Book Now: Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Excellent
From 854 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (854)Booking.com Reviews (215)
8.2
Excellent
From 854 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities8.3
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.4
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Русский
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Superior Garden View
Superior - 4 Adults
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 813 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Fiona from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Another great stay”
We always stay in the adults only section. It is worth the extra money. Beds are still too hard and no proper mattress toppers available. The only reason i feel it is let down
Reviewed May 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Maricor from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior - 4 Adults
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Good value for money”
Rated four stars for location only because it's on a hill. They do have a Tuktuk available to bring you to and from the main road (less than 2-minute ride) but up to 9pm only. Once on the main road, you'll find lots of restaurabts to choose from, a family mart, ATMs, massage and hair salons. Karon Beach is also one of the better beaches in Phuket. Hotel breakfast is so-so. Asian fare is ok but they could do better with the western dishes especially the bread and pastries selection. Hotel also needs to provide toilet paper with better quality.
Reviewed May 04, 2017
3.2
Willie from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Deceiving and Disappointing ”
checked in only about 8pm. although there is transport provided at the foot of hotel to ferry guest but it was a little inconvenient especially when travelling with children. It was quite a walk from the reception to the rooms. In addition, there is no lift hence we will have to carry our heavy luggages all the way up 4 flights of stairs. The room were dim and old, it has a musky smell the moment we stepped in. Furniture in the rooms were old and aged. we felt very uncomfortable and disappointing. we forfeited our booking and decided to stay in another hotel.
Reviewed March 01, 2017
8.0
Excellent
miao from China
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
good choice”
the breakfast is very good, room is big, but the facilities is a little old.
Reviewed February 08, 2017
7.6
Very good
Graeme from United Kingdom
Couple
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Stayed 9 nights in January 2017
Week of R&R in Karon”
Off the main Karon through road - good because that means it is quiet; but at the top of a short steep hill - the hotel provides an efficient tuk-tuk service to carry guests down and up the hill so it is not actually a problem; nice separate area for people without children (Club/ Privilege area at extra cost) but worth it I think; always a bit of a competition to get chairs at the pool for some reason; breakfast fairly basic; rooms large and well laid out - no complaints; staff are excellent and always trying to help.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jilattigran from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Very good resort”
Very good
Reviewed January 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jilattigran from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Good very good resort”
Everything have in this resort
Reviewed January 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jilattigran from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Very good resort”
Very good resort
Reviewed January 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jilattigran from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Nice place”
Nice
Reviewed December 30, 2016
5.6
Ahmed from Maldives
Group
Superior Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Kids didnt enjoy due to room location”
Horrible room location. No views. The front desk staffs doesn't know how to talk politely. Treats their locals very rudely.
Reviewed December 25, 2016
6.8
Good
Ahmed from Maldives
Family with young children
Superior - 4 Adults
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Family Vacation”
Went with Family and booked 5 rooms. The Hotel was nice, however they gave us rooms from the back side which seems to be outside of the Hotel. The view was horrible and the entrance is only through the dark trees. Not good as kids didn't like the rooms. The front desk staffs were rude and had no manners. Kids did enjoy the pool and outside the hotel. Phuket overall is awesome. just the hotel we stayed were not that good due to manners of staffs and room location.
Reviewed December 25, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
MIKHAIL from Armenia
Family with teens
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
nice hotel”
Nice hotel for families with children. Hotel itself looks like something hidden in the forest, nice decorated and clean. Breakfast is as usual for every 4-5 star hotels in Thailand. You should know that hotel is about 200 meters far from the beach and you have to climb the hill from beach to the hotel, but this was not a problem for us. For those who doesn't want to walk that distance hotel provides free tuk-tuk service from 9am to 9pm so you can use it to go or come back from the beach front.
Reviewed December 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Wei from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
great hotel”
clean hotel with great facilities and services. the adults only part of the hotel is good for those who want a quieter stay and the complimentary snacks and drinks (12pm to 2pm) are a great perk! we were very happy with the hotel.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Donny from Malaysia
Couple
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Excellent, Cosy Resort”
The rooms were spacious and clean and well equipped. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The buffet food had a good variety, was fresh & delicious. Water pressure for the shower was a bit low, but acceptable. Location is quiet, away from all the action. Suitable if you want a quiet getaway, but not great if you want to get around the island more.
Reviewed September 09, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Joshua from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 10 nights in August 2016
Family Friendly Resort”
Have stayed here before and look forward to staying again. A great resort for a family. Staff are friendly and helpful. Make sure to a room with a pool view as opposed to a 'garden' view room. The breakfast and dinner buffet is great. If you book early you can a room, breakfast and dinner for a more than reasonable rate.
Reviewed September 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
TILAK from Australia
Couple
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
great location”
would have been great if there were more vegetarian dishes and less spicy. club wing is nice and quiet.
Reviewed September 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
zoe from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Clean, relaxing stay. Right near the beach. Great atmosphere and amazing food ”
Food was amazing, service friendly
Reviewed August 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
King from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Highly recommended!”
great location and value for money. Highly recommended!
Reviewed July 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Chandler from United States
Group
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
helpful staff, decent room”
liked the location, and staff but definitely don't go to Phuket in the rainy season. There were lots of mosquitoes and the doors in the hotel didn't have a very good seal by the balcony. Little sketchy
Reviewed June 20, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Amber from China
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
good experience to stay”
the resort is comfortable and the facilities are great,but a little remote in position . and the room's decoration can be some improvement.
Reviewed June 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Juliana from Australia
Couple
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Amazing Stay! ”
Beautiful resort, friendly and helpful staff and will deffinetly recommend this resort to family and friends! Thanks for a love Y time!
Reviewed May 24, 2016
2.8
NUTTAKARN from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Bad impression”
First i getting at the lobby front nobody say hello to me until i said 'Sawasdee' to somebody inside that i need to checkin. After that some lady in reception bring me to a room in very bad loacation with no bell boy. When i have to stay that had a big surprised. Some clean maid can get inside my room with a key card!!!! then said so sorry for me and my husband. The hotel too old, inconvenience.
Reviewed May 12, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Couple
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Stayed 8 nights in March 2016
Accommodating from start to finish--A great place to relax”
The staff at Horizon were accommodating and flexible to our needs from start to finish beginning with my early check in to my wife's late check out, both at no additional charge and without any hassles. We stayed in the Club wing and received the Privilege benefits which were very nice extras--snacks and coffee/tea all day; cocktails/soft drinks and a light tapas from 12-2 which served perfectly for a light lunch between sunbathing/pool sessions. Another benefit of the Club wing is no children, so if you're a family with children then this review won't help much as we didn't really venture to the other side. Access to the Club wing is limited to those staying on the Club side only, which is nice as it gives you a nice quiet pool. Only problem with the pool is that it is a bit shady after around 3 (during late March anyways), so if you are looking to continue sunbathing then do like us and head to the beach around then! Not many complaints about the room. A/C went off one evening and someone was there to fix it immediately. I think the bathroom supplies are a bit lacking. They have soap and shampoo dispensers rather than individual freebies, and the quality of the soap and shampoo isn't too great. However, the room altogether was great and spacious as well as well cleaned and maintained. The balcony is big too, with two big sunbeds and an umbrella. The room also provides two beach mats and an umbrella that you are free to take to the beach and come in very handy. The grounds of the hotel are also quite nice in the Club wing area. There's a little stream (man made) running through it with lots of flowers and exotic plants. The multi level set up is interesting too as the lobby sits up much higher than the Club wing pool and some of the rooms. It makes for a kind of tree house feel almost with steps leading you up, down and around. That's not to say that there are a tremendous amount of steps that you're always climbing. I didn't feel taxed when moving about. T
Reviewed April 07, 2016
6.4
Good
Nicole from Germany
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
No charme”
Smaller than expected and just no flair. The pool landscape is dominated by prohibitiv signboards. The walk from the beach is short, but the steep incline and rundown side road do not increase the holiday feeling. This hotel may be practical for families but please do not come here if you have an eye for details. Breakfast was enjoyable. But Overall: thailand has to offer much better for less.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
YUANCHUN from China
Family with teens
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Room for improvement”
The pool view is good. The hotel is not vey new, but it doesn't matter. The girl who showed us to the room and the man at the pool bar is not friendly enough, wearing no smile.
Reviewed February 08, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Lynn from Canada
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
great value for money”
pool, food, relaxing
Very relaxing. Reservation included breakfast and dinner which was fantastic. I recommend this hotel. Although beach is down a steep hill, hotel provides transport up and down the hill. Beach is gorgeous with less people.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Kia from Malaysia
Couple
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
good hotel”
food, large room, location
Reviewed December 12, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Katharina from Germany
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Great for families”
The hotel is great for families travelling with younger children. We tried the dinner buffet which is delicious. Overall the hotel is very clean and well maintained.
Reviewed September 10, 2015
7.0
Very good
Peter from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Disappointing stay. ”
Room, staff, pool.
We felt that the hotel needs a facelift especially in the dining area which looked rather grubby and crowded. We were disappointed and as this is our third time in Thailand we were very disappointed with the quality of the Resort and the area in which it is situated.
Reviewed August 31, 2015
6.3
Good
Ming from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
good location”
convenient location, quiet and comfort
Close to shop and eating area
Reviewed August 14, 2015
8.3
Excellent
gopal from India
Family with teens
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
good indian food”
staff . swimming pools. indian food
great
Reviewed August 14, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Chau from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Nice Staff, baggage not easy accessible to room”
nice staff, nice swimming pool, easy access to beach
Reviewed August 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Hemanth from India
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Good”
Location
Nice
Reviewed July 12, 2015
7.7
Very good
kwun from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
nice hotel”
clean, convenient, comfortable
Reviewed June 02, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
good time and happy memory ”
big room, clean, pleasant staff are helpful, good breakfast n dinner buffet, value for $
Reviewed May 29, 2015
7.7
Very good
Lauren from Australia
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 8 nights in May 2015
Very comfortable and rooms were great”
Facilities rooms and position
Our stay was great would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed May 26, 2015
6.0
laura from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011
wrong location”
too far off
So..so
Reviewed May 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Catherine from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Great Stay”
I love how friendly and helpful the staff are especially Anne. I love the facilities. I love the Privileged Lounge and Privileged Wing.
The hotel was spot on location. The walk to Karon beach was just nice for an exercise. Kata Beach is a nice 20 minutes stroll from the hotel where you will pass by different stores for souvenirs. We did not even bother to go to Patong. The staff are the best. The facilities are nice, we used the gym, pool table, and the pools. I love the Privilege Club Wing and their special treats from 12noon - 2PM. Their free dinner package was as well good and food were nice with a wide spread for breakfast. Although I have not seen any tom yum or pad thai during the 3 nights dinner we had. We will definitely come back to the same hotel.The massage place right outside the hotel before the small hill to Karon added convenience to our stay.
Reviewed April 28, 2015
5.7
John from Ireland
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Very disappointing ”
Breakfast, pleasant staff, numerous pools
On reading reviews about horizon hotel I taught it would be the prefect nights stay as we travelled through phuket, on arrival staff where pleasant and helpful. Walked through the grounds which was nice plenty of pools. Then we reached our room that's when it went downhill, very basic room, pillows where like concrete, sheet and duvet cover had stains, the control box socket was pushed into the wall moving the cable cause the power to cut off. Bathroom was fine but one of the towels had a stain. I booked this hotel last minute and it's wasn't cheap hence my anger at the return in quality. It was last minute so I was aware all the decent rooms would have been booked up but still expect better for the charge of the room. Had a terrible nights sleep as I was bitten alive by bed bugs, and the concrete pillow caused serve uncomfort. Woke tired for breakfast which was probably the highlight of the stay. It had a good spread and was enjoyable. Overall left disappointed big complex and I'm sure other rooms are nice based on previous reviews but unfortunaly for me I didn't get a good room so for that reason I would not rate this hotel.
Reviewed April 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Martha from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Stayed 7 nights in March 2015
Very nice place”
staff, location, clean
beautiful resort, luxurious. get a club room for couples - great afternoon tea, nice pool, great pool bar. met some lovely people, staff were friendly and excellent. Pool girl Tak was so friendly. free shuttle bus to patong every few hours, great service. overall great stay.
Reviewed March 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Panagiotis from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Stayed 8 nights in February 2015
Excellent resort”
Breakfast buffet, Close to beach, Great pool
We really enjoyed our stay. The room was fantastic - large and beautifully kept. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We didn't eat at the restaurant for other meals. The proximity to restaurants and shops was great. The hill is not that big a deal, but if you're not feeling like a walk, call the tuk tuk, which is there in no time. Happy to recommend this hotel to others.
Reviewed March 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
tim from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Great find ”
Privilege club & privilege pool, rooms were beautiful and the food was delicious
Upon check in we were upgraded from a standard pool view room to a privilege club room. With this you get complimentary drinks and snacks between 12-2 meaning we never needed lunch. Also access to a private pool for adults only, very serene and peaceful. We did a cooking class with the hotel which was very fun. Great location, down the hill to the beach and Kata center. The only downside was needing to arrange a taxi for a 7am pick up which they told is they couldn't do as it was t
Reviewed March 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sergey from Kazakhstan
Couple
Deluxe Club Wing min.age 18 yrs old for Adults Only
Stayed 13 nights in February 2015
Perfect place”
Club swimming pool, breakfast, deluxe club room
Pleasure staying
Reviewed February 26, 2015
7.0
Very good
Jason from United States
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 6 nights in October 2014
Nice hotel but a bit out of the way”
Cleanliness view and internet
We wanted to try Karon beach to get away from Patong. It is a bit too far for our liking though. If you are a family and want a resort for your kids to romp around, this place is great. For us, as a couple, it wasn't what we wanted. One thing to consider is that there are no elevators which was a bit of a nuisance since we were on the fourth floor. Otherwise, the hotel is as advertised.
Reviewed February 19, 2015
6.0
David from Germany
Couple
Club Room Club Wing min.age 18 year old for Adults Only
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Ok for a quick getaway”
clean, direct pool acces from room
We came to the Horizon Karon Beach for a long week end to just relax and enjoy the sea and the sun. Karon beach is quite nice, not too packed and with a lovely stretch of sand. The hotel was pretty 'normal' for thai standards, friendly staff, extensive breakfast, nice pool with pool bar. it's not right on the beach, but up a steep slope further up the hill.
Reviewed February 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
LUYAO from China
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Amazing”
Location view pool
I had a great time
Reviewed February 07, 2015
7.3
Very good
lai from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Ok”
Good service
Reviewed February 04, 2015
6.7
Good
Monica from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Average Resort Hotel”
kids club, food, tuk tuk service
The bath tub drain was blocked, so I need to move to another room. But I didn't get the same room with two queen bed. I got 1 queen bed + 1 extra bed. The cleaning service staff was in a bad mood when she must worked at night because of room changing. A lots of mosquitos there & the floor didn't clean enough. But the kids club was awesome & I love the food and also the tuk tuk service to the beach
Reviewed February 02, 2015
8.0
Excellent
massimiliano from Italy
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Welcoming Resort”
Nice rooms, good staff and great gardens, swimming pools and spa
Reviewed January 30, 2015
8.0
Excellent
massimiliano from Italy
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014
Great Stay”
Nice resort, good location (5 minutes walk to the beach or Karon and Kata Bars and Restaurants) with efficient transfer to Patong
Reviewed January 30, 2015