Book Now: Hotel Precious Garden of Samal

Very good
From 136 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (136)
7.7
Very good
From 136 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities6.6
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.9
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Русский
한국어
more
Room type
Matrimonial Bedroom
Twin Air Conditioning
Family Bedroom
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 121 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Juvy from Philippines
Family with young children
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Good getaway from the crowd”
Location is secluded. Area is wide with lots of trees and a nice garden. If you want to get away from the noise and the crowd, this is the perfect place. Food is great as well as the staff. Beach area/shoreline can still be improved though. Room is ok, furniture a little dusty, low water pressure on the shower. Overall, it was a nice and worthy stay. Thanks hotel Precious!
Reviewed November 22, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Lourence from Australia
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Friendly staff and quiet place to relax”
Nice spacious room and so clean, only the beach resort is not good to swim
Reviewed November 08, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Kurt from Canada
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Hard to imagine a nicer place in this price range ”
A P125 trike ride from the ferry landing, then a friendly checkin. The spacious elegance of the room with parquet flooring was a pleasant surprise. I came for the swimming, and there's a planked walkway out over the reef to an open hut, from which stairs lead down into deeper water than right by the beach. Even here it helps to wear wet shoes, because there's lots of sea stars, sea urchins and other critters on the bottom. Had several great swims with a view of nearby Vanishing Island. My only regret is that the promised boat ride to this sandbar never materialized, because--reportedly--the boat owner did not answer his phone. The extensive grounds of Hotel Precious Garden are impeccably kept, and the dinner in the open-air restaurant was delicious. There is no pool (yet), but I didn't come to swim in a pool. Overall I feel we hit the jackpot with this resort.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
4.4
Martine from Philippines
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Needs Improvement”
First off, there were mini cockroaches from what it seemed like inside the shower room then a few in the bedroom. The Bed was nice as well as the balcony. The website was not updated with their prices and the check out time is unusual which was 11. The beach is something else, you could swim if you are not the type that doesnt want a nice clear sea. Garden is good but i guess it was a weekday which is why no one was around to accomodate us like what I read in the review.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Warren from United States
Group
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Nice!”
Very peaceful, kind staff, great food! Perfect location for scuba diving! Great value!
Reviewed July 11, 2016
6.8
Good
David from Australia
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Good place for serenity”
Nice and quiet , food was good and reasonably priced . Beautiful gardens and nice water feature with huge fish in it . Beach was not much and couldn't really swim there .
Reviewed June 28, 2016
7.2
Very good
Michael from Philippines
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Very Accomodating”
Had a very good breakfast in the Beach front thanks to a very accommodating staff... i forgot his name though but nice job... i dont mind staying here again.
Reviewed May 11, 2016
5.6
darryl from Austria
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
samal island stay”
very quiet place
Reviewed May 11, 2016
7.2
Very good
Sunghoon from South Korea
Business traveler
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Hotel Precious Garden of Samal”
Hotel Precious Garden of Samal
Reviewed February 12, 2016
8.4
Excellent
peter from United States
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
very relaxing and enjoyable visit”
A pleasant surprise for both of us. We extended for a week beyond the initial 3 day booking since we liked it so much. The location is about 5 to 10 minutes ride on a motor trike to the passenger wharf for the ferry boat to Davao. The ferry costs 13 pesos/person, very cheap and fun. I found the food at the hotel's restaurant reasonably priced and very good quality with lots of variety in the dishes offered. The staff at the hotel were absolutely charming and couldn't do enough for us. In a quirk of fate or mild coincidence, all of them had names starting with 'J'... Jade, Janice, Juni, Jane, Jessica, Joy etc etc. My partner is Jay so he fit right in. We found it very gay friendly so will definitely come back for an extended stay on our next visit to Samal Garden Island.
Reviewed February 05, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Thelma from Philippines
Group
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Nice affordable hotel”
Clean room, delicious food, courteous staff
This hotel tucked in a lovely setting in a garden although not beachfront can access to the beach by merely walking 2 minutes. The family room is really very comfortable with a balcony. The food served in the restaurant is very delicious and affordable. You can have your breakfast and lunch in the beach itself. Also there is early fisherman catch beside the beach and have it cooked in the restaurant for a minimal fee.Highly recommendable to all budget travelers. Having spent overnight in luxurious Pearl farm twice , I rather spent my 2 nights here next time.
