Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 37 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.0
  • Food and dining 6.4
Sort by

marla from United States
Solo travelers
Classic Room - One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
It was sufficient for an overnight
location, restaiurants museums
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Louis from United Kingdom
Couples
Classic Room - One Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Disappointing hotel
A nice neighbourhood although further towards midtown would have been preferable
We thought we had got a good deal until we got to the hotel. First we were shown a room on top floor of the hotel, it was very tired. The door didn't close properly and the window blind was broken. We asked for another room which they did oblige but it was extremely small and the mattress on the bed not good; If one person moved the whole mattress moved. we expected better value for money. Oh yes there was one day without hot water too.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

ROBERT from United States
Couples
Carnegie King Suite with Living Area
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
A fair value
Good location; friendly staff; large room
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. There was some traffic noice, but the pros ouweighed this con.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Rebecca from Australia
Groups
Classic Room - One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Great location very close to Central Park
Nice rooms, clean, friendly service, nice rooftop garden, central
this is a fantastic place for those who want to explore the upper east side. however, if you're looking to party in new york, this certainly isn't the place to be. so it would be a great place for families, couples and friends who want to visit museums like the gugenheim and centeal park which are only 5 minutes away on foot.
Reviewed October 04, 2012

Deborah from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Classic Room - One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Lovely hotel, free tea and coffee
Beautiful building, great location
I used this as a base for visiting New York and it was perfect
Reviewed September 09, 2012

Mian from China
Solo travelers
Classic Room - One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Nice hotel at the Madison
Near to the Museum Mile
the hotel is beautiful with a very classic mailbox at the entrance. the staff is helpful. if you are a museum fan, this hotel is just minutes walk away from the museum mile along central park. i would recommend arrive by taxi if you have heavy luggage, because you need to walk through several blocks from the metro station at lexington street.
Reviewed September 04, 2012

Leena from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Classic Room - One Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Cute hotel and great location
Quiet and clean
Took a two hour train ride to New York for the weekend, arrived in the busy area at Penn Station and was pleasantly surprised to arrive in the peaceful area of Hotel Wales. Friendly greeting at the reception with a quick check in. Arrived to the room and the first thing that is evident is how small it is, but could not ask for more for a weekend stay. The room was nicely furnished, the bathroom was perfect down to the little details of how the towels were folded and everything was clean. Though the hotel does not have a restaurant there are plenty around for the three meals, two just downstairs. Perfect hotel to be center enough for everything but without the the noises. The only complaint that I have is WiFi is not free.
Reviewed September 04, 2012

WU from Taiwan
Business travelers
Classic Room - One Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
Nice hotel
The builiding and style are nice
it's nice hotel and quite. near MTR 88street THe receipt people is very kind and good to talk But the room and bed are smaller. it's not suitable for two people just both are sigle. Since the price is likeable and maybe next time we can choose it again.
Reviewed September 03, 2012

john from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Classic Room - One Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Comfortable hotel
Atmosphere
The hotel Wales has a certain old world charm about it including an extremely ancient lift. Rooms are on the small size but perfectly comfortable. There is a visitors lounge cum bar where you can get 24 hour tea and coffee. Location is upper east side near to the Guggenheim. There is a metros stop quite close and buses run down both Madison and Lexington so getting around the city is easy enough. You need to walk a bit to find shops and restaurants as this is very much a residential neighbourhood but 10 minutes or so will do it. There is a convenient bar next door for breakfast. Staff are very friendly.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Richard from United Kingdom
Couples
Classic Room - One Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Charming hotel in quite location
Close to central park but in a quiter end of town.
room was small but comfortable. reception staff helpful and professional. rooftop terrace with a limited view of the park. only a few restaurants close by, so not good for nightlife unless you get a cab to midtown. subway stations are also a bit of a hike.
Reviewed June 24, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: