Book Now: Hotel Metropolis

Excellent8.3
Based on 171 reviews
90% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (171)
Booking.com Reviews (1331)

8.3

Filter by guest type:
Excellent
based on 171 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.0
Excellent
based on 14 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.2
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for money 8.3
Excellent
based on 101 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 7.9
Excellent
based on 24 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 9.0
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 8.2
Very good
based on 2 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room comfort and quality 4.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 8.0
Very good
based on 15 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 7.6
Excellent
based on 15 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 简体中文
  • 한국어
  • Français
  • Italiano
  • Deutsch
  • 日本語
  • Русский
  • Norsk
  • Nederlands
  • Español
  • Svenska
  • Português (PT)
  • ภาษาไทย
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • العربية
  • עברית
  • Suomi
  • Ελληνικά
  • Język polski
  • Dansk
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
more less

Room type
  • Double Room for Single Use
  • Double Room
  • Twin Room
  • Triple Room
  • Double Executive
  • Suite (2 Adults)
more less

Sort by
Showing 167 verified guest comments
  • clear all

9.0
Pui from Ireland
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
pleasant stay”
staff, location, comfort
We had a great stay. I don't think the jacuzzi worked though but it didnt bother us that much. Staff were pleasant and it was within a short walking distance to the Vatican, and the subway station. Would stay again
Reviewed November 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Robert from United States
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Cute, but limited facilities ”
Breakfast was very nice with good selection of baked goods.
The overall stay was nice, but the room had no windows. Only a ceiling windows. No way to regulate the cooling, so had to spend the night with noise from outside to try and cool the room. Staff was very helpful.
Reviewed November 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Jui from Taiwan
Group
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Nice place to stay...”
Very helpful and nice staff
Very nice
Reviewed October 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Geok from Singapore
Solo traveler
Double Room for Single Use
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Clean and comfortable. Near metro station.”
Clean. Good location
Reviewed October 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
SHI from China
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Convenient, good service, yet room is too small”
Convenient, good service, yet room is too small. The staff is very helpful.
Reviewed October 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
DIONY from Philippines
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Fantastic”
Staff Very Helpful and nice. Spacious Bathroom & Nice room
As a solo traveler, I feel safe and comfortable with this hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful, I highly recommend this hotel to other travelers. Thank you Metropolis for your good service.
Reviewed September 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Francois from South Africa
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
very central, staff helpful and friendly”
Love the roof area and location
Reviewed September 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Jui from Taiwan
Family with teens
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Great staff”
Great staff , good breakfast, good location
Very good!
Reviewed August 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Marilyn from United States
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2015
nice, but not 4 star”
The staff!!! The staff was exceptional for certain!!!! The food was delicious and bountiful, and the location was quite good.
well, I had wanted to stay there for a five days, but found I could only stay one night, as the rooms were far too small, under-furnished, and a bit shabby in places to deserve a 4 star rating, and therefore also the 4 star expense...The overall design was unique, but the actual necessary accommodations just weren't there...
Reviewed June 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
JAMES from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
clean rooms reception location”
Clean rooms Staff and location
Reviewed February 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Zhen from Singapore
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Nice hotel, but no wifi in the rooms”
Good restaurant, great staff and good location for visiting Vatican
The staff were very helpful with recommendations for restaurants. THey introduced us to a little trattoria that is lovely and very typically Italian.
Reviewed January 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Sook from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Easy access to attraction”
Location, clean & cheap room
Nothing impressed just a typical hotel to sleep
Reviewed January 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Zuzana from Slovakia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Beautiful hotel, great location”
Location, room comfort, friendly staff
Hotel is very lovely and beautiful. Staff is very friendly. I can only recommend
Reviewed December 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Randy from Poland
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in November 2014
Good stay”
Bathrooms were great had everything you need to think is everything
All and all from location to price and for the services this hotel was a great option
Reviewed November 16, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Donald from United States
Family with teens
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Rome - the first time. ”
Staff was friendly and courteous. Rooms were near and tidy. Bar and restaurant was nice as well.
My stay was nice. The staff and restaurant workers were all gracious and professional. The only issue I had was the heat, the room was on top Floor w only a skylight and no windows. They said it was law to turn AC units Nov 1 therefor no air was circulating to cool off The rooms. Only real issue was this and it was quite uncomfortable, hot and humid.
Reviewed November 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Gary from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Great boutique hotel in Rome”
Great location, loved the room lighting and Jacuzzi in the bathroom
Great Location Quaint boutique style Jacuzzi in the bathroom was great Breakfast offered a great selection Room lighting was fab touch
Reviewed October 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Michael from Malaysia
Group
Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Recommended”
Clean rooms, quiet neighborhood, near Metro and bus stops
Reviewed October 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Michael from Malaysia
Group
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Excellent Mid Range hotel”
Quiet neighborhood, short walk to shops, near Metro and bus stops
Reviewed October 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Michael from Malaysia
Group
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Good hotel”
Quiet neighborhood, short walk to shops, near Metro and bus stops
Reviewed October 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
KIran from United States
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Pricey never worthy”
Very expensive, nice location. But poor room service, leaky shower. Overall waste of money like all other European hotels.
Reviewed October 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
BO from China
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Good hotel”
Breakfast, room is new, staff nice
Actually HM is beyond my expectation. The room is pretty new, staff are very patient and helpful. Breakfast are fresh too. Only thing is HM is not very near to historical center. Walking to navona sq takes 20 mins. But it's near Vatican museum though. When we checked out, we were charged for 48 euro hotel tax. Staff told it's required by gov, and it's in agoda's t&c, but appreciate if we were made known when checking in. But overall the stay is nice!
Reviewed September 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Anti from Estonia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Fine plave to stay”
Room, staff and clean
Fine place to stay.
Reviewed July 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Glenn from Philippines
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Quiet surroundings but near places of interests”
1.) Easy access to any modes of transportation 2.) Very near the Vatican and other places of interests in Rome 3.) Friendly and helpful staff
First timers in Rome, and a bit wary of our hotel choice (a bit expensive maybe because of the canonization of the two popes). As soon as we located the hotel (very near the Lepanto station of Rome Metro), check-in process was a bit fast and the lady front desk gave us tips of our must-see and must-do in Rome. When we saw our room, we were very much satisfied with our hotel choice. There was a skylight, a dining table and a fabulous bathroom. The bed was also nice to sleep in. Fabio, one of the room service crew, was very helpful and acceded to our requests ie power adapter, corkscrew and a lot more. Hotel was situated in a very quiet neighborhood and that's a big plus to us and the hotel breakfast was also great. Hotel interiors were meticulously done. Overall, it's a stay that satisfied our needs.
Reviewed May 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Liko from Indonesia
Business traveler
Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
good”
amazing, cool, clean
Reviewed May 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Sol from Panama
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
A good place to stay in Rome”
Modern decor, close to Metro, multilingual staff
I loved the decor. Room was clean and modern looking. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was good for breakfast but they took a long time serving dinner. They seemed short staffed, perhaps because I arrived the day after easter. It is located one block from the Metro and many buses stop right in front of the hotel. However not so many restaurants nearby, I had to walk several blocks to find one and the area is quiet but at night quiet means a bit scary for women traveling alone. They helped get me transportation back to the airport, and at an affordable price.
Reviewed May 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
nicola from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Comfortable hotel with fresh, modern decoration.”
Clean and comfortable and handy for the metro.
Reviewed March 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Gregory from United States
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 12 nights in December 2013
Metropole Hotel Excellent Stay”
Friendly Staff, Great Rooms, Great Location
The Metropole Hotel was truly a wonderful hotel. Staff was excellent, rooms large and modern, cleanliness throughout, central location near subway, bus and streetcar, excellent breakfast, and free internet.
Reviewed January 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Enrico from Indonesia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Clean and Well designed hotel”
Clean, great breakfast and quiet
It was an overall nice hotel because the location is rather out from the city. This hotel would be best if you often go to the Vatican city. THe rooom is small, but standard for european standards, but very clean and full of amenities. The surrounding is quiet so you can open the window without being too noisy. The hotel has some design to it, but I would say the theme of the design is rather too dark
Reviewed January 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Pishu from Singapore
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Great place and affordable price”
The location, Comfortable and Value for money
My stay was good and was generally pleased with the staff's assistance. Breakfast was ok and nothing too short of fine. I'll definitely be back in future.
Reviewed January 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Juergen from Austria
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Tell exactly which room you want”
The breakfast, close location to vatican, close to a metro station
The breakfast was superb. In general the rooms are small but sufficient, like it is in Italy. Despite in our bathroom the toilet was broken the first night. We informed the reception of the problem and were allocated a different room. So far so good. But than the hotel informed us immediatly that we should leave our luggage in the old room for the night and return the next day to the old room. Solving such a problem in such a way was new to me, while I travelled so far basically on all continents and had tried verious hotels. The next morning we moved back but the problem still was in place, then reception desk told us we will receive a new room at the end of the day while at night we had been informed the room was repaired and we should stay. This caused some inconvenience. I guess it rekated to the fact that we booked through agoda and not directly, while the hotel still proudly displays the agoda award at the reception desk. In addition the bathroom was a tailor made one for handicapped people. On the one hand a big plus for the hotel as such, but as we are not handicapped the higher toilet and the shower without curtain caused some inconvenience as well, especially for my girlfried which is not the tallest.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.7
Carly from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
horrible ”
nothing
staff we're extremely rude at check in. felt like they said pleasantries because they had to, you could tell they didn't actually want to help. the room was small, we were on the fourth (top) floor which was like an attic. it had no windows, just a skylight with no blight so the sun shone straight in our face as soon as it was up. it was quite frustrating. the bathroom was tiny and our shower only dribbled and they did not fix this or allow us to move rooms. we went down for dinner and despite having at least 7 free tables, they told us it was a 20 minute wait (it seemed to be because there was only one waiter on. i would not recommend this hotel.
Reviewed December 13, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
IRWAN from Indonesia
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
good hotel”
good breakfast
friendly staff, good breakfast, near supermarket, near mtro station arround 300 meter
Reviewed November 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Jenq from Taiwan
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
good comfortable”
clean, fast wifi, near public transportation
Reviewed November 05, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Jenq from Taiwan
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
good. comfortable.”
clean, modern, fast internet
Reviewed November 05, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Anti from Estonia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Nice weekend”
Staff, breakfast and location
The stay was nice and we have no problems with the hotel. Staff was friendly and there were nice bars near by. Good place.
Reviewed October 30, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
NAZEER from South Africa
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
short but fun”
location,friendly staff,comfortable
efficient checkinn,checkout.the staff were very friendly and accomodating to our requirements.the location of the hotel is brilliant as it is close to the metro station(LEPANTO) AND ON THE BUS ROUTES.however wifi wasnt working that well and lots of noise on the lower floors as the roads are busy.
Reviewed October 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
John from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
A number of problems that were eventually overcome”
The restaurant attached to the hotel offered a good choice of foods and friendly service.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were initially shown to a room that was totally unacceptable to us. The room was small, had no outside windows (with only a skylight in the ceiling). Upon returning to reception we were told that the skylight was the equivalent of a window and that anyway, the hotel was fully booked. I pointed out that I had booked our room and paid for it several months earlier, and the response was that the hotel hadn't yet been paid, so that we didn't have any priority. Eventually reference was made to a superior, and as a result our booking was upgraded to a suite which offered excellent accommodation. Another unusual issue was that the hotel wouldn't offer an iron to its guests, instead telling them that they would have to pay 5 euros to have a shirt ironed. Overall, the stay was fine once these initial issues had been "ironed out".
Reviewed October 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Adrian from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in September 2013
Staff were helpful, room was modern and adequate,”
Clean, modern location
Our stay was very positive. During breakfast staff always made sure you had what you needed. Most of the front desk receptionists were helpful. The room was adequate for our needs.
Reviewed October 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Anne from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
Modern, clean and quite friendly”
Stylish, comfortable room; good location; helpful staff
On the first night the room was 'out of order' and I was sent to another hotel. Not a good start. But the next day all was well. The room was compact but well-designed and stylish, with a modern, well-equipped bathroom (quite narrow though). The lounge area wasn't as well thought out, with uncomfortable seating. Wi-fi was free and the connection was generally fine. The restaurant is pretty good, although breakfast choices are limited. There only seemed to be one waiter in the evening; he was lovely, but a bit overworked. The reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. Overall, it's a good hotel, especially as a base for exploring Rome.l
Reviewed October 05, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
XIANZHI from China
Solo traveler
Double Room for Single Use
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
good location, walking distance to metro station”
good location, fast internet, beautiful and traditional stylerestaurant
Excellent location to get metro to go every sight.
Reviewed August 06, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Shing from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
comfor room, nice staff”
good staff and modern
comfortable stay, a bit far from the city centre, 5 mins walk from the metro, 15 mins walk from Vitican city
Reviewed August 01, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Noirin from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Fantastic”
Location, cleanliness and lovely staff
Great! Was my second stay .... This time I had a friend with me and we were looked after beautifully. The ladies and gents on reception were extremely polite and courteous. Our room was clean and quiet. Would definitely stay thee again and recommend it.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Noirin from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Room for Single Use
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Great!”
Location, clean, friendly staff
Great.... I stayed one night originally and then came back to Rome for 5 nights at Hotel Metropolis. Great location, close to metro and within comfortable walking distance of The Vatican and major shopping areas. Room was clean and tidy and the staff, without exception, were all polite and helpful.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
pui from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
receiption quite helpful”
good breadfast, quite near metro, near shopping
need to take metro from the train station around 5 stops, surrounding has shopping, supermarket n lots of restaurant.
Reviewed July 23, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Sameer from India
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Easy access to main attaractions”
easy access to attractions in rome, quiet neighbourhood and good internet
The hotel itself was decent. However the reception staff was not so welcoming. We came to the hotel from the closest square via taxi and it should have costed us only 5 euros max as it was only 2-3 mins away. We would have walked if not for the luggage and the 18 hr flight we had just taken. However the taxi driver started speaking in italian and when we went and reception at the hotel he said we were to pay 15 euro as we had bags etc etc and that too quite rudely. Was quite disappointed.
Reviewed July 14, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
miria from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
we had a very lovely and comfort holidays ”
very clean room, friendly staff , good location
Reviewed July 01, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Michelle from Canada
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2013
Chic new boutique hotel for comfortable stays”
Cleanliness, new, quiet
We found Hotel Metropolis exactly as described by other travellers - new, clean, chic boutique hotel with complimentary high speed internet. The staff were friendly, attentive and spoke enough English. The location of the hotel was very near to the red-line subway and one can walk to Vatican which is about 15 mins away. The only quirk we have would probably be the size of the room, which was on the smaller end, but most hotel rooms in Rome, at least the ones we have stayed at have not been very big.
Reviewed June 26, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
VALERIO from Italy
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
best stay in Rome”
location, hotel quality, easy parking
My stay was good, a place close to public transportation, 5 minutes walk, with easy parking in case you'd like to rent a car, quite place. In case you're a religious person it is close to the vatican, since it is in the vatican city. There's is a small shopping street near by in case you'd like to shop without moving too much. ;) and a shop of italian typical products called Castroni tactical hotel!!
Reviewed June 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Yau from Macau
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Modernized and clean”
Near metro and room clean
Room is clean and modern. Breakfast and wifi speed is good. There are near metro station which walks around 5 mins.
Reviewed June 22, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
CHRISTOS from Greece
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
very enjoyable, great hotel”
clean, new, good breakfast
Reviewed May 08, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: