Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 75 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 4.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.5
  • Service 6.3
  • Value for money 6.6
  • Food/Dining 4.8
Sort by

Natthaporn from Thailand
Solo travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
i will not return!
this place gave me a bad experience in honk kong. according to my hotel voucher, it is 2-bed mixed dormitory with shared bathroom, and i booked and paid on october 11, 2015 before i reached the hotel for 3 months. in fact they gave me a 4-bed mixed dormitory. i am a woman and they want me to share the room with other 3 guys. the place is very dirty and smelly. lucky me! finally, i could find another place to stay during my new year trip even though i need to pay more. can you guess how much i paid during such a busy time in hong kong?
Reviewed January 08, 2016

Kim from South Korea
Solo travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
cold room
location
cold and scare
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Melon from Philippines
Solo travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Good to stay for solo travelers
good accommodation and staff are accommodating
My stay is good and safe.
Reviewed November 22, 2015

Jose from Philippines
Business travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Value for money!
First, the hotel was clean (room and comfort room)! . Location excellent! Staff very helpful and courteous.
My only complaint about this hostel is that they have no lockers where you can put your things. There are four beds in the room where I stayed so you can never tell.Luckily, I did not lose anything. The worst part of it all is the presence of so many Indian nationals at the lobby of Chungking Mansion soliciting and offering rooms and other amenities to tourists. This, of course, is not Kamal Inns' responsibility. Generally speaking, I got my money's worth.
Reviewed November 12, 2015

Yuko from Japan
Solo travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed one night in September 2015
good location and facilities
location, equipments and free water
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Guia from Philippines
Solo travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Kamal inn was not what we saw on the posted photo
Nice staff and accessibility to mtr and bus
They knew we were ladies but agreed to book us with guys on the room. Kamal "inn" has a 2 double deck bed and not a 2 single bed room. Also they do not easily answer phone inquiries and inform us rrgarding our request before our said date of arrival. It was a bit traumatizing and waste of time to rearrange a new room at the day of your vacation. It took 2hours of our precious time where we should have been to somewhere else.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Ohigashi from Japan
Business travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed one night in July 2015
Too Bad but interesting
nothing,anything nothing
Reviewed July 21, 2015

Ernani from Philippines
Business travelers
Twin Bed
Stayed one night in February 2015
Uncomfortable
Location
Not so good since the t&b is too small that you cannot seat on the toilet.
Reviewed March 02, 2015

Nuchwaree from Thailand
Solo travelers
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Kamal Inn - Toronto Motel Group
Good location. Worth the money paid. Clean.
Reviewed February 24, 2015

Warren from South Africa
Groups
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
Fixer-upper
Location is extremely close to MTR. Manager was pleasant and as helpful as he could be. Bedding was washed after 3 days.
I didn't know what to expect coming to Hong Kong, but I was taken aback by the state of the hostel, considering I've stayed in a few. You could do worse, but you can definitely do better on Hong Kong Island. Staff were friendly though, and Chungking Mansion is definitely a 'to do' on the HK itinerary, but I feel I could've found a better deal elsewhere. The room was in no way like the picture I saw. More prison-like interior with all sorts of hardware cluttering up the passages. But the hostel is in the quieter block of the mansion and that's a winner already, considering the queues to the other elevators. All in all the experience was alright, but I'm definitely looking elsewhere in future trips.
Reviewed February 24, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: