Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 50200
- View on map
Club Room - Guestroom Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Club Room - Guestroom
    Removed from saved list
    Interior view Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    Interior view Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    Club Room - Guestroom Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    See all 47 photos
     Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

    Guest reviews

    8.2
    Excellent
    /10
    (7454 reviews)See what guests said
    8.4
    Excellent

    "Classic hotel with awesome food!"

    Jamie

    -

    December 27, 2018

    8.2
    Excellent service
    Recommended by 89% of guests

    Property highlights

    Things you'll love

    • 150 meters to public transportation

    • Airport transfer

    • Currency exchange

    • Located in heart of Kuala Lumpur

    Excellent
    Location
    8.9
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Popular neighborhood
    Nearby
    Popular
  • The Weld140 m
  • Raja Chulan Monorail Station150 m
  • California Fitness160 m
  • Thetole Acupuncture & Herbal Medical Centre180 m
  • Kitschy Classy Kuala Lumpur210 m
  • No Black Tie220 m
  • Finnegan’s250 m
  • Blue Boy280 m
  • Green Man300 m
  • Olé Café300 m
  • This property is in high demand!

    Booked 27 times in the last 2 days | 6 travelers are looking at this property right now

    Value for money8.1
    Distance to city center0.1 km
    Location rating8.9
    Nearest airportSultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport (SZB)
    Distance to airport17.4 km
    Select your room
    8.1
    Excellent
    Room comfort & quality
    Deluxe
    Deluxe
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Club Suite
    Club Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 79 m²/850 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Club Room
    Club Room
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Twin Towers View
    Deluxe Twin Towers View
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Bedroom Suite With Breakfast
    1 Bedroom Suite With Breakfast
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard 1 Bedroom Suite
    Standard 1 Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices
    Suite Two Bedrooms
    Suite Two Bedrooms
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Suite One Bedroom
      Suite One Bedroom
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Two Bedroom Suite
        Two Bedroom Suite
        ...
        • Non-smoking
        Enter dates to see prices
        Twin Room Deluxe
        Twin Room Deluxe
        ...
        • 1 sofa bed
        Enter dates to see prices
        Have a question for Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre?

        What people love about the property

        • 10.0
          Exceptional

          "Everything about this hotel are Great!"

          Mr.

          |

          December 19, 2018

        • 5.6
          Review score

          "The location is good in Bookit Bintang."

          Corina

          |

          January 11, 2019

        • 8.0
          Very good

          "Pros: room was big, lounge was awesome, the singers were splendid for happy hour, staffs(reception and bellboy) was extremely nice."

          Nurul

          |

          December 22, 2018

        Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

        Prices drop the moment you sign in!

        Sign in now
        More about Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

        More about Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

        6.4
        Good

        "Room service was excellent."

        Akhtar

        |

        January 11, 2019

        An overview

        Show less

        What they offer

        7.6
        Very good

        "The area was very convenient, and the sport bar inside was n..."

        Ian

        |

        January 14, 2019

        Show less

        Nearest essentials

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        What to eat nearby

        American cuisine
        American cuisine
        The Burger Bar by Fatboy's Concepts
        170 m American, Bar, Barbecue
        Ship
        210 m American, Asian, European
        51 Restaurant & Bar
        310 m American, Bar, European
        Asian cuisine
        Asian cuisine
        Kampachi Equatorial Hotel
        130 m Asian, Japanese, Sushi
        Shabu One
        150 m Asian
        Restoran Nagasari Curry House
        150 m Asian, Halal, Indian
        Chinese cuisine
        Chinese cuisine
        Yan's Restaurant
        400 m Chinese
        Silk Road
        470 m Chinese
        Shui Kee
        470 m Chinese

        What's nearby

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show more

        Property's guest policies

        Show less

        Some helpful facts

        Show less

        Announcements

        From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

        Real reviews from real guests

        Agoda Reviews (7454)Booking.com Reviews (3471)
        8.2
        /
        10
        Cleanliness8.0
        Facilities8.1
        Location8.9
        Room comfort and quality8.1
        Service8.2
        Value for money8.1
        Provided by verified guests of Agoda
        All languages
        All guests (7454)
        All room types

        Show reviews that mention 

        Showing 6005 verified guest comments
        12345
        8.4
        Excellent
        Siti from Malaysia
        Business traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in April 2019
        Need improvement”
        The check in process smooth, beside the give me chance to check in early. I really mesmerized by the beauty of lobby and cafe at ground floor. Im disappointed by room condition. The bed is hard, beside the interior is old school. I do hope if hotel managment can improve it. Otherwise the course venue is comfortable and food so delicious.
        Reviewed April 26, 2019
        Dear Siti Thank you for reviewing your recent experience as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded May 14, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Lee from Malaysia
        Couple
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in November 2018
        Staff need awareness on breastmilk handling method”
        Pro: Love their breakfast! Alot of varieties. Cons: Passed my freezed breastmilk (in cooler bag) upon check-in to the receptionist and requested them to freeze it. However, when I received back my breastmilk during check-out, it was all thawed and the cooler bag is cold. I suspect the put the whole bag into the freezer/ fridge. Wasted my 30oz of breastmilk.
        Reviewed April 23, 2019
        Dear Lee Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. While we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your breakfast dining experience at Taman Sari Brasserie, we apologize for the mis-communication regarding the breastmilk issue. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasantness and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        8.4
        Excellent
        Mohd from Malaysia
        Couple
        Deluxe
        Stayed 3 nights in April 2019
        Housekeeping & reception”
        Request for hand towel during housekeeping but was not given due to shortage. Promised to give later but was not delivered on that day. Second day housekeeping was done & again no face towel given. Request by calling housekeeping dept late in the evening, the face was finally delivered. Reception staff were very helpful & friendly. Keep it up!!!
        Reviewed April 22, 2019
        Dear Mohd Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your comments. We have also taken note of your comments regarding our Associates. Kindly rest assured that re-training sessions will be conducted with our Associates to improve their service delivery and to have a professional approach to ensure our guests like you enjoy excellent service and hospitality. Please rest assured that we will not let this occurrence be repeated as it will affect our hotel’s reputation. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        8.4
        Excellent
        LEONARD from Malaysia
        Solo traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in April 2019
        One of the best hotel to stay in Bukit Bintang area”
        Stayed for a night at Hotel Istana on a weekend. Made a last minute booking on a non-smoking room however as I arrived early in the morning, check in for non-smoking room was unavailable as existing guest has yet to check out. Nevertheless, I was offered a choice of check in into a smoking room which is readily available. At first thought I was worried that the room will be filled with cigarettes smell, however upon entering the room there is no sign of foul smell. Overall Hotel Istana is a great hotel to stay and the treatment towards arriving guest is respectable as staff would open doors for you and guide you to he reception and carry your luggage to your room upon check in. The hotel is also within walking distance to Pavillion Mall which is great as I would not need to spent on transportation cost. Will definitely consider to stay in Hotel Istana again when I visit Bukit Bintang. Hope there will be more room promotions in the future to attract more guest.
        Reviewed April 27, 2019
        Dear Leonard Thank you so much for your review. We are honored to hear that Hotel Istana will be your preferred accommodation in the future and are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded May 14, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        8.8
        Excellent
        Evelyn from Malaysia
        Business traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 2 nights in April 2019
        Great location but need upgrading”
        This hotel is strategically situated in the town centre with a few malls nearby within walking distance. However the hotel room needs upgrading especially the electricity/lightings. The lights in the room were flickering on our first night here. Luckily the hotel staff sent a technician to fix the problem within minutes. Thumbs up to their quick response to complaints. Hotel buffet breakfast was great and the cafe staffs were very attentive.
        Reviewed April 25, 2019
        Dear Evelyn Thank you for reviewing your recent experience as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded May 14, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        2.0
        amal
        Business traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 8 nights in April 2019
        It were bad hotel and not safety for be there ”
        I have lost my LV hand bag from my room by housekeeper And the hotel didn’t do any thing Also I call the police The housekeeper opened my luggage and take my hand bag & sunglasses All my lost thing costs 4000$ The hotel not to do any thing really nothing also a sorry for what happened in there’s hotel So it’s not safety
        Reviewed April 24, 2019
        Dear Amal Thank you for reviewing your recent experience as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. While we sympathise with your loss, as you have made a Police Report, the Police Personnel did come to the hotel to view our CCTV and the case is still under investigation. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Tam
        Business traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in April 2019
        Great”
        Great Services all officers, especially officers, Ms.Azwa, Mr. Baharuddin, Ms. Irma, Ms. Rupa, chef din, Mr.Shahril at Business Club Lounge 20 floor, it's great Services here. Too impressive and happiness here at Istana Hotel @ Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        Reviewed April 10, 2019
        Dear Tam Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 12, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Tam
        Business traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in April 2019
        Great all at Istana Hotel”
        Great Services all officers, especially officers, Ms.Azwa, Mr. Baharuddin, Ms. Irma, Ms. Rupa, chef din, Mr.Shahril at Business Club Lounge 20 floor, it's great Services here. Too impressive and happiness here at Istana Hotel @ Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        Reviewed April 10, 2019
        Dear Tam Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 12, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        6.0
        Fong from Singapore
        Family with young children
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in April 2019
        Can improve customer service”
        We reached very early at 4am. Staff promised to get us early check-in by 11am but even when we returned at 2pm the room was not ready. Staff Suraya (not sure if i got her name correct) could have been more helpful in assistance esp since we had a young child in tow. She also seems to avoids eye contact when speaking
        Reviewed April 29, 2019
        Dear Fong Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We have taken note of your comments regarding our Associates. Kindly rest assured that re-training sessions will be conducted with our Associates to improve their service delivery and to have a professional approach to ensure our guests like you enjoy excellent service and hospitality. Please rest assured that we will not let this occurrence be repeated as it will affect our hotel’s reputation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasantness that you have encountered and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded May 14, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Don from Australia
        Couple
        Deluxe
        Stayed 2 nights in April 2019
        Friendly staff in all locations. Great breakfasts and good pool.”
        Breakfast choices numerous to cater for diverse guest base. All staff helpful and friendly. Room good size with extra large bathroom with bath. Close to monorail and hence easy to connect with airport express rail via KL Central. Beware of govt hotel tax payable on departure.
        Reviewed April 22, 2019
        Dear Don Thank you so much for your complimentary comments relating to your experience at the hotel. Your positive review on our hotel is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope that you will continue to support and stay with us on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Sergio
        Family with young children
        Deluxe
        Stayed 3 nights in April 2019
        highly recommended hotel”
        excellent location, comfortable structure and up to expectations, recommended
        Reviewed April 29, 2019
        Dear Sergio Thank you for your recent review as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are delighted that overall you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We hope to be of service to you again in future. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded May 14, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Alberto from Argentina
        Couple
        Deluxe
        Stayed 3 nights in March 2019
        Delightful experience”
        A premium hotel, conveniently located very close to the Monoriel station, just a few steps from Alor street, close to the Twin Towers and the KL Eco Park ... excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms, professional attention, and warm smiles. You can't ask for more. My special thanks to Aziz (I hope I am spelling well his name) who took care of our room in the 15th floor :) Thanks Aziz !
        Reviewed March 31, 2019
        Dear Alberto Thank you so much for your complimentary comments relating to your experience at the hotel. Your positive review on our hotel is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope that you will continue to support and stay with us on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 04, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        8.8
        Excellent
        Huzir from Malaysia
        Family with young children
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in March 2019
        Excellent Receptionist but I was misinformed on the breakfast cost per person”
        During check in, the reception really greet me very well. Registration was fast as well. The only thing that disturb me was when I ask for breakfast cost per person, the reception told me that is was RM15 per person (after discount), but later I was charged RM38 per person. I'm confused. Well, I paid RM76 for additional 2 adults for breakfast (my 2 teenage kids > 12 years old).
        Reviewed March 31, 2019
        Dear Huzir Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding you have encountered during your stay with us. We have highlighted your comments to the respective Head of Department to take corrective measures. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 04, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        9.6
        Exceptional
        tan from Malaysia
        Business traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in March 2019
        Value for money”
        The hotel rooms were recently refurbished. Very comfortable and doesnt feel like it has aged over time. Located in central Kuala Lumpur. Would recommend for business and holiday travellers. Shopping malls are within walking distance.
        Reviewed March 30, 2019
        Dear Tan Thank you for your recent stay with us. We know that you have many options when choosing where to stay in Kuala Lumpur. The fact that you have chosen Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre is a great honor for us. I am glad to hear that we were able to delight you in all aspects throughout your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 04, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        8.8
        Excellent
        nabilah from Malaysia
        Business traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 1 night in March 2019
        Convenient for City stay”
        The hotel quite outdated but if for business meeting or tour the kuala lumpur city its very convenient as near to everything. Easy to hunt for food and public transport. Walking distance for tourist spots.
        Reviewed March 26, 2019
        8.4
        Excellent
        Gerhard from Austria
        Solo traveler
        Deluxe
        Stayed 2 nights in February 2019
        right in the centre”
        Istana is a bit dated, but well kept huge rooms and everything you need, including a decent pool. However for a hotel this size there are not enough lounge chairs at the pool area. But all in all very pleasant and close to shopping and nightlife
        Reviewed February 14, 2019
        Dear Gerhard Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will continue to support and stay with us on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded February 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Susan from United States
        Couple
        Deluxe
        Stayed 4 nights in January 2019
        Exceptional”
        We have stayed at this hotel several times and it has never disappointed us. The breakfast remains one of the main attractions, but the location is also a big plus. The staff is friendly and very courteous.
        Reviewed February 12, 2019
        Dear Susan Thank you so much for your outstanding review and for your loyalty to Hotel Istana. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded February 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        9.6
        Exceptional
        Mr from Singapore
        Family with young children
        Deluxe
        Stayed 3 nights in February 2019
        Well maintained and affordable @Great location ”
        Cons: Good price Great location Clean Good service Good view Nice facilities Thank you hotel managemnt for wedding anniversary cake ! Cons: not really much Breakfast could be better, not upto the mark
        Reviewed February 12, 2019
        Dear Sir Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded February 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        8.4
        Excellent
        Nanthagopi from Malaysia
        Family with young children
        Deluxe
        Stayed 2 nights in March 2019
        Good Hotel at Excellent Location”
        Good hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staffs. We stayed for 3d 2n and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Good swimming pool, good breakfast buffet spread, excellent location. Only drawback was that I was bitten by bed bugs on my 2nd night, complained to front desk during my checkout and the person-in-charge apologized profusely and ensured us that they will check the room immediately.
        Reviewed April 01, 2019
        Dear Nanthagopi Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please rest assured that we will continue to work to deliver the warm hospitality and excellent service that reflects Hotel Istana’s hospitality. We have highlighted your comment regarding the bed bugs to the respective Head of Department to take corrective measures. We hope to be of service to you again in future. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 04, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Siti from Singapore
        Group
        Deluxe
        Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
        Friendly staff”
        Friendly and helpful staff, great location. Always my number choice for hotel in KL
        Reviewed April 23, 2019
        Dear Siti Thank you for your recent review as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are honored to hear that Hotel Istana is your preferred accommodation when you are in Kuala Lumpur. We are pleased that you were impressed with our hotel and the service provided by the team and that you were not disappointed in choosing to stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
        Responded April 25, 2019
        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        12345
        This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

        Back to search results

        Back to room choices

        |

        Dismiss

        Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
        |Excellent 8.2
        ×
        Check in. Step out.
        Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

        • Excellent location
        • Pavilion Kuala Lumpur
        • Raja Chulan Monorail Station is within 0.15 km