Very good 8.0
Based on 102 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good

based on 102 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food and dining 7.5
Sort by

Amanda from Singapore
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Hotel with Perfect Location and Excellent Staff
proximity to u-bahn stations, shopping malls and restaurants.
Staff at the hotel was friendly and very professional. Hotel California is closely located to u-bahn stations (Savignyplatz and Uhland-str), Ku De Wa shopping mall, the Berlin Zoo and the museum of the story of Berlin. You can get to these places by walking for about 5 to 10 minutes. It is right in the middle of a lively shopping district so you will be spoilt for choice when you want some retail therapy. It generally feels quite safe even at night. We also loved that there were numerous local restaurants nearby that we could dine at. We enjoyed a variety of cuisines at affordable prices. If you are staying at Hotel California, we would strongly encourage that you explore the Savignyplatz area and its restaurants. Its a little dark at night but don't be discouraged by that. The restaurants around that area are worth it. Also, just next to Hotel California is Haagen Daz. Its a great treat to enjoy after along day of shopping and sight seeing in Berlin. We also liked how staff placed and constantly replenished a tray of Spekulatis at the foyer. It makes for a great welcome when you are come back to the hotel. The room was also very comfortable and clean with a very well working heater. We live in a tropical city so we are a bit afraid of the cold, especially at night. The toilet was luxurious decorated with granite tiles and a comfortable bath tub.
Reviewed January 08, 2016

Shwu from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Small room but its a nice stay
Location and bed
Very near to the shopping streets. Very convenient if you love shopping in Berlin. Overall, a nice three nights stay.
Reviewed October 05, 2015

Patrick from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
The iconic name makes you want to stay here
Right in the centre of town, free wifi throughout, great breakfasts
My only jibe would be that as a single traveller I found myself in a much smaller room than the bedrooms shown online, in principle the room was the same standard it was just a long thin weird shaped room squeezing more income out of an otherwise unusable corridor. The single quilt was tiny. One morning the window cleaners just walked in without knocking. Another morning I discovered the window had been left open all night when I had never opened the windows at all and couldn't work out why I was so cold. The cleaners parked their carts noisily outside my door every morning. On top of the artfully arranged magazines there was a tiny squashed packet of Haribo mix which looked as if it had been in someone's back pocket for a week. I couldn't make up my mind if it was supposed to be a complementary gift, an oversight, or an insult. But apart from that I hardly stayed in my room as I was out exploring so much and they were only minor inconveniences. Staff were friendly, I enjoyed the wide range of food on offer for breakfast and the free newspapers and wifi.
Reviewed September 07, 2015

abdulwahab from Kuwait
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Comfortable hotel and the rooms are clean
Comfortable hotel and the rooms are clean
Comfortable hotel and the rooms are clean
Reviewed August 20, 2015

Michael from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Rude Staff
Very average.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

Ian from Australia
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Hotel California, Berlin
Location- very convenient to train to airport & underground.
Comfortable room, staff responsive to our needs. Good breakfast and convenient location. Would stay there again for sure.
Reviewed April 13, 2015

Romeo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Hotel California
Good location, Clean Rm & Facililities and Value for Money
Nice stay experience. Except that lady at the reception will not honor email confirmation of booking done "on the go".
Reviewed March 30, 2015

Buyannemekh from Mongolia
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
location food room
Reviewed February 26, 2015

Buyannemekh from Mongolia
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
like a Eagle s song
location Breakfast staff
Reviewed February 12, 2015

Harsha from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Fantastic Location
Location location location!!
Rooms are dated but clean and large
Reviewed January 22, 2015


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: