Book Now: Kamala Beach Resort - A Sunprime Resort

Kamala Beach Resort - A Sunprime Resort Reviews

Excellent
From 829 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
93% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (829)
8.3
Excellent
From 829 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.5
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.4
Value for money8.2
Food and dining7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Svenska
Français
Русский
more
Room type
deluxe ground terrace
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Grand Deluxe
Grand Deluxe Pool View
more
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 775 verified guest comments
8.8
Janelle from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 8 nights in June 2017
Great place to relax!
Great location and facilities that included many pools. Easy to walk to eat or swim or drink. Easy to get to other beaches and trips. Very relaxing place to stay!
Reviewed July 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Finny from Indonesia
Group
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Nice beachfront resort
The hotel was very nice and huge!! I think I counted 5 pools. Right on the beach which is great. Breakfast had a great variety of food and fruits. Patong beach is 30min by cab or tuk tuk ride.
Reviewed June 07, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Tawin from Thailand
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Beach front resort
Good location Stall was very helpful
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Elaine from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 12 nights in April 2017
Fabulous holiday
Couldn't fault this hotel, would highly recommend and we would definitely stay here again
Reviewed May 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Yuen from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 5 nights in April 2017
Suitable for couples & people who like quietness
Pros - excellent service from Vanesa (front desk), Dam & Alan (restaurant). Kudos to them! Hotel is very near to beach & few restaurants around. We like the food & service from Hey Ha Bar & Restaurant which is along the beach. Cons - bring your own toiletries. Housekeeping will only clean the room & NO replenishment of anything except toilet paper, not even tissues!! Taxi charge quite expensive compared to other parts of Thailand.
Reviewed April 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Roberta from France
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Very good!!!
Very good! The swimming pool is great, rooms are big, service is good
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.0
Talisa from United Kingdom
Group
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 7 nights in April 2017
Do not stay here...
This was my third trip to Phuket and from experience I highly advise you DO NOT STAY HERE. Kamala beach is polluted and you swim amongst plastic bags, not to mention the actual street is limited with restaurants. You go through a smelly rat infested river from the hotel with limited lighting to the main area. Aside from this the resort is very big and hostile, the staff are rude and to sum it up, I would say the staff are more operational than they are hospitable or accommodating. The resort has no care that you are their guest. Breakfast is free, but quantity over quality and staff members pack up and rush you 30 minutes before the breakfast closes. Staff maliciously moved our items on a pool chair when we were unaware of the no pool chair reservation before 10am rule. We went for a early swim, used the chairs then went for breakfast 10 metres away from the chairs... pool staff said they had been watching us at breakfast. So why didn't they tell us they were moving our items and throwing them in the corner? This review is aside from the disgusting fact that an expensive item of clothing was misplaced or stolen by house maids in which the hotel showed little care or responsibility, telling me they would call the police and their lawyers as if I was lying. Their response was that they 'trusted our maid more than anything'. Disgraceful and absolutely ruined my holiday. Honestly, stay in a beachfront resort in Kata or Karon and stay away from this horrible, mass resort.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Kerry from Ireland
Solo traveler
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Beautiful Hotel Strange Location
This was a stunning hotel with beautiful facilities. I was only there for one night but would have loved to stay longer
Reviewed April 18, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
Ibeltal from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 7 nights in April 2017
Excellent location and service
We arrived early and upgraded to an excellent terrace room with pool access. The location is perfect on the beach as well as around 10 swimming pools with its sister hotel. Stayed from 7 to 14 April. Several places to eat and plenty of shops as well. We are very happy with Agoda's price we paid for the excellent hotel. I. Tenaou and G. Tenaw
Reviewed April 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Adelaida from Spain
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Let down
After the many times we have been in this hotel, the service desk staff were not as attentive as in the past. As usual, my kuddos to the restaurant staff, by far the best in the hotel. I would like to comment that the cleaning personnel did an awful job when my poor mother in law had food poisoning. After throwing up multiple times, we requested the cleaning team to please clean up, what we saw horrified us. They just sprayed water, and wipe after with a bath towel. I had to, myself, request soap and bleach to clean the toilet area and bowl so we made sure we could stop the bacteria from spreading. We left the hotel very disappointed.
Reviewed March 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Stuart from Australia
Family with teens
Junior Suite
Stayed 12 nights in January 2017
Great facilities, great location and very relaxing
Great resort, we stayed in a Junior suite and it was very spacious. Friendly staff and very peaceful. Great pools and right on the beach. Location, location, location!!!
Reviewed February 05, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Benjamin from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Big pools but a bit tired
Great old resort but needs renovation badly.
Reviewed January 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Shir from Israel
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Amazing holiday
the resort gives you every thing that you need for a perfect vacation and pay attention to . small details, great location and wonderful beach very peaceful
Reviewed January 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Rachel from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Lovely, very big hotel
All was good with the hotel. The only downfall is that the rooms get very damp as it is such a large resort I don't think anywhere near all the rooms get used so they smell of damp. You can even smell it as you walk past. We had to move room because of the smell. Second room wasn't as bad.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Joanna from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
My favourite hotel
This was our third stay at this hotel. The staff are all very professional and attentive. The resort is quiet as there are no children allowed under 15. Great location on the beach and next to many restaurant choices. Good breakfast with potential allergens marked on each food. My only complaint is the wifi. It's improved since last year but o honestly spent over 2 hours of my holiday trying to log in. Very frustrating and not what one expects for 'free wifi'.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Jing from China
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Wonderful Experience
Clean room & good service. We booked ground deluxe room but got a free upgrade! Pools are good, and it's so close to the kamala beach. BTW, check-in drinks are unique, i love the taste:)
Reviewed January 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Carla from United States
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great location, great staff
Very helpful staff. Beautiful property, great breakfast. Didn't have any cons,only pros!!
Reviewed December 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Dennis from Australia
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Fantastic place to stay has everything you could need.
Beach, pools,food,staff,Every thing about your resort was great . Only problem our group had was Wi Fi was not satisfactory very difficult to get and needs attention.Thanks
Reviewed December 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
christa from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 9 nights in November 2016
couldn't fault this resort. will come again.
Beautifully maintained rooms and gardens. Plenty of room with seating at poolside. Massages same price as main street. Right on the beach, close to shops, a market twice a week on adjacent land. A better resort than others we saw. We were glad we chose this one
Reviewed December 09, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Hong from United States
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
clean and nice
will stay again
Reviewed November 08, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
7.2
Matthew from Australia
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Lovely place to stay, beautiful town/beach/village
Sadly the frond desk & restaurant let this hotel down quite a bit. The check in process was less than welcoming, "have you got this document?" "have you got this other document?" & "we need this, we need that" made us feel like we were going through VISA/IMMIGRATION, and immigration in Vietnam was a heck of a lot friendlier and more communicative. The pools were nice, one was out of service, and amazingly they work into the night to get the work done, without a heck of a lot of noise coming into the room from our perspective. So well done here, (it's low season now - and we like low season, and the stormy weather is fun) so there's a lot of things shut down (i think the spa/massage area was closed as well) Luckily there were some nice places on the beach that looked after us, and that was just the ticket, interestingly massage at the hotel didn't look any more expensive than one on the beach, so that's pretty ace. Breakfast was okay, reasonably good selection, but sadly it seems one coffee is enough, and to be honest may-be it was better we didn't have a second, the first one was pretty gross, might be time for them to clean the drip/filter as I hate dirt/coffee grounds in my coffee. Would I stay here again, ummm Depends, I did like Aquamarine more, and it is cheaper. The Sunprime Resort is in a good spot, We just wish we didn't have to walk along the major road into town, and seeing other guests pushing a baby stroller along that stretch of highway was.a bit unsettling, considering it's only 50 (at most100) meters along the beach side to town (through the sand) you'd think they could work something better out. If we weren't interested in a resort styled stay we would have just taken a room off the beach, But we did enjoy being at a resort and they do have an idyllic spot on the beach, you couldn't stay much closer to the beach, so overall yes it's worth it. We'll just have to get over the less than appreciative staff. Stayed September 2016, traveled a
Reviewed October 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Eric from Australia
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 7 nights in May 2015
Great
Handy to everything
Reviewed October 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Helena from Macau
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Buffet breakfast not too much choice
Pools ok
Reviewed October 10, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Helena from Macau
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Average
Need improve room cleaning n beach not too clean
Reviewed October 10, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Kesha from Philippines
Group
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
love the place except the beach
Love the place and the staff and the pool! But some staff don't understand english.. also they upgraded our room which made me very happy! The only thing that is not good is the beach.. maybe just during our time
Reviewed September 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Nicole from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Spacious room with nice view
Stayed here for 3 nights. We have been upgraded to a suite with pool view on the grand wing. Very friendly staffs, always been greeted with a big smile. It was fantastic. Satisfied with everything, but not the room service. One turn off thing was it should be a kid-free hotel, however, there was a noisy family with a kid sitting by the pool while a several couples were enjoying their time there. They talked loud and also took some photos at the pool with all the people in the pool as the photo background. Let alone the kid issue, everything was great.
