Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
Beach Hut Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
Beach Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
Beach Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
See all 35 photos
Removed from saved list
5.0
Review score
/10
(23 reviews)See what guests said
See map
6.1
Good
Location rating score
Parking
FREE
  • Sasa Ferry Terminal2.43 km
  • Samal Ferry Terminal3.12 km
  • Francisco Bangoy International Airport4.41 km
  • Samal Island4.82 km
  • Seamans Hospital6.56 km
  • SM Lanang Premier6.93 km
  • Lanang Country Club6.98 km
  • Robinson Cybergate7.56 km
  • Davao Medical Center8.06 km
  • Southern Philippines Medical Center8.06 km
  • Kara Kubotel Beach Resort

    Sunset Beach, Circumferential Road, Babak, Samal Island, Babak District - Samal Island, Davao City, Philippines, 8120 - See map
    "The owner is friendly and accommodating."
    Chauncey - April 2, 2018
    • Private beach

    • Breakfast [free]

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    • Nightclub

    This property is in high demand!

    Last booked 12 hours ago

    Property ranking|Compared to 809 Davao City properties
    See all rankings
    Cheapest price score
    Room size
    19 sqm.
    Location score
    6.1/10
    Service score
    5.6/10
    Better than
    98
    %
    of Davao City properties
    Bigger than
    90
    %
    of Davao City properties
    Better than
    81
    %
    of Davao City properties
    Better than
    81
    %
    of Davao City properties
    Value for money4.9
    Location rating6.1
    Nearest airportFrancisco Bangoy International Airport (DVO)
    Distance to airport4.4 km

    Rooms available at Kara Kubotel Beach Resort

    Single Deluxe Double Bed
    Single Deluxe Double Bed
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Courtyard view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Treehouse
    Treehouse
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    • Beach view
    • 2 futons
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bahay Kubo
    Bahay Kubo
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • Courtyard view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Beach Hut
    Beach Hut
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Family Chalet
    Family Chalet
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Courtyard view
    • 1 double bed or 1 single be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Cabanas
    Cabanas
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • Courtyard view
    Enter dates to see prices
    Family Beachfront Cottage
    Family Beachfront Cottage
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Beach view
    • 2 single beds or 1 single b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Kara Kubotel Beach Resort

    More about Kara Kubotel Beach Resort

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Kara Kubotel Beach Resort from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (23)
    5.0
    /
    10
    Review score
    Cleanliness4.2
    Facilities4.4
    Location6.1
    Service5.6
    Value for money4.9
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (0)
    8-9 Excellent (0)
    7-8 Very Good (2)
    6-7 Good (1)
    <6 Below Expectation (12)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (7)
    Jun - Aug (2)
    Sep - Nov (3)
    Dec - Feb (3)
    All languages
    All guests (23)
    All room types
    Showing 15 verified guest comments
    2.8
    anthony from United Kingdom
    Family with young children
    Family Beachfront Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    SHOCKING”

    Expectation vs reality. The room is not the same as the photo. We upgraded to standard kubo room but the bed has many insects. We got bites. Owner charged us too much when we refilled our bottles water. 50php. and charging for the coffee tea on the bill, beach not nice, NEVER GO AGAIN, AVOID THIS PLACE. AWFUL.

    Reviewed May 29, 2019
    4.8
    Margil from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Family Beachfront Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Acceptable”

    If your a beach Guy, this place is not for you.

    Reviewed May 13, 2019
    3.6
    Merylyn from Philippines
    Group
    Treehouse
    Stayed 1 night in April 2019

    It was unfinished building and dirty. The karaoke went on till 11pm.”

    Unfinished accommodation,dirty and the karaoke was very loud up untill 11pm.

    Reviewed April 23, 2019
    6.0
    Zbigniew from Philippines
    Couple
    Family Beachfront Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Nice camping”

    This place is NOT a "hotel," and even less "a resort." Think of it as a nice camping place by the beach, where instead of sleeping on the sand, you get a nice bench, a mattress and some covers. And you got your own bungalow. And no, not for three or four people, but only for two. But the staff are pretty nice. So, as long as you keep your expectations low, think of the place as "adventurous", you may enjoy it for those few dollars.

    Reviewed April 09, 2019
    3.6
    Dorotea from Philippines
    Family with teens
    Family Chalet
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019

    Acceptable”

    If you want a place to relax do not come here because the main guests of the kubo are the cockroaches. Good thing i bring baygon with me wherever i go because i have children..........so i was able to kill those cockroaches. My goodness, there were babies too. We were four and there was a double bed and a single mattress on the floor. We decided to sleep on one bed because I didn’t want those roaches crawling on us. We slept sideways and i felt bad for my eldest son who is taller than me. Our legs were hanging. I wasn’t able to sleep and decided to drive away from that place as early as 4:30 am. We did not mind losing two free breakfast at all. One of my sons actually wanted to spend the night in the car. The bathroom inside our kubo was also so stinky. The place is not clean so as the ocean and has pointy little rocks. We didn’t even get our feet wet........it was a waste of money. Go somewhere else.

    Reviewed January 11, 2019
    2.0
    Kirstein from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Family Beachfront Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Very Bad!!!”

    I will not recommend this place for a family outing. Place is full of bar, very noisy, place is not conducive for young children, place is not worth it, there a no staffs, not good!!! I will not recommend this place. Also, the beach is not good for swimming.

    Reviewed December 26, 2018
    2.4
    PRINCESS from Philippines
    Couple
    Beach Hut
    Stayed 1 night in October 2018

    WARNING : PLEASE READ”

    SORRY OWNER BUT YOUR RESORT IS NOT WORTHY FOR 4 STAR . It's really different from the Reality ... 'VERY DIRTY BEACH with plastics & cellophane everywhere 'NOISY PLACE FROM KARAOKE until 2am 'WATER is not consistently flowing 'STAFF ARE NOT ACCOMODATING they prefer to watch tv than to address your concern. and WARNING please take care of your stuff from the stealers. A lot of people in and out in that place. Thank you for reading. PS. i hope the management do something for the betterment of this place .

    Reviewed October 29, 2018

    Hi Princess, Thank you for your comments, indeed there is plenty of room for improvement and we always do our best to meet customer expectations. However there are some things in this resort that is beyond us. The beach may look a bit dirty at times but rest assured that the management of Sunset Beach (the owner of the entire beach) is addressing this and in fact there are people doing beach clean up regularly. Biut there are times esp on bad weather that the shoreline is awash with trash as floods in the mountains end up here. Yes water is a bugging problem as salty water in deepwell is a big challenge despite addressing this as a serious problem. And rest assured that we take note of your comment re our staff. Salamat po for your time spent with us and again we apologize for the inconvenience. God bless. Kara

    Responded November 13, 2018
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    5.6
    Mediatrix from Philippines
    Group
    Beach Hut
    Stayed 1 night in September 2018

    . ”

    Good points - Cheap. Booked beach hut for 751 for 2pax. It includes free breakfast for two. - simple accommodation. - Kung hindi ka maarte. Pwede na. Bad points. - May time na walang tubig kasi walang tubig sa tangke. So we waited for some time to be able to take a shower.

    Reviewed September 24, 2018

    Thank you Mediatrix, We hope to accommodate you next time with a better water system. Salamat po sa pagtangkilik. God bless. Kara

    Responded November 13, 2018
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    4.8
    Sascha from Philippines
    Group
    Beach Hut
    Stayed 1 night in June 2018

    Disappointed ”

    I book in two parts, my luck so I get at least 2 time breakfast. If you book couple days in a row, you get just on the first day breakfast. Simple cottage have no bed things unlike on the photo. If you are lucky you can rent some stuff, but they had nothing. Good for 4 adults is in the offer, not true, we send couple friends back at home, was not enough space in this little bed. Staff is incompetent, they can’t help you. No security. No karaoke. No any things what is in the offer. Don’t go there, you waste time, money and you loose your joy. Never go on the weekend, people from outside made ther party and the staff don’t care about even when you tell it do the staff. Thanks to Agoda for solve this problem in a simple way.

    Reviewed June 19, 2018

    Hi Sacha, We are sorry that you were disappointed. We always take time to advise our guest to double check their room reservations as we have open and close rooms and in this case you booked an open cottage which costs P700/night inclusive of breakfast for 2. There are 2 big single beds in this room cottage which accommodates 2 in each bed so we assume 4 can fit in as per previous experience. Please note that apart gate security, we also pay extra during weekends for added task force personnel to ensure premises is free from rowdy people. But yes, this area is sometimes crazy on weekends as it seems all want to party all night long and our staff cant do something about that if the band next door is loud or karaoke singing is till the wee hours. We did advise our bookers that this place may get noisy on weekends but quiet on weekdays, so they may choose for the best time to come. Our staff is continously learning from your feedback so keep it coming. Thanks and God bless. Kara

    Show more
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    4.8
    Sascha from Philippines
    Group
    Beach Hut
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

    Never a 4 star resort ...I’m 4 star disappointed ”

    ..not even a resort. I saw the offer in Agoda simple house with complet bed, breakfast for two, good for 4 adults, of this I choose it. I book for 3 nights, one night I book 3 units because I invite 10 friends who want stay over night. Ok, this was not possible, because the bed was too small, so 6 of my friends have to sleep on a other place. The units come not with any bedsheet or pillow, this you have to rent if available. We was unlucky, no pillow available and just one foam, which was so thin, you just waste the money. If you book 3days ore more, you get just on the first day breakfast. The “resort” have no gate no security, everybody can come in. In the night a lot of people who was not from this resort made a party and occupy for free a cottage! Also they robbery us, so be sure you have a travel insurance who cover stolen things.the staff is too young and just lazy. After all this I contact Agoda, I’m really happy about the customer service who solve this problem in a simple way.

    Reviewed June 19, 2018

    HI Sacha, As mentioned in your previous feedbacks, you booked an open cottage costing only P700/night which includes a breakfast for 2. So theres not really much to expect from that room. We have other rooms if you wanted more privacy, like our family room which costs p2500/night inclusive of breakfast and all beddings and towels plus the amenity of a TV, private toilet and bath and fully airconditioned and of course a closed room (not an open room like in the cottage that you chose to book). There were many room options for you to choose from upon booking, just choose the right ones suitable for you na lang po if you expect better amenities. We are also glad that Agoda helped did its part. God bless. Kara

    Responded November 13, 2018
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    6.8
    Good
    Peter from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Beach Hut
    Stayed 1 night in May 2018

    Not good connectiom”

    Wifi sometimes not working & less choices for its service especially food & drink

    Reviewed June 02, 2018

    Hi Peter, We now have a full time Bar operating in the beachfront so hopefully we can be of better service next time you come back. Wifi is a nagging problem so we provided another provider. Thanks for your patience. God bless. Kara

    Responded November 13, 2018
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    8.0
    Excellent
    John from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Single Deluxe Double Bed
    Stayed 1 night in May 2018

    accesible”

    affordable

    Reviewed May 28, 2018

    hi John, Truly appreciate your kind words and thank you so much for taking time to review. Hope to have you back inn the near future. God bless. Kara

    Responded November 13, 2018
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    7.2
    Very good
    Chauncey from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Beach Hut
    Stayed 1 night in March 2018

    SimpleIsland life”

    If you are looking for luxury. Don’tcone Here. This is a quaint little place. The owner is friendly and accommodating. We rent the beach huts. Outside near the seashore. Bamboo beds with mats. Breakfast is good. The bar was right there and small store. CR? Basic Filipino style. The only downfall is this place is located between 2 resorts that blast their music ear deafening until late late night with no consideration to hotel guests sleeping. The owners are nice. It’s basic filipino style island living.

    Reviewed April 02, 2018

    Hi Chauncey, Appreciate your feedback and will endeavor to correct the issues brought by you and the others. Thanks much for pointing out some details. God bless y our family. Kara

    Responded November 13, 2018
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    2.0
    aileen from Philippines
    Couple
    Family Chalet
    Stayed 1 night in December 2017

    A very big disappointment!”

    Agoda should not include this place (I would not call this a resort coz it's not) to its list of recommended hotels.First, Kubotel's owner is not honest with its claims here in Agoda especially with the Beachfront huts. There is no beachfront hut.Kubotel's huts are not facing the beach.They are facing another building of another owner. Kubotel does not own the beach exclusively. It is just one of the tenants of the beach property.So,if you go to the beach,you will see the clusters of huts,small buildings,small restaurants which are owned by different owners. Worse, the room which I paid thru Agoda was given to another customer.So,upon arrival,I was shocked to know that I don't have a room.Luckily,I was able to book a room from another hotel.The employees told me that this is what the owner always do.Most of the customers would leave Kubotel grumbling. What a modus operandi!

    Reviewed December 29, 2017

    Dear Aileen, We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to give better service next time. But let me please answer some of your points above. First regarding beachfront huts, your room has specific written description that it has a courtyard view not a seafront view. Please note that Kubotel and all other resorts and restaurants in whole of 1km Sunset Beach is a beachfront property. But that doesnt mean that all rooms are within arms reach of the beach, it may be at the back like in Kubotel area which stretched from the beachline up to the road in that matter, so therefore we call it all a beachfront property po. Our Treehouse and other cottages are located right within the beachline( around 10steps away). Secondly, our staff moved you to another more expensive room in our neighboring hotel without asking you to pay more (we paid the difference) thats what we all do here if in case we have double bookings which happened sometimes. Tao lang nagkakamali din. Salamat po, Kara

    Show more
    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    2.0
    Ingo from Germany
    Couple
    Cabanas
    Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

    WARNUNG VOR DIESEM HOTEL”

    Kein Strom Kein Licht Keine Toilette Kein Wasser Keine Abfallbehälter Keine Sauberkeit Kein Frühstück, obwohl wir für 2 x Frühstück bezahlt haben. Sa schlimmste was wir je erlebt haben. NIE WIEDER !!!

    Reviewed September 17, 2018
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Kara Kubotel Beach Resort
    |Review score 5.0
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • SM Lanang Premier