Hotel Kai
Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Kai

14 Purvis Street, Bugis, Singapore, Singapore, 188593
- View on map
Urban Premier Hotel Kai
Urban Premier
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Hotel Kai
    Lobby Hotel Kai
    Interior view Hotel Kai
    Urban Bunk Hotel Kai
    See all 45 photos
    Exterior view Hotel Kai

    Hotel Kai Reviews

    7.7
    Very good
    /10
    (568 reviews)See what guests said
    7.6
    Very good

    "Quite clean."

    FU L.

    -

    November 1, 2016

    8.1
    Excellent service

    Things you’ll love about Hotel Kai

    Things you'll love

    • 340 meters to public transportation

    • Airport transfer

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Air conditioning

    Excellent
    Location
    8.6
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Popular
    Nearby
  • Battlebox1.02 km
  • Merlion Park1.07 km
  • Singapore Flyer1.16 km
  • Marina Bay Sands Casino1.66 km
  • Cloud Forest1.69 km
  • Gardens by the Bay1.94 km
  • Supertree Grove1.98 km
  • Orchard Road2.04 km
  • Universal Studios5.9 km
  • Sentosa Island6.03 km
  • Value for money7.3
    Distance to city center2.1 km
    Location rating8.6
    Nearest airportSingapore Changi Airport (SIN) - Singapore
    Distance to airport16.3 km

    Rooms available at Hotel Kai

    Heritage Suite
    Heritage Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Urban Cabin
    Urban Cabin
    ...
    • No Windows view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Sky Loft Room
    Sky Loft Room
    ...
    • Room size: 37 m²/398 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Urban Premier
    Urban Premier
    ...
    • Room size: 11 m²/118 ft²
    • Street view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Urban Bunk
    Urban Bunk
    ...
    • No Windows view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Urban Studio
    Urban Studio
    ...
    • Street view
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 queen bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Heritage
    Heritage
    ...
    • Room size: 38 m²/409 ft²
    • City view
    • 2 double beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Urban Heritage Room
    Urban Heritage Room
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Urban Skyloft
    Urban Skyloft
    ...
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Run of House
    Run of House
    ...
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Hotel Kai?

    What people love about Hotel Kai

    • 9.2
      Exceptional
      Cleanliness

      "Very comfortable and clean."

      Yee M.

      |

      December 26, 2018

    • 6.8
      Good
      Location

      "Location: Is good for me."

      Mone

      |

      January 2, 2019

    • 7.6
      Very good
      Staff 

      "nice staff"

      FU L.

      |

      November 1, 2016

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Hotel Kai

    More about Hotel Kai

    10.0
    Exceptional

    "The location is oh-so-central and the room is compact and co..."

    Aidli S.

    |

    October 1, 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    4.8
    Review score

    "Location is great and staff is helpful."

    KHAI P.

    |

    August 19, 2018

    Read more reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What to eat nearby

    American cuisine
    American cuisine
    Jacks Place
    190 m American
    Steakout
    290 m American
    Alligator Pear
    290 m American, Cafe
    Asian cuisine
    Asian cuisine
    Argo Restaurant
    10 m Asian, European, International
    Shinryoku Yakitori Restaurant
    20 m Asian, Japanese
    Jai Thai Restaurant
    20 m Asian, Thai
    Chinese cuisine
    Chinese cuisine
    Black Tongue Bistro & Bar
    180 m Chinese
    Chong Qing
    180 m Chinese
    Honzen Cafe
    190 m Chinese, Vegetarian

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Hotel Kai from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (568)Booking.com Reviews (1198)
    7.7
    /
    10
    Cleanliness7.8
    Facilities6.8
    Location8.6
    Room comfort and quality7.4
    Service8.1
    Value for money7.3
    All languages
    All guests (568)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 378 verified guest comments
    12345
    10.0
    Exceptional
    DANDY from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Urban Studio
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

    Perfect location, modern hotel”

    Location is perfect, walk distance to many places also to the MRT which connects to the Airport. Room is small but nicely design, modern and clean. Staff are very friendly, visited twice in a year and they remember me. Cafes, restaurants and bars all just walking distance. I will certainly return to this hotel again.

    Reviewed May 21, 2019

    Dear Dandy, It was a pleasure to have looked after you during your stay. Thank you for commending our professional and friendly staff. I am glad to know that the room and amenities have met your expectation. From the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU for your wonderful affirmation of what we do. We certainly look forward to delighting you once again during your next stay with us!

