Book Now: Hotel 81 Dickson

Very good
From 6687 reviewsSee what guests said
7.0
/
10
Recommended by 86% of guests

Reviews of Hotel 81 Dickson Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (6686)Booking.com Reviews (3166)
7.0
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities6.5
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service7.0
Value for money7.3
All languages
All guests (6686)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 5842 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Anonymous
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Good location and affordable accommodation. ”

If you would like to check in earlier ask them ahead of time if what's the cost of early check in. We checked in earlier it seems the 2 hours earlier is too expensive 15$ per hour so 30$ for 2 hours is a bit too much considering its price of below 50$ a night. Cleaning service was fantastic. Location is great.

Reviewed May 19, 2019

Dear , We value every comments and feedback and will work towards improving our service standards. We wish you a great day ahead. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded May 23, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
10.0
Exceptional
Izzat from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Excellent!”

Everything is just so good about this place. Few hundred meters to the station. They got 23 hours of food restaurant. Less than 10 mins for sim lim square and food court across it. Worth every money and location! Best hotel!

Reviewed April 11, 2019

Dear Izzat , Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel 81 Dickson and for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of our well-appointed rooms and convenient location. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Singapore. With regards , Hotel Manager

Responded April 24, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
9.2
Exceptional
Neeloy from India
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

good location ”

very good location, near mrt station. you can come from airport with luggage. thats a great savings. room is very clean. no breakfast, best nearest food court is "abc". room rent is cheap comparing to other location in singapore .

Reviewed March 31, 2019

Dear Neeloy , We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you once again. With regards , Hotel Manager

Responded April 24, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.4
Excellent
Imran from Bangladesh
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 5 nights in February 2019

Overall Value for Money”

Cons -Small room & bathroom -Small bed & mattress is just okay. -Room Temperature cant be controlled from the room and this can be a issue if you suddenly feel you need to change anything you need to call reception. Though they can make adjustments immediately. Pros -Great location indeed. MRT 100 meters away. Bus stand is just opposite the road. Many eateries nearby with lots of options. 7 eleven nearby.

Reviewed March 04, 2019

Dear Imran , We are glad that our hotel location has enhanced your stay here in Singapore. We wish that you will continue your patronage with us. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded March 07, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
7.6
Very good
purushothaman from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 5 nights in May 2019

Good place for Indian community as you won't feel you are out of India”

Decent hotel to stay for short term and located near to MRT and unlimited restaurants (South Indian) around the hotel, so you won't feel hunger for Indian food. Rooms are small however, In SG all hotel rooms are comparatively small compare to other countries and all depends on how deep your pocket is and how much you ready to pay for your stay :).

Reviewed May 17, 2019

Dear purushothaman , We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you once again. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded May 23, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
9.6
Exceptional
Peanglabhass from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Good hotel. worth money. Easy to access to MRT. Staffs were good. Careful when choosing room, cause they didn't mentioned that there are NO window in a room. The in-sincerely there are was the only thing I doesn't like about this hotel.

Reviewed April 29, 2019

Dear Peanglabhass , We are glad that our hotel location has enhanced your stay here in Singapore. We wish that you will continue your patronage with us. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded May 23, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
7.6
Very good
Lovelee from Bangladesh
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Very good”

This is very nice hotel for those who just want to stay at night. Very good location. MRT, bus stop, and Mustafacentreis very near of this hotel. Plentyof food around here. For Bangladeshi people i would recommend stay here because some Bangladeshi hotels are very near of this hotel.

Reviewed April 22, 2019

Dear Lovelee , Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel 81 Dickson and for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of our well-appointed rooms and convenient location. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Singapore. With regards , Hotel Manager

Responded April 24, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.4
Excellent
Jeffrey from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 5 nights in March 2019

hotel can be improved”

Pros: Clean - they clean the room everyday and smells good Location - Near MRT and Bus Stops Cons: Restroom - no water videt Hallway - other guest noise can be heard inside the room, every morning there are always noises from hotel guest coming from the hallway, staffs should not permit guest loitering on the hallway at all times Ramp - not always open, we need to carry our stroller sometimes and use the stairs

Reviewed March 25, 2019

Dear Jeffrey , We value every comments and feedback and will work towards improving our service standards. We wish you a great day ahead. With regards , Hotel Manager

Responded April 24, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.0
Excellent
CHARYN from Philippines
Family with teens
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Hotel with Good Loacation”

Hotel is walking distance from Mustafa Center. Convenient because near train station. Encountered one staff tgat is not very accomodating. Bathroom will be better if they have shower curtains so that when you shower, water wont be splashing all over. No exhaust fan in the toilet which was a big let down. Overall a decent hotel with good location.

Reviewed June 19, 2018

Dear Charyn , We value every comments and feedback and will work towards improving our service standards. We wish you a great day ahead. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded June 20, 2018
Hotel 81 Dickson
6.8
Good
Hemantha from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

satisfied”

Nearby restaurants only serve indian food. If you are looking for something else, you need to walk to Bugis around 10 to 15 min walk. Beds are huge but squeaky.

Reviewed May 03, 2019

Dear Hemantha , Thank you for sharing your recent experience/stay with us. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit in Singapore. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded May 23, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
9.2
Exceptional
Karla from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Great location. Near 24/7 hawkers and Jalan Besar station. Clean rooms and comfortable stay. ”

We stayed here for 4 days and arrived super early in the morning. The receptionist warmly accommodated us and told that check in time is at 2 pm but can be as early as 11 am if there will be available rooms already. We then just left our luggage there (they secured it) so we can already start our itinerary. Hotel is just within Little India and is right across Jalan Besar station and near Sim Lim Tower. Cheap shopping areas Mustafa Center and Bugis are really near, had it not been very hot, you can just walk from point A to B. Rooms are really clean, there is that smell that I can't explain once you enter but overall, our stay was really pleasant. Air condition is centralized but you can just call the receptionist if you want to adjust (we didn't bother cause the sheets are warm enough). We booked a standard room without windows though, probably the good thing was we were on the 5th floor so we we were able to hear if it's raining outside. :)

Reviewed January 27, 2019

Dear Karla , We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the convenient location and the warm hospitality rendered by our staff. It was certainly our pleasure to have served you during your stay and we hope to welcome you back for yet another memorable experience. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded February 15, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
2.4
Virgen from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Not good and not satisfied ”

Room is not worth of the payment. Old and not clean. I never choose this hotel due to poor reviews. Was only booked by Agoda since they have to transfer us to this hotel. Really disappointed of our plan.

Reviewed January 21, 2019

Dear Virgen , While we wish you had a better experience, it is through continuous feedback from valuable guests like yourself that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide. We regret to learn that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We take pride in providing the best service possible to our guests, and we are truly disappointed that we have fallen short of your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded January 23, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.0
Excellent
Chun from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Spacious and Tidy room”

Spacious and Tidy room, very clean and comfortable too. Just that the sound proof is not really good , whereby if you're staying superior (with window), you could hear the noise from the outside road clearly.

Reviewed December 26, 2018

Dear Chun, Thank you for sharing your recent experience/stay with us. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit in Singapore With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded January 06, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
7.6
Very good
Anchana from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Location!”

Good location. Close to MRT. We love walking towards Bugis because they have a big food centre on the way. Room was tiny. Not enough space to walk. Our bathroom smelled like poop all the time because the toilet is old. Good house keeping service, neat and clean. Staff could be more smiley but they were friendly.

Reviewed December 15, 2018

Dear Anchana , Thank you for sharing your recent experience/stay with us. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit in Singapore With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded January 06, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
7.6
Very good
Reichelle from Philippines
Family with young children
Triple
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Worth the stay”

Pros: Big beds and spacious rooms. We booked triple room. Clean and cold. Easy to find and to check in. Staffs are accomodating and friendly. Cons: A little bit far to restaurants. Nearby restaurants only serve indian food. If you are looking for something else, you need to walk to Bugis around 10 to 15 min walk. Beds are huge but squeaky. Bathroom is clean however tubs had stains.

