lubos from Czech Republic
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Traveller ”
Very good locations in Hanoi. Great to stay. Professional staff and Nina is the best one. Well done guys. All the best.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Daniel from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Great place to stay”
Good location, friendly and helpful staff, good value for money. I can't find any cons to post in this review
Reviewed December 01, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
William from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Love the ambiance!!”
I love the environment here!
Reviewed November 29, 2016
2.8
Lynn from Ireland
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Extemely bad ”
The location was okay but that's pretty much it. We have been travelling for months so we've seem grotty places but this place took the mick. There was mould literally everywhere, the rooms where tiny!!! the shower was super cold, the sheets weren't cleaned just straightened out..it was funny how bad it was and the food for breakfast was not inviting, a little tiny room with no selection for non asians as it was only noodles and rice and bread. The staff just tried to sell you tours and tell you were to go and they were really rude . One good thing, the bed.
Reviewed November 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Keidou from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Great . Breakfast is same like hotel buffet style n add on order at balcony. Sure come back n recommend to lot backpacker ”
Only morning wake up by motorbike sound , but this is Hanoi . Clean , solid bed no shaking sound . Air conditioning good
Reviewed October 26, 2016
5.6
doni from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Just for 1day”
Staff is not friendly, the bathroom is bad, the room is so hot
Reviewed October 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Charmaine from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Great”
staff were very accommodating and kind..☺
Reviewed October 24, 2016
7.2
Very good
Hamish from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
It Was Ok”
The hotel was ok value for the price. Staff were reasonably helpful, but seemed more interested in selling us over priced tour packages. The room was basic, and none of the internal doors would shut properly. Breakfast was good though.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
3.2
TAN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Terrible condition”
Aircond not function. Very hot. Bathroom very dirty Staff not polite. No soap shampoo toothbrush. Even the towel very dirty Bed not comfortable at all
Reviewed June 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Brendan from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Great aetup”
Sturdy beds in dorm, hardly hear people in/out. Close to all. Nice staff. Not really much for communal area. Value play.
Reviewed May 26, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Thijs from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Good”
Helpful staff, speaking good English.
Reviewed May 01, 2016
6.0
adam from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Pleasant stay”
the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. the room was average.
Reviewed April 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
aurelie from Germany
Family with teens
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
This place is nice”
We stayed here a couple of nights in two different rooms.
Reviewed April 16, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jan from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Nice hotel with good location and friendly staff”
My four days stay at the hotel was ok. Its situated in the heart of the old town with easy access to restaurant areas and the lake by short walking distance. The room was really quiet and the bed was good so I had an excellent sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Reviewed April 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Annye from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Triple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Excellent spot”
Love the Blue Sky 2. I stayed there twice, this time for 4 days. I love that is is very quiet whether you stay in a room or the dorm. If ypu like effs and bread for breakfast, you will be thrilled however, if you don't, there aren't other options. The staff is great.
Reviewed April 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Seth from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great staff”
Great staff, especially Lee was so helpful. The breakfast buffet was quite nice and different a little every day.
Reviewed April 04, 2016
4.8
patriciA from United States
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Not as it seems”
The hotel is in a great location. Close to foods,night market, scooter rentals, shopping, ect. The rooms however are very small and moldy. There was a strong pee smell from the bathrooms. Also if you are staying on floors 1,2, 3 you will hear the kitchen early noise. It is pretty loud. Also, we had a large sized rat in our closet the second night. We woke up to the sound of the rat going through our things. when we took our flashlight to look inside the rat was staring at us, not scared or anything! Pretty gross, we checked out of the hotel that early morning! The breakfast is good, fruits, bread, and eggs. the staff in the front are helpful and speak English well. I would not stay here again.
Reviewed April 01, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jan from Sweden
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Nice hotel in a good location”
The first night we got a large room with a balcony facing the street. But it was too noisy from traffic in the street. Couldn't sleep that night. Next day we changed to a smaller room and it was much quieter so we slept better. Not so many choices for breakfast but ok. We booked a day tour to Ha Long beach at the hotel and it was very good. Overall a nice hotel with excellent location and a friendly staff.
Reviewed April 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Annye from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Comfortable and really quiet”
The beds were comfortable and the room really nice. I also stayed in the dorm one night and both were very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is okay. The staff is super nice.
Reviewed April 01, 2016
7.2
Very good
Angelico from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Molds”
Buffet breakfast and location were excellent. However, the room smell like mold. The toilet gets wet when you take a shower. The staff were outstanding though. Except for mold smell in the room, this hotel offer the best value
Reviewed March 31, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Nadia from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
nice for a good price”
Verry nice hotel with friendly staff!!!