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    7.2
    Very good
    Jialin from Singapore
    Group
    Heritage Suite
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Very good”

    I would say that the room pricing was acceptable. But the beds were really old. The portable beds were sinking down, and making the sleep quite uncomfortable. The shower is rather messy, the whole floor was wet, making the whole bathroom almost flooded. The location is good though.

    Reviewed May 21, 2019

    Dear Jialin, I sincerely apologize for the disappointment of your previous stay. We appreciate you highlighting our areas of improvement and it helps us identify the areas we can improve on the guest experience. Nevertheless, rest assured we will continue to look into areas for improvement to ensure the stay will be a comfortable one. Till next time.

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    3.2
    Sarah from Hong Kong
    Solo traveler
    Urban Studio
    Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

    Will never recommend to anyone ”

    Dirty, dusty and with flea. Only you are lucky to stay in a quiet room but if those next to your room speak exciting or making noise in their room you can hear this clearly and not to mention chat at corridor. Room and shower are extremely small and the toilet without a door and face directly to the bed.

    Reviewed May 21, 2019

    Dear Sarah, It is truly disappointing to know that your recent stay with us fell well below your expectations. Here at our property, we are known for our small and quaint rooms which present a uniqueness with a modern style outlook. I am sorry to hear this was not to your fancy. Our studio rooms are with an approximate size of 8 sqm which you might have overlooked when the booking is made. You might want to consider our Suite room which is much bigger during your next visit.

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    10.0
    Exceptional
    HuiJuan from Singapore
    Couple
    Sky Loft Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Hotel Kai”

    Had a weekend staycation (Skyloft room). Super big balcony and amazing nightview! The bed and pillows were super comfy! The staffs were very friendly and nice! Will definitely recommend Hotel Kai to my friends. :)

    Reviewed May 13, 2019

    Dear HuiJuan, My team and I truly appreciate your heart-warming compliments. I am very glad to know the hotel had been perfect for your stay. From the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU for your wonderful affirmation of what we do. And thus, this is certainly a reward for us. Can't wait to welcome you back once again. Till next visit, take care!

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    8.8
    Excellent
    Dharmayanti from Indonesia
    Couple
    Urban Bunk
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

    Great Location”

    First time and lovin it. Small but very sufficient if u wanna spent most time outside. Great staffs. Very helpful

    Reviewed May 02, 2019

    Dear Dharmayanti, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the compliment of our staff. Looking forward to your next visit with us.

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    7.2
    Very good
    Nahjan from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Urban Cabin
    Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

    Worth the money!”

    Took the urban cabin, it's a box with no windows but I had no issue with it cos it was well-equipped and I was also mostly out. Wish there were more amenities available (coffee etc.) but appreciated the free bottled water daily. Location-wise it's very quiet which was great but 10 mins away from Bugis where I was in often which sometimes made me feel like I should have just stayed at Bugis area. Overall I thought it was value for money and will stay again when I'm back in Singapore!

    Reviewed April 04, 2019

    Dear Nahjan, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. I am glad you were happy with our services and facilities during your stay. It has been our pleasure to have hosted you and I certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Singapore.

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    4.0
    Shafia from Singapore
    Couple
    Urban Studio
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Not worth the money paid for it!”

    Very congested room. Sink, toilet bowl, shower all separated. No point having a drop down screen to block the toilet bowl view as the sides are still opened up. Could have combine the toilet bowl and shower inside the glass doors. Tv was not working. Bed recliner remote was not working. And staff said will send someone to fix it the next morning. What’s the point when we’re checking out the next day? We had to grab our own tooth brush from the lobby. Still requested for a 100 dollars deposit before checking in! Will never go back again. There are better options out there along that area. Not worth paying so much for this tiny, uncomfortable room!

    Reviewed March 25, 2019

    Dear Shafia, Thank you for your reviewed we agree that our rooms are small as they are designed in such a unique way from a shophouse in this heritage site, therefore, we have tried our best to provide little thought with rain shower, complimentary wifi and even free bicycle rental etc, we do apologize on our shortfall and we hope you have a better experience next time, maybe in one of the suite room which is equipped with microwave, washing/dryer machine and a minibar. A deposit of $100 is required and its indicated on the booking platform perhaps you have overlooked it.

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    8.0
    Excellent
    Cheng
    Solo traveler
    Urban Bunk
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    Ok room, Perfect location, Friendly staff”

    Room is small but still comfortable. But room has no window, so a little creepy when all lights off. Then again room are provided with all sort of amenities enough for a short stay. The room is relatively clean, but has some mold growing in certain hard to clean spot. The location is awesome. About 1-2 blocks away from nearest MRT and Suntec City. It is located the city center and has many drinking places near it. The staffs are very friendly and tend to me with much jolly optimism.

    Reviewed March 02, 2019

    Dear Cheng, Thank you for your positive reviewed especially on the staffs, we agree that our rooms are small as they are designed in such a unique way from a shophouse in this heritage site, therefore, we have tried our best to provide little thought with rain shower, adjustable bed, complimentary wifi which enable free internet access and even free bicycle rental etc, We will love to have you back again!

    Responded March 16, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    8.8
    Excellent
    Theresa from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Urban Studio
    Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

    Excellent”

    Very handy. 5 min walk to Bugis MRT. 20 min walk to Boat Quay. 2 streets up from Raffles. 24/7 just round the corner. Very clean. Room’s are compact but very well designed. Very good shower. Very comfortable adjustable bed with quality bed linen. Staff very helpful and attentive. Rooms are small. I’ve had cabin room with no window before- OK for one but too small for 2 as no room to move. This time I had studio with window.Will fit 2 as somewhere to put luggage but really only if you are just going to be using the room for sleeping. If you need a bigger room as you intend to sit around in it,you need to look at the heritage suite.

    Reviewed September 30, 2018

    Dear Theresa, Thank you for taking time to send us a review. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with.Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel. My team and I certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

    Responded October 06, 2018
    Hotel Kai
    8.4
    Excellent
    Wilfred from Philippines
    Family with teens
    Urban Studio
    Stayed 6 nights in July 2018

    Good location and great staff”

    Rooms were smaller than usual and I encountered one time problem with the airconditoning system in my room but all these were offset by the good location and good service of the staff. I would recommend this place.

    Reviewed August 07, 2018

    Dear Wilfred, Thank you for taking time to send us a review. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. we have been praised for our location near main attractions and subways. We apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stayed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kai during your next in town.

    Responded October 06, 2018
    Hotel Kai
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Hwei from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Urban Cabin
    Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

    Small but is enough”

    Stayed here for 3 nights as I wanted my own space and toilet at the best price possible without going through the hotel route. I overestimated the size of the room - bed is just right by the door! There was no windows so it's hard to tell time in the morning, but overall, it was a comfortable stay - the shower had good pressure. It's also great location - walking distance to Bugis with shops opening till late so you'll never go hungry. I would recommend staying here for solo travellers.

    Reviewed August 01, 2018

    Dear Hwei, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. I am glad you were happy with our services and facilities during your stay. It has been our pleasure to have hosted you and I certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Singapore.

    Responded August 22, 2018
    Hotel Kai
    6.4
    Good
    Josephine from Australia
    Couple
    Urban Premier
    Stayed 7 nights in April 2019

    Great location”

    Good location, but the room allocated to us wasn’t as clean. There were dust esp around the bed. Housekeeping wasn’t attentive, As we still find bunch of hair not cleared in the shower. Otherwise, good location, aircon and shower.

    Reviewed April 26, 2019

    Dear Josephine, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience here. I am saddened to read that the stay was not to your expectation and has disappointed you. Our sincere apologies on the room cleanliness and condition. The Housekeeping Department has briefed the team to be more detailed on cleanliness. We hope this does not stop you from coming back to stay with us during your next visit to Singapore.

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Alexander from Australia
    Group
    Urban Bunk
    Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

    Excellent Location and Clean and Tidy Rooms”

    We booked three rooms (1x Bunk Bed and 2x Twin Single) and each room was very clean and tidy. Staff were excellent. Toilet was clean and housekeeping did a great job. Only complaint is that the door lock was occasionally hard to open. Had to call a staff to help open the door twice. However definitely recommend this place as it's close to three different MRT station and a great hawker food court down the road.

    Reviewed February 18, 2019

    Dear Alexander, We sincerely appreciate your generous gesture of helping us with a review. It's great to hear that you and your family have had a great stay with us. With your compliments, we will certainly be inspired to do even better and hope to be receiving you and your loved ones back with us for your next trip to Singapore!

    Responded March 16, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    8.4
    Excellent
    Charlotte from Singapore
    Family with young children
    Urban Bunk
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    Worth it for a hotel in the city of Singapore”

    It's a well maintained hotel which deserves more recognition than it probably gets. The rooms are small, very, very small. But comparing it to well known hotels which would've cost at least 3-4times more, Hotel Kai is very conveniently located in Bugis, with mere walking distance to the National Library and Bugis MRT. For it's price, it is definitely worth it. Keep in mind not all the rooms have a bar fridge, so if you need one, request for a room with a bar fridge upon or before check-in. Everything else is pretty well contained in a tiny space, and it serves it's purpose for a city boutique hotel.

    Reviewed February 15, 2019

    Dear Charlotte, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with and also the location of the hotel. With your compliments, we will certainly be inspired to do even better and hope to be receiving you and your loved ones back with us. Till then take care.

    Responded March 16, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    7.2
    Very good
    Fan from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Urban Cabin
    Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

    Room equipped with facilities but very little space”

    Room is clean, complete with iron, iron board, toiletries, hair dryer, etc. But if you have big luggage please don't take this room. I have difficulty to smoothly enter the room even with my cabin luggage.

    Reviewed February 12, 2019

    Dear Fan, Thank you for your compliment to all our amenities, we agree that our rooms are small as they are designed in such a unique way from a shophouse in this heritage site, therefore, we have tried our best to provide little thought with rain shower, adjustable bed, complimentary mifi device which enable free internet access when you are out of the hotel and even free bicycle rental etc, Perhaps you would like to try out our other room type during your next visit. Looking forward to see you soon.

    Responded March 16, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    6.8
    Good
    Kim from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Urban Studio
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019

    Get the bigger rooms...”

    Tried 2 rooms The mini single is super tiny and you can't even park your luggage inside The slightly bigger rooms are much better Housekeeping starts at tad too early at 8am and should come later around 9am instead The front desk staff are all very friendly which was a plus point MRT is around 10 mins away and close to lots of attractions in Bugis The famed Clinton Bakery is just right across the hotel! And so is some famed kopitiams...

    Reviewed January 28, 2019

    Dear Kim, we agree that our rooms are small as they are designed in such a unique way from a shophouse in this heritage site, therefore, we have tried our best to provide little thought with rain shower, adjustable be and complimentary wifi. I am sorry that the housekeeping had disturbed your room so early in the morning. The department has been told to re-look into the timing for cleaning the occupied rooms. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and do look forward to have you back with us again

    Responded March 16, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    8.4
    Excellent
    Yu from Brunei Darussalam
    Solo traveler
    Urban Cabin
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Very small but functional and clean”

    I'd probably will not be booking the same room again, as it was really too small for my liking, if you have a larger-sized luggage you won't have any space to walk. But I would still recommend this hotel as the bed was very comfortable, the room was clean enough, and it takes just about 5 mins to walk to Bugis junction. If you travel light then the smallest room should not be an issue. I'd go for the bigger room next time.

    Reviewed December 28, 2018

    Dear Yu, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us with your generous review. I am glad you were happy with our services and facilities during your stay. It has been our pleasure to have hosted you and I certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Singapore.

    Responded December 28, 2018
    Hotel Kai
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Yee from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Urban Bunk
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

    Exceptional”

    Room space is small but with almost everything that I need. Very comfortable and clean. Friendly staff, strategic location. Travelled during Christmas so out of my budget, otherwise it's very worth place to stay. Walking distance to many places, really like this location.

    Reviewed December 26, 2018

    Dear Yee, We appreciate the special shout-out to all our friendly staffs. We look forward to your return visit My team and I truly appreciate your heart-warming compliments. I am very glad to know the hotel had been perfect for your stay. From the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU for your wonderful affirmation of what we do. And thus, this is certainly a reward for us. Can't wait to welcome you back once again. Till next visit, take care !

    Responded December 28, 2018
    Hotel Kai
    8.4
    Excellent
    Ileana from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    Urban Bunk
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

    THIS SPECIFIC RECEPTIONIST WAS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL”

    Other receptionists were very welcoming EXCEPT THIS SPECIFIC RECEPTIONIST. I wish i was able to get her name. Please help me track her slim and shoulder length hair lady. When we came she talked to us rudely and when we left and abt to check out. She talked to us and said "im not yet done go and take a seat" what kind of receptionist is ths. Ur hotel is very nice just sad that she is pulling ur hotel down. Definitely not an ASSET! RUDE AND MEAN LADY

    Reviewed December 26, 2018

    Dear Ileana, I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you encountered during your stay with us. We appreciate you highlighting our areas of improvement and it helps us identify the areas we can improve on the guest experience. The staff has been given counseling and training. We greatly appreciate your kind support and shall look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

    Responded December 28, 2018
    Hotel Kai
    8.8
    Excellent
    Anera from Brunei Darussalam
    Family with young children
    Heritage
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019

    Excellent”

    Convenient to the shopping mall and food. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Reviewed April 01, 2019

    Dear Anera, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. I am glad you were happy with our services and facilities during your stay. It has been our pleasure to have hosted you and I certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Singapore

    Responded June 01, 2019
    Hotel Kai
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Hotel Kai
    |Very good 7.7
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Battlebox
    • Esplanade MRT Station is within 0.34 km