Reviewed December 10, 2018

Dear Reichelle , We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the convenient location and the warm hospitality rendered by our staff. It was certainly our pleasure to have served you during your stay and we hope to welcome you back for yet another memorable experience. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded January 06, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.0
Excellent
JL from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Value for Money”

What you pay is what you get, we stayed a No window room, since its cheaper, and since we dont need to look outside if the view is just roof from other building, we are in a budet travel, and were out whole the time, its not bad at all, they just need to lighten the colors of their walls and check the room first before giving the key to the quest, coz when we arrived its so dusty. but overall, its value for money. and lastly, they let us deposit our luggage for free since check.out is 12 and out flight is at 9pm, so we still have time to tour near attractions. Thanks

Reviewed December 07, 2018

Dear JL , We value every comments and feedback and will work towards improving our service standards. We wish you a great day ahead. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded January 06, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.4
Excellent
Devina from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Excellent”

The location is near Jalan Besar Station and bus stop. They don't serve breakfast but the hotel is surrounded by good foods with affordable price (must try: crispy bee hoon!) They have decent room as well.

Reviewed November 27, 2018

Dear Devina , Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We wish to serve you again in the near future With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded January 06, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.8
Excellent
Santad from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Resonable price ”

Good

Reviewed March 26, 2019

Dear Santad , We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you once again. With regards , Hotel Manager

Responded April 24, 2019
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.0
Excellent
Ranganath from India
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

Best Location for Indiqan Travellers”

Near MRT ROCHOR (DT13) 300 meters from Exit B. South Indian restaurants many near by. Though price little more, we do not get near to Indian environment. 170 meters from JALAN BESAR MRT ( DT22- Down Town Line)

Reviewed March 03, 2018

Dear Ranganath , We are glad that our hotel location has enhanced your stay here in Singapore. We wish that you will continue your patronage with us. With regards, Hotel Manager

Responded March 10, 2018
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.8
Excellent
VISHWAJEET from India
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017

Value for Money”

3 most lovely things i liked about this hotel is 1. Location is pretty near to MRT (Jalan Besar) & Bus stop. 2. Easy Check-in & Check out 3. Good ambiance and Wi-fi speed. few things must be noted before booking the room. if you are planning to stay for more than 1 night. please prefer room with Windows only.

Reviewed December 04, 2017

Dear Vishwajeet , Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel 81 Dickson and for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of our well-appointed rooms and convenient location. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Singapore. With regards Hotel Manager

Responded December 06, 2017
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.0
Excellent
anna from Vietnam
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017

good choice”

Hotel is very near Jalan Besan MRT, very convenient to travel around by MRT, very good wifi signal, good staff, nearby good thai restaurant Disvantage point is quite small room, and bed, no minibar, wardrobe is small. Overall, not too bad hotel option

Reviewed October 28, 2017

Dear Anna, We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the convenient location and the warm hospitality rendered by our staff. It was certainly our pleasure to have served you during your stay and we hope to welcome you back for yet another memorable experience. With Regards Hotel Manager

Responded November 03, 2017
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.8
Excellent
Danu from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Good place to stay, a home away from home”

The location is superb, near mustafa center, little india and Bugis Junction. Very good value for money. There's a hawker center just next to this hotel. The staffs are very helpful and friendly. One downside is facility and tolerable noise at night, however for a budget hotel it's enough

Reviewed October 14, 2017

Dear Danu , We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the convenient location and the warm hospitality rendered by our staff. It was certainly our pleasure to have served you during your stay and we hope to welcome you back for yet another memorable experience. With regards Hotel Manager

Responded October 19, 2017
Hotel 81 Dickson
8.4
Excellent
Loc from Vietnam
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017

Good clean and affordable hotel in Singapore.”

