Book Now: Hotel Elephant Park

Very good
From 195 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9
/
10
Recommended by 95% of guests

Reviews of Hotel Elephant Park Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (195)Booking.com Reviews (425)
7.9
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities7.9
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service7.8
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (195)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 169 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
fiona from Australia
Group
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Great location ”

We stayed a night as it worked out cheaper to stay than just a day trip The hotel was in a great location looking out over the river .. we spent many hours sitting on the balcony watching the elephants bathing in the river The room itself was average could do with a good clean the bathroom was fairly newly renovated One big advantage of staying is that the elephants are brought down to the river early in the morning and late in the afternoon when all the day trippers have gone The place doesn’t have a pool but they are building one now but we wandered next door and paid to use the pool Breakfast was your normal buffet Asian and western and we found it satisfying

Reviewed March 27, 2019
8.0
Excellent
kuhandran from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Superior Double Room Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Need More Imporvement ”

Room prices are valubale to stay but the food can be little be customized according to the countries request. food price are expensive compare to class hotel in colombo. Foods are demanded here because of less option of food available on surrounding.please consider more on hotel since it will be one of the country hit soon

Reviewed November 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
dechbut from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Exceptional”

very good services good food

Reviewed April 19, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Natalie from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double Room with River View and balcony
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Front row seats to the elephants”

The deluxe balcony room was lovely and the views were incredible. We enjoyed the food and the staff were more than helpful.The fact that you can only check in after 4pm is frustrating.

Reviewed March 24, 2019
9.0
Exceptional
choo from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Lovely hotel next to an elephant sanctuary”

Close encounter with dozens of elephant

We were very glad to have started our tour of Sri Lanka by first visiting this hotel which is near to Kandy, instead of wasting time in traffic jam travelling south to Colombo. We arranged with the hotel to pick us at the airport. Very friendly driver, who also acted as tourist guide! We are so pleased with him that we also engaged him to drive us to Kandy the next day. The hotel is strategically located next to the river whereby dozens of elephant come to bath twice a day, from 10-12 noon, and again from 2-4pm. This is the best site to view the cute elephants in action.

Reviewed November 11, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
ARVIDS from Latvia
Couple
Deluxe - Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Hotel with good location to see elephants”

Nice hotel if you come to see elephants! This hotel is located next to elephant shower! Only there is late check in on 4pm, but if you buy some kind ticket, then some time you can do it earlier!

Reviewed December 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
phillip from Australia
Couple
Superior Double Room with River View and balcony
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

must place to stay”

all that you need to see the elephants good hotel and staff helpful only thing was eating at night in restaurant had to many bugs but still a great stay

Reviewed August 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rebecca from Sri Lanka
Group
Superior Double Room with River View and balcony
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Wonderful experience ”

The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The location is perfect and the food is tasty

Reviewed June 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Raquel from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe - Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Excellent option if u stay in pinnawala”

Can watch the elephants twice a day when they pass going to the river. Can watch elephants bathing from resto and balcony. Can watch earlier the old and sick elephants. The view of the river at all times is superb. Can walk in the stones when not bathing time.

Reviewed March 26, 2018
6.4
Good
Bruno from France
Couple
Deluxe - Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Overpriced in Comparison with Thailand Hotel Standard”

At breakfast time few Elephants was already enchained just under our restaurant. The herd came at 10am, we don't paid anything as asked at the reservation. ================================ Service Staff. Friendly Bedroom and bathroom not really clean. Hairs and dust every where on the floor. Dirty refrigerator. Provided with towels, liquid soap and toilet paper. Basic Western Style Buffet Breakfast WiFi good signal. Multi Channel TV Quiet hotel. Free car par

Reviewed February 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Geva from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room with River View and balcony
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Perfect location for a few days with fantastic view and service!”

Every morning the elephants go bathing - so book a room with river view for only a few Euro/ Dollar more. The Service is very kindly and helpful. Rooms a very clean, cozy and comfortable but not extraordinary. The kitchen prepared good food from several regions of the world. Ask for Sri Lankan breakfast the evening before. Thanks for a beautiful stay!

Reviewed March 23, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Caroline from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Lovely Stay”

we had a wonderful time.. really recommend staying. once all the tourists leave for the day you have the hotel overlooking the river all to yourself and get to see the elephants in the morning before non-guests are allowed in....

Reviewed April 19, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Seevaratnam from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Double Room Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Memorable Stay”

Comfortable beds, cleanliness and location

Excellent location to watch bathing elephants. Courteous staff. Stayed in a river view room. Enjoyed the soothing sound of Maha Oya flowing on the granites throuout the night. If pop up come to upgrade, please do not accept. If clicked, your bookings will actually downgraded for an additional $12 to a garden view room. Careful to select the river view rooms. I am lucky that for an additional $10, my downgraded room was upgraded to a river view room. Thanks for the manager and receptionist both are extremely helpful. Missed the Sri Lankan traditional hopper breakfast that should be booked 12 hrs in advance. Nevertheless staff gave me a rice and fish curry breakfast, that was bloody good. Western breakfast is pretty ordinary. Staff are helpful and made my stay comfortable. Rather than paying $20/person entrance fee to the elephant sanctuary, visitors could get all the excitements in watching the elephants from the hotel. Nothing much to see inside the sanctuary anyway. Major attraction is elephant bath at the river.

Reviewed December 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Gerilyn from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Excellent ffor the price”

Location for elephant orphanage, nice room, staff great

Hotel overlooks river where elephants are bathed twice a day. Unfortunately heavy rains day before our stay made river too dangerous for this while we were there. But hotel is an easy walk from the orphanage, and we saw plenty of elephants there. Feed them by hand with a few exra rupees, stay as long as you like taking photos. Open restaurant overlooking river was breezy and pleasant, so we enjoyed dinner there. Food good and not too expensive. Free breakfast was good for the price, choice of menu items hot and cold. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would love to stay again someday.

Reviewed August 19, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Anton from Finland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 7 nights in February 2014

Spectacular stay in Hotel Elephant Park”

Staff, views and elephants

We stayed at the hotel for 7 days and the experience was unique. The hotel room was very clean and even modern. The air conditioning in our room worked flawlessly. The hotel is located just incredibly beautiful area and the views are spectacular. There are elephants in surroundings of the hotel bathing every day, which is the highlight. The staff are genuine and friendly, and it was pleasure to meet them. The food was also excellent. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will miss there.

Reviewed February 16, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Anton from Hungary
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Best location to see the bathing elephants”

Best location to see the bathing elephants, very good quality rooms, television, big sized room

We stayed at the hotel one night to see the local attraction - the bathing elephants from the orphanage. This proved to be a very good decision - to visit the orphanage you need to buy pretty expensive tickets (20 USD per person), and they ask for the tickets even if you want to go to the riverside when the elephants are going there for bathing. With the hotel you have the best spot available to see the bathing elephants and you don't have to pay for the tickets of the orphanage. At the same time the quality of the room is pretty good, very clean, new and the size was also good. They have a great restaurant on the terrace with spectacular view on the river and the elephants and the selection is quite OK. However the prices are twice higher than normally in Sri Lanka. At the same time we weren't really satisfied with the staff at the hotel. We had a feeling that for everything they do they wanted to get money in reward, otherwise they wouldn't help. And when we asked some basic things from them (how to get to a railway junction in the near city to catch the train to Anuradhapura) none of them knew the answer, which was strange. Anyway, the location is very good and room was also great, so among other hotels near the elephant orphanage, I would definitely recommend this one.

Reviewed February 01, 2014
7.0
Very good
Sandra from Germany
Group
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Hotel directly on the river.”

Directly beside the main attraction, friendly staff, Internet available

The hotel is facing the river where the elephants are bathing. Unfortunately the water level was too high and they were not bathing when we stayed there. It's 5 minutes walk to the elephant orphanage. The staff was very friendly but the rooms are average. It's a bit overcharged for the rooms it selfs but if you are lucky to see the bathing it's great and worth the money.

Reviewed August 09, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Johan from South Africa
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

A must visit when in Sri Lanka. ”

Elephants right by hotel. Great food. Best seat in the house to view elephants bathing in river.

We booked 2 rooms but only 1 room had hot water and a working Aircon. The food however was the ebst we had in Sri Lanka. The hotel management team made up for the lack of hot water and AC by providing free of charge an extra room on the day of our departure so we could store our luggae and have alast minute shower for a late afternoon departure. Of the 6 places we stayed in Sri Lanka, this hotel was certainly the best in terms of food, facilities, value for money, customer service and just being a fantastic place to view the elephants bathing in the river by the hotel. I would go back there again and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed August 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Theresa from New Zealand
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Elephants”

Elephant encounter

Right next to river. Great thing is they bring elephants down early in morning before tourist buses arrive. Got to spend time with elephants & take loads of photos by myself & gave the local guys a tip for it. Was awesome.

Reviewed July 23, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from Finland
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Absolutely perfect location, great value. ”

Clean, spacious rooms. Polite and attentive staff. Good quality breakfast and meals.

The hotel is located on the river exactly where the elephants from Pinnawella Orphanage take their bath. Excellent view from restaurant and balconies. The main entrance to the Orphanage is only 200 m away. Everything was to our liking with this hotel.

Reviewed March 09, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Hebe from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Best hotel ever!! Especially if you love elephants”

Watching the elephants bathe in the water plus the manager was so helpful and sorted out our trips!

this hotel is amazing....the rooms are clean, have wifi and sky television and a clean bathroom but to be honest i wouldn't have cared if they didn't. the thing that makes staying here so special is naturally the elephants!! the hotel looks over the river where the elephants wash 3 times a day and to get there they walk past reception. they stay for two hours and watching them is just mesmerising. an added bonus was the quality of the service at the hotel and the rooms and food. the manager was so helpful- when we arrived he asked whether we knew what we wanted to do yet and we said that we wanted to ride an elephant somewhere so he showed us our room and arranged for a tuktuk to come in half an hour so that we could do it and be back for 2 when the elephants walked down to bathe. he came with us and waited for us to finish our ride then came back with us in the tuktuk! couldn't reccomend staying here more. and also the hotel is at the end of a street which stretches from the road to the river (river end obviously) and the street is full of local shops selling postcards, clothing, handicrafts, souvenirs and naturally everything elephant!! there are two shops which sell elephant dung paper and other books etc made from the dung and they show you the process too!

Reviewed February 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Olivia from India
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Beautiful hotel and location.”

Elephant bathing and walking distance to Elephant Orphanage

great hotel, value for money. it was great to see the elephants bathe every morning just under the hotel. the size of the room was pretty decent. mini bar was a nice touch. however, despite its location, the hotel remained very quiet. we didn't see many people in the restaurant or at the bar. apparently it was fully booked. we did request for the sheets to be changed as it was stained and ripped. the receptionist does need to be trained in customer service. all in all, it is a great hotel and highly recommended.

Reviewed February 18, 2013
7.7
Very good
yoann from France
Group
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

best value for money hotel”

the view and the staff

this hotel is the best place to see the elephants bath, the staff is also very kind and nice. a very good spot one tip: wake up at 8 am to take your breakfast watching the first bath of the elephant, there is no crowd

Reviewed January 16, 2013
7.0
Very good
Christopher from Canada
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Incredible location to see the elephants”

Location, cost

You are not going to experience ultimate luxury at this hotel, but it is a nice stay and is located in an absolutely incredible place. The herds of elephants literally walk right in front of the front steps twice per day. Such an unreal experience.

Reviewed January 05, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Lance from Canada
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Wonderful setting for viewing the elephants”

Right on the river

Great setting and helpful and welcoming staff. The Hotel is perched right above the river where the elephants come daily to bath. You can also see thousands of fruit bats fly over the river at dusk, for your dining table on the terrace.

Reviewed January 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Sally from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Amazing location!”

Right next to the river where the elephants bathe.

beautiful large room with windows opening directly above the river. the view of the elephants was awesome. the restuarant is also situated with the best view of the river where the elephants bathe twice a day. fantastic spot!

Reviewed August 27, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Amazing views and lovely restaurant”

Elephants, view, clean and very comfortable rooms

We didn't feel the photos on Agoda did the hotel justice so were pleasantly surprised how nice it is. The restaurant is open air and feels like being in a tree house overlooking the river where we watched people washing their clothes and selves, then the next day seeing the elephants come down the road next to the hotel and into the river where we watched them bathe and frolic about as we had our breakfast. it was very special.

