Book Now: Jia-Jia-at West Market Hotel

Excellent
From 1252 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1252)Booking.com Reviews (213)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
From 1252 reviews
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.0
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service9.1
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (1252)
All room types
Showing 804 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Seyoung from South Korea
Family with teens
L
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Great hotel”
Great location by the market, great design and staffs. The staff took us on a tour of the hotel and explained the concept of our room. Famous tourist locations are in walking distance. Very satified and would definitely visit again.
Reviewed January 23, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Pei from Taiwan
Business traveler
S
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good!”
Good!
Reviewed January 18, 2017
7.6
Very good
An-Chi from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
good and clean”
good and clean. Staff are quite nice .
Reviewed January 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Xanthe from Australia
Couple
M
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Fabulous service, location and design”
We loved our stay at JJW! Duke at reception was incredibly helpful and always smiling. The area around the hotel is really creative and lively. The hotel is beautifully designed and quirky features. Loved it.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Tracy from United States
Group
S
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
awesome”
thank you!
Reviewed January 03, 2017
7.2
Very good
Susan from Singapore
Group
M
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Gd friendly staff. Close to shops & eateries”
Staff are friendly. Breakfast served is good and nicely laid out. Close, walking distance to shops and food.
Reviewed December 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Edwin from Singapore
Business traveler
S
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Arty hotel with good location and service”
Recommend for every visitor who wants to sray near traditional eateries
Reviewed December 01, 2016
6.4
Good
TeMing from Taiwan
Couple
M
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Great location, small room”
The location is really good. You may get to the famous fruit shop, soft cream shop and the squid noodle shop by 3 minutes walk. The room is small, altough is beautiful and cozy. Still, it's a little too expensive for staying in Tainan.
Reviewed September 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Huichen from Taiwan
Couple
M
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
No”
No
Reviewed September 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
PEI from Taiwan
Family with teens
L
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
i will come back”
i will come back
Reviewed August 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
HSIAYIN from Taiwan
Group
L
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Great location, friendly staffs and rooms with special designs”
Breakfast is nice too
Reviewed August 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Carol from New Zealand
Couple
M
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
A gem in Tainan”
A funky room with a story of its own, attentive sweet staff, eco friendly, wonderful food. A great welcome to Tainan. Thank you
Reviewed June 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yung from Taiwan
Couple
M
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Couples retreat”
Overall a good hotel, the room is clean and cute.
Reviewed June 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yuchien from Taiwan
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
My house”
Naver better
Reviewed June 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
yao-chung from Taiwan
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Good”
..
Reviewed April 25, 2016
6.4
Good
Tan from Singapore
Couple
M
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
A little too small”
Got Mosquito bite. However, overall still nice experience.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ming-Chin from Taiwan
Business traveler
S
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed March 17, 2016
7.7
Very good
EE from Singapore
Couple
L
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Popular with locals”
Great staff, location to markets, novel decor concepts
Staff was the best thing of our stay - very friendly, helpful with anything you might require (sights, issues etc) On our first night, about 2am, the airconditioner started spewing forth strong cigarette smells and lost quite a bit of cooling power. The room was mostly enclosed save for two small square windows, which we had to open to air and cool the room. Didn't get a good night's sleep. The room had a an odd layout - the door immediately opened into the bath/sink. Room was very clean though. We were immediately offered a change in room and the staff were profusely apologetic. The room was actually smaller though we felt the layout was much better than the larger room. We didn't mind the change at all (didn't feel trapped, bigger windows and a balcony). Breakfast was not bad - they have Vegetarian and Vegan options as well.
Reviewed December 16, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Wong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
M
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Excellent boutique hotel”
The Location, The quirky but unique decor and the wonderful service especially the front desk
I went to Tainan as a solo female traveler on an impulse trip. I knew very little of the city except for what's been said online and tips from my Taiwanese friend. However I was pleasantly surprised by how helpful the staff at the hotel was as they patiently guide me to get the best of my weekend stay in Tainan city. The hotel itself was tastefully decorated especially the guest coffee lounge with interesting art pieces and furniture. I particular like how they individually named the rooms of the hotel after some bygone trades or products of the area. The breakfast was simple but well prepared. The only thing that marks why it hasn't reached 4 star status is the cleaniness of the room especially the bathroom where the shower curtain could do with a good washing. Other than that, this hotel comes highly recommended.
Reviewed September 11, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Kobayashi from Japan
Solo traveler
M
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Nice hotel”
Good location, beautiful room and staff of tender.
I visited this hotel first time. I think good hotel. But breakfast is not good. I hope to improve it. Another points are very good. Thank you so much.
Reviewed September 08, 2015
5.7
wai from Hong Kong
Group
S
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Poorly designed rooms”
1) Good location in city center 2) has a cohesive theme 3) provides breakfast
While the hotel is known for its design, we found the rooms to be made of low quality materials. In addition, the themes in the M suites are a bit random. We had two rooms, one room is dedicated for the blind, while the other had three projectors to project images of waves surrounding the bed. While the theme of the later room is interesting, for practical purposes, it made the room very small and dim. I had to move the chair into the bathroom in order to read the map they provided. Glad we only stayed for a night given the uncomfortable nature and impracticality of the rooms. Nonetheless, the staff were excellent. They answered all of our questions and even helped us liaise with Agoda when booking issues arose. Thank you for their help.
Reviewed July 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Michelle from United States
Solo traveler
M
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Unique Awesome Cultural Experience”
Design, Staff, Location
The JJ W Hotel provided an incredible experience. This architectural design project offered an incredible collective space (2nd floor lounge, lobby and breakfast area) and amazing, individually designed rooms. They aren't huge (small or medium sized) and they are quirky and one has to be careful about missteps and stairs in some, but it is a really incredible space and place, the highlight of my Taiwan "hotels" easily. If you want standard excellence, try the Fu Ward; but this place is above and beyond that. The staff was incredible - welcoming, helpful and went above and beyond the call of duty over and over. I met people in the lounge at the hotel who showed me around the neighborhood as well. I received a room upgrade and special treats at breakfast. Note: contrary to at least one review here or elsewhere, the hotel *does* offer in room internet. It *is* well-located. And again, you can't beat the design or the staff. Amazing find.
Reviewed July 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Siew from Singapore
Family with teens
M
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
I would come back again!”
Style, Location, Service
This is a clean and stylish boutique hotel located in the heart of Tainan City. There is always something interesting to discover in various corners of the hotel. Many places of interest and food places are within walking distance. All rooms come in a different theme/design concept. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of staff. This is the first hotel I've stayed that offered free laundry. Room is very clean and everything looks new. The in-house shower gel and shampoo smell heavenly.
Reviewed July 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Charity from United States
Couple
L
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Quirky luxury”
Uniqueness, comfort, spaciousness
Super!
Reviewed June 13, 2015
6.0
Jing from Hong Kong
Group
L
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Great location. Fits young couples or groups only.”
Location.
Reviewed June 08, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Wai from Singapore
Solo traveler
L
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Unique Room and good location”
1. located in the older part of the city where night market, unique street like Shenlon 䘥農 street, and lot of nice local food within walking distance. 2. i got a 2 levels room with bedroom upstairs
I enjoy it very much with a nice design room
Reviewed May 11, 2015
6.3
Good
Hsueh from Singapore
Group
L
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Good location”
Location
We had opted for twin beds, but upon check-in, was informed by front desk that there was only double bed available. This was not made known during booking.
Reviewed January 27, 2015
7.7
Very good
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
S
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
nice breakfast ”
location, service, staff
service, room comfort, standard and location is above our expectation for a 3-stars hotel. the most impressive is their breakfast, fusion with Taiwan and Western style. we shall definitely choose JJ W hotel for our next trip in TaiNan. we are very satisfied.
Reviewed January 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Guek from Singapore
Group
L
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Great location and room design”
Location, room and hotel design
Great location to a busy street, near to 神農街about 15 min walk Nice hotel and theme rooms
Reviewed December 29, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Lilian from Singapore
Group
S
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
recommended”
cosiness, uniqueness
Comfortable
Reviewed December 16, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
TANG from Australia
Solo traveler
M
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Interesting theme room with stylish design”
Stylish Outlook, Great theme rooms, Close to Hayashi department store
I have stayed there for 2 nights. It was close to many tiny restaurants. The theme room was very interesting. The food was high quality. The staffs were friendly and helpful.
Reviewed December 12, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ang from Singapore
Couple
M
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
...”
Design, Food
Room is nice and comfortable although a little lack in size. Like the common living room on level 2 where all of us can gather for a coffee and chit chat.
Reviewed December 03, 2014
7.7
Very good
Shou-Yen from Taiwan
Couple
M
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Good hotel.”
Location.
Reviewed November 05, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Chen from Taiwan
Couple
M
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Very hood hotel and nice people”
Design people and comfortable
Reviewed October 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
John from Australia
Business traveler
S
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Funky”
Nice staff and service was good. Clean and reasonably comfortable. Good eating in nearby streets.
Reviewed October 22, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
SHOU from Australia
Solo traveler
S
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
great hotel”
location decor staff
lovely little design boutique hotel ...easy access to everywhere. thank you
Reviewed August 06, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Wan-Yi from Taiwan
Couple
L
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
nice night”
location / breakfast /staff
Reviewed August 05, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Ning from Taiwan
Couple
M
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Local Culture Hotel”
good service, designed room and innovative foods
several local feature cuisine around the accommodation!
Reviewed July 25, 2014
7.0
Very good
Adrian from Switzerland
Couple
M
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Causy design hotel in Tainan”
Location, design, service
Reviewed July 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jack from Taiwan
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
relax”
food,design
good
Reviewed July 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Mandy from Taiwan
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Good accommodation”
Breakfast, location
Reviewed June 23, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Chen from Taiwan
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Great location & great design. ”
The breakfast is good. Also, the public area on the second floor is so relaxing.
Reviewed June 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Hung from Taiwan
Group
M
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Good”
FoodsDrinksPeople
Reviewed May 31, 2014
7.7
Very good
wenkai from China
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
A nice hotel with special art design”
Kind workersGood breakfastAntique & modern design
Although the room is very small and is far from the bus station from the THR, it is still a nice place to stay .
Reviewed May 27, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Su from South Korea
Solo traveler
S
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
young and helpful staff”
location, clean, excellent staff
I think this hotel is one of the neighborhood revitalization projects for young local people and artists. Very comfortable, excellent location.
Reviewed May 20, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Yu from Taiwan
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
My top choice ”
Atmosphere, location, hospitality
It's my second time staying here. Still, it is as good as I remember! Love this place and will defiantly come back again!
Reviewed April 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Leroy from Singapore
Solo traveler
S
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Great Hotel in Zhengxin Street”
Artistic, Attentive Staff, Clean
An area where you can have a feel of the local young artist entrepreneur along the street. A feel of the old and rustic of Taiwan. Many of the old houses are converted into commercial use like cafe, restaurants including this hotel. The whole street gives out a artistic atmosphere which is really nice. Near to tourist attractions and nightlife cafe & bars. They have rooms designed and decorated by local or famous artist though not every room has it yet but they are aiming to get every room designed. Great stay!
Reviewed April 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
YUI from Hong Kong
Family with teens
M
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Cozy place with very nice, helpful and friendly st”
Big room, amazing design, friendly staff
Room s are quite nice and big with lovely lightings, yet dusty in corners and windows. Staff are very friendly and nice, they even served us tea when we brought food and ate in the lobby resting area after we have checked out.
Reviewed December 31, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Chi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
S
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
All the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.”
1. help with luggage loading and storage 2. provide good tourist information
Reviewed December 29, 2013
7.7
Very good
Hsin-Fu from Taiwan
Couple
S
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Excellent location with neat room”
neat, well-design, cheap
Reviewed November 12, 2013