Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Free Wi-Fi
2017

Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Magazine Road, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia
- View on map
Deluxe King Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Deluxe King
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
    Lobby Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
    Deluxe King Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
    See all 52 photos
     Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

    Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La Reviews

    8.2
    Excellent
    /10
    (5693 reviews)See what guests said
    10.0
    Exceptional

    "The Hotel Jen Penang is a modern, clean, and excellent hotel..."

    John

    -

    January 2, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent cleanliness
    Recommended by 96% of guests

    Things you’ll love about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

    Things you'll love

    • 80 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of Penang

    • Currency exchange

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    Excellent
    Location
    8.8
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Popular neighborhood
    Popular
    Nearby
  • Khoo Kongsi760 m
  • The Camera Museum930 m
  • Penang Peranakan Mansion1.47 km
  • Gurney Drive2.56 km
  • Gurney Plaza3.52 km
  • Penang Hill5.25 km
  • Kek Lok Si Temple6.51 km
  • Penang Bridge6.87 km
  • Penang National Park12.67 km
  • Escape Adventureplay Theme Park13.35 km
  • 10 travelers are looking at this property right now

    Book now before it's too late!

    Value for money8.1
    Distance to city center1 km
    Location rating8.8
    Nearest airportPenang International Airport (PEN)
    Distance to airport15.2 km

    Rooms available at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

    8.2
    Excellent
    Room comfort & quality
    Club King Room
    Club King Room
    ...
    • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Club Family Room
    Club Family Room
    ...
    • Room size: 32 m²/344 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed and 1 sofa bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Club Twin Room
    Club Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
    • City view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    One-Bedroom Apartment
    One-Bedroom Apartment
    ...
    • Room size: 56 m²/603 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Standard
    Double Standard
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Family King Room
      Family King Room
      ...
      • Room size: 32 m²/344 ft²
      • City view
      • 1 king bed and 1 sofa bed
      Enter dates to see prices
      Deluxe Double Room
      Deluxe Double Room
      ...
      • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
      • Non-smoking
      • 1 queen bed
      Enter dates to see prices
      Deluxe Twin
      Deluxe Twin
      ...
      • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
      • City view
      • 2 single beds
      Enter dates to see prices
      City Getaway Package-Deluxe Double Room
      City Getaway Package-Deluxe Double Room
      ...
      • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
      • Shower and bathtub
      • 1 queen bed
      Enter dates to see prices
      City Getaway Package-Family Room
      City Getaway Package-Family Room
      ...
      • Room size: 32 m²/344 ft²
      • Shower and bathtub
      • 1 king bed and 1 sofa bed
      Enter dates to see prices
      Have a question for Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La?

      What people love about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

      • 9.6
        Exceptional
        Location

        "Pro : location is good."

        yulita

        |

        January 2, 2019

      • 8.0
        Very good

        "Great location,clean,good service"

        Yoo

        |

        January 9, 2019

      • 8.4
        Excellent

        "Very good package offer as it includes lounge access with buffet breakfast ."

        Ester

        |

        January 14, 2019

      Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

      Prices drop the moment you sign in!

      Sign in now
      More about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

      More about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

      10.0
      Exceptional

      "Gym and pool were great."

      Han C.

      |

      December 31, 2018

      Read more reviews

      An overview

      Show less

      What they offer

      8.0
      Very good

      "Nice location in Penang island"

      Wai K.

      |

      December 28, 2018

      Read more reviews
      Show less

      Nearest essentials

      Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
      Show less

      What's nearby

      Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
      Show more

      Property's guest policies

      Show less

      Some helpful facts

      Show less

      Announcements

      From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

      Reviews of Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La from real guests

      Provided by verified guests of Agoda
      Agoda Reviews (5693)Booking.com Reviews (2290)
      8.2
      /
      10
      Cleanliness8.3
      Facilities8.0
      Location8.8
      Room comfort and quality8.2
      Service8.3
      Value for money8.1
      All languages
      All guests (5693)
      All room types

      Show reviews that mention 

      Showing 4238 verified guest comments
      12345
      9.2
      Exceptional
      new from Singapore
      Group
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

      Couldn’t be better ! ”

      Upon arrival we were greeted by Duty manager, he is very friendly n helpful. when we asked abt directions, popular food, places of interest, he was patient n answered accordingly. He also sent a lovely cake to a birthday girl in our group. Lobby is well decorated with free n relax feeling. Will definitely b return customer.

      Reviewed May 11, 2019

      Dear New, Thank you for the review. Thank you for sharing your review with us. On behalf of the team, we'd like to sincerely thank you for your lovely comments, as they are of great motivation to the team. We hope you've had yet another amazing stay with us, and we can't wait for you to be back for your next one! Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Tan from Singapore
      Solo traveler
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

      Good location”

      Room is spacious with good king size bed. Amenties are excellent. Location is good, right beside bus station. Overall, happy and will stay again.