This hotel is one of the best choices if you need a place to rest at night for an affordable price while most of the time you are out experiencing Singapore. The room is small but sufficient for a stay and all facilities function well. Staff are friendly and the hotel is clean too.

Reviewed October 02, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Hannah from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Stay to sleep”

Good for travellers who would want a nice price which is conveniently located at the heart of the city connecting to almost all the tourist spots via train. Clean room but small bed, cold air conditioner, good food nearby: indian restaurants to be specific, walking distance to the train station: rochor. Staff very friendly and accommodating. During our stay theres a lot of indian guests. Not good if you come for a staycation. Good for backpackers who wants a solo room

Reviewed September 12, 2017

Dear Hannah , We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the convenient location and the warm hospitality rendered by our staff. It was certainly our pleasure to have served you during your stay and we hope to welcome you back for yet another memorable experience. With Regards Hotel Manager

Responded October 05, 2017
Hotel 81 Dickson
9.2
Exceptional
xaverius from Indonesia
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017

one of my favourite hotel while in singapore”

clean room and bathroom, the hot water works well, good location (near to mrt, food, and store), good wifi internet connection everything almost perfect except the air con, we can't control the temperature and sometimes the temperature is too cold or not cold enough, it was really quite troublesome to contact the staff to adjust the temperature

Reviewed July 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Widya from Indonesia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

Nice for Family Budget Hotel ”

I stayed for 3 nights here in the family room and its satisfying. The location is good enough, many restaurants around the hotel, and can get to MRT by walking. The room was good, clean and comfortly. thankyou

Reviewed July 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Alfat from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Good location, near MRT Rochor station just 1 minutes walk”

Good location, near MRT Rochor Station station just 1 minutes walk.. Lots of food near hotel, mostly Indian because it's located in Little India. Near Mustafa Market just 5 minutes walk, you can walk to Haji Lane / Arab Street by 15 minutes.. and Bugis Street by 25 minutes. The facilities? Free wifi, TV, free 2 mineral water bottle per day (per rooms), freezer.. The bathroom is just okay, not so special but it's private. The only important thing which is still weak is you can hear people talking from near your rooms

Reviewed April 05, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ratna from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

Budget Hotel with clean rooms”

This hotel is located within 200m of Rocher MRT, 4 bus stops serving all most any direction to any place is a very good place to stay if you are on a budget . The hotel is rated to be two star and is correct . Rooms are small but comfortable . The bathroom is small but good water pressure and very clean. Reception is efficient and professional .

Reviewed January 23, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Boi from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

COMFORTABLE, SPACIOUS ROOM & CONVENIENT”

Love the Hotel location near our favourite curry fish head restaurant at Race course Road. 5 minutes walk to Rochor MRT station. Family room is spacious and comfortable for four of us. Will not mind to come back to stay at this hotel in our future trip to Singapore.

Reviewed December 08, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016

Nice stay”

Although it is just a basic hotel, we did have a nive stay. Our room was super clean, they change our towels & bedsheets everyday. They give us new toothbrushes, coffee/tea & water everyday. I just wish they give their guests slippers, since the aircon is very cold so the floors were really cold too, especially in the bathroom.

Reviewed December 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Mason from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Family
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Best ever staff”

For expensive Singapore, this was good. I had a small room which was spotlesslessly clean. Wifi available but had a little trouble with it at times, computer in lobby. Am familiar with Little India and like area, ok for a night or two if you only intend to sleep as bed/bedding comfortable. However, the staff service was outstanding. My husband was delayed in Bangkok and Agoda had also doubled our booking but the gentlemen at reception were fantastic, very helpful, professional, nothing was too much trouble, As a solo woman, I felt safe so will certainly look at this chain again if they have the same level of staff service.

Reviewed October 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
hadriza from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Value for money”

staff are good, very Clean, rochor mrt is 300m away, 700m from mustafa center, near halal indian restos, safe place, accesible to most places in SG. will be back and stay in this hotel again. I really recommend this place.

