Book Now: Hotel AMANO

Excellent
From 223 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 91% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (223)Booking.com Reviews (1654)
8.7
Excellent
From 223 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities8.0
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.6
Value for money8.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
Français
Español
more
Room type
Standard Room
Triple Room
Apartment
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 161 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Noga from Israel
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
We've really enjoyed our stay”
great place,staff,location
Reviewed December 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Shira from Israel
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Perfect hotel”
great value for money, great location. Rooms are a bit small. Take the breakfast, it's amazing
Reviewed November 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Omer from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Perfect location, crisp hotel but a bit too minimalist”
Amano is perfectly located, hip hotel with helpful staff members. It is clean and well maintained, however, the extremely minimalist approach for the rooms means some essentials like a kettle to make tea or coffee, a mini-fridge to store stuff and lack of furniture are lacking. I know that's a style issue but for the money, these can be provided. The staff did help to provide a kettle when we asked and were usually welcoming.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sarah from Japan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Great location; no amenities”
Had a great time staying here. The location was great. However there were no amenities: no shampoo, conditioner, ice, ice bucket, fridge, coffee maker, tissues, etc..... There is no room service available. I would stay there again but bring either a small ice chest for cold drinks or just buy them daily.
Reviewed September 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Kim from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Great place -- staff needs training”
Gorgeous boutique hotel in a perfect location near all kinds of shops, cafes, restaurants and walkable to many sites. Unfortunately, I had several minor issues with some of the staff. Maintenance staff in my room three times without my authorization (one came in without knocking when I was in bed, one cleaned the room when the do not disturb sign was up and one was fixing my AC after I told desk staff I was going to be in the shower and then checking out so I didn't want the AC technician there.) When the wifi system was down the desk staff spent ten minutes telling me it was my fault or a problem with my iphone. A number of other small issues that suggest the staff need training. The breakfast is great but expensive if it's not included in your room rate..
Reviewed September 10, 2016
7.6
Very good
Niclas from Germany
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Perfect location, staff not exactly friendly! ”
Staff always seemed liked we bothered them when we asked for something. Bar personal in the roof top terrace were however very friendly. Non the less, location wise - perfect.
Reviewed September 10, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Nicola from United Kingdom
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Great hotel in a great location.”
Motte is wonderful and the location of the hotel puts you right there. Very quiet at night in our room so no problems sleeping in a comfortable, clean apartment. Would return without hesitation.
Reviewed September 09, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kirsty from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Great hotel in great location ”
We booked this hotel for my husbands birthday trip and we were not disappointed. We got upgraded to a m apartment which was lovely and spacious. The hotel has a great rooftop bar with brilliant views of the city and the location is very central.
Reviewed September 08, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Wilmar from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Exceptional”
Very clean hotel and welcoming front desk staff. Way better than other 5* hotels l have been to.
Reviewed August 31, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Ashleigh from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Amazing location. ”
A great experience all round. Will definitely stay again next time we're in Berlin.
Reviewed August 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
WAI from Hong Kong
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Good”
Leisure
Reviewed August 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Frodo from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Great hotel, value for money”
Excellent location, stylish hotel
Reviewed July 27, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jacqueline from Switzerland
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 7 nights in June 2016
Very good”
Great location. Rooms small but well organized & comfortable. Would have appreciated some amenities - shower gel, shampoo etc but aside from that, no complaints.
Reviewed June 19, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Victoria from United Kingdom
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Mixed feelings, but mainly positive. Outstanding apartment!”
I have mixed feelings about the Hotel Amano: Absolutely beautiful apartment, stunning finish & very clean. Lovely, huge & very comfortable bed with lovely linens. Two sets of French doors so lots of natural light. Fully equipped kitchenette which even had a little dishwasher! Plus, I don't think I've ever seen such an immaculately clean bathroom! Amano bar was great, lovely cocktails and the staff were friendly. Contact via email was friendly and efficient before arrival. Unfortunately I found the reception staff quite indifferent. On arrival I was given our key & went to the room allocated, I'd been given a standard double instead of an apartment. I went back down and said there must be a mistake as I'd booked an apartment, was initially told by reception that I had booked a standard room despite insisting again that I had booked an apartment. This was awkward & annoying but eventually they apologised & gave us the right room …But it does make me wonder what would've happened if I hadn't insisted? Part of the reason I booked was the roof terrace bar; this was shut. I found this very disappointing. I think any unavailable facilities should be made clear when you book. Location is brilliant, parking underground good value (€15 per night). I would stay again as the apartment/location/cleanliness were so good.
Reviewed April 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Raymond from Australia
Couple
Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Brilliant!”
Right in Mitte, very quiet... you would not know you are in the middle of a major city. Great service, and a wonderful bed
Reviewed April 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Francesca from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Budget weekend break”
Great deal not including breakfast, but the area is full of great places to eat at a good price. Excellent location can walk everywhere but also only 3 min walk from 2 underground stations.
Reviewed April 14, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Lean from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Huge room ”
Great wide rooms, we were given 2beds that were joined together to form a bigger bed with 2 separate blankets, just a minor issue as we are couples on honeymoon. The room we had was facing the road and trams and cars and people walking can be heard when windows are open. The only concern is the airconditioning i think is centralized, so it feels warm at times and difficult to sleep since it is noisy once the windows are open. Choose a room not facing the road. 700meter walk to nearest station from there u can explore, but i think only 1km walk to nearest tourist spot, alexander platz, basilica etc. good location. Have a bar, but the roofdeck was closed for renovation. Good price!
Reviewed April 13, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Anthony from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Perfect Location”
Our second stay. Great location. Perfect staff. Efficient, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.
Reviewed April 12, 2016
7.6
Very good
Lise from Norway
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
.”
.
Reviewed April 06, 2016
8.8
Excellent
SUK from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Modern and comfortable. ”
So tiny room but clean. No hot water available.
Reviewed March 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
amir from Israel
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Nice place”
Good and clean hotel. If you are travelling with a friend it's pretty strange because of the clear shower door next to the beds
Reviewed March 24, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Christopher from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great Stay”
We had a great stay in Amano!
Reviewed March 21, 2016
7.7
Very good
Chrissie from Ireland
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Quick trip to Berlin”
Value, comfortable and friendly hotel staff.
It was what I expected although a major draw was the roof terrace bar which wasn't open during our stay so was slightly disappointed with that.
Reviewed March 21, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Poh from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016
Room ”
The air conditioner in room was not working and the room was very stuffy. We set the room temperature to cool and though the engineer came to view ? To repair but the room remained very stuffy. We were there for 5 nights but the bed linen was not changed, I requested a teaspoon to take my medicine but the spoon took 3 days to arrive.
Reviewed March 20, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Paul from United Kingdom
Group
Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Stag weekend break ”
Great hotel very suave and stylish. Ideal location too
Reviewed March 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Igor from United States
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 8 nights in February 2016
Excellent hotel to stay in Berlin!”
A great location, nice bar & a friendly staff.
Reviewed March 08, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Siti from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Apartment
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
The apartment is suprisingly spacious.The staffs are friendly and the location is accessible to major location within 10 mins”
Unfortunately there is no concierge service thus we had to bring all our bags ourselves to the lobby.
Reviewed February 01, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jeanny from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Leisure”
Good location, very nice staff. Not much amenities in the room.
Reviewed January 31, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
john from Ireland
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Business traveller”
All staff very helpful and friendly.Reception exceptional
Excellent.Well located and helpful staff
Reviewed January 31, 2016
8.8
Excellent
ernst from Netherlands
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
perfect location”
the room was very small. too small for **** hotel
Reviewed January 27, 2016
6.0
Paul from Australia
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Family Holiday”
location, cleanliness, bathrooms
It was great accept for the extra bed costs each night. When I booked online through Agoda I did my search for two rooms eone with three children. The issue is when you acually pay for the rooms its does not include the third child and puts you in a standard room. So instead of having two rooms for five people it just books two standard rooms for four people. Not Amarnos fault but Agola.com
Reviewed January 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Sue from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Joint account on tour”
Location, friendly staff, modern
Great. Would recommend hotel for a city break. Lots of local food and drink options. Close to public transport. Staff friendly.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Marianna from Estonia
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Title”
Atmosphere, room and location
Very lovely, next time i would visit again
Reviewed December 17, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Elina from Finland
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Weekend in Amano”
Clean rooms, comfortable bed and nice staff
The stay was very pleasant. The room was on 4th floor, very tidy and cosy. Staff was friendly and eager to help with finding places to eat, providing extra pillows and blankets as I was sick. Breakfast ok as long as you are no special diet such as gluten free or milk free as then the options are very limited.
Reviewed December 15, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Harriett from United Kingdom
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Stunning!”
Staff, room & location
Perfect! Not a songle complaint.
Reviewed December 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
ziv from Israel
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Great stay”
Location, beds, bathroom
Great hotel, nice and clean room. I was pretty mad when the receptionist tried to sell me a "quite room" for 10 euros more for each night. They didnt say i'm paying for a "loud room"
Reviewed November 09, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Claire from Ireland
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Enjoyed our stay”
Kitchen facilities, WiFi, comfort
Very good. My only minor complaint was that we had a triple room but there were only 2 cups, plates, forks, knives, stools etc and we had to ask 3 times before we got the extra items.
Reviewed October 31, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Liam from Ireland
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Excellent location value for money nice interior ”
Location rooms service
Excellent time so central to everything would 100% stay again.
Reviewed October 29, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Ruth from United Kingdom
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Delightful”
Spacious studio, quiet yet busy, bicycles for hire on the doorstep!
Uncomplicated, easy and well located for a quick 3 day tour of Mitte and localities. Would highly recommend. Suggest book breakfast on line as it is cheaper than the hotel rate - nevertheless well worth it. Excellent .
Reviewed October 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Cordelia from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
A gorgeous little boutique hotel , ”
The design, location, staff
The best ever , we'll be back
Reviewed October 06, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Radek from Germany
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Great location, fancy design hotel. Friendly staff”
Design. Location. Staff.
Lovely hotel in unbeatable location.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
charles from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015
A wonderful place to stay”
Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and the general appearance of the interior and courtyards.
I found this one of the best hotel experiences of recent years. The hotel looks pretty ordinary from outside, but the interior-lobby, courtyards, rooftop bar are really top rate, the room was not big, but for one person or a couple it was fine and everything worked. It's a 15 minute walk to Museum Island, Alexanderplatz, and Unter den Linden is just a bit further. Cafes abound and there is some excellent shopping to be had. Don't confuse this hotel with their otter hotel near the Hauptbahnhof.
Reviewed September 17, 2015
8.7
Excellent
B from Switzerland
Business traveler
Apartment
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Lovely City-Hotel”
Apartment Room, Location, central, but calm
We always come back to the Amano. It's chic and easy. Just perfect to stay 3 nights in Mitte.
Reviewed September 05, 2015
7.3
Very good
Cornell from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Good value but too smoky”
The bar, the bar, the location in the mitte
Overall was ok but they still allow people to smoke inside and it is gross .everything smells of smoke and in the bar is the worst . How can you be a hotel and allow patrons to smoke inside! ?
Reviewed August 10, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Steven from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Beyond expectations for the price”
Pleasant surprise. Great decor in reception. Huge room! Very helpful staff!! Great value.
Reviewed July 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
B from Switzerland
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Cool & cozy City Hotel”
Location, Design, Everything
It's really great to stay here. Staff is very helpful and professional. the location in the middle of mitte is really a big plus. Nice Design, good service, what want you more?
Reviewed April 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Wonderful hotel!”
The decor of the rooms (so neutral & peaceful!), the location, the secret roof terrace!
Reviewed March 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Shih from Philippines
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Great location, nice modern interiors & good value”
Location, cleanliness, value
This is probably among the best 3-star hotels I've ever stayed in. It is a short 5min walk from the U-bahn stop at Rosenthaler Platz, which also means it is 2 stops away (~15 min walk) from the major S-bahn stop at the Alexander Platz. We were able to easily stroll to the museum island and the sights along the Unter den Linden, and also access the multitude of interesting bars, bistro-restaurants, and the shopping near the Haeckescher Markt area. As for the hotel itself, the interiors were really nice and modern, and spacious (for my European standards). The kitchenette was a nice addition to our apartment, since it was well-equipped with all the utensils and tools needed to enable us to prepare simple meals at home when we got sick of eating out. We really enjoyed the breakfast - which was actually more like a brunch given the amount of food available in the buffet and the diverse offerings - keep in mind this was in our case a 15 eur/person additional charge per day. Wifi was fast and accessible throughout the hotel, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again in my next trip to Berlin.
Reviewed February 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
SIEW from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
everything fits in”
location, staff service, value for money
very good. hope value for money is sustained, not raised as a result of better services provided.
Reviewed January 04, 2015
7.7
Very good
Chantelle from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Location was great, attentive staff, clean hotel”
clean, helpful staff
Hotel Amano was great in terms of location. The Mitte area is trendy and central to all the hotspots. The hotel friendly all spoke excellent English and were very helpful when it came to tips and directions. The rooms were clean and well attended to. However, my only criticism is that the showers are terrible and switch from burning hot/ freezing cold.
Reviewed May 17, 2014