Book Now: JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Excellent
From 569 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 91% of guests

Reviews of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (569)Booking.com Reviews (1408)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities9.2
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service9.1
Value for money8.6
All languages
All guests (569)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 463 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Overrated”

A beautiful resort, nice, clean, large rooms and many facilities. The disappointment is in the staff and the organisation. The breakfast is totally chaotic; you have to fill a form in on arrival at breakfast (why should we do that). The staff take you to a table which is then given to others whilst your getting your food; frustrating. The chefs are too busy so the food which is cooked for you is given to others. It's noisy and not relaxing. There's lots of flies; more inside than out. When the staff were informed they laughed and said yes! If you want to go to the small adults section they direct you back to the main dining room without trying to find a table; sort of defeats the objective? The Deli also has poor service; especially to Asian guests who they clearly look down on. Over rated.

Reviewed May 12, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Andres from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool Access, Guest room, Pool view
Stayed 7 nights in April 2019

Absolutely amazing”

My wife and me stayed for 7 nights. The hotel is quite big so I was a little worried at the beginning that this is maybe a more commercial thing but it turned out in one of our best vacation ever. Absolutely amazing, I never saw such a beautiful pool in my life. The breakfast buffet amazing too and the offer adults zones so you can avoid the noisiness if you want from all the families and kids. Just perfect!!!

Reviewed May 06, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Timothy from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Lagoon Pool Access, Guest room, Pool view
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Best pool in SEA, one of the best sunsets in the world”

kilometres of interlinked canals is the defining feature of this hotel and the main reason to visit the property. I took daily swims around the resort. By kids and I spent hours playing across the resort. Then the evening sitting on the beach watching the sky dance across the orange, red and blue colour spectrum. Third visit. Will be back. Some improvements could be made. Japanese restaurant food was only ok - not great. A little bland. Beach bar could be more covered - especially during rainy season

Reviewed October 29, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
PEEMA from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

No cheap but totally worth the money”

Everything was 10/10. The property was nice. The breakfast was great. The pool was magnificent. My most satisfying hotel stay ever. Very satisfying even though it was raining half of the time. The only thing not so pleasant was the check-out process. There were like only two lanes so the lines were kind of long and the lobby was rather warm. One more thing, my room overlooked the pool but it was quite a walk to the spot where I could get into the pool.

Reviewed August 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Gjorgi from North Macedonia
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Great resort, excellent facilities and the nicest staff”

The resort offers the best for everyone, no matter if you are a couple looking for a relaxing getaway or a family with young kids. How you may ask? Well it's that big, well organized and equipped. It offers amazing facilities, in brand new condition, a great gym, yoga studio, squash court, tennis court, table tennis, billiard pool tables, well-equipped kids areas and more. If you need a quiet area to work, they have a very nice, super quiet study room. They have 4 big pools interconnected with swimming channels 3km long, and very nice garden, not to mention the wide and long beach in front of the resort. Breakfast is good, and they have enough restaurants to offer variety of delicious food, that can allow you to stay inside the resort without the need to go out for food at any time. Still if you prefer cheaper prices or more local taste, there are few beach restaurants right next to the resort, as well as cheap massage shops. The rooms are very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Reviewed August 01, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Christina from China
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in February 2018

Nice resort”

Second time in this resort. The location is perfect if you are looking for a calm relaxing stay. The rooms are ok, soon time for a fresh up... balcony is really nice. We love that they have separate breakfast veranda depending if you are travelling with children or not. Very nice beach and pool area.

Reviewed February 20, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Dieter from Germany
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017

No. 1 in Khao Lak! Everytime again!”

We stay after 2 years again, in the JW Marriott and we would recomend it everytime again. We stay this time 4 weeks in different Hotels in Khao Lak ( Katilia - JW Marriot - Mukdara) but the best is JW Marriott, even the expensiest one! The BEST Breakfast wich we had in Thailand is in JW Marriot and believe me, we try a lot of Hotels in Thailand because we travel a lot around..... Staff very friendly, and helpfull,. The Poolarea is the longest/ biggest wich you maybe ever saw. The only negative Point is, .. noisy Kids . But the Area is so big,, so you will find allways a quiet Place. We will come back in this Hotel and also in the Katilia ( in Future it will be a Robinson Resort) But never we will come back in the Mukdara Resort (where we stay now for 5 days), because if you make such perfect Experiences with JW Marriott or Katilia, its only a worst Experience to finish you Trip.... in Khao Lak.

Reviewed May 19, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Dieter from Germany
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017

Everytime again!”

I was now few times in the JWMarriot and I would recomended it everytime again. Incredible Breakfast... one of the best wich I had in Thailand. Even a bit expensive but value for your money... If you find reduce offers take the JW Marriot and don't waste time for searching for another Hotel.

Reviewed May 14, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Jayanth from India
Group
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Great service, good location”

We have to applaud the Marriot service standards. We had a minor accident involving my wife and kid and the speed and efficiency of service was near perfect! That aside, the hospitality was great and the location of the resort was awesome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend the Marriot property!

Reviewed December 13, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
jihye from South Korea
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Perfect place for the vacation.”

It was perfect choice to stay at JW marriott Khao lak and we had really great time there. We stayed at the pool access room, so we could jumped into the pool directly from the room. Every staffs are very nice and well attended. Private beach is beautiful and clean.

Reviewed August 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Hammad from Pakistan
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Full marks, 10 on 10. ”

Hard to find a shortcoming in this fantastic resort. Best resort i have ever stayed in. Mindblowing breakfast, till 11 am. Swimming pool spread over more than a Km. Lovely beach. Attentive staff, excellent service. Lots of options for dining witgin resort.

Reviewed July 24, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Lena from Canada
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Great Hotel”

service, location and child friendly

The only thing I would suggest is some changing tables in the " some of the common area bathrooms" as there is no where to change diapers when not in the bedroom. This is a very child friendly hotel but my daughter had to change the baby on the bathroom floor. Otherwise, amazing.

Reviewed December 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Gerrit from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Birthday stay”

frentlienes of staf ,attention to smalles detail, Fantastic breakfast.

We staying in Phuket for 4 weeks and I decided to surprise my wife on her birthday with a stay in this hotel. It was a great experience include the surprise complementary birthday cake they made for her. Checking in was a breeze, no standing at a counter but sitting down in comfortable chairs, staff came to us with all paper work. Breakfast was one off the best we have had in our travels.

Reviewed September 13, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Narumon from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

the best hotel in Khao Lak”

service, swimming pool, location

I can said that this is the best hotel in Khao Lak. Service is terrific. when I stayed here, I ask room service for new pillow at 1 am and they come in 5 mins. Breakfast buffet is awesome. And the last thing that i can't forget is swimming pool. The pool is super duper big, its length around 3 kms. You can enjoy it all day long.

Reviewed June 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Min from South Korea
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

The hotel you might think you are staying in Hawai”

Great beach, superb swimming pool, and a family friendly staff and hotel

Hotel was an excellent stay which consists of welcoming staff, a great location, adjacent to the ocean beach, and an interesting pool access room. I only wish they can improve some eateries and a faster internet WIFI.

Reviewed October 21, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Hannele from Finland
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Good location on a peaceful beach”

Peaceful place and enough place on the beach

Hotel is located beside a long nice beach without neigbouring hotels ('private beach'). Beach area is large and there are enough sunbeds for everyone. Great breakfast buffee and friendly staff.Nearby hotel are also local beach restaurants.

Reviewed December 16, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Torben from Denmark
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

We will surely be back”

Fantastic huge pool (3km), Nice quiet nature, beautiful beach, Best breakfast ever

We Went here for diving (similans - which was very disapointing), so we didn't have any expectations for the hotel, but it turned out to be the thing that saved these days for us. We have traveled a lot, but nerver seen a hotel like this.

Reviewed January 03, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
WISANU from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

Gorgeous and awosome hotel”

Everything is great

I stayed for 2 nights, what should I tell for this hotel, only one sentence "I will back there again and again". Long long swimming pool, beautiful garden, great breakfast especially fresh fruit smoothy.

Reviewed September 21, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Mike from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011

Perfect service but poor construction”

Pool, Beach, Location

We had a nice stay in the Marriott Khao Lak. Service was Marriott like. Beach, pool and restaurants are fine. Design of rooms is superb but the construction quality was really bad. Balcony was out of order. TV does not work properly, falling roof tiles............. Breakfast was only ok, little choice of bread, sausages and cheese. The level of this Marriott is not the normal Marriott level, it is less. Compared with Marriott on Phuket, Marriott Khao Lak is a class lower.

Reviewed May 31, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Supalerk from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011

Total relaxation with spacious rooms”

Swimming pool, SPA, in-door sports facilities and the spacious room and bathtub

The lobby is really stunning with a great view of swimming pool and sea at the eye level. The staffs are always smilling. The swimming pool is the main attraction and activity of the stay. Recommend to try the SPA facility especially the milk flower bath that is really rejuvenating. We would recommend that the Hotel allocate some buggy cars to assist the guests to the car especially on raining days and at night, It is a bit dark on the way to and from the lobby to the carpark. However, overall, this is a great hotel if you wants full relaxation and lovely for honeymoons ^^

Reviewed April 23, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Hannele from Finland
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011

Nice beach, great poolarea”

Good place for relaxing

If you like to relax this is a good place. The beach is one of the best in Southern Thailand. You can just walk on the beach neary alone; no sunbeds,few people. Nearby the hotel there are no other services; only few beach restaurants. The breakfast buffet was great for every taste.

Reviewed March 17, 2011
9.6
Exceptional
Victoria from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Lovely, classic hotel”

My husband and I came up from Phuket for a weekend without the kids. It was peaceful and just what we wanted. I had read reviews saying the rooms need a refresh and I can see what they mean but they are perfectly fine, just an older style. Bed very comfortable. I found the pillows a bit flat / soft but they were very quick to respond to my request for an extra and that solved the problem. The buffet breakfast was the best we've had in Thailand. Otherwise, food is overpriced but good. All the staff were very welcoming and genuine. Beach chairs seemed plentiful and the breeze was a lovely surprise - definitely possible to sit in the shade on the beach all day. I was also impressed by the on-site nurse, who quickly dealt with a sore, infected finger and saved me a trip to the clinic. Very happy to hear the hotel is going to be working with Generation Water to reduce/replace the ubiquitous plastic water bottles.

Reviewed November 15, 2018
6.8
Good
Robert from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Lagoon Pool Access, Guest room, Pool view
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Fabulous pool and beach area but rooms tired”

Great beach area, kids club terrific, restaurants, all the common areas are amazing, but the rooms are getting tired and in desperate need of a renovation. Beds are hard. A bit far out, 1.5 hours from airport.

Reviewed October 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kadee from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool Access, Guest room, Pool view
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

The best resort! ”

We had the most amazing stay in Khao Lak thanks to this resort! We stayed as a couple, in addition to travelling with other family memebers during this time. The resort was very clean, quiet and the food was excellent and great value for money! The breakfast buffet is definitely one of the highlights! We stayed for 4 nights, due to other commitments however looking back now we wish we had the whole week there! Can not recommend enough!

Reviewed September 23, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
shuang from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool Access, Guest room, Pool view
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Great resort ”

I will give max star to this hotel,me and my Husband enjoy the stay very much.staff is friendly,food is awesome and spa treatment is good.We will come back again.

Reviewed December 15, 2018
8.4
Excellent
อาโนด์ from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Excellent”

No welcome drink, no refreshment towel... for a returning guest... for the rest: superb. Great dinners at “Olive” restaurant.

Reviewed February 25, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
MOHD from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

fantastic”

nice view, nice place, nice staff. although i have problem to check in but the staff try very hard to settle it...

Reviewed October 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
wikanda from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Good ”

Enjoy stayed

Reviewed July 09, 2018
8.4
Excellent
wikanda from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

GOOD !!”

Enjoy stayed ,

Reviewed July 09, 2018
8.0
Excellent
JEAN from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Lagoon Pool View, Guest room, Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

호텔이 자연친화적입니다.”

카오락 지역의 특성상 푸켓처럼 북적이지 않고 조용히 쉬다 올 수 있습니다. 다만 호텔방이 좀 눅눅한게 흠입니다.

Reviewed May 25, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
GRAZIELLA from Italy
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017

“Perfect beach strolls and beautifully designed hotel””

Excellent location and one of the best beach areas so far: clean, long so you can walk nicely, not crowded. The hotel is excellent and the staff is well trained and ready to help. The facilities were very good and we loved the way the hotel is designed. It gives you enough privacy too. The food was quite good and breakfast had a good variety of options. The rooms were quite big; bed was very comfortable; toiletries very good. It is a big hotel and the staff does try their best to keep it clean. Around the pool area, there's space to improve the cleanliness. Breakfast could offer better cheese and charcrouterie variety. The prices of the food at the restaurants are more expensive than what you'd expect so value for money when it comes to food is just so so. Taxi from hotel is doubled the price than if you organise it just outside the hotel on the beach (a small cab kiosk). The New Year's buffet was removed right after midnight! In other hotels it stayed until 1.30am. For the price they

Reviewed January 05, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
GRAZIELLA from Italy
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017

Exceptional”

Excellent location and one of the best beach areas so far: clean, long so you can walk nicely, not crowded. The hotel is excellent and the staff is well trained and ready to help. The facilities were very good and we loved the way the hotel is designed. It gives you enough privacy too. The food was quite good and breakfast had a good variety of options. The rooms were quite big; bed was very comfortable; toiletries very good. Around the pool area, there's space to improve the cleanliness. Breakfast could offer better cheese and charcrouterie variety. The prices of the food at the restaurants are more expensive than what you'd expect so value for money when it comes to food is just so so. Taxi from hotel is doubled the price than if you organise it just outside the hotel on the beach (a small cab kiosk). The New Year's buffet was removed right after midnight! In other hotels it stayed until 1.30am. For the price they charged, they could have done at least the same.

Reviewed January 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
sven from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

great facility with minor issues”

In general a very nice facility with great pool and excellent restaurants, great to relax for families but 1. make sure that you have local currency if you want to place a cash deposit as they accept foreign currency but will you return in THB according to their hotel exchange rate, unacceptable in my opinion for such a brand 2. cleaning of rooms is not acceptable for such a house, we found bathrobes looked to be old, amenities to be used and towels to be not clean 3. rooms show wear and tear everywhere, at this moment they refurbishing some rooms so it may improve 4. breakfast OK, compared with other facilities in SEA bit boring We have been their off season, so pricing and value is excellent. Rates they offer for high season are unreasonable high.

Reviewed September 23, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Roger from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Fantastic Deal Off Season”

We stayed for a long weekend in May and had a fantastic time. We got a very affordable rate for this regularly high priced resort since it was low season. The resort is huge and you do a lot of walking. Breakfast was buffet stye with a great selection but felt a little crowded. The pool is amazing and ocean front beach was fantastic. We would definitely stay again. I would recommend paying a little extra for the pool room. You can actually swim right off your patio. Great for kids.

Reviewed May 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 6 nights in March 2017

Exceptional”

A beautiful pocket of peace. It was a joy to stay at this hotel. I've travelled extensively and would happily return. Pros - staff are wonderful, they acknowledge and help. The pool is amazing. Private beach is beautiful. Food extensive, clean and diverse. Rooms - had connecting rooms and could not fault. House keeping 10/10. Rooms are a little tired but I'm talking cosmetics. Cons - additional payment for shuttle. Overall 8.0/10

Reviewed April 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in March 2017

Wonderful”

We have been holidaying at the JW Marriott Khao Lak annually for the last three years, and its amazing - from the attentive friendly service provided by welcoming staff through to the excellent facilities and first class dining options, this is one of the best resorts in Thailand. I would recommend this resort to anyone with or without children they cater perfectly for both.

Reviewed March 15, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Fredrik from Sweden
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Doesn't get much better than JW Marriott Khao Lak for family beach holiday”

High standard of accommodation in a peaceful location away from built up area Terrific facilities for the kids (pools, beach, kids club, play room, bikes, ..) Very friendly and helpful staff Good restaurants and even for me who has lived 10 years in Thailand the Thai restaurant was very good (proper spicy on request !) Had some difficulties with booking and we were with 3 other families which they could not locate the rooms together but this is minor issue.

Reviewed October 25, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jeffrey from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 7 nights in August 2016

High Quality Hotel on The Beach”

This is a great hotel. It is however quite a big place and so was on occasions rather busy, particularly in the restaurant at breakfast time. The breakfast was good quality however and there was a great variety to choose from. We had adjacent deluxe pool access rooms and they were well furnished and nicely decorated. The staff were very engaging and eager to provide a great service. The facilities were fantastic with a well kitted out gymnasium, indoor activities and a range of pools to choose from. You can't be disappointed staying here.

Reviewed August 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
WEERAYA from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015

Very good accommodation but not professional”

I requested for the king size bed when booking but I got the room with 2 single beds instead, had to called reception 3 times & they sent staff to just moved 2 single bed together which wasn't profession. End up spent hours to changed to another room.

Reviewed July 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Cheryl from Singapore
Group
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Relaxing place”

This place was great for a relaxing trip by the beach and swimming pool. But it was a bit too far away from other shops if you are planning of going out. Tours with the hotels were excellent. But similan islands are closed from May to Nov

Reviewed June 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Cory from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Excellent resort hotel for a relaxing holiday.”

The hotel exceeds expectations in comfort and customer service by the staff. It is located on a beautiful clean, soft golden sand beach. The hotel ammenities are excellent, as is the pool and overall maintenance of the resort. The gardening was delightful.

Reviewed June 06, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in May 2016

Excellent American style hotel”

large hotel on a deserted long beach. Went in the off season so the hotel and beach were quiet which we liked but the weather was awful. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful and as you'd expect from a Marriott all the facilities you could ask for and more. Room was a premium pool view top floor which we can recommend. Quiet, large, clean, very comfortable king bed, great shower. Would visit again as for £80 p.d. a real bargain.

Reviewed May 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Mansoor from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in May 2015

Great hotel and location ”

I love this hotel and staff were amazing especially bomb and the fitness team. it had a great location, my only complaint and it's a big one was there's a lot of construction outside my room and around that area of the rooms and this was very noisy and disturbing during our stay. The room service menu and cafe menu also could be better and standard of food was satisfactory only. Thank you However overall my favorite hotel in the area

Reviewed April 29, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Jess from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015

Great pool”

Pool, beach and restaurants

A really nice welcome, a great hotel and an amazing pool. If you're after action packed Thailand holiday, then this isn't the hotel for you as the location is a little far out of town, but if you're after pure relaxation and ability to recharge, this is the place for you.

Reviewed December 13, 2015
5.7
Russell from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 7 nights in June 2015

Good family resort”

Swimming pool, thai food, beach

Good resort to bring a young family. The Thai food is pretty special, the swimming pool is good fun and it's on a nice beach. Also great cheap massages available a short walk up the beach (if you dont want to use hte expensive spa that is located within the resort). Everything is pretty expensive within the resort, as they add 17% service fee and tax to every purchase.

Reviewed June 17, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Erinna from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015

Good stay”

Good food, 24 hour room service. Fun long pool if you get pool access with your room

Great fun with the boyfriend. Spent the afternoon in the long connected pool. They do try to separate families from couples, but you will still get to hear shouts and screams from kids. So if you hate kids, don't come here. Seemed to be a family friendly place. Must go check out the sunset if you have time. Beautiful, and incredibly romantic.

Reviewed May 04, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Douglas from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

Great resort in Khao lak”

High quality property, friendly staff and great pools

We had a fantastic stay despite the resort being relatively expensive and crowded due to Chinese new year. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever seen, the gym extensive with good equipment, squash, bikes, aerobics studio, free weights, etc. the property is massive and the food is good. The pool is amazingly large. On the downside, it is quite far from Phuket at @1.5 hours from the airport and there are a lot of kids (because the facilities for children seemed quite good). However there are sections of the property which are intentionally kid free. Overall I would rate it very highly.

