Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
See all 45 photos

"The staff was very helpful and the location was good."

Sofi K.

|

April 23, 2018

1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed - Guestroom Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed - Guestroom
See all 45 photos
Interior view Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
Interior view
See all 45 photos
Interior view Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
Interior view
See all 45 photos
Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory - Guestroom Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory - Guestroom
See all 45 photos
See map Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
See map
Exceptional
Location
9.2
See all 45 photos Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list
What guests are saying:
very nice but not too clean and small
OH from South Korea
Couple
Everything was marvellous - except the wifi in the evenings when everyone was trying to connect. It kept kicking you off. Otherwise, very clean, lots of hot water as needed, lovely kitchen, great common room, a nd comfortable beds.
Ava from Canada
Solo traveler
Good hostel, worth the money. Clean. Few electrical outlet. Nice staff.
Punyawat from Thailand
Business traveler
location wise easy access to main attraction. comfortable room and satisfied with all facilities.Will definitely recommend this place to anyone.
Nur from Malaysia
Couple
everything is good but the room is extremely small.
CHIAN from Taiwan
Group
I don't never forget this memory. if you want to trip kyoto, i Recommendation this guest House!! This guest House is very nice i'm promiss
from South Korea
Couple
Staff friendly and the place is very cozy
Elizabeth from Indonesia
Group
The staff are super helpful. There are events every day, for example rakugo in English, or hints to what is happening in the city (e.g. geisha dancing). The location is great for getting to main sites.
Ganna from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Location, cleanliness and travel informations above expectations!
Su from Malaysia
Couple
Good location. Very basic but all you need. Bring your own towel or you'll have to rent one.
chad from Canada
Solo traveler

Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse

Exceptional location
- Inside city center
- What's nearby?
Excellent
From 1751 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
/
10
Excellent value for money
8.6
Recommended by 87% of guests
Value for money8.6
Location rating9.2
Nearest airportOsaka International Airport (ITM)
Distance to airport37.9 km
  • 310 meters to public transportation

  • Located in heart of Kyoto

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Shops

Room choices
7.9
Very good
Room comfort & quality
This property is in high demand!Last booked 6 hours ago
2 People in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Female Only
2 People in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Female Only
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6- Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Bed in 6- Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6 Bed Female Dormitory Room
Bed in 6 Bed Female Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
2 People in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
2 People in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
2 Bunk Beds in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
2 Bunk Beds in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
...
  • Room size: 24 m²/258 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
2 Bunk Beds in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
2 Bunk Beds in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Family Room with Bunk Beds and Shared Bathroom (5 Adults)
Family Room with Bunk Beds and Shared Bathroom (5 Adults)
...
  • Room size: 19 m²/205 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Family Room with Bunk Bed and Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
Family Room with Bunk Bed and Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
...
  • Room size: 19 m²/205 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse?

What people love about the property

  • "Clean place, friendly staff and very near to station."

    Sue M.

    |

    January 29, 2018

  • "Staff friendly and the place is very cozy"

    Elizabeth

    |

    December 7, 2017

  • "Love love love the place!"

    yusyaila

    |

    October 20, 2017

Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse

More about Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse

"Location wise easy access to main attraction."

Nur N.

|

March 1, 2018

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What to eat nearby

Japanese cuisine
Japanese cuisine
Tavern Anji Fuyachou Ayano Kouji
100 m Japanese
Waraiya
140 m Japanese
Kishizushi
190 m Japanese, Sushi
American cuisine
American cuisine
Jonetsu Shokusai Kyoshoku
130 m American, Japanese
Wine Dining Umi Usagi
260 m American, Italian, Japanese
Very Berry Cafe Gokomachi
550 m American, Cafe
Asian cuisine
Asian cuisine
Eishotei
130 m Asian
Shishikin
260 m Asian, Gluten Free, Grill
AJANTA Indian Restaurant&Bar
270 m Asian, Indian, Vegetarian

What they offer

"Location is great."

Wing T.

|

March 5, 2018

Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1751)Booking.com Reviews (1130)
8.3
/
10
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities8.0
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality7.9
Service8.6
Value for money8.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (1751)
All room types
Showing 1409 verified guest comments
12345
8.0
Excellent
ronald from United States
Solo traveler
Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 7 nights in November 2018
Good place ”
Kyoto was pretty booked so I found space at Khaosan Kyoto Hostel. Very nice folks. Very minimal digs and at age 65 was probably the oldest person by several decades. Had private room w/ Shared bath/shower, etc. Very basic housing ... and probably can save mucho cash by booking directly vs. Agoda that marks up prices by about 100%. Nice staff ... met some good folks there. Excellent location in terms to access to trains, buses, etc but absolutely best way to see kyoto is by bike. rent a bike and everything is within an hour ride. lots of close and good resturants. I thought that the local scene was more designer and high fashion vs. more local kyoto neighborhoods (that I eventually moved to). but all good.
Reviewed November 16, 2018
8.0
Excellent
ABDUL from Malaysia
Family with young children
Double shared bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
Good location but room quite small”
Location is great, just a walking distance to few main attractions.. easy to find, and family mart are just a few steps away. Staffs was friendly and can speak English. Clean, cozy and comfortable but room are rather small for me. Overall I have a pleasant stay here, and definitely deserved recommendation.
Reviewed November 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Wandy
Couple
Double shared bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Good location, Good price”
Good location, Good price
Reviewed October 27, 2018
5.6
nur from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
so so”
Location quite far from kyoto station. but the room just okay. female toilet is upstairs
Reviewed October 24, 2018
7.6
Very good
Deck from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Very budget accomodation. ”
This guesthouse has everything you need. Great location. But if you expect more than the basic, you need to look elsewhere. Here, you need to make your own bed. Room is very narrow. The wall is paper thin. Even twin room comes with bunk bed. I had to climb up and down the bed everyday. One of the staff was kinda rude.
Reviewed October 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Shaeli from Australia
Couple
Double shared bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Very central location and clean”
Close the nightlife strip of pubs etc. (7 mins walk). We didn't need to catch a taxi or train anywhere the location is good and walking distance to everything.The toilets and showers were very clean.
Reviewed September 28, 2018
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you liked our hostel very much. And we hope you did a lot of good shopping around our hostel and enjoyed it. We are looking forward to seeing you again here so please come back anytime you like. Thank you for your review and sorry for the late reply.
Responded September 28, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
10.0
Exceptional
Nur from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Everthing was perfect!”
Then room & bed was comfortable, toilet & shower are clean, location near the kawaramachi station, the staff was so friendly. Everything was perfect, i love it!
Reviewed September 26, 2018
Thank you for stying with us this time. We were really happy to have you here. And we are so glad you loved our hostel very much, really appreciate that. We always wait for you coming back to here to spend wonderful time together again. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!!!!
Responded September 28, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
9.2
Exceptional
Tee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room with Bunk Bed and Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Cozy hostel”
This hostel is slightly further from Kyoto JR station (need to walk a distance, but still manageable). as with most hostels in Japan, it is very clean and comfortable to stay. there is bus to tourist attractions & nearby train stations.
Reviewed September 22, 2018
Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you liked our hostel. We will try hard to make our hostel more comfortable for the guests, so please visit us again when you visit Kyoto. Thank you for your review and we really appreciate it.
Responded September 26, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
6.4
Good
Chingman from United Kingdom
Group
Twin Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Good”
Very close the to station and shops. Slow wifi though.
Reviewed August 29, 2018
Thank you for choosing our hostel and sharing time with us. We are really glad you liked the location of our hostel and hope you enjoyed shopping and felt convenient to go places. But we are very sorry for the inconvenience of the wifi. We apologize the situation made you so upset. We need a lot of improvements for our hostel so thank you for being honest and telling us the truth. And we also thank you for your review.
Responded September 01, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
8.4
Excellent
Nardsiri from Thailand
Solo traveler
Bed in 6 Bed Female Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Excellent”
Very nice place and very good location. Staffs are very friendly and very helpful.
Reviewed August 24, 2018
Thank you for staying us and giving us such a great review. We are so happy about it. We really want you to come back here and you are always welcome! We hope we will see you soon and have another special days together. Thank you for reviewing.
Responded August 24, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
8.4
Excellent
JAE from South Korea
Solo traveler
Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
very good guesthouse”
good guesthouse. especially location and 4th floor kitchen was very good. a little dark atmosphere is needed to improved.
Reviewed August 16, 2018
Thank you for choosing us! We hope to see you again in Kyoto someday!
Responded August 19, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
9.2
Exceptional
Mohan from Malaysia
Group
Standard Quad Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Value for money”
Pros : 1. Great location. Very near to train station, bus stops & shopping district. Has a family mart beside open 24hrs. 2. Clean sheets, well kept bathrooms + toilets and able to use at other floors if needed. 3. Has a large lounge with TV + kitchen + tables. Great to hang out for meal / discussion etc. 4. Great staff at reception. Sidonie attended to us and offered a smooth check in + helped us to plan our sightseeing trip in Kyoto. Deeply appreciate it. 5. Computers to use at lobby, free welcome drink (iced tea), umbrellas for borrowing, rooftop with simple chairs to hang out. Cons : 1. Room had mild carpet smell (little disturbing in the beginning, but was able to adapt). Overall was a great backpacker place with good value for money. Would definitely recommend to others.
Reviewed August 07, 2018
Thank you for choosing us! We try our best to make sure you have a pleasant stay while you are in Kyoto. We hope you had an unforgettable experience in Japan and hope to see you next time!
Responded August 19, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
10.0
Exceptional
Sirinthorn from Australia
Couple
Twin Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Excellent hostel..hotel. very clean and organised”
Great locaton
Reviewed August 07, 2018
Thank you for staying with us and your kind reviewing. We always wait for you coming back here and we want you to spend another nights with us again! We look forward to seeing you! Thank you for your reviewing.
Responded August 11, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
8.0
Excellent
Juita from Indonesia
Group
Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
nice and good”
really nice place and good location
Reviewed August 07, 2018
Hi. Thank you for staying with us and your reviewing. We are so happy to get a good opportunity to meet you here and you are always welcome to come back here! We will wait for the chance to see you again.
Responded August 11, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
8.0
Excellent
Juita from Indonesia
Group
Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
nice and good”
really nice place and good location
Reviewed August 07, 2018
Thank you for staying with us. We hope you had great time here and enjoyed yourself a lot.Please come back anytime you like and we wait for you coming back near future!Thank you for your reviewing.
Responded August 11, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
10.0
Exceptional
Emily from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
worth for the price! ”
Room and toilet are clean, staff is friendly and best location ever. Worth for the price
Reviewed July 18, 2018
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in Kyoto someday!
Responded July 21, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
6.8
Good
PETER from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Bed in 6- Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Too noisy”
There were these 2 dudes who talked loudly the entire night at the pantry area non-stop about some stupid gaming stuffs. They looked like they were high on something. And the staff did nothing to stop them.
Reviewed July 12, 2018
We are very sorry for all the inconvenience we might have caused. We strive to keep our place safe and fun for all of our guests so we appreciate you letting us know your experience here at Khaosan Kyoto. We hope to see you again someday.
Responded July 21, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
7.2
Very good
Markos from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 5 nights in June 2018
problem in age of property as well as quality of guests it attracts”
Toilet bidet in one restroom not working, while rest isn't working like they should, creaking uneven floors on the upper levels, 2 washing machines to serve entire hostel. Guests not washing and drying kitchenware as requested, eating in bed and talking past 10pm curfew. All in, lousy fellow guests. Maybe it's because the Chitose sister hostel is far superior in newness of facilities and quality of fellow guests that I'd not recommend this outlet.
Reviewed June 14, 2018
Thank you for staying with us. But we were very sorry the situation of our hostel made you disappointed. We need a lot of improvements to sort out them. Thank you for all the true feeling and they help us to improve our hostel. We will try hard to do for a change. Thanks again.
Responded August 11, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
7.6
Very good
Jose from China
Group
Twin Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Excellent located hostel with friendly staff and nice shared area.”
Pros: weird but big windows, so you can open it a let the kinda smelly (humidity) room breath. The beads are solid (I am a big guy, very nice for me). Location is amazing, near everything you need and wish. The shared area is big enough for 30 people, great kitchen. Good storage room. Sex shop next door ;.p Cons: Humidity smell in the corridors. They don't provide towels (rent 100yen) and they are small. The toilets are always dirty.
Reviewed May 22, 2018
Thank you for staying with us. But we were sorry for some points you mentioned. We will improve our situation. Your comments were very helpful and hope we'll see you here again! Thank you for your reviewing.
Responded June 02, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
9.2
Exceptional
Jessica from Indonesia
Group
Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Exceptional”
Very friendly staffs, nice and comfy place.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again when you come back to Kyoto.
Responded June 09, 2018
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss