Book Now: Happy Dragon.R J Brown Hotel

Very good
From 278 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9
Recommended by 86% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (278)Booking.com Reviews (2103)
7.9
Very good
From 278 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities7.3
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.6
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Русский
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Deluxe Double
Standard Twin
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Family Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 199 verified guest comments
5.2
Sock from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017
decent hotel in beijing”
plus points: spacious room and helpful staff especially 小李。 minus points: brownish water from shower head , not so clean towel , far from subway station not ideal for walk during cold winter.
Reviewed December 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Yvonne from Malaysia
Group
Economic Double
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
Value for money and good staff attitude ”
Staff service attitude is polite and they even help us to book a small bus for our group heading to the train station for our trip to datong, which is very helpful for us. But, location is very far away from the MRt station, which u can take the bus to MRT station for second option.
Reviewed December 09, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Payen from Mauritius
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
Very good”
This hotel is very well located, supermarket, bus station, bank, etc. within walking distance and is also 10-15 mins from the Temple of Heaven. We arrived at the hotel very early and even though check in time was noon, they gave us a room where we could take a shower and rest. We had booked a family suite, however they gave us 2 rooms in the end so that we would not have to move our things again. We really appreciated this kind gesture! The rooms have all basic amenities, however furniture was a bit outdated and TV only had Chinese channels. We did not have food at the hotel restaurant as we found it a bit pricey.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Mariel from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Best value for money hotel! ”
Best value for money hotel!! The place was clean, staff is helpful and CAN speak english. Loved that there was regular house-cleaning schedule everyday. The facilities are nice and properly working. There’s a daily refill of bath necessities. The hotel is near the convenience stores (right next to it) and has a restaurant on the first floor. Only con I guess is that it’s not that near the subway. We had to walk for about 1km to reach Zhusikou, the nearest subway. However, it’s near the bus station. We just didn’t consider this option ‘cause it’s really hard ‘cause nobody speaks English :( nevertheless, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel! Looking forward to booking in here again! :) Satisfied customer right here!
Reviewed November 20, 2017
6.8
Good
Robert from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 6 nights in November 2017
Good reasonable hotel staff extremely friendly most spoke English well made life traveling in China ”
Easier as not much English is spoken when out and about. About 15-20 minute walk to subway system. Food is ok at restaurant will stay again.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Muhammad from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Great Location for muslim tourist”
Location of hotel is 5-10 minutes stroll to the commuter.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
7.6
Very good
Jana from Czech Republic
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 5 nights in September 2017
Very good”
Great staff, helpfull, good english, friendly
Reviewed September 21, 2017
7.6
Very good
Lim from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Double
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
SMALL BUGET HOTEL”
STAFFS ARE EXTREMELY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. HOTEL IS NOT NEAR TO NEAREST TRAIN STATION . HAVE TO WALK ABOUT 20 MINS. HOWEVER YOU CAN ALWAYS TAKE THE LOCAL BUS. HOTEL IS WALKING DISTANCE TO THE TEMPLE OF HEAVEN .
Reviewed September 18, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
natalie from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Good value hotel with a homely feel”
We stayed 3 nights in a very large triple room. The staff were very helpful giving us maps and organising our taxi back to the airport. We ate in 2 nights and the food and drinks were very good value. Taxis are very cheap in Beijing so it was easy to get around from here.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
5.6
CHUN from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Fair hardware, poor staff”
Facilities there are fair, a bit old, but acceptable. There were two staff at the counter when I check in at around 1:30pm, but both staff are fresh. I waited for almost half an hour before I can check in. Although I can feel both staff are sincere and did their best, but a good manager would not put two fresh staff at the counter and left zero senior staff.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
7.6
Very good
Aimei from United States
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
The front desk is very helpful. It is a little bit far to subway but close to bus station. ”
We stayed there 4 nights in family suites. It is very good experience with kids and parents. We are happy with the stay. There are lots of choices of food nearby. The front desk is friend and helpful.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Wilfred from Philippines
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Great value!”