Reviewed February 28, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Peter from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Excellent resort ”

Ambiance, staff friendliness, pool

This is a wonderful resort in Khao Lak. They really did a good job with this place. The wrap around pool is amazing. The room was spacious and nicely appointed with teak floors and attractive art. The king sized bed was comfortable with oversized pillows. The staff really does a great job attending to any need, with smiles aplenty. Unfortunately it rained two of the three days we were there so we weren't able to fully enjoy our stay. Minor quibbles: the restaurants here are expensive and not particularly noteworthy. Save your money and go to "The Andaman", which sits just off the beach if you head to the right after hitting the beach. Also, the wifi signal was weak in the room. However, this is a problem we found in all of our hotels throughout Thailand with the exception of our bungalow in Ko Phi Phi. All in all, however, this is a magnificent place with great service.

Reviewed November 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jeanne from Australia
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in August 2014

Best Pool ever”

Staff effeciency and training, swimming pool, lots of shade

We have been to Khao Lak previously and stayed at other hotels. We stayed in Pool access room for 10 nights. The staff were fabulous and you can tell very well trained. The pool was wonderful, you could swim for and ages and not go the same way. The room was large and great for 10 days stay, the lounges in the room great, comfortable when you feel like relaxing on an extended stay. The down side was the pool access room patio and railings very poor condition but looks like there is maintenance happening through out the resort, and the other downside was you had access ie jump in the pool outside unit from your patio, but to get back out of the pool at your unit there was not pool steps, so you had to walk around a very narrow paver at pool edge to find pool step. Younger ones may not have an issue but I am 65 yrs and have a knee problem. Worth going into Khao Lak for a meal or two by resort shuttle bus. We travel twice a year to Thailand all over and found this resort very good value for money when we stayed a week ago and will be going back.

Reviewed September 08, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
SangHyun from South Korea
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

Relay stay on beachside”

the best thing is the resort itself! it has amazing facilities which made us feel that we don't have to go outside...everything is there! the pool is the boggiest pool I have ever seen..

Very relaxing at the luxurious resort. but the one thing inconvenient is accessibility to the resort. it location is remote from the city so the transportation might be an issue if you want to look around....other than that, everything was fantastic!!

Reviewed September 08, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sang from South Korea
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

Too big to be excellent”

Infinity pool, kid's cafe, breakfast

Great holiday resort (great pool for all ages, great breakfast, great facilities, etc.) for family visitors. However, the resort's land mass is too big for visitor's move around from one place to another. Imagine staying at a room on the 3rd floor nearby the main lobby and moving to the beach area, one will get to do lot's of leg work during one's stay. Other than a few negatives (weird beach towel card policy, hope they just give to the visitors' without the card), the resort deserves a second visit.

Reviewed September 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Edson from Brazil
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Magnificent!”

Breakfast, pools and rooms

We consider one of the best hotels we've been in Thailand, excellent benefit on low season. The landscape and structure in front of the beach is great. We saw part of the roofs that have a lack of maintenance and some jacuzzis on the pool close to the beach are not working.

Reviewed August 23, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Kenneth from Australia
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in March 2014

Another great stay”

Beach, staff pool

Another thoroughly enjoyable stay.....we love coming back here...fells like a second home....great pools, great staff who can't do enough for you and just so,relaxing..the breakfast buffet out of this world...can't wait to return!

Reviewed August 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Miao from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in August 2014

Very good experience”

Comfortable room; swimming pool; friendly staff

We had some hiccups on the first night with the room, but the staff were very helpful. Even though the problem was not solved until the next day, all in all we still had a very good experience staying at JWM.

Reviewed August 08, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Mark from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Big clean and friendly”

Room, pool, staff

The grounds are stroller friendly for families. The hotel had ongoing Maintance being carried out during our stay, which didn't interfere with us at all. I think the food at dinner in the chime restaurant was over priced and could have been better. The grounds were beautiful designed. I will stay hear again but would eat out locally next trip.

Reviewed June 06, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Yin from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014

Lovely stay with nice beach and swimming pool ”

Beach, swimming pool, breakfast

The hotel is huge....Love the pool access room. Lovely decorated room and cake for our honeymoon stay. Yet, the key card didn't work twice during our three nights stay. We waited for a long long time for the staff to come. I saw other guests also got the same problem. Must improve!!

Reviewed April 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Carsten from Denmark
Family with young children
Stayed 13 nights in February 2014

Superb hotel in great location”

Location on wonderful beach, great staff, exceptiona pool

3rd stay, and an they manage to keep improving experience. In spite of being a large hotel, it never feels crowded, and tha fabulous beach is virtually empty. The management has build a great team from the local area, and they pride themselves of a very low attrition. As a guest you experience a growing proifessionalism and a very friendly and helpful staff. Restaurants at hotel are very good, but an expensive alternative to the great thai fod served in the beach restaurants on both sides of the hotel.

Reviewed February 22, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

One of the best resorts I have ever experienced”

The large range of activities, the pool facilities, an the staff were amazing

I have travelled to many countries and stayed in hundres of hotels and resorts, and this is one of the best I have experienced. There are not many times I say this, but I will be returning to this resort again for another holiday.

Reviewed January 09, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Tong from Singapore
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

An excellent family holiday location”

Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room and very close to the beach.

It is an excellent location for family holiday. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Very close to the beach is a big advantage. The beach is very beautiful and the sunset is magnificient. Swimming in the sea could be dangerous as the sea could be at times rough. The 3km pool in the hotel provide plenty of opportunity to swim. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent service ! Food in the hotel is good and the portion is big. There are a few local restaurants on the beach to provide alternative for less expensive dinning but don't expect much variety. Language could be a barrier in these restaurants. The travel from the airport to the hotel is about 1.5hrs. This means leaving the hotel at least 4hrs prior to our flight, and will be a consideration in our flight booking in our next visit.

Reviewed December 29, 2013
7.3
Very good
Andrew from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

not perfect, but close!”

beautiful resort, beach and relaxation

it is difficult to find anything negative to say, but here are the areas i'd point out from our (enjoyable) stay: cons (all minor) - do not like the mandatory tip (10% "service charge" added to all f&b bills) with a blank line to add yet another tip. that's misleading. office staff suggested that they were "forced by thai law" to collect the service charge, which is completely untrue. - in-resort meals & services are very expensive. (example: $6 usd for bottled water at dinner) - could be "romantic," except for the seeming popularity with families with young children. (not the hotel's fault, just something to consider if desiring a romantic getaway) pro's - very beautiful resort. we took as many photos of the resort grounds as we did the beach! - maze-like layout of garden paths allows for exploration. - several restaurant and bar choices on site. - very friendly staff. - free use of recreation gear (pool tables, foosball, air hockey, table tennis, etc) helps pass the time

Reviewed December 06, 2013
6.3
Good
David from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 8 nights in September 2013

A relaxing resort for families”

Good restaurants nearby, swimming pools, child-friendly

The room price was very good value for money, but other services, although good, were very expensive - e.g. babysitting, in-hotel massage, food and drinks. It is a very relaxing place to stay, but the closest town (Khao Lak) has very little to offer. Fortunately, there are several good restaurants very close to the restaurant (by the hotel entrance and on the beach to the right). Leisure facilities are good as well. Lack of external maintenance is beginning to detract from the external appearance. Hopefully this problem will be addressed soon. The babysitting service was expensive but really excellent. We were happy to pay 350-450 baht/hour in the knowledge the children were very well cared for in our room. Khao Lak is boring. I only checked one fiend because I had to, though some people would like the market and there are no doubt a couple of good restaurants.

Reviewed October 11, 2013
8.3
Excellent
jane from Denmark
Family with young children
Stayed 7 nights in March 2013

Relaxing luxury, peacefull and very nice beach ”

the beach and pools and very nice local restaurant close to the hotel

Very good experience - my family and / like a good (Luxury) hotel with a nice beach, where we can still enjoy local restaurants at the beach. At this hotel we didn't have to use transportation for a hole week, when we we would like to visit local restaurants. Everything was within 200 meters!

Reviewed September 10, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Aree from Thailand
Group
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

A comfortable and pleasant stay”

Full service, massive pool, friendly staff

It was a pleasant stay although we were disappointed with culinary experience it had to offer. Great things about the global chain hotel are complete facility/ amenities and activities offered including water sports equipments, biking tour, yoga class and etc. Breakfast is good bu the Songkran buffet dinner was very mediocre and of no value I would not recommend getting dinner here. The concierge staffs are very friendly but sometimes fail to proactively find solutions for our enquiries regarding island visits. For example informing us that the tour packages are fully booked and stop it right there which defeat the purpose of us coming to them in the first place. The large pool and daily activities available for for leisure are excellent. Thus, I would recommend it to family and friends who are looking for convenience and fun.

