Book Now: Hotel Geneve

Excellent8.2
Based on 85 reviews

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (85)
Booking.com Reviews (595)

8.2

Filter by guest type:
Excellent
based on 85 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.2
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.4
Very good
based on 23 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.7
Excellent
based on 30 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.6
Excellent
based on 26 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.8
Exceptional
based on 1 reviews
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Location 10.0
  • Room comfort and quality 10.0
  • Service 10.0
  • Value for money 10.0
Very good
based on 5 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • Español
  • 简体中文
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Русский
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • Bahasa Indonesia
  • Magyar
more less

Room type
  • Deluxe
  • Junior Suite

Sort by
Showing 83 verified guest comments
  • clear all

8.3
Sylvia from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Good location and good value for money”
Good location and good value for money
Stay was fine. Central location, easy to explore the city so hotel was a good base. Room was comfortable but our room was to the back and sounded like there was a huge fan on all day and night which was annoyiing. Room was clean-ish, difficult to say with carpets. Bathroom was also ok but we did have a bug one day... Overall good value for money but not as good as expected.
Reviewed October 16, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
pei from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Prime location, prompt check-in, beautiful hotel”
Grand architecture, central location and hospitable staff
I had such a lovely stay at this centrally located hotel. Many street stalls and restaurants were open till late as it seems like a popular hangout spots for the locals. Furthermore, it is superbly safe place for a lone female traveller. There are many money changers around and also markets with a shopping mall right across the hotel. All in all, it's a superb location with the hotel offering value for money.
Reviewed October 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Mark from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
value for money”
price, location, concierge
Concierge was very helpful. Hotel is in a good, safe neighbourhood. You get what you pay for - reasonably priced rooms albeit a tad old.
Reviewed October 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Tamas from Hungary
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in August 2014
Nice traditional hotel in bustling Zona Rosa”
Style, breakfast, easy access
Very pleasant stay - already fourth time. The only major problem is the very poor internet connection in the room. In the lobby it works fine.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
frank from Albania
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Wonderful historic hotel”
Great hotel with charm and history. I look fporward to my next stay.
Very enjoyable
Reviewed September 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Jie from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
friendly hotel”
location, friendly staff, next to plaza
overall great stay, very close to good restaurant and is in the good part of town. Just don't stray too far from this hotel.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Benjamin from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Very classy, centrally located hotel”
Location, price, aesthetics
I only stayed one night, but the hotel was beautiful in a fairly centrally located area. 5 minutes from one of the subway stations, almost immediately adjacent the main pedestrian area of the zona rosa and all the décor in the hotel was perfectly done. I was very happy with my stay
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Berthold from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
great”
location friendly historic
Reviewed July 21, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Yun-Hsien from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014
Best experience of stay!”
1. the staff are friendly and ready to help; 2. the ground level is luxurious and elegant, like a 18th century palace; 3. the breakfast menu is great & buffet area can win "the best design".
Reviewed July 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Ian from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in May 2014
Enjoyable experience at a fair price”
Location, elegance, comfort
I had stayed in the zona rosa on several occasions but not at this hotel This time the price was extremely competitive and for the cost one gets to stay in an aging gem. The rooms are dated but acceptable and the lobby is historic and interesting. The staff are excellent - attentive and polite. The hotel is in the "entertainment" area with many bars and restaurants close by; however I was not disturbed by any noise. There does not appear to be any security problems in the area; certainly not in the hotel where security staff carefully watch what is going on. The metro is about 5 minutes walk. There is a good business centre but some may find that the charges are high. There is a spa with massage.
Reviewed June 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Tracy from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
The lobby is just amazing!”
The foyer was beautiful with so much history. The gym was not over busy and had good equipment. English not readly spoken but staff very helpful & Concierge was a great help.
Over all the hotel was very good and would stay there again. As the hotel is older (the oldest in Mexico City) the rooms are not what we would expect from a newer 4 star hotel. saying that the rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. The lobby is just amazing. It was centrally located in Zona Rosa and was an easy walk to most destinations. We never felt unsafe in in this area.
Reviewed May 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Sharifah from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
charming and comfortable hotel”
great character, good and friendly staff, good food
i had a lovely stay at the hotel and will definitely recommend it to my friends
Reviewed May 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Francisco from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Excellent”
Gay Gay Gay
Great, awesome hotel for the Gay traveler, all you need for a good gay stay!
Reviewed January 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Marjolijn from Netherlands
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Comfortable during hard work”
Location, elegance, cleanliness
I went three times. I guess first and second times awesome, then we knew. The problem with violence and insecurity in Mexico are benefitting Hotel Chains such as Calinda, like this one, yet it is better tobe safe than sorry. The historical memories, the telephones withnthe Presidentes of the Republic are lovely and outdated. Stillmthe parisian feel of it is interesting. in a very poor and suffering country one can go slightly more modest which we eventually did. I always returned safely, not ill, raped, or kidnapped.
Reviewed September 27, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.3
KIMIHIKO from Japan
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Stuck drainpipe”
Large room, easy to access to metro and close to restaurants.
In the bathroom, drainpipe has been stuck. We lost shower time due to bad drain. Shower water cannot drain out from bathtub properly, but flood back from the hole beside of toilet. Just before leaving to airport in the morning, we cannot wait the fixing. But I doubt if the bathtub has been cleaned with water...
Reviewed August 24, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
KIMIHIKO from Japan
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Noisy air conditioning unit”
Large room, easy to access metro, and close to shopping district.
We annoyed during night. Outside air conditioning units made big noisy every 20-30min. I recoomend avoiding the rooms facing the unit at patio.
Reviewed August 24, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Perfect for city sightseeing”
Location, location and location
Beautiful lobby and public access areas. The room however was adequate and did not reflect the grandieur of the public areas.
Reviewed August 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
katherine from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
lovely & accommodating”
Service, nice rooms. clean. comfortable beds, nice bathrooms
Wonderful, accommodating staff, clean, nice beds and baths. good transportation services. lovely surroundings. convenient for business. central location to visit museums and other important sites in mexico city.
Reviewed July 04, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Masanori from Japan
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
It is fair to stay than in big and modern hotels.”
Classic, musium type, and convenient.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
anne from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Strong focus on guest satisfaction”
location staff comfort
It was obvious as soon as we arrived that the staff (especially Valente) were proud of the hotel and wanted our stay to be a memorable one. Despite being very close to restaurants, bars and the main boulevard we didn't hear a thing at night and slept soundly in the comfortable beds made with quality linen. The lounge was great to relax with a drink and we were so close to everything we walked everywhere. Just watch the cost of the cars they organise. The price is OTT. We had no probs hailing our own taxis for one third the cost .
Reviewed April 09, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Takashi from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
good place to stay to enjoy night life in the city”
good location for eating out the local food
the water leak from the bathtab was one of my concern. i wanted to take shower as much as possible without thinking about the leakage.... also, it would be helpful to have more information about gym and spa in the room.
Reviewed February 14, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Zi from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
cool place Churchill stayed there apparently ”
feels like you are back in the 19th century
It was really good, good location good environment good food around it central to everything and the staff were very helpful in helping since we don't speak Spanish
Reviewed February 02, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
RAYMOND from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Museum Hotel ”
Unique experience being accommodated in a very old building in Mexico DF
the hotel itself has its own history. has a museum inside and has a very nice lobby surrounding you the century old paintings. the hotel room is huge and has a window to check out those people partying outside. theres a mall infront of the hotel wherein you can eat. nearby starbucks. whats annoying is only the place is full of gays. i think the place they called it pink area wherein a lot of gays hanging around and kissing in public. not good place for family.
Reviewed January 31, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Anne from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Very beautiful historic hotel”
Fantastic location, rooms clean, staff very helpful.
Location zone rosa great place to be in with lots of places to eat. Easy access to outer areas with train facilities very close. I would definitely want to stay in this hotel again if I am in Mexico city. Hotel lobby gives you a feeling of sitting in your own lounge, not a hotel lobby.
Reviewed January 05, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Tamara from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in November 2012
great location, friendly staff ”
The staff provide exceptional customer service, I would highly recommend this hotel.
we stated at geneve for 6 nights, a must is the pyramids. there are many nice restaurants including the polazo. we recommend however that english speaking travellers either learn the basics of spanish or take a translation book as most people o ly speak spanish. the hotel staff though speak good english. taxis can be found right outside the hotel, although expect to pay more with these.
Reviewed December 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
huichuan from China
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
good place”
beautiful lobby
very good hotel and stuff, near to everything, even chinese food!the location is very good, near subway and by taxi is only 65peso(by meter) though the fixed price is 220.
Reviewed October 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
huichuan from China
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
beautiful hotel”
good location
very centered hotel near subway ,bar, shopping center etc, convenient for everything and stuff is helpful, recommand to my friends!
Reviewed October 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
huichuan from China
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
lovely hotel”
beautiful lobby
location is very good ,near to everything, food, bar ,subway,shopping and parks. stuff is very helpful, to airport is only 65peso!
Reviewed October 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
huichuan from China
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
good location”
beautiful lobby
very good hotel and stuff, near to everything, even chinese food!the location is very good, near subway and by taxi is only 65peso(by meter) though the fixed price is 220.
Reviewed October 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
huichuan from China
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
good hotel”
beautiful lobby
very good hotel and stuff, near to everything, even chinese food!the location is very good, near subway and by taxi is only 65peso(by meter) though the fixed price is 220.
Reviewed October 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
huichuan from China
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
beautiful hotel”
good location
the hotel is at the city center and the stuff is very helpful!very easy to get everything,such as subway,tour ,food,shopping by walk ! i will back to this hotel next time!
Reviewed October 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Sueng from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012
good location, reasonable price”
location
Hotel location was good at least for me. Staff was very kind and super nice. I do not want to conplain a lot but internet was not fast. I hope they put more channels on tv.
Reviewed October 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Takashi from Japan
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
This location is the best.”
Location,price and room sre good.
When I stayed at that hotel,I useed some public transfer system such as Metro and Metro bus.From this hotel I could to go the station only 2 minutes.It's location is very very good.
Reviewed September 28, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Alexandre from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Hotel with lot of history”
An vintage hotel, with its own museum very interesting
Let me stated, the hotel itself is very nice. I stayed 4 nights in Mexico City for business purposes. Maybe its not a good location for business purpose as it located in Zona Rossa. You wont have problem finding all kind of food, its just the surrounding area is full of bar, so noise is a bit disturbing.
Reviewed September 26, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Heather from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Fantastic hotel!Perfect location, service & room”
Classy and stylish hotel. Immaculate in every way
We loved the Hotel Geneve and wished that we could stay longer. It was in a perfect location. The building is very glamorous and in excellent condition. Rooms are roomy, clean and well appointed.
Reviewed August 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
JIN from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Great location buy a little noisy.”
Great location buy a little noisy.
All staffs were very kindness service. This hotel is located very covenient position. But it's a little noisy but that's ok. I wish to stay this hotel again.
Reviewed June 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Poor city location. Chang loacation.”
Good theme, good food, and very good service.
Relocate hotel to Colonia Polanco or other safe colonia of D.F.
Reviewed June 11, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Wenji from China
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Great location but small room”
close to the main street
great location, very close to the main street. historical hotel, the room is neat, bed is very comfort. but room is too small. we stayed over weekend, it is noisy till 5am in the morning.
Reviewed May 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Philip from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 7 nights in April 2012
Classy hotel, lots of restaurants nearby”
The foyer and rich Mexican history
we loved this hotel! we didn’t see any other rooms, and given the bargain price we paid through agoda we suspect it wasn’t the best on offer, but it was very stylish, sweet and clean. the beds were covered in plump cushions, and there was lovely white sofa and sitting area. the hotel is steeped in history (opened 1906?) and the foyer is a class act, worth a look in itself. the hotel is owned by carlos slim, the richest man in the world. we also loved the location in the zona rosa, although i’ve noted from other websites, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. there were lots of restaurants and cafes within 100 metres, and we ate somewhere different every day/night for a week. we found the area very safe, including at night, and it had a real neighborhood feel to it, just a few streets back from the reforma with the streets lined with trees and box hedges. surprising as it may sound, we mainly used the metro to get around in mexico city, but at 30c a trip it was safe, clean and efficient. the insurgentes station is just 100m from the hotel. the reception and concierge staff were courteous and helpful, although there were some minor issues on the housekeeping and maintenance side. my main criticism was probably with the sanborns restaurant attached to the hotel. whilst i acknowledge i was in a spanish speaking country, a little more attempt to accommodate english speakers would have been more consistent with the international standard of the hotel.
Reviewed April 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Gordon from United States
Solo traveler
Junior Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
few complaints staying with this grand old hotel”
jr. suite had large room with comfortable furnishings
the first room was unacceptable and moved to 2nd floor large bedroom with dining table for 2 and white suede wingback chair. noisy air-conditioning, but quiet in the night room. continental breakfast included, but service was slow to better go to the entrance way coffee shop. off-lobby bar was cozy, but rarely used during the easter week holiday time. ask for a ginger margarita that they don't have and waiter doesn't tell you they don't have, and delivers a good, but typical margarita without a word. mexican culture moment when they don't say they don't have 'ginger', but bring you what they do have. go figure the catholic/spanish repression that still shows up in a hotel bar! english newspaper available in the entrance-way store, which has everything! concierge is helpful, but uninformed about restaurant and bars......or, was it the easter holiday? hotel taxis are $$$$ private cars, so best to hail a meter cab yourself. to the airport hotel car is worth it at usd. free wi-fi!!!!
Reviewed April 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
vitool from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
great historical hotel”
historical and good loation
This one of the oldest hotel in the city and great historical hotel that many political and super star have been stayed here. The hotel room has been renovated clean and modern just a bit noisy on night times which very closed to night life places.
Reviewed March 01, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Mark from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in December 2008
Nice hotel”
Recently renovated. Super clean.
Noisy street.
If you want to be in the Zona Rosa, this is probably the best option. It was recently renovated for its 100th anniversary (to look like it did when it opened) and it´s got the charm often missing in big, modern hotels. The staff is helpful and there´s a Sanborns restaurant, store and pharmacy in the lobby, which is convienient. Easy access to Insurgentes Metrobus and subway station, the Angel and Reforma Avenue.
Reviewed January 06, 2009
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Mark from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 10 nights in August 2008
great hotel”
Recently renovated for 100th anniversary to reflect its history. Super clean.
Area can be a bit noisy at night.
This is a great hotel in a fun area. Located near the "Angel" in the Zona Rosa, it's in the heart of all the action and provides easy access to great neighborhoods (La Condesa, Roma) as well as Insurgentes Sur and Reforma. The recent renovation takes you back to the charm of the early 20th century in its look, but is completely up-to-date as far as ammenities. Avoid modern, corporate hotels and stay here!
Reviewed September 10, 2008
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Mark from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in December 2007
Highly recommended”
A nice hotel in a fun, centrally located in a lively area (lots of clubs, cafes and shops...including many gay establishments).
Reviewed January 04, 2008
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.8
Alvaro from Spain
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Decadente y asquerosamente sucio”
Bañera sucia, pelos en la cama, bichos en la habitación, el mini se cerrado como si fuese un delincuente (no vaya a ser que quiera irme sin pagar, increíble), personal que tarda media hora en subir una simple toalla. Amago de hotel de época pero es un quiero y no puedo. No saben lo que es la elegancia en el trato, todo el rato pidiendo disculpas. Menos disculpas y más hacer las cosas bien. La habitación casposa, con gotele y vieja (que no clásica).
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
cinthya from Mexico
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
excelente lugar, me encanto ”
la cama muy comoda, la locacion del lugar y la decoracion
Reviewed February 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Enrique from Mexico
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Bueno para estancias cortas”
Servicio, Limpieza,
No tienen servicio de transporte del aeropuerto al hotel a menos que reserves en el aeropuerto, con reservacion en linea no. A pesar que en la reservacion tenia cama King, al hacer el check in no habia disponibles y me dieron dos individuales.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
KAORI from Japan
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Biva Geneve”
servicio estupendo
Vengo de japon. objeto de adorno es muy bello! me llevo un buen recuerdo. staf smils very goooood!!
Reviewed September 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
philippe from France
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
hotel historico venido a menos”
edificio, patio interior, decoracion
personal de formacion y competencia heterogenea desayuno de calidad lamentable,servido por un joven familiar y guason reserva con antelacion inutil: al llegar solicito una habitacion tranquila que no de a la calle y me dan una habitacion de esquina sin doble acristalamiento !!! por el mismo precio hay 50 mejores hoteles en el df
Reviewed February 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Patrick from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Service perfect profesional and smily staff”
Perfect place for selling point. Seightseeing nightlife and buisness
Love the little museum of the hotel is interesting The decoration and the ambiance are special The staff is lovely smily and relax . They say you all its possible to do in this area and they carefull of you
Reviewed October 20, 2012
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: