Book Now: Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket

Excellent
From 405 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (405)Booking.com Reviews (176)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
From 405 reviews
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.6
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service9.0
Value for money8.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (405)
All room types
Showing 337 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 13 nights in December 2018
Good Value Good Staff”
We had a 13 night stay at the Kantary Bay Hotel. The staff were excellent; smiling, happy, helpful and welcoming from receptionist to chambermaid. The location is good with plenty of places to eat nearby. The breakfast we good, with a tremendous variety of food to suit all nations diets. The facilities were also very good and in all it was a very relaxing holiday.
Reviewed December 22, 2018
Dear Robert, Thank you for your very happy review of your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket and for your compliments to our staff. We are indeed very proud of them all and I am sure they join me in the hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket Management
Responded December 25, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
9.2
Exceptional
Mei from Singapore
Family with teens
1 Bedroom
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018
It is our 6th or 7th time visiting and we never grow tired of the stay”
The attentiveness of staff is outstanding. Since the last 2 visit, the hotel has been pampering us with surprises-complimentary trips and meals. It makes you feel very welcome when hotel staff are like old friends. Cape Panwa is located in the southeast of Phuket, a quiet part of Phuket. It is a little far from shopping malls, Patong and other touristy places. But having access to facilities in both Cape Panwa and Kantary Bay as well as the local night market is enough to keep us satisfied for 4-5 days without having the need to travel out to other parts of the island.
Reviewed June 12, 2018
Thank you for your warm and affectionate review of your recent visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket again. We are delighted to read that we contributed to your holiday and that our staff were smiling and able to suprise you. We will pass on your thanks to our staff and we all look forward to seeing you again? Yours sincerely, The Management of Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment
Responded June 13, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
9.6
Exceptional
Diyah from Indonesia
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 7 nights in November 2017
Time to relax!”
The hotel is amazing - from staff facilities, breakfast, and surroundings. There are 2 masseuse, Dao and Pathum massage, which are thoroughly recommended (located between Kantary Bay Hotel n Cape Panwa Hotel). To be able to access the sister hotel facilities such as their private beach, swimming pool, gym at Cape Panwa is a bonus. Thanks especially to Ms Ning who had given us the nice room facing the bay. Thanks to all staff who always try their best to make our stay enjoyable and memorable! We will be back! :-)
Reviewed December 01, 2017
Dear Diyah, Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us about your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back as one of our regular returnees in the future. At Cape and Kantary Hotels, we actively support SOS Children’s Villages and the Thai Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin in our restaurants and we also stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commercial or entertainment purposes. Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay, Phuket Management
Responded December 07, 2017
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
8.0
Excellent
Swee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Comfortable hotel with sea view and beautiful greenary”
The Hotel is situated right in front of the sea and with restaurants and shops around it. The staff are ever so friendly and accommodating and I was a room in the old wing which I did not mind at all as the room was beautifully kept. I had a very pleasant stay and wouldn't mind coming back.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Chelsea from Canada
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Was good”
Our room at Kantary was very nice and clean, however my brother was in a different building (still apart of Kantary) and his room was not nearly as nice. His room was kinda small and needed some work. Staff were incredibly friendly though.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.3
Exceptional
mori from Japan
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
reasonable price, great facilities”
ocean view, facilities, cleaness
Studio room is very large and clean. The guests can fully utilize the great facilities of its 5-star sister hotel. It is a big advantage. This hotel also has nice roof-top pool with magnificent ocean view. Only one negative point is the location quite far from downtown. Your own transportation such as rent-a-car or rent-a-bike is needed. Overall highly recommended.
Reviewed May 13, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Chin
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
This hotel totally made the day!”
Big room with all the amenities.
the hotel was located at panwa which is a very quiet place. it takes about half an hour from the hotel to phuket town. transportation can be arrange with the hotel at a fair price. the room is big and has a mini living room and a mini kitchen, with microwave and stove. really handy when we want to have supper. the breakfast included was nice as well. the staff were very friendly. the free wifi is only available in the lobby but we were able to access it as well from our room. this hotel has definitely made our trip more memorable!
Reviewed September 27, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
harvey from United Kingdom
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011
Hotel and service made you glad to be there”
Rooms, breakfast, service and use of Cape Panwa hotel
On arrival we were given a room on 1st floor. Asked if I could move to a higher floor with better view and was immediately switched to 4th with fantastic view of the bay. The rooms were as I had expected having previously stayed with this group elsewhere in Thailand with facilities second to none. Breakfast was excellent and facilities at sister hotel Cape Panwa were well worth using with a great beach there. Used the private company in the hotel for Boat trip tour and car hire booking and also taxi to airport and they were most helpful. Will hopefully come back again and have already recommended to friends.
Reviewed April 11, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Trevor from Australia
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Another wonderful stay”
This hotel is definitely worth every cent even though it is already cheap as it is. Great location. Nice and quiet but with everything you need in a small area. Shops, restaurants, massages, family marts and money exchange booths. Staff were amazing and so helpful.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
Thank you for your positively glowing review of your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket and for your generous compliments to our staff. We hope very much to see you joining the ranks of our many regular returnees. Yours sincerely, The Management of Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment
Responded May 08, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
9.2
Exceptional
Apirath from Thailand
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
A good one indeed ”
Rooms booked are not suitable for grandpa, our own mistake, but we got upgraded free of charges. Staff are friendly and helpful, facilities good, gardens lovely, rooms spacious with nice views, pools to our kids’ delight. We enjoyed every moment for the two-night stay and we’ll return. Highly recommended
Reviewed April 28, 2018
you for your very positive review of your brief visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket and for your generous recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you all back for another happy family holiday in the future. Yours sincerely, The Management of Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainmentThank
Responded May 02, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
9.6
Exceptional
Cherng from Malaysia
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Great hotel value for money! ”
A bit old but well maintained.
Reviewed October 09, 2018
Dear Cherng, Thank you for sending us your views on your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope very much to have the pleasure of seeing you back with us in the future. Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket Management
Responded October 10, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
10.0
Exceptional
Matthew from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Superb value”
Great value, great location, great room.
Reviewed August 27, 2018
Dear Matthew, Thank you for your brief comment on your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We are delighted to have given satisfaction and we look forward to seeing you back with us in the future. Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay, Phuket Management
Responded September 10, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
10.0
Exceptional
Kimberly from United States
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
Vacation ”
Awesome place. Would highly recommend. Only complaint is maybe better gym and one bed not two small ones pushed together!
Reviewed December 11, 2018
Dear Kimberly, Thank you for sending us your views on your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope very much to have the pleasure of seeing you back with us in the future. Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket Management
Responded December 13, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
9.6
Exceptional
Jessica from United States
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018
Wedding in Phuket”
We had an absolute wonderful stay. The highlight was the rooftop pool with amazing view and the cleanliness and hospitality while staying.
Reviewed December 11, 2018
Dear Jessica, Thank you for sending us your views on your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope very much to have the pleasure of seeing you back with us in the future. Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket Management
Responded December 13, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
9.2
Exceptional
IAN from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
Great location nice clean room friendly staff We had a great time.”
Nice helpful reception staff good travel advice just perfect. Thanks so much
Reviewed December 03, 2018
Dear IAN, Thank you for your very warm review of your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. It was a pleasure to be of service and we hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket Management
Responded December 07, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
8.4
Excellent
Winnie from New Zealand
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 5 nights in October 2018
Good location”
This hotel is great! The shuttle service up to Cape Panwa Hotel is definitely a plus. Super close to some great restaurants and a 7 Eleven as well.
Reviewed November 30, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
ERNEST from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 7 nights in February 2018
Panwa ole”
Had a great time at the Kantary, thanks to Ning in Reservations. Excellent room, good breakfast and loved the rooftop pool. Possible only downside, the area around the hotel needs more restaurants.
Reviewed February 28, 2018
Dear ERNEST, Thank for telling us about your visit to Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and we will certainly pass on your thanks to Khun Ning. As well as our lovely Café Kantary there is a number of small, private eateries near the hotel and we agree that part of a foreign holiday is the chance to explore local food and local restaurants. There are also the restaurants at our sister property, Cape Panwa Hotel, including the fine-dining ‘Top of the Reef’ restaurant and we offer a free shuttle bus between the two establishments throughout the day. Maybe you will be able to try them on your next visit to us. You will be most welcome. Sincerely yours, Kantary Bay, Phuket Management
Show more
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
10.0
Exceptional
Trevor from Australia
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 7 nights in December 2017
Exceptional”
Kantary Bay Hotel was an excellent stay. We could not fault the staff or the service. Staff were very helpful. Also, having access to the Cape Panwa Resort and the use of all their facilities made to stay more enjoyable. Hotel area very quiet and picturesque right next door to the Phuket Aquarium. Small number of restaurants to eat at with a good selection on the menu. Even a 7/11 mini mart nearby. However, this place is not for the party-goer - too quiet. Great place for families to stay.
Reviewed January 01, 2018
Thank you for your kind and informative review of your stay at Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket and for your recommendation. We are grateful for your compliments to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment. Yours sincerely The management of the Kantary Bay, Phuket
Responded January 04, 2018
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
10.0
Exceptional
Vignesh from India
Family with young children
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Excellent stay”
Pros: Great location with sea view Shops nearby Friendly staff Kitchenette with electric hob, toaster, washing machine, refrigerator, utensils Daily Housekeeping Excellent value for money I was lucky to get a free upgrade to one bedroom studio even though I booked a studio Many varieties at breakfast Cons: None Stood out: Excellent Customer service by the friendly staff
Reviewed April 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Alan from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
A very welcoming hotel with very friendly, helpful and efficient staff. ”
WE have stayed at Cape Panwa previously normally in the sister hotel to Kantary Bay but on this occasion it was full due to a large wedding party. We knew the Kantary Bay hotel as we used facilities there on previous visits as shuttle buses run between the 2 hotels and whichever one you stay at you can use the other's facilities should you wish. On this stay we were upgraded and given our own apartment with our own private entrance (no neighbouring rooms). It had a downstairs bathroom, large entrance hall and bedroom whilst upstairs it had a superb open plan lunge kitchen and dining area complete with all mod cons, including large tv and a washing machine. It also had a marvellous view over the Bay. Our room was kept spotless by the cleaner each day. The hotel had 2 swimming pools so most mornings we were up before breakfast swimming in the rooftop pool. It was quiet and no children used it so we had a lovely peaceful swim and dried off before going to breakfast. The food in the hotel is good. In addition to the free upgrade from room to apartment we were given free drinks, a meal in the Italian restaurant and a free boat trip for a day to an island. We used the facilities at the sister hotel for the beach and sunbathing as their is no beach at Kantary Bay hotel but in some ways I think Kantary Bay is more convenient to stay in as one does not have to worry about going out in the evenings and missing the last shuttle bus up to Cape Panawa hotel. Cape Panawa is not the place to go if you like a lot of razzamataz and a busy night life but if you like more of a village atmosphere you cant go wrong here. There are several eating places if you want to eat out, there is a really interesting Sea Aquarium and a small nightly market.We were sad to leave several reception staff came to wave goodbye to us but I am sure we will stay there again. After we had been home a few weeks it was my husband's birthday and my husband was surprised to find an envelope from Thailand in o
Reviewed February 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kelly from Australia
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016
Amazing stay - couldn't ask for more!”
I just recently stayed at Kantary Bay for 6 nights. I really couldn't say better things about it. The staff were lovely, happy to help with any request, always with a smile and a friendly greeting. Rooms are very clean, very spacious. Amazing value for money. One of the best things about Kantary Bay is that you get to use the full facilities of Cape Panwa Hotel as well. There is a shuttle bus that drives between the two properties every 20minutes however I never had to wait more than 5 for one to come at either hotel. Breakfasts were more than ample, serving a variety of international foods. Only thing I would say is that the Thai Banquet Themed dinner night was quite expensive for what it was and I thought that the dancers were a little repetitive. Could miss this. Otherwise I love this hotel and will definitely come back and stay longer next time. There is even a business centre were you can print travel documents - very handy for solo travellers! 10 out of 10
Reviewed March 31, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Natalie from Canada
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Great value for money!”
Rooms, staff, and little extras
We had a great 3 night stay at the Kantary Bay Hotel! We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The view wasn't as nice as we had anticipated but we still had a large balcony with a partial ocean view (just some dirty rooftops in the way...). Our room was great though. Clean and very large with lots of extras like a full fridge with freezer, microwave and stove top and washing machine. We loved our room! We were impressed by the breakfast buffet- lots of variety and options although the same each day. The restaurants at the hotel were not nice at all. They felt like a hospial cafeteria. The one that was OK was there seafood restaurant which was an outside patio with OK service. The food was really good at that restaurant. This is not a beachfront hotel although it is ocean front. You can catch a free shuttle to their sister hotel 3 minutes away and they have a decent beach. The sand is nice but in the water it is all rocks, not nice to walk out for a swim. Nice calm water though. This hotel has a bit nicer restaurants for the same price. The service at Kantary Bay was the best! The front desk staff were always so friendly and happy and they helped us set up a lot off little extras in Phuket for very cheap. They spoke very good English too! And last but not least, it was our first year anniversary so the staff brought us a nice cake and gave us extra free drink coupons. It was very thoughtful and made us feel welcome! The service here is great and the rooms are big and comfortable. Although not the best beach or location in Phuket, it is quieter than many other beach areas!
Reviewed August 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sandra from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 7 nights in July 2015
Fantastic Hotel + Friendly Staff”
Rooms are great, with lovely balconies
Visited with family who joined me from overseas for family reunion and birthday celebrations. Fantastic welcome, great rooms that were clean, spacious and in excellent condition. Staff could not be more helpful as I decorated my sisters room for her arrival for a birthday surprise. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choices of food, pools or the beach at the sister hotel. Look forward to coming back for a relaxing break with family and friends. Hotel is a little out of the way so if u want night life and shopping this may not be for you.Would highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed July 19, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
PINGCHE from Taiwan
Business traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
good location, good service, but a bit noisy”
room is big, people are nice, and location is good
except there is no beach in front of the hotel, i would say this is a really good one one for business travelers. if you want nice beach view, you probably have to choose cape kantry bay hotel, they belong to the same hotel group, and offer shuttle bus service. i think the most disappointment is that they only have public wifi in the lobby area, no internet in hotel room.
Reviewed December 16, 2014
8.7
Excellent
RACHEL from Singapore
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Enjoyable Stay”
Clean, Spacious, Comfortable
We definitely enjoyed our stay at Kantary! Absolutely loved the breakfast. The staff were all awesome. It was easy to travel around as well because the hotel was able to help us with the transport. *(Only thing was the bathroom could use a little upgrading). All else was great!
Reviewed August 25, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
YURIKO from Japan
Family with young children
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Confortable, real vacationwe could have.”
acess to a sister hotel, breakfirst buffet, nice pools
Second time visit this area, and I choose Kantary Bay Hotel this time, because we have 3 years old child. Room with mini kitchen and patio pool were very helpful. I think it was a nice choice. I am sure that I will repeat Kantary Bay Hotel again and again.
Reviewed May 27, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Kok from Malaysia
Family with young children
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Great get-away hotel. Enjoy 2 great hotels for pri”
Shared facilities with Cape Panwa -- Beach plus great Swimming Pool. Surrounded by great roadside food stalls - cheap & good!! Laen Panwa Restaurant great.
I am totally satisfied. Great Value for money hotel. Location is secluded and "private" - away from it all which is what a HOLIDAY HOTEL should be! Buffet breakfast was well presented and sufficient. Staff was helpful and friendly. Facilities include sister-hotel at Cape Panwa which completes all one would need for a holiday hotel.
Reviewed April 26, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
A great location and super staff.”
The location, the staff, the staff
Originally the 'Bay Hotel', before its purchase by Kantary, its development probably took place over a long period and this results in a somewhat higgledy-piggledy arrangement, but that is part of the charm of the place. If you're looking for 'nightlife' go elsewhere; Cape Panwa is a peaceful antidote to the noise, congestion and pollution of the West Coast resorts. The rooms are perhaps a little dated but are kept very clean. The buffet breakfast has plentiful choices and is similar to that at Cape House Bangkok, though the surroundings are a little less elegant. What makes the place are the staff.... you are greeted wherever you go and nothing was too much trouble. An enjoyable stay at a charming hotel.
Reviewed March 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Emma from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Clean, friendly and peaceful”
Staff, atmopshere & sister hotel facilities
I was staying at the Kantary Bay Hotel for a wedding in nearby Sri Panwa resort. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, the hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The rooms were fairly standard but did the job just fine. The best thing though is that you get free use of the faciltiies at nearby Cape Panwa hotel which are amazing, which makes the Kantary Bay really good value for money. All in all if I hadn't been in the area for a wedding i would say there's not a lot to do in the surrounding area. A couple of restaurants and one bar down the road (which i would thoroughly recommend as the expat owner is great to chat to), but that's pretty much it. Great for a few days or if you want to chill out, but for young solo travellers i would suggest going somewhere with a bit more entertainment!
Reviewed December 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Rachel from Singapore
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Relaxing, quiet getaway”
Near to the beach, great rooftop pool and access to sister hotel's private beach, great staff friendliness
Kantary Bay hotel is great for those looking for a relaxing getaway with the sun, beach and pools. It is located pretty far (50mins) from town, although the hotel provides a shuttle at a fixed timing for 400baht. A small aquarium nearby and the sea right at your doorstep. Most tours will pick you from the hotel so that wont be much of a problem. Friendly and attentive staff. There was a surprise cake for my bf's bday - very thoughtful and plesant surprise. Had a great stay!
Reviewed December 15, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Saksit from Thailand
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
4 star hotel with Private and luxury facilities ”
Huge Room , Private beach , Reasonable Price
Actually Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket was a place to sleep 'n rest if you want to do something else .The Hotel will provide shuttle bus to Cape Panwa Hotel(Operated by the same brand)which is absolutely five star luxury hotel with full facilities , private beach and Historical Building .The hotel is just only 50 metres from Phuket Aquarium!.
Reviewed November 20, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
man from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
peaceful”
nice ,friendly staff , clean
we were upgraded a "1 bedroom" by hotel !the room very comfortable ,clean and tidy! Staff all is friendly ,helpful and nice!the breakfast is so good! we can took a free shuffle to arrive her sister hotel , we were use all the facilities in there. It is so warm to provide a towel in private beach! Anyway ! we will recommend this hotel to my friend!
Reviewed September 20, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Gary from New Zealand
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 9 nights in August 2013
relaxing, quiet place with full range of services”
Quiet, relaxing and lovely room
Quick check in and check out with friendly and helpful staff. Lovely location with the ability to use the facilities of the 5 star sister hotel over the hill. Large room with large bathroom, comfortable bed and lovely view over the water to the outer islands. Enjoyed using the lap pool to get some exercise each day. Buffet breakfast had a good selection of food.
Reviewed August 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Lennart from Sweden
Family with young children
1 Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Easy living”
Rooms, relaxation, self catered if required
Well maintained room, with a self sustained living if you so wish, with a pantry and even a washing machine. Very spacy room with a nice balcony for the evening cocktail, watching the sunset over Andaman sea, and Charlong bay.
Reviewed July 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Calvin from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Good deal on large one bedroom resort”
Partnership with Cape Panwa hotel, one bedroom suite with balcony, quiet location
Nice place to see Aquarium and dine at local places nearby. However, if it wasn't for the Cape Pawara beach--it wouldn't have been that great--for those who like to go to the beach take the 2 min shuttle--worth it!
Reviewed June 22, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Vedat from Turkey
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Perfect room design that makes you feel home”
Perfect room design, friendly staff, nice sister hotel
I stayed in there because of a conference. The room is perfect: it has one bedroom, one living room, american kitchen, and bathroom with both tub and shower. It has even washing machine!. But when you go out from the room, there is nothing much to do. There comes the SISTER HOTEL advantage. Cape Panwa Hotel, owned by the same familily is a few hundred meter away, and there is a free shuttle between them. When you stay any hotel, you can make use of the facilities of the other hotel as well. Cape Panwa hotel has higher standard such as nicer pool, very good private beach etc. Hence you can pay less to this hotel but use the facilities of the sister hotel at the same time.
