Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
Free Wi-Fi

Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa

M. 7, Sunrise Beach, T, Koh Sarai, Sunrise Beach, Koh Lipe, Thailand, 91000
- View on map
Sea View Room - Guestroom Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
Sea View Room - Guestroom
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
    Lobby Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
    Beach Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
    Sea Front - Guestroom Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
    See all 45 photos
    View Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa

    Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa Reviews

    7.6
    Very good
    /10
    (117 reviews)See what guests said
    8.8
    Excellent

    "The resort is in a beautiful location with very helpful and..."

    Christopher

    -

    January 6, 2019

    8.1
    Excellent cleanliness
    Recommended by 96% of guests

    Things you’ll love about Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa

    Things you'll love

    • Private beach

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Air conditioning

    • Daily housekeeping

    Excellent
    Location
    8.3
    See map
    Excellent location
    Popular
    Nearby
  • Sunrise Beach590 m
  • Walking Street750 m
  • Koh Lipe Ferry Terminal870 m
  • Pattaya Beach1.04 km
  • Karma Beach1.31 km
  • Sunset Beach1.44 km
  • Sanom Beach1.47 km
  • Koh Adang6.58 km
  • Koh Sawang10.52 km
  • Koh Hin Son14.33 km
  • This property is in high demand!

    Last booked a few minutes ago

    Value for money7.0
    Distance to city center1.1 km
    Location rating8.3
    Nearest airportLangkawi International Airport (LGK) - Malaysia
    Distance to airport49.1 km

    Rooms available at Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa

    Family Sea View Room
    Family Sea View Room
    ...
    • Room size: 36 m²/388 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 2 double beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Sea View
    Deluxe Sea View
    ...
    • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
    • Partial sea view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Seaside Twin
    Seaside Twin
    ...
    • Room size: 23 m²/248 ft²
    • Partial sea view
    • 1 single bed and 1 double ...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Sea View
    Superior Sea View
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Sea View Room
    Sea View Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Sea Front
    Sea Front
    ...
    • Room size: 23 m²/248 ft²
    • Beach view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Room with Sea View with Beach View
    Room with Sea View with Beach View
    ...
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Room
    Standard Room
    ...
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Room
    Deluxe Room
    ...
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Luxury Room - Sea View
    Luxury Room - Sea View
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Have a question for Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa?

      What people love about Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa

      • 9.2
        Exceptional

        "I got the sea view room and the view was breathtaking."

        Deepa

        |

        January 6, 2019

      • 9.2
        Exceptional

        "I loved the private corner to the beach, wasn't open where people keep walking across you like the other resorts."

        Deepa

        |

        January 6, 2019

      • 9.6
        Exceptional

        "Chilled and wonderful private beach and snorkeling."

        Amy

        |

        January 4, 2019

      Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

      Prices drop the moment you sign in!

      Sign in now
      More about Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa

      More about Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa

      9.6
      Exceptional

      "Loved the resort , great beach and super friendly staff."

      Amy

      |

      January 4, 2019

      An overview

      Show less

      What they offer

      9.6
      Exceptional

      "Friendly staff and nice foods."

      Mohd N.

      |

      November 14, 2018

      Show less

      Nearest essentials

      Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
      Show less

      What's nearby

      Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
      Show more

      Property's guest policies

      Show less

      Some helpful facts

      Show less

      Reviews of Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa from real guests

      Provided by verified guests of Agoda
      Agoda Reviews (117)Booking.com Reviews (89)
      7.6
      /
      10
      Cleanliness8.1
      Facilities7.2
      Location8.3
      Room comfort and quality7.3
      Service7.9
      Value for money7.0
      All languages
      All guests (117)
      All room types
      Showing 87 verified guest comments
      12345
      9.2
      Exceptional
      mael from Thailand
      Couple
      Deluxe Sea View
      Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

      Little peace of heaven ”

      I booked at kathalee initially for 4 night but ended adding a 5th one . This small resort is located at the very end of sunrise beach, and enjoys a beautiful quiet little creek. Most of koh lipe beaches are full of longtails boats so it’s really appreciated . Perfect place for snorkeling and kayaking or just laying on one of their sun beds . This hotel is run by a very nice thai woman , always friendly and helpful . I read here and there some bad comments about a German guy being in this place ,rude sometime and unfriendly . As for myself I met a very nice guy, from Germany also , very concerned about the coral reef and the damages that can be done by some tourist and even customers . Can’t believe it was the same person :)

      Reviewed April 22, 2019
      10.0
      Exceptional
      RICHARD from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      Deluxe Sea View
      Stayed 13 nights in February 2019

      Exceptional”

      Absolutely fantastic - staff friendly and very helpful - I had an injured hand and they could not have been more helpful. Norbert the coral reef guy is very helpful and explains how fragile the local environmental. I will be booking up again to go in November! Highly recommended. The massage team are fantastic and the view out to sea is the best I've ever seen. Book now, you will not be disappointed!

      Reviewed February 19, 2019
      8.4
      Excellent
      Philippe from United Kingdom
      Family with young children
      Family Sea View Room
      Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

      Excellent Location”

      A beautiful secluded lagoon beach awaits you. The hotel is expensive and you may get better value next door at the Idyllic Resort 1 minute away with a pool. However we very much enjoyed having our private little beach and the children were able to play around very safely. We stayed in a Family Seaview room, the view was ok and the space very good. Strong smell of drains from the bathroom though Staff were present all the time and very friendly. The breakfast was just right for 4 days as it is repetitive and you get bored of Nescafé sachets very quickly! The owners are excellent, although you may find the German Owner very cold at first he does warm up eventually and is very helpful during the stay. His partner was wonderfully welcoming. Snorkelling and Kayaking complimentary, a bonus when you know there is so much to see out there. If you walk along the beach, access to Walking Street (a must for dinners!) is very easy and only about 10 minutes' walk. We had a very relaxing time there.

      Reviewed October 31, 2018
      9.2
      Exceptional
      dennis from United Kingdom
      Family with young children
      Family Sea View Room
      Stayed 5 nights in August 2018

      Amazing location ”

      The hotel is on one of the best spots on sunrise beach has its own private little beach with no tailboats parked up outside like most the other hotels The hotel itself is nice and clean we had the family room for 4 of us 2 adults 2 children and it was perfect 1 king size bed 1 double bed and 1 sofa with great views of the ocean The ocean outside the hotel is great for snorkelling and the hotel have all the equipment u can borrow they also have an underwater camera u can hire and they have memory cards u can buy to keep for 200 baht The hotel staff are very friendly it seems like a family run hotel and the staff can’t do enough for you The only negatives I can think of for people with walking disabilities is it’s a quite steep entry in and out of the hotel if u want to head into the centre of Lipe but u can walk along the beach or there is a little hotel bahtbus that takes people along if requested but we found walking along the beach no problem and is about 10-15 mins walk into the centre of Lipe The breakfast is really basic but still I wouldn’t let that stop us from returning next year 9.5/10 from us

      Reviewed August 19, 2018
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Deepa from Malaysia
      Group
      Deluxe Sea View
      Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

      Private corner to the beach”

      I got the sea view room and the view was breathtaking. I loved the private corner to the beach, wasn't open where people keep walking across you like the other resorts. Staff were friendly and helpful. The fridge was big, enough to accommodate the drinks my friends and I brought. Breakfast selection was mediocre, you can always walk out for food. Walking street is 30mins away or theres a feeder van your can take if feeling lazy.