Reviewed September 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Chris from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016
Great beachfront child free pools clean and friendly staff
Shuttle bus to patronage needs to be more regular and cheaper
Reviewed September 17, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Rodney from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016
Awesome
Second time staying at the hotel, overall my stay was awesome. The only complaint I have is the staff at the front desk need to speak and understand English a little better.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Tony from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 9 nights in August 2016
Keeps getting Better
After 19 years of visiting or staying at Sunprime I have seen it go from strength to strength while still managing to maintain a personal family touch to everyone staying there. A lot of staff are still there after 20 years so that says something about the management style. Also the massage centres are a treat. The girls have just the right amount of professional friendliness. All 4 swimming pools are well maintain and now all the sun lounges and umbrellas have been removed from the beach it's an absolute delight to now sit on the beach and enjoy it.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Ruth from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Lovely beach resort!
Next to the beach and little bars. Also lots to do on sight, swimming pools are great. Rooms big with balcony. We were upgraded free of charge, staff super! Would recommend!
Reviewed August 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
David from Australia
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 9 nights in July 2016
Will be back
First time stay at this resort and will definitely be back
Reviewed July 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
ZHIHUA from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Relaxing Resort
This resort is the best during I stay in Phuket. Value of money. Near beach and sutible for honeymoon. Excellent.
Reviewed June 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Ahmed from Egypt
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
It was amazing holiday
Kamala is very good hotel My wife and me spent 4 days The staff very very helpful and so kind Provide us will all info we need Room is clean and tidy , pool also is clean food is good Only thing shuttle bus need to have more timing as its only at 11 Am and 7 pm A part from this everything is amazing I recommend this hotel
Reviewed June 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
SHOICHI from Japan
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
best hotel in Kamala
Pool bar is nice.
Reviewed May 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Tanya from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
All you need in one location
Kamala Beach Resort really has all you need in one location. The Resort is huge! I was particularly impressed with the layout of the hotel, the number of pools, two restaurants and really good gym, a great little mini mart that was open until 11pm and the very friendly and helpful staff. My partner and I booked a Grand Deluxe Room and it really is no different to a regular deluxe except for the view over the pools. Any rooms facing the pools or the beach whether it be on the ground or upper floors is a good pick. Recommend.
Reviewed April 23, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 9 nights in February 2016
Perfect location
Location Staff Food
Fantastic
Reviewed February 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Joanna from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015
Perfect beach holiday hotel
4 different pools, no kids, right on the beach
We stayed at this hotel for 12 days and we loved it so much that we extended our stay. The rooms are large, light and well furnished. The staff are plentiful, attentive and well trained. Perfect location directly on the beach. Lots of excellent beach restaurants to try each day. I'd be more than happy to stay here again. My only criticism is that food and drinks served by the pool come in polystyrene and plastic containers. The hotel prides itself on it's environmental commitment but on this front they let them selves and the local environment down. I hope the hotel changes it's practice.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.3
Paula from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Far from being a 4 star
the location.
Terrible stay. Paid internet in the room, which did not work. Had to go to reception at 3am to send an email. Extremely noisy in the morning with the cleaning ladies screaming in the corridor. Staff not helpful, felt like they did not really care. Stayed in cheaper hotels in Thailand during my trip that were way better! Never staying there again.
Reviewed December 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Leonie from Australia
Couple
Deluxe min. age 15 years
Stayed 11 nights in October 2015
fantastic beach holiday resort
location, location, location
Fantastic stay of 11 nights. Resort is located perfectly in middle of a half moon shaped shaded white sandy beach with plenty of restaurants within easy walk either way up the beach. Beach also has Lifeguards on duty. A local weekly friday market sets up in the vacant lot next door. The local street is easy 10 minute walk and is beautiful Thai community of shop keepers. 4 pools in the resort gives options and (cheap) shuttle service allows easy access to Patong and Central Festival (for weekend markets and Phuket Old Town). Staff were all excellent and resort restaurant was same price as most local restaurants. Fantastic value for money. We are already planning a return visit.
Reviewed November 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Adelaida from Spain
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 6 nights in October 2015
Again, an awesome stay!
Swimming pools, restaurant by the beach, room
We have been staying here four times, and we'll come back again. I read a few bad reviews...To avoid disappointments with 'mold' (smell, etc), book rooms where the swimminpool area by the reception. They are a bit more expensive, but it is totally woth it! Food, staff, facilities, transport: EXCELLENT!
Reviewed October 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 11 nights in September 2015
Standards are slipping!!
Food in the restaurantant is very good, beds in the room very comfortable and the staff were very cheerful
Stayed at Kamala beach previously, and on this visit we have noticed that standards have declined. The hotel itself needs some money spent on it as we found tiles in and around the pool were loose, when it rained you would have buckets/towel on the floor because the roof leaked, and that was in the restaurant
Reviewed September 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Thai from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Run Of House
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Okay if you're happy with mainstream
Staff were wonderfully attentive, Spotlessly clean everywhere, BEST BIT - families with kids next door...fantastic idea!!
The staff ALL deserve yet another praising, absolutely bent over backwards for us & nothing too much trouble for them: At the same time they were down to earth, approachable, relaxed and good for a laugh & joke. The latter most certainly a refreshing change for any international concern - usually staff in these places are in "production line" mode where all you are is another room number. These ladies & gents were absolutely top-notch, well done SunPrime! The hotel itself did indeed tick all the boxes, but was way too mainstream for my tastes. I might have been in Phuket, Patagonia or Peterborough waking up in the morning, no local flavour whatsoever. Families with kids at separate location. Went next door out of curiosity and noted how the two venues set-up to tailor for their clientele as polar opposites. SUPERB.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.3
phillip from United States
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
No Wifi in rooms?
pools / friendly staff / location
It was a good stay ...did not like no wifi in rooms only common areas....you could get wifi in room for a fee, other hotels don't charge extra for that tho- a little sore about that but a decent place to stay
Reviewed August 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.7
virisara from Thailand
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Nice hotel
Great service, accessibility,
Good
Reviewed August 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
James from United States
Solo traveler
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Best Location in Kamala
Location, Price, Comfort
This hotel has the best location in Kamala. If you want a hotel on the beach and steps away from the pool, this is it. I researched a lot before going here and found it is pretty much the only hotel right on the beach. Hotel is clean and staff very friendly. This is easily a 4 star hotel and the price is more than reasonable. It is only 15 minutes to Patong for those who want that fast pace. If not, there are plenty of restaurants and shops in Kamala. Kamala is so opposite of neighbor Patong beach. Kamala is slower paced and relaxed. The one negative is the internet policy. You only get free wifi in the lobby. In the room you must pay a very steep price per hour or a week long pass for 1025 Baht. And the reliability of the connective is not great. This is probably the most negative part of this hotel. The pools are fantastic and the restaurant serves great food. Breakfast is very good and lots of choices for the buffet. One more thing, the restaurants close for 1 hour from 5-6 PM which I scratch my head it. Not sure why they need to close for an hour at a world class hotel. They have 24/7 room service so this is quite puzzling. I highly recommend staying here and I will go back next visit.
Reviewed July 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Truong from Vietnam
Family with young children
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Nice place for taking holidays and relaxation
Nice room, wonderful swimming pool, great panarama view
Our staying lasts 4 nights only, but that is an impressive experience. The room is very clean and well prepared, the staff so nice and hard working,
Reviewed July 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.3
Olle from Sweden
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 14 nights in June 2015
Ok hotel but i will not go there again!
breakfast
We thought that the hotel was boring. The hotel rooms was simple and the only thing we thought was ok was the breakfast. We are not going to visit the hotel again.
Reviewed June 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.0
david from United States
Solo traveler
Run Of House
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
4.5 star and no free room wifi
condition, beach, pools
Really annoyi g with no freewufi in rooms and 450 baht for 6 hours with amessed up eifi system. 1 hour wifi limit in restaurants. Ridiculous and greedy. E en2 star hotelstypicallyhavefree wufi in roomsthat isnt a royal pain to use
Reviewed June 15, 2015
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.0
Albasri from Singapore
Couple
Grand Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Speechless
Pools, staffs n sea
Good, njoy, staffs really superb. Only being a muslim breakfast i limited
Reviewed June 09, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Catherine from United Kingdom
Couple
deluxe ground terrace
Stayed 6 nights in May 2015
Brilliant time
The location on the beach
Reviewed May 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|