Reviewed July 21, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Overlooking river where the elephants bathe”

Excellent location, clean rooms, nice open air restaurant

In reality, the place is much nicer then the Agoda photos so we were pleasantly surprised. 5 minute walk to the elephant orphanage to see them being fed before they walk down the street past this hotel and into the river where you can have breakfast while looking down at them bathing and frolicking.

Reviewed July 14, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
alistair from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012

Change of hotel”

Fantastic view

we moved to the kandyan bungalow in kady from hotel elephant park on 2/13/2012 this was a lovely small hotel on the top of a hill overlooking kandy. the room was extremely comfortable and the staff could not have been more attentive it was a pleasure to stay here and we will return to this hotel in the future

Reviewed February 23, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Tatyana from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Elephants bathing outside your hotel window”

The elephants walk past your hotel twice a day.

this was a fairly expensive hotel for our long trip in asia, however, as we saw the elephants bathing and walking to and from the orphanage, and they were in view from the hotel restaurant. the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was also quite good.

Reviewed January 19, 2012
6.0
ABHILASH from India
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Good Old Hotel, ideal for watching Elephant Bath!”

river side rooms and even we can touch elephants from the hotel premise

This hotel is an old built but very close to the river where the elephants from Pinnwala Elephant Orphanage come for bathing. Very calm and quiet location to stay. Staff performance was sometimes not up to the mark. They have a very good river side restaurant and serves all kind of dishes and beverages. Room rent may be a little bit high for budget travelers but still worth if you really go for watching elephants!

Reviewed January 11, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Rupesh from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Amazing Hotel. Best staff. Best Location. Great !”

Good Location. Great View. Superb Staff. Affordable.

Anyone going to SL, I would recommend spending at least one if not more night here. They have great location, best for viewing bathing elephants, right on river. Superb staff. Best breakfast. I'm all happy about this.

Reviewed January 01, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Olgierd from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in November 2011

Great Location and Spectacular Views”

Right next to the Elephant's River

my stay was very comfortable. the room was very spacious and the staff were very courteous. of course it had hot water and it was generally quite clean. arranged a wake up call in the morning to get up for the elephants. the complimentary breakfast was also very nice. overall i was very satisfied with my stay

Reviewed November 14, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Rebecca from United States
Family with teens
Superior Double Room with River View and balcony
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Absolutely loved ”

The location is perfect. The rooms are very clean with great service and perfect morning views of the elephants

Reviewed January 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Valerio from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

amazing view”

position, view

just one night to see the elephants. great location and amazing view to the river

Reviewed November 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Detlev from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Good hotel good location and friendly staff”

Location

WE were able to get some washing done by the hotel and received it back dry .It had been raining for a few dates.Bath room drain was blocked

Reviewed January 16, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
zafeer from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Happy familiy”

Perfect location and worth the money. For elephant activities check with reception/staff.

Reviewed September 13, 2018
6.0
Andreea from Australia
Family with teens
Superior Double Room with River View and balcony
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Waking Up With Elephants”

Location, Location, Location

The hotel had a superb location. We woke up with elephants bathing right outside our window. They walked straight past when they were taken for a swim twice a day, the most amazing view to watch. I booked two river view rooms over the Internet. When we got there, the rooms were miles apart and the staff insisted the hotel was full (we barely saw anybody there during our stay. Once the elephants leave the river, the people vanish. At dinner, there was only one other table with people and two at breakfast). We were eventually given one upgraded room, at the back, which was great. My husband and daughter said they had the best night's sleep. The bed was lovely and comfortable, with nice clean bedding. My other daughter and I were in probably in the worst possible room. One sheet to cover ourselves, disgusting carpet, broken bathroom door, lights that didn't work, awful curtains. Still, it was a superb location to watch the elephants for one night. This is a town where people come to see the elephants and then leave at the end of the day. If you want a peaceful, quiet place once the crowds depart, this is the place and totally worth it for one night.

Reviewed August 09, 2015
6.7
Good
wendy from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Breakfast with the elephants ”

Location. Rooms staff

I was only there for 1 night Location was the main reason I booked the hotel Staff are friendly and polite Food is average but good value if on a budget I would stay again if I was travelling to see the elephants again

Reviewed October 19, 2014
5.7
Salah from Jordan
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013

fantastic”

view - view -view

The hotel was not clean , service were ok ,toelit was not ok , the only good thing was the location , the view were very beautiful especailly in the morning . You can see the elephants going to the river from your room.

Reviewed May 14, 2013
6.3
Good
Irene from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013

Best position to see the elephants”

Position, position, position

It is unrivalled for seeing the elephants and is on the banks of a beautiful river. It is more a wedding hotel than one for tourists and there are only a small amount of rooms. Outdoor areas are not kept very clean but staff are attentive and overall it was good value for money and I would stay again. Nothing else to do in the area but the elephants are spectacular. Many touts ruin the experience and can be aggressive.

Reviewed March 16, 2013
6.7
Good
Martin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Superb location overlooking elephant bathing spot.”

Location for elephant bathing; value for money; short walking distance distance to elephant orphanage

Rooms basic but functional. 2 single beds pushed together for double (1 mattress springs gone...very uncomfortable). Outstanding location overlooking elephant bathing spot for afternoon and following morning bathes, post-breakfast. Food cheap and tasty. Noisy departure of cricket/football team bus from 4am until 5am outside the room was unfortunate. This was excellent value for money and a short minivan hop to Kandy the next day.

Reviewed March 07, 2013
6.3
Good
chek from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Good budget hotel with great river views”

Proximity to elephants gathering, craft and souvenir shops, decent choice of food

This is an ideally located hotel if you have a passion for elephants and wants them to come to you while you lounge around by the hotel. The river is a bonus due to it's size and flow over the shallow rocks and your entrance is already included if you are a hotel guest. Folks there are generally friendly , makes a great day trip outing, just be prepared for not much ado after sunset. Definitely a place for nature lovers, glad we made an effort to come here.

Reviewed February 19, 2013
7.3
Very good
Ed from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Good location for viewing elephants”

Location value for money

Booked four rooms for group 3 very good but one had problems with air conditioning not working which was not attedended to although we stayed two nights . Pinnawella is a little way out and an hours journey frm Kandy and with hindsight I think we would have booked one night and then moved on to Kandy. Breakfast good although second day we had fruit and juices which were not offered first day. Suspect the chef may have changed . It's a small hotel with only 7 rooms and they seem to use the kitchen at their sister hotel next door for evening meals. Limited meal choice in the evening but food was fine. Elephants came down to bathe at 8 for a small group and then 50 plus came down at 10 when most of the tourists arrived and paid to watch..staying at hotel meant no payment and sitting out at breakfast overlooking elephants bathing was good experience. Value for money hotel better than expected.

Reviewed February 17, 2013
5.7
Jaspaul from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Large screen discovery chanel”

nature show live

it was all about the pinnawala elephant orphanage and nothing else. hotel is located 2 minutes walking distance from the elephants and they walk down the road in front of the hotel to go to the river for bath. sitting in the restaurant with an ice cold beer and watching these wonderful creatures was amazing. i did not want to change the channel, it was live discovery channel.

Reviewed January 31, 2013
5.7
Philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Great Location”

location

Good location if you want to see the elephants. It is a choice as to whether you watch them from the hotel (recemmended) or you pay to see them at the sanctuary. The hotel was clean with lovely view from the river side. It was still low season during our visit and quiet, lots of staff hanging around looking to make aa quick rupee from guests (unfortunately, only us there. Food expensive for the quality, but not much local options. summary, very touristy, clean, expensive food and annoying staff, but great if you want to see the elephants.

Reviewed December 31, 2012
7.3
Very good
joyce from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Wonderful ice cream for the eyes ”

Comfortably adequate facilities. Night sky is relatively unaffected by minimal levels of light pollution, resulting in visibility of a beautiful starry sky.

The hotel is situated by a fast flowing river in a slightly more rural area of Sri Lanka, so the majesty and wonder of nature is clearly felt here. Though there may not be as extensive of an ideal paradise for shopaholics here as in Colombo, the fresh air, though slightly perfumed with the scent of elephants, coupled with the coolness of the shade amply provided by the trees and the running, bursting stream is really quite tasty. Apart from that which has been said as well as the opportunity to watch the rather cute/fat/slightly stinky close up/big elephants bathe in the river in the morning, the hotel is also a ten minute amble to the elephant orphanage where a good work is being done. It is definitely worth visiting. Finally, the sky grows clear and bright with stars splashed over the dark canopy of night, so a night spent there would be honestly nice.

Reviewed December 22, 2012
7.7
Very good
Eoghan from Ireland
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Good hotel to see the elephants bathing”

Clean, big rooms, view of te elephants from breakfast

Friendly staff, clean rooms. Fairly standard and not expensive. Gets very busy during the days with tourists coming to see the elephants but very quiet at night. Good spot to see the elephants but the elephant handlers will try to get u to come down to the water and see the elephants and then try and ask for an extortionate tip and money for the banana- my advice is to stay put and watch from the restaurant over breakfast

Reviewed November 26, 2012
7.7
Very good
Gordon from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in March 2012

Excellent staff & good visit”

Watching the elephants bathing while having breakfast.

We had a small problem with the electricity failing but this was resolved after about 20 minutes and it did not occur again. Perfect way to start our holiday by going to the hotel from the airport and being able to see the elephants the next morning.

Reviewed March 20, 2012
6.3
Good
John from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Great for elephant watching”

Elephants, elephants, elephants!

stayed 2 nights in early march 2012. seemed a good value for the money. room was small but acceptable though a bit crowded with furnishings. ac worked fine. toilet was clean. restaurant serves good food. caution! a rice dish such as nasi goreng is large enough for 2 normal appetites. the included breakfast is of the continental variety, mostly slightly toasted bread, butter, jam. anything more is at your charge though not expensive. service is slow but, hey, you're on vacation, no? we watched the small herd of elephants come down to water and the larger ones spent some time scratching their heads and ears on a rock outcrop. fun to watch. the large herd comes down later in the am (10:00 am) but by that time we'd left to go to dambulla area. nice view of the river and surrounding terrain from the open air restaurant. was a bit surprised there weren't more flies but it was a nice surprise. if you're in a chauffeured car the hotel won't provide a free room for him as the more expensive hotels do. should cost you about 800 ~ 1000 sl rupees per night for that ($8 ~ 10 us). all in all an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed March 20, 2012
7.3
Very good
Ronald from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Great location to view elephants”

Good position, comfortable rooms, good service

We stayed for two nights at the end of a trip to Sri Lanka. It was a good place to relax and watch elephants who come twice a day to bathe. The hotel was good, though there are extension works going on which did not disturb us. There was a wedding on when we were there which was interesting and again did not disturb us. Beware of the security man who will try to charge you for access to the hotel and insist on getting to reception to get checked in. We travelled by public bus which was feasible and fun though most guests had cars.

Reviewed March 09, 2012
4.7
Myles from South Africa
Group
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

'View of the elephants worthwhile'”

View of the elephants

Hotel rather disappointing. As we had to wait for our rooms, we were offered a complimentary cup of tea. The cups were cracked and was lucky that the handle did not come off in my hand. We were unlucky to experience a wedding reception. What a 'din'. The staff were unable to speak English, apart from the manager.The service was really slow and breakfast really bad.However, worth a night's stay to see the elephants.

Reviewed February 25, 2012
3.0
alistair from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012

Good location Bad rooms”

View of elephants

Regretfully not a lot good to say about this hotel. The were supposed to be twelve rooms in this hotel however there were only 5, the floor above us was possibly where the other rooms had been but was just a shell with work in progress whih meant there was a lot of dust and debris. The room we were in the matress split at the bottom and the stuffing coming out. The window catches were broken so that they did not stay shut. the noise from the plumbing was unbearable. The Staff were not really interested in the guests staying at the hotel they appeared only to look after the tourists who came down to watch the elephants in the river. The staff were quite rude and when asked about internet access we were told to go to the internet cafe aong the road 25 kilometers away. The food was acceptable at times

Reviewed February 23, 2012
5.7
Carl from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Friendly Staff”

It has a great view of the elephants from the elephant orphanage bathing in the river.

The location for watching the elephants is great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was acceptable and the quanity was adequate. The building is outdated and in bad need of an upgrade. Although the rooms were sparsely furnished, they were clean. There was plenty of hot water for morning showers but only one towel, no soap or shampoo. Fortunately we had our own!

Reviewed January 04, 2012
4.0
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Only good thing is the view.”

The view of the elephants from both the room and the dining area is the only reason to stay here.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a nice woman behind the desk, but a very pushy male worker wanting us to go on elephant rides. I'm not sure what his title was, but he was always there. It was obvious that he got a commision for taking us to the elephant ride guy. That evening we decided to get dinner at the hotel, and it was pretty terrible. The waiter and bell boys were very nice however. I guess it helped that I tipped them. That night there was a private function in the dining area where about 50 local men were all singing and playing very very very loud music until about 11:30pm. This was unbelievably loud and the management just ignored our complaints and said, sorry, but it will be over soon. I thought that at least they should have mentioned this late night party to people staying there ahead of time. We were tired, but it was a late and loud night for us. There were insects in the room, and we found the place a bit dirty in the toilet. The TV didnt work, but when I asked, they replaced it with one that did. Also, no internet anywhere to be found.

Reviewed January 03, 2012
4.3
ANNE from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Terrific Location, sad hotel”

Great Location

This hotel is really well locted for visits to the elephant orphanage; or for skipping the orphanage and taking advantage of the twice a day elephant bathing from the hotel restaurant. The rooms are in serious need of a spruce-up and the restaurant is below ordinary with no Sri Lankan food available. Something of a monopoly that does not provide value for money in its present state.

Reviewed December 18, 2011
4.3
PEI from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Average stay”

good view , nature , quiet

Good location with good view for elephants at riverside . Poor check in with unfriendly reception girls . Headache for electric power supply .

Reviewed June 19, 2014
6.7
Good
Christopher from Canada
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Great location, not luxurious but decent”

location to the elephants

the rooms are nothing to write home about, they are small and somewhat dingy and the restaurant is mediocore at best, but the elephants and the proximity to their bathing spot is so worth it

Reviewed January 05, 2013
5.3
Taren from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Good for viewing the elephants”

the elephants

We had a wonderful time watching the elephants in action

Reviewed September 09, 2012
5.3
Aishath from Maldives
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Nice view”

A really nice view

Hotel with nice view, elephants bathing, kids enjoyed

Reviewed August 26, 2012
5.7
Aishath from Maldives
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Great Location”

Nice view

Its a good location and view from the room balcony is superb, kids enjoyed the elephants passing by the hotel and elephant bathing at the river.

Reviewed August 26, 2012
8.8
Excellent
marcia from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

excellent location”

The location is excellent for watching the elephants bathing in the river every day.

Reviewed February 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jeff from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double Room Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Perfect location for viewing the Elephants barthing, the staff are the best I have ever had, and fo.”

I can not find any cons

Reviewed February 19, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Brett from Qatar
Couple
Superior Double Room with River View and balcony
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Great View”

The view from the restaurant and the room with a river view was amazing. The staff were great and very helpful. Will definitely recommend it to a friend!

Reviewed December 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
jingyu from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe - Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Good service and convenient to see the elephant”

Good service and very convenient to watch the elephant bathing.

Reviewed October 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mariana from Brazil
Couple
Deluxe - Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Good choice”

Good choice instead of going to orphanage, cause the elephants bath just in front of the hotel

Reviewed November 27, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Donny from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

The Elephant Park”

stay in this hotel, just focus on elephant , no more room is very good clean

Reviewed October 10, 2016
8.0
Excellent
ROHAN from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

So close to the pachyderms!”

The super location, friendlyand helpful staff, proximity to elephant orphanage and minixoo.

Entirely satisfactory.

Reviewed August 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Volha from Belarus
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Best location, clean and nice room”

Location, clean room with fresh repair

Good pleasant stay for 1 night with incredible elephant bathing

Reviewed August 16, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Knut from Norway
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Balcony River View
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Location. Location. .”

As Hotel visitores you free view to elephants bathing. ..

Chilenske was very pleased ...

Reviewed July 29, 2015