Book Now: Kimberley Hotel Georgetown

Very good
From 3309 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Reviews of Kimberley Hotel Georgetown Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (3308)Booking.com Reviews (1256)
7.8
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities6.8
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service7.9
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (3308)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1521 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
Bee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Ok”

There's a footprint of shoes on the bedsheet upon check-in and bedside table was not cleaned too. Glad that the helpful staff Tommy helped to get the issues fixed immediately after I showed him the pics.

Reviewed May 13, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Alyjohn from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good budget hotel in town”

Overall good stay.

Reviewed May 20, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Chee from Singapore
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

For short stay is acceptable”

I have booked for 3 nights with very cheap price at SGD23 per night. Location is central, also very near to Kimberly night hawkers, Pragin Mall, Komtar where you can spend some time shopping. No problem walking from here to all the heritage streets or you can conveniently Grab a car from here to any where. Just that they provide only shower gel and shampoo in the toilet. I like the filtered hot and cold drinking water in the corridor. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Reviewed May 16, 2019
5.2
chan from Singapore
Group
Amethyst
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

customer service - room quality”

We had booked 3 rooms and check in btw 7 to 8 pm. We requested to have room on the same floor but the lady at the counter Ms Fatimah saying that due to we check in late and unable to place us in same floor, as such we 3 rooms was being place in all 3 different level. When we checked into one of the room, we noticed that the aircon and phone is not working, we immed went down to make a feedback and the counter lady said will send service man for the aircon but not for the phone as in too late. We told her that we been placed at 3 different level and we need a phone to communicate, you can't expect us to run up and down?? We requested to change room and she able to get a room on the same level with the other 2 room given earlier. Why earlier she told us that we came in late and no more room on same level???? Is she trying to be funny and what's wrong with check in at 7pm??? That is not all, she need us to pay an additional of RM20 for room changed? Why? I need an answer. thanks.

Reviewed May 09, 2019
7.2
Very good
Bernadette from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Overall it was a nice stay. Room is big enough for me and my son. I don't mind staying there again.”

Walking distance to Komtar.

Reviewed May 20, 2019
6.8
Good
Junix from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Internet barely worked during 3-day stay”

Get atleast decent ISP next time

Reviewed May 20, 2019
7.6
Very good
Lee from Singapore
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Very good”

Standard room was not clean pillow was smelling did not change casing

Reviewed May 20, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Chan from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Nice design, clean, value for money and walking distance to nice hawker food around”

The hotel is very new. The design is minimalist and clean. The price is really worth it with free breakfast included for all types of room. Walking distance to lots famous hawker food and morning market. Comes with free access to water dispenser machine which is really helpful for tourist.

Reviewed April 22, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit ! Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
9.6
Exceptional
Nurdalila from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Excellent”

The location of the hotel is strategic and close to most of the attraction. You may get your breakfast at Bee Hwa Cafe (5 min walk from the hotel). Nice cafe with delicious Penang food (mee udang, char kuey teow, curry mee). Near to the famous cendol (cendol beratur) and other food stall. Big bed, the room is small but just nice for the two of us. Water pressure is strong so it is nice to have hot shower after go around Penang. Overall, this hotel is excellent for budget traveller who want nice hotel.

Reviewed April 09, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit ! Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
9.6
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Nice hotel look classy but space might be an issue”

Nice stay i must say. From security guard who assist me to park my car to the receptionist. credit must be given to them. Room is clean & tidy but the space too cramped for me however good lighting might improve your mood as well. Most important the hotel smell nice to me.

Reviewed April 04, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Feel free to opt for Deluxe or Suite room to enjoy a bigger space for your next trip. Looking forward to see you again ! Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
8.4
Excellent
Benjamin from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Very nice and cozy place to stay - but not for work”

I've stayed for an extended week-end in Kimberley Hotel Georgetown. The hotel is nice and located very well. The only thing that could significantly improved is the internet connection. It is such slow that I wasn't even to work properly with my laptop. I think that is an issue everywhere on that island. The staff is very friendly and attentive although the check-in process could be improved - it took quite a long time for it. Besides that it was a pleasant stay.

Reviewed March 28, 2019
8.8
Excellent
SOON from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Excellent”

Overall it was very good. Only comment is that the Indian male cleaner was friendly but too "efficient" for knocking my room door and for entering my room when I was out, for a few times during my stay.

Reviewed March 01, 2019

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced in dealing with our room recently and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to solved the situations Thank You

Responded March 18, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
8.8
Excellent
NADARAJAN from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Enjoyable Stay”

Small comfortable room with all basic amenities except soap and toothbrush.Exposed mini wardrobe with 3 hangers.Window locked but you only see another window and wall.Good hot and cold water flow in shower with a shower curtain.Good reception on LCD TV. Very competive pricing.Good location on a narrow srreet with parking on both sides of the road.Dining in Restuarant located beside Hotel.Will definitely come again.Seems to be very popular with with the locals.

Reviewed February 26, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Darell from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Where you want to be ”

The Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue Mall just across the street, with Chulia St. Just three blocks down this is the best place to be in George Town. The rooms are super value for money, all the amenities that you would expect from a hotel while at budget prices. The staff speaks perfect English and is very helpful.

Reviewed February 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Excellent for visa run, seeing Georgetown”

I've been doing runs to Penang for Thai visas for about 10 years. I know the town pretty well, and have a long list of favorite places to eat. This hotel is located within walking distance to dozens of my favorites. The rooms are clean and quiet. Staff were outstandingly helpful, and very efficient even when the front desk was swamped with customers checking in and out. Only drawback, while I was there the wifi would cut out from time to time.

Reviewed February 23, 2019
6.4
Good
Choo from Malaysia
Group
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Small room but excellent location”

It is sad to see the hotel in this state as my last visit years back was way much better. The room is small but we are fine with it, since we only stay here for only less than 10hours. But end up we only appreciate the location. We entered the room with a very strong musty smell... Pillow, bedsheet and bath towel is yellowish and with stains (it actually looks very dirty). Furniture in the room is not clean properly and dusty. Toilet tissue were left half a roll when we check/in. The air-conditioning is very very warm even-though we already changed it to 20°C for a less than 11sqm room. Undebatable the hotel located at a superb strategically location in the heart of Georgetown, and within walking distance to the most of the famous eateries and sightseeing. But, in this competitive city, there is lot of boutique hotel and even chain hotel that offered similar rate in the city. To be compatible, you might need to consider to upkeep your rooms.

Reviewed May 06, 2019
7.6
Very good
Mui from Malaysia
Group
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Overall was good, EXCEPT one matter”

Other facilities was good, most of the service was good, most of the staffs there was good except 1 front desk staffs. On our check in day, we asked for extra key card, the staff explained the reason we cant get any extra but he was quite impolite. Night before we check out, we called for toilet paper in room and he asked us to go down and take it from the front desk by ourself. And he sounded so impatient. We hope this senior front desk male staff will improve his service attitude.

Reviewed April 28, 2019

Hello Mui, Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your feedback. We will look into this issue and resend the staff for service training. Thanks,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
6.4
Good
Yoke from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Good”

The con is shower cubicle is too small and water will flooded the bathroom floor after showering. The pro is it has the best location.

Reviewed May 17, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Tan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Room a bit too small but overall is good.”

Breakfast can have a bit more variety instead of a few fixed sets. Let the guest have some other choices than having the same stuffs everyday.

Reviewed May 16, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Li from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Comfortable Stay”

Nice place to stay over for the weekends. Beautiful place and convenient to move around.

Reviewed May 12, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
rushien from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Nice hotel”

The hotel is clean and good environment Its suitable for short stay Breakfast was not so good but acceptable And, not easy to find parking around the hotel

Reviewed May 20, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Stephanie from Australia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Great location in Georgetown”

Love the location of Kimberley Hotel as you can walk to a lot of Penang's attraction and there's plenty of food places around if you are ever hungry. The only negative I have is that the hotel could up their game on their cleanliness level a bit but besides that, I have no complaints.

Reviewed February 20, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

great staff, great place to stay”

VERY centrally located, reasonably priced. lacks a fitness center but the helpfulness of the staff makes up for it. For example i left a sleep mask in my room when i checked out. I went back 2 days later and they found it and gave it to me. The room was very clean and very quiet. When I come back with my girl I'll probably spring for a room with a balcony.

Reviewed February 17, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Zi from Singapore
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Excellent”

The location is quite good. Eateris very near by, just walking distance. There is a small car park behind the hotel, need to check with the hotel security officer is there is available car park. The room is simple and clean. Only 1 key is provided even have asked for 2nd key, hence, it causes inconvenient when we travel back to hotel separately.

Reviewed February 12, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Lulu from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Best location hotel in Georgetown ”

Very good location in the center of Georgetown that nearby shopping mall and all the famous food stalls. Limited car park, room is a bit small but just nice for a rest for two nights. Overall is fine but not for the bathroom, something wrong with the hand-shower. But we didn't ask for change room as we found out the problem was in the late night just accepted it.

Reviewed January 22, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Martin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard King
Stayed 6 nights in January 2019

Not Good”

Excellent location but that's the only positive. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Only one small pillow. WiFi was slow and could only connect to one device. Shower badly designed and flood when used. Towels too high out of reach. Toilet often not working properly. I wouldn't recommend it.

Reviewed January 18, 2019
8.4
Excellent
KAIYIN from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

A super good location with limited private parking.”

Fast check-in and check-out. Friendly staff. The room is small, with dust too. Bed and pillow are comfortable. Sound proof is poor. Overall it's value for the price because the location is good. Walking within a minute can find food, famous penang cendol; within 10 minutes can reach penang street art and alots of good cafe good food around.

Reviewed December 31, 2018
8.0
Excellent
SUEZ from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Nice location, Comfortable Room, Nice Breakfast”

Hotel have a very nice location,it is in the town centre. Just need to take a few minutes to walk to the Komtar and There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel at night . The hotel car park is very limited.The room is simple and nice but jz a little bit small,the Bed is very comfortable. The hotel breakfast is nice but limited choices. The restaurant is very nice and feel good , i like the Restaurant decoration so much.

Reviewed December 03, 2018
6.4
Good
Chok from Singapore
Group
Standard King
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Good location”

Good location can find nice street foods. Near to Komtar.

Reviewed May 14, 2019
6.0
Soon from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Above average”

Aircon not working

Reviewed May 11, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Beng from Singapore
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Value for money and good location”

Nice hotel which located at the central of Pulau Pinang. Will stay again when go Penang.

Reviewed May 08, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Ronan from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Cute boutique hotel”

This is a charming little boutique hotel, not bad value.

Reviewed May 08, 2019
8.8
Excellent
NURUL from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Friendly staff”

The staff (mr Kana) is friendly and he even give us advice where to go in Penang.

Reviewed May 03, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Gary from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Perfect for me”

I am solo traveler and the accommodation work perfect for me. Great location for walking to everything.

Reviewed May 01, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
mohd from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Good Location”

Best hotel

Reviewed April 30, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit =) Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
9.6
Exceptional
BENJAMIN from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

I was there to enjoy Georgetown ”

As I do not rely on much of the services of the hotel. It was a good price to pay for the room I was offered. And that is all I can ask for. Thanks

Reviewed April 29, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit =) Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
8.0
Excellent
yee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Good location ”

Convenient and reasonable room rate.

Reviewed April 27, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit =) Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
8.0
Excellent
Sheila from Malaysia
Couple
Raffles Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Very good”

nothing

Reviewed April 26, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit =) Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
10.0
Exceptional
Sean from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Overall Good Hotel”

Will back next trip, thanks for your service.

Reviewed April 24, 2019

Hello, Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit =) Cheers,

Responded April 30, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
6.4
Good
Khairul from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Limited Parking Space”

Overall is good except guest parking only so limited

Reviewed May 20, 2019
7.2
Very good
Ching from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Very good”

The location is so good, near to tourist attractions and famous food stall. Very convenient.

Reviewed May 20, 2019
4.8
Diana from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

Terrible and dirty 6 night stay”

I checked in to find the room was not clean. There were hairs on the bathroom floor/sink and in the bed. The sheets were dirty and stained. The last straw was when the morning after my first night, I found a bunch of little insects crawling all over the table and wall near the television. I immediately went to the front desk to ask to switch rooms (I had to stay here because everything was already paid for 6 nights). No one apologized or seemed phased when I told them there were insects all over the table. They said they could not move me until other guests had checked out. I had to suggest to them to hold a room for me after the guests checked out. Later that afternoon, I changed rooms. There were no insects crawling on the table/walls but there were a number of moths flying around. There were again hairs in the bathroom and in the bed. The next day, I placed the card with instructions on my bed to have the sheets changed because they were stained with black marks. Later that afternoon, I returned to find the sheets were never changed as the black marks were still there. No one seems to care about the cleanliness of the rooms or the satisfaction of the guests despite the significant amount of money paid. I would not recommend, nor would I return.

Reviewed April 17, 2019
6.0
Melanie from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Great location. Room small for a std size. Slightly pricey given the size and facilities provided.”

Good thing about this hotel is the superb location. Its very close to Kimberley street food stalls. Within walking distances to Lebuh Campbell, Chulia street, Prangin Mall and Chowrasta market. I booked a standard king room. Both room and shower was really small for a standard size room. Cleanliness can be improve. I did asked reception for a sweep in the room as I found it quite dusty upon check-in but that did not happen. So, for the price paid, I was not entirely satisfied with the room but I can't argue with the superb location though.

Reviewed April 09, 2019
7.6
Very good
Chen from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Good location n friendly staff”

Location is good .Staff is helpful.Parking is problem cos they only have limited.Cleaniness of rooms are bad.Certain rooms have smell of cookings.I have stayed there few times but this times anit disappointed have smelly room but the staff abit helpful help us to change room

Reviewed April 06, 2019
4.8
Elsa from Singapore
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Review score”

I went with another lady friend of mine. We initially booked at a standard twin bed. The pathway of the room was so narrow that basically if you put your luggage on the floor and open, you basically have no space to walk ard the room. We requested to upgrade and paid extra, and managed to get a Deluxe King room which space wise, it's much much better. However, the housekeeping staff were not very diligent in cleaning. 2nd day staying in hotel, we found replenishment of tissue paper lying all over the side table without putting in to the tissue holder. 3rd day of staying in hotel, we found ourselves left with no toilet paper despite after housekeeping is done, which makes me start pondering if they did enter the toilet at all, because nothing was cleaned from what I observed.

Reviewed April 01, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Lai from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Overall is great”

The stay was a nice one with great service and nice food. Somehow, the room was somewhat unexpectedly small but it was a quiet room. The hotel is located in the city centre and there are many tourist sports nearby. What have made me slightly unhappy was the limited in-house parking which was always full where I suspected was due to non hotel guest out-comers.

Reviewed March 31, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Shazatul from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

The best affordable hotel”

Location wise very strategic, near to Heritage Site. Staff are super friendly, the room was spacious & clean I should try the breakfast next time or upgrade my self to a suite maybe Thanks for the hospitality!

Reviewed March 29, 2019
6.4
Good
Lyana from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

ok but a bit small”

it is an ok hotel because of the location and the staff is really nice. but the room, its very like very very small. only fit the bed and limited space to walk on. I book kings room. but still so small. the hallway dont have an aircon and the aircond in the room is very very slow which make the room so hot and took time to gets cold. if you wanna stay here for the location than yes. but still got more option actually that is not in agoda. because the room is just too small. maybe for other rooms might got some space.

Reviewed March 14, 2019

Dear Guest , Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced in dealing with our room recently and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to solved the situations Thank You

Responded March 18, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
7.2
Very good
Phuong from Vietnam
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Standard Quality”

I've been here once and came back in December, the service and quality are still as same as the previous time I visit. The best point I love this hotel is their perfectly position, near to KOmtar, near to the famous street food and easily to go to old town. Although the room is kind of small but acceptable, friendly staffs. Next time when I visit Penang I would book this hotel again.

Reviewed March 11, 2019

Dear Guest , Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Responded March 18, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
6.8
Good
Ai from Malaysia
Group
Raffles Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Overall stay: Good stay”

We stayed Raffles Junior Suite. The single bed is too small. The bath side flooded. Soundproof is weak. The price of the hotel is affordable, and walking distance to Komtar. 10mins walk to top attractions area. Local food is just right infront of the hotel.

Reviewed March 07, 2019

Dear Ms Ai Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced in dealing with our room recently and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to solved the situations Thank You

Responded March 18, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
7.2
Very good
Ting from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Feedback about staying experience ”

I booked the hotel with discount on Agoda, when I entered my room I found there is nothing in the bathroom such as toothbrush, face towel, razor, shampoo. The reason is because this room's price is on discount.....but the hotel showed they will provide the basic equipment to customer on Agoda.

Reviewed March 05, 2019

dear Guest Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced in dealing with our room recently and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to solved the situations Thank You

Responded March 18, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
6.0
Nur from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Everything is prefect except very smelly bed sheets ”

The location is good, near to Komtar bus station and Perangin Mall. The staffs are very friendly. The room is quite small but the worse of all, our bedroom is very smelly. We change our room once, and the staff help us by changing the bed sheets but still when we wake up at the morning, that bad smell become stronger. Really ruined our mood. Oh I wish I hve never stay here!

Reviewed March 03, 2019

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced in dealing with our room recently and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to solved the situations Thank You

Responded March 18, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
6.0
Melvin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Disappointed”

Ive stayed here a few times, but things got bad over time. 1) Room had a horrible stench. Changed room but it was still the same. 2) There were holes in the towels. HOLES. 3) Location is good. But i gave up on this hotel. I hope they would change.

Reviewed March 02, 2019

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced in dealing with our room recently and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to solved the situations Thank You

Responded March 18, 2019
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
5.2
CHUA from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 7 nights in February 2019

Stingerd on providing standard item such as shader cap for lady for standard room. Room size squeezy”

Looks good but didn't do good. Not value for money. For same amount of room charge there are better choices in vicinity. Standard room very squeezy, refused to provide shower cap for lady guess even we requested. Booked 7 nights and inconvenienced for the stay. For higher rated room I would have chosen better hotels nearby. No recommendations.

Reviewed February 23, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Tifanni from Indonesia
Family with young children
Suite (3 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Good”

This is my second booking at Kimberley Goergetown Hotel.. i would recommend this hotel to my family and friends who will travel to Penang.. especially because the location is so strategic.. easy to find food and close to shopping mall.. but if you like having bigger room, please consider book