Reviewed April 26, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Dmitry from United States
Couple
Stayed 13 nights in March 2013

A nice quiet place to stay on a private beach.”

Location, grounds, beach

This hotel provides a good value for money if you stay away from its restaurants. It's beautifully landscaped with a huge pool running along every building. The beach is clean and the bottom is free of boulders and sharp coral. A few pointers: don't book your airport transit with the front desk (2500 baht from Phuket) but rent a car or hire an independent cab (1000-1500 baht); visit restaurants on the beach and in Khao Lak for a cheap alternative to Marriott's grub; make sure to ask for bathroom supplies and fresh bed sheets if you don't get them as often as needed.

Reviewed April 05, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Delhia from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in February 2013

Paradise”

Amazing swimming pool

our second stay at this hotel, after last years experience we just had to come back. location is very good, far enough away from the centre of khao lak for some good old peace and quiet but the hotel run a shuttle bus if you feel in need of some retail therapy. would be nice if this was a complementary service though !! the swimming pool is amazing, we had hours of fun swimming all around the resort and it was never crowded. breakfast was included in our package and there is plenty of choice. the beds here are the most comfortable i have ever slept in. i am sure we will be back.

Reviewed February 24, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Yaowalak from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

The very best hotel and service.”

The bigest swimming pool in south east Asia.

the very great welcome, since my car stopped at the hotel the staff already waiting to open the door for me. five staff say sa wat dee in the fornt of the lobby. welcome drink at the lobby. the room big and clean with many towels, soft bed many pillows, big bath, nice view from the balcony and can walk to the swimming pool. very nive japanese, thai, italian restaurants, infinity pool bar, nice and big breakfast room with all you can eat. everynight is different buffet like thai, indian, japanese buffet. 24 hours services, bars open till midnight. you don't have you to go out!!! here you can find everything you need! 38 acres with thai style building. what a nice place! the hotel must see and stay. cant wait to go back!

Reviewed February 22, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Kelly from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 11 nights in January 2013

Expectations Exceeded!”

Location, facilities, staff, breakfast, and that fantastic pool!

My stay at the resort was everything I wanted. My room was clean, quiet, private and excellently maintained daily by the wonderful staff. I am very pleased I obtained a b'fast package with my stay. The beach was beautiful and uncrowded. The pool was amazing and I miss it everyday! My stay was so relaxing and I arrived home refreshed and ready to face the world again. I will definately go back, without a doubt.

Reviewed February 02, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Bernardo from Mozambique
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Excellent hotel with excellent services”

Good hotel to relax especially after spending some day in Patong with active night life. good facilities and services. We spent 3 nights and didnt need to go out of the hotel. the best hotel pool ever.

We had an excellent stay and the whole family enjoyed the calm and the services offered by the hotel. we didnt need to go out at all. the hotel restaurant were all good. pricy but excellent quality. The beach wasnt as good as in Katathani but still good enough to enjoy. I loved their pool. the children also loved it.

Reviewed January 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ana
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

Nice hotel, its a Marriot !”

the place it was beautifull

We need to wait about 3 hours for our room and after all for our luggage, so we lost almost the afternoon and we have no time to go to the sea, so we lost one afternoon. We paid to Agoda for a triple room , because we are 3 adults ( my child has 16 years old) but they do not provide a triple room so we have a double +a extra bed, but we paid for a triple room, so Agoda should review the booking's.

Reviewed October 05, 2012
8.0
Excellent
SHAW from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

Fantastic hotel, but restaurant fails to match”

Great room, and even more fantastic pools

Check in was a breeze and we were able to immerse immediately into the resort. Room was great and wifi available everywhere in the estate. Our room opened right into the pool and it was easy to explore the amazing pool labyrinth. We have tried the Olive and Sakura restaurants during the stay but thought the food did not match the five stars that the rest of the hotel was worthy of. Overall we had a great vacation here.

Reviewed September 09, 2012