Book Now: Hotel Continental Saigon

Excellent
From 3296 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Reviews of Hotel Continental Saigon Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (3295)Booking.com Reviews (807)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.4
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service8.0
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (3295)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 2658 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
Shan from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Heritage Hotel”

This is really indeed an heritage hotel, convenient location walking distance to most points of attractions or malls. But, could use a little renovation on the interiors. Colonial furnishings was quite awe but staff wasn't too friendly when we checked in. Could use another option to this.

Reviewed May 17, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
David from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Fabulous Historical Property ”

The Hotel Continental Saigon is a sumptuous property that takes you back to the era of travelling with steamer trunks! Wonderfully proportioned rooms with lots of carved wood furniture and details. Bathrooms are large and have been updated - you do need to specify if you prefer a walk-in shower or tub. Fabulous location, helpful staff, and many great little restaurants and shops nearby. Highly recommend this property! Room tip: Higher floors away from the main street quieter, but do have to watch out for outside events taking place in the central courtyard.

Reviewed April 07, 2019
8.8
Excellent
JuHwa from Switzerland
Family with young children
Heritage
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

If you dream of the Colonial styled Vietnam like the movie the Lover..”

There were many many choices of hotels in Ho Chi Minh. We choose this hotel by the simple criteria. What kind of Vietnam do we expect to be ? Obviously the Vietnam that we saw in the movie the Lover. Never been there before but as if I have a nostalgia of Vietnam in 20s. This hotel was perfectly nostalgic. We stayed in one of the biggest room. All the furnitures, decorations and even some dust in the room made the start of the trip perfect.

Reviewed March 01, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Geoff from Australia
Solo traveler
Opera View Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Exceptional”

I quite liked the historical continental suite and will definitely stay there again.The room and bed were comfortable and the view to the Opera House was nice. The Location is superb. However the bathroom needs maintenance in that the hand basin sink didn’t drain well and the exhaust fan smelt like there had been an electrical short/fire.

Reviewed February 23, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Nancy from France
Solo traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Nice historic place”

I stayed in a nice big room overlooking the Opera theater. The bathroom is a little bit small comparing others hotels. Nice and quiet garden for relaxing. The buffet breakfast could be better (the food is not hot enough.

Reviewed February 13, 2019
8.4
Excellent
peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Faded elegance in a historic city”

The Continental is in a perfect position to experience Saigon's most iconic area in the 21st century. With the Opera opposite and restaurants, bars and shops only minutes away it was ideally placed. Our room was in the old wing and smelt musty and we have really appreciated a swimming pool and outside bar.

Reviewed January 18, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

A classy hotel”

No hotel can't be any classier than this one. The decor and elevator may be out of date, but no money can buy its flair of history. The room is spacious. The arched corridors, the stairways, the interior and the restaurants are all very impressive. There's a concierge on each floor although it's unmanned most of time. But you hardly see anything like this any more in newly built hotels, even the five-starred ones. Staff is super efficient, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. They had banh mi too! The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation. Some rooms in the lower floors smell paint. I alerted to front desk, and was given a room on the third floor. Agoda should display this information on the hotel information page. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, and will definitely come back.

Reviewed December 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
LIN from China
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Europe style”

This is an ancient hotel.It dates back to 1880.They are many French guests.The room is big and clean.The doormans are always enthuastic and friendly.when you arrive in hotel,they help us to take the luggage.The breakfast is various.so many kinds of food.the most import point,it has a good location,the center of district 1.lots of shopping mall,restaurants surrounding area.We have a pleasant stay.

Reviewed December 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Fred from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

Great hotel with perfect location and very helpful staff ”

Agoda made a serious mistake with our room booking, they sold us a suite and sent our reservation to the hotel as a much smaller room. The hotel manager took the loss and put us in the room Agoda sold us. The staff was great, the room beautiful and the location is perfect. Breakfast is large and varied and there is a spa and fitness center. This historic old hotel is a lovely place to stay. Just don’t use Agoda!

Reviewed December 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Geoffrey from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Superb Hotel in Great Location ”

The Hotel Continental is a beautiful old style hotel with large rooms and all the facilities. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of foods. The hotel is close to all the markets, other shopping and many eating places., but in an area you don’t feel crowded. We would have no hesitation staying there again.

Reviewed March 03, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Daphne from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Loved My Stay at the Saigon Continental Hotel”

I stayed 2 nights in a huge room with a sitting room area and a balcony overlooking the Saigon Opera House. I neglected to request a room with walk-in shower as I have difficulties bending my knees to get into the bath, hotel staff were kind enough to move me to a room with separate shower. I loved the French colonial furnishings, impeccable courtesy of the staff and the ambience in the hotel. My favourite was the great buffet breakfast - everything I could wish for. I will definitely be back to stay there again!

Reviewed October 26, 2018
8.8
Excellent
LIN from China
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Ancient and classic ”

It's an ancient and classic hotel.It dates back 1880.But the price is expensive.In my opinion,it's not valued to spend a large money in staying here.The breakfast is varied and tasty.There is a good location,CBD of hcm,vincom,Walkway ,so many restaurants.The staffs speak fluently English.The staff upgraded my room from garden view to city view.And it offers free fruits.

Reviewed August 25, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Cora from Malaysia
Business traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Excellent”

The Rooms big & Spacious. Breakfast - nothing to shout about. Edible. The French Cafe next to lobby - sad to say they allow smoking inside. There was a man smoking n it was difficult to sit there . Smells n you Choke. There should be designated smoking area for Smoking Guests.

Reviewed August 18, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Chet from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Great location in Saigon”

The Historica hotel is located in a great spot in Saigon - close enough to walk to many sights. Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was bountiful. Only wish they had Vietnamese Coffee though (or even brewed coffee - only a machine) Our stay was comfortable though we paid more here than any other lodging in Vietnam ( which I believe is party due to prices in Saigon). I must add we arranged for airport transfers ( from and to) and that diver was excellent.

Reviewed July 30, 2018

Dear Chet, Thank you for your good evaluation for our hotel location, friendly staff and buffet breakfast. We're happy to know you had a good stay at our hotel. You're correct, Vietnamese coffee tastes great and it is highly recommended to international travelers, however it's stronger than our buffet coffee that most of our guests can drink. Vietnamese coffee is available to order in our restaurant. Definitely you tried it. Once again thank you for your cooperation. We'll think about serving Vietnamese coffee in buffet breakfast. Our best regards, Le Tan Thanh General Manager

Responded August 11, 2018
Hotel Continental Saigon
8.8
Excellent
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Faded Grandeur but worth a short stay ”

With its fascinating history, including Graham Greene staying here, the Continental is worth checking out. A little dated in places but fab location. Sadly we were disturbed by hotel staff cleaning the patio area at 2.00am after a wedding party with what sounded like a power drill! Not bad for a short stay in a central area

Reviewed July 29, 2018

Dear John, Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry for our courtyard cleaning early in the morning that bothered your sleep. We'll adjust cleaning time. Thank you for your cooperation. Best regards, Le Tan Thanh General Manager

Responded August 11, 2018
Hotel Continental Saigon
9.2
Exceptional
yunjeong from South Korea
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

My favorite hotel in hochiminh”

Whenever I visit hochiminh for my biz trip, I stay this special hotel. This hotel that was built in 1880 has a long history. The Room was very antique and traditional. I felt I was in hochiminh in 1880. It was really special experience to me. Staffs were very kind and location,Breakfast were fantastic!

Reviewed July 12, 2018

Dear Mr. Yunjeong, Thank you for your feedback for our hotel location and breakfast. We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay at with us and like our antique and traditional style. We always look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Le Tan Thanh General Manager

Responded August 11, 2018
Hotel Continental Saigon
10.0
Exceptional
Mari from United States
Business traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Charming historic hotel in the city center of Ho Chi Minh City”

I stayed here during a business trip and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very historic, beautifully appointed, and charming. Staff were warm and friendly. I stayed in a heritage room on the second floor and the room was large and kept very clean. There was some noise on weekend evenings as you are right in the city center close to the Opera house but it was nothing significant. WiFi was not incredibly strong but that is typical across many places in Southeast Asia. It was good enough for this trip and may have been better in the Business Center downstairs although I didn’t use it. The restaurant area has a beautiful courtyard and I feel it was great value for the price. If you want to avoid standard chains and stay in a historic hotel with large rooms, beautiful surroundings, and friendly service this is a solid choice.

Reviewed July 11, 2018

Dear Ms. Mari, We're glad to know you really enjoy your stay at our hotel and our our staff and services made your stay be wonderful. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home in Ho Chi Minh City Our best regards, Le Tan Thanh General Manager

Responded August 11, 2018
Hotel Continental Saigon
8.0
Excellent
Murray from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

History and charm”

This hotel, on account of it's claim to being the oldest hotel in Vietnam, ooozes charm and grace. The rooms are large and full of character. The room I stayed in was quiet and peaceful. The bathrooms are old fashioned and could do with an upgrade.

Reviewed June 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Francis from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Nice hotel”

It was a very good oldies and traditionally hotel. However, we are disturb by noise above us such as people walking , cleaner dragging the vacuum across the room ..quite disturb by it. Hotel provide fresh dragon fruit and orange everyday , great!

Reviewed June 20, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ravneet from Singapore
Family with teens
Junior Suite with Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2019

Historic Hotel and Great Location”

Old, historical hotel in the centre of everything. Rooms are a bit dated but large and comfortable. Service was excellent.

Reviewed May 16, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
주현 from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

good place to connet to the city”

we enjoyed lovely historic place and good location

Reviewed May 09, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Geoff from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Elegance and charm”

I love old hotels that retain a their sense of place. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff was well mannered and helpful. Breakfast was a treat. If we come back to Saigon, I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

Reviewed February 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Juergen from Germany
Couple
Opera View Suite
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

Top hotel in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City”

It was my second stay in one year at the Continental Saigon - and again it was perfect. Very friendly hotel employees, good and fast housekeeping and a an excellent breakfast buffet with top service. The hotel lies exactly in the centre of HCMC. That means that it has an atractive surrounding. If I ever will come back to HCMC I will book this hotel again.

Reviewed January 17, 2019
6.4
Good
Thomas from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Good”

Been to this Hotel many times over the years and it has gone down in most aspects. My room was adequate but the aircon sounded like a cement mixer. Bathroom doors need oiling as the hinges squeak which may sound trivial but at 3 am not a joke. Room was paid in advance but they still insisted on a deposit from me which was embarrassing. No deposit or no key was the reply from the Receptionist who said it was Company Policy.

Reviewed December 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Thanh
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

80”

Good hotel to experience in hcmc I will introduce for many friend

Reviewed February 23, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Susan from Canada
Couple
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Lovely Older Hotel”

Older Hotel well maintained. Beautiful large flower bouquets as you enter the lobby, lovely woodwork. We had an Opera view room which was quite large. Breakfast was a buffet providing many western options. Centre Court area had a party when we were there and it was quite loud until 11:00 pm. Centrally located to walk to many sites. We would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed April 15, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Hao from China
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Central of Saigon”

It is at the central of Saigon with a history over 100 years. Staffs are friendly and fluent in English. The only problem is the bathroom, it smells and there is a big step gap between inside and outside of the bathtub, very dangerous when you step out from the bathtub. Generally I recommend this hotel.

Reviewed February 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Simon from United States
Couple
Heritage
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Amazing Location But Old”

We stayed here wanting to stay in one of the classic hotels from the glory days of se Asia. The room (heritage) was awesome, the location was brilliant, but alas the building is old and dated. We were there in winter but the lack of ac in the hallways would be annoying in summer (ac in room was amazing). Also while the building had the majesty it just didn't amaze like some newer hotels Do. We had a great stay and would stay there again but it probably needs a retrofit.

Reviewed January 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Utaiwan from Thailand
Solo traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017

Exceptional”

I love this hotel in every aspects except that the rail construction site make it a bad view but cant wait until it finish, this would be one of the finest hotel in Saigon. The location is fantastic. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is variety but i prefer to have more local relevant or famous dish.

Reviewed October 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
GOH from Singapore
Family with teens
Opera View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

A great hotel with history ”

A few taxi didn't know where the hotel was and brought us to Intercontinental hotel instead >< Breakfast wasn't fantastic but there's plentiful to choose from~ Clean and large rooms; helpful staff~ Pleasant stay all in all:)

Reviewed June 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Dirk from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Great colonial style hotel with large rooms and view of the city center.”

Right in the heart of HCMC, next to the Opera House. Wonderful colonial atmosphere, large rooms. Service is a bit 'government' but friendly. Breakfast lacks some essentials but it's not bad (it was included in the room rate). Overall very nice stay. Recommendable.

Reviewed June 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Adam from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Fantastic hotel with great value for money and excellent staff”

I have stayed here both as a solo traveler and with my wife. The Hotel is very well located in the middle of the downtown area so plenty of branded shops, cafes, restaurants etc. The building is old with classic colonial architecture which was updated to an art deco design about 100 years ago. If you appreciate that you will love the hotel. The rooms however do not smell musty or appear old and are well appointed with modern bathrooms (large baths/shower), nice beds and pillows etc. The only thing is they seem to have few rooms with Queen/King beds. The best part of this hotel for me was the well trained, disciplined and friendly staff. All staff including the security guard outside were extremely helpful and friendly and the buffet breakfast crew were well controlled by a very proactive Maitre D.

Reviewed June 09, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Alvin from Philippines
Solo traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Great location. Full of history”

Right next to the Opera house and walking distance to key attractions. Great courtyard where you can have breakfast Big rooms. An old hotel and currently government managed I believe so can be a bit dated but not without its charms.

Reviewed April 17, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Christopher from Australia
Business traveler
Opera View Suite
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017

Plenty of life in the grand old dame”

I have stayed at the Continental a few times and have always enjoyed it - the older style of hotel offers large rooms - mine this time had superb view of the opera house (and, less fortunately, a nice loud reception of the 0800 Sunday concert on the opera house steps), a spacious sitting / work area and plenty of wardrobe space. Excellent location, a sense of history and polished brass carpet rods in the grand staircase. Lovely.

Reviewed April 06, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Richard from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Exceptional”

Grand old hotel in prime location in heart of modern Ho Chi Minh City. Rooms are marvelous, hallways a bit shabby, but who cares. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast is wonderful. Book a room and imagine yourself in the middle of the action back in the early 70s as war reporters roam the lobby. Lots of history here.

Reviewed April 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Dewi from Indonesia
Couple
Opera View Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017

Beautiful classic hotel in the heart of the city ”

Very very great location, close to many tourist attractions and next to opera house, it's very classic hotel but very beautiful. Nice environment and pretty much walking distance to many tourist attraction. Breakfast was good although not much variety. Staff are friendly and helpful. This is super great hotel and good value for money. Room decoration was amazing! Ask for room with opera balcony. We were so in love with this hotel!

Reviewed March 31, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Philip from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Hotel with History”

Love this hotel great location good service and love my stay in Graham Greens old room. My only conplaint... the breakfast lrts it down need to give fresh orange real fresh coffee home made yohgurt and forget all the hot dishes.

Reviewed February 22, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Adam from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Lovely old colonial hotel, Perfectly Located”

This hotel is grand & beautiful and very well located in District 1, just opposite the Saigon Opera House and surrounded by brand name shops, shopping centers and restaurants, coffee shops etc. Breakfast is good and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful all the time. My only warnings are the shower temperature keeps changing due to low cold water pressure affecting the mixer and the pricey restaurant (although food was great).

Reviewed January 18, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Kurt from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

this hotel is a vintage rarity and we can onlt recommend it”

The Hotel was built in 1890 and is a beautiful place ,well preserved with very large rooms . The breakfast restaurant is a real beauty, high ceilings with chandeliers and an outstanding stucco ceiling which is very rare these days. The location is perfect and all things you want to see within walking distance.We only had breakfast there and the choice was very good.

Reviewed January 15, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Grand Hotel”

Every morning at 5:15am, the splendid sidewalks of the Hotel Continental Saigon are steam-cleaned by a meticulous staff member, helping to maintain the impression of a magnificent and historic landmark. This effort demonstrates the staff’s dedication to making sure every aspect of the hotel is at its best for guests to enjoy. Indeed, every staff member I dealt with was knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. A highpoint of the day was sitting in the lovely garden for breakfast, featuring trees planted in 1880 and an atmosphere that was ideal for reflecting on the hotel’s captivating style and place in world history. My deluxe suite was big enough to entertain 30 friends! Finally, the location is fantastic, within walking distance of Ho Chi Minh Square, Notre Dame Cathedral, Fine Arts Museum, Reunification Palace, and much more. I had a wonderful and memorable stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed January 01, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Woan from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Great location ”

This hotel situated in the middle of city with very unique structure. We like the high ceiling n big hallway & also the courtyard. Perhaps bathroom needs to equip with hand towels holder? The bathroom is huge each time after washing hand, we have to walk all the way to the bathtub where we the hand towels are placed to wipe!

Reviewed December 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Pravin from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Wonderful location and beautiful historic building”

Hotel is very well located , next to the opera house and it was an easy walk to other major attractions . Very clean hotel and they gave us a large room on the third floor with beautiful furnishings. We enjoyed our stay and the breakfast.

Reviewed October 20, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Tai from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

One of the best”

It was my second time staying at Continental. I love this hotel so much. My room was spacious, clean and quite. The Opera's view was amazing. I got upgrade to a suite for my first time staying there. Breakfast should be a little bit better.

Reviewed September 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Sarimah from Brunei Darussalam
Family with teens
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

Wonderful glimpse of history”

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and 2 nights for leisure. At first they couldn't give us what we requested, but instead they upgrade us to an even better room/suite for free after we made another request. Everything about the hotel was excellent - location, architecture, facilities and staff. Breakfast in the courtyard was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

Reviewed September 21, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
Opera View Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

Better than my expectation”

The hotel was very good no matter what the service, food, environment are. Its location is also great so that we could walk around in the town center. I highly recommend this hotel to all of you planning to stay in Ho Chi Minh.

Reviewed September 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Paul from Australia
Couple
Opera View Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

Excellent grand old hotel”

This is a grand old hotel built in 1880, and run by Saigon Tourist state agency. We stayed in a junior suite which was huge, well furnished in a classic style, and well appointed. Each room has individual wifi which is a big plus compared to those hotels that advertise wifi, but the router is way down the corridor, and you can't reach it! The hotel has spa, massage and gym facilities, but no swimming pool. Buffet breakfast is excellent, and staff are helpful and courteous. Hotel restaurants are fine dining and a bit pricey, and not well patronised. Not ideal for tourists, but there are hundreds of restaurants to choose from in Saigon. The hotel is situated nest to the Opera House in the uptown part of District 1. Close to a couple of large upmarket shopping centres. Its about a 20 minute walk to the Ben Thanh market and downtown backpackers area which used to have some great cheap cafes, but it now looks quite seedy and uninviting compared to our previous visits. I suggest you choose a room with a balcony, facing the Opera House, and on the right hand side of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.

Reviewed July 15, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Sheo from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Grand old dame at an excellent location”

I liked the hotel for the size of its rooms and the location. The rooms are huge and the bed comfy. The location is excellent as it is near sights and cafes and restaurants. The breakfast spead was good too and the staff friendly. Two things I was not happy about. First, if you ask for compolimentary bottled water beyond what they give you daily, they will tell you its company policy not to give extra and that we should consume at the minibar. This is a first for me. Second, the air-conditioning is weak so on a hot day you have to keep it running so that you don't melt when you return.

Reviewed July 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
BILAL from Australia
Couple
Opera View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

FANTASTIC.”

An old style French colonial hotel that is in keeping with that area of Saigon. The french restaurant was excellent and the NZ lamb chops the best I have ever eaten. As an Aussie, I don't like to say it but it is true. Location is great. Access to the Saigon River, foreign banks, Beteng Market all close by. Do yourself a favour and go there. Dr Bilal NASRULLAH. AUSTRALIA.

Reviewed June 10, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Ka from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016

Signature and Historical Hotel in a Perfect location”

I like the French Colony Architecture of the hotel. The location is just perfect. It is right beside the Opera House. There are plenty of decent restaurant around the hotel. You can go to many tourist attractions on foot. The room is big and clean. But the Staff is not friendly and helpful.

Reviewed May 04, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Elaine from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

late chek in”

The breakfast was so good, specially the pho, me and my friend had 2 bowls for that. Although they should have more choices for breakfast. The iced coffee was superb. We checked in late, and they have granted us late check out till 1pm. Staffs were friendly!

Reviewed April 08, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Frank from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

none”

The facility was, and still is, a beautiful building. However, it needs to be updated. The room we stayed in was spacious, but very tired! The bath was very inadequate for a hotel of it's reputation. Staff was only fair in their effort to be informative. I doubt that I would rebook there.

Reviewed February 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
ROSEMARIE from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

A victorian sytle weekend”

room is fantastic

our stay was good, my 13 year old daughter likes the setting of our room but she loves our other friends room who stayed where balcony was included. we stayed there 2 days and observed that the breakfast is the same, though got quite a few variety.

Reviewed November 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Hotel full of Character”

Central Location Modern with character

Enjoyed staying again at the Continental where the staff and service is excellent. I love the hotel and rooms which are full of history. Only down side to my stay was a boring breakfast. Better for the breakfast buffet to be less and concentrate more on giving quality. i.e. Undiluted Orange juice, Fresh yogurt real coffee etc. ( Check out the breakfast at the REX )

Reviewed September 23, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Noorul from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Enjoyed our short stay”

centrally located ( just few minutes walk to the shopping mall, and most of the tourist attractions) , convenient, much quieter and peaceful in comparison to other places

it was a great stay, just that the remote controller for the air-conditioner in our room didn't really work. So the room temperature could not be changed, But that did not really bother us much since it was just a 1 night stay

Reviewed September 18, 2015
8.7
Excellent
tan from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

french facade, nostalgic stay...”

french colonial building, location, room size

- location is ideal and centralized, next to the opera house... - room was clean, spacious and comfortable... - free facilities such as sauna room and mini gym... - breakfast spread was generous and tasty, friendly breakfast staffs - free wifi stable and fast, english tv channels available... - housekeeping staff quite rude after check-in... - check-in speed can be improved... - hotel seems to be popular for wedding functions on the weekends, so can be affected if rooms are facing the courtyard...

Reviewed September 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Mohd from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

Hotel Continental Saigon”

Location, Value for money, Cleanliness

Booked a Deluxe Double room via Agoda for three nights and when we arrived, we were upgraded to a Suite. Staff was well mannered and spoke English. Room and bathroom were clean. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the Saigon Opera House, and it had a balcony. Suite room was very spacious! Had a king bed and a single bed, perfect for a small family. Breakfast spread was simple but sufficient to start the day. The courtyard where we had our breakfast was very beautiful. Hotel is located at near Saigon Opera House (which is city centre) and surroundings are clean as this may be the high street area. Probably around 15 minutes walk to Ben Thanh Market. Lots of restaurants, sky bars and cafes in the area. Even though the hotel was built in 1880s, it is well preserved and spotless. Will definitely stay there again when visiting Ho Chi Minh city.

Reviewed July 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Shane from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Opera View Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Colonial hotel with lots or period charm”

Colonial charm, courtyard garden, location

This is a well-located, well-run hotel in the heart of old Saigon, a few hundred meters from the Cathedral and Post Office. Rooms are large and furnished in somewhat heavy Vietnamese style, but the bed is comfortable, the shower powerful, and the wifi is reasonable. Breakfast was good, although ended promptly at 9:30, which as I only arrived down at 09:25 was a bit of a rush.

Reviewed July 28, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Christopher from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

Lovely old hotel”

Location, size of room, heritage quality

The hotel was exceptionally good on check-in as I had made a mistake in my dates but this was readily overcome and I was shown to my room on 3rd floor, looking out over the opera house Staff very helpful throughout The room was well furnished - albeit showing a little age in wallpaper that was peeling in some places - but superb bed and great bathroom. Was delighted to see people polishing the brass carpet rods on the staircases each morning! Good work desk and good reading lights Breakfasts in the a/c room or in the courtyard beneath the 1885 frangipani trees very good

Reviewed June 27, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Hoe from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

Good Choice”

Value for money, location, good staff service

It is a very good hotel with all the historical background and located in convenient location. The split air-conditioning unit in the room make it a safe cooling system to avoid spread of disease. The following points are improvement can be done : a) Shower hot water is slow and make comfortable shower impossible. Not improvement even after requested repair. b) Spring loaded toilet bowl cover will be able to cutoff the loud noise c) cotton slipper is preferred as the offered Vietnamese slipper is too hard.

Reviewed June 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Cedric from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

Perfectly located Colonial Hotel”

location, architecture, style

Excellent short term stay. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Saigon. The room are extraordinary generous in size and the style transports you back into the beginning of the last century.

Reviewed April 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Bakhtiar from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Great location, value for money”

Location, price, architecture

It was a very good stay, and I enjoyed being close to many attractions in the city. However, the air conditioning in the room didn't work very well (couldn't control the temperature) and the water pressure was somewhat low. But the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the colonial architecture makes for a memorable stay.

Reviewed November 12, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Anke from Australia
Business traveler
Opera View Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Colonial Gem in the heart of Saigon”

Location, ambience, history

Staying at the Continental is like stepping back in time and imagining Graham Greene sitting in the lovely courtyard writing The Quiet American. Although it has been renovated, it is not a 5-star property and everything is a little unpolished. The atmosphere makes up for it though. Try staying in one of the Premier Suites as they seem to have been renovated quite recently and are lovely, with a balcony overlooking the opera. A big minus is the haphazard internet access - if you rely on it, don't stay there.

Reviewed November 07, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Tung from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Opera View Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Nice 5star hotel ”

Staff very friendly , tour counter / reception both very helpful. Luxury shop close to the hotel. Becareful taxi fee , money u pay to taxi .

Pretty good hotel. Name mr.quyen and reception counter really helpful. I really really appricate bell boy very helpful and smiling to us all the time, my folks Love this hotel so much . Walking distance to famous place , post office. Next to opera .

Reviewed November 02, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
alan from Australia
Couple
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

A great hotel”

old world style, great location, pleasent layout

We were both very impressed with the size and décor of our room, the high ceilings making it feel more spacious. The breakfast selection was second to none. The location, just walk to anywhere in district 1. Staff were efficient and friendly. Would definitely stay here again

Reviewed August 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Tracy from Australia
Couple
Opera View Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

Nice hotel in great location.”

Location , Historic, big rooms

We enjoyed our stay, the room was big and would have had a lovely view of the Opera House if there wasn't a tree right outside our window, ( a view was our only request when we booked) The restaurant was overpriced, but the breakfast was very good and the staff at breakfast were lovely.

Reviewed July 19, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Christine from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014

Good location”

Good location, good location, good location

This hotel locate at an ideal place. Easy assess to many place of interest. This hotel was built in year 1880. But it still look nice and value for money. We are so great that we have upgraded to the junior suite room. It's superb for the money i pay. Highly recommended to stay here for conveniences. Many nice restaurant is near by. I will stay here again in future if i return to HCM.

Reviewed July 02, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
MUSUN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Relic of the French influence”

Classic, centrally located, and good breakfast

It's located really at the heart of the city, right next to the Opera House. This hotel was built around hundred years ago. Yet, they maintained the hotel very well so that the guests can still feel the classical atmosphere. Once you enter the room, you feel like you took a time capsule back to the past. But, everything is clean and convenient. It's not that expensive either.

Reviewed June 28, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Family with young children
Opera View Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

I love the Continental ! It did not disappoint....”

Location, History, Luxury

Part of a 3 week, 8 Country trip........The Continental was just perfect for this Historic Hotel Buff..........We stayed two nights in an Oriental Suite overlooking the Opera House. What a View of all the Late Night happenings down below. The Hotel is beautiful..........the courtyard in beautiful.......and the sidewalk cafe is perfect!! Read a little or a lot about this place before you go.............and enjoy! Grand Hotel of a Grand Era.

Reviewed May 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Location. Comfort. Safety.”

Location. Culture/Heritage. Staff.

Nice heritage hotel smack right in the middle of the city. It is located next to the beautiful HCM opera house and surrounded by shopping centres, other major hotels, a selection of restaurants and bars, etc. Rooms are very large (as with all heritage hotels) and fairly comfortable. Due to size of room, aircon may be hard to control so you may sometimes be either too cold or too warm. Otherwise the hotel is a beautiful place to stay in. Look out for the old but beautiful Frangipani trees in the court yard. They have been there since 1880!

Reviewed March 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Vintage hotel with central location.”

Location. Historical Building. Nice Place.

Nice heritage hotel smack right in the middle of the city. It is located next to the beautiful HCM opera house and surrounded by shopping centres, other major hotels, a selection of restaurants and bars, etc. Rooms are very large (as with all heritage hotels) and fairly comfortable. Due to size of room, aircon may be hard to control so you may sometimes be either too cold or too warm. Otherwise the hotel is a beautiful place to stay in. Look out for the old but beautiful Frangipani trees in the court yard. They have been there since 1880!

Reviewed March 10, 2014