      Reviewed January 06, 2019
      8.8
      Excellent
      Christopher from Canada
      Couple
      Sea View Room
      Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

      Beautiful location”

      The resort is in a beautiful location with very helpful and friendly staff. The shuttle ride into Walking Street is a nice touch as was the provision of snorkels and masks to borrow, beach towels, pick up and drop off to the pier etc. The rooms are ok, nothing special, but perfectly comfortable. It was expensive which is probably both a reflection of the time of year and Koh Lipe itself. The surrounding islands to Koh Lipe are fantastic.

      Reviewed January 06, 2019
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Mohd from Malaysia
      Family with young children
      Sea View Room
      Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

      The best location ever at Sunrise Beach”

      Highly recommended.. Friendly staff and nice foods. Resort facing the small island and have their own like private lagoon. Definitely will travel to Koh Lipe again..

      Reviewed November 14, 2018
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Ole
      Couple
      Superior Sea View
      Stayed 12 nights in January 2019

      Exceptional”

      Wonderful and quiet resort with the best beach in Koh Lipe. The staff are friendly and smiling and are doing whatever they can to give you a pleasant stay. No doubt that we will keep coming back!

      Reviewed February 08, 2019
      8.0
      Excellent
      Seah from Singapore
      Family with teens
      Sea Front
      Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

      clean n comfortable ”

      I will book this hotel if I'm going lipe again n recommend to friends . comfortable bed but pillow abit hard , clean n nice view . staff service good .

      Reviewed June 28, 2018
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Shari from United States
      Group
      Family Sea View Room
      Stayed 5 nights in July 2017

      Best end of the beach Gem”

      Don't let the location of being at the end of the beach steer you away. It's a quick walk into town to the Walking Street. The Kathalee has wonderful staff, willing to help you in any way you need. The biggest plus to this location is the absolutely beautiful little cove/beach area in front of the restaurant. It's secluded and the water is perfect for a light swim or snorkeling. I've stayed two times at the Kathalee and will certainly book again when I return to Koh Lipe for my next vacation.

      Reviewed January 17, 2018
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Leigh from Canada
      Solo traveler
      Deluxe Sea View
      Stayed 6 nights in November 2017

      Love!!!”

      Kathalee resort is wonderful. As a solo female traveller I couldn’t of been better taken care of. The location is optimal, bc although you are at the very end of the beach, you have THE BEST part of the beach. Bc it is a national park, there is no boat traffic off your shore. If travelling Koh Lipe, I would recommend it highly. VERY clean! The staff are incredible. Have fun!

      Reviewed November 23, 2017
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Diane from Malaysia
      Family with young children
      Family Sea View Room
      Stayed 6 nights in October 2017

      Perfectly positioned and friendly staff”

      This place was perfect for us as a family (2 children age 10 & 6). The resOrt is tucked at the end of sunrise beach and has a beautiful little shady beach and snorkeling bay right outside so you are away from the boat traffic. The staff were wonderful, always smiling and willing to help, giving balls and toys to the kids. Breakfast was adequate for us living in Asia but don’t go expectating full hotel style buffet. My only, very minor, suggestions would be some kind of washing line to hang wet swimmers on (we lost a pair into the tree below which the staff did manage to retrieve somehow!) and some softer pillows, but if this is my only comment after 1 week then I think it was pretty fantastic!

      Reviewed October 21, 2017
      8.0
      Excellent
      Matthew from United Kingdom
      Couple
      Superior Sea View
      Stayed 5 nights in December 2015

      A stunning island, a satisfactory place to see it from.”

      Our room was modern, clean and well equipped with a large window and balcony with loungers. The view was great but a little obscured. Location excellent if you don't mind being away from the busiest beach. Kayaks available for guests to use. Breakfast was very basic, but enough to keep us satisfied (barely). If you require a 'great' breakfast this is not for you. Staff were friendly and helpful, but laidback and not always easy to find. Part of the restaurant had a persistent bad smell, but overall value for money is good. It wasn't our first choice, but everywhere else was full, and we did have a really good time on Lipe.

      Reviewed March 28, 2016
      5.7
      Thing from Malaysia
      Couple
      Deluxe Sea View
      Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

      BAD BAD BAD”

      SEAVIEW IS NICE

      The reason i am giving bad review is because i had booked and paid for 1 DELUXE ROOM and when i was there to checked-in, the staff told me the room is FULLY BOOKED AND THEY MISS OUT MY BOOKING~!!!!!!! and i have to wait till others who booked and not showing, and yes finally i get a room at NIGHT and it was a superior room which the room price is lower than the one i booked and NO REFUND IS GIVEN~!!!!!! BAD HOLIDAY EXPERIENCE~!!!!!

      Reviewed February 28, 2015
      9.6
      Exceptional
      ane from Denmark
      Solo traveler
      Sea View Room
      Stayed 14 nights in January 2019

      Excellent”

      Fantastic location with stunning view. Super friendly staff is always at hand and will help with everything they can. Would definitely come back.

      Reviewed January 29, 2019
      9.6
      Exceptional
      Amy from Singapore
      Family with teens
      Sea Front
      Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

      Fantastic location ”

      Loved the resort , great beach and super friendly staff. Chilled and wonderful private beach and snorkeling. Free shuttle to walking street but easy walk along beach. Def recommend

      Reviewed January 04, 2019
      6.0
      BYOUNGJUN from Thailand
      Solo traveler
      Superior Sea View
      Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

      not recommended”

      there is a general manager european old guy. I felt he was so rude to customer. and you can't borrow the canu boat bcs actually they dont have the paddles.

      Reviewed August 18, 2018

      Sorry for any inconvenience you had during your stay. All our staff is Thai. We do not have a European manager.

      Responded August 24, 2018
      Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
      7.0
      Very good
      Catharina from Sweden
      Couple
      Sea Front
      Stayed 4 nights in March 2016

      Friendly staff, peaceful”

      Very calm and silent, nice roms, transport service for free.

      We enjoyed our stay. The pillows are a bit too high and the beds hard. Good aircon. Beatutiful seaview. There is no food in restaurant except breakfast. The nearby Serendipity is on the order hand very good. Walking distance to Barracuda on Market street.

      Reviewed March 16, 2016
      4.7
      Gilbert from Malaysia
      Family with young children
      Sea Front
      Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

      Too expensive rooms rate for isolated property”

      Rooms are large and confort,

      Try avoid the hotel if you guys have an option. The hotel's location is isolated from main area and their free shuttle is only up to 8:30pm. You will be stuck in the room then and their tiny bar and restaurant will also be closed around that time.Their breakfast is very basic consist of bread,sausages and egg. They will charge children above 4years old of 200baht a day for that silly breakfast. Not Recommended.

      Reviewed February 13, 2016
      6.3
      Good
      Samuel from Australia
      Couple
      Sea View Room
      Stayed 4 nights in February 2015

      Beautiful views and rooms with terrible breakfast”

      the view, the rooms, the location

      We stayed there for 4 nights and had a wonderful time in Koh Lipe. The hotel was lovely, brand new, great views and right down the end of Sunrise beach so very quiet. The only complaint is the breakfast. Absolutely terrible. I've had nicer and fresher food, and better service from cheaper hotels. Whenever we went for breakfast, 7am, 8am, or 9am, there was always no food left, no plates left, no cutlery and no coffee. Once the food was replenished, it was oily fried rice or noodles, rubber sausages or fatty beef bacon. A small amount of fruit. Well below the standard one would expect for such a hotel. It was the only thing that ruined the experience. Breakfast next door was superb! So we ate breakfast there the remaining 2 days.

      Reviewed February 24, 2015
      12345
      This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

      Back to search results

      Back to room choices

      |

      Dismiss

      Kathalee Beach Resort and Spa
      |Very good 7.6
      ×
      Check in. Step out.
      Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

      • Excellent location
      • Sunrise Beach