8.7
Excellent
/10
(206 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.7

Exceptional

Location rating score

Exceptional location - Inside city center
Parking
Available
Popular landmarks
Yoga, Blue Spa 30 m
Embassy of El Salvador 30 m
Embassy of Norway 50 m
Promenadeplatz 60 m
Sculpture of Maximilian Joseph Graf Montgelas 80 m
Michael Jackson Memorial 80 m
Loden-Frey Shop 100 m
Hautarztpraxis Dr. med. Juliane Habig 120 m
Lodenfrey Muenchen am Dom 120 m
Nika Schottenhamel Shop 130 m
Nearby landmarks
New Town Hall 360 m
Marienplatz 410 m
Residenz 420 m
St. Peter's Church 490 m
Deutsches Museum 1.38 km
Olympiapark 4.15 km
BMW Museum 4.19 km
BMW Welt 4.29 km
Nymphenburg Palace 5.52 km
Allianz Arena 9.55 km
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

"The property is central to many places especially to the Christmas Market, which is walking distance away."

EAN - December 25, 2018

Standard Single Room - Bathroom Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Lobby Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Interior view Hotel Bayerischer Hof
See all 63 photos
Removed from saved list
Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Promenadeplatz 2-6, Altstadt-Lehel, Munich, Germany, 80333 - See map
Property highlights
Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the hygiene measures
Learn more
Check-in/out [express]
Hassle-free check in
Close to New Town Hall
Within 360 m of property
Hygiene Plus
Wellness
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Staff trained in safety protocol
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Sterilizing equipment
Health and Medical
First aid kit
Doctor/nurse on call
  • 390 meters to public transportation

  • Airport transfer

  • Currency exchange

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Sauna

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Munich every 53 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money7.9
Distance to city center0,1 km
Location rating9.7
Nearest airportSpecial Airport Oberpfaffenhofen (OBF)
Distance to airport21.9 km

Rooms available at Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Exceptional
Room comfort & quality
9.4
Deluxe Single Room
Deluxe Single Room
...
  • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double Room
...
  • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Single Room
Standard Single Room
...
  • Room size: 22 m²/237 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Junior Suite
Standard Junior Suite
...
  • Room size: 45 m²/484 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Double Room
Standard Double Room
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Junior Suite
Junior Suite
...
  • Room size: 45 m²/484 ft²
  • Shower and bathtub
  • 1 king bed & 1 sofa bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Suite
Standard Suite
...
  • Room size: 80 m²/861 ft²
  • Shower and bathtub
  • 1 king bed & 1 sofa bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite
...
  • Shower and bathtub
  • Kitchenette
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Double Room
Superior Double Room
...
  • Shower and bathtub
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Suite
Standard Suite
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at Hotel Bayerischer Hof?

Check-in is from 03:00 PM, and check-out is until 12:00 PM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hotel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

How do I get to Hotel Bayerischer Hof?

Hotel Bayerischer Hof is easy to access from the airport. In fact, you can even book your airport transfer in advance for greater peace of mind with the additional charge of 170 EUR. Just use the "Let us know what you need" section of the booking page to let the hotel know you want a ride, and they will contact you via the Agoda messaging service. A stay at Hotel Bayerischer Hof also comes with easy access to the neighborhoods around the hotel through the convenient shuttle service offered at the hotel. For those who wish to drive their own cars, Hotel Bayerischer Hof has a car park on site, as well as additional parking nearby if the first car park is full. Parking is available for a fee of 39 EUR per day. Parking options include a full-service valet for total ease. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Munich with private transportation, the hotel can arrange both taxis or car rental.

What is the smoking policy at Hotel Bayerischer Hof?

Hotel Bayerischer Hof does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

See map
Explore the neighborhood

What people love about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

  • 9.6
    Exceptional

    "It was perfect for Shopping and going out."

    Sonja

    |

    January 18, 2020

  • 8.8
    Excellent

    "Considered as one of the best in Munchen."

    Maxim

    |

    April 22, 2019

  • 10.0
    Exceptional
    Location

    "Great Location, best bartender Massimo"

    Andrea

    |

    January 5, 2020

Property ranking|Compared to 613 Munich properties
See all rankings
Location score
9.7/10
Room comfort score
9.4/10
Review score - United States
9.4/10
Cleanliness score
9.2/10
Better than
99
%
of Munich properties
Better than
99
%
of Munich properties
Better than
98
%
of Munich properties
Better than
96
%
of Munich properties
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Overall rating:
8.7
Excellent
206 reviews
Cleanliness
9.2
Facilities
8.6
Location
9.7
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
I recomendet also the massage in the hotel and the bed was f...
Sonja from Switzerland
Couple
More about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

More about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Hotel Bayerischer Hof was established in 1841, offering a luxurious place from which to explore the rest of Munich. The property is located on the pedestrian mall of the Old city, opposite the Cathedral and 800 meters from the central train station. The hotel features panoramic views of this stunning area, as well as elegant on-site restaurants and a beautiful roof garden. This 5-star property provides business and leisure travelers with sophisticated accommodations in the stylish area of central Munich. After an exciting day of exploring the city, take advantage of the hotel's many on-site recreational facilities as aw ay to recharge. Guests of Hotel Bayerischer Hof will find that the service and facilities offered are of the highest quality, making it a very exciting way to explore a new city while enjoying the best in accommodation.

Show less

Most talked about facilities

Breakfast
5 mentions
Food & Dining
1 mention
Housekeeping
1 mention

What they offer

7.2
Very good
Staff 

"I love nice things, and I love great service."

Morgan

|

October 7, 2017

View all reviews
Show less

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Food and dining

Breakfast options

American
Continental
Halal
Vegetarian
Vegan
Gluten-free
Buffet

Restaurants on site

Atelier
Cuisine:International
Garden
Cuisine:German, International
Palais Keller
Cuisine:German
Trader Vics
Cuisine:Asian
Blue Spa Lounge & Wintergarten
Cuisine:International

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Property announcements

Show less

Reviews of Hotel Bayerischer Hof from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (206)Booking.com Reviews (2141)
8.7
/
10
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.6
Location9.7
Room comfort and quality9.4
Service8.9
Value for money7.9
High score for Munich
Rating
9+ Exceptional (33)
8-9 Excellent (8)
7-8 Very Good (9)
6-7 Good (9)
<6 Below Expectation (2)
Time of the year
Mar - May (16)
Jun - Aug (16)
Sep - Nov (18)
Dec - Feb (11)
Don't miss out!Users are booking a place in Munich every 53 minutes on Agoda.com
All guests (206)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 61 verified guest comments
1234
10.0
Exceptional
Tim from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

second time”

We stayed at Bayerischer Hof 2 years ago on a road trip , we enjoyed the city and the hotel so much we came back this trip . There is always a feeling that you will be disappointed second time , not one bit ! Having great weather does help , sitting on the terrace outside the breakfast room on the seventh floor , being bombarded by the cathedral bells Sunday morning was epic . Watching 3 Lamborghinis arrive in the space of half an hour was an eye opener . Will we stay again ? YOU BET

Reviewed March 23, 2019

Dear Tim, We appreciate your time and effort in sharing your opinion on your recent stay at the Hotel Bayerischer Hof. It is such a pleasure to read that you also enjoyed your second visit at our property and that we were able to meet your expectations towards us again. Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome your for a third time. With kindest regards Ann-Katrin Doescher Guest Relation

Responded April 16, 2019
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
9.7
Exceptional
Marian from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Historic gem, with elegance and class”

Wonderful public spaces, fabulous location, excellent facilities

this was our final stay after 7 weeks. we wanted a touch of class and luxury. we were not disappointed! the room was elegantly decorated and very quiet. the room service was excellent. breakfast options were vast, prosecco on the roof overlooking munich was memorable, tea in the gallery level was very comfortable and dinner with friends in the garden restaurant was very good and made enjoyable by the friendly service. there were many bars, one of which survived the bombing and is magnificent. the gym and pool looked very good. the bayerischerof's proximity to marienplatz and beautiful shops and galleries was great. we could wander around at any time of the day and enjoyed some brilliant in a lovely arcade. truly a wonderful hotel.