Reviewed June 04, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 11 nights in March 2013
Comfortable, friendly, efficient.”
Great Location, VERY helpful staff, nice local facilities.
Kantary Bay is down at Cape Panwa - it's relatively quiet here and it's ideal if you're not looking for the party scene. Beachside facilities are shared with Cape Panwa hotel and are really good. Lots to do in the local area - and easy transport to Phuket town, Patong or other attractions when you want them. Don't miss the aquarium 100 metres away.
Reviewed April 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Waizuddin from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
lovely hotel helpful staff with a smile”
Hotel with full of services and private beach
although i booked through kantary bay hotel, i booked a room at their sister hotel, cape panwa. it was cheaper that way. the room at cape panwa was excellent with great view and the hotel has all the services expected. great breakfast also. only complaint i have is that they wanted to charge me for a few pages i requested them to print for me from my computer. it was cheap of them. the hotel is also far from the city and is a good place to relax and vacation.
Reviewed January 14, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
xue from Ireland
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 12 nights in December 2012
Great quiet location with friendly staff”
Friendly, peaceful, next to the sea, access to private beach, quiet, night market, good value, roof top pool
as it was the first time for us to stay at the kantary bay hotel, we did not know what to expect. but our experience has been excellent. the hotel staff were always helpful, friendly and smiling. the location is excellent for a family with an 80 year old mother and two teenage girls. we felt very safe and secure. the easy walk to the seashore was great as we could walk there after dinner and watch people fishing. the roof top pool has a stunning view. the private beach from the sister hotel is beautiful. we also had a fantastic new year's eve party. my family wants to go back to the hotel next year.
Reviewed January 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Gustavo from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Secluded, peaceful and well maintained ”
Private beach, tranquility, breakfast, pool, room quality
We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I would recommend it for folks looking for peace and quiet. The private beach is a definite winner! The only drawback was the wifi, which required payment and was limited to a single device per log in. Service was good although English proficiency was inconsistent. Great time, would come again,
Reviewed January 08, 2013
5.0
Chayanee from Thailand
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Not as good as i expected”
The room is huge, microwave and washing machine is available in roon
the room itself is okay. kinda huge with all the facilities. there is no sea view at all. there are no variety for breakfast. the restaurant was so small, crowded with all the tourists and the foods were immediatly gone.
Reviewed November 05, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Stephen from United States
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Great hotel with very friendly staff”
staff very friendly, amazing value
we had a great stay at kantary bay - the next time that i'm in phuket i will definitely book my stay here. i felt that the value for the money was exceptional here, plus the staff was very friendly. they have many places to eat on their premises, and there are a couple of thai restaurants near there as well. plus, you get access to the beach at cape panwe and their resort facilities there.
Reviewed October 31, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Narendra from India
Family with young children
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Nice hotel Value for Money”
Rooms, Staff and pricing
It's bit far from the airport and city. Staff are friendly and helpful, you can share the facilities with their sister Hotel for Gym and Sauna, stay was great. They upgraded us to a single bedroom. Food is ok there are good places nearby for food There is a aquaruium near by
Reviewed September 19, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
ussana from Thailand
Group
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
very friendly staff,feel liked home.”
the hotel is near cape panwa and also you can use cape panwa hotel facilities
we spent 2 nights here and it s pretty awesome we love this hotel.Even it was called as studio but you might feel like living in condomenium. it s spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and you can use Cape Panwa hotel facilities by taking shuttle bus from here to there strating from 6.00 am til 9.00 pm. My suggestion you should have the car because the hotel location is far from airport and the town.
Reviewed September 05, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Lerson from Thailand
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Lovely and politely staff, Great room function”
Neat, clean, and big room with complete function like your own condonimium
very happy to rest there, 1st impressed with welcome drink by glass of wine instead of fruit juice!!, room quite big with complete all functions and facilities like own home condominium, there is washing machine!!, microwave, big refrige, etc in room which quite hard to find from other hotels. staff was very polite, same service standard of 4-5stars hotel. this hotel located closed to beach which cannot play due to road, rock, and cliff but they allow and invited to use facilities of their sister hotel (cape punwa, 5stars)with just 5min. away by their shuttle service which can swim or play at beautiful white sand private beach. only one things should be improve is breakfast (free intl. buffet) which less variety and not quite good taste, anyway, they have wide viriety of other resteraunts in both hotels. stay there was very valuable for money, i m sure i will be back there again.
Reviewed September 04, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Catherine from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great hotel, great staff”
Absolute bargain, lovely views, fabulous staff, great breaky and free shuttle to cape Panwa hotel!
The staff were terrific. The room very spacious with a lovely view and the fact that you could use the facilities of cape Panwa hotel including the lovely private beach via the free shuttle bus made it great. Cape Panwa is a lovely place to stay if you want peace a quiet and beautiful scenery.
Reviewed July 22, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Wolfram from Germany
Family with young children
1 Bedroom
Stayed 23 nights in June 2012
Value for money and linked to a 5 star neighbour”
Easy going relaxed with all ammenities
this is my second stay (3 weeks)and i love to come back here. this is a nice hotel and the apartment has all facilities incl kitchen and washing machine. the main sales point is that it is linked to the cape panwa 5star next door (500 m with regular hotel transport service)which has a private beach where you don't get bothered by the usual thai beach chaos
Reviewed July 18, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
James from Malaysia
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Well maintained hotel with very friendly staff”
The hotel is clean and comfortable. A big plus is that you get to use the facilities of the sister hotel.
the hotel is well maintained. though the building is not the newest around, it is clean, cozy, charming and very comfortable. the staff are extremely friendly and ever ready to help. you get to use the facilities of the sister hotel, cape panwa which is just short distance away via a shuttle bus. the location is ideal for us - away from the touristy, hustle and bustle of the major hotel strips. yet not too far away for the occasional shopping and restaurants trips. a great value for money.
Reviewed June 19, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Courtney from United States
Group
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Great hotel, friendly staff.”
Spacious rooms, and ability to use sister hotel Cape Panwa's ammenities.
We absolutley loved our stay here. The hotel staff was amazing and very helpful with any of our needs. Our room was very spacious and comfy, even inluded a small living room and kitchen which was great. Loved the roof top pool and the view of the ocean. Was added bonus being able to use Kantary Bay's sister hotel Cape Panwa's amenities. Their private beach was absolultely beautiful. They provide a shuttle to a from the hotels every 15 mins which was very convenient. Only downfall was that the hotel is located 20-25 mins from the popular Kata Beach and Patong Beach in Phuket. But otherwise loved out 3 nights stay here.
Reviewed May 17, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Maay from Singapore
Family with teens
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011
Friendly & Helpful Staff”
Best rate one can find
Value for money. Rooms were big, comfortable and fully furnished with pantry. Swimming pool was conveniently located. Staff helped with luggage on both check-in and check-out. Staff gave directions to driver and recommended good eating places. Shuttle bus that connects to sister hotel made beach access and facilities more convenient. Check-out was hassle free.
Reviewed December 28, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Noppanong from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Good service”
Location
Hotel staffs were helpful with welcoming smiles. All requests were prompt responded. Free wifi. Amenities were available. Nice balcony view across from pool. Everything is good except the bathroom was a bit stuffy. Also during my stay there was noisy by the pool and once i complained. Staff immediately apologized and managed the mess very nicely. I was pleased.
Reviewed December 09, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Athanasios from Greece
Family with young children
Stayed 9 nights in July 2011
Nice and quite hotel. Very good service. ”
Quite. Clean and comfortable suite.
shame there is no beach just outside. but the nearby cape panwa is very nice although getting into the water is difficult because of shallow rocks. service at the hotel was very good. my daughter had a small accident. this was attended by the manager and by competent staff. a car was arranged to a nearby hospital which was excellent. access to the nearby cape panwa is always available. cape panwa offers good facilities with very good food and swimming pool. near kantary bay hotel there are some good restaurants and the sunset bar which is very good and friendly. all in all a good relaxing holiday.
Reviewed July 31, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Sandra from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in June 2011
Lovely hotel!”
Location, friendly staff, excellent facilities, great breakfasts, very neat a clean, great attention to detail
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and were upgraded to a 1 bedroomed suite because we stayed longer than 3 nights. Although it is off the beaten track, it offers a quiet and relaxed option in Phuket. The shuttle service to the sister hotel is wonderful as the beach and facilities at Cape Panwa are amazing! Unfortunately, the taxi services and bike rentals outside the hotel are very expensive - it is worth a 1 km walk up the road to find cheaper options. The local bus is a cheap option to catch a ride to Phuket Town and further afield as the hotel shuttle prices are geared towards the more wealthy traveller. Breakfasts were a highlight and the staff went out of their way to provide fabulopus service. We'll definitely return!
Reviewed July 15, 2011
7.0
Very good
CHANDRANATHAN from India
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in June 2011
good & comfortable hotel”
good sea view
this phuket hotel, compared to kantarybay groups' standard in kabinburi/rayong, it is not up to that level. staff is very courteous and smiley.we had stayed their for four nights ,we had enjoyed the location,an aquarium near by and u can use the facilities of the cape panwa,which also belongs to the same group for a nominal fee
Reviewed June 28, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Duangmontree from Thailand
Group
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011
service”
good service
the hotel is calm ,beautiful and charming. the room is very modern with free snack ,tv ,microwave and pot. but restroom is bad ventilation. the staff are service mind .the staff take care thai people as well as foreign. there are sister hotel named cape panwa that you can use facility for free of charge. breakfast is buffet american breakfast the taste is so so.
Reviewed May 07, 2011
8.7
Excellent
thomas from United Kingdom
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 16 nights in April 2011
Wonderful Place Wonderful People”
Spacious rooms,tranquil location
The Kantary Bay hotel is a wonderful place to stay,its rooms are spacious and very well equipped. All the staff are polite and helpful,the restaurants have excellent food and are good value for money. In the surrounding area there are 3 restraunt/bars that are also good value for money. The beach at the sister hotel is excellent as are the hotel facilities and there is a regular shuttle bus which takes only 2 minutes,this is needed due to the hill between the hotels. We had agreat time.
Reviewed May 05, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Emma from Australia
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2011
Fantastic Staff, Loved this Hotel.”
This hotel is owned by a 5 star Hotel up over the hill. I had a great (upgraded room) at a good price and full use of the facilities at both hotels.
if you want to feel spoilt and totally relaxed come to kantary bay where you get to enjoy the facilities of two hotels. kantary bay has a jetty and boardwalk and cape panwa hotel has a beautiful secluded beach with huge tropical palm trees and postcard perfect ocean views. buffet breakfast was 5 star and the complimentary drink in cape panwa's otter bar made me feel like a movie star. i love these two hotels! thank you for being able to pay a good price, being upgraded and able to be spoilt by both hotels. i loved it! i want to come back!
Reviewed April 28, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
1 Bedroom”
very beautiful hotel and helpful staff. the room comfortable. nice view of chalong bay
kitchenette good size with all amenities. has small refridgerator with nothing in it except water. however, there is a mini market at the foot of hotel with pretty much whatever you need, but no fresh fruit and veggies are frozen. very close to phuket aquarium. take the free shuttle to their sister hotel on other side. worth the trip
Reviewed April 24, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Nina from Germany
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010
nice, clean, quiet hotel with very friendly staff”
clean, quiet, free internet, swimmingpool, private beach access, big rooms with kitchen
far away from everything, breakfest was too european/american and to less thai
we stayed there for 5 nights and really enjoyed it! the room was big and had all facilities to make hot/cold drinks and small warm food. it was very quiet - a perfect place for just relaxing. staff was always very friendly, helpful and speaks good englisch. nice swimmingpool at the rooftop with good view.
Reviewed December 25, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Martin from Canada
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom
Stayed 7 nights in December 2010
Great location, great service, excellent pricing”
Location, pricing, services, amenities (pool, restaurants, mini-gym), quality of rooms, quality of staff
If you plan to watch TV in the evening, bring some DVDs, the channel selections are limited.
This is a great hotel for the traveller who wants to be on Phuket without staying in Patong or Kata, which are fun but hectic and crowded. (Both are easily accessible by cab or motorbike, as are the other attractions of the island.) I had a lovely big one-bedroom suite on the 5th floor with a spectacular sea-view, a huge balcony, kitchenette and sitting room. There was even a little whirlpool clothes washer (very modern) in a corner of the balcony, so if you bring kids and need to wash beachwear and diapers etc, you can do this yourself. (I used the hotel laundry service.) Desk and room service is prompt, helpful and friendly. There is a beautiful swimming beach a two-minute shuttle or 10 minute walk away. The breakfast buffet is excellent - being Canadian,
Reviewed December 14, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Michelle from Australia
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in October 2010
Lovely hotel, beautiful staff meticolously clean”
relaxing hotel, friendly helpful staff, shuttle service into Phuket Town, Patong and central festival
nothing
Beautiful hotel, great Thai restaurant next door, free shuttle to Cape Panwa Hotel and free use of their facilities which are gorgeous. Free wifi at both Kantary and Cape Panwa in the public areas. Nice beach at Cape Panwa, great restaurant at Panwa 'Cafe Andaman'. Lovely pool at Kantary Bay. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the staff are really friendly and very helpful. Great service. Highly recommend for those looking for a good hotel at a great price. It's worth noting that there is a lot of construction occuring at Cape Panwa that continues in the evening so I would recommend staying at Kantary and using the free shuttle that runs constantly to access the facilities at Cape Panwa unless you are determined to stay in a five star hotel which Kantary is not. I'd say it is about a 3.5-4 star however the service is definitely 5 star service.
Reviewed October 15, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
FENG from Taiwan
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010
We all like the environment of Kantary Bay hotel”
The facility of swimming pool near beach and roof-top one.
Such like the commend of residences who came to Kantary Bay Hotel. The facility of swimming pool near beach and roof-top one attracted us to come again. The sister hotel is 4-star hotel, called "Panwa Cape Hotel", absoulutly has a lot of facilities. Such as fitting room, privite beach. As a result, I will come back again.
Reviewed October 14, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
John from Ireland
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in September 2010
great location”
private beach
to many stairs
i would recommend this hotel and location because of its natural beauty,and private beach ,the staff are very helpful.the food is is of a very high standard.i would like to go back there again,next year hopefully.
Reviewed September 24, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Wai from Macau
Family with young children
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010
Stay one hotel and enjoy two hotels' facilities”
Stay one hotel and enjoy two hotels' facilities, has private beach, swimming pools, next to ocean park
need a taxi or car to phuket town.
I stayed at this hotel for 3 days, it has a sea view swimming pool and provide shuttle bus to its sister hotel every ten minutes. Its sister hotel is more beautiful than this hotel but the price is a little higher for the room rate, so it is worth to stay at this hotel and enjoy the facilities at its sister hotel such as private beach, two swimming pools.
Reviewed August 16, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
marilyn from United Kingdom
Group
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
Kantary Bay”
Friendly helpful staff
None
A very good location for us, very quiet. If you want a night life it is not good, unless you have a car. The studio room was excellent, breakfast was great, a good variety of Thai and Western food. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed April 01, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Man from China
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2010
Budget hotel”
Great view
Balcony and fitness room are too small
After exciting lifes in Patony, it is highly recommended to pick a quiet hotel and enjoy another kind of life in Puhket. Kantary hotel which located in the Cape Panwa is good for budget tourist. The view is beautiful and surroundings are attractive. However, the balcony is too small where you could not enjoy very much.
Reviewed February 23, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Leland from United States
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 6 nights in January 2010
Ahhhh.”
Beautiful views, comfortable quiet facilities, warm and friendly staff, handy stores for shopping and personal wants/needs.
First room: old mattress, DVD unworkable, bad view, without balcony (advertised), no vegetarian entrees in local restaurants at hotel.
I made reservations at the Kantary Bay Hotel because of the advertisement saying "quiet" and I ws not disappointed. I only used my earplugs once and that was an afternoon nap during maintenance noise. The staff at Kantary Bay are wonderfully refreshing, all very friendly, thorough and professional. The facility is comfortably fashioned, pleasant to the eye and touch. That being said, my first night was in a too-soft bed(old mattress), but that might be my own personal need speaking. But the reception staff moved me to a better place with a firm bed, and I must admit, a much better view of the Andaman Sea. If I had any need and spoke it, it was taken care of immediately with complete satisfaction. Sunsets in the west were fantastic from my personal window view and from the rooftop pool area overlooking the beautiful Andaman sea and islands Access to nearby Cape Panwa Hotel facilities were also a plus, with free shuttles every 20 minutes, which has it's own private beach, beautiful pool, free scuba lessons in their pool twice weekly for beginners, and a reservation desk for snorkel/scuba/elephant tours and other Phuket activities. On the negative side, no vegetarian entrees at restaurants- had to go around corner to find a nice Indian eatery, which was recommended not by staff, but by a fellow consumer at the hotel. On the bright side, I was given free breakfast buffet tickets which did have a fried rice dish, sauteed potatoes, cheeses, and salad/fruit offerings that this vegetarian (lacto) found quite satisfying for beginning my days. Overall, I will return there again and would recommend it to anyone who is not into the party scene life and wants a quiet yet very comfortable friendly place to stay. Thumbs Up!
Reviewed February 05, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Joanna from Singapore
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2009
An Undervalued Gem”
+ there's a rustic feel to the resort. Simple and yet not under-furnished + affordable + free use of facilities at its pricier sister resort + private and well maintained beach, no annoying touting activities + Quiet area, which is perfect for resting + the family restaurant right outside the hotel sells reasonably priced local food, Good variety and authentic.
-- far from the main activity hub, Patong. Perhaps a pro for me as I wanted a peaceful place. - expensive food in the hotel. But of course you can always visit the family restaurant right outside. - expensive if you want to travel to any part of Phuket. You can't flag down a cab from the area as none will usually be seen in that area. Hire a vehicle or be prepare to pay for hotel's transport.
I'm coming back again, there is no doubt about it. This place is value for money, you pay for the privacy and peace. I was hoping that they can have some form of loyalty programme just like cape panwa hotel.
Reviewed January 20, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Scott from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2009
Perfect room, very helpful and freindly staff ”
Room, staff, location and the use of the facilities at the sister hotel
Cost of getting back to the hotel if you are not patr of a group.
My wife and I only stayed a few days at this hotel but found it the prefect spot to stay at after out long haul flight from the UK. We were upgraded to a larger room for free and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We would definately recommend it to our freinds and family and will hopefully be back ourselves one day. The fact that we were also able to use the facilities of the neighboring hotel was also an added bonus. Thanks for the hospitalty - oh and by the way - great breakfast as well.
Reviewed November 02, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2008
My little corner of paradise.”
One of the Bay Inn's main attractions for me is its location - as far away from Patong as possible, but close enough for the occasional visit by those seeking night-life. It is an oasis of peace and tranquility - my idea of a really relaxing holiday. The staff are particularly pleasant and helpful, with good memories too - some even remembered me after an absence of 11 years!
No real drawbacks for me. However, as a long-term resident in S.E. Asia, I have learned to accept the vagaries of climate, insects, dodgy plumbing and electrics etc that seem to give rise to most of the complaints from occasional visitors to this part of the world. Keep an open mind and accept it as it comes. Plenty of time for fish and chips, warm beer and tacky newspapers when you get back to the UK.
The Bay Inn is ideal for families and elder people who would find the night scene at Patong/Kata/Karon a little unsavoury. It is an ideal location for those wishing to get away from the hustle and bustle of urban living for a few days, providing a superb beach, a variety of excellent restaurants and bars and the tranquility in which to enjoy them. The old Thai House restaurant on the beach provides a romantic setting for the young at heart, followed by drinks and live music at the Lighthouse pub. Although not absolutely essential, a hire car makes it easier to visit some of those secluded beaches and other ares of interest not readily accessible by public transport, such as it is. A must or me, is always a visit to The Green Man pub at Chalong - a quaint mock-Tudor edifice set in the middle of a field. Great band too, with a singer to die for!
Reviewed December 09, 2008