Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 50200
- View on map
Club Room - Guestroom Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Club Room - Guestroom
    Removed from saved list
    Interior view Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    Interior view Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    Club Room - Guestroom Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
    See all 47 photos
     Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

    Guest reviews

    8.2
    Excellent
    /10
    (7230 reviews)See what guests said
    8.4
    Excellent

    "Classic hotel with awesome food!"

    Jamie

    -

    December 27, 2018

    8.2
    Excellent service
    Recommended by 89% of guests

    Property highlights

    • 150 meters to public transportation

    • Airport transfer

    • Currency exchange

    • Located in heart of Kuala Lumpur

    This property is in high demand!Booked 33 times since yesterday | 32 travelers are looking at this property right now
    Excellent
    Location
    8.9
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Popular neighborhood
    Nearby
    Popular
  • The Weld140 m
  • Raja Chulan Monorail Station150 m
  • California Fitness160 m
  • Thetole Acupuncture & Herbal Medical Centre180 m
  • Kitschy Classy Kuala Lumpur210 m
  • No Black Tie220 m
  • Finnegan’s250 m
  • Blue Boy280 m
  • Green Man300 m
  • Olé Café300 m
  • Value for money8.1
    Distance to city center1 km
    Location rating8.9
    Nearest airportSultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport (SZB)
    Distance to airport17.5 km
    Select your room
    8.1
    Excellent
    Room comfort & quality
    Deluxe
    Deluxe
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Club Suite
    Club Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 79 m²/850 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Club Room
    Club Room
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Twin Towers View
    Deluxe Twin Towers View
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Bedroom Suite With Breakfast
    1 Bedroom Suite With Breakfast
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard 1 Bedroom Suite
    Standard 1 Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed & 1 sofa bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Two Bedroom Suite
    Two Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices
    2 BEDROOM SUITE. - Room Only
    2 BEDROOM SUITE. - Room Only
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Double Club Suite (Double bed)
      Double Club Suite (Double bed)
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Double/Twin + 1 Child One Bedroom Suite
        Double/Twin + 1 Child One Bedroom Suite
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          Have a question for Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre?

          What people love about the property

          • 10.0
            Exceptional

            "Everything about this hotel are Great!"

            Mr.

            |

            December 19, 2018

          • 5.6
            Review score

            "The location is good in Bookit Bintang."

            Corina

            |

            January 11, 2019

          • 8.0
            Very good

            "Pros: room was big, lounge was awesome, the singers were splendid for happy hour, staffs(reception and bellboy) was extremely nice."

            Nurul

            |

            December 22, 2018

          Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

          Prices drop the moment you sign in!

          Sign in now
          More about Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

          More about Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre

          6.4
          Good

          "Room service was excellent."

          Akhtar

          |

          January 11, 2019

          An overview

          Show less

          What they offer

          7.6
          Very good

          "The area was very convenient, and the sport bar inside was n..."

          Ian

          |

          January 14, 2019

          Show less

          Nearest essentials

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show less

          What to eat nearby

          American cuisine
          American cuisine
          The Burger Bar by Fatboy's Concepts
          170 m American, Bar, Barbecue
          Ship
          210 m American, Asian, European
          51 Restaurant & Bar
          310 m American, Bar, European
          Asian cuisine
          Asian cuisine
          Kampachi Equatorial Hotel
          130 m Asian, Japanese, Sushi
          Shabu One
          150 m Asian
          Restoran Nagasari Curry House
          150 m Asian, Halal, Indian
          Chinese cuisine
          Chinese cuisine
          Yan's Restaurant
          400 m Chinese
          Silk Road
          470 m Chinese
          Shui Kee
          470 m Chinese

          What's nearby

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show more

          Property's guest policies

          Show less

          Some helpful facts

          Show less

          Announcements

          From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

          Real reviews from real guests

          Agoda Reviews (7230)Booking.com Reviews (3438)
          8.2
          /
          10
          Cleanliness8.0
          Facilities8.1
          Location8.9
          Room comfort and quality8.1
          Service8.2
          Value for money8.1
          Provided by verified guests of Agoda
          All languages
          All guests (7230)
          All room types

          Show reviews that mention 

          Showing 5908 verified guest comments
          12345
          8.4
          Excellent
          Chi from Hong Kong
          Family with teens
          Deluxe
          Stayed 4 nights in February 2019
          Excellent”
          Location is good and easy to find as it just right near Raja Chulan Monorail station. Building is a bit aged but room is still relatively clean, have a big bathroom and plenty of space for hanging clothes if you wash yours own, staff are nice and friendly.
          Reviewed March 04, 2019
          Dear Chi Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. The strategic location of the hotel is something that our guests benefit from, not just for the convenience when exploring our city but public transportation is also easily accessible. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded March 14, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          7.2
          Very good
          Keat from Singapore
          Business traveler
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in February 2019
          Not efficiency”
          When I check in was told that my room will be ready in an hours therefore I went out for a walk and came back after an hours. I thought I can have the room so that I can use my PC in the room for some urgent email. Unfortunately, I was told to wait again for another 20 minute which end up 30 minute after a few conversation. I feel that the administration didn't take thing seriously especially when they told that my room is in cleaning process since I check in. They should have inform the cleaner to speed up my room too after cleaning the others of which is less urgent. Since the cleaner is in my room I requested for the key so that I can do my urgent work while the cleaner clean the room. They just don't give me the key which evidently explained that my room is not even clean yet. The manager have to personally went up to check, most like to inform the cleaner to clean the room first and within 20 minute she came down and I was handled the key. It is disappointing.
          Reviewed March 01, 2019
          Dear Keat First and foremost, please allow us to express our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced whilst staying with us. We also would like to thank you for your review. We have taken the opportunity to address the issue with the respective Head of Department and are taking steps to rectify the short-coming. The issue that you have raised is clearly not acceptable and we are addressing it accordingly. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded March 14, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.4
          Excellent
          Gerhard from Austria
          Solo traveler
          Deluxe
          Stayed 2 nights in February 2019
          right in the centre”
          Istana is a bit dated, but well kept huge rooms and everything you need, including a decent pool. However for a hotel this size there are not enough lounge chairs at the pool area. But all in all very pleasant and close to shopping and nightlife
          Reviewed February 14, 2019
          Dear Gerhard Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will continue to support and stay with us on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded February 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Susan from United States
          Couple
          Deluxe
          Stayed 4 nights in January 2019
          Exceptional”
          We have stayed at this hotel several times and it has never disappointed us. The breakfast remains one of the main attractions, but the location is also a big plus. The staff is friendly and very courteous.
          Reviewed February 12, 2019
          Dear Susan Thank you so much for your outstanding review and for your loyalty to Hotel Istana. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded February 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Mr from Singapore
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 3 nights in February 2019
          Well maintained and affordable @Great location ”
          Cons: Good price Great location Clean Good service Good view Nice facilities Thank you hotel managemnt for wedding anniversary cake ! Cons: not really much Breakfast could be better, not upto the mark
          Reviewed February 12, 2019
          Dear Sir Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded February 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.8
          Excellent
          Patrick from Australia
          Business traveler
          Deluxe
          Stayed 2 nights in February 2019
          Excellent”
          Good location, attentive staff, superb breakfast spread. Basement car-parking facilities could do with a tidy up.
          Reviewed March 06, 2019
          Dear Patrick Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. In the meantime, we have highlighted your comment regarding the basement car park to the respective Head of Departments to take corrective measures. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded March 14, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          10.0
          Exceptional
          NANA from Japan
          Solo traveler
          Deluxe
          Stayed 4 nights in March 2019
          Exceptional”
          perfect service and hotel thanks💗💗
          Reviewed March 06, 2019
          Dear Nana Thank you for reviewing your recent experience as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded March 14, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.4
          Excellent
          Siti from Singapore
          Couple
          Deluxe
          Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
          overall good”
