Book Now: Kanravee Guesthouse

Very good
From 190 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (190)Booking.com Reviews (91)
7.9
Very good
From 190 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities7.9
Location7.4
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service8.6
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
ภาษาไทย
日本語
more
Room type
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Standard Bungalow
Standard Double Room with Fan
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 136 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Luciano from Argentina
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Can't ask for more”
This place is exceptional! Go for the houses they have for 300 / 350bth and is dream land. You have a porche, a room for luggage, fridge, your room, then a backyard with a toilet and a table. Just insane. The place also have a washing machine for 40bth, a nice pool and cookies, coffee and te 24hs. The owner is so lovely. The place to B
Reviewed November 08, 2017
6.8
Good
kayleigh from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Good”
Good location very near the main town. It's very basic but it is a budget accommodation, the pool looked good but we never used it. Not much seating around the pool.
Reviewed November 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Daniela from Czech Republic
Couple
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Very nice place to stay in Pai”
Location 15 min from the walking street, calm area, well equipped, clean, very nice staff. I would recommend this place,
Reviewed October 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Gauthier from Czech Republic
Couple
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Nice private bungalow”
The staff was very cheerful and nice. The location is a bit far from the city by walk (15 min so just rent a scooter) but the superior bungalow we stayed in was very comfy and we could sleep at night in a quiet place. We wanted to try the pool but didn't have time because Pai area got so much to be explored. Looked nice and clean though. We would definitely come back over there if we're in Pai once again. Thank you.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Melissa from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Fab little place!”
Booked here for 2 nights but extended for an extra night we liked it that much! The pool is great and just what you need to cool down in after a hot day. Room was all that you need, big bed, powerful fan, free water and good shower. The guesthouse also has great little seating area undercover by the pool with free coffee and kettle. It is about a 15 minute steady walk into main town but just one straight road so not a bad walk at all. Staff (only 1 lady we saw the whole time - think she does everything!) was really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to stay here.
Reviewed September 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sophie from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Interesting stay ”
Kanravee was a funny little place. The staff were really friendly & very happy. The room we stayed in was clean & comfortable. Sound travelled in the small courtyard attached to our room but luckily we had quiet neighbors! The pool was clean & also a salt water pool which was awesome. You can help yourself to coffee. Only 10 minute walk into town with a few places along the way to eat or drink. Overall great place!
Reviewed August 20, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Scott from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Exceptional”
Stayed in the superior bungalow with air con for 4 nights, think it worked out at 357baht a night £8. Basically your own little guesthouse excellent air con double balcony. Didn't use the pool as we were out a lot. Woman owner seemed very nice although we only spoke to her checking in and out. 7 min walk to start of walking street. Right next to muai Thai gym. Wasn't noisy at all. Probably one of the best places we stayed while in Thailand over 50days.
Reviewed August 02, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Nicole from Canada
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Excellent”
Nice and quiet. Really peaceful and I loved the foliage on the property. The beds were a bit hard but not too bad and the family who owns the property were very sweet. I would stay again. Just a 10 min walk into town where the action is :)
Reviewed July 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Karel from Netherlands
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 6 nights in June 2017
Excellent Kanravee”
This is great. I stayed here in June (low season). Loved the silence being away enough from the Pai centre party crowd, still walking distance. Enjoyed the swimming pool and fast internet. Staff very helpful. One small improvement: the beds are hard! The 'matresses' are from rubbery plastic. Feels like you're sleeping on a wooden board.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
7.2
Very good
hyun from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
just so so.”
steps are so kind.
Reviewed April 23, 2017
7.2
Very good
hyun from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
staffs are so nice but quite not clean.”
it was rainning when i was staying there lots of insects came to the room.omg. . might be it happen only dometory . .
Reviewed April 20, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Rachel from United States
Couple
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Exceptional”
Quiet location, cute bungalows, nice pool, good price The owner had two dogs that enjoyed barking and running at people though.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
6.4
Good
Austin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Ok stay”
Please note that for the money the detached bungalow was excellent The swimming pool was ok but note it's not for long distance fitness training. The family running it are friendly and helpful and it's not far from the town in a scooter. There's no Breakfast available and the coffee is not the best however there's lots of places in pai to stay and eat so shop around
Reviewed March 25, 2017
6.0
Austin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Lots of places available in pai during march and it's easy to turn up and stay.”
This place offered space from the town centre and a swimming pool. Strayed in the detached bungalows which are separate from the main dwellings but had full use of facilities . No breakfast available, no soft drinks, coffee was poor 3/1 which is standard and the room was not cleaned for 3 days during my stay. On the other hand I paid less than 500 bht for a detached bungalow with aircon tv and huge living space with a pool.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jordan from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Exceptional”
Lovely guest nice nod quiet pool was clean location was ok about ten minute walk centre and the little old lady was a gem.overall a great stay
Reviewed March 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Simon from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
lovely place, very friendly staff”
Really cheap Single room with a common pool area. Coffee, tea and little snacks for free. I definitely recommend this guesthouse!