Reviewed March 27, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Martin from Estonia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Best beds”
This place has the sturdiest and strongerst bunk beds i've ever seen. Location is great and theres free coffee and tea. The place is not the cleanest around but nothing too bad and I had a hard time getting towels. They have a cool rooftop place to hang at evenings. Had no window shades when I was there but if you're sleeping in a dorm without eye mask and earplugs then you are doing it wrong anyway.
Reviewed March 22, 2016
7.3
Very good
bernard from Australia
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Good hotel”
Location staff clean hotel
Great staff clean hotel good location
Reviewed March 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Galen from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great hostel”
Clean, quiet, helpful
Reviewed March 12, 2016
6.7
Good
Lynda from Canada
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
comfortable but smelly”
location, staff, air conditioning
Reviewed March 02, 2016
7.3
Very good
Bao from Vietnam
Group
Superior Triple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Good Hotel Service”
Services, Location, Price
Accomodation should be improved.
Reviewed February 19, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Hannah from Australia
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Good hotel made great by staff performance ”
Staff service, location, no street noise
Good value hotel in an excellent spot. Staff went above and beyond in assisting us. We used this hotel as a base while we travelled to Sapa and Cat Ba Island from Hanoi, and the staff were extremely helpful in giving us advice and arranging transport to the train station, bus station and airport. The standard rooms are small and don't have windows, but they're clean and comfortable.
Reviewed January 21, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Cherie from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Good hostel ”
Comfy beds, clean, location
We found the location to be quite good, just around the corner from food, bars, BK, gym... It was a 30min walk from where the bus dropped us off though. There were taxis available but there were only little hatchbacks and four of us with packs was not going to work. The hotel itself was very clean and well presented. We stayed in the 10 bed dorm and it was cleaned daily. The beds were also very comfy and the bunks were sturdy enough that movement on the top bunk did not disturb the bottom. Staff are also very accommodating. The main girl on reception (forgot her name) was very well mannered and spoke pretty good English.
Reviewed January 20, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Ai from Australia
Couple
Honeymoon Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Hanoi Blue Sky 2”
Staff are wonderful & so helpful, they'll answer all your questions. Free brekky is ok, rice, bacon, fruit, rolls. Relatively modern & cleaned well.
Best thing is the staff, all speak English & will organise anything you need. Great location: mini marts, ATMs, spa parlour & food outside your doorstep & 10 minute walk or so from the main centre with the lake, this is good as the streets are exceptionally noisy so you don't want to be too close. You might want to ask for a room with a high level & if you're a light sleeper, a room with no window to further eliminate noise. The next street over has the night market on Fri & Sat. Would absolutely stay her again.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Joanna from Australia
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Decent for the price”
Customer service
Pleasant but the photos dont always match the rooms with our shower head located over the toilet??
Reviewed December 30, 2015
7.7
Very good
GRACE from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 8 nights in November 2015
Review ”
Location, price and staff
Our stay at the hotel was fine, good internet, breakfast was included which is not so bad and location is convenient as well in order to reach different places of interest.
Reviewed December 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Thomas from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Good Value Hotel in Old Quarter”
Location Value and Location
We enjoyed our time in Hanoi and the Blue Sky 2 was 2 star as rated. We had prebooked a private airport transfer via the hotel and it never showed up. We tried ringing but no answer. When we eventually reached it and commented the attitude was oh the guy who does that wasnt in today and no aplogy. As normal with some Vietnamese hotels the manager seemed a bit miffed that we had researched and booked our city and Halong Bay tours online from UK but they should accept that in todays online world after all thats how we found them!
Reviewed November 16, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Choon from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Good stay, 6.5/10”
Good location, Very attentive staff, and a friendly yet hassle free check in
Overall experience was good, the only disadvantage is the noise from people walking in corridor and the water pump system under the staircase could be heard from some room at 1st and 2nd floor.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
6.3
Good
Peter from Canada
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Good location, a little expensive”
Location, friendly staff, good breakfast
The stay was good. The price was a little high although the breakfast was great!
Reviewed November 03, 2015
5.7
Vinh from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 9 nights in October 2015
Stay at HN Bule Sky Hotel”
Have elavator, located at HN center, good price
Not really good, they move me many times (change 4 roon in 9 day stay), bathroom old and some of equiment are broken. But anyway i get big discount through angoda, but if they charge me normal, i think not worth to stay
Reviewed October 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Emilce from Argentina
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Cute woman at desk”
Help at reception, room comfort, location.
Great stay good room for price, wifi, helpful people at reception. Only negative would be the breakfast.
Reviewed October 28, 2015
7.7
Very good
Khanh from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Good”
Friendly
Reviewed October 28, 2015