Reviewed February 04, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Thelma from Philippines
Group
Family Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Hidden paradise hotel in Samal Island”
Nice hotel in lovely setting in the garden,although not beachfront you can access to the beach by walking merely 2 minutes. The rooms are clean and cozy,approchable staff and yummy food serve in the restaurant are really affordable. You can request to have your breakfast and lunch in the beach. There is early fisherman catch beside the beach and have it cooked in the restaurant for a minimal fee. Definitely I will come back to this hotel when I visit Davao again in the future.
Reviewed February 04, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Rhoda from Philippines
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Very clean rooms, nice garden”
Room, garden and cleanliness
Good
Reviewed September 17, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Martin from Czech Republic
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Nice hotel but terrible beach”
Food, cleanliness, lovely setting in lush garden
Hotel Precious Garden is located a bit off the beaten path in a beautiful garden, but its not really a beachfront. Not to mention the "beach" is a muddy small strip of land with horrible access, not so clean water and during lowtide absolutely unsuitable for anything. On the positive side the hotel has free of charge boat trips to Vanishing island and very good restaurant on the premises. The rooms are pretty basic without a fridge, but clean and accomodating.
Reviewed September 10, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Alberto from Philippines
Family with teens
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Could've been better if not for the little things”
1. The food. 2. The garden. 3. Staff
About the little things: First, a defective toilet flush, which was fixed only after 2 visits by the staff. Second, no phone in one of our rooms. I had to go to the other room to call the front desk. Then the beach was so small and stony we had to take a 20 minute tricycle ride to another resort to get a good swim and some watersports. But in fairness, the garden was gorgeous, the food is superb, especially their pizza, the staff are very friendly and accomodating and the rooms and surroundings are immaculately clean. For peace and quiet, this is the resort to stay in.
Reviewed May 04, 2015
5.3
Aillen from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
misleading advertisement”
i only have 1 free trip to vanishing island
Booked a beach house for my family but that beach house is not on their main address but an hour ride of habal habal. since we arrived late and tired they offered me a tiny room and placed 2 mattress on the floor. Disappointed yes but there is one thing that i like, free trip to vanishing island.
Reviewed April 17, 2015
7.7
Very good
STACY from Philippines
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
so so”
2 things i like about this hotel are the ff: *food (pasta and pizza tastes awesome) *room was surprisingly big and bed was comfortable
It was good but i was really disappointed with the beach front. It was kinda dirty. My husband and I opted to have a day tour to other resorts just to experience the beach of samal. On the other hand, their food tastes really great. However, if you are ordering their famous pizza, make sure you have reserved a lot of patience. We waited for an hour before they served it.
Reviewed April 11, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Andrew from Canada
Family with young children
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
very pleased”
the food was great. the staff was very good and the room was very nice.
It was wonderful.
Reviewed April 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Thomas from United States
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Surprise place”
Staff, food, quiet
This place was a surprise and a great value for the money. My GF and I stayed for three days. The food and staff was great. It was quiet but it was the middle of the week. They were very helpful in arranging travel and activities. I would certainly come back here. Samal is a beautiful place.
Reviewed March 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
jim from Australia
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Great visit”
Location. Staff. Cleanliness
Loved this place. It was spacious. Very relaxing. Fantastic value for money. Extra facilities a big plus. Much better than Hof Gorei hotel.
Reviewed January 21, 2015
6.0
David from New Zealand
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Disappointing”
I would struggle to give one best thing.
Location is good, but this place is potential misused. White sand everywhere except on the beach! Staff disinterested. We were the only guests but filipino mistress too proud to acknowledge us. Thanks, but no thanks.
Reviewed November 15, 2014
7.7
Very good
Roderick from Philippines
Family with young children
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Relaxing stay”
Ambiance, big room and breakfast
Reviewed November 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
STANLEY from Canada
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 7 nights in December 2013
Good Resort ”
Staff Owner Location
Reviewed October 17, 2014
7.0
Very good
Denis from Canada
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
High season: the best low season nightmare”
Food, location.
First, have to say we went there in February.see my comments, we were charmed. But this time.... hostess at the beach never a smile, we always had to get up to be served, had to tell her we needed service (other staff nothing to complain!). Out of 10 days, we had hot water to shower only once, and no pressure in water. We got fiance there, I asked for sparkling wine, did not have.was served non alcoholic wine (awkward, no?), found out few days later that front counter was full of sparkling wine, thought management would be nice enough to offer a bottle as complementary.think was expecting too much.At one dinner, we asked for sissig, we were served uncooked sissig(cook was rushed to leave.....and it was 30 minutes BEFORE her shift ended), she reheated it was AWFUL. I then asked for tomato soup, was served with cream which was rotten. For breakfast, Sunday morning, wanted bangus, they did not have. for 5 days before leaving, was asking for longsilog, which was part of complementary breakfast, they never had.well I will never ever recommend this hotel again, at least in low season.
Reviewed September 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Amelia from Philippines
Group
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Room is good”
the rooms are clean and staff are accomodating
Good
Reviewed July 03, 2014
7.7
Very good
Carl from United States
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
nice for a short stay ”
beautiful landscaping, great value and fun local attractions
very peaceful, good Filipino cooking, and see the bat caves just a few minutes away for sure.
Reviewed April 25, 2014
4.7
noel from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Quiet, relaxing”
Quietness , close to beach, friendly staff
beds very hard, staff friendly but slow, nice quiet location.
Reviewed April 13, 2014
7.7
Very good
Andrew from United Kingdom
Group
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Great Value for Money”
Food,Cleanliness,Staff
There were four adults and one toddler in our group and we occupied three rooms. All the rooms were clean and modern. The experience could have been enhanced with a small fridge in each room. The staff were all warm and friendly. The beach bar good fun and the food was excellent. The hotel setting in a garden was an added bonus. When they complete the swimming pool it will a fantastic place. The only slight disappointment is that there is no service of any kind after 9pm, so a nice and relaxing stay. Al in all the Precious Garden Hotel was a very pleasant surprise, so much so my wife and I are already planning our next vista there.
Reviewed April 04, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Denis from Canada
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Wonderful stay, very good quality/price, quiet”
Staff/service, quiet and romantic
Everything was perfect, we had our pre-honeymoon there, was so romantic. Have to give a special mention to one employee, is name is Juny : he would do anything to please the guess, was multi-task and made are stay even more enjoyable!!!! Only problem is that the beach was nice only at hight tide(very few hours), otherwise was muddy. But I will surely go back there!!!!!
Reviewed February 22, 2014
6.7
Good
Josef from Canada
Solo traveler
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Excellent stay- quiet with amazing Garden + Beach”
Quiet, nice staff, beautiful landscape
It was exactly what I was looking for ! Samal Island is amazing, the Hotel at a quiet location,nice staff. I will return
Reviewed February 09, 2014
8.0
Excellent
david from United States
Solo traveler
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Enjoyable stay and would go the again”
Nice beach, friendly staff, good food
Very pleasant hotel. The beach was isolated and clean and good for relaxing in a bungalow or having a drink at the beachside bar. I would not recommend swimming however. the water is murky and I got stung by jellyfish within 10 mins of going in. The girls who work there were very friendly. The food was good but a little pricey.
Reviewed January 20, 2014
5.0
MADHUKAR from India
Solo traveler
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
cheap but very poor service”
spacious room, quiet location & private beach
This hotel service needs drastic improvement. International customer service is very bad. (maybe good for local tourists only) Room was spacious but the bed is very bad, room service is too bad, staff forget things requested and internet is very slow, TV have local channels only, bathroom matress, water pressure, room cleaning service needs to improve. They do not know if there is massage shop nearby, did not made coconut available for 4 days.
Reviewed January 02, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
justin from United States
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Very peaceful and pleasant staff.”
beach rooms food
The staff and food was perfect ,the privet beach was lovley.long dock and nice bar at end of dock.speed boat for sight seeing.we will spend more time in this resort.
Reviewed October 23, 2013
7.7
Very good
Ethel from Philippines
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Romantic getaway”
It was secluded yet comfortable, the beach and garden setting are perfect for romance and honeymooners.
I choose precious garden mainly for the reason that i want to spend some quality time with my husband and celebrate our 15th year anniversary. The place was perfect for the occasion and we had a memorable time.
Reviewed October 15, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Eric from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff”
STAFF. LOCATION. CLEANLINESS
The hotel's best asset is their staff- very friendly, polite and accommodating. They made us feel like we were not holiday-makers but family. Had some good chats with them and they helped me as much as they could have done when I lost my tablet. They also helped me arrange day trips for my family. The hotel is in a very serene and quiet location, making it ideal for us to just have quiet nights in and spending precious family time after some adventurous activities in the day. Could not thank you enough for all your help! See you soon!
Reviewed September 22, 2013
6.7
Good
RHODORA from Philippines
Family with young children
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Okay.”
Frinedly and attentive staff. Food is okay. Quite place.
Our stay is just okay. Although we were dissapointed how the beach looked like. We were not able to swim.
Reviewed August 21, 2013
6.7
Good
Rosalie from Philippines
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
large room”
rooms, garden, food
Reviewed June 26, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Marilyn from Philippines
Group
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
The hotel was good... Clean ...”
Nice bedroom, king size bed and spacious :-)
Reviewed June 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
John from Australia
Solo traveler
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
relaxing with beach area”
nice beach friendly staff and service
very good
Reviewed June 11, 2013
6.0
Sergey from Russia
Family with young children
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Hotel on arrival to look what else is arround”
Quiet place, no strangers
Beach is poor specifically at low tide Billions of flys, mosquitoes and ants Overprised on everything including food and stay Personnel is friendly, but not following requests Cooking is very slow and can not stick to schedule
Reviewed June 10, 2013
5.3
Thierry from France
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Nice hotel if you want to rest for cheap on Samal”
Quiet - friendly staff - nice garden
Stay was ok, nothing to complain about the hotel. But I have experience so much better places in Philippines that I would not return Samal Island.
Reviewed May 07, 2013
7.0
Very good
Rainer from Germany
Solo traveler
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
too quiet”
garden , beach, sea
Reviewed April 17, 2013
5.7
Roger from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Average hotel with need for improvements”
Food, natural setting, proximity to sea
For the price my expectations were not too high. However, there were a couple of areas that should be attended to. Firstly, the internet was not working at all during my stay. Secondly, the service is very slow. The staff are friendly and the hotel is probably short-staffed which is why the service is slow. Food was actually very good. The hotel has a natural setting and it is only a short walk to the small beach. The beach bar was closed during the Easter holidays which is odd given that it is a hotel. A warning to foreigners - the transit from the airport was taxi to the port, short ferry to Samal Island and tricycle sidecar to the hotel. The tricycles at the port are controlled by rip-off merchants and as I was a foreigner, they charged $6 instead of $1
Reviewed April 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
Guy from Canada
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Pleasant stay for a short stay”
Owner was friendly and helpful
Nice place but after 2 days there is not a lot of activities to do
Reviewed March 30, 2013
7.3
Very good
Arnel from Canada
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Nice resort and well kept and very accessible.”
Good for relaxation. Nice landscaped garden. Large rooms.
Reviewed March 21, 2013
4.7
Vongkorad from France
Couple
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Huge deception”
The garden is beautiful, the staff is nice
The staff is really nice and helpfull. The garden is really beautiful. But : It's impossible to have a bath in the sea. The water of the beach is really dirty ! The room is old and not maintained. Only one channel available on tv, even after that the staff send us a technician. Really too expensive compare to the quality they should give for this price !!!
Reviewed March 19, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Theo from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Great place for a relaxed stay on the beach”
Beautiful gardens, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere
Precious Garden is a great place to spend some relaxing time. Not crowded, friendly staff, beautiful gardens. The beach is on the small side although the hotel has some great huts where you can relax. If you come for swimming please look for another place, since you need high tide to be able to swim. Overall a great experience and an excellent way to spend the weekend.
Reviewed March 14, 2013
8.3
Excellent
david from United States
Solo traveler
Matrimonial Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Nice private beach and friendly service”
the beach
I enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is in a quiet secluded area. The beach area is small but clean and private, and great for just relaxing in a bungalow or sitting at the bar right on the beach, where the friendly staff will serve reasonably priced drinks and appetizers. The food in the restaurant is also decent. The one downside is the water itself, which is somewhat dirty and not great for swimming - I was stung by a jellyfish about 10 mins after going in. The rooms aren't fancy either - no cable or wi-fi - but all in all, I'd stay here again.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Carla from Philippines
Family with teens
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
A wonderful place to relax ”
The surroundings and the staff are one of a kind!
my family had a very short stay in this hotel due to our very tight schedule, but just the same we had one of the best relaxing time in this hotel. the beautiful and well-kept garden added to the relaxing mood of our stay. despite the not-so-good weather condition at that time, we managed to enjoy our time together as a family. the staff are so friendly and helpful, and the facilities are ok (except for occasional brown-outs and the not so-consistent hot water in the bathroom. i highly recommend this place especially for families who would want to have a quality bonding-time.
Reviewed February 25, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ellen from Philippines
Couple
Twin Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Serene hotel”
quiet, beautiful garden, very accessible
The hotel is very accessible from Davao city proper. The place is awesome with a beautiful garden. The beach front is clean and very relaxing.
Reviewed February 15, 2013