Hotel 224
HD Image
Standard Twin Room Hotel 224
Lobby Hotel 224
Interior view Hotel 224
See all 57 photos
Removed from saved list
8.2
Excellent
/10
(49 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.4
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location
  • Heart Hospital Medi Clinic250 m
  • Pretoria Art Museum440 m
  • Embassy of Russia610 m
  • Klaus Wasserthal Candles630 m
  • Police Station660 m
  • Union Buildings850 m
  • Engelenburghuis Art Collection940 m
  • Sacred Heart Cathedral1.08 km
  • Footprints in Africa1.2 km
  • Market @ the Sheds1.24 km
  • Free Wi-Fi

    Hotel 224

    596 Francis Baard Street, Arcadia, Pretoria, South Africa, 0007 - See map
    "The staff is friendly very helpful the hotel view very beautiful the bed the room very good condition"
    charles - October 22, 2018
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 86% of guests
    Excellent cleanliness
    8.4 rating for cleanliness
    • Airport transfer

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Air conditioning

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Pretoria in the last 24 hours

    Compared to 953 Pretoria properties at Agoda for various dates

    Property ranking|Compared to 953 Pretoria properties
    See all rankings
    Cheapest price score
    Review score - United States
    7.6/10
    Room comfort score
    6.8/10
    Value for money score
    8.4/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Pretoria properties
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Pretoria properties
    Better than
    97
    %
    of Pretoria properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Pretoria properties
    Value for money8.4
    Distance to city center0.00Km
    Location rating8.4
    Nearest airportWonderboom Airport (PRY)
    Distance to airport10.1 km

    Rooms available at Hotel 224

    Standard Double Room
    Standard Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Twin Room
    Standard Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Two Bedroom Apartment
    Two Bedroom Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • City view
    • 2 single beds and 1 queen b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Bedroom Apartment
    1 Bedroom Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 41 m²/441 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Apartment
    Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bachelor Apartment
    Bachelor Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Studio Standard
    Studio Standard
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Deluxe Room
      Deluxe Room
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Single Room Apartment
        Single Room Apartment
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          DOUBLE DELUXE - ROOM ONLY
          DOUBLE DELUXE - ROOM ONLY
          ...
            Enter dates to see prices
            Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

            Prices drop the moment you sign in!

            Sign in now
            More about Hotel 224

            More about Hotel 224

            An overview

            Show less

            Most talked about facilities

            Housekeeping
            2 mentions
            Breakfast
            1 mention
            Internet
            1 mention
            View
            1 mention

            What they offer

            Show less

            Nearest essentials

            Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
            Show less

            Food and dining

            Breakfast options

            Full English/Irish

            Restaurants on site

            Pepper Tree Restaurant
            Cuisine:European
            Menu:Buffet, A-la-carte

            What's nearby

            Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
            Show less

            Property's guest policies

            Show less

            Some helpful facts

            Show less
            Most recent reviews for Hotel 224
            Family with teens
            Stayed 1 night in September 2019
            Two Bedroom Apartment
            Excellent8.0
            Very goodI stayed in a standard room as well as an apartment. Std room OK for short stays as the room is very small. Apartment was superb. I would highly recommend the apartment. Very spacious, super clean and very convenient. Internet connection very intermittent. 80% of the staff very professional, polite and competent. Overall it was fantastic. Highly recommended. I'll definitely stay again.
            annettefrom South AfricaReviewed September 21, 2019
            Couple
            Stayed 2 nights in August 2019
            Standard Double Room
            Very good7.6
            We had a good stay at this hotel. We will definately come back. There was a water crisis around pretoria which affected our stay badly. Using a bathroom or toilet was always a struggle..the reception staff did not make life easier either. But their hotel is in a convenient spot, it is clean and most of all affordable..
            Yolisafrom South AfricaReviewed September 05, 2019
            Couple
            Stayed 3 nights in August 2019
            Bachelor Apartment
            Good6.8
            Business Not Christmas Impressive in size hotel, ample secured parking and lovely size room with a full kitchen. The cons was cold breakfasts, shower head to low and toilet squeezed against the wall with traffic noise early in the morning. We loved the extra space in the room. Friendly staff and position of Hotel 224.
            Hannesfrom South AfricaReviewed August 14, 2019
            Couple
            Stayed 1 night in April 2019
            Standard Double Room
            Review score5.2
            Staff is arrogant and not helpful. Staff is arrogant and not helpful. The front of office manager does not have empathy. He gave me a room I did not book merely because I paid a discounted online offer. He gave other people rooms right in front of my eyes. They did not even book before hand. These people came while I was at the counter. He did not even give me my key. After realizing this I phoned the reception while I was at the apartment door. I was then told come & get it! When I got back to the reception he still had the audacity to say to me Are you sure I did not give you the key! My word why would I phone & walk all this way if I had the key. He is very rude.
            ItumelengReviewed April 12, 2019
            Family with young children
            Stayed 3 nights in March 2019
            Two Bedroom Apartment
            Exceptional10.0
            Exceptional. You cannot go wrong with the apartments, every box is ticked. Quite impressive for a 3 Pros, all the way, from cleanliness, breakfast, the location and staff.
            Unathifrom South AfricaReviewed March 20, 2019

            Reviews of Hotel 224 from real guests

            Overall rating
            8.0
            Excellent
            From 1055 reviews
            Provided by verified guests of
            Agoda Reviews (49)Booking.com Reviews (944)
            Rating via Agoda8.2
            /
            10
            Excellent
            Cleanliness8.4
            Facilities8.2
            Location8.4
            Room comfort and quality6.8
            Service8.2
            Value for money8.4
            High score for Pretoria
            Rating
            9+ Exceptional (5)
            8-9 Excellent (2)
            7-8 Very Good (5)
            6-7 Good (4)
            <6 Below Expectation (4)
            Time of the year
            Mar - May (4)
            Jun - Aug (8)
            Sep - Nov (6)
            Dec - Feb (2)
            All guests (49)
            All room types
            Showing 20 verified guest comments
            8.0
            Excellent
            annette from South Africa
            Family with teens
            Two Bedroom Apartment
            Stayed 1 night in September 2019

            Very good”

            I stayed in a standard room as well as an apartment. Std room OK for short stays as the room is very small. Apartment was superb. I would highly recommend the apartment. Very spacious, super clean and very convenient. Internet connection very intermittent. 80% of the staff very professional, polite and competent. Overall it was fantastic. Highly recommended. I'll definitely stay again.

            Reviewed September 21, 2019
            7.6
            Very good
            Yolisa from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 2 nights in August 2019

            We had a good stay at this hotel. We will definately come back. ”

            There was a water crisis around pretoria which affected our stay badly. Using a bathroom or toilet was always a struggle..the reception staff did not make life easier either. But their hotel is in a convenient spot, it is clean and most of all affordable..

            Reviewed September 05, 2019
            6.8
            Good
            Hannes from South Africa
            Couple
            Bachelor Apartment
            Stayed 3 nights in August 2019

            Business Not Christmas ”

            Impressive in size hotel, ample secured parking and lovely size room with a full kitchen. The cons was cold breakfasts, shower head to low and toilet squeezed against the wall with traffic noise early in the morning. We loved the extra space in the room. Friendly staff and position of Hotel 224.

            Reviewed August 14, 2019
            5.2
            Itumeleng
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in April 2019

            Staff is arrogant and not helpful. ”

            Staff is arrogant and not helpful. The front of office manager does not have empathy. He gave me a room I did not book merely because I paid a discounted online offer. He gave other people rooms right in front of my eyes. They did not even book before hand. These people came while I was at the counter. He did not even give me my key. After realizing this I phoned the reception while I was at the apartment door. I was then told come & get it! When I got back to the reception he still had the audacity to say to me Are you sure I did not give you the key! My word why would I phone & walk all this way if I had the key. He is very rude.

            Reviewed April 12, 2019

            Dear Itumeleng, First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments as your home away from home when visiting the Capital City. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We value Guest comments highly. I am really sorry to see that our Staff did not treat you with the due respect and friendliness. This is certainly not the service we pride ourselves in at Hotel 224. I have discussed the situation with my Front Office Manager and other staff in general and we will work harder to ensure we treat all Guests with respect and friendliness. There is absolutely no excuse for what has happened, all Guest are equal and important to us. Please accept my sincere apology for the embarrassment caused. As a token of my concern I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our newly renovated apartments for your next stay with us. Please contact me in order to assist with the booking. Kind regards Derick Ta

            Responded April 25, 2019
            Hotel 224
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Unathi from South Africa
            Family with young children
            Two Bedroom Apartment
            Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

            Exceptional. You cannot go wrong with the apartments, every box is ticked. Quite impressive for a 3 ”

            Pros, all the way, from cleanliness, breakfast, the location and staff.

            Reviewed March 20, 2019

            Dear Unathi, Thank you for sharing with us your fantastic review on Agoda! We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and happy to know that you found our apartment rooms suitable with every box ticked. We are constantly striving to exceed the Five Star standard that is expected of Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments and we are glad that we have met your expectations on this occasion. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            8.8
            Excellent
            Vuuren from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in December 2018

            Excellent”

            The setting of the room is very comfortable. The views are good. Stuff at reception are good at communicating. I had minor problems but the man at the reception at arnd past 1800 on the 17/12/2018 helped me so much and at ease. High five to him.

            Reviewed December 19, 2018

            Dear Vuuren, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and service. I will share your feedback with George. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments in the near future. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Mogale from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in October 2018

            Great place.”

            The place is very nice , location is great but the bathrooms are very small.

            Reviewed October 29, 2018

            Dear Mogale, Thank you for your review and feedback. Kindly note that we have apartment rooms available as well. The apartment rooms are more spacious than the standard hotel rooms. Please ask about the apartment rooms as well when making your next booking. We are looking forward to hearing from you again soon. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            10.0
            Exceptional
            charles from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in October 2018

            Very affordable and safe hotel is near to union building and sterland ”

            The staff is friendly very helpful the hotel view very beautiful the bed the room very good condition

            Reviewed October 22, 2018

            Dear Charles, Thank you for sharing your experience on Agoda. We appreciate your business and value your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            9.6
            Exceptional
            charles from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in June 2018

            Hot water in the shower were not that hot but every was on standard I can't complain I love it. ”

            Its nice place near to cinema or union building 🌇 everything is close

            Reviewed June 25, 2018

            Dear Charles,, Thank you for taking the time to review The Hotel 224 and Apartments after your recent stay with us. It is with great pleasure to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed our amazing hotel. We pride ourselves on friendly service we deliver to our guests. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have hot water in the shower. Kindly note that our heat pump system was upgraded, ensuring that we have sufficient supply for all our rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            4.8
            Mahlogonolo from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in May 2018

            Acceptable”

            The room wasn't clean, guests/staff were making noise in the middle of the night.

            Reviewed June 01, 2018

            Dear Mahlogonolo Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our Hotel. We apologize if the service did not meet your expectations and appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. Our goal is to provide a consistently reliable product and an exemplary level of customer service. Based on the events you describe we did not meet this goal. Your comments was used for coaching and training of our employees. Regarding the noise made by other guests, please note that the front desk is available 24/7 to assist with any queries you may have during your visit, inducing inconsiderate guests. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            7.6
            Very good
            Anna from United States
            Couple
            Standard Twin Room
            Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

            Very good”

            Staff can improve on attitude

            Reviewed November 15, 2017

            Dear Anna, Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at our Hotel. We apologize if the service did not meet your expectations and appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. Our goal is to provide a consistently reliable product and an exemplary level of customer service. Please be so kind and provide us with more information so that we can understand where went wrong. We are looking forward to receiving your feedback and suggestions. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Juan from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Twin Room
            Stayed 1 night in November 2017

            three star perfection”

            can't understand all the negative reviews. what we experienced was pure bliss . rooms are enough for the purpose they serve . was apprehensive from other reviews. but nothing bad can be said. we enjoyed every single thing about this hotel. worth a second visit and more

            Reviewed November 13, 2017

            Dear Juan, We are truly pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and happy to know that enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on offering friendly and efficient service that is totally focused on our guest’s needs and comfort and I am glad that our passion has resonated in your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded April 24, 2019
            Hotel 224
            8.3
            Excellent
            REBECCA from South Africa
            Solo traveler
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in August 2015

            Comfortable hotel”

            Convenience and affordable

            Great

            Reviewed August 13, 2015

            Dear traveler, Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Kind regards Bernice

            Responded May 26, 2017
            Hotel 224
            7.0
            Very good
            OYEKUNLE from Nigeria
            Couple
            Stayed 8 nights in January 2015

            A fair and easy to access hotel”

            nice view from the top, clean environment and friendly staff

            Enjoyed my stay but was expecting a bigger room. There should be explicit description of rooms sizes in order not to mislead clients. Above all, cool place to stay for not more than 2.

            Reviewed January 16, 2015

            Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. Kindly note that we now offer Serviced apartments as well. The facilities of the apartment rooms are much bigger than the standard Hotel rooms. Please enquire about the apartments rooms when making your next booking. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded May 26, 2017
            Hotel 224
            7.0
            Very good
            Gwen from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in August 2014

            Pleasant”

            Location, Food, View
            Reviewed August 26, 2014

            Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hearing from you again soon! Kind regards Bernice

            Responded May 26, 2017
            Hotel 224
            2.7
            Nishantha from Sri Lanka
            Family with young children
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

            It was a mistake deciding to stay at hotel 224”

            None

            Terrible

            Reviewed April 21, 2014

            Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of your stay. Hotel management and staff are fully committed to offering the highest standard of service and facilities to our guests. We therefore value your feedback. We are very sad to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and would like to receive more information regarding your visit to understand where we went wrong. Please send an e-mail to the main hotel e-mail on our webpage marked for my attention so that we can contact you to discuss your stay. We look forward to receiving your e-mail. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded May 26, 2017
            Hotel 224
            7.7
            Very good
            Gwen from South Africa
            Couple
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in August 2013

            Enjoyable”

            City view, location, good price
            Reviewed August 07, 2013

            Good afternoon, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kindly note that we have since renovated the hotel, please look at our facebook page to view our photos. Warm regards Bernice

            Responded May 26, 2017
            Hotel 224
            7.7
            Very good
            Gwen from South Africa
            Business traveler
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in June 2013

            Overlooking the city”

            Shopping, Dining & Wining
            Reviewed August 07, 2013

            Good day, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Kind regards Bernice

            Responded May 26, 2017
            Hotel 224
            5.7
            Paul from South Africa
            Solo traveler
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in June 2013

            my stay was good,”

            the setup is good and outdoor bar very impressive

            My stay was good but it was ruined by the staff at the reception. They told me they didn't receive money from Agoda.com and that i have to pay again and i will be refunded when they get money from Agoda.com i was really pissed but I kept myself calm. the staff didn't act prefessional and they don't even know their Job description because they didn't know how they were gonna get their money from... I was even advised Not to book on the Internet,they told me to call them nextime if i want to make a booking...and I was very suprised by that. I will really appreciate it if the Management of this Hotel look into these and they must take it very seriously. Hotel224 is a world known hotel and I didn't expect that kind of treatment. Other than that my stay was okay. Thanks!!!

            Reviewed June 10, 2013

            Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of your stay, your feedback is important to us. I would like to start by apologizing for the late response as well as for the bad service you received from the front desk staff. We can assure you that the problems with the internet booking payments has been resolved and is no longer a problem. The staff received training and is now able to login on all the pages to resolve booking queries. We would greatly appreciate if you could afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please send an e-mail for my attention to the hotel main email address in order to discuss - unfortunately we do not have your contact information. We look forward to receiving your e-mail. Kind regards Bernice

            Responded May 26, 2017
            Hotel 224
            6.7
            Good
            Ana from Portugal
            Business traveler
            Standard Double Room
            Stayed 1 night in September 2012

            Central location”

            Central location, good restaurant and service

            The rooms are surprisingly small and needs renovation, the hotel is though very centrally located in Pretoria. Only pay as you go internet connection.

            Reviewed September 09, 2012

            Dear guest, Thank you for your review and feedback. Kindly note that we have renovated our rooms, please view the photos we recently uploaded on the Agoda webpage. We also upgraded the Wifi, and is now available to all our guests, free of charge. We are looking forward to hearing from you again soon! Kind regards Bernice

            Responded July 31, 2017
            Hotel 224
            This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

            Back to search results

            Back to room choices

            |

            Dismiss

            Hotel 224
            |Excellent 8.2
            ×
            Check in. Step out.
            Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

            • Excellent location
            • Union Buildings