          generally, it is a good hotel situated in a good location. Pavilion is just nearby and it is 5 mins walking distance to some night bars and massage areas. the staff are friendly and helpful. check-in/out was smooth and they even called me in the room to check if we had settled in comfortably. the toilet is ok, fully equipped with basic necessaties but some parts look old and dirty with some stains. the toilet flush system is not that strong. nonetheless, still a pleasant stay, suitable for couples and families with wide variety for breakfast buffet and welcome drinks offered for guests.
          Reviewed January 02, 2019
          Dear Siti Thank you for reviewing your recent experience as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded February 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.0
          Excellent
          Tan from Malaysia
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
          Excellent Customer Service”
          Location is strategic. 3 mins walk to Pavillion. Staffs are super friendly. One of the friendliest i came across. Water pressure is strong, which is good. Wide spread of breakfast and pastries are very delicious. WIFI is fast. Though the furnishing is a bit outdated. Overall experience is excellence. Book with confident.
          Reviewed December 31, 2018
          Dear Tan Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that it has been an enjoyable stay for you and that you were happy with our services and facilities. The strategic location of the hotel is something that our guests benefit from, not just for the convenience when exploring our city but public transportation is also easily available. We at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur pledge to provide the best service and facilities to our valued guests. We are very happy to have been of service to you and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded February 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          10.0
          Exceptional
          NUR from Malaysia
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in December 2018
          A hotel with everything including a very busy road”
          If you bring a car, do not plan to use the road just before and after office hours. The traffic is horrible. Near Pavilion shopping mall but the malls around and the hotel itself do not cater much to kids(except Berjaya Times Square). The breakfast is huge and in the morning you can go around by walking to see and feel the hustle and bustle of the city of Kuala Lumpur.
          Reviewed December 29, 2018
          Dear Nur Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded February 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.0
          Excellent
          Nurul from Singapore
          Group
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in December 2018
          Pros and cons”
          Pros: room was big, lounge was awesome, the singers were splendid for happy hour, staffs(reception and bellboy) was extremely nice. Cons: hallway to rooms are spooky. Hotel is rundown. Lobby is pretty thou. Was 'disturbed' in the middle of the night. Thankfully stayed for one night in this hotel.
          Reviewed December 22, 2018
          Dear Nurul Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded January 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          9.2
          Exceptional
          Kuneswary from Malaysia
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in December 2018
          Excellent location”
          This hotel is at its prime location though its interior and furnishing is old.check in was smooth howwever no deposit was taken.. if no deposit was taken, then please be prepared to pay for your in room dining either by cash or credit card (visa or master card only) since amex not accepted.. another thing i find is the pillows in the room are quite thin in thickness and not fluffy thus sleeping was a bore..there wasnt any kids channel or programme subscribed thus be prepared to bring any cartoon in your usb sticks..otherwise their breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of variety and in room dining diahes was tasty..however the chef did overcooked my poach and half boiled eggs..stay was overall great..
          Reviewed December 17, 2018
          Dear Kuneswary Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. The strategic location of the hotel is something that our guests benefit from, not just for the convenience when exploring our city but public transportation is also easily available. We have also highlighted your comments to the respective Heads of Department to take corrective measures. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded January 14, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.4
          Excellent
          Linda from Malaysia
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in December 2018
          In average ok la”
          Best part was, masuk bilik pun dah sejuk. Centralized Aircond maybe. Mkn average sedap dgn standard menu. Kurang suke ngn toilet sbb once lantai bsah, pyh kering sbb air tak direct g saliran air. Suai tuk org keje kot sbb view x busy, tenang je. Deposit patutnya rm200 plus2 tp kaunter just mintak 100. Memudahkan customer la.
          Reviewed December 14, 2018
          Dear Linda Thank you for reviewing your recent experience as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you. Please do visit us again soon! Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded December 14, 2018
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Andrew from Australia
          Couple
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in December 2017
          One of my favourites”
          We have stayed at Istana many times over the past few years and it is always a favourite. The price is one of the lowest in the area but the facilities and rooms are some of the best. Yes, it's an old hotel, but it is well looked after and the staff are always friendly. Quite a few of them remember us from past visits as well which is always a good sign.
          Reviewed December 11, 2018
          Dear Andrew Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded December 14, 2018