Room was big and clean and well maintained. Bed was comfy, aircon was cool and very quiet. There is cable TV but showing only Chinese shows. Bathroom was ok but too dark. Complementary bottled water with teabag and coffee/tea maker although the tap water quality is a bit suspect. About 15mins walking distance to Zhushikou station. Nice peaceful surrounding.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
6.0
Michael from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 7 nights in June 2017
In the first view the hotel looks nice but...”
... there was some really disappointing things: There was no real hot water in my bath. I have to run the shower for 10 minutes before there was some warm water. The water pressure was funny. I couldn’t shower with that. It takes 30 minutes to fill the bathtub and finally the water was more yellow than clear. The bathtub was leaking so after waiting 40 minutes to take a bath the whole bathroom was wet. Towels and bedsheets were not clean at all. I found a lot of strangers hair everywhere. Don’t use the restaurant inside - its too expensive for this quality of food - you will get much cheaper and better food around the corner. Well, I stayed now 3 months in china and this was one of the worst hotel I stayed.
Reviewed June 11, 2017
4.8
Chin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Decent Hotel no frills dont expect too much”
Location is pretty decent near the theater and temple of heaven. Room is standard size for the price and all basic facilities are there. No frills and decent enough so don't expect too much. Mattress is not the best in the world though it is sufficient for short stay.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Naresh from India
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Good Bagpacker hotel”
Was travelling along in Bangkok and looked for a good location and not very expensive. The location is convenient though the nearest subway station is quite a distance (about 3 busstops away). There is a convenient store next door making it easy for quick purchases of water etc. Basic hotel with decent size. What i paid is what I got so no complains.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Alizza from Indonesia
Couple
Economic Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
nice hotel, but a bit far from metro”
We arrived at the hotel at 3am, and we can directly check in. After 8hrs flight, I'm so grateful for this kindness. The room is clean, but some of the interiors are a bit old. Still OK though. The staff is friendly and helpful. Although the one who accept us in the early morning not speak English very well, he's trying the best to help us. I think he's not the main receptionist. The hotel a bit far from metro station , but very near to bus station. As bus was not our choice for transportation, we need to walk for 1km. During the walking, we passed Chinese traditional market, some restaurants, and saw group of people dancing every evening in weekend. We really enjoyed it, although sometimes tiring. In short we enjoyed our stay here, but probably the distance to metro station will be our consideration in next visit.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
ENY from Indonesia
Group
Economic Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
good hotel”
the staff very kindness and very helpful. the room are large and clean. the location a little bit far away from MRT station.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Matthew from United States
Couple
Economic Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Excellent”
Loved my stay here! Staff were extremely helpful and from the morning till 11 spoke very good english! Their night staff however does not so if your mandarin isn't too great, you'll want to take care of things in the morning. The location is nice as it's right next to the Temple of Heaven which is certainly a must see for any traveler. The only downside is that it's about a 15-20 minute walk from the subway, which when you have luggage with you isn't particularly fun, but certainly manageable. The cleanliness level is good for the price you're paying. It is a budget hotel, but the floors and sheets are clean. I would certainly stay here again!!
Reviewed April 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Katrina from Philippines
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017
Good choice”
Pros: Big room for an affordable price. English speaking staff - VERY helpful. Restaurant serves delicious food Cons: Not much choice of restaurants in the area Room has a smell of cigarette smoke
Reviewed April 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Mina from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Triple room was value for money”
Place is near the Temple of Heaven. That's the nearest tourist place to this hotel. Can walk to the nearest bus station, but if you're a tourist, studying the bus system is a bit difficult at first. Accommodating staff
Reviewed April 02, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Emma from United Kingdom
Couple
Economic Double
Stayed 7 nights in March 2017
Great value for money!”
R J Brown was perfect for our stay as it gave us a large, immaculate room and excellent faculties such as the bar and restaurant downstairs while also giving us a good location for Beijing for a travellers budget. Nothing to complain about :)
Reviewed March 30, 2017
6.8
Good
paizol from Malaysia
Group
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
clean rooms and comfortable. Near to metro station takes 15min walking distance.”
Heater not working and it freezing cold .No supply of mineral water .
Reviewed March 30, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Philippines
Family with teens
Economic Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Beijing Adventure”
The hotel is near the Temple of Heaven, local shops and theaters. There is a dumpling shop beside the hotel, which is very delicious and affordable at the same time. The room has free personal hygiene kit, slippers and free tea. The restaurant offers good food and drink. Overall, our stay is great except for poor to fair internet connection.
Reviewed March 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Wan from Malaysia
Family with young children
Economic Double
Stayed 6 nights in March 2017
Recommended”
Hotel security is safe, they will lock the gate in mid night, only in house guest can access lift, but cleaner or repair technician need to be improve which let the guest open the door instead of they straight use the master key to enter. I booked a standard room, just nice for a couple and a kid. House keeping still ok, only dust not proper clean and cup as well. Staff is friendly, even restaurant service is good. Suggest menu more choices. Location not too bad, walking distance to subway, if direction more clear provide to guest will be better as well as attraction place.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ma. from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Value for money.”
Over all stay is good. Will visit again for group travel. Good value for money. Near mrt, malls and bus stop.
Reviewed March 15, 2017
7.2
Very good
Liwen from Canada
Couple
Economic Double
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017
a bit far from metro but decent hotel”
next to the temple of heaven but about a 20 walk to the metro station Tianenmen
Reviewed March 14, 2017
6.8
Good
David from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
location is a little far”
location is a little far from mrt. but its a good hotel for low budget..
Reviewed March 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Rhean from Philippines
Couple
Economic Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Value for money”
- comfy bed - the best receptionists; good conversational english - room was big enough - near temple of heaven - it has a cozy cafe and restaurant
Reviewed February 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Reyner from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Everything is Just Perfect!”
the building is not new, but it is really well maintained. the location is not that near the facilities (include the subway), but it is really great to have a rest. the breakfast or even pure water is not provided, but their staff really helpful to do anything you want. for me, everything is just perfect during my time in Beijing. thank you Happy Dragon! will surely come back to stay here when i come back. that's all.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
7.6
Very good
Ben from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
This nice hotel has a lot to offer...”
They have a cozy bar and restaurant, 24hr reception, they can book tickets, arrange tours, the reception staff (Laurel and Anita) are lovely and friendly and keen to help. They can answer any questions you have and make your stay pleasant. As for the room, it was lovely to come back to a warm, cozy room with a comfy bed after being on my feet outside and clocking up over 30km a day. The shower was nice. The room was generally quiet enough. The nearest metro is about 15 mins away which will connect you to all of the main sights. My only complaints are that the bed was TOO comfy that I found it hard to get out of it in the morning, and I wish they had better lights, in the bathroom at least, for shaving. Chinese hotel rooms are always so dimly lit. Would definitely stay again.
Reviewed February 01, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Satisfied”
It is a very very good hotel. The room is clean and convenient. The Staffs were very helpful whereby they can speak English well. I like the hotel except have to walk for 10-15 minutes in average to get to the nearest subway (Anyway, I enjoyed it)
Reviewed January 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Zhargalma from Russia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Nice place”
Nice place. With good price. English speaking friendly stuff.
Reviewed January 22, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Asyikin from Malaysia
Group
Economic Double
Stayed 7 nights in January 2017
At centre of attraction”
Pros : The hotel is clean and confortable for us as dua traveler.. the workest is friendly to us even we cant speak any chinese languages.. the receptionists can speak english.. It near to temple of heaven (by 3 mins walk), shopping mall (by 2 mins walk) qiananmen square (by bus no 2), forbidden city (by bus no 2).. the bus stop is near about 3 muns walk from hotel.. the nearest subway station is zhushikou station which is 15 mins walks and 5 mind walk by bus no 2/120.. there is convinient store next to the hotel.. Cons : No international tv channel in the room.. No drinking water, we need to buy it by ownself..
Reviewed January 21, 2017
7.2
Very good
Tommy from Indonesia
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Backpacker Hotel ”
Old hotel, but staff is able to converse in English to a certain level
Reviewed January 05, 2017
6.4
Good
chi from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Have a good time at beijing”
All is good
Reviewed December 31, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Gilmore from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Convinience”
1.Best deal for your money. 2.Located nearby Tianenmen Square, a mini mall and food street . 3.The floor is carpeted and clean. 4.Staff speaks good english and accommodating. 5.Beds are stiff, pillows are flat, toilet bowl doesn't have water jet Overall, will always book here. VERY CONVENIENT TO STAY!
Reviewed December 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Bernard from Singapore
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 7 nights in January 2016
Nice Value, Good Location”
Nice Value, Good Location
Reviewed December 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
SUKHOV from Russia
Couple
Economic Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
best value for that money ”
of course not perfect, value for money ratio is very good
Reviewed December 27, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jason from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Good hotel to stay with family”
The location is good to move around to interesting places
Reviewed December 25, 2016
7.6
Very good
Koo from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Recommended”
Value for money, nice and good looking staff, located nearby Temple of heaven..
Reviewed December 23, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Xinli from Norway
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Worth the money!”
Nice hotel and nice price.
Reviewed December 12, 2016
4.0
Maria from United States
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 29 nights in November 2016
Expectations vs Reality”
It depends what kind of guest/traveler you are. For backpackers this would be a dream because everything is available. However, if you expect to have a clean room, less noise and professional service then this hotel is not for you. My room was never cleaned through my stay there, at one point the water coming from the pipe was yellow. There were mold and mildew in the bathroom, the blinds were dirty and there were stains on the bed sheet. No currency exchange available and the receptionist could learn how to be a little more professional. Granted my expectations were a little over the top mainly from the pictures on the site however when I got there I was surly in for a reality check.
Reviewed December 08, 2016
7.6
Very good
Teodorus from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Well english speaking staff and very helpfull”
One thing just make problem is far from subway station
Reviewed December 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Azlinaton from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Stayed 7 nights in November 2016
Value for money”
Good location. Walking distance to subway station. Reasonable rate.
Reviewed December 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
JAEHWANG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
very Cost-effective hotel in South Beijing. Clean. ”
** Strong point: very Cost-effective hotel in South Beijing. Clean. free-wifi. Safe, good English communication of reception desk. **Weak point: far from yongdingmenway(永定门外) subway station. the hotel is located from 8 minutes by taxi (about 13~15 yuens) from the subway station. the subway station is the place of rare person. few person is found after 9pm at around the station and taking a taxi is difficult. Keep always the hotel map that hotel provided.
Reviewed December 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
John from United States
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
A good choice”
Great value, a nice little restaurant with great beer selection including some Belgians, the Great Wall tour we booked from here went very well, and the staff was great with a very helpful understanding of English. If only the nearest metro stop was closer but buses are right around the corner; the walk to the metro was doable. Speaking of around the corner, be sure to pick up supplies at the little store next door... great value there too.
Reviewed December 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
KENYAN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Economic Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Very helpfull, friendly and polite staff. ”
Need to improve on meal especially burger. The location of hotel not so far from Subway station, which is you need to walk around 15-20minuts. If you walk to frobbiden city, its will take around 45 minuts and you can see there are many beautiful building along the way. If you looking for quite environment and value for money, this hotel is the right place. All the staff very helpfull and friendly.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
7.2
Very good
Iftekhar from Bangladesh
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Excellent hotel with a very friendly staff”
Very nice hotel with the temple of heaven nearby and with a very friendly staff who speak good English. No place to eat around the hotel and a bit far from the main city.
Reviewed November 06, 2016
5.2
Wei from Malaysia
Group
Economic Double
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Cheap but not close to Metro”
Pros:- - In-house cafe/ restaurant is convenient for quick bite - Walking distance to Temple of Heaven - Close (by taxi) to attractions such as Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Dashilan Street Cons:- - Hotel is not as close to the Metro as many reviewers have commented - No mineral water provided in room - Toiletries are in packet form and for single use purposes, compounded by the fact that there is no rack in the shower for you to place these packets while you are showering - Dim yellow lights in room and toilet
Reviewed October 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
UZAY from Turkey
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple - 3 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
GOOOD”
Location , room size and quality are reasonable
Reviewed October 24, 2016