      Reviewed May 22, 2019

      Dear Tan, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are overjoyed to hear that you had enjoyed our comfortable rooms and your detailed review of our location. We'd love to see you again and to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Hendra from Indonesia
      Couple
      Deluxe Twin
      Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

      Great location”

      Nice hotel

      Reviewed May 20, 2019

      Dear Hendra, Thank you for the review. We are happy to know you enjoyed the stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      7.6
      Very good
      WEN from Singapore
      Couple
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

      Very good”

      Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, good service! It is well located next to a shopping mall, supermarket@GAMA and the new lane food street stalls. Well lit streets, one feels safe walking late back at night. We stayed at the deluxe room, which does not have a bathtub (contrary to what is written in agoda's description). Room itself was clean. However, there were traces of dried blood at the toilet bowl seat and bathroom bin? rather disgusting. TV screen quality was grainy. Bed mattress was too hard. Hotel provides good toiletries. Swimming pool is rather small but gym is well equipped.

      Reviewed May 19, 2019

      Dear Wen, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad to know you liked the hospitality rendered by our friendly team members and hotel location. Indeed, our hotel located in the middle of Georgetown which our guest can explore the city within walking distance. In regards to the cleanliness and issue has highlighted, it has been taken note for improvement. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Man from Hong Kong
      Couple
      One-Bedroom Apartment
      Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

      Wonderful hotel at a prime location”

      It doesn't get any better than this, a very chic and modern upbeat hotel managed by Shangri La, right smack in the middle of George town (Next door to Komtar). It has all the goodness of a fine hotel but with a relaxed vibes (Staffs in Jeans, like Aloft). The stay was a really great one, from the moment we checked in till check out 5 days later. The apartment is a great choice, very spacious ands well appointed. Comes wit kitchenette and Nespresso machine. The use of their lounge on 16th floor is another one of their perks. That is a nice cozy place to hang out and have breakfast etc. The location is so good, some good shopping next door at 1st avenue, and Komtar walk is just next door also. To go anywhere else, using GRAB car is only a few ringgits here and there. Hotel Jen has really delivered themselves during my stay, we shall return in future.

      Reviewed April 16, 2019

      Hi Man, Thank you for taking the time to write us this constructive review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed yourself and that we have met your stay expectations in all aspects of your experience with us. Your nice words are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for yet another wonderful stay! Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded April 22, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      8.0
      Excellent
      Colin from Canada
      Couple
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

      Good hotel. Good location”

      Good location. Though not near the waterfront. Close to Komtar and Campbell st. The city Free bus stop just around the corner. Staff friendly. Access to Shangri-La beach resort a big plus. 1/2 hr bus ride. Just use your Jen account to access all services.

      Reviewed March 19, 2019

      Dear Colin, Thank you for the review. We are delighted to know you had a great stay at Hotel Jen Penang and managed to explore the city center which only to reach within walking distance. It's great to know you enjoyed our shuttle service to Batu Ferringhi and free usage of the swimming pool facilities at Golden Sands Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded March 21, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      8.4
      Excellent
      Amanda from Singapore
      Family with teens
      Deluxe Twin
      Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

      Excellent”

      I like how clean the hotel is and well furnished quite new , the staffs , bell boy were very friendly and helpful and welcoming to help me find my tour driver The room is cost and comfy and bed was comfy def worth it to stay in this one in Penang if wanna try out hotel Jen series of hotel rather than pay 1.5 more the price for a stay in sg one . Like the design of the hotel however the pool is abit disappointing and small there wasn’t much of a pool bar and there were construction going on at pool outdoor area side so it was messy . Overall still a comfortable and good stay with fresh vibes in room . The buffet breakfast however was not worth it , it was rather expensive and not very nice certain food were ok certain were not nice and the discounted price only comes if booking buffet breakfasts for all morning stays except first day . I booked only for one day as we ran late and had to settle breakfast at hotel and found it waste of $ for Malaysia price the buffet breakfast price is high All in all still a good stay I enjoyed n rested well but will be keen to try other hotels in Penang instead in future

      Reviewed February 27, 2019
      7.6
      Very good
      Abu from Malaysia
      Business traveler
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 1 night in May 2019

      Decent 4-star hotel in Georgetown”

      Though it is colorful and trendy, it does not reflect Shangri-la hospitality. The hotel provides all the comfort for business traveler, but lack of amenities for leisure guests. No minibar, very limited in-room dining menu, Netflix button on the remote proven pointless when you have to sign-in using personal account. I have a feeling that the property is famous for Asian groups.

      Reviewed May 06, 2019

      Dear Abu, Thank you for taking time to share this constructive feedback and we are sorry to hear that the experience has fell short in your recent visit. Your specific comments on the shortfalls as highlighted have been well taken to ensure improvement for your future visit. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      8.8
      Excellent
      Surya from Indonesia
      Couple
      Deluxe Twin
      Stayed 1 night in January 2019

      Excellent”

      overall was good, clean and modern room

      Reviewed May 13, 2019

      Dear Surya, Thank you for the review. We are simply glad to know you had a great experience stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      8.8
      Excellent
      Kiang from Malaysia
      Business traveler
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

      Value for money”

      Good - depends on what price you book. Will definitely come back and has done it for the last few times already. Bad - old gym and swimming pool facilities, should renovate with hotel room

      Reviewed May 11, 2019

      Dear Kiang, Thank you for sharing your stay experience. It's always our pleasure to welcome you back on your every return. We appreciate your feedback on the health club facilities which have been well noted for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      10.0
      Exceptional
      Purselyn from Singapore
      Couple
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

      Exceptional”

      Good location, affordable & clean rooms! Highly recommended

      Reviewed May 20, 2019

      Dear Purselyn, Thank you for the review. We love how you described us and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for yet another great stay. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      10.0
      Exceptional
      Ming from Malaysia
      Couple
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

      Excellent location & good service”

      Located just beside Georgetown’s tallest building - Komtar, the rooms have direct Komtar view. Room was kinda smaller than expected but the amenities provided was good. Staffs provided good service throughout the stay and did housekeeping upon request.

      Reviewed February 22, 2019
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Erlin from Singapore
      Couple
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

      Reliably good ”

      It was a busy lunar new year period, but high standards of service and house keeping were maintained throughout. This was my repeated stays at this place and to date it has been reliably good. Kudos to all the front desk, breakfast hall and housekeeping teams!

      Reviewed February 10, 2019
      8.8
      Excellent
      Jessie from Singapore
      Family with young children
      Club Family Room
      Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

      Great location and great staff!”

      Enjoyed my 3 days 2 nights stay at the Club Family Room. The size of the room was comfortable and able to have the sofa bed and also a baby cot. The staff are very friendly and we enjoyed the Club Lounge a lot. The location is great and you can walk to many streets for street food. Also, the facilities are good, love the gym as it is very big and has sauna and steam room. As for the pool, there is a wading pool for children as well. The breakfast is really nice also and they allow you to order various prata (if available) to make for you. Overall, a great place to stay although the price can be cheaper I hope!

      Reviewed December 21, 2018
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Pauline from Singapore
      Family with young children
      Deluxe King
      Stayed 5 nights in November 2018

      Great front Desk, concierge and room”

      My family and I had a great stay at JEN. Friendly and helpful front desk Managers got us promotional rates for breakfast and checked process of damaged luggage with Airline without hesitation. We were truly impressed and Shangrila group really lived up to its reputation for its service. It’s very heart warming for travelers. Concierge (Ramli I think) was also very approachable and though he’s not familiar with tourist recommended spots, he took the initiative to check online . He’s always smiling and gives warm greeting whenever we see him at the lobby. We can see his passion in his job. Well done!

      Reviewed December 09, 2018
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Songpop from Thailand
      Solo traveler
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

      Good Service”

      Good service from staff. Room is clean. Location of the hotel is excellent. It is near to restaurant and shopping mall. I definitely come back.

      Reviewed May 18, 2019

      Dear Songpop, Thank you for the review. We are happy to know you had a great experience stay at Hotel Jen Penang. We can't wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      8.4
      Excellent
      Derlynn from Singapore
      Group
      Club Twin Room
      Stayed 1 night in November 2018

      excllent”

      great location, nice lounge. good for groups!

      Reviewed May 05, 2019

      Dear Derlynn, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are simply glad to know you enjoyed the stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      8.4
      Excellent
      Derlynn from Singapore
      Group
      Club King Room
      Stayed 1 night in November 2018

      Excellent!”

      Great location! nice lounge! great for group travelling together!

      Reviewed May 05, 2019

      Dear Derlynn, Thank you for sharing your experience stay with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed the stay and we are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded July 03, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Chin from Indonesia
      Couple
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

      Love Jen Hotel”

      this is my 3rd time staying in Jen Hotel, love to come back to this hotel, because the rooms are sizeable and clean and fresh(recently renovated). the satff are helpful and the loacation is good, close to shopping mall. will surely come back to Jen

      Reviewed April 10, 2019

      Dear Chin, Thank you for constantly supporting our hotel. On behalf of the team, we'd like to sincerely thank you for your lovely comment as they are of great motivation to the team. We can't wait for you to be back for your next visit! Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded April 11, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      8.4
      Excellent
      Yiqian from Singapore
      Couple
      Deluxe Double Room
      Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

      Great Stay!”

      the location of the hotel was great. there’s a shopping mall right next to it and walking distance to many hawkers around. the hotel staff were kind enough to send us a cake for our anniversary :) highly recommended and will definitely stay here again!

      Reviewed April 09, 2019

      Dear Yiqian, Thank you for leaving a review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the service provided by my team. It is words like yours that motivates the team to constantly strive for service excellence. We cannot wait to welcome you back again! Best regards, Ody Odayappan General Manager

      Responded April 11, 2019
      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      12345
      This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

      Back to search results

      Back to room choices

      |

      Dismiss

      Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
      |Excellent 8.2
      ×
      Check in. Step out.
      Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

      • Excellent location
      • Khoo Kongsi
      • Komtar Bus Terminal is within 0.07 km