Reviewed March 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Owen from Australia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Clean and tidy, great location”
Booked a standard room and was upgraded to Room with Fan. Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and tidy, as was the pool. Location was a 10 minute walk to the night market and town centre.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
6.8
Good
lim from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Good”
1km from the bus station where thewalking street is.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
6.8
Good
Javier from Argentina
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
good”
it's a little old and far for the center but for this money is ok.
Reviewed February 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Valerie from United States
Group
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
We love this place!!!”
The staff here is absolutely the best! I stayed here with a friend and we loved it! We especially enjoyed hanging out by the pool! The rooms are very nice and comfortable as well! I definitely recommend!!!
Reviewed January 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
federick from Canada
Couple
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Good budget hotel”
Beds were hard but not out of the norm for Thailand. It was a bit off the beaten path but Pai is so small that it is still just a 5 min scooter ride anywhere. It also meant that it was quiet and night for sleeping.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Amy from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Cute place, lovely family”
Stayed here twice! Met some other travellers here that were awesome. Family who run the place are lovely, rooms are big, comfy and clean. You get free soap, water and toilet roll, as well as tea, coffee and biscuits! I got moved to a private room for free because it was available. Little bit of a walk from the centre and managed to get lost on my way home from a night out, but I think that says more about me than the location haha.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Willy from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Nice bungalow with private parking”
Owner allow us to book the bungalow on the spot through agoda. it helps us as we run low on cash. love the privacy of the place and laundry facilities. Very friendly owner who helped to translate my need in thai language for Pai mechanic to service my motorcycle. appreciate their help very much!!!
Reviewed January 01, 2017
4.8
Leon from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in December 2016
A little disappointing”
Kanravee looked great in the beginning. It is cheap, it has a swimming pool, close to the city altough not really in the middle of it. However, we had a really hard (even for Thai understandings) bed. Furthermore one of the beds fell apart, there where some maggogts crawling up the ceiling and the bathroom was not really clean. It is a pitty, because the place, when well cleaned and with good beds definitely has potential.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
arnaud from France
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
All is perfect . A heaven”
I stayed in a dorm for 150bhat/night. In high season Include a swimming pool . Sun chair, coffee tea biscuit for free at the morning,1 free water bottle a day.all that in a peaceful environment. Can not beat this place ...arnaud
Reviewed December 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Rajan from United States
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good value for money, enjoyed the pool”
Great staff. The guest house is about a kilometer out of the city center, but the walk is not bad and along a relatively busy road. Beware of the barking dogs at night. Good value for the price.
Reviewed December 25, 2016
3.6
Kellyn from United States
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
disappointing ”
Looking back it's hard to explain exactly why this stay was so disappointing - there was nothing promised that we didn't receive. But while we knew the location was outside of town, we didn't realize how remote it would feel on an unlit hill outside of town. The room was bare and small and we could hear every word of our neighbors or other guests outside. It felt like they were in the same room as us throughout the night. Overall, it was inexpensive but there are better options in the same price range that would be better
Reviewed December 23, 2016
6.0
michael
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Just visiting Pai for a few days”
About a half mile from town but an easy walk with street lights. Simple room but everything worked and we were lucky enough to be right next to the pool. If you're like us and don't need to stay right in town would recommend
Reviewed December 20, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jonas from Belgium
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Nice chill in Pai”
The location is a bit outcentred but not too much (20min walk). The owners were charming, the pool delightful and the bungalow ok. Just a matres too hard but i definitely recommand this place !
Reviewed December 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Elena from Russia
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Amazing place”
I could not find flaws
Reviewed November 03, 2016
7.2
Very good
Maddalena from Italy
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Nice”
The bungalow is really nice, the owner also. The only problem is the Wi-Fi,sometimes it didnt work. And the toilets hosts some small insects! But its not too bad
Reviewed July 16, 2016
7.6
Very good
Natalia from Mexico
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Little far from city centre”
The hostel has a big nice garden with swings and hammocks, great place to relax. You could say it is far from main streets but it is actually only 1 km away. Toaster and free tea and coffee is nice.
Reviewed April 06, 2016
7.6
Very good
Martin from Estonia
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Pass”
The lady who runs it is nice but the location is bad (street dogs get scary when you come there during the night) and there were annoying small things that werent fixed: the mosquito net door thing opened with a huge bang that woke everybody up, there was a hole to break your leg in in the ground before the house etc. Ok if you don't have anything better but there are better options.
Reviewed March 22, 2016
7.2
Very good
MAYUMI from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
good value for money”
okay
Reviewed January 27, 2016
6.7
Good
Ching from Hong Kong
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Cheap”
Cheap
Very Cheap and with good outlook. The Bungalow is large but the inside is quite old and will make noise when close the door. A bit far from city (around 25minute walk) but is easy to find
Reviewed December 13, 2015
6.3
Good
RUI from China
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Location very good”
location and price
The staff did not show up when we wanted to checkin. And we booked already,but the staff still wanted us to cancel via agoda and do walk-in booking. Not very nice. And the room is very cold. But the price is very low.
Reviewed December 10, 2015
6.7
Good
Thi from Vietnam
Group
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
A suitable low-cost option”
Very nice and helpful staff, cheap price, quite good location
We enjoyed our staying there. As Pai is very small, this can be considered quite far from the center. The room is small and toilet is smelly sometimes. The wifi connection is not very good inside the room but as we don't have the demand to use it much, it is not a big deal.
Reviewed November 30, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Camille from Canada
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Nice hostel”
Staff, value for money, safe!
That was a great hostel, at 10-15 min walk from the city center (it was fine for me). They clean the bathrooms everyday and you have free unlimited wifi that works well. The yard is nice, you have plenty of benches to seat outside and the staff are sooo helpful! They dont speak really well english, but we understood each other. When I arrived, the woman gave me 3 FREE watter bottles and toilet paper. You have a "locker" to lock your stuff if you want and they gice you a lock without deposit. The dorm is separated in 4 parts: 3 rooms with two beds and the main room with the rest of the beds. I had the chance to stay in one of the small rooms and was alone the first night. We could lock our room but not the main one. The bathrooms are old but larger than the other hostels Ive been to. HOT SHOWER: you get to choose the temperature, that was pretty nice. Beds are hard, but you should expect it since youre in Thailand (I slept well, personally). Free coffee as well. The hostel is on a main road, not too difficult to find (there is a sign with the name on it), enough far from the "nightlife" to sleep well with the windows opened. No AC, but you have fans (during my stay I didnt really needed it, it was cold during the night, maybe 19 degrees). There are not much restaurants close to the hostel, you have to walk to the city center. Even with those inconvenients, I really enjoyed my stay at Kanvaree guesthouse! It felt safe and the staff was so nice!
Reviewed November 25, 2015
7.7
Very good
BIN from China
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Good”
Free bicycle to use
Good choice although away from city centre.
Reviewed November 10, 2015
6.0
Jens from Germany
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Clean, cheap but...”
Price
Kanravee is clean and really ok, but there are a lot of good hostels in Pai, which are more central and more lovely in the same price section!
Reviewed April 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
jiho from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
good. i recommend ”
garden, room, quite
Reviewed March 11, 2015
7.3
Very good
Jennifer from Germany
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Good budget place in cosy environment ”
Quiet location, beautiful garden, free Tea and Coffee
Relaxing
Reviewed February 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Gabriel from United States
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Great hostel”
The staff, the location, the atmosphere
The staff is incredibly nice. I had an insect bite (that I got in Chiang Mai) get infected, and thinking it was a potentially dangerous spider bite, the woman who works there and I went to the hospital together. She translated the Thai doctors for me and even tried to pay for my antibiotics. They are really nice here and I would definitely stay again
Reviewed February 13, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Stacey from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Great location, great staff”
The staff, the location, value for money
Staff were extremely helpful, amazing location, short walk to the Main Street with bars and restaurant, room was nice size, clean and comfy
Reviewed January 22, 2015
5.0
Xiao from China
Solo traveler
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
I caught a bad cold here”
location, price, that's all
Maybe because it's New Year, on the 1st night, the staff of this guesthouse had a party in the little garden, from midnight until 3 a.m. in the early morning. They made a lot of noises, we couldn't sleep at all! While lying in bed listening to the big noises, I could think of nothing but how to write this comment. Worse more, the bedquilts were too thin to against the cool nights of Pai, at 1st you couldn't not notice it, but after the midnight it's getting colder and colder! Unfortunately, I caught a serious cold soon.
Reviewed January 04, 2015
7.3
Very good
XIAOXIAN from China
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room with Fan
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
The furniture too old. Bed ,banket ,washing room ”
Good waiter.
Furniture too old. Everything!
Reviewed January 01, 2015
7.3
Very good
Chuanwei from China
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Attentive Taiwanese manager, sweet home feel”
Attentive Taiwanese manager, sweet home feel
The manager was very attentive and shared with me all the things I need to know about Pai. It was a wonderful short stay, only hope the room condition could be at a bit better. But I think it's the price of a high season.
Reviewed December 29, 2014
7.0
Very good
Erika from Australia
Group
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Good guesthouse ”
Free water, wifi and friendly staff.
This guesthouse had a lovely lady running it. We stayed in a dorm and it had separate areas which made it feel private. We were given free water, soap, toilet paper and a towel. About a 10min walk out of town from walking street. The rooms were a bit dusty and cobwebs around, but there were clean sheets and a blanket on the beds. The bathroom was clean. There are two in the dorm.
Reviewed December 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Zhifang from China
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Location”
10min by walk to walking street. clean. Not noise.
Nice
Reviewed December 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ossie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Bungalow with Air Condition
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
Comfortable stay in Pai, close to city centre”
Wifi, location, staff
I enjoyed staying here a lot. Had a superior bungalow with owner bathroom and small kitchen area which I didn't use. Location is amazing. Just down the road from hospital and also walking Street for food and markets. Stag were very friendly and they can organise bike rentals for you which is great to see the amazing views of Pai. I would definitely recommend Kanravee Guesthouse.
Reviewed November 14, 2014