Book Now: Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NY

Good6.9
Based on 256 reviews
82% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (256)
Booking.com Reviews (3307)

6.9

Filter by guest type:
Good
based on 256 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.8
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 6.8
Good
based on 53 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Room comfort and quality 6.6
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 6.3
Good
based on 61 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 6.9
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for money 6.7
Very good
based on 79 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room comfort and quality 6.9
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.1
Good
based on 17 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 7.4
  • Room comfort and quality 5.5
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 6.4
Very good
based on 23 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.7
Very good
based on 23 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 7.4
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 6.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • 한국어
  • 简体中文
  • Deutsch
  • ภาษาไทย
  • Français
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • Italiano
  • Português (PT)
  • Tiếng Việt
  • Русский
  • Español
  • Nederlands
  • Norsk
  • Svenska
more less

Room type
  • King Bed
  • Two Double Beds
  • Double Suite with Two Double Beds
  • Standard King Room

Sort by
Showing 212 verified guest comments
  • clear all

8.4
MARIA from Australia
Family with teens
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Excellent”
The staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is close to JFK Airport. The bathroom is clean and no moulds at all. My only concern is the noise.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
Leo from Philippines
Family with young children
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Good location near JFK airport”
Free shuttle to/from JFK. Recommended for overnight stay with connecting flight in the morning. Convenient location near JFK airport
Reviewed June 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Asish from India
Couple
Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Airport friendly”
Arrived at 11pm on the 10th May, 2017 after an exhausting 24 hour journey. Took the taxi from JFK which cost me only 14 $. Reception was helpful and quickly got me in my room. The FO staff helped with luggage, which was nice of them. Room was on the smaller size but clean with a tea/coffee maker and a fridge. I had asked for 2 beds and they were comfortable. TV had most news channels. Breakfast is in the foyer near reception from 6.30 to 10.30am. The spread includes cornflakes, bread (white and wheat), bagels, oatmeal, boiled eggs, muffins and fruits alongwith juices. It's a decent breakfast. The foyer has a tea coffee facility which is available 24 hours. Stayed for 2 nights. The reception was very helpful in directing me to Manhattan. You buy a Metro pass at the reception for $ 5.50 which entitles you to take a Q6 bus (just next to the hotel) to Sutphin-Archer stop. From there you cross the road and take the E subway from Sutphin station to the station of your choice in Manhattan. On the way back, the Q6 stop is just outside Sutphin station and you get down at 136 avenue-Rockaway Boulevard Av stop. The elapsed time for the entire journey (one way) is about an hour but comfortable. The Metro card pays for one return journey and is a steal at that price. There is a Burger King next to this hotel but we did not try it. A 7-11 is a 5 minute walk away with an Indian food joint next door. Tried the Indian joint, was ok. Reception, Housekeeping and all support staff in the hotel are friendly and helpful always. If you arrive in JFK and need a couple of days to rejuvenate yourself, this is the place. The cost is on the higher side, but that is the price for location. Staying more than 2-3 days? I suggest you look for alternatives!
Reviewed May 13, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
7.2
Sarah from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Good option close to the airport.”
It's expensive for what you get, but considering the area, this is one of the very cheap options. The room was dingy and a little old but clean enough. The breakfast was pretty good and the airport shuttle was convenient too. I would stay here again between flights.
Reviewed May 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Therez from Japan
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Close to the airport is a plus ”
This hotel was convenient for an overnight stay in NY and the shuttle service was able to take me back to the airport in the AM. Overall the room was adequate with a really huge and comfy bed and there was an ok breakfast selection as well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. For this reason, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I have no complaints ..... it's a great deal for the price if you are interested in a short stay.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Nathaniel from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Exceptional”
Pros. Great location close to the Airport. Friendly staff. Very clean throughout. Hardwood floors. Very comfortable bed ( I'm a heavyset person) comfortable big pillows. Decent breakfast. Cons: you have to walk down some steps to downstairs and walk around to back to find the elevator to take you up to your floor. Would be nice if the elevator was at the front entrance .
Reviewed April 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Kenneth from Australia
Business traveler
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Good transit hotel near JFK airport”
This hotel is run by friendly staff and has a free shuttle service to and from the JFK airport. Being 5-10 mins from the airport made it an ideal transit hotel for us to stay the night before our flight out. Staff are helpful and provide details of how to go to Manhattan via public transport. The hotel is not in a location for sightseeing but their shuttle bus runs every hour and can connect you with transport. Rooms are clean and there's a free light breakfast included.
Reviewed March 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
chris from Canada
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Excellent”
I was very impressed by the cleanliness of this hotel. I would stay there again
Reviewed March 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Senna from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Shuttle driver was nice”
The shuttle driver was very helful
Reviewed January 05, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.2
LING from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Worth and great experience!”
Reasonable!
Reviewed January 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
Barrington from United States
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Great ”
Parking
Reviewed January 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.8
Linda from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
convenient but very noisy”
The hotel was adequate. Room had its own heating and spare blanket. Clean enough. The corridor was noisy with people going up and down on a loud floor. There was a noisy machine of some kind outside the window. Would not stay there again.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.2
Mohamed from Egypt
