Hotel 81 Chinatown
Hotel 81 Chinatown
See all 6 photos
9.6
Exceptional

"Near MRT Station and the location is good."

Alfandi

|

January 30, 2018

Superior - Guestroom Hotel 81 Chinatown
Superior - Guestroom
See all 6 photos
Lobby Hotel 81 Chinatown
Lobby
See all 6 photos
Lobby Hotel 81 Chinatown
Lobby
See all 6 photos
Interior view Hotel 81 Chinatown
Interior view
See all 6 photos
See map Hotel 81 Chinatown
See map
Excellent
Location
8.8
See all 6 photos Hotel 81 Chinatown
See all 6 photos
Removed from saved list
What guests are saying:
Near MRT Station and the location is good.
Alfandi from Indonesia
Business traveler
Good hotel with reasonable price, very close to Chinatown mrt. Room is small but not cramped, sadly they don't come with a mini fridge. Would love to stay again.
Yudha from Indonesia
Family with young children
This hotel is not very clean, but it is ok for me because I usually go out.
Chi from Vietnam
Business traveler
Some rooms have no windows so if you want room with windows, you have to note as a special request.
Panupong from Thailand
Group
Should reverse over night stay for customer at the quite place.
Lee from Singapore
Couple
Room with window , but cannot be open and is lock and close up with wood cover.
CHAN
Business traveler
Good value but room be too small for two: there be no space to place luggage’s
Jerry from Australia
Solo traveler
The room was very clean, comfortable and many restaurant nearby the hotel. not far walking distance to MRT station
FURAKORN from Thailand
Couple
I love that
Toonyawan from Thailand
Couple
The hotel was in a good location right in the heart of downtown. Subway is just steps away from across the road.
Chay from Canada
Couple

Hotel 81 Chinatown

Excellent location
- Inside city center
- What's nearby?
Good
From 2184 reviewsSee what guests said
6.8
/
10
Value for money6.4
Distance to city center1 KM
Location rating8.8
Nearest airportChangi International Airport (SIN) - Singapore
Distance to airport18.1 km
  • 20 meters to public transportation

  • Located in heart of Singapore

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Air conditioning

Select your room
This property is in high demand!Last booked 1 hour ago
Superior
Superior
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Twin
Twin
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Room
Superior Room
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Twin Room
Superior Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Room
Standard Room
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard
Standard
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Family Room
Family Room
...
  • Non-smoking
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Standard
Standard
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Room Capacity 5
    Room Capacity 5
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Twin
      Twin
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Have a question for Hotel 81 Chinatown?

        What people love about the property

        • 7.6
          Very good

          "Staff so friendly and helpful."

          rita

          |

          February 18, 2018

        • 7.2
          Very good

          "Good location!"

          POOM

          |

          April 5, 2017

        • 8.4
          Excellent

          "Very Good Location and Staff is very nice."

          Phanthipa

          |

          January 24, 2017

        Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

        Prices drop the moment you sign in!

        Sign in now
        More about Hotel 81 Chinatown

        More about Hotel 81 Chinatown

        10.0
        Exceptional

        "Welcome staff and clean room."

        Danny

        |

        February 16, 2018

        An overview

        Show less

        Nearest essentials

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        What to eat nearby

        American cuisine
        American cuisine
        Table 24
        220 m American, Contemporary, Fusion
        Potato Head Folk
        530 m American, Bar
        Billy Bombers @ The Central
        530 m American, Diner
        Asian cuisine
        Asian cuisine
        The Company of Cats
        50 m Asian, Cafe
        Togi Korean Restaurant
        70 m Asian, Korean
        Song Fa Bak Kut Teh, Chinatown Point
        80 m Asian, Chinese, Singaporean
        Chinese cuisine
        Chinese cuisine
        Si Chuan restaurant
        110 m Chinese
        Chongqing Grilled Fish
        110 m Chinese, Grill, Seafood
        Old Shanghai
        160 m Chinese

        What they offer

        6.4
        Good

        "Good location, small room & price reasonable"

        KARNO

        |

        January 16, 2018

        Show less

        What's nearby

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show more

        Property's guest policies

        Show less

        Some helpful facts

        Show less

        Real reviews from real guests

        Agoda Reviews (2186)Booking.com Reviews (1229)
        Cleanliness6.8
        Facilities6.1
        Location8.8
        Room comfort and quality6.5
        Service6.7
        Value for money6.4
        Provided by verified guests of Agoda
        All languages
        All guests (2186)
        All room types

        Show reviews that mention 

        Showing 1747 verified guest comments
        12345
        8.0
        Excellent
        Ratish from Mauritius
        Solo traveler
        Standard
        Stayed 1 night in January 2019
        Great location”
        The hotel is situated in a very good spot where you can access the MRT very easil. MRT Chinatown is just accross the road. This makes travelling around singapore so muc easier.
        Reviewed January 14, 2019
        5.6
        ETTORI from Thailand
        Business traveler
        Standard
        Stayed 1 night in November 2018
        Poor value for price paid”
        Nice hall , friendly staff OK , but when arrive at room ... disappointing No chair , no desk , no windows , small size... and facilities rather old and used.. So just a place to sleep .. no enjoy
        Reviewed November 24, 2018
        Dear Ettori , We are sorry you had felt disappointed with the size of the hotel room and its bathroom. While it might be small in size, the stay is well, considered value-for-money, given its excellent location, where you had enjoyed convenient access to the subway station, shopping mall as well as the neighbouring places of interest. Regards, Hotel Manager .
        Responded November 26, 2018
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        6.0
        Douglas from United Kingdom
        Couple
        Standard
        Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
        Above average”
        Singapore is an expensive place. This hotel is good value, but at the expense of facilities. Not a criticism, just to be aware that at this price you shouldn’t expect too much. The location is fantastic.
        Reviewed October 15, 2018
        Dear Douglas , Thank you for sharing your recent experience/stay with us. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit in Singapore. Regards, Hotel Manager .
        Responded November 17, 2018
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        4.8
        Michelle from Malaysia
        Solo traveler
        Standard
        Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
        Staff not friendly”
        My wife booked my stay through agoda with my name as stay in guest. Staff insisted that i show my wife passport which is inconvenience for me to get. They basically treaten me to pay again for my stay and denied my upfront payment through agoda. Very dissapointed with the famous kia si and kia su attitude of singaporean even in this hotel. No flexibility and understanding.
        Reviewed October 06, 2018
        Dear Michelle , "While we wish you had a better experience, it is through continuous feedback from valuable guests like yourself that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide. We regret to learn that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We take pride in providing the best service possible to our guests, and we are truly disappointed that we have fallen short of your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. " Regards, Hotel Manager .
        Responded November 17, 2018
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        4.4
        Shane from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
        Shane (Australia)”
        Hotel 81 in Chinatown is a short time (pay by the hour) hotel Most times of the day you'll find the lobby full or working girls and their clients waiting for their room booking The beds even have a rubber sheet simply covered with a single cotton sheet to "sleep" on. I guess it makes it easy to squeegee the bed between customers. I booked for 2 nights, and left after the first, the surrounding rooms full of clients are often quite vocal, the walls were thin and earplugs can only block out so much I won't go back, and I wouldn't recommend my friends ever use Hotel 81
        Reviewed September 19, 2018
        Dear Shane , "We are deeply embarrassed to hear that we did not provide the best possible service. It seems there were many areas that fell short in service and for that we are truly sorry. We hope we will be given an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future." Regards, Hotel Manager .
        Responded November 17, 2018
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        8.4
        Excellent
        Anna from Russia
        Couple
        Superior
        Stayed 13 nights in December 2017
        Great location”
        It’s near by everything. MTR 1 min walk, 7/11 next door, fair price supermarket 3 mins walk (Chinatownpoint floor -1) it took me 4 trips to find it)))), cheap food court across the street, Clarke Quay 10 mins walk, Marina Bay 25 mins, Fort Canning 15 mins, Changi Airport 15 mins driving. Sentosa broadwalk (Vito city) 2 subway stops. We’ve been in superior rooms (those have with window -the only difference compare the standard rooms). Rooms are small. One smaller than other depends on the side of the building and the floor. Never guess if you get 12 or 14 square meters room. In the bigger room you get a small wardrobe, in the smaller just a little space to have ur luggage open which is fine for me too. Won’t recommend it to family with kids. It’s just no space for 3 people in the room. Hotel stuff is very friendly and helpful. I’m truly glad to see smiling faces at reception desk every time entering lobby. We stayed in the Hotel for 5 times. And will stay again
        Reviewed August 08, 2018
        Dear Anna , We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the convenient location and the warm hospitality rendered by our staff. It was certainly our pleasure to have served you during your stay and we hope to welcome you back for yet another memorable experience. Regards, Hotel Manager .
        Responded November 17, 2018
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        10.0
        Exceptional
        TANAKORN from Thailand
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 1 night in October 2018
        Service”
        Staff are very kind.
        Reviewed November 04, 2018
        Dear Tanakorn , We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you once again. Regards, Hotel Manager .
        Responded November 17, 2018
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        10.0
        Exceptional
        TANAKORN from Thailand
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
        Staff”
        Staff are very kind.
        Reviewed November 04, 2018
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Thitima from Thailand
        Family with young children
        Standard
        Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
        Exceptional”
        No refrigerator
        Reviewed October 26, 2018
        Dear Thitima , Thank you for penning us a review and we will take note on your suggestion as mentioned. Regards, Hotel Manager .
        Responded November 17, 2018
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Alison from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
        Fantastic location.”
        The location of this hotel is fantastic. Right on amongst Chinatown, opposite the MRT. The room itself was tiny hardly any room to walk around the bed. I also didn't like the idea of the shower being in the toilet and no divider so the whole of the bathroom floor was soaked. The location made up for the size of the room.
        Reviewed October 11, 2017
        Thank you for taking the time to pen a review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry you had felt disappointed with the size of the hotel room and its bathroom. While it might be small in size, the stay is well, considered value-for-money, given its excellent location, where you had enjoyed convenient access to the subway station, shopping mall as well as the neighbouring places of interest. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit soon." Sincerely , Hotel Manager
        Responded October 12, 2017
        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        8.4
        Excellent
        Jitusa from Thailand
        Business traveler
        Standard
        Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
        Excellent”
        The location is really good, very convenient and just across the road from MRT Chinatown station. Staffs are friendly and helpful. However, I booked for a non-smoking room when I first got my room on 2nd floor, it had very strong smell of smoke inside the room. I asked for a new room, then I moved to 4th floor. I still can smell of smoke (but not strong) inside the room. In the first 2 days were very difficult to me to stay inside the room as I can smell smoke all the time especially when I walked out from bathroom then the smoke touched my nose. On the 3-4 days, I was feeling better, maybe I used to the smell!!! One more thing is the complimentary set doesn't have a shower cap!!!
        Reviewed July 08, 2017
        8.8
        Excellent
        aida from Philippines
        Family with young children
        Twin
        Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
        Great location”
        Will stay again in same hotel on our next visit to singapore. Staff were very helpful. Location was the best part of it. Near mrt, chinatown heritage center, hawkers center, malls, everything you need. The downside was there's water dripping from the ceiling of the toilet and it was smelly. So i sprayed perfume in our room. I hope they'll check on it. Overall.. it was a great stay.
        Reviewed June 16, 2017
        8.8
        Excellent
        Yoke from Singapore
        Family with teens
        Superior
        Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
        Great value for money, comfortable hotel. Excellent location.”
        Great value for money, comfortable hotel. Excellent location. This place is a few steps to the metro station that crosses 2 different lines and very close to 2 other metro interchanges. Plenty of food and shopping around the area. This area alone is enough for you to spend a few days. Rooms are very small but very clean and comfortable. TV has plenty of cable channels making the stay absolutely pleasant.
        Reviewed March 05, 2017
        8.4
        Excellent
        tjue from Indonesia
        Family with teens
        Superior
        Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
        Great location but rooms are tiny”
        The location is great, just crossing the street to get into MRT. We booked for 5 nights over there, gor small room with double bed. Dont even have room to walk because all the space taken by the lugages. Other than that its ok. This hotel doesn't have any restuarant either. Its completely for one night stay
        Reviewed June 28, 2016
        8.0
        Excellent
        Ronald from Indonesia
        Family with teens
        Superior
        Stayed 1 night in June 2014
        nice and small hotell”
        location,staff,value for money
        It was good enough to stay here eventhough the room quite small. We reserved a three bed room but allowed to enter for four people.the staffs are friendly and didn't make any problem for us. We'll be sure to stay here again. Btw,it's really close to mrt n chinatown centerpoint.
        Reviewed August 05, 2014
        8.0
        Excellent
        Ronald from Indonesia
        Family with teens
        Superior
        Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
        one of the best value for money”
        staff,location,room
        Our stay was good enough,eventhough when we stay there we usually hear someone screaming and fighting on the top floor. Other than that it was good enough to stay here because of the location. We'll definitely stay here again.
        Reviewed August 05, 2014
        8.0
        Excellent
        Mike from United States
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
        clean and simple hotel that is centrally located”
        mrt directly across the street
        hotel was easy to get to from the airport and its central location made cbd meetings convenient. room size typical of other similar priced hotels in singapore which is tiny in comparison to othercountries, e.g. no space to lay out suitcase etc. chinatown and good food are nearby which makes evening meals easily accessible.
        Reviewed February 24, 2013
        8.0
        Excellent
        walter from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 1 night in September 2012
        Good to be back.”
        Locations perfect.
        After spending 5 terrific days in Langkawi we returned for 1 night only. Impressed that the staff kept the same 2 rooms for us as we had requested. I'm a light sleeper and it helped being at the end of the corridor so no noise from people walking past.
        Reviewed October 11, 2012
        9.0
        Exceptional
        walter from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 1 night in September 2012
        It's all about location.”
        Easy access to many attractions.
        Walter speaking this time. As my sister just mentioned the staff impressed us by keeping the same room. Being there for the second time they kept getting more and more welcoming and helpful. Small rooms but we learnt to live with it. Staff allowed us an extra hour late checkout, then we kept 1 room for 5hrs extra. Then we could sight see more, have a shower and hit the airport later that night for the long fight home.
        Reviewed October 11, 2012
        8.0
        Excellent
        walter from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Superior
        Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
        Easy access to everthing”
        location, location, location
        My sisters review also as I booked for both but seperate rooms ans solo brother sister travel. I thought the room was smaller than the pictures but I only had carry-on luggage. We found the hotel better than previous reviews.
        Reviewed September 30, 2012
        12345
        This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

        Back to search results

        Back to room choices

        |

        Dismiss

        Hotel 81 Chinatown
        |Good 6.8
        ×
        Check in. Step out.
        Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

        • Excellent location
        • Merlion Park
        • Chinatown MRT Station is within 0.02 km