Reviewed October 16, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Mark from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in November 2010

This is a first class world hotel. ”

Food, people, space, conference rooms, location to center, friendly, business center, maintenance personel
Fire drill, I had some issues with my internet connection in the room but maintanence showed up immediately, I had no issues with the internet in the business center.

I will definately use this hotel as the hotel of choice in Munich. I will try to find sister hotels in other cites as well. The staff was well trained and experienced service providers. Food at the hotel was outstanding. Location is the best in Munich for center city and the rail system. Loved the place.

Reviewed November 18, 2010
9.6
Exceptional
Feliza from Philippines
Group
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017

Outstanding hotel. Excellent service and location.”

The place was beautiful. It was located in the historic area of Munich near the Glockenspiel as well as the shopping area. The staff servic was outstanding. We checked out very early in the morning. As there were no porters around, the front desk staff, Antonia, collected our 8 heavy suitcases from our rooms and brought them to our car. The only regret we had was that we couldn't get a reservation in Atelier, the 2 Michelin star restaurant in the hotel as it was fully booked.

Reviewed October 31, 2017

Dear Feliza, Thank you very much for writing this review regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Bayerischer Hof. We are delighted to read that you liked our house, the location and the service provided by our team. Your praising words to our colleague at the Front Desk are appreciated very much and we are happy to forward them. However, we are sorry to read, that you could not dine at our Atelier and we hope you are able to visit it another time. Hoping to welcome you again soon we remain with kindest regards, Anita Wandinger Guest Relation

Responded November 23, 2017
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
9.2
Exceptional
Yen from Vietnam
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Very nice hotel but check in staff Lisa was terrible”

In general the hotel is valued for the price but when check in the reception name Lisa was terrible she talked like she was angry or something and very annoyed. To pay quite high price for this stay I do not expect to experience such an unpleasant encounter with a staff like this. The hotel should review her attitude !

Reviewed June 17, 2018

Dear Yen, Thank you for having chosen the Hotel Bayerischer Hof as well as for evaluating your experience regarding your visit at our property. We are very pleased to learn that we were able to meet most of your expectations; the more we regret that you had reasons to complain concerning our reception staff. We certainly pay great attention to offering the most courteous and professional service to our guests and your descriptions do not meet our high quality standards. Certainly, we informed our Director of Rooms Division and he will pay special attention to your remark. Dear Yen, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at our property soon to win back your trust. With kindest regards Ann-Katrin Doescher Guest Relation

Responded June 21, 2018
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
8.0
Excellent
Anthony
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Lovely Hotel but very busy so facilities not necessarily available ”

The main Michelin Star restaurant is small and open to non-residents. When we booked the hotel a few months ago there was no mention that you should book the restaurant at least this far in advance. Also the roof top bar was also closed as was booked for another function. There is no allowances that you are a guest at any turn. On the positive the hotel room was lovely with great balconies and is centrally located in the heart of Munich. Personally I thought this hotel was too expensive for this level of service.

Reviewed May 06, 2019
6.8
Good
Per from Norway
Couple
room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Expensive and entitled”

With this hotel you are paying for a great location, but more: for the privilege. It is that kind of a hotel. With that, do not expect a raft of features that regular hotels might throw at you, at these prices. If you are looking for actual value, then look elsewhere. Our room was small - and extremely hot. Nothing could be done for our three night stay, we were told, due to a “seasonal temperature control adjustment”. Outside, people are smoking and so leaving windows open was not an option, to us. The hotel offered zero compensation for three nights of bad sleep and rest, aside from what felt like an insufficient reception apology. Vexing. Here, a rather affordable/effective counter measure for the hotel might have been a couple of easy dining vouchers. To display actual concern for its patrons’ experience. We are expecting a baby in a few months and thought we would have an enjoyable getaway in Munich, aiming high with our accomodation choice. We missed our hotel goal. Munich: fab.

Reviewed February 16, 2019

Dear Per, Thank you very much for sharing your impression of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof. We highly appreciate our guests’ opinion, hence it helps us to continuously evaluate and improve our service. As we would like to understand you review better, we kindly ask you to send us your name and we will investigate that matter to avoid that such unlucky occurrences will happen again. Dear Per, we truly hope you can forgive us and will give us another opportunity to show you that we are a better host than you had to experience. We would be pleased to welcome you again at our property and wish you and your family all the best! With kindest regards Ann-Katrin Doescher Guest Relation

Responded March 28, 2019
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
8.8
Excellent
Martin from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2019

Bavaria Road Trip ”

Elegance exudes from this hotel. In its architecture & interiors & in its staff. It has a great central location. Cocktail bars & restaurants cannot be faulted - not by me anyway. It was a real treat to have stayed there. It’s size has downsides though. We had a problem with an over hot room. An engineer duly arrive & he fiddled with the air con & announced it to be fixed. 2 hours later, by now after midnight, we still couldn’t sleep as the room hadn’t cooled. We changed rooms where we could get better airing by opening the window. We found out next day that the air con had been shut down for a couple of days for essential work. There were clearly communication issues between staff & with us about this which I can only put down to the size of the set up. There was also an issue when we checked out. Although we had asked for our car to be brought from the hotel car park on leaving the hotel, after 20 minutes there was no sign of it. Again there had been a communication breakdown

Reviewed September 12, 2019
7.6
Very good
Guochun from China
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Hotel with a Good Location”

This hotel is located in central Munich. Many local attractions are within walking distance. Our hotel room was OK, not great. Hotel staff could be more willing to help. Overall it's a good hotel but not worth paying top dollars for.

Reviewed May 16, 2016
6.4
Good
Narin from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Disappointing state of room”

First time in Munich for a night. I chose the hotel because of the location although I noticed some poor reviews of dated room. I booked a EUR400/night standard double room and was surprised to be given a twin room. Upon requesting a double room, the front desk just told me she will ask a housekeeper to move the bed together. I surely did not have time to check out everything in the rooms, but almost everything I used during my stay had an issue. The mattress is old with the back feeling the spring coils underneath so hardly providing a good night sleep. The toilet was smelly at times even when nobody used it. The shower did not have warm water no matter how hard I tried. The water was very cold to normal cold. There were 2 towels provided. One was not brand new, but ok. The other one was old and thin, though clean. Only a couple of individual power sockets placed in less than ideal locations. The sofa was equally old that gives a "sunk" feeling. Very poor room.

Reviewed October 30, 2018

Dear Narin, Thank you for evaluating our property. We beg your pardon that the room did not meet your expectations.Please be kindly informed that we do constantly examine the condition of our interior.We have recently invested 12 mio euro in the renovation of several rooms, which were designed by the famous Belgian art dealer Axel Vervoordt, and will spend further amounts in the near future. ndeed,we have several twin bedded rooms and in case of any further reservations, please do not hesitate to inform us about your request. We want to excuse ourselves for the problems with the water and the smell.This does absolutely not meet the requested standard;we really hope you forgive us! Thank you for your helpful suggestion regarding the towels. We certainly informed our Executive Housekeeper to avoid that this happens again. We beg your pardon for the occurred inconveniences and would be pleased to welcome you again at our property. With kindest regards A-K. Doescher, Guest Relat

Show more
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
9.2
Exceptional
RIDWAN from Indonesia
Group
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Exceptional”

nice hotel with a balcony and a staff name Christina Endres was so helpful and friendly, she is the one handling my room from checkin till chekout, very thoughful and kindly answer all the things and places i want to go, recommended hotel, thanks again Christina for the wonderful services.

Reviewed April 21, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Adriano from Brazil
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2019

Splurging”

It´s a nice (and expensive) hotel, with all the bells and whistles (3 star Michelin restaurant included). Two low points: toilet paper is not luxury hotel level, and the guy who is in charge of the pool area said I coud not go there because I was wearing shoes, BUT my wife was already there, with her shoes on. I'm black, and my wife is white...

Reviewed October 30, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Natalia from Germany
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

Perfect Location”

All requests were fullfiled, though the Hotel was fully booked. The only Thing is - the is no coffee/tee facilities in the Rom - at all. We had a Cold and needed hot water/tee - and didnt have time to wait for the room Service. otherwise everything was top!

Reviewed December 17, 2019
7.2
Very good
Morgan from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017

Snobby Hotel”

I love nice things, and I love great service. This hotel was both of those, but the air of this place was very distasteful. The concierge service was marginal. They misguided us on which train ticket to purchase and we almost missed our train, and in asking for directions to a specific location in a nearby square, after getting the turns, he said in a not very nice way "just look around and you will find it." We had someone else's shined shoes dropped off at our door. When we noticed them we immediately brought them downstairs to the front desk. They said they had been searching all morning for them and didn't even say thank you to us! The other guests are clearly for the most part very well off, and go to this hotel to see and be seen. We were dressed for sight seeing and slightly younger than the average age there, and I felt looked down upon for it. My main complaint is just that the staff and guests alike were high-end-snobby not high-end-classy. Would have rather stayed at a smaller, lesser known hotel where they would appreciate my business more and have staff that is warmer, better at helping, and just more inviting overall.

Reviewed October 07, 2017

Dear Morgan, thank you for evaluating your experience during your stay on this platform. We appreciate you choosing the Hotel Bayerischer Hof and are glad that we did meet some of your expectations. However, we are very sorry that you were overall dissatisfied with our service, especially the concierge and front desk. Please let us assure you that professional and friendly service is of high importance to us, and your descriptions do not match our philosophy by any means. Please accept our sincere apologies for any troubles you were confronted with. Certainly, we have forwarded your evaluation to the Rooms Division Manager in order to involve it in future employee trainings. We are truly sorry for the impression you had of us and it would be a pleasure to us if you would give us another chance to win back your trust. Hoping to welcome you back soon, we remain with kindest regards, Anita Wandinger Guest Relation

Responded November 14, 2017
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
9.6
Exceptional
Sonja from Switzerland
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2020

Exceptional”

It was perfect for Shopping and going out. In his own Nightclub it was live music. Great! I recomendet also the massage in the hotel and the bed was fantastic. I sleept wonderful!

Reviewed January 18, 2020
8.8
Excellent
Ahmed from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Excellent”

I wished that the A/C was performing much better & cooler for such a 5 Star Hotel. I’ll repeat my stay looking forward for continuous improvement process to the customer’s experience.

Reviewed August 25, 2018

Dear Ahmed, We appreciate our guests` feedback very much, as it helps us to continually improve our services. It is good to see that we were able to fulfill your expectations towards us, as you rated your stay with 88 points. The more we are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with the air condition and we beg your pardon for any inconveniences you might have had. Please do never hesitate to contact, as our technicians would have checked the air condition if they had had knowledge during your stay. As you are already planning another stay at our property, we are also looking forward to your next visit and remain, with kindest regards, Karolin Lachner Guest Relation

Responded August 29, 2018
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
10.0
Exceptional
Nils from United States
Family with young children
Standard Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Outstanding service!”

Room, breakfast, pool

Nothing but good things to say. We were very impressed wit the extra mile of service and the hotel overall. Outstanding breakfast too.

Reviewed July 15, 2015
7.6
Very good
BENG from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Big Property in good location”

The hotel is quite big with at first a bit confusing room layout. Many rooms are quite faraway from the elevator. Location is quite good, about 15min walk from the main shopping area, pedestrian zone. Main attractions are also in walking distance. Good Service and comfortable room.

Reviewed October 05, 2018

Dear BENG, We would like to thank you for your kind and sincere review of your last stay at the Hotel Bayerischer Hof. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location, the service and the comfort of the room. The more we regret that you had to face discomfort. In case of any questions we kindly ask you to inform us, as we are happy to assist you at any time. We really hope to welcome you again in the near future. With kindest regards Ann-Katrin Doescher Guest Relation

Responded January 22, 2019
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
9.6
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

A Special Hotel”

This is one of Europe's top hotels and provides an elegant and luxurious experience.

Reviewed July 08, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Joe from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

Upper end of the scale, great facilities, well staffed and very professional and helpful.”

Everything was immaculate, I’m probably old fashion and still like to have tea/coffee making facility in my room, especially if jet legged

Reviewed June 19, 2019
1234
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

null