Book Now: Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku

Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Reviews

Very good
From 1015 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1015)Booking.com Reviews (310)
7.6
/
10
Very good
From 1015 reviews
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.3
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.6
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (1015)
All room types
Showing 725 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Ljudmilla from Canada
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Very good location ”
Small room Clean and friendly staffs
Reviewed May 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
FX from Indonesia
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
good location ”
I was there with my wife, the hotel is near the Shinjuku Sanchome station The hotel is clean and the staff were good. But I think the wall between room is to thin, I can hear persons next of my room talking and doing sexual activity
Reviewed May 26, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Alquin from United Kingdom
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 9 nights in May 2018
I would definitely come back again.”
The hotel is brilliantly situated near convenience stores, restaurants, shops, subway train station and even the police station. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. It’s definitely a hotel that I would be visiting again and is worth recommending to family and friends.
Reviewed May 25, 2018
3.6
Loh from Malaysia
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Acceptable”
Staff are capable to communicate with English. Location is acceptable, walking distance to nearby the train and bus station. The room size is bigger compared we stayed previous Tokyo hotel (but don't expect too much).
Reviewed May 20, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Anna from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Semi Double (Main Building Non-Smoking)
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Good value for money business hotel in Shinjuku”
Good location, although in Shinjuku, the hotel and the street are pretty quiet and there is no noise from the outside. Excellent value for money. Excellent mattress quality, so slept pretty well. I am grateful for the reception staff for being so accommodating in regards to storing my bow (I came to participate in kyudo event). A bit on the downside: the laundry (an external service provider to the hotel) did not deliver the best quality (which is surprising for the Japanese standards). Some of my items were badly washed, and most of them were badly ironed.
Reviewed May 11, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Tin from Hong Kong
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in April 2018
Great value for money in excellent location”
Pro: Right next to shinjuku town centre Subway entrance E1 is just across the room Next to supermarket that opens 24/7 Con: Room was very small, but that's the same for most Japanese hotels in this price range
Reviewed May 06, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Frederick from Australia
Solo traveler
Main Building Twin Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Handy”
I
Reviewed May 03, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Aryani from Indonesia
Group
Main Building Triple Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
nice”
nice hotel... very enjoy
Reviewed May 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Thunvadee from Philippines
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Nice place and comfy pillow”
I love pillow and body sponge here. Staffs can speak multiple langauges. Worth for money for the place and good location. However, I can feel tiny bugs or insects bite from bed sheet.
Reviewed April 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ching from United States
Solo traveler
Main Building Single Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Good location, friendly staffs, good facilities and roomier than other hotel rooms in Tokyo.”
Between Higashi Shinjuku and Shinjuku Sanchome Station, good facilities, the only thing that I can complain is the carpet in the elevators are old and dirty, room size is larger than other Tokyo hotels that I ever stayed, and friendly staffs.
Reviewed April 22, 2018
7.2
Very good
Anthony from Australia
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Room very clean everything good, no English tv Channels ”
Room was very small unfortunately we had 3x large suitcases which made it very congested.
Reviewed April 18, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Renae from Canada
Couple
Standard Semi Double (Main Building Smoking)
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Exceptional”
Small room
Reviewed April 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
LEE from Singapore
Group
Main Building Triple Room - Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
customer service ”
Staffs are very friendly and kind, even I hang do not disturb they still prepare new set of towers and hang at door
Reviewed April 11, 2018
7.6
Very good
Mei from Hong Kong
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Good Location”
Reasonable price , located 10 mins from the JR East Gate ! Quiet environment at the heart of Shinjuku!
Reviewed April 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Keng from Malaysia
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in March 2018
Clean room. Good to find room all cleaned and ready for us to rest after a tiring day out. ”
Room cleanliness and location.
Reviewed April 04, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jay from United States
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Ideal location not far from Shinjuku Station”
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku is located in an ideal spot only minutes walk from all the primary attractions, restaurants, and train station. It's also situated a a few minutes east of Golden Gai so after bar hopping that walk back to the hotel isn't long. It's also nice because it's so close to Kabukicho without being in Kabukicho, which can be annoying for those not used to the red light district. Location is the best quality however the rooms are very clean and quiet; the staff is super friendly and can navigate English language if needed. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it for anyone traveling alone or as a couple.
Reviewed March 19, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
teng from Malaysia
Business traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
One word best ”
Two words best best
Reviewed March 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
TSZ from China
Group
Main Building Triple Room - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Travel”
Nice Hotel and Nice staff
Reviewed March 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
MIGUEL from Thailand
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Exceptional”
There is a great sushi restaurant around than opens till 1am. The breakfast buffet is good
Reviewed February 28, 2018
7.2
Very good
Hock from Singapore
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Clean and well maintained, walking distance 1 km to Shinjuku Stn”
The location was situated along main street but quiet. Hotel well maintained and provide clean towel with own bathroom, hair dryer, boiling thermo flask, LCD TV, bathrobe, slipper, toilette set, etc. Non-smoking floor free of smoke smell. Have both laundry service and self-laundry machine (¥300 for 40mins wash, ¥100 for 30min dryer). Overall good experience. Although nearest rail statiom about 500m away, will come back again if price is low.
Reviewed February 28, 2018
6.8
Good
Jack from Australia
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Gets the job done.”
The hotel staff were very nice and accomodating, the location was easy to find and walking distance from train station and the rooms were clean and new. The beds however were fairly uncomfortable and the rooms were as big as a fancy elevator. Good option for overnight stay but would not spend much time here.
Reviewed February 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Tirush from Thailand
Solo traveler
Main Building Single Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
It's not far from the scene and has a lot of sockets.”
There were eight sockets in my room. I could walk to the night scene in less than ten mins. All in all, it's a very nice hotel. I'd definitely go there again.
Reviewed January 31, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Pongsakorn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Good room interior ambience ”
I am impressed with zen design interior, cleanness, none of smoking smell for non-smoking room. Location is quit close to subway line (but longer distance from JR line). Room was tiny but acceptable when compare with price...... ......appreciated !!!
Reviewed January 31, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Wong from Hong Kong
Couple
Main Building Triple Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Good place, clean and tidy ”
The room is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is good especially the bread provided.
Reviewed January 27, 2018
7.6
Very good
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
Main Building Twin Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Third time returning to Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku ”
The first time I stayed at this hotel was about 10 years ago. This is an old hotel but they have been keep on refurbished. The check-in process was fast and smooth. Their staff was communicable with English. The room was clean and bright. The bed was comfortable, only the pillow was a bit low and thin. The room size is really smaller for the semi-double room but the standard room was actually bigger than I expected. It surprised me to found an electric water boiler was labelled “made in 2017”. The WiFi speed was reasonable. It took 15-20 min to the hotel from Shinjuku station but I am afraid it would be very noisy if it is close to the station area. I will go back when visiting Tokyo again.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
6.4
Good
MING from Taiwan
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
A bit far from Shinjuku station”
Room is small, just like typical tokyo hotels. A bit far from Shinjuku st.
Reviewed January 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Cheng from Vietnam
Family with teens
Main Building Triple Room - Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in December 2017
Convenient location (Near shopping, eateries & Metro Station)”
About 3 mins walk to metro station & 12-15 mins walk to Shinjuku JR station. Lots of shopping and eateries around.
Reviewed December 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
yonathan from Indonesia
Business traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Excellent”
staff was very nice. a lil bit far away from shinjuku station, took me 30mins from walking. the bed was big for single and quite enough for two
Reviewed December 10, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Family with teens
Main Building Triple Room - Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in December 2017
Holiday with family ”
Hotel Sunlite was good. Staffs are all very friendly and courteous. The room and bath room are clean. We are happy with the stay in Hotel sunlite
Reviewed December 09, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Janice from United States
Family with young children
Main Building Single Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Clean and small”
True to Tokyo - small room but clean. Location is convenient. Close to lots of restaurants and not too far walk to the shopping area of Shinjuku
Reviewed November 22, 2017
6.8
Good
Jiayi from Singapore
Family with teens
Main Building Twin Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Simple biz hotel at outer circle of shinjuku”
Simple biz hotel at outer circle of shinjuku. A short walk from the metro station.
Reviewed November 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Nuttapond from Thailand
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good place good price”
Good place near a city by walk just 5-10 min. Convenience Stores are near by hotel If you select room that include breakfast is worth with buffet breakfast.
Reviewed November 14, 2017
5.6
Sanjaya from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Clean yet Strict!”
Pro : Most of Tokyo hotel is small, even some 5 stars hotel also has small room size, so it is okay. Clean room. Next to Shinjuku Sanchome station but not Shinjuku Station (don't be mistakenly). Cons: Receptionist very strict, i pay for 2 for one room, only i myself occupied the room, when friend visit me, not stay overnite, just visit, they are not allow to go to the room, i am only allow to meet friends at lobby. If you have big luggage and need go to Shinjuku, it is quite a distance. However location is good if without big luggage.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
5.6
Sanjaya from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Clean”
I read few bad review, but still decide give a try. -Pros: Room is clean, bed is not that hard as some mentioned, most of hotel room in tokyo is small, so was expected. Next to sanchome station. -Cons: Partition wall is abit thin though, so can hear noise from outside. If you travel with kids, old ppl, big luggage, not recommended, as quite a distance to walk to shinjuku station. Additionally, receptionist very strict, no early check in and no late check out. And if friends visit only can meet at lobby, not allow bring friends room, althg they re not overnite.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Christopher from Australia
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Clean rooms, good location”
The rooms are tiny but clean. Small rooms are normal in Tokyo, and honestly, who is going to stay in their room all day in Tokyo anyway? All we need is somewhere to sleep, wash and leave our bags. The rooms have been recently renovated. I've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions over the years and, even before the renovations, all areas of the hotel are always spotless. The location is great. It's away from the noisy, busy part of Shinjuku but still close enough to it. Shinjuku station and the new bus terminal (for Haneda airport) is only a 15 minute walk away, and Shinjuku san-chome station is only a few minutes walk away. The post office, restaurants, convenience stores and vending machines are just minutes from the front door. The hotel has laundry facilities for guests (just 2 washer-dryer combos, so you need to check availability at the front desk) and a restaurant (which closes at about 9pm). Breakfast is quite good and includes cereal, toast, pastries, fish, salad, fruit, yoghurt, juice and coffee. I'll stay here when I visit Tokyo again because it's convenient, friendly and, most importantly, clean.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
6.8
Good
Zhi from Malaysia
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Cheap”
Bed is too small for couple
Reviewed August 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
phil from United States
Solo traveler
Main Building Single Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Sunny airy rooms with good value ”
Weekend more expensive. Weekdays probably cede on par with Toyoku Inns.
Reviewed June 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
phil from United States
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Excellent value”
Recently renovated, the 13 SQM room is well appointed, as one would expect from Japanese budget hotels.
Reviewed June 05, 2017
5.2
nara from South Korea
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
too small room with good location..”
room was too small (if u gonna choose double room, which means not double.. you gonna see a single bed with no space to put two carrieres when u open the door!) room conditions were clean with good location.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Charles from United States
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Just ok”
Pro: Cool lighting in the room. Con: very hard bed, very thin walls
Reviewed December 20, 2016
6.8
Good
GOH from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
Location ”
Great location and very clean room
Reviewed September 25, 2016
5.6
Soizic from France
Solo traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Satisfactory overall”
Does the job for 1 night. Good value. 10mn walk from station. staff is ok but will charge u for every hour late at check out
Reviewed August 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Edrick from Indonesia
Family with young children
Main Building Twin Room - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
3 adult + 1 child”
1 twin room and 1 double bed room. The room is cleaned and tidy but the size is quite small from my point of view.
Reviewed July 17, 2016
6.8
Good
Tan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Main Building Single Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
I m happy just the location a bit ....”
Overall I m happy with this hotel. But if the location of this hotel can be slightly nearer to shopping area, I will be more happy. From this hotel walk to JR station probably take 15-25 min. And if you don't know the right direction you will probably spend more than an hour to find them.
Reviewed April 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Irene from Philippines
Group
Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Room is very clean.”
The staff were friendly. Our room was clean and new. No hassle to check in & out the hotel.
Reviewed April 18, 2016
6.0
YUK from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Main Building Triple Room - Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015
Acceptable location with spacious 3-people room”
The facilities are acceptable but bad smell for the lift Customer service is good
Reviewed April 04, 2016
6.3
Good
Angela from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Main Building Single Room - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Budget hotel in shinjuku”
Location. Quiet. Clean
The hotel is close to metro subway. About 5-7 min walk to shinjuku sanchome metro subway. But if u walk further u can get to shibuya crossing for 15 min walk or to shinjuku dining area very closely. Hotel is a bit old but clean. A bit small space but its ok for single traveller like me for in n out. Bed is ok too.
Reviewed January 05, 2016
7.3
Very good
Heung from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
nice”
convenience, comfortable, good service
Reviewed December 14, 2015
7.3
Very good
Neil from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Main Building Triple Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Good budget hotel close to Shinjuku”
Convenient location, triple room, breakfast buffet
My wife, ten year old daughter, baby and I stayed at Sunlite Shinjuku for one night. The triple room suited us well, the breakfast buffet was a bonus as most of the hotels where we stayed didn't offer a good breakfast and the location was convenient for Shinjuku Gyoen which is a lovely Japanese garden and Yoyogi Park where I went running
Reviewed October 30, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Chi from Hong Kong
Couple
Main Building Small Double Room - Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Convenient”
cheap, clean and convenient
Reviewed October 22, 2015