Family with young children
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Near JFK airport, shuttle service is great ”
Good accommodation near airport Breakfast of little varieties
Reviewed December 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Hongki from South Korea
Solo traveler
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good except transportations”
It is good, but only seems dangerous in night bus from subway to hotel. Except that, clean and comfortable.
Reviewed December 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.2
Trent from Antigua & Barbuda
Business traveler
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Overnight stay for next day flight.”
Only 10 minutes drive from the airport, good price, and very clean & well kept. My only con was that the receptionist charged my card even though I had already prepaid with Agoda. Card was subsequently refunded.
Reviewed December 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
Grace from Malaysia
Family with teens
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Good value for transit stay”
Shuttle service is available from Federal Circle just call the hotel when you arrived at Federal Circle take airtrain for free from any terminal in JFK to Federal Circle and call the hotel for shuttle pick up with the free phone service in the station. This hotel offers free shuttle until 12am only, driver Uncle George is a very kind and helpful man, excellent service! Not many facilities as expected since it is only a transit stay hotel.
Reviewed November 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.4
PRITPAUL from Australia
Couple
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Feedback ”
Hotel room walls feel like made of cardboard, so noisy at all times. Defeated the whole purpose of using this place for transit as both of us struggled to get decent sleep. Shower head coming out from the wall, disappointing. Customer service was really good, however, facilities lacking throughout our stay. Overall, I would pass booking this hotel for the next time.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.4
LING from Singapore
Group
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Intense Experience”
It feels like there is something going on in this area. Maybe it's due to its near proximity to the airport.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.6
Kwok from Hong Kong
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Not bad for the price and location”
Not bad for the price and location
Reviewed August 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.6
Anthony from United States
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Convenient ”
Very convienent to airport location.
Reviewed May 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.0
noreen from United Kingdom
Couple
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
worst hotel I ever stayed in ”
If you intend on sleeping at all do not stay here. Do not expect the light to work, inadequate bedding and rude unhelpful staff
Reviewed April 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Jennifer from United States
Family with teens
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Overnight stay”
Proximity to airport, clean rooms, staff
Reviewed March 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Taehun from South Korea
Family with young children
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
It was nice”
Comfortable and close to the airport so we could find it out easily.
Reviewed February 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
shady from Egypt
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
very good service and clean rooms”
clean, good service & good location
Very good
Reviewed December 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Roderick from Trinidad & Tobago
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
my stay at Howard Johnson p”
1. Toilet was clean. 2. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was okay
For a one night stay it was good. I have no complaints except that I ordered a king bed and received a Queen one.
Reviewed April 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Daniel from United States
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
HOJO JFK”
Closeness to airport, nice staff, clean
It was a great stay
Reviewed December 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Amanda from United States
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Excellent ”
Cleanliness, hospitable friendly staff
Great!
Reviewed December 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Neter from United States
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
The hotel itself is in a good location and the sta”
Comfort, staff hospitality, and convenience
My stay was very good. I will recommend friends to stay there.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Wilhelmina from Australia
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Close to JFK Airport”
Location, breakfast, quiet during the night
Reviewed December 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Tan from Malaysia
Group
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Average ”
Airport transfer
Good thing about it is the airport shuttle, it is near to the airport. Breakfast is good. Others are just normal
Reviewed December 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Boon from Singapore
Group
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
comments”
staff was friendly and there are convenient stores and fast food beside the hotel.
Stay was quite OK except the towel was not so clean. Strand of Hair found on the towel.
Reviewed December 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Jose from Puerto Rico
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 14 nights in October 2014
Review”
Bed, tv and the bathroom
Although i was most of the time out of the hotel, the room was really comfortable
Reviewed November 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Roderick from Trinidad & Tobago
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Stay at Howard Johnson ”
1) it was clean. 2) it was quiet. 3)staff was efficient.
It was pleasant. I stayed on the 1st Nov, 2014, and on the 16th of the same month. On my first stay the room was a bit on the small side but on my second there was a whole lot more space. It had the usual amenities and I have no complaints.
Reviewed November 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Martin from United Kingdom
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
GOOD VALUE PLACE TO CRASH”
STAFF, ROOM CLEANLINESS, WAFFLE MACHINE ATBREAKFAST!
Very friendly, accommodating reception staff (gave me an extra couple of room hours when I had to go to Manhatten unexpectedly), basic but satisfying breakfast (LOVE the waffle machine!), clean rooms. The 2 things which MAY put you off: 1) Jamaica is a pretty run-down area, though it doesn't feel particularly unsafe. You stay here as it's so damn close to the airport, not for the sightseeing 2) You MUST plan your eating out - in short, the only dining facility is Burger King next door. I opted for a delivered pizza at a pretty hefty $27 (though it lasted me dinner & breakfast!) - you could walk to the Marriott which no doubt has inhouse dining. You get what you pay for - this is a good, cheap, basic place to crash very close to the airport. Think ahead about where to dine & you'll be fine. RECOMMENDED.
Reviewed November 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
CAI from China
Group
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
ok for stay for a nigh nearby airport”
friendly staff, free shuttle
hotel is ok, but after 11 pm there's no free shuttle. wifi is not stable.
Reviewed October 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Yu from Taiwan
Family with young children
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Cleaness of the hotel and room is not comfortable”
Service is good
Reviewed June 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Tarnier from United States
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Good Hotel”
This hotel had a clean room with a good breakfast and public transportation was very convenient
The stay was good exception was the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway of the third third floor.
Reviewed June 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Anthony from Philippines
Family with young children
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Very close to JFK Airport.”
Airport shuttle, Friendly Staff and Clean Rooms
We had a pleasant stay. The airport was 5mins drive away. The hotel offers a free shuttle.
Reviewed June 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Royce from Australia
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Value for money for travelling from JFK”
Clean, Near Airport, Easy checking in & out
Good
Reviewed May 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Richard from United States
Solo traveler
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
cheapest rate, but not very good”
close to airport, coffee maker in room, easy check-in
there is no shuttle service before 5:30 am, so if your flight is leaving early, or you're arriving late (after ten), you will have to pay $15-20 dollars for a cab. Hotel looks and feels run down; the hallway carpets are filthy. The room is adequate for a one-night stopover to catch a connecting plane, though. I will not book this hotel again, I think the nearby would be a better stay (they have continuous shuttle service to JFK).
Reviewed April 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
ARUNAS from Lithuania
Group
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Easy access to the airport”
Easy access to the airport
shuttle's driver was the worst thing of all travel
Reviewed April 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
Muhammad from United Kingdom
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Rude driver”
Location
We arrived at the airport at 10 pm and went straight to the shuttle bus area just before 11 pm. We waited for over half an hour and decided to take a taxi instead. When we arrived at the hotel after midnight, the receptionist told us that the bus runs from 5 am till 11 pm. The following morning we took the bus to the drop off area to pick up a rented car, the driver was very rude and shouted at us to hurry up. He first dropped some customers to the airport terminals and then another one to a car rental company. As we were the last to leave, I gave him the name of our car rental company, but he bluntly requested a tip of $15 or $20, I asked him to drop us and the normal drop off area. He stopped a good couple of hundred yards away, as I knew from the night before that we still have to walk a far bit with our suitcases to get there. I told him that this is not the spot, but he refused and insisted that we leave the bus. We walked to the shuttle buses are to pick up our car rental bus. Not a happy experience and will not return.
Reviewed April 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Ines from United States
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
budget hotel with 4 star beds”
close to the airport for a nice sleep and very comfortable bed
I have use this hotel more than once nice experience
Reviewed April 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
lace from Sweden
Couple
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
nice overnight place”
airport transfer, confortable beds, big roomd
It was nice comfy and cozy. the problem is jfk dont provide free telephine services to hotels so you can call them for pick up. negative thing is that the front desk personnels are not service minded. They cant communicate to their guest and make then comfortable
Reviewed March 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
catherine from United States
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Great budget airport hotel”
The hotel was close to the airport, provided shuttle service, staff gave directions to use the public transportation to Time Square
This hotel provided a great service at an affordable price.
Reviewed March 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Marianne from United States
Couple
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
tired hotel near the airport”
location to the airport, shuttle
I stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica for an overnight between two flights. The shuttle arrived promptly after we contacted the hotel. The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the airport in an industrial neighborhood. There is a fast food place across the hotel. The furniture and overall aspect of the hotel were on the tired side. The cheap furniture showed a lot of wear and tear and there was nothing special about the room or the hotel. Breakfast was the usual type offering cereals, bagels and do-it-yourself waffles. For the price the area offers better alternatives.
Reviewed February 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Penyta from Australia
Couple
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Simple stay but pricey.”
Waffles maple syrup frosty flakes
The shuttle pick up is at a air train station called federation circle, and then we had to call them. I emailed three days in advance and got a reply after I checked in. When we rang to get directions the lady on the phone was quite rude and didn't help very much. The building is in desperate need of renovations. Quite dirty in the halls etc. The room was fine beds were huge and room was tidy. Breakfast was good there was cereal, waffles, bread, beagles everything. Was happy with that. But I wouldn't stay longer than one night.
Reviewed February 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
SAYAN from United States
Solo traveler
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Excellent for overnight stay flight changes at JFK”
Timely shuttle service
The shuttle to the hotel from the airport requires the traveler to take the Metro from the airport, with all the luggage, to a station specifically designed for hotel buses to pick up passengers. This is a requirement of JFK airport and not of the hotels. However, this adds both to time and effort on part of the passenger. I strongly recommend using an airport SmartCart in spite of the fact that it costs money to rent one. The return shuttle, however, drops off the passenger at the correct terminal at JFK and this is convenient.
Reviewed February 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Jan from South Africa
Couple
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Good value for money”
Location, shuttle and wifi
Airport shuttle meant a lot because we arrived in a snow storm! Staff was friendly and rooms were well equipped.
Reviewed January 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Rebecca from Germany
Solo traveler
Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Could get rest between my flights”
Beds, Close to airport, Calm
Reviewed January 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: