Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

About Haus Chandra Hotel


Nestled in the heart of Mount Lavinia Beach, Haus Chandra Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Colombo. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Mount Lavinia beach, Concord Cinema, National Zoological Gardens.

The facilities and services provided by Haus Chandra Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour room service, facilities for disabled guests, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park.

In addition, all guestrooms feature a variety of comforts. Many rooms even provide television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, internet access – wireless (complimentary), non smoking rooms, air conditioning to please the most discerning guest. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as private beach, outdoor pool, massage, pool (kids), garden to make your stay truly unforgettable. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Colombo, make Haus Chandra Hotel your home away from home.
Show more Show less


Internet access

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Wi-Fi in public areas

Getting around

  • Airport transfer
  • Car park

Things to do, ways to relax

  • Garden
  • Massage(s)
  • Private beach
  • Swimming pool [outdoor]
  • Tours

Dining, drinking, and snacking

  • Bar
  • Coffee shop
  • Restaurant(s)
  • Room service
  • Room service [24-hour]

Services and conveniences

  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Safety deposit boxes
  • Smoking area

For the kids

  • Babysitting service
  • Family room
  • Swimming pool [kids]


  • Elevator
  • Facilities for disabled guests
  • Pets allowed
Show more Show less


Child and extra bed policy
Infant 0-1 year(s) Stay for free if using existing bedding. Note, if you need a cot there may be an extra charge.
Children 2-3 year(s) Stay for free if using existing bedding.
  • Guests over 3 years old are considered as adults.
  • Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose, please check the individual room capacity for more details.
When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.
Show more Show less

Useful info

Check-In From: 02:00 PM
Check-Out Until: 11:30 AM
Number of Restaurants: 2
Number of Rooms : 30
Room Voltage: 220
Time to Airport (Minutes): 80
Show more Show less

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Above average

based on 25 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 6.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.5
  • Service 6.1
  • Value for money 5.9
  • Food/Dining 5.9
Sort by

Nathan from Australia
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Run down. Disappointing.
Mmmmmm, Stayed for a few nights in May, 2016. Establishment in dire need of maintenance and updating. Small room not serviced during stay. Dreadful hot water system. Very dark foyer reception area. Breakfast was included but not available. Pool is down the road a little. It's a nice deep medium size pool. It appeared clean but the area was again in dire need of maintenance and updating.
Reviewed June 08, 2016

Michael from Sweden
Families with older children
Standard Room
Stayed 27 nights in December 2015
Nice staff, close to city and beach.
Thanks to the staff the hotell was fine. But maybe standard room where a bit simple. Otherwise i think you get what you pay for.
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Samath from Australia
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2015
You get what you pay for
Very close to the beach. As it is located within the Colombo city, other facilities can be accessed easily. There is a large number of beach restaurants for dinner very close to this hotel.
The hotel is very old. Room facilities such as taps, showers and toilets do not function properly. The mini fridge was out of order.
Reviewed July 10, 2015

John from Australia
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Good location and good room
close to the beach at Mt Lavinia; clean room and bathroom; comfortable bed
Good place to stay but let down by the dining room. Location is good - right on the beach but presentation is below average. Service was OK but furnishings were old and dilapidated. Restaurant was not up to the standard of the room.
Reviewed June 27, 2015

MICHAEL from Canada
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Quality accom, excellent value
Great location, comfortable room, nice price
Location is great between two train stations on the coastal line toward Galle. Main buildings maybe 100m in from beach; you cross the tracks to their beachside restaurant for the quite excellent breakfast. Room had fan and a/c, fridge, balcony space, altogether amenities you don't normally find in the price range. Nice pool too!
Reviewed May 09, 2015

Peter from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 23 nights in February 2015
Awful hotel
The location
It may well have been a 3 star hotel some time ago, but there has been little to no maintenance to the building and guest rooms for some time, I was here for 3 weeks and during this time had 3 different rooms, the fist room was small and dirty the sink was in the bedroom whilst the toilet and shower were "ensuite" I asked to move to another room this took a week and the standard was no better than the first or the third room, you actually had to request each day that your room to be cleaned, the linen on the bed was very tired one occasion the bed sheet was 3 pieces sewn together, and the linen was not changed regularly. The description on the hotel and facilities of the hotel are very misleading, for example listed is the room has a hair dryer and minibar, this is not the case, it took them almost a week to supply a minibar for my room and each time I moved rooms the minibar came too as all the other rooms were without a minibar, I did not bother about the hair dryer! On a positive note the staff where friendly and helpful and the food in the beach restaurant was excellent but on occasions let down by poor service.
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Rajpal from Sri Lanka
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Air con barely works. Needs a lot of work
Seafood rest was excellent
Very average - would NOT recommend. Rooms in need of refurb and repair ... Trades on locality with nothing else to add
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Pradeepkumar from United Kingdom
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
The hotel is near the Mount Lavinia Beach.
Friendly staff, clean room and good value for money
We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel which is near the beach, although you have to walk over the railway tracks to get to the beach and the hotel restaurant (not as scary as it feels). We found it to be comfortable and clean, although there is not much to do in the surrounding area besides sitting on the beach etc.We found the staff friendly and were happy to help us in areas like ringing for a metered taxi, suggested shopping malls etc.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Amir from India
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Nice peaceful stay. Clean room with AC. Small tv
AC, Beach and food
excellent. Had a very good time. Nice beach but its always high tide. So swimming is bit dangerous. But the hotel has nice pool as well. Food in their restaurant is nice wurh good sea food as well. U can reach the city with 5mins walk.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

David from United Kingdom
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Covienence for access to Ratmalana airport
Disappointing. What could have been a great stay in a funkily furnished hotel left us somewhat underwhelmed. We had booked a standard room as we were only using the hotel overnight for early departures, I from Katunayake and my wife from Ratmalana. The room was dark, dinghy and very dirty. The duty manager responded promptly and upgraded us to a huge superior suite which whilst extremely well appointed with some great pieces of furniture, was still a little tawdry and not entirely spotless. The bathroom had some 'interesting' lattice works and ventilation, all very dirty, dusty, and spider-webbed. (This was also the case in the room we had booked. The shower in the suite bathroom leaked under the shower screen and flooded the floor. When I left at some ungodly hour in the morning, the night staff was asleep in the arm chairs in the lobby and did not wake up! He was also asleep when my wife left at around 6.00 a.m. The night before, we had requested a tuk-tuk to take my wife to Ratmalana. Whilst this had been overlooked, the night manager did organise a tuk-tuk at short notice. A great shame as this could be a great little place because of the artifacts and curios in the rooms and public areas.
Reviewed August 03, 2013


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: