Excellent 8.1
Based on 4878 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type

based on 4875 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food and dining 7.7
Sort by

Muhammad from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
good hotel
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Saira from United Kingdom
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Location, Entertainment, Friendly Staff
Our stay was brilliant, the hotel is beautiful and has live singers every night. It is also close to bus and train stations and walking distance from a variety of food and shopping places. The only thing I would recommend was if breakfast had been included in the price as it was at other locations I stayed at in Kuala Lumpur and other cities in Malaysia; to have it included at Istana was increasing the price greatly.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nizam from Brunei Darussalam
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
it was ok
location of hotel was ok. hotel is abit old now. could do with a bit of renovation
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Elaine from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Refurbished Hotel. Good location.
Good service and good location.
This was the 4th time staying in Istana over the last 10 years. Staff are helpful always. Our 1st stay here (10 years ago), drove in, walked in and approached this Hotel for room availability on the spot during peak season. Were travelling w/ 2 young children and looking for lodging very challenging especially past 1 am. Hotel staff allowed us to check in and charged half the rate for our stay. Appreciate their help and good service. Hotel rooms/ toilets had been refurbished. Pleasant stay, near shopping malls, basement carpark. About 15 mins walk to the Pavillion Mall. Our choice of hotel!!
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Poh from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
For business is fine but not as a vacation hotel
Rather good location and clean room.
This is my first time to stay in this hotel and I asked for an upgrade which they kindly do so after a 15 minutes wait for approval when I checked into the hotel at 6.30pm. I was upgraded to a Club Room but was not allowed to use the Club facilities. Food at restaurant serve Indian food so not suitable for those who wants international food. Also, only 2 lifts were in operation so it takes a while before one can catch the lift and thus the lift was rather crowded.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Ju from Malaysia
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
It was okay
Big bathroom
The room was alright, although I had issues with the key card / key lock. The key card had issues opening the door a number of times. Bathroom is good as it was spacious.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Sagar from India
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
good one
centrally located, good staff, good breakfast
Located centrally near the KLCC area.. can walk around as well. good staff and restaurant.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Sagar from India
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Good one..
Centrally located, good staff
Located centrally near the KLCC area.. can walk around as well. good staff and restaurant.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Khalid from Saudi Arabia
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Great hotel and great location and friendly staff
comfortable room, and good hotel location, and near shopping areas and restaurants
It was an excellent trip, we really enjoyed it, we really liked the hotel Istana, there are many shopping areas near by it, and also, there are many restaurans and other attractions. We will stay in Istana Hotel next time we visit Kuala Lumpur.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Sin from Malaysia
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Good location
Food. Location. Price.
It was the second time we stayed in this hotel. The experience was so different from the first time that we wonder if the service we get in this hotel would differ according to the type of room we book, because the first time we stayed there we booked a suite, but this time round we booked a normal room. There were no hand towels, no face towels, no toothbrush, no bathrobe. We strongly doubt that a hotel rated five-star would only prepare these for the guests in a suite, but not for the guests in a normal room. We had to call housekeeping again and again to request for all these things one by one (not because i wanted to be difficult; it's because i didn't know those things weren't there until i needed to use them). If the hotel was not advertised as a five-star hotel then of course we wouldn't have expected to get these amenities prepared for us. The air-con was not working well but we were so tired of calling housekeeping that we just decided to bear with it. The things that remain good are the location (near Pavilion), reasonable price and the food. For me, their Nasi Lemak is still one of the tastiest in Malaysia. There were only a few months (definitely less than a year) between the first stay and the second stay. We hope when we decide to stay in the hotel for the third time, things would be different (in a good way).
Reviewed November 14, 2013


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: