Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 408 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Jennielyn from Philippines
Family with teens
1 Bedroom Standard
Stayed one night in June 2012
Hotel with a Homey Feeling
environment, like you're living in a farm, very laid back
the staff were very friendly and we got the chance to meet the owner. she was very considerate in that she transferred us to a huts located on the lower part of the hotel since i'm travelling with my auntie and mom. we were able to eat fresh papaya taken from the tree in the hotel. downside is that the beachfront is not for swimming. you have to go to another resort if you plan to swim. but they have medium-sized pool.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lee from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Eccentric beach hotel
Eclectic design, helpful staff, very good food.
we accessed the hotel from the dock in davao, although we had to wait two hours in magsaysay park, because there was an admin error with the hotel mixing the dates up, so the boat was very late to leave hof gorei. once there was promptly given a quick tour of the resort before resting in the hut room and then eating dinner. the room itself was a little small, but overall was reasonable. the downside however was the lack of wifi, and also the tv had only local (non cable) channels. combined with the lack of a ref and pretty basic air con i felt the room was slightly over priced. the following day we were introduced to our personal assistant, and to be fair the service was good. the resort itself is set into the hillside, so theres a lot of steep climbing and walking to travel around to higher areas. the biggest disapointment however was the beach, which was rock or stone, and not sand. the overall theme of the resort is very eclectic, often you find a variety of 'domesticated' animals and wildlife wandering around. there was a caged monkey near our room, and many geese and even a peacock. i'm not sure what this really adds to the hotel? if anything having to share or negotiate a footpath with a small flock of geese doesn't personally make my stay any more enjoyable. on the subject of animals i also found myself being bitten constantly by mosquitos during the stay there. the food however was very good, especially in the evening, although likewise the prices are a little high for davao/samal. and getting a boat off the resort to nearby areas wasn't as frequent as in other resorts. generally speaking the resort is okay, probably more secluded than the others. but i have mixed feedback regarding the layout, and quality of resort and rooms.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

herjo from Netherlands
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Fantastic resort. The best experience in service.
Personal butler reniel was fantastic. Place look like hiden Paradise. Nice view on mount APO and davao city
This is the first time i experience à service à real personal service. It started already when i booked. After my booking by agoda i got one email. They thank me i chose this resort and offer me à Free boat transfer from davao city to hof gorei. When the day start we make our honneymoon the owner get us personaly and also food and some other passengers. When we arrivé at the resort we got à warm welcome and our personal butler introducé hisself to us. And hè brought as to our cute house made off bamboo with and à c and à fantastic bed with roses on it co s they. Knew it was our wedding trip. We had also beautifull sea view. Reniel our butler hè serves Every meal with roses. We really feel queen and King. We diner also at THE. Beach and eat our lunch at the swimming pool. One time we walk 224 stairs up and enjoy also there wonderfull service and view and cooler temp. I really don t know why but it s so quiet Every where there. Often we were alone at the beach and swimming pool.The resort was full booked but it really feel as one personal resort. The staff is so Nice and helpfull and the price very affordable. Most Nice place ever been.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

mobbarak from Kuwait
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
dream stay in that wonderfull hotel
every thing about hotel is best features
what can i say about that hotel it is wrong to say hoel about hof grorei beach resort it is a real resort where you can feel that you in one of your dreams .and i can say which the beast thing about it the serivce the cleanse or the sruodings i can i say it is truly the most lovely stay i ever had .sm sorry but i want to expres my thanks to the owner of that resort for a job will done
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Daniel from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Nice getaway
Beautiful property, quiet and peaceful
I enjoyed my stay at Hof Gorei very much. I had 2 nights of the best sleep I can remember in a long time. All the food I had was excellent, staff were all warm and friendly. The pool was excellent as well. A few things worth noting, over at ST Ana Wharf you will be constantly pestered to buy things- I recommend you arrive very close to departure time so you don't have to deal with that for too long. I was about 1 hour early and hated every minute of the wait. The ride over is about 70min each way, so be prepared for that. I would have gladly paid extra to travel on a speed boat with cushioned seats- to cut that time in half or 3rd. Once at the property, no worries, nice place to spend time. It is pretty isolated from the main road on the island, not so much for a sight seeing trip- my wife and I paid to be taken to the bat cave and falls sites on a couple of 125cc mopeds- my rear took a beating, as far as I can tell, that is the only way you can get to the main road- be prepared if take the mopeds- it is a rough and bumpy ride- fun if you are up for the adventure.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

michael from Canada
Couple
Cottage
Stayed one night in February 2013
costly worth it?
lovely grounds, fair beach and nice pool
The hotel provided a boat from Davao to the resort on Samal a hour's trip. The canbin was cute and in good order.I wanted a shower and there was no hot water, so I waited until later.I asked the staff and they said yes there was no hot water in that cabin.They told me that it's the only one without hot water.I was very angry I was there three years ago paid about the same amount throught I had a nice room with hot water and free breakfast.I complained and they let me shower in one of the many empty rooms.I will never go back to this resort again.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Mary from Philippines
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Nice staff
Having a personal butler
The food is nice. It was also good to have a personal butler since they don't have phone to accommodate all concerns. The room was spacious though needs a little bit of furnishing.
Reviewed February 05, 2013

Craig from United States
Group
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed one night in November 2012
Nice place
quiet location
This is a very peaceful and unique place. If you are looking for a relaxing and romantic get away this is it. Upon arrival you will be assigned a personal assistant who will cater to you throughout your stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the beach is good too. Don't be fooled by the inexpensive price - after you take your meals there (there is no other option) and tip your assistant the price will go up but it is still not bad for what you get. The pool is OK and the food is very good I will add.
Reviewed February 04, 2013

Tarek from Egypt
Couple
Standard
Stayed one night in January 2013
Nice natural view, but not much activities
The attic room view on the ocean
The view from the attic room on the ocean was fantastic, but the beach activities were not much maybe coz there was no season that time. The restaurant is ok with its food but not all the varieties are there. The pool looks great also, but there were no pool bar, music there etc. I think they needed some night activities on the beach to be performed.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Richard from United States
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
nice hotel, very quiet, large rooms
good service, great food but no internet except on wharf
At first my wife and I were disappointed that we seemed to be the only people staying there but it only seemed that way because of the layout of the rooms and the extent of the lush garden environment. This is not a place to stay if you want nightlife, disco and all night partying. Its a quiet place and very romantic, we would stay there again.
Reviewed January 16, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: