Excellent 8.2
Based on 1318 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1318 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food and dining 7.6
Sort by

Sigrid from France
Couple
Superior Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2010
A good hotel but nothing special
clean, good facilities, good location
breakfast average, rooms a bit dark
The hotel is quite close to the beach. The staff is friendly except for the lady that greeted us on arrival. The facilities are good. The balcony is enjoyable. The breakfast is ok, not very good quality. The rooms face the swimming pool and are pretty dark. I would not personally choose this hotel again, but I guess it was a good value for money.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Michael from Canada
Couple
Superior Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
Great Resort
Great pool area! Food was good. Close to other restaurants and 7-11.
Staff were slow and service not great (typical of asia). Bathroom tiles need a good scrubbing.
We stayed here over a week and were conviced we made the right choice! Price is right for amenities and room. The room was clean although bathroom tiles were very dirty and needed a good scrubbing. Bed was comfortable. The best part about this resort is the pool area- better than any other we've been to. We could easily over-look some of the minor flaws in favour of using such a great pool! Service was poor- staff were slow and trying to get a menu or the bill was like pulling teeth. This type of service is typical of most places we've stayed at so not exclusive of this resort. Breakfast was enjoyable with western and Thai food to choose from. It was one of the better buffet breakfasts we've had throughout our travels in asia. Close proximity to beach. We're really baffled as to why this hotel had negative comments about this issue because it is literally a 5 min walk or less. The hotel also offers free shuttle. You have to walk left out of the hotel to get to Kata beach but we did notice some other guests walking to the right which is probably a half hour or more walk to Karon beach. We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Great for couples or families!
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Michael from Canada
Couple
Superior Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
Awesome Pool!!!!!
pool area, resort facilities, food, hotel decor, close proximity to beach
staff are slow and service is poor (as with most other areas in asia). The bathroom tiles could use a good scrubbing.
Kata Palm has a fantastic pool area that puts it head and shoulders above other hotels in the same price range. The pool area alone makes this resort well worth staying at. As well, the resort is within close proximity to the beach and does have a shuttle that runs a couple times per day for those who do not want to walk. They are literally 400m from the beach but you have to walk approx 5 min. left or right down the road when leaving the hotel to access the beach as there is a concrete wall that separates the road from the beach. The rooms were spacious enough and the decor was in Thai style. There is a good mix of western and Thai food at the restaurants on site and food was far better than other places we've stayed in asia. We thought the breakfast buffet was wonderful- again serving Thai and western food and it was changed on a daily basis. For those who complain about the breakfast buffet obviously haven't seen other breakfast buffet's in asia because this hotel has one of the best. It's true that the staff are slow and service is sub-standard compared to North America, but this is the case throughout asia. Our only other complaint was that even though most of the room and resort was clean, the tiles in the shower were noticeably caked with dirt and needed a good scrubbing. However, this is easily overlooked in favour of the other amenities and features of the resort.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Grant from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed one night in May 2010
A little piece of paradise
the pool, so close to the beach, food and shopping
we couldn't stay any longer! the hotel facilities are getting a little tired.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this resort... we love the pool so much that we insist on staying in the pool access room... the ability to lounge on the outdoor chairs and simply step into the pool is a bonus for us
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Grant from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
A little piece of paradise
the pool, close to the shops, restaurants and the beach. Very family friendly place
the restaurant food was expensive, so we ate at the other restaurants
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this resort... we love the pool so much that we insist on staying in the pool access room... the ability to lounge on the outdoor chairs and simply step into the pool is a bonus for us
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Brett from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
nice resort
lovely pool, beautifully appointed rooms, good location
staff service is a bit poor, not enough seats on the beach or around the pool.
we stayed at kata plams for five nights in the low season. room was beautiful and we got it cheaper as the receptionist told us it was better to book on the net than take the rack rate when we arrived without a booking. room was very nice, clean and large as was the pool. sadly there is nowhere near enough seating around the pool or at the beach. staff service is also either very good (as above) or extremely poor: we ordered a cab to take us to the airport at 7am through the hotel, it finally arrived at 7.30.
Reviewed June 08, 2010

Sharon from New Zealand
Family with older children
Stayed 7 nights in March 2009
Lovely Resort
Free tickets for the beach chairs down on one of the best beaches in Phuket!
Not much to say really.... no one complained (for once)
The pool was brilliant, the breakfast was varied and the staff were very helpful. A bit pricey but if you have a family it is well worth it - the food prices were no more expensive than anywhere else so unless you wanted to venture out you really didn't need to
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Sharon from New Zealand
Family with older children
Stayed 7 nights in March 2009
Great Resort
Everything you need for a stay
A bit of patience with the reception staff, they are trying to help and we can't all speak Thai, so don't expect them to speak perfect english
You have everything you want at the resort and really don't need to go anywhere if you don't want to, although not to venture out would be a shame, especially since they do give you free deck chairs down on the beach!! They even provide a free bus service to and from the beach, so you don't have to walk if you don't want to. The food is very good and the buffet dinners are well worth the money and the effort to see the locals in their dress and watch them dance
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Sharon from New Zealand
Family with older children
Superior Pool View
Stayed 6 nights in March 2009
Great Stay
Conveinece of everything
The staff weren't always fluent in english, but they tried very hard to help you
There was everything at the resort and the staff were lovely, truely a great place to stay. The food was very nice, the breakfast very large and included in the price, the buffet was well worth it and generally the prices were no different to what you paid outside the resort so you really didn't have to go out if you didn't want to.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Lisbeth from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in June 2008
Katas best hotel !!
With a fantastic pool like a long canal along the whole hotel.You can swim round like 500 m. There i an other pool too ,like an ordinary,bur the long one is the best ! And don]t forget the waterfall you can swim thru.We love it.
We once have a pool accessroom and it]s fantastic.So luxiourus.
Reviewed November 07, 2009


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: