Book Now: Jin Jiang Hotel

Excellent
From 585 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Reviews of Jin Jiang Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (584)Booking.com Reviews (463)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.9
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality7.9
Service7.8
Value for money8.0
All languages
All guests (584)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 381 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Gian from Singapore
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Thumbs up”

Decent breakfast, good facilities and very accommodative stuff. A lot of good food nearby. Will come again . Stayed in Cathay GArden but cabby was asking if it is a north or south building. They also asked if this is an old or new jin Jiang hotel. It will be nice if advertiser could add more details like this .

Reviewed December 29, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Leeanne
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Fantastic Location”

We very much enjoyed this hotel as we could walk anywhere around the lovely French Concession. The hotel itself is just beautiful - large with a lot of history in the architecture. The rooms were very spacious, with huge bathrooms. Compared to other hotels around the world, the check in was rather slow (older systems in place). We did not get breakfast at the hotel as we enjoyed the sleep-in and the lovely restaurants in the French Concession. We would stay here again.

Reviewed April 21, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Thanudej from Thailand
Couple
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Recommended ”

I stayed at Cathay building and love. We upgraded to the suit and plenty of space for you to relax after a long walk. Although the hotel itself a bit old but still get that cozy feelings. Front desk staff also allow us to have extremely early check-in. This is definitely a plus. Will def stay there again

Reviewed August 15, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Mei from Malaysia
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

they got me a brithday cake”

was a surprised when they got me a birthday cake, so sweet of them

Reviewed March 17, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Mei from Malaysia
Business traveler
DOUBLE LUXURY - BED AND BREAKFAST
Stayed 7 nights in March 2019

Always good”

feel like home all the time, staff are helpful and friendly

Reviewed March 17, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Napadol from Thailand
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Hotel is very good, Bed was very comfy”

Pro: Situated in good location easy to commute. Close to subway station. Hotel is clean, staff with good English. Bed was very comfy. Room is bigger than I expect. Cons: from the building walk to out to the main street is a bit walk but Okay. Recommend this hotel.

Reviewed March 22, 2018
9.3
Exceptional
William from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 6 nights in June 2015

Conveniently located hotel with Shanghai Charm”

location, charm, modern amenities

Central location is the key. It is a historical hotel with very modern amenities. Staff performance is good and so is cleanliness and comfort. I ran into trouble with having no water in the bathroom one night, they had to transfer me to a different room. I guess this is what happens when you choose historical buildings.

Reviewed June 29, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Wuyi from Singapore
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Nicely located hotel”

Location, Nice enclave belonging to the hotel, comfortable rooms

stayed for 2 nights while on business, rooms were comfortable and staff was friendly. situated in a nice enclave belonging to the hotel. walking distance to good restaurants and the train station. Staff were extremely helpful when it was difficult to get a taxi during the Shanghai rush hour.

Reviewed April 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
YASUHIRO from Japan
Business traveler
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Luxurious, traditional and quiet stay in Shanghai ”

Good Facilities, Quiet Surroundings and Attentive Staff

This hotel occupies one block of the city center and surrounded by wall (or wall like shops). Guests can enjoy quiet, exclusive and luxurious stay. The location is convenient. Very easy to access to Huai Hai Road, a famous shopping area.

Reviewed June 02, 2014
8.3
Excellent
YEUNG from China
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2010

Happy stay”

The library is classic, good for people who are looking for something old in a modern city.
The passage leading to the Nan Lau is a bit messy. The hotel should try to beautify it.

Good location: easy to reach different major scenic spots of the city. It's close to the subway station and very easy for you to get a taxi outside the hotel. Good surroundings: close to Huihai Road where you can find a lot of shops and restaurants. I like the green all around. Others: The people at the reception are very nice. We asked them to book tables of some famous restaurants in shanghai for us. They did it all at once and gave you the reply immediately. Very helpful.

Reviewed August 18, 2010
9.2
Exceptional
SZU from Taiwan
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Exceptional”

very good location.... 安靜

Reviewed December 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mei from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 5 nights in November 2018

Always the best”

The hotel feels more like home than hotel. I just love the room facing garden. Looks old but feels home.

Reviewed December 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Sharon from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Exceptional”

Great location

Reviewed April 17, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Kenichi
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

good service ”

good

Reviewed March 16, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Lilly from United States
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

The Shanghai we like...”

We love the atmosphere of the Cathay Garden building and rooms of the hotel, and the surrounding area of the hotel. Subway station is nearby. Dining and shopping places are abundant too.

Reviewed February 26, 2019
8.8
Excellent
FELIX from United States
Couple
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Very good location Hotel.”

Nice building,good garden some facilities are old.

Reviewed November 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ken from Japan
Solo traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Will stay there again”

Will stay there again

Reviewed November 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mei from Malaysia
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Always a surprise ”

Stayed here many times at garden view building. Hotel was so sweet to put a birthday cake in my room on my birthday. Always help when you travel alone for business

Reviewed October 27, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Tom from China
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Good for business traveller”

The hotel was very convenient for a business trip in Shanghai. Clean room and good level of service for the price. I enjoyed the breakfast.

Reviewed October 06, 2018
8.0
Excellent
David from Thailand
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Well renovated and historic hotel from 80 years ago! ”

Service was very good except for Concierge Station, and Front Desk, neither of which which picked up the phone when I wanted to have my baggage brought to a waiting taxi for my trip to the Pudong Airport. I had to hand-carry my luggage myself to a taxi!

Reviewed May 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from United States
Family with young children
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018

Fantastic hotel with great location ”

Pros:location is great,in the center of down town,close to metro line 1、10、12、13,easy to find various style of food/restaurant Cons:it's a historical old building,some facilities are too old to be refreshed,i.e. drainpipe,shower..

Reviewed January 07, 2018
6.8
Good
Marika from Estonia
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

OK”

They have few buildings there, so a bit confusing. We got to the wrong one at first. Luckily all of these are close by. Room had everything you need but it needs a bit remodeling. Carpet was quite dirty and there was window, but covered with sticker so you can´t see through. Didn't remember of booking with no window so was disappointed. But overall not bad...

Reviewed February 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
David from United States
Solo traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

An Historic Hotel for the 21st Century”

I have stayed at the Jiang Hotel three times, and each time I am more pleased. The location is perfect, the rooms are spotless and the hotel breakfast is excellent. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. I woul give them a five star except the level of English is only "adequate." For a truly five-star international hotel, I believe they need some bi-lingual or truly fluent English speakers on staff. Having said that, I would heartily recommend this grand old Gal.

Reviewed December 27, 2016
6.4
Good
Alica from Slovakia
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

A good location”

This was my second stay at the hotel. I only now found that the hotel had more buildings...and during this second visit, I stayed at one that I would not rate so highly. I found the room somewhat in need for a refurbishment - esp. the carpet - lots of dirty stains.

Reviewed July 04, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Gordon from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Perfect downtown location”

This hotel is in a great spot for everything Shanghai has to offer, with shopping, tourist sights and transportation links close at hand. If you want a suit made you're spoilt for choice, with numerous tailors around the hotel. I didn't try any but may next time. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The room, typically large was well decorated and catered for Western TV and excellent WiFi coverage. The breakfast was reasonable with a good selection of food. I will definitely stay here again, although might try one of the other buildings (there are 3, I think).

Reviewed May 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Charlotte from Singapore
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Satisfied cusotmer”

Location, the Room, Customer Service

The location was very good close to the main town and completely connect via their subway. Can get there from the airport by subway. Room was very beautiful and well furnished with bathtub and nice design. Staff is by far the most friendly and helpful offering many suggestions. Thanks Jin jiang for having such wonderful and sincere staff. The only thing is wifi need to pay a fee but I guess that is fine because you wont need wifi cos there staff would be the google map for you.

Reviewed January 10, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Tong from United States
Business traveler
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Short weekend trip ”

Room cleanliness, relaxing lawn view from the room, historical significance

Although busy in the afternoon and evening making feel like a over crowned tourist attraction, the hotel does offer a majestic aura given its historic significance dating back on the early 20th century, in the days colonial Shanghai, when it's less busy. Our stay was brief but it make us feel we lived a in a old Shanghai tale. One criticism of the hotel management was it should control the number of cars enter the premise as the cars are parking along the pavement all around the main square, which degrades this hotel any other hotels in China. The staff has been helpful and when we request a late check out, they immediately agrees. Some facilities are still under renovation that must be the reason why we got it for a bargain rate,

Reviewed April 27, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Cheryl from United States
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

5-Star hotel for 4-Star price!”

