Book Now: Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Excellent
From 265 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (265)Booking.com Reviews (157)
8.5
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.2
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.7
Value for money8.7
All languages
All guests (265)

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 225 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Tanja from Germany
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Perfect getaway ”

Everything was great! Friendliest staff ever, spacious rooms (SO CLEAN!), good breakfast, great pool area, lovely endless beach, ocean water lukewarm... 1 min walk from a minimart, massage & food places. Sincerely regret we only had 3 nights there!

Reviewed February 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Trevor from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Quiet resort set in an oasis. Opposite a beautiful”

Pools, beach and food

Very pleasantly surprised, beautiful setting, great pools and swim up bar. Friendly attentive staff with great English speaking skills. Great food at both breakfast and dinner. Easy transfer from the resort to the airport. Best pedicure I had in a Thailand. Regular shuttle into town for dining or shopping. Very quiet location but close enough to do tours in the national park, down to Phuket attractions and Khao Sok and Koh Phi Phi. Good place to just relax and do nothing. Certainly would go there again and highly recommend it to others.

Reviewed April 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Anita from Switzerland
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

A luxurious, worthwhile stay”

The Coconut shakes, the pool table and the sun chairs

Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort was a very nice and enjoyable hotel to stay in. Among others the highlights were: Getting upgraded to the Family Suite, drinking Coconut Shakes at the beach, Playing lots of Pool, Going swimming in the nice and big Swimming Pool,Sun Bathing at the beach , Visiting the nearby city and sampling the restaurants and taking a free scuba-diving lesson in the Swimming Pool. The only downsides were that the Room Cleaning usually took up to one hour, which gave us almost no access to our room in the morning. All in All I give Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort a 8.5 out of 10, because it was a very beautiful 3-Star hotel (althouh it was an hour away from Phuket Airport) and is very satisfying to both Adults and Children, with many activities such as Snooker, Table tennis, Swimming Pool and the beach.

Reviewed April 11, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Heisler from Germany
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2009

great hotel at the beach”

situated at the beach, white sandy beach, very quite and relaxing, graet pool and garden area, beautiful ocean view

We stayed in a family room with garden view, situated at the beach, beautful white sandy beach, very quite and relaxing,not suitable for people looking for party, great pool and garden area, beautiful ocean view, modern comfortble rooms,polite and helpful saff, very clean hotel, great fruit buffet. perfect stay we can recommend this hotel and its services . we will come back

Reviewed October 06, 2009
8.8
Excellent
Tiago from Portugal
Group
Family Suite with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Clean, quiet, friendly staff, need some renovations”

Hotel is clean and quiet. Staff is very friendly, although most of them struggle with the english, like any other place in Thailand. They have organized day trips a bit cheaper than most places. They have massages by the pool, but not exactly the best skilled masseuses. The breakfast is very good and the restaurant also provides good food for relatively cheap price. Air conditioning has some issues. It has the beach right in front of it, which is very nice! Provides a clear view on the sunset. Location is a bit far from Khaolak center, but you can get a shuttle for 100THB return per person. Did I mention the staff is very friendly?

Reviewed May 09, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in January 2017

Objective review - Very Good”

First stay for us at the Orchid Beach Resort. Stayed at the JJ Marriott further up the same beach last year but this was a lot pricier in January than the Orchid Beach Resort. The resort is on quiet Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak. Its a long stretch of golden sand with a dozen mostly small resorts on the whole beach. The hotel is located across a quiet service road from the beach with a handful of local bars and restaurants providing an alternative to the hotel's one evening restaurant, Verve 29. The guests when we stayed were mostly Scandinavian, with a few English, German and French, mainly middle aged to older couples, only a small number of children. Guests appear come back to the Orchid Beach Resort years after year, and after staying there we can tell why. The hotel has approx. 80 rooms on three floors, two pools, one main pool with swim up bar, kids pool and Jacuzzi, and another smaller adults-only pool. The hotel is crescent shaped with reception at one end, mini-market and spa, then breakfast area, then rooms around to the adult only pool at the other end. In the middle of the crescent is the main pool, massage huts and gardens. Next to reception is the lunch and evening restaurant. Our room was large and generally well maintained, though it has a damp smell when we arrived. There was an air purifier in the room which dealt with this problem fairly quickly. The room had all the usual comforts and a small balcony overlooking the garden. Housekeeping serviced the room daily, one slight issue being the state of the duvet covers which largely had darned holes in them. A minor issue though, as the linen was always very clean, though something the hotel could improve on. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, eggs cooked to order in any style, a mixture of western and Asian foods, and wonderful service. I have read other reviews on the resort which criticized the service but we couldn't fault it. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We ate at the hotel

Reviewed February 09, 2017
6.8
Good
Ville from Finland
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016

Hotel and pool was nice, staff was bad”

The hotel is a bit old, but it is still nice. The room is quite big. The hotel is far from the center, and they have a shuttle bus that you have to pay extra for. Is was very nice to relax at the pool. And the hotel had a private beach. The reception staff was very rude, and we all (in total 4 people) wondered about their bad behaviour. Otherwise the staff was good, it was only the ladies at the reception who seemed arrogant and maybe they just did not like their job. We can recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxed stay in Khao Lak, and if you are okay with the fact that there is not so much going on here (khao lak is quite small, and maybe best for families).

Reviewed January 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Claire from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

A quiet escape”

Stayed 3 nights in October - out of season, so the resort was quiet. Beach was almost empty. Good facilities and the beach is straight over the road, with a good view of the beach from the room balcony. Downside to the location is that it is a bit far to walk to town, so have to rent a bike or pay for the shuttle or taxis, and it is a long drive from Phuket airport, so need to allow time and expense for this.

Reviewed October 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Rafael from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 14 nights in May 2016

Not much to complain about.”

After having spent the 1st half of May at this wonderful family resort, 8 days of that with 2 young grandchildren, found this resort had much to offer if you love relaxing on the beach or the pool. 2 downsides; 1 was the lack of natural shade like Palms trees etc, as the timber surrounding the pools would peel the skin off your feet, even wearing thongs/flip flops, you could still feel the heat. The umbrellas did litle to save you. The other was having to wait until 6:30/7:00am for breakfast, my wife and I plus grandkiddies were always up early.The staff did their best to get the little ones sorted. I found it a bit cheeky of the resort to charge patrons "of the resort " money to get you to either Khao Lak or the Bang Niang Market and back, minimal as the cost was. Certainly didn't mess up the holiday. If its peace you want then this is the place to be. 1 complaint that I would like addressed is WHY after having apparently paid the bill, arranged a wake up call and collection of luggage from room by 6:15 am the following morning, none of this happened. And then when I get to reception to inquire about my bill and other QUESTIONS there wasn't a soul to be found ????????? I'm glad I'd had the forthought to arrange my own transportation.

Reviewed May 19, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Alexander from Russia
Family with young children
Stayed 9 nights in December 2015

Solid 3-star hotel on the beach”

beach, breakfast, atmosphere

This hotel has a high rating on Agoda, I mostly agree, but I wish to have a better room for money paid (it's expensive in a high season). The classic room is a standard 3-star thai room with a noisy a/c and poor decoration, the bed is harder than usual and the pillow is a cheap synthetic one. Over than that, the hotel is very good, the breakfast is great for 3 stars, the food is really cheap if you use the restaraunts nearby, the nature is a miracle, the beach is good. The water is not so clean as Phuket's best beaches though. Please keep in mind that there is nothing in a walking distance except 2 street cafes, and the shuttle is so not cheap for everyday ride. For myself I prefer Andamania hotel, which is cheaper and has much better rooms.

Reviewed December 31, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in November 2015

always on our mind”

location, staff, and food.

Third visit, we were welcomed by staff with cold towels and a cool drink.taken to our perfect room.we soon wandered around the beach area and found some small changes, places to relax with a drink and a bite.we settled down and did not need to go into town as everything was at hand. The hotel restaurant was very good with music of your tastes most nights. The only thing we missed was there were no cycles to hire and no table tennis as there had been previously.we would like to add that the breakfast was excellent with wonderful staff taking good care of you.

Reviewed November 27, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
David from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015

best value ever”

location,friendly staff, modern spacious room

We stayed at the Orchid in the off season which may explain the incredibly low rates for what was provided. The room was exceptional, the staff really friendly, the beach and hotel grounds beautiful. It is a bit out of the way which I regard as a plus as you simply don't need what is not provided here.

Reviewed September 30, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in December 2014

lovely beach hotel”

beach, room, beach bar restaurant

We enjoyed our stay, staff were friendly and helpful, the beach was clean with drinks waiter, the adults only pool was a nice idea, shuttle bus to town was cheap and convenient, over all a pleasant stay.

Reviewed December 31, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
adrian from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Excellence Stay”

Food, Staff and Cleaniness

We had an awesome stay for 4 days 3 nights. The food was very very good especially at the restaurant but breakfast was a pretty standard food we had so dont expect much. The hotel is located a little far from the town so had to chartered a van to go over. Thank you.

Reviewed December 18, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 8 nights in November 2014

Very relaxed resort on a lovely sandy beach with v”

Hotel staff, location and relaxed atmosphere

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and particularly good with the youngest grandson under 2. The beach is beautifully sandy and clean. There was non problem getting beach beds and the pool was a good alternative when we wanted it. Food typically Thai, tasty and good although we ate out most evenings for variety. There was a regular hotel shuttle minibus on the evenings so no problem getting into the Main Street of Khao Lak.

Reviewed November 30, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
suzanne from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014

A little peace of paradise!”

The beautiful pools, beach, stunning location, staff, wonderful resort

Absolutely out of this world. I was upgraded to a lovely spacious room with a seaview - I mentioned it was my birthday whilst staying there. The staff even made me a birthday cake. Our room also overlooked one of the pools and the lush tropical gardens. It was heaven! The restaurants were very reasonable and served thai and international food. Breakfast was included and was a real feast-served everything. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. There was an indoor and outdoor offering a variety of treatments at very competitive prices-very professional. I was able to borrow a bicycle for free to explore the surrounding area. The hotel provided a regular shuttle bus to take us to town as its about 8kms away. There was a small fee for this. Once there we rented a moped for 200thb a day which meant we didnt have to rely on taxis. The hotel organised a trip to Ta Chai island which was paradise-white sand and snorkelling in crystal clear waters. Khaolak Orchid was a wonderful resort set in stunning scenery with a private beach-perfect. My no.1 place to stay in Thailand out of all the places ive stayed so far! Thankyou for a wonderful stay, I hope to be back soon!

Reviewed April 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in December 2013

Comfortable, well looked after, relaxing”

Great beach, massive rooms, cheap spa treatments

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to this hotel after a problem with our original hotel. We couldn't be more happy. The staff were well mannered and helpful, the food was tasty and affordable. Our room was massive and so was our bed. We were lucky enough to be there on Christmas Eve and have a wonderful celebration laid on by the staff. The entertainment was fantastic and culminated in us lighting flying lanterns on the beach. A magical stay!

Reviewed January 02, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Marc from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013

Great location.Beautiful building.”

Fantastic rooms.Staff very friendly and accommodating.

This hotel is in a quieter part of the Thailand and just the place to be if you want to get away from the crowds of Pattong but still close enough to Phuket if you want some excitement. The hotel is in good condition and the rooms beautifully appointed.The staff are very well trained ,extremely friendly and always smiling.Breakfast was substantial and varied. The pool and bar area was great and the restaurant was reasonably priced and the food delicious.

Reviewed February 02, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
efraim from Israel
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Amazing hotel if you want to relax”

Great service, shuttle to the town and back, very clean

If you want a place to relax, have a quiet stay with your family/ husband/ wife this is the hotel. Located in front of the ocean, very big rooms, very clean swimming pool. You dont have to leave the resort.. Tnere is a great restaurant, spa, inpool bar which we enjoyed much. We were in our honeymoon and got a very decorated room. We will definetly come here again.

Reviewed January 10, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Drew from Canada
Family with young children
Stayed 6 nights in November 2012

Wow!!! We will definitely be back”

The beach, pool and great little restaurant 200m down shore

we had a premier room with our 6 year old and 4 year old. what an incredible 6 nights. we very much enjoyed waking up to a buffet breakfast, throw on the sunscreen and head for the beach and pool. orchid beach is a very clean, though not fancy place that will not break the bank. we will definitely be back!

Reviewed January 06, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Graham from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

Best so far”

Room, pools, beach restaurant, beach view

I've now stayed at 4 hotels on 6 occasions at Khao Lak and I have enjoyed the Orchid the most. The room was spacious, clean and attractive, the beach view from the balcony was spectacular, the pools were relaxing, and the service and food at the beach restaurant a treat. Staff were caring. Overall, a most enjoyable stay. Breakfast was a bit basic but then it was low season.

Reviewed October 26, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Kristen from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012

Great hotel for price”

Excellent beach, helpful staff, good breakfast

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms were nice and spacious. The town was close by and the hotel's shuttle service was decent. Breakfast was good and the restaurant served delicious/inexpensive food as well. We loved the pool and the beach- both very clean. Would recommend it.

Reviewed June 11, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Erwann from France
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in December 2011

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

TOP staff

Pleasant hotel with professional and friendly staff. The location of the hotel is perfect to rest but you cannot reach the center by feet or by bike (Hotel organized taxi schedule in both direction, every hours until 10pm) For people who like to be the last one in the town... No problem, every night, we have found a local to call us a taxi.

Reviewed December 28, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Adam from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011

Nice secluded hotel with empty quiet beach front”

Great pool, quiet, excellent cuisine

The Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort was one of the friendliest hotels we stayed in on tour through Thailand. After a nice welcome with cold tea and towels, we went straight to their empty pristine beachfront. The pool is refreshing, the cuisine is excellent and the only place we found that serves all the best fresh mangoes you can eat for breadfast. The ladies giving thai massages in beachside cabanas were the most professional we found. You really can't go wrong with any of the hotels along the beach in Khaolak, but for the price and service, I would go back to the Orchid again!

Reviewed December 10, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Banhan from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2011

Private Location, Nice Clean Beach, Poor Access”

Private Location, Nice Clean Beach, Variety of Food

location: wide frontage face to beach but has 1x1 lane road in the middle. not in the heart of kao lak but very quiet and private. sand is subtle. beach is clean accessibility: difficult to access by yourself. gps or hotel shuttle bus is recommended environment: far from any convenience stores food: variety of food at breakfast. taste is good room: i got room that i can see both pool and sea. room is a little bit smell. there is bath tub that can be seen in the bedroom for romantic mood! service: is so so facility: there are a lot of facilities. pool is fun and there is jacuzzi

Reviewed November 18, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Charles from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in October 2011

Our second visit to this lovely hotel”

Beach, quality of food, service, value

we are a brazilian / british family of beach lovers based in bangkok. we have tried a number of beaches in southern thailand and so far this one is by some way our favourite. long, clean, wide stretches of sand, hermit crabs wandering up and down, vegetation behind the beach for a mile or so on either side, and no jetskis or longtail boats. the hotel is secluded and there are no restaurants or shops nearby. this is made up for by the generally excellent local western and thai food, and the good value transfers to khao lak. in low season (second half october) the weather was perfectly good (usually sunny mornings with some rain in the afternoon). the occupancy was low so we were treated like royalty (e.g. at breakfast) but we have been here before at new year and the service was of a good standard then.

Reviewed October 28, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Mark from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

wondeful location - peaceful and lovely”

location, quiet, on the beach

we have travelled to khaolak for diving trips and have stayed at the orchid beach resort every time. we enjoy the quiet, secluded location and great price for a clean, pleasant room. they also have nice mountain bikes to rent for a trip to town or around the local back roads.

Reviewed April 17, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Clare from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 11 nights in July 2009

Good value for money”

Spacious accommodation, friendly staff, lovely surroundings, very quiet beach
The family pool could do with regrouting as the sides are rather sharp and all of us grazed ourselves getting in and out.

The Orchid is great value for money, and excellent if you want to just chill and relax. We went off peak and it was incredibly quiet. The hotel had closed the pool bar, pool side eatery, and turned off the jacuzzi which was a shame. The hotel is a long way from anywhere (approx 4.5km from the main road), which means it is lovely and quiet but transport is essential if you would like to eat anywhere other than the hotel or experience the rest of Khoa Lak. Although the hotel do provide a shuttle servive which you pay 50 baht each way (approx £1). The breakfast was very good and there was lots of choice.

Reviewed August 05, 2009
5.3
Naratip from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2009

Khaolak Orchid Beach”

- Quiet - Private Beach
- untidy room - selections of breakfast

We were alright with the hotel. It was nice and quiet especially massaging by the pool. Though the weather was a bit warm but still nice and relaxing. The room doesnt decorate with carpets so it looked a bit dusty.

Reviewed July 10, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Pawel from Poland
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in June 2009

Gigantic family room. Almost empty in low season”

Fantastic family room. Almost no guests in the hotel in low season. Good, reasonably priced food. Clean pools. Nice beach.
In the low season there are limited dining options except the hotel restaurant (however pretty good).

We spent 3 nights in Orchid Beach in the low season (early July). The hotel was practically empty - for 2 days there were only 2 other guests in the whole hotel! For us it was a bliss, but actually some negative consequences existed, mainly lack of close-by dining options - all the local beach restaurants were shut tight. The town center probably was an option, but it took almost 15 min drive, so we decided to dine in the hotel. The restaurant actually prooved to be good, my favourite Tom Ka soup was delicious (even if not spicy enough for my taste ). Additionally there was a 30% low season discount for the meals, which made in-hotel dining a very good value. The service was spotless. The family room we occupied was actually a huge apartment with two bathrooms, separate washroom, 2 LCD TVs with DVD etc. All in all - the stay there exceeded my expectations by a large margin.

Reviewed July 10, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Mercedes from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2009

Much more than *** Star Hotel”

Rooms are beautiful and spacious, it was hard to leave the room it was so comfortable; nice swimming pools and jacuzzi, you can hear the ocean from your room you are that close, EXCELLENT chef! Eveything I tried was delicious!; breakfast was good too
A little too quiet, during low season the town of Khao Lak has nothing to offer but souveigner shops, most restaurants are closed.

This hotel is much more than ***, my room was impeccable, huge, comfortable and clean, the design was elegant and I felt like I was in a ***** hotel. Staff very accomodating and the food was amazing! Nice place to relax and is family friendly. Will definitelyr recommend to my friends and return again.

Reviewed July 09, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in April 2009

Pure relaxation!”

Lovely setting, friendly helpful staff, Deluxe room are stunning.

My family and I stayed here for a week and had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel and the Khao Lak area to anyone. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and always had a smile every time you saw them. I would recommend the Duluxe rooms as they are well decorated and really spacious. The infinty pool is awesome and a good area to chillout and read a good book.The hotel provides a shuttle bus for 0.50 baht which takes you into Khoa Lak for more restaurants and shops. A good alternative to Phuket island.

Reviewed May 13, 2009
8.7
Excellent
nigel from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April 2009

Kholak ORchid”

loads of sunloungers great pools all rooms with seaview very friendly staff
soul-less canteen style restaurant

Not used to staying in larger resorts - preferring smaller personal hotels. however, we loved our stay here. not many guests which probably helped but the resort is huge. rained for a few days of our stay but they supply dvd's free of charge. we hired a scooter. pretty essential there. Breakfast was good but dinner was very empty as most choose to eat out. However, their seafood fried rice was strangely the best by miles out of all the rice dishes i had during 5 weeks in thailand. strange but true!!!

Reviewed May 04, 2009
8.7
Excellent
Denis from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2009

Memorabel and relaxing stay at Khao Lak Orchid!”

Great location! Relaxing feel
may feel isolated; only one restaurant on site; limited breakfast choice

This hotel is on a Great setting! A bit remote although that might be the whole point for you. Facilities are excellent - the place is very well looked after - despite the low tourist count in April. Pools are excellent and very clean. The beach is very near - it's absolutely endless! There is a palm plantation nearby, so you feel being quite close to nature. If you are keen to walk to the main road for entertainment, you will have a chance to see some picturesque lakes – swamps! Always have some insect repellent on you!

Reviewed April 27, 2009
6.0
Naratip from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2009

Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort”

- Big size bedroom - Massive balcony - Perfect location (nice and quiet) - Great swimming pool - Tasty Meals (especially Thai Food)
- Slow service - Not quite clean bedroom /bathroom - Not much selection for breakfast

We gotta admit that the Resort situates at a very nice and quiet, not like most of the tourists destinations. The food is really excellent...compliment to the chefs. We really love the massive size of the bedroom and bathroom but it's not quite clean and tidy. The floor is a bit dusty but overall is alright. We loved the balcony as we could dance around by it's big size. This would be another hotel to put in our selections for the future visit.

Reviewed April 16, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Kimberly from United States
Group
Stayed 2 nights in March 2009

Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort, Khao Lak, Thailand”

large room with couches and tables, jacuzzi bath on back patio, pools, proximity to beach, staff, landscaping
hard bed!

My friend and I stayed at this resort for 2 nights, and we wish we'd stayed longer! The room was lovely, the jacuzzi bath on the back patio was relaxing, the pool right outside overlooking the ocean was stunning, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the atmosphere was very pleasant. We were sorry that we were so busy diving that we didn't get to spend much relaxing time at the resort. The time we did spend there was very lovely. If we hadn't had a car, it might have been a bit of a pain to get there, but we did, so it wasn't. Our only complaint was the VERY hard bed. Other than that, great place!!

Reviewed April 01, 2009
8.7
Excellent
Bruce from Canada
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2009

Enjoyed our stay at Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort”

Beach, pools, room, a/c
Nothing.

We really enjoyed the infinity pool. The beach is lovely and not full of vendors. We were only there one night on our way to an island transfer, but enjoyed our one dinner. The buffet breakfast was great. Many different levels, and stairs to the third floor would be a problem for less mobile guests.

Reviewed March 24, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Jane from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 14 nights in February 2009

The most beautiful place on earth....”

The peace and quiet. The wonderful service and the smiling faces eerywhere
Don't change a thing!!

This must beone of the most tranquil places in the world. The hotel is right on the beach down a secluded lane....it is the only hotel there.Everytime we go there(and this was our third time)we are never disappointed. The rooms are fantastic and the service is first class. Everywhere you turn there are smiling friendly staff.They are a credit to the management. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in the world where you can really get away from it all. The only noise are the waves lapping on the shore...it is a truly wonderful place.

Reviewed March 10, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Peter from Denmark
Couple
Stayed 9 nights in January 2009

Grea value for your money”

Good Service, exelent value for money
very quiet, a long way from anything.

Me and my girlfreind stayed at the hotel from 1. of februar 2009 and 9 nights forward. The hotel has exelent value for the money, witch include great brekfast buffet, nice poolarea and nice clean rooms. The only thing that could irritate some people is that the hotel is located around 15 min. in car from the main city of Khao Lak. This was not a problev for us, but this is a thing to be aware of.

Reviewed March 02, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Kristopher from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in January 2009

Good value, great location”

Nice hotel with great essentially private beach. A walk along the beach can get you into a slightly more populated areas with some decent places to eat. Frequent free transfers can take you into Khao Lak proper.
Strangely the room lacked any place to hang a towel! The bathroom was otherwise fine, if maybe a bit rough around the edges, no reason not to stay.

For the price we got via Agoda this was a great deal. 2 nice pools, friendly staff, big rooms and a great location. It is certainly not the closest place to the Khao Lak town, but the hourly free transfers only take about 15 minutes. The beachfront restaurant had a good selection of food, and on both Friday nights they offered a decent buffet and "cabaret" act. Food was good, act was a bit cheesy, but it was all fun.

Reviewed February 12, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Urban from Sweden
Family with young children
Stayed 6 nights in February 2009

Khao Lak Beach Orchid - Nice place to relax”

Friendly, at the beach, Nice rooms, pool area, service. Most things are good value.
A bit off from Kha Lak centre but they have shuttle service 50thb. Softer beds, they are too hard.

This resort is a very nice place with good and friendly service. Very nice spacious rooms just that beds are a bit too hard. It is just at the beach and perfect for a relaxing week. Breakfast was to satisfaction also. Prices in the bar and restaurant is a bit higher then simple/standard thai restaurants in Khao Lak but the have nice food. Their new adult/spa pool is also very nice and quiet for a swim where kids are not allowed. We did not have much to feel upset about staying here. Would gladly recommend to other people looking for relaxing week.

Reviewed February 11, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Robert from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 9 nights in January 2009

The Best of Thailand 2009”

The Garden and the Receptionst people.
Hot internet room.

The hotel has a very nice and kindly staff. The shuttle car between hotel and Koa Lak was very good. The room is clean and with good space, and the Garden with 2 pool and big Palm´s was beatiful.The location a way from car´s and with a long beach with little people on was excellent.

Reviewed February 05, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Scott from United States
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in January 2009

Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort”

Right on the beach, no other hotels close by, no development on either side of hotel. Clean rooms, good breakfast buffet, friendly staff, good pool and garden area. Peaceful and isolated. Great beach. Good for walking, not crowded.
About 2.5km to main road by road, about 6 km to Khaolak center. Need bicycle, scooter or taxi to get to town to shop/eat. Other hotels/restaurants down the beach by walking about 30 minutes/up the beach by walking about 40 minutes. Food good at hotel, a little bit expensive. Shuttle from hotel runs frequently, more later in the day, cost 50 baht per person.

Good place to stay, lower cost, 3-4 star hotel with two wings, older wing and newer wing. Good simple breakfast buffet, changes every other day. Clean rooms, large clean pool(s). Smaller pool as well next to new wing. Right on the beach as well. No chairs from hotel on beach, but provide umbrellas, towels and mats. Chairs can be rented from stand next door. Food in restaurant/bars good but a little expensive for dinner. Can reach other restaurants hotels by walking down the beach for 20-30 minutes, up the beach for 40-50 minutes. Hotel is isolated, so if you want nightlife, not the place for you. Very quiet, peaceful, great beach, gardens and pool area. Good staff, friendly. Shuttle runs from hotel every two hours early in day, every hour in afternoon and every 1/2 hr in evening. Need bicycle, scooter or taxi to get to khaolak center as it is approx 6 km one way from hotel. Can rent scooters in town (250 baht per day) and bicycles (100 baht per day). This area is still rebuilding as this area was hit with 10m of tsunami water in 2004. Markers and signs are everywhere along this beach and hotel area.

Reviewed February 03, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Vered from Israel
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2008

We had wonderful time in the hotel”

The location is great for people who look for quite and peace. the swimming pool was pleasant. the room is great, especially the bathroom and shower.

We choose the hotel during traveling in Thailand, to have a short vacation and rest. it fulfilled this purpose 100%. The room is large, the equipment satisfy. The highlight is the shower and bath, a real pleasure. The big balcony facing the ocean and the hotel swimming pool and yard, is wonderful. The beach a hundred meter from the hotel, white sands, few people, nice and peaceful. Breakfast was good. the bar in the swimming pool is great fun. Generally, we had great fun in the hotel, and we would love to stay there again.

Reviewed December 23, 2008
9.3
Exceptional
Monika from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2008

Great Hotel - money well spent!”

Right on the beach (not crowded), well maintained gardens, service with a smile, good breakfast selection, big rooms with all amenities, large bathroom, convenient shuttle service to Khao Lak.
Rooms could have been cleaned more often but knowing that they are trying to preserve the natural resources and that area has been hit badly by tsunami they are doing pretty good.

This hotel is really amazing, especially if you consider how much are you getting for your money! Loved the rooms: big beds, excellent bathroom, all amenities (TV- plenty of channels to choose from, kettle, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers), large balcony and most important - beautiful view! The atmosphere is very relaxed (in a good way - no screaming children, drunken guests..). It is really a fantastic place to chill. The beach is in front of the hotel and you will have plenty of space to yourself. If you want to explore: the Khao Lak town is about 12 min drive. Hotel provides a bus, which cost 50 BHT per person one way which still is very cheap. Or you can rent a scooter - around 200 BHT per day and drive as much as you want. If you are looking for something with more power you will need to ask for directions to Big Bikes located at the beginning of Khao Lak. 200 cc Hondas costs about 500-600 BHT per day (depending on how many days you rent it for) and the cc 500 ones about 1,000 BHT. They don’t have many of them though so you will need to be quick in high season. There’s plenty to see around. Great elephant’s camp. You would have to turn left when leaving the hotel road and getting on to main one (driving away from Khao Lak in a sense). It takes about 15-20 minutes ride from the hotel. We also did the Similan Islands. They are absolutely beautiful. Good snorkeling – although water slightly cooler as it’s 60 km away from the mainland on the open sea. The only draw back is getting there – the speedboat takes about 45 minutes and it’s a bumpy ride. The only way to beat it is to take the sea sick pill they offer you before the trip. I wish I knew that.

Reviewed October 10, 2008
9.3
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2008

Khaolak Orchid - great hotel”

Our 4th visit to Thailand so we've stayed in many hotels all over the country. This was our first time to Khao Lak and the Orchid will certainly stay in our minds as one of the best hotels we've stayed in and a beautiful location. Next time we'll come back and stay longer.

Reviewed February 20, 2008
10.0
Exceptional
Markus from Germany
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

very nice and friendly”

we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, friendly stuff and nice rooms, we can absolutely recommend it.

Reviewed January 03, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Cliff from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

A great resort.”

Good hotel especially Deluxe rooms.Very well equipped and spacious.Lovely beach.

Reviewed January 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in April 2016

Lovely quiet resort on the beach”

The beach was absolutely beautiful and we often had it all to ourselves. In the heat of the day the hotel also has an enormous dvd collection you can borrow.

Reviewed April 17, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Edward from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Beautiful resort”

A beautiful resort spoilt only by the usual problem of European's putting towels on sun beds on the beach and not using them for half the day.

Reviewed March 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Stuart from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013

Pleasant hotel on the beach”

Proximity to beach, quiet, good breakfast
Reviewed May 01, 2013
4.4
Nicholas from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in September 2016

Close to the beach and nice rooms, rude staff ”

Staff were rude compared to other hotels I've stayed at in the area, its close to the beach but nothing else, need to take a shuttle into town (and pay for it). Many of the facilities were closed for low season....I know its low season but you still have paying guests - Much better hotels in the area with less arrogant staff

Reviewed September 17, 2016
7.7
Very good
Karaked from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014

Little gem in a quiet area. ”

Staffs, staffs and staffs.

The staffs are amazing. Breakfast wasn't enough selections. Room need a little freshen up. Hotel is quite far from town but hotel provides free shuttle a few times a day. The beach is private to the hotel so locals are not allowed to sell anything there. Waves are quite big. Overall is a good stay.

Reviewed May 05, 2014
6.3
Good
Moses from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

Not as good as expected”

Fantastic beach

Beach: superb beach. Very quiet and relaxing. Nice beach chairs and umbrellas. Quality of sand excellent. Service: Passable only. Most staff do not speak English. Many staff did not have cheerful dispositions. Some came across as proud. Although I must say some were very helpful. Location: The location of the resort is not exactly convenient. It is quite a distance away from the town areas. Had to take shuttle services each time we wanted to go out for food etc. Walking was not an option. Food: at the resort restaurant was pretty pricey for the portion size and quality. In fact food prices for the entire Khao Lak area was pretty pricey. That place was definitely a honey trap for tourist. Compared to my stay at the Mermaid Boutique Hotel at Koh Lanta (which was excellent), this stay was only passable.

Reviewed January 07, 2013
7.7
Very good
Michael from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in September 2012

An excellent travel experience”

Lovely pool

Three generations of us (18 in all) chose the Orchid Beach Resort at Moalac to celebrate my wife's 70th. birthday. A great decision. We partied at all levels for five days together, with some starting sooner and some staying longer. Huge rooms, well equipped. Very friendly and helpful staff. We'll be back

Reviewed October 01, 2012
7.7
Very good
Pixie from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012

Luxurious and good Hotel”

Near to the beach

Stayed here for 4D3N and was very satisfied with everything.Hotel services is good and the staffs is helpful at anytime.If you looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday,this Hotel is a good choice.Beach is accesible at any time day and night.They also provide shuttle van to KhaoLak town which is about 10mins from the Hotel.Room is very spacious and clean.Good choice!!

Reviewed August 17, 2012
7.7
Very good
lesley from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Great value for families”

large rooms, right on a fantastic beach

nice hotel. think we were the only australians. other guests on package tours from europe mainly germany and russia. large room with 4 beds so very good for a family and located on a lovely beach. quite isolated but had a good shuttle service to the samll town which they charge for but it is very cheap

Reviewed March 09, 2012
6.3
Good
Sutthita from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in January 2010

Nice hotel with a beautiful beah”

Nice pool area and quit (almost private) beach
Hotel seems a bit worn down. Would benifit from a total workover. Far from center of town

We enjoyed the stay at the hotel very much. It was placed in relaxing surroundings with a very nice pool and a beautiful beach. There was also cheap and good massage next to the pool. We do highly recommend this hotel and willprobably go back our self.

Reviewed February 12, 2010
7.7
Very good
Maria from Denmark
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2009

Lovely and quiet stay”

Beach, pool, staff
expencive internet, hard matress, few english speaking tv channels (bad in the raining eason)expencive and small portions of food.

This is a lovely hotel with the most beautiful and private beach. We only saw 2 other people in a distance of 3 km. The staff was helpfull and freindly, except from a guy in the reception who tried to cheat us when we booked transportation to Koh samui. When it is raining there is not much to do because of the location, about 7 km from Khaolak town.

Reviewed June 04, 2009
7.7
Very good
Maria from Denmark
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in May 2009

Hotel with beautiful beach”

Beach, pool, staff
expencive internet, hard matress, few english speaking tv channels (bad in the raining eason)expencive and small portions of food.

This is a lovely hotel with the most beautiful and private beach. We only saw 2 other people in a distance of 3 km. The staff was helpfull and freindly, except from a guy in the reception who tried to cheat us when we booked transportation to Koh samui. When it is raining there is not much to do because of the location, about 7 km from Khaolak town.

Reviewed June 04, 2009
7.0
Very good
Paul from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2009

Very Nice Resort But a Little Isolated”

Beautiful pool and courtyard, nice rooms.
Open air restaurants = mosquitos; 10 minute taxi from Khao Lak; expensive internet and taxi fees.

This is a great place if you want to go to a resort and not leave. They do offer an inexpensive shuttle every hour to town, but stay closer to Khao Lak if you want to be able to walk to shops, bars or restaurants. Mosquitos ate me alive at this place.

Reviewed April 12, 2009
7.7
Very good
Renate from Germany
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in March 2009

March 2009”

Seaview room: nice spacious balcony. Nice tropical garden. Good breakfast. Quiet surrounding.
Remote location.

We stayed in the Orchid beach resort on March 2009. The hotel is very nice, the seaview room was spacious, with a large balcony. Breakfast was excellent. The staff was very friendly. The hotel has 2 nice pools and the ocean is about 100 meters away. The restaurant is embedded in a beautiful tropical garden. Khao Lak "center" is about 7 km away, and the hotel offers a scheduled shuttle service (100 baht per person/ride).

Reviewed March 18, 2009
7.7
Very good
Christopher from Switzerland
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2009

Orchid Khao Lak Review”

pool for adults
garbage bins very far from some areas. Choice of tv-programs is rather poor

The hotel staff are very friendly. Sometimes however it was not sure whether they had understood our questions. An important rapid postal parcel was delivered and I was only informed when I questioned again and again if really nothing had arrived. Breakfast is basic, very few typical Asian elements, put aside the various fruits obviously. Over all a nice place, beach however is not really serviced by the hotel. some of the kind of cabanas by the adult pool need a refreshing of the roof because the sun is strong

Reviewed February 05, 2009
7.7
Very good
paul from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015

beach location”

beach, pool area, view from room

Relaxing stay loved all the plants and trees around the pool. Great beach too.

Reviewed May 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Olivia from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Exceptional”

Simply cozy and grand at the same time. The beach itself is opaque due to silt, if you care about snorkelling.

Reviewed May 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 7 nights in April 2017

Excellent stay”

Great hotel, very attentive staff , excellent food, eapecially included breakfast. Will definitley stay again if I return to Khao Lak.

Reviewed May 09, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Bo from Sweden
Family with teens
Stayed 11 nights in December 2016

Relaxing and quiet place”

A quiet place a bit of from other hotel.

Reviewed January 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Siobhan from Australia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016

Great hotel with awesome pool and right on the beach and only short trip into town. Highly recommend”

Great hotel and staff

Reviewed November 22, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
David from Australia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015

great spot”

room location beach

Excellent

Reviewed October 25, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Ginny from Canada
Group
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015

Lovely and restful”

Quiet place that was very relaxing, beautiful setting, friendly staff
Reviewed April 30, 2015