Book Now: Hotel California am Kurfuerstendamm

2017

Hotel California am Kurfuerstendamm Reviews

Very good
From 211 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (211)Booking.com Reviews (2873)
7.8
Very good
From 211 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities6.4
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.5
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
Русский
Svenska
more
Room type
Standard Double Room
Superior Double Room
Double Room with Extra Bed
Junior Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 155 verified guest comments
6.4
Good
miyazaki from Singapore
Family with young children
Double Room with Extra Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Good location ”
Near to shopping and underground train
Reviewed July 09, 2016
5.6
miyazaki from Singapore
Family with young children
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Very near under ground train ”
It just opps under ground train station , from airport are easy to find.
Reviewed July 09, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Ekaterina from Russia
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Awesome hotel in the centre”
It's in the very centre of Berlin and surprisingly cheap. Hotels of this level are usually twice as expensive. We absolutely loved it. Will stay again!
Reviewed June 17, 2016
3.2
suriana from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
4 star??? are you sure”
just right in front of shopping district but far away form tourist attraction. No airconditioner!!! only provide fan!. the elevator is hundred years old, that take ages to go up... u walk faster than the elevator. room and carpet old and dirty. staff cant really understand English. wont return again... this is my worst 4 star hotel ever
Reviewed June 15, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Robyn from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Good place to stay !”
My friend recommended this hotel for both location & comfort. Luckily we were able to stay in a superior renovated room and change after one night from standard room with only a fan & v. small bathroom! We must thank reception for that "- Manuel helped arrange it for us & was very kind& understanding!!!
Reviewed May 26, 2016
8.8
Excellent
DAVID from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Very good location ”
Quite warm great location
Reviewed April 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Sunil from India
Business traveler
Double Room with Extra Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Good Staff Good Food Good Location”
Good Staff Good Food Good Location
Good Staff Good Food Good Location
Reviewed March 07, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Amanda from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Hotel with Perfect Location and Excellent Staff”
proximity to u-bahn stations, shopping malls and restaurants.
Staff at the hotel was friendly and very professional. Hotel California is closely located to u-bahn stations (Savignyplatz and Uhland-str), Ku De Wa shopping mall, the Berlin Zoo and the museum of the story of Berlin. You can get to these places by walking for about 5 to 10 minutes. It is right in the middle of a lively shopping district so you will be spoilt for choice when you want some retail therapy. It generally feels quite safe even at night. We also loved that there were numerous local restaurants nearby that we could dine at. We enjoyed a variety of cuisines at affordable prices. If you are staying at Hotel California, we would strongly encourage that you explore the Savignyplatz area and its restaurants. Its a little dark at night but don't be discouraged by that. The restaurants around that area are worth it. Also, just next to Hotel California is Haagen Daz. Its a great treat to enjoy after along day of shopping and sight seeing in Berlin. We also liked how staff placed and constantly replenished a tray of Spekulatis at the foyer. It makes for a great welcome when you are come back to the hotel. The room was also very comfortable and clean with a very well working heater. We live in a tropical city so we are a bit afraid of the cold, especially at night. The toilet was luxurious decorated with granite tiles and a comfortable bath tub.
Reviewed January 08, 2016
7.7
Very good
Shwu from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Small room but its a nice stay”
Location and bed
Very near to the shopping streets. Very convenient if you love shopping in Berlin. Overall, a nice three nights stay.
Reviewed October 05, 2015
7.0
Very good
Patrick from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
The iconic name makes you want to stay here”
Right in the centre of town, free wifi throughout, great breakfasts
My only jibe would be that as a single traveller I found myself in a much smaller room than the bedrooms shown online, in principle the room was the same standard it was just a long thin weird shaped room squeezing more income out of an otherwise unusable corridor. The single quilt was tiny. One morning the window cleaners just walked in without knocking. Another morning I discovered the window had been left open all night when I had never opened the windows at all and couldn't work out why I was so cold. The cleaners parked their carts noisily outside my door every morning. On top of the artfully arranged magazines there was a tiny squashed packet of Haribo mix which looked as if it had been in someone's back pocket for a week. I couldn't make up my mind if it was supposed to be a complementary gift, an oversight, or an insult. But apart from that I hardly stayed in my room as I was out exploring so much and they were only minor inconveniences. Staff were friendly, I enjoyed the wide range of food on offer for breakfast and the free newspapers and wifi.
Reviewed September 07, 2015
8.3
Excellent
abdulwahab from Kuwait
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Comfortable hotel and the rooms are clean”
Comfortable hotel and the rooms are clean
Comfortable hotel and the rooms are clean
Reviewed August 20, 2015
4.0
Michael from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Rude Staff ”
Breakfast.
Very average.
Reviewed June 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Ian from Australia
Family with teens
Double Room with Extra Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Hotel California, Berlin”
Location- very convenient to train to airport & underground.
Comfortable room, staff responsive to our needs. Good breakfast and convenient location. Would stay there again for sure.
Reviewed April 13, 2015
7.7
Very good
Romeo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Hotel California”
Good location, Clean Rm & Facililities and Value for Money
Nice stay experience. Except that lady at the reception will not honor email confirmation of booking done "on the go".
Reviewed March 30, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Munkhtulga from Mongolia
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
NIce”
location food room
Nice
Reviewed February 26, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Munkhtulga from Mongolia
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
like a Eagle s song”
location Breakfast staff
Reviewed February 12, 2015
7.0
Very good
Harsha from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Fantastic Location ”
Location location location!!
Rooms are dated but clean and large
Reviewed January 22, 2015
8.3
Excellent
magnar from Norway
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Great!”
location, food, bar.
Good stay, helpful Staff, close to everything, can not say anything bad, Maybee bed too soft... Carpet on the floor not so good...
Reviewed December 13, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Christine from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Berlin hotel”
Friendly and helpful staff, location, value for money
Great. Had a really lovely long weekend with friends here. Perfect location and staff could not have been more helpful. Hotel very comfortable.
Reviewed December 06, 2014
7.7
Very good
Narvi from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
easy crusing”
friendly, efficient, warm enviorment
Reviewed November 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
verushka from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
Great hotel. ”
Comfortable, excellent location, friendly staff.
Excellent. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Reviewed October 28, 2014
7.7
Very good
TING from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
I enjoyed living there”
location is convenient, staff performance is good, breakfast is good.
Reviewed October 08, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Wai from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Good Location, Park House in the near”
Top location, great breakfast, comfortable bed
Reviewed September 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Suk from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Good location, easy access to public transport”
Good location, helpful staff, nice room environment
My hubby and me enjoyed our stay here in Hotel California!
Reviewed August 30, 2014
6.7
Good
Niluka from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Double Room with Extra Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Hotel located in a place where close by metro and ”
1.Good space and facilities 2.break fast 3.cleanliness
We were a family with a kid. The basic facilities in the room was impressive . An additional bed was available and safety locker , mini fridge, heaters and wifi were some facilities available. How ever an electric kettle was missing which deprived tea/ coffee making ability. The reception ( a few ) was not very pleasing. They were not that helpful. The breakfast was comprehensive and impressive. The Gym is just a namesake and nothing is impressive.The location was good with Metro trains and buses available closeby
Reviewed August 21, 2014
7.3
Very good
Damjan from Croatia
Business traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
ok”
lokacija,lokacija,lokacija
uredan
Reviewed July 13, 2014
7.7
Very good
Ranga from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
A little dated but clean and comfortable”
Location, comfort, price
Nice hotel in one of Berlin's main strips. Lots of shopping, restaurants and bars all around. The hotel itself is a little dated, but clean and comfortable. The included buffet breakfast is good too.
Reviewed July 05, 2014
4.0
Sherlita from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Location very good comfortable lounge & restauran”
Competent staffs very good location very good continental breakfast
Warm welcome at the reception, basically typical german office like decorated corridors & guest rooms. Improvement of maintenance would be a plus.
Reviewed June 19, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Vanessa from Denmark
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
fun and relaxing”
transport, beliggenhed og shopping
fantastisk
Reviewed June 13, 2014
7.7
Very good
Jean from Belgium
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
Choose for the view or... for internet”
Location, price
No wifi in the 2 rooms I tested on the nice street view, I ended in the back with view on the courtyard. I was offered a drink at the bar, nice, but the vautcher was valid for a orange juice, a bit cheap... Rest was ok, maybe not a 4 stars but good.
Reviewed March 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Murni from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
money well spent ”
close to shoping friendly staff clean and cosy
will definitely come back to this hotel on my next visit to Berlin.
Reviewed March 05, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Marlene from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
good hotel friendly staff”
location, staff, clean
good hotel. They gave us a fan because it was really hot and the airconditioner could not cope with it. Staff very helpful
Reviewed August 22, 2013
8.7
Excellent
TOMONORI from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Hotel California”
easy access to a railway station, value for money, comfortable room
Hotel California is located near a S-bahn station (Savignyplatz), within 5 minutes by walking. Around this hotel, there is many shops and restaurants.
Reviewed August 21, 2013
6.7
Good
anna from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Good location”
But not 4 star
very good beds and peilloos, nice location, but service from the personal not that good...not very friedly and slow
Reviewed February 23, 2013
8.3
Excellent
hesham from Egypt
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
chairman”
buffet
good , but they need extra charge for using sauna, but at the all it is good for shopping and for business. also it is in the center of the town , it is near to the train station.
Reviewed February 21, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Stuart from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great hotel”
free wifi, Location, great amenities
After checking in at 23:10 I was greeted with kind and polite staff who checked me in quick and efficiently and again when checking out. The bar area is excellent with friendly staff and helpful advice. The room was spacious with flat screen tv,free wifi and a clean modern bathroom. The rooms are warm which i found was a bonus in Berlin! The breakfast area is large with everything you could ask for and again friendly and helpful staff. Excellent hotel. Will stay there again
Reviewed February 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Haley from Canada
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Friendly place, good breakfast, and very central!”
Good Breakfast, staff was super friendly, and great shopping nearby!
room was pretty good. not the largest but was good for the 2 of us, and the bed was really comfortable. close to alot of places like shopping (food and clothes) and was central. overall good experience, however when we checked out we had an unexpected fee,even though when we asked the night before we left, they said we were clear. (we checked at at around 4am,and were in a rush for our train, so we weren't expecting that). the extra charge was because we had 2 of us, instead of the booking for 1 that we accidentally made on agoda. on the plus, they did pack us a bag of food to go (because we told them we were leaving super early, and was in lieu of our breakfast that was included.) so that was a very nice touch.there service is really good! we went during xmas, so there was a really cool german market super close. also close to the berlin zoo! also, they had a very nice steamroom and spa!!
Reviewed February 06, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Kevin from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Right on Kurfurstemdamm”
Location
little things can overshadow larger things in hotels. there was initially no seal on the bathroom basin plug, and the plug assembly would not stay in place. a mention the the front desk resulted in a seal being fitted, but to maintain enough water for a shave or a simple wash required the taps to be run continuously. the bathroom door hinges squeaked. a few drops of oil and a 2-dollar seal would help to create an atmosphere of quiet efficiency. the hotel needs an effective quality assurance program, as relying on guest reports is not a way to maintain the standard that the hotel itself sets.
Reviewed January 21, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in November 2010
Great location, good size rooms”
Staff very accommodating, we had problems but the staff on duty were excellent.
No cons
Berlin is a beautiful city and our Hotel was very central with easy access to public transport. We met friends on the same flight going over and they helped out alot regarding the transport ie when buying tickets for travelling get a small group ticket - this covers up to 5 people - this costs 16 Euro's. This allows the group to travel on trains, underground and buses.Fantastic value.
Reviewed November 23, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Desiderio from Spain
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2015
Satifactorio”
Atencion,Limpieza,Desayuno
Bien
Reviewed May 05, 2015
6.8
Good
eliahu from Israel
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
L'emplacement est tres bien le sevice a la reception est aussi bien la chambre aussi bien mais ?”
Les avantages c'est l'emplacement et le prix en tant que voyageur tous les deux mois je suis a berlin et chaque fois je vais dans un autre hotel qui me donne le bon prix et meilleur emplacement et le bon sevice. A l'hotel california je venais moi et ma femme 6 fois par an on a arreter de venir a cause 1 le service n'etait pas bon 2 on nous donner les chambres dans le vieux batiment. 3 le petit dejeuner le cafe n'etait pas bon .ils ont fait disparaitre les croissants. Cette fois j'ai pris cette hotel a cause fu prix et de l'emplacement. La chambre etait bien les serviettes fines il faut les changer le lavabo etait tous le temp boucher. Le sevice de la reception etait bien en particulier fr Krueger qui etait vraiement aimable. A la reception ils ont mis des chaises pas esthetique.
Reviewed June 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
JEAN from France
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Excellent”
ce fut une bonne première fois. A cinq minutes à pied de la station de train Savignyplatz, Dommage que je n'ai pas eu plus de temps pour visiter le quartier du Kun'damm
Reviewed February 13, 2018
6.0
Marie from Switzerland
Family with teens
Double Room with Extra Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
--”
--
Reviewed January 27, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Suzanne from France
Family with teens
Double Room with Extra Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Accueil typiquement berlinois”
Personnel jeune, souriant, chaleureux, respectueux. Le breakfast est copieux et raffiné merci pour ce délicieux saumon et toute cette variété de pains !
Reviewed August 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Claude from Switzerland
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
deux jours à Berlin”
pratique confortable silencieux
Agréablement
Reviewed January 30, 2015
5.2
Jan from Germany
Business traveler
Standard Double Room - Single Use
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Above average”
X
Reviewed June 22, 2018
4.8
Dr. from Germany
Business traveler
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Zu teuer und überfordert”
Reserviert war ein Zimmer mit Balkon, aber alle Zimmer mit Balkon waren schon vergeben, als ich zum Hotel kam. Das kann ein bedauerlicher Einzelfall gewesen sein, aber das Hotel hat darauf komplett unangemessen reagiert. Rezeptionist war unverschämt, Kontaktformular an das Hotel blieb ohne Antwort. Es macht den Andchein, als ob das Hotel kein Interesse an gutem Service hat, sondern darauf vertraut, dass die gute Lage genügend Touristen anzieht...
Reviewed June 18, 2018
5.2
Rexin from Germany
Business traveler
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Room Service”
Dem Haus ist zu sehr auf Profit ausgerichtet, dem Hotel fehlt die Seele trotz nettem Personal. Das geht ans Management und macht sich nicht nur am fehlenden Romm Service bemerkbar.
Reviewed June 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Waltraud from Germany
Business traveler
Double or Twin STANDARD - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Excellent”
Leider wurden wir und auch andere Gäste nicht darauf hingewiesen, dass die Zufahrt zum Hotel am Abreisetag nicht möglich ist. Es lag ein Zettel an Rezeption, der nicht auffällig war. Mit viel Gepäck war es schwierig. In dieser Hotel Kategorie erwartet man Info im Zimmer oder beim Einchecken persönliche Information.
Reviewed June 11, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Normann from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior Room - Single Use
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Gates Mittelklasse Hotel in Top Lage”
Ich besuche Berlin desoefteren und kenne viele Hotels, das Hotel California bietet ein sehr Gute Preis / Leistungsverhaeltnis, die Zimmer sind saucer und das Personal ist kompetent und Hoeflich. Fur Raucher Gibran es teilweise Zimmer mit Balkan (6.Etage). Empfehlenswert ,!
Reviewed June 10, 2018