Book Now: Hof Gorei Beach Resort

Very good
From 518 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (518)Booking.com Reviews (111)
7.9
Very good
From 518 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities6.8
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.4
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
Deutsch
more
Room type
Hillside Round Hut 1
Cottage
Chalet Room
1 Bedroom Standard
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 475 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
malou from Philippines
Family with young children
Chalet Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Exceptional”
If you are into nature tripping, this is definitely the place to be. Sobrang ganda ng beach. Pagdating mo pa lang sa daungan nila ng bangka may sasalubong kagad sayo. Nice people. EXCEPTIONALY nice room sa beach front. Napakaganda, although wala silang cable sa tv, reasonable dahil di ka naman nagpunta dun para manuod ng tv but to enjoy nature. Good food at a reasonable, reasonable ang sinabi ko because it is not cheap pero the presentation, the taste and the serving says it all. We stayed here for 3 days.Beach is great! White sand, crystal clear waters! Payo lang po, if you have plans of getting tour packages, better get it from the resort. Also, kung di ka sumasakay/umaangkas ng motorcycle, dont get the inland tour. Habal lang ang nakaka labas pasok sa resort at di kaya ng sasakyan. Will try the island hopping pag nakabalik. Worth coming back? Definitely a YES! Salamat po for making our 3 day stay a very wonderful experience.
Reviewed February 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Maricel from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
A Great Beach Getaway”
The ambiance is so nice, dining by the beach with white sand, very clear water with natural habitat preserved, like I saw 3 starfish in different colors in one spot. Having a valet service dedicated to each set of guest is also awesome.
Reviewed February 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
eric from United States
Couple
Chalet Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
service”
Service on our visit at Hof Gorei is outstanding . Did not expect the personal service we got from our host Darell . He catered to all our needs and wants . The service at Hof Gorei is more than worth the stay . Thank You , Hof Gorei and Darell
Reviewed January 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
robert from United States
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
rcgreene”
we stayed in the round rooms located half way up the hillside the view was spectacular i highly recamend this resort
Reviewed January 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Gabby from United States
Couple
Chalet Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Wow! Absolutely AMAZING!”
One of the best three day resort holiday I have had. Resort had their own ferry to/from Samal. Beachfront cabana was well worth it with a great ocean view. Everything is at your finger tips with just a ring of the bell and your personal assistant is there to help you. Room was quite large and bed was very comfortable. Room safe is also available but I left my stuff out and did not have an issue with anything missing. TV was provided but only local channels and no cable but why would you need that at a resort. WIFI is also not available but was not an issue getting internet access via GLOBE or SMART from our phones. Jacuzzi and swimming pool well maintained and we used both several time. Jet ski, kayaking, banana boat all available through the resort. Food is excellent and service is great! I cannot speak enough good things about this place and will definitely go back when the opportunity allows. Do not hesitate to book this resort if you have the chance.
Reviewed January 19, 2018
3.6
julien from France
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in January 2018
Trap into resort and everything there ecpensive”
Resort is very remote and very difficult access via road. So once you enter the resort you cannot go out. The food they sell is good but quite expensive. Every thing is charged, 1/2 litre water at 38pesos, 1 hour Jetski at 5000pesos, average dishes at 350pesos... Water of swimming pool not clean, beach chalet quite small and no wardrobe to put our clothes. Night at 6pm and nothing to do in the evening. TV is only few philipinos channel, a DVD player with few movies will have been welcome to entertain the evening. Snorkeling is very disappointing all around Samal island. No fish and coral not nice or dead. Not worth the money!
Reviewed January 19, 2018
5.6
Geraldine from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
expensive!”
Kinda okay but food price is too expensive! place is ok
Reviewed January 14, 2018
6.0
Ian from Philippines
Family with young children
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Disappointing and run down”
Arrived at the prearranged time with Hof to be told we had to wait a further hour for the room Only after complaint were we given a room to wait in whilst preparing our rooms They then insisted on an additional 1850 Php for our 8 year old daughter extra bed that we said we did not require. but they insisted was company policy. The place is tired and run down, It is overrun with cats dogs and Fowl making horrendous noise all night not to mention the droppings everywhere. Eating lunch on the beach, dogs constantly sat at the table evening dinner no better at Alfresco, my daughter plagued by cats around her legs. I had to chase off, All beverages were almost 2 1/2 times the price in any other hotel we stayed in Davao. At the pool our son aged 2 intimidated by and threatened by Geese wandering freely around the pool. Only swift action by the pool attendant prevented him being pecked. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. All on the brochure and in reality differs a great deal
Reviewed January 03, 2018
4.4
Michael from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Decent”
Pros: -beach front -all types of animals running around -peaceful Cons: -2000PHP for their shuttle to take you anywhere outside the hotel area -not walkable to anything else, you have to stay there -ants, cockroaches in the rooms -butler was not the friendliest -food is expensive, approx 1000PHP per person per day -kitchen closes early 7pm -bathroom shower didn’t drain, toilet was dirty
Reviewed December 25, 2017
6.0
Nadyl from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Above average”
I was amaze coz we have our own butler around, who is friendly and nice.. The room is clean and comfy. We stayed the round Hilltop cottage. The beach was not that great, too many corals; would recommend to wear a beach shoes. Since i did not enjoy the beach, i had my dips in the pool. I kinda enjoyed it. But there were floating leaves and insects. No loud videoke which is great.. Was able to relax the whole night.
Reviewed December 04, 2017
7.6
Very good
Razoniel from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Excellent view, good food with some more improvement”
I went here with my friend last Nov. 21. The weather is rainy upon arrival but fortunately, turned to be a good the next day. Funny thing though that the welcome drinks and the ice-cold towel offered upon arrival somewhat did not blend into the current weather. Haha. The butler assigned to us seemed to be a trainee because when I asked about info especially about their menu, she always say she doesn't know. Anyway, another butler accompanied her right in time before I almost complain. From that time until checkout, there are two butlers approaching us for our needs. Good thing! :-) We took our lunch, dinner and our complimentary breakfast here. I should say that their food tasted great! Don't ever miss their take on tinola! However, as others say, their entire menu is somewhat pricey and I can't get why the 12% VAT is separated from the printed price. If the management reads this review, I suggest you incorporate it on the price itself or make it a service charge or some other term.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
6.4
Good
NIGEL from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
The Budget Paradise done right... well...”
What amazed me about this resort is the butler system. Although i would like to think this the perfect beach resort for the budget traveller, the place does need to at least make itself presentable. It's like a zoo. Chickens and dogs were running around and poo of those were almost everywhere. Constant cleaning is needed, but obviously manpower is lacking. Not sure if the pool is barely used, but when I went there, the water was swimmable, but a lot of debris and ants around the pool. Then again, regular cleaning is needed. For those who booked in rooms NOT close to the ocean, be ready to walk some stairs. Especially the huts and the house overlooking the ocean. The view is simply the best, but at the cost of your leg. The name of the resort wasn't even obvious at the port. Not advertising "Welcome to Hof Gorei" at the front is not good advertising as well. The beach area is well-maintained and the beach is nice to swim in. In fact, id rather prefer this than the pool.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Catherine from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Chalet Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
I stayed at the resort with my brother and we definitely get what we wanted. We both wanted to relax”
Everything went well so far. Staff named Edison who assisted us all through out our stay is very friendly and accommodating.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ferdinand from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Worth it!”
I highly recommend this resort. Accommodating staff and owner. The only resort that provides butler (personal assistant). Nature ambiance. Relaxing place. Clean room and surroundings. I will definitely go back this place and bring some friends or family. Till next time. Hof gof gorei! :D
Reviewed November 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Katrina from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
High recommend this place for couples who want to relax”
Place is beautiful, private, and peaceful. You're surrounded by lush gardens, nature and even exotic birds. I saw a praying mantus and fireflies! Food is suberb though pricey, its still worth it. You can opt to have your meals on the beachside which was really nice. Would come back for a romantic getaway or for some R&R.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
7.2
Very good
Lorna from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Very good”
I love the place very exclusive nipa hut room is nice inside but not so good outside but toilet and bath is outside the room we have to go downstair if we will use it, incovenient during nightime and creepy because outside is so dark. Nice thing is we have our own buttler the staff are nice..the food is quite pricey .for 3 meals for couple cost us 2k .
Reviewed October 22, 2017
4.8
Ma from United States
Couple
Chalet Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
It's okay”
If they revamp this place it will be very nice. Nice room and the personal butler was the only highlight. Other than that. its okay if you are a nature lover.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Clemens from Austria
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in August 2017
Sustainable concept”
Hof Gorei is owned by April a very nice lady with international experience who is always helpful and attentive like all staff at Hof Gorei. The really unique thing is the sustainable concept, with a lot of nature, animals, flowers, fruits and the lovely beach! Snorkeling, island hoping and other activities are very recommendable and the staff will organize everything for you. The bungalows are simple but nice, there is no need for more because of the fantastic nature around!
Reviewed August 21, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
lovely place with a great view from the top”
Very lush with a pretty good beach, pool , food. and friendly and helpful staff. Some of the cottages have cramped balconies and are a bit faded, but nice. The house at the top has great views but is a long uphill trek from the beach.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lyssa from Philippines
Solo traveler
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Most relaxing trip I ever had”
Samal island is an amazing place. And staying at this hotel made me see and appreciate that more. If you are after relaxation and being one with nature, this is the place to be. We stayed in the Round hillhut and the walk there is challenging aince it's in the top of a hill, but it is worth it because the view there is amazing. The free boat transfer was an awesome surprise. The food was great and fairly priced for a hotel in a remote island. Will definitely come back whenever I visit Davao. :)
Reviewed August 14, 2017
7.6
Very good
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Great for nature lovers”
Staff and owner are very friendly. It's a good place for people who are nature lover but some amenities need good update or maintenance.
Reviewed August 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Raquel from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Perfect Vacation Getaway”
We have enjoyed our stay at this beach resort. The staff, especially our personal butler, Lalang is so kind and accomodating. We stayed at the Hillside Round Hut, the view is spectacular overlooking Davao Gulf and a glimpse of Mt. Apo. It was refreshing to see beautiful flowers and plants at their tropical garden. We also enjoyed walking on the beach front, well maintained with white sand and prestine blue water, and watched the beautiful sunset. We requested to have our dinner at the beach front and we are so satisfied with the set-up and the food is absolutely delicious. Travel going there and back to the City is convenient because they provide boat transfers on Santa Ana wharf. Overall, it was a very nice experience and we'll definitely go back there in the future...
Reviewed July 18, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Cheryl from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
The Best vacation”
We had no idea there's a butler. But it was a nice surprise. We were attended by the staff and they were very friendly. The food is pricey though.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
6.4
Good
Sergio from Philippines
Family with young children
Chalet Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Decent beach and accomodations, food and service are sub-par”
and they will nickle and dime you for every person and child checking in...
Reviewed May 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Johans from Philippines
Solo traveler
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Exceptional”
the location is very nice. Amazing beach and accommodation. Food is very good but it a bit pricey.
Reviewed April 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
valine from Philippines
Group
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Awesome”
Been there with a friend, i am not expecting so much about this place but hof gorei surprised me. Located in the heart of samal island more or less 1 hour boat ride from sta. ana wharf davao city. The boat ride is free it is included when you booked a room from them.Staff is really nice ( well i thought davaoenios are very stiff and not approachable haha ) special mention to "Ate Thang" i highly recommend her when you visit the resort you can request from the resort for her as your personal Service Crew/Staff. And One thing about this place i really really really love is their AMAZING CHEF! yes! the food is really really really great! i will surely visit them again :)
Reviewed March 24, 2017
7.6
Very good
Lillian from China
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Stunning Resort View but Overpriced for Services”
Providing round-way boat transportation service from Sta. Ana Wharf to the resort free of charge is very sweet. Having breakfast at Hill Hut terrace is awesome, you can see mountain Apo if the weather is clear. Dinner at beach can see the sunset. You can indulge yourself into the quiet and peaceful nature at Hof Gorei. The whole resort is designed like a tropical garden. There is an outside swimming pool, looks really nice. Everything's awesome, except the snorkeling tour to Tulicud Island. It's not worth the money at all! 4288P for two person! Only went to two places maximum 2 hours in the water! And with other guests! Lunch on the island was just fine. We didn't get any special care even we told our butler that neither my husband nor I can swim. No professional tour guide providing any service under water! It's overcharged and not equivalent the service. And we didn't see any attractive corals at these two places at all! Summary: 1. Resort itself is awesome, strongly recommend, especially for couples. The atmosphere here is full of romance. 2. Snorkeling tour service to Tulicud Island is too much overpriced! Not recommend! 3. The resort location is far from the town. The butler called us two motorcycles, round trip fee at 1000P is also overpriced! Suggest call the motorcycle by yourself outside the resort. Butler service need to be improved. We asked for boat fishing service at least two times, but no response. Motorcycle arrangement for us is good, but overpriced too much! No room cleaning service during our two-night stay. Safe-box in the room was out of work.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
Bea from Philippines
Solo traveler
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
You get what you pay for”
You have your own butler
Reviewed March 17, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Robin from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Very peaceful”
If you want noise go somewhere else. If you want nature peace and good food its the place for you.
Reviewed March 11, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
GLENN from Philippines
Solo traveler
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Romantic location.”
Location is superb with great food and personalized butler to assist you from the day you check in until you check out, will make sure that every thing you need will be met. You'll fall in love with the place and we'll definitely want to come back.
Reviewed March 09, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Patrizha from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Satisfied”
Satisfied
Reviewed February 20, 2017
7.6
Very good
MARIA from Philippines
Family with young children
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Beach near Davao City”
Very accessible beach from mainland Davao City. Beach quality is OK but the view is fantastic from hillside tree hut. What disappoints me are the staff. No staffs at top when it is 9pm!! I am worried about security esp I have my precious one along.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ma from Philippines
Solo traveler
Chalet Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Rest where needed”
Got the desired rest in Hof Gorei. It helped that our "butler" was very attentive in our needs especially our food. Food is great, a bit price but filling. The room we got was high up the 217 steps. Worth the climb up because of the awesome views of Davao and Mt Apo. Just not friendly to persons with mobility concerns and seniors. Our room was spare and clean. But the door knob and shower knob kept falling off. Great place for quiet and going easy on the pace.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Diana from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Excellent!”
Wonderful weekend at Hof Gorei. The owner and staff were so nice and welcoming! Beautiful property. Loved the tree houses and being able to have dinner on the beach. Will definitely go back!
Reviewed February 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Stephanie from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Getaway with Nature”
Overall stay is 4 out of 5 stars. Staff are very welcoming and their boat (transfer to hotel) is well maintained (both on performance and appearance). They arranged our dinner and breakfast at the beach on scheduled time and even provided additional towels as needed. Needs improvement on hotel facilities (like shower head and lights).
Reviewed January 30, 2017
5.2
Jihan from Philippines
Business traveler
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Disappointed ”
Needs a lot of improvement.. I don't find it clean.,it's not a kind of resort that you would love to jump right away the moment you will see the water,. For me I find it disgusting when I saw the toilet from this bridge going to the Main and disturbing to see the houses tilts on the water nearby the resort. I didn't even swim,. We stayed overnight but I really want to go back to city right away.. it's even overpriced for a standard kind of resort. The staff are just really friendly and polite..
Reviewed January 16, 2017
6.8
Good
John from Australia
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Very quite and relaxing”
Super quite resort, large food servings, staff was great always there to help.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
8.8
Excellent
vicente from Philippines
Business traveler
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
fantastic sunset view romantic ambiance and very enteraining staff.”
I will highly recomend this place for all kinds of group of people...
Reviewed December 02, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Andre from Canada
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Peaceful resort”
Wonderful garden, has awesome view from the huts,very friendly staff, nice pool, very relaxing. Had a great 4 days stay. It was my second time and will likely come again as not far from Davao and good value for money.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
5.6
kang from South Korea
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Far from city and Noyhing to do for night..”
Only good beach
Reviewed November 23, 2016
4.8
Chris from New Zealand
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
It's ok if you want to go off the grid for a day or so and relax and read a book ”
The place is in great need of investment to bring it up to a reasonable standard. No wifi except at the bar and office and too slow Huts were comfortable but bathrooms below an acceptable world standard Staff very nice and always helpful. Beach had nice white sand. Very over priced for what it was and appears no money has been spent on the resort for a long time. Pillows too hard if you looking for a good nights sleep.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
6.4
Good
peter from Australia
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
overpriced hotel”
Rooms, food and drinks way overpriced for this standard of resort. I have stayed at many similar resorts and never been charged 12%VAT! Is the government getting it? Beach is nice and clean, as is the pool. gardens could do with a bit more maintenance...dead tree baranched lying around, grass needs clipping where it comes over the path. whilst the staff wwere pleasant they spent a lot of time sitting around when they could have been doing maintenance.
Reviewed November 01, 2016
6.8
Good
Ting from Taiwan
Couple
1 Bedroom Standard
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
average”
The location is okay, quite secluded, but the price of beverage is ridiculous.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Edward from Australia
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Nice quiet place. Limited menu, expensive drinks. ”
Menu is limited. Drinks are expensive. Rooms are nice, pool is ok. Very quiet hotel, next to very very expensive pearl farm. The beach is a bit slimey underfoot. And they have friendly hornbill birds which roam around the property which can be a little scary when they try to enter your room. The service is great and Jen is a personal butler. Good views from round hut, and it's a great setting for meals there. They have a fridge and kettle in the rooms, which paradise island doesn't. Overall good, but preferred paradise island cause of their cheaper prices, better beach, and bigger food selection.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
2.0
cory from Philippines
Group
1 Bedroom Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Not a good place”
The whole stay was not good. Restroom was not good aircon wont get cold fast the pool was gross the beach have a lot of plastic and stinks . There is a hornbill and would flew to you whileyou are in the pool.food is tooooo expensive. Too dark at night. The crew were not very willing to help. I wont recommend this place. Not worth the travel time
Reviewed September 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Mirasol from Philippines
Couple
Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
The resort is so serene and clean. Its perfect for an off the grid getaway.”
The staff were very friendly and accomodating. They have wonderful accomodation also, very clean, confortable, and the environment is so relaxing. When you get there, u'll feel the essence of nature. The beach is so calm (well atleast during our stay),. The beach is secluded in such a way that u will have ur utmost privacy.. the services also were very good. Staff are ready anytime, u even have ur personal butler that can attend to you at any moment. To sum it up, its perfect. The place is like a paradise. One thing that needs improvement though (but does not relate to the resort) is the access thru by land. Its quite a challenge if u do.. hehe
Reviewed September 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Raymond from Germany
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
very very special thanks to Gaddiel. he makes our stay sooo complete. Darell our butler this time offers an excellent service. BUT the Hit of all are the two new manager from the hotel. TWO paradise b”
We are Raymond + Annalyn Rampe from France. We celebrated our Engagement in 2012 in Hof Gorei. Gaddiel our witness that time. My wife is from Davao. Finally: If you prefer an unforgettable Holidays book to Hof Gorei.
Reviewed September 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Ma. from Philippines
Solo traveler
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Highly Recommended”
There are several highlights of my trip to this resort: 1. The place is beautiful. Peaceful. A place where you can just relax and read a good book. 2. The hotel room which is situated in a mountain is like a treetop room with hotel amenities. 3. Personal butler who will attend to all your needs. 4. Breakfast is really good 5. The view is breathtaking both at daytime and nighttime. You can see the ocean and the Davao city Downside: 1. Food is quite pricey. Ordered 1.5 Coke and it cost pHp158 with VAT. 2. Even the inland tour is expensive. Good thing I get to meet someone in Samal who has a motorcycle and paid only 1k to visit the tourist destination within the area. Over-all, it is worth it!
Reviewed August 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jaime from Philippines
Couple
Hillside Round Hut 1
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Great Experience”
Great for location convenience and a relaxing get away. Even for an evening
Reviewed August 08, 2016
7.2
Very good
christopher from Philippines
Couple
Chalet Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Newly Wed Friendly”
Location was Peaceful and relaxing A bit expensive Food and other island activity. Will try to come back 7.5/10
Reviewed August 08, 2016