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Andrew from Australia
          Couple
          Deluxe
          Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
          Feels like home”
          We have stayed at Istana many times over the past few years and it is always a favourite. The price is one of the lowest in the area but the facilities and rooms are some of the best. Yes, it's an old hotel, but it is well looked after and the staff are always friendly. Quite a few of them remember us from past visits as well which is always a good sign.
          Reviewed December 11, 2018
          Dear Andrew Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded December 14, 2018
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Andrew from Australia
          Couple
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in November 2018
          Quick stopover before heading to Penang”
          We have stayed at Istana many times over the past few years and it is always a favourite. The price is one of the lowest in the area but the facilities and rooms are some of the best. Yes, it's an old hotel, but it is well looked after and the staff are always friendly. Quite a few of them remember us from past visits as well which is always a good sign.
          Reviewed December 11, 2018
          Dear Andrew Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded December 14, 2018
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.8
          Excellent
          Ali from Oman
          Business traveler
          Deluxe
          Stayed 5 nights in December 2018
          Good Location a d friendly staff”
          The furniture is very old and need to replace. Bathroom amenities as well very old, WC part is without tiles. Breakfast is very good with many different types of food items. Location is away little from the traffic
          Reviewed December 08, 2018
          Dear Ali Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your comments. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your breakfast experience at Taman Sari Brasserie. We do have an extensive buffet spread that includes both international and local delicacies. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you. Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded December 14, 2018
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.8
          Excellent
          Abdullah from Malaysia
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in March 2019
          Good place for weekend gateway for city tour.”
          Near to monorel station Raja Chulan so easy to go to city center.
          Reviewed March 05, 2019
          Dear Abdullah Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. As you mentioned, the strategic location of the hotel is something that our guests benefit from, not just for the convenience when exploring our city but public transportation is also easily available. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded March 14, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          9.6
          Exceptional
          Amber from Australia
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 1 night in February 2019
          Excellent first time at Istana”
          Almost all of my friends stay at Hotel Istana when travelling through KL. I never understood the fuss, as there's many hotels in Bukit Bintang location but now that I've stayed there for the first time I totally get it! I'm now a full blown Istana convert. Our 5 star experience started even before we'd booked our stay. We phoned ahead to make sure a baby cot would be available and were told it would be, so we booked through Agoda. I immediately received a welcome email from Istana. I've never received that from any other hotel when I book through Agoda. It was a professional, and nice touch. Check in and out was quick and efficient. The complimentary drink station is a nice touch. The room is HUGE!! The bath and shower is a bonus. There was a little bit of mould in the bathroom, but there's no window so it's to be expected. The fresh flowers were a nice touch. The bed and linen was of very high quality (better than I have at home) and the block out blinds awesome.
          Reviewed February 11, 2019
          Dear Amber Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. We truly appreciate your positive feedback which will certainly motivate our Associates to continue to improve their service delivery and satisfy our guests. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay again! Regards Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur
          Responded February 25, 2019
          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          8.4
          Excellent
          Yong from Malaysia
          Family with young children
          Deluxe
          Stayed 2 nights in February 2019
          misleading information given”
          when i was reading the hotel information with the impression of the offered price, it did not show me the breakfast was not included, until later i arrived at the hotel, they told me the breakfast was not included in the offered price, i think this is misleading, Agoda or Istana hotel should show the appropriate information or at least it has to be highlighted, i will never go back to the same hotel again, and i will not book through Agoda again!!! somebody has to be responsible for misleading their client!!!
          Reviewed February 09, 2019
          12345
          This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

          Back to search results

          Back to room choices

          |

          Dismiss

          Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre
          |Excellent 8.2
          ×
          Check in. Step out.
          Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

          • Excellent location
          • Pavilion Kuala Lumpur
          • Raja Chulan Monorail Station is within 0.15 km