Friendly and helpful staff, well-appointed room, convenient location

We have stayed at many Jin Jiang hotels in China, but this was our first time staying at the flagship hotel in Shanghai. We were very impressed with the quality, cleanliness, and professionalism of the staff. Booking through agoda gave us the opportunity we probably wouldn't have otherwise had to stay at this 5-star hotel because of the great value offered. Interesting to note that many famous people have stayed there previously, including Reagan, Thatcher, and Deng Xiao Ping. It was also very convenient to Metro's line 1 and within walking distance to many stops and restaurants. The staff was always very helpful in calling a taxi for us when necessary, however. The only slight negative was the fact that there are many entrances on the Jin Jiang site which can become a little confusing to new guests and taxi drivers; however, the staff was always available to guide and deliver us where we needed to go. We would definitely stay there again in the future - with agoda's help, of course!

Reviewed February 28, 2015
8.7
Excellent
CRISTY from Philippines
Family with teens
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013

First time in Shanghai”

Modern style, spacious rooms, clean & nice smelling hallways

Overall it was nice, except for some of the staff that doesn't speak or even understand English. They should've hired English speaking staff, since they have guests from other countries that cannot speak Chinese.

Reviewed November 28, 2014
7.3
Very good
Paul from France
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

A good value stay, with charm and central location”

Price, charm and location

A regular traveller and former Shanghai resident, I usually stay in 5-star international chains and go for safe and luxurious. However I find hotels in Shanghai to be rather expensive for Asia and most of the time when I stay in Shanghai, I go to Jinjiang Cathay Garden. I find there all the comfort I need, a quiet environment, and a very good location, for a good value. The hotel also has some charm that other big hotels around that area around lack. Only thing lacking is a good breakfast but there are some good places on Huaihai Rd offering alternatives (Element Fresh close to Donghu Rd for example).

Reviewed October 29, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Skye from Australia
Couple
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 11 nights in April 2014

Wonderful getaway!”

Great location, large comfortable room, great staff

I loved my stay at the hotel. My fiancé and I are seasoned travelers and we were both amazed at how wonderfully spacious and comfortable our room was for the rate we paid!! We had heaps of space and we had everything we needed. We loved the daily delivery of chocolate and sweets. The staff were attentive and helpful. We will be staying at the Jin jiang hotel again on our next visit.

Reviewed April 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Roland from Sweden
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014

Very nice art deco building”

Close to shopping, culture and interesting surroundings in the French Consession

Jin Jiang hotel is the first highrise in Shanghai built in the twenties in art deco style. It is a fantastic quater of several buildings in the same style. The hotel is very close to the subway, good shopping in The French Consession and also at walking distance from The People's square and the Nanjing shoppingdistrict. Good service, large room and quiet.

Reviewed April 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
KAREN from Hong Kong
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Great location”

Great location, large rooms, friendly staff

The Jin Jiang is beautiful and comfortable, within walking distance to various pleasant sightseeing spots. Its design and style is classic as soon as you walk into the hotel. We had lunch at its Old Shanghai Restaurant, food was good and price reasonable. Staff members are friendly and helpful. We will surely stay at this hotel again upon our next visit.

Reviewed September 11, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Diana from Australia
Solo traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

I love this hotel. ”

Close to shops, restaurants & Xintiandi!

I always enjoying staying here on business. The Chinoise Story restaurant next door is the best & the shops around the corner are open until very late. Easy to get to airport or Hangqiao train station by Metro or taxi.

Reviewed June 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Grant from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Great location, nice rooms and facilities”

Hotel is very well appointed with a 5 star feel & look without the high prices of Hotels on the Bund.

Jin Jiang Hotel, Cathay Garden Wing is one of the best kept secrets in regards to a great hotel & location in Luwan District. Its close to everything you need with the metro line one only a brisk 5 min walk. The Hotel has lots of charm & the rooms are well appointed as any 5 star. Make sure you book the Cathay Garden Wing as they have three properties within one city block. The Bund is no more than a RMB 25 taxi ride away.They also have a great western restaurant located in the Old Jin Jiang Hotel across the large open space called Jimmys Kitchen,great western food & bar if thats what your looking for.

Reviewed December 17, 2012
5.7
Jennifer from Philippines
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

Old hotel with inconvenient entrance”

Nice garden

Jin Jiang Hotel is actually a compound with many other hotel buildings. If you book in this hotel, make sure before you arrive which building you have booked in. We did not know this beforehand and the taxi driver just dropped us in what we think was the main building. After finding out that we were trying to check in the wrong hotel, we had to walk to the Cathay Garden building with all our bags in the middle of the night. The room was old but relatively comfortable. Hotel staff are okay, except for the fact that they speak very little English. The most frustrating part however is that they do not have free WIFI. Not even in the common areas. You have to pay a ridiculous amount for something that should have been free. I think there are better and newer hotels around Shanghai that you can get for the same price.

Reviewed November 26, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Rebecca from United States
Solo traveler
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Great location, great service, old-world charm”

great location; charming and spacious rooms; beautiful situation; nicely re-done interiors, neither gaudy nor too faux authentic

if you want to stay in the heart of old shanghai, in a room with every amenity but that also has coffered ceilings, double-paned french windows, and that looks over a peaceful courtyard, the cathay building is the place for you. great hotel, my favorite for the past 30 years in china. their 11th floor restaurant has the best 'sheng jian bao' (a shanghai specialty) in the whole city: get there early and order quickly, as they tend to run out for lunch. the only thing that was really annoying was the internet wifi connection: poor, intermittent, expensive, and censored, of course.

Reviewed November 03, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Kam from Hong Kong
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012

Convenient location and nice room”

Convenient location

I stayed in the southern wing of the hotel. The room is big with nice bathroom and toilet. There is a big garden outside the hotel and I saw some guests playing football on the grasses in one afternoon. Just 5-minute walk to the metro station and most attractions could be easily accessible.

Reviewed August 22, 2012
8.7
Excellent
amer from Egypt
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012

very good hotel and the room area excellent”

loby system and music during rest in loby

Really I stayed till 30/6/2012 one more night than I reserved and all things went very well from the hotel team and the service team and I reccomend all my company members to use this hotel during their travel to out side Egypt

Reviewed July 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
YING from China
Group
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in March 2012

great hotel”

nice room, friendly staff, perfect location

Jin Jiang Hotel owns nice and neat rooms, very friendly staffs, perfect location, very near to the business zone and shopping center, but offered a very good price. Unlike other hotels, the restaurants in the hotel are very impressed. My friends and I all have very happy experience. Definitely going to be the second choice.

Reviewed April 23, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
YE from United States
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012

jin jiang hotel”

the best historic hotel in Shanghai

hotel's location is perfect,just at the corner of the HuaiHai road, the luxary room is big and cleaning, hotel staff are friendly and helpful. But we tried to looking for the origianl Jing-Jiang Chinese restaurant and been told the North building 13 floor is the one. but taste is so so. RuiJing Hotel restaurant is better.

Reviewed March 02, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
zhu from China
Family with teens
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Elegant hotel and good location”

Beautiful design and texture, easily accessible stores and restaurant close by.

The hotel rooms were very stylish and had a clean design to everything. They provided a variety of different things such as classical chinese tea pots and cups, different pillows you could choose to sleep on, television with a whole range of channels and much more! There was a built in buffet which was always topped up with delicous asian style foods and also with western style. Overall, I would recommended any travellers and tourists to go to Jin Jiang Hotel.

Reviewed January 16, 2012
8.0
Excellent
THITI from Thailand
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011

Great Location and spacious rooms”

spacious , not noisy , good location , historical site , good pillows collection

a prestigious hotel , conveniently located , not far from the shopping area and within walking distance . rooms overlooking the front garden and very peaceful . not noisy at all . the pillow collections is good for travellers . the service staff is friendly . rooms are nicely decorated , classic and comfortable .the amenities are complete .

Reviewed August 24, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Audre from United States
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

Beautiful Hotel”

Large, confortable, clean and beautiful room

this hotel was beautiful, but there are several different buildings in the facility and i had to go to four before i found mine. it was down this tiny alley and hidden behind several other buildings. it was a weird layout. the location is decent. it's mostly good if you want to do some shopping in high-end stores. if you are looking for bargain shopping, stay somewhere else. breakfast price is ridiculous.

Reviewed July 20, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Randolph from Canada
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011

Beautiful Hotel with the old charm”

beautiful room, great service and cjarming gardens.

this is a beautiful old hotel and is probably the first beautiful 5 star hotel in shanghai. the room is gorgious and the service is excellent. very nice restaurants too and all in an excellent location. quite a few of the us presidents stayed there. we had a very enjoyable stay. will come mack again.

Reviewed June 14, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
swee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011

great hotel, service need improvement”

location, hotel building, comfort of the room

this hotel was used by gov official to host state parties, and to entertain oversea official. so as u can expect, the hotel has a very queit taste of grand-ness and historical feel all around. the service has room for improvement, especially at the front office department. but that is to be expected in most china hotel (especailly those local hotel, i mean not those international chain hotel). the room is just magneficient. comfort level is extremely good for local hotel. it has the softest bed in all local hotel i ever sample in china (mostly they prefer wood hard mattress). even has the different firmness pillows to choose from, quite very thoughtful. the bathroom is another nice surprise. it even has a separated shower and bath area. (again, not common in local hotel) the room and bathroom are both very spacious, plenty of storage area in the room. in shanghai, space is something i think we should be grateful for. the location is just fabulous, stone throw away from a MRT station, and the famous HuaiHai Rd shopping district. very very convenient. dont have to wonder far for food also. all in all this is a great hotel, that i wouldnt mind staying there again in the future.

Reviewed March 31, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Richard from United States
Solo traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011

great hotel”

nice rooms except you can hear the elevator motor going all night long no mater where your room is situated

My stay was uneventful. Breakfast was good but overpriced. Smoking acceptable everywhere, meanwhile they claim to be "green".Staff is willing but English seemed to be limited. Otherwise, a lovely property.

Reviewed March 10, 2011
8.3
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2010

Well located hotel, great value”

Friendly staff in restaurant; decor, room decor, openable windows
Shame internet's not free

This is one of the better hotels I've stayed in in Shanghai, in terms of value for money and overall appeal. It has the individual personality of a hotel that's not one of the big international chains, but without the scuzz of some of the non-international offerings. Staff are professional and well-turned out and some (esp. the charming and energetic breakfast restaurant host) actually seem genuinely keen to please. The price, for a nicely sized room with windows you can open is good value for money. Also near to Metro (2 mins).

Reviewed December 07, 2010
7.3
Very good
Renee from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010

Nice decor, quiet but convenient location”

Location (just down the road from the metro), decent decor

I requested a non-smoking room, I liked the complimentary bottles of water every day and the beds were comfy. If you stay at the Cathay building, ask for directions - there were around 3-4 and the signage wasn't great.

Reviewed November 04, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Min from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010

Great Location, lovely hotel”

clean updated rooms, continental breakfast, great staff

Friendly staff with pretty good English skills, Jin Jiang hotel staff familiar with Agoda's pre-paid method. Hotel arrangement for travel to the Expo was handled through a Chinese tour group. It worked out well. Continental breakfast was very good, western, chinese, and shanghai specialties. Good location to Metro. A nice retreat within the busy and bustling city. Cathay room allowed 3 adult guests and one child, tight but still comfortable. Three breakfast buffets were provided, child had to pay for breakfast at hotel. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed November 01, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
LE from Vietnam
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010

An elegant hotel”

I love the hotel's front garden, it is so beautiful that when I entered the hotel gate, I felt so calm, so relaxing.

We hade 2 great nights there. The lobby lounge is beautiful, the piano live music is so sweet that everytime we came back the hotel we had to sit at the lounge for a while just to listen to the music. The breakfast is fabulous. It is very convenient to go from the hotel to the Nanjing shopping street or Xintiandi- entertainment paradise.

Reviewed September 08, 2010
8.7
Excellent
see from Malaysia
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010

overall ok”

location- close to major shopping area
not many restaurant surrounded

nice and comfort room and location very near to major shopping area with walking distance. easy to get taxi to everywhere. its local famous hotel chain. however, price for buffet breakfast is expensive, 150rmb ++ per person.

Reviewed September 06, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Nadia from Switzerland
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010

review of the hotel”

very cosy hotel, very quiet. Was a real pleasure to have found this hotel in Shanghai
At the reception , people do not know fluently English and are not so helpful

We visited the expo in Shanghai and made a reservation including the entrance ticket. This was great as we did not to bother to queue for a ticket and also go there. I was very satisfied of the hotel and its cosiness. The room is big and very confortable and well furnished.

Reviewed August 27, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Ting from Singapore
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2010

Serene & Clean Environment”

Convenient to move around with the train station few minutes walk away
If the spread of food serve for breakfast can be further improved will be great!!

I enjoy the environment inside and outside of the hotels, spacious and windy. The room is clean and sufficient spread of various type of chinese tea which I enjoy very much. The TV programs are interesting which can occupy your time and relax during the weekend after a week of 'hardwork'.

Reviewed July 01, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Charles from Philippines
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010

Home Away From Home”

The bed is the best part. Easy accessibility to everywhere. Great and Friendly staff. Very quiet and very private.
Breakfast is very good but the variety has to change. I've been staying at the hotel eversince and the variety is always the same. there should be no extra charges for internet connection in the rooms No special rates for loyal customers who have been staying there. The bellboys seemed to be overly anxious about their tip. I understand that they also rely on tips aside from their salary but sometimes being too overly expectant does not make a good impression on guests.

Eversince i've been staying at Jinjiang Old section everytime i go to shanghai and this hotel is my home away from home. The staff are all very friendly and all the faces are familiar. I especially like the beds because i can sleep well. the hotel is very near to major shopping areas which makes everything so convenient. and transportation has no problem being just a two minute walking distance to the subway station. the environment is very classic and brings back beautiful memories of the old shanghai.

Reviewed June 02, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Patricia from United States
Solo traveler
Cathay Garden Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010

Jin Jiang Hotel review”

well-appointed room, clothesline in the bathroom
charge for wifi! no good hotel does that anymore! also, the maid service violated my "privacy" sign and came in and cleaned the room.

The staff was helpful, but I think there should have been some better English speakers than there were. I speak average Chinese, and frequently -- with the concierge, at reception, and in the business centre -- the burden was on me to be understood. But there were many individuals among the staff whose earnest efforts to help were greatly appreciated. For instance, when I needed to charge my American laptop, they tried to convince me that I did not need a transformer (which I later found out I did not); when I insisted, they brought the heavy transformer up to the room twice. I appreciated their kindness.

Reviewed May 11, 2010
8.0
Excellent
khurshid from Pakistan
Business traveler
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009

the secret shanghai”

great location, large rooms recently furbished, very nice decor with almost all amenities.
service is mediocre and the lobby smells not so nice.

This hotel has a super location, hidden away off Huaihai Rd in it's own compound. in the middle of shanghai yet very peaceful. we took the room in the cathay building, classic room. room was pretty large, recently furbished, very nice decor with almost all amenities and overlooking the gardens and therefore are very quiet. then there are the restaurants: chinese, japanese, indian, western and chinese seafood.... bottom line is: I WOULD STAY IN THE HOTEL AGAIN

Reviewed November 10, 2009
6.4
Good
William from United States
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Good”

Ok but pretty average. When compared to other hotels we stayed at with similar ratings (I.e. 5 Star) in China during our vacation, it was at the bottom of our list. The negatives were in condition of facility, cleanliness (which was ok but not exception) and friendliness of the staff which was markedly less than any other place we stayed.

Reviewed July 08, 2018
5.6
Derek from Malaysia
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Hotel should consider putting up a by pass walkway through the shop rather than walking one big roun”

Reviewed July 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
chengchung from Taiwan
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

good”

will come back

Reviewed December 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
chengchung from Taiwan
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

good”

will come back

Reviewed December 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lynette from Singapore
Couple
Cathay Building Premier Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Loved the Property”

Good location and very pleasant surroundings. The rooms are big and very comfrtable. High recommended.

Reviewed November 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Fut from Singapore
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Good hotel”

location, size of room, good staff performance

Good

Reviewed December 23, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
mira from South Korea
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Biz trip to Shanghai”

Location, Nice facilities and services

We enjoyed the stay during our biz trip. The facilities are very satisfying. Staffs are friendly.

Reviewed December 11, 2015
8.3
Excellent
PEI from China
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

comfortable stay after tired traveling”

service clean

good

Reviewed November 30, 2015
8.0
Excellent
HSIN from Taiwan
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Nice location down town, good service, old hotel”

Location, big suite room, friendly staff

Good one, I like its historical feeling, a hotel with grand legacy, there is wing where most European travelers stay, with better service.

Reviewed November 15, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Great hotel”

Worth he price

Clean room

Reviewed October 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Good and nice hotel”

Great stay as historical hotel

Worth the price to stay

Reviewed October 27, 2015
8.7
Excellent
ChingHan from Taiwan
Business traveler
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Location goog”

Location goog, clean but old.
Reviewed October 25, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Couple
Cathay Garden Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Great location”

Location, location, location

Fine very comfortable

Reviewed October 20, 2015