Reviewed August 15, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Josine from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Affordable, decent and clean room near MRT”

Clean and affordable room. Only downside of this is poor soundproofing. You can hear other rooms slamming the door, and the people talking outside. Nonetheless, it's a value for money room and it's a 5 minute- walk from Rochor MRT station. There are lots of food centers near the hotel, including Tekka Center.

Reviewed June 06, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jean-Yves from France
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 6 nights in May 2016

Business and leisure”

It is the second time we went to this hotel for his good ration price/Comfort and great location. The staff were helpful as well as last time and upgrade us for a little amount for Deluxe room to get a refrigerator in room. Also the room was bigger than the one we booked. By the way AGODA didn't mentioned different size of rooms and this time didn't proposed the Refrigerator option in room as before. This location is very near MUSTAFA shopping Center open 24/24, huge and economical department store. Near as well from BUGIS & SIM LIM Square, just opposite. Also 5mn from the new ROCHOR MRT station. I recommend to people who will stay few days to buy a ezLink Credit card to avoid to make a line each time we take the MRT. And this card will be valid for their next trip to Singapore. I discover as well the Application GRAB taxi to easily book a taxi whatever you are and within minimum time. It works great and taxi arrived before your expectation. The App show you where the taxi is in real time on the way to pic you up. You know in Sing it is not always easy to get a taxi at pick time. I will certainly come back to this hotel my next trip to Singapore as we fill at home in that location as many facilities around become familiar and make us feel at home.

Reviewed June 03, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Noel from Australia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Great Location”

I frequently stay at Dickson 81 for short stopovers. Rooms are spotlessly clean, staff speak good English and are very helpful, close to Little India and plenty of affordable restaurants. MRT within walking distance - 10 minutes

Reviewed May 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Larry from United States
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Good budget near Sim Lim and new Rochor MRT”

Clean and reasonably spacious room for a budget accommodation in Singapore. The staff was efficient and courteous, the shower was hot and had plenty of pressure. The bed (firmness) and pillows were comfortable, however, the plastic liner on the mattress was very uncomfortable. The AC was too COLD and didn't seem to respond to our adjustments. If you book a room WITHOUT A VIEW, you may want to consider taking a night light to plug into an outlet because leaving a light on in the bath makes for a bright night due to the glass wall between the bedroom and bath.

Reviewed April 21, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Craig from United States
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015

Great location with helpful staff”

Location, price, staff

We will stay here again on our trips back through Singapore. Great value for your money in an expensive city. Close to great local food for little cost. I would recommend this to backpackers and young couples lookin for a clue hotel while touring the beauty Singapore has to offer.

Reviewed December 30, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Ninh from Vietnam
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Convenient places for public transportation”

Place, Staff, and Clean room

Overall, we used the room for night sleeping only as going out all day. Staff is friendly, room is clean, and the area is convenient to approach public transportation as Bus and MRT. The hotel doesn't have a wardrope to put your clothes.

Reviewed December 10, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Starlene from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Double
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Clean, location, amenities ”

Clean, location, amenities

Clean, location, amenities It is quite far from the bugis mrt especially if you walk during daytime and it's hot. However, there's a bus from the hotel to the mrt station. Very near bugis street and restos. Good facilities.

Reviewed December 04, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Ricardo from Australia
Couple
Family
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Value”

Price location clean

The room we stayed in was a family room which was large. The room was clean and well maintained. The location in little India was interesting. For Singapore this was a good value for money hotel with good staff.

Reviewed November 06, 2015
8.0
Excellent
SHEILAWANIS from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Good Location ”

Clean

Good location. need to walk about 5 minute to the bus stop station. But quite far from the MRT station. The hotel are clean. But the toilet is a glass wall. All people in the room can see in the toilet. They need to change it.

Reviewed December 23, 2014
8.3
Excellent
catrina from Philippines
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in September 2014

A Gem Within Little India”

customer service, location and rates

I had visited Singapore previously and on my first trip had stayed at a more expensive hotel in the Outram Park area. I was a little apprehensive about staying in Little India, but since my friend and I were trying to get the best deal on our accommodations we opted for Hotel 81 Dickson (she had stayed in the hotel on a previous trip). Hotel 81 Dickson turned out to be much better than I expected. Here are the things that I liked: - I arrived at the hotel a little after 12:00pm and asked if I could be given an early check-in. I had taken the train from the airport and then walked to the hotel so I must have looked like a sight--luckily, the front desk staff was pleasant and told me that the room was already available so I could check-in. - The hotel is really clean and smells nice. - The staff cleaned our room every day even if we kept forgetting to put the sign on our door. Our complimentary bottles of water were also given daily without fail, which is nice since bottled water can get pretty expensive in Singapore. - There are lots of places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. And not just Indian restaurants and eateries, too--there were places that served Thai and Chinese dishes as well. - The rooms are small compared to some hotels, but my friend and I found it roomy enough. I mean, we had our suitcases and bags spread out in the room and we could still walk around without tripping over things. As for getting around, we found it fairly easy as there is a bus stop nearby and of course, the Little India MRT station is a 10-15 minute walk away. The one thing we hope that can be improved would be the number of English-language channels on the TV, the addition of HBO, Star Movies, etc. would have made our stay at Hotel 81 Dickson even better :)

Reviewed September 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Heinson from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Great place to stay”

(1) Clean (2) Well ventilated (3) Enough staff

Its great. We were accomodated to our rooms even if we check-in a little early than expected. All reserved rooms are clean. They only provide toothbrush and shower cap, so better bring your toiletries. They do housekeeping and collect your garbage. Though they don't have windows

Reviewed August 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Simple but comfortable”

location, clean, and good value

Hotel 81 is a low end hotel with good clean economical rooms that serve their customers well. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is small but very serviceable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. All in all it was a good hotel experience. I would recommend this to any value traveler.

Reviewed July 27, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Noel from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Taking the stress out of travelling”

cleanliness, good English, location

I travel to S E Asia at least once a year and mostly stay overnight in Singapore. I always stay at Dickson 81 because it is very affordable by Singapore prices, the staff are very helpful and speak good English and is close to several low cost restaurants in Little India and public transport is close by. I highly recommend Dickson 81 for short stay visits.

Reviewed July 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Comfotable and friendly stay”

Affordable, location and clean

This is the 3rd time I have stayed this hotel. It is a value hotel with a very small room. with a small bath. The bed is comfortable and everything was clean. The hotel had no frills but all I needed was a comfortable bed in a clean secure hotel. It met my requirements. The price was very attractive and I would stay their again next time I visit Singapore. Being in Little India their were many good restaurants and shopping (Mustafa).

Reviewed July 11, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Francois from Canada
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Great budget hotel”

WiFi, cleanliness, staff

We stayed 2 nights in Little India and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean, great room service, great Wifi. Comfy beds but the plastic over the mattress makes it very slippery. Nice staff, great location. Can be noisy in the corridor.

Reviewed April 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
FIFI from Indonesia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

good for group of older ppl”

near mrt, middle of the city, lots of food stands

I'm not the one staying there. But a group of six older ppl around 55-67 y.o. with difficulty to walk far and they say it was a good stay. Better than renting apartment on a same price. Easy to buy food and very near to bugis MRT. They were happy and willing to stay there again the next time.

Reviewed March 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Janice from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

nice location”

location, service, cleanliness

the stay is great. the staff are attentive and speak english well. the people are helpful. location is ok though the streets seemed to be very busy but its near mrt (little india). bus station and taxi are near. food establishment around the corner and hawker station.

Reviewed February 26, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Lei from China
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

Cheap, clean, comfort”

Cheap, clean, comfort

This is the 2nd time I stayed here. I think it was the cheapest hotel in Singapore comparing to other same-leveled hotels. The room was clean and the facilities were all included. And the staff was friendly. I will highly recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed February 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
DAVID from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Cheap budget hotel,worth for money”

Clean hotel room,worth for money and comfortable stay

Hotel 81 Dickson is located near MRT Bugis and Little India. This hotel is a budget hotel, so i think is comfortable for a couple. And also will work for those who roam the city all the day and come back night to sleep and leave soon in the morning. I am satisfied with the rooms, because of the clean bed and clean bathroom. If you want to go city, is just 10-15 min drive, so is very convenient and good value of money to stay in such an expensive city.

Reviewed January 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
PRASITH from Cambodia
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

The hotel room is acceptable to stay & less spend”

Afortable price, center, easy to access to shopping center.

The hotel is just very basic for short travelers who are wanted to spend a few days for their business and city tour. Most of travelers are aimed at very luxury hotel to stay where their times are spent at the shopping, santosa, and others. After staying two three times at Hotel 81, there is two things that the hotel needs to be improved in terms of bath room cleanliness and dusty vs. air circulation.

Reviewed December 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
POH from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Above expectation”

great location, good service, clean room

I expected the hotel might be dark and dirty, but since there's budget constrain this would be the most suitable place I can get within budget. However, after checked in, I was impressed with the newly renovated room. Room was clean and comfortable. I had a pleasant stay.

Reviewed October 19, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Bastian from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

For that room rate it was just ok”

Clean bathroom, free Wi-Fi (one day)

Room and bathroom were basically clean, but the bed sheets had stains. The design of the room looked modern. There was free Wi-Fi, but there is a username and password necessary which didn't work any more on the next day. The biggest problem was the noise from other rooms, probably because the hotel was mostly occupied by Chinese people, and in China it's always loud. For that relatively high room rate I would have expected more.

Reviewed August 11, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Glenn from Australia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Functional and clean in a good location”

Clean room Helpful Staff Good location

This Hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Some might consider the rooms small but they are functional and quiet and value for the price. The Hotel is in a good location which makes it easy to walk around and go to bars and restaurants and is a short walk to the MRT.

Reviewed May 01, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Joseph from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

better than I expected”

location, surronfing Little India and easy access to the city

My colleague and I achieved all we wanted to to in SIngapore within the short stay. Particular;ly our visits to NAFA and Lasalle where we had projects top discuss with them. Little India being right there was the bonus. That is a great part of Singapore.

Reviewed April 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Lim from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Great Hotel but kinda far from MRT station”

Hotel with quite big room and free WIFI services

If you are not going to take taxi or walk, then try consider other hotel. It's about 15 minutes walk to nearby Little India MRT station. If you come from Johore, bus station is nearby queenstreet which is near to this hotel. But If you like to stay near to little India and see Indian culture. This is a good hotel.

Reviewed January 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
james from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Well run hotel”

Not too far from EW12 station (very walkable even with a backpack 10mins) Airport link $2.8

A very well run hotel,reasonably priced for Singapore.The room we had was the first room i have ever experienced without a window,the room was small but well equiped,very clean with free toothbrush,showercap comb.Bed was comfortable.This hotel is in Little India,the street befor Dickson is Dunlop Street,lots of Indian eating places and cheap compaired to the prices in the city.Also some backpacking places on Dunlop Street.Not a bad location.

Reviewed November 17, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Roswitha from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Spacious hotel and luxurious feel”

Spacious, luxurious feel and spacious bathroom as well

This is the best budget hotel that I've ever been too. I will certainly recommend it to people who want to stay at budget hotel around Bugis area. It's quite far from MRT station but manageable by walking. The room is spacious and it also very convenient with wi-fi but need to ask for password in the receptionist. Good service :D

Reviewed October 31, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
peter from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Simple comforts”

good location

The room had everything necessary for an overnight stay. It was comfortable though small as is almost always the case in Singapore. All the basic necessities were provided for an easy overnight stay. It is close to the colour and life of Little India. Floors are tiled so it could be a bit noisey though I certainly didnt notice it.

Reviewed October 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Felix from Indonesia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012

Nice Hotel”

Budget Room

Rooms a bit small but ok. Check in was easy and staff were helpful. There are plenty of eating places around mainly Indian and Chinese and there are shopping malls around which can be accessed by short walks.

Reviewed October 22, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
MARY from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012

clean and near to tourist spots”

practical yet elegant

My husband enjoyed our stay here. It's near to all our destinations like the beautiful tourist spots here in Singapore. It's affordable yet very comfy and elegant. I'll look forward to visiting this place again.

Reviewed July 31, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
LIM from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012

Excellent hotel service and great location”

facilities, customer services and location.

Their facilities such as air-cond and wifi is good. For customer services, we have been request for additional pillow and its is FOC to us. Besides that, one day, we mistaken to lock inside the door when outing (it should be only can open when people inside the room), their staff helping us to open back the door without charging us, but I know it is a add trouble to them. For location, it is strategic where located btw little india and bugis.

Reviewed July 29, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Segaran from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Excellent budget hotel”

Good room size...nice mirrors!

Good sized room but with a slightly damp floor as i entered. Managed to get the hotel staff to wipe/mop it off. nice LCD tv with a dvd player. overall, worth the money for a night's stay at a hotel that is close to orchard road...won't cost much in a taxi!

Reviewed July 05, 2012
8.0
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

good hotel”

in the middle of little india, so great for a curry, actually very well placed for everything

1st night very noisy around 2am, just some do not care about anyone else kind of people, I phoned reception at 4am, and they then seemed to go quie, it would not stop me staying there again, it could happen anywhere Very clean, the staff seemed to be constantly cleaning everthying everywhere, walls ceilings, doors, door ways, aircon ducts etc etc

Reviewed June 21, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Great value hotel”

Affordable

Pleasantly surprised with this Hotel 81 located in Little India. It is relatively new. The rooms are well appointed with flat screen TV, WiFi Internet access and nicely appointed. The bathroom was small but more then adequate. The only deficency was the fact that there was no closet or drawer to put your clothes. There was only 4 hooks on nthe wall. Its fine if you want to keep everything in your suitcase. Try the shopping at Mustafa if you are a bargain hunter. Its only 1 kilometer walk.

Reviewed May 19, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Suryadi from Indonesia
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012

Wonderful hotel with excellent price”

Nice, clean and comfortable

the hotel room is quite spacious and it is very clean. even though we need to walk a bit from mrt station but it is very strategic location which is nearby orchard and dhoby ghaut. i enjoy the time to stay there and would give recommendations to others who want to come to singapore. last but not least keep it up and maintain the hotel performance and we would definitely come back for more.

Reviewed April 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
s from Bangladesh
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012

yes”

good

The atmosfare of this hotel is very nice. All the servises like Food, Bevarage, Customer Care, Hospitality very good.I am pleased on the behaviour of all the stuff. The construction looking good. It have a all kind of ability to stay or visit.I desire to visit it again nexttime.

Reviewed April 07, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Kaien from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2012

brand new property, central location”

clean rooms, convenient location

coneveniently located in the heart of little india, this property allows the budget traveller to enjoy local culture and a comfortable stay at a very reasonable price. we stayed for a night at the hotel and our experience was pleasant and comfortable. as this property is quite new, we were extremely pleased with the condition of the room: it was clean (especially the bathroom), air conditioning functioning well. however, there are some teething issues with regards to customer services. a little fine tuning is required but otherwise we left the hotel pretty happy with our stay.

Reviewed March 20, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Mr from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Lovely hotel and service”

Comfortable, free Wi-Fi

It is quite convenience to travel from airport to the hotel, and travel around Singapore city through MRT. Also the hotel facilities are OK, including free Wi-Fi, with the clean room and feel safe. The reception also provided good services, and hospitality. Additionally, this hotel service quality is quite the same as other Hotel81. I will recommend the Hotel 81 group to my friends too.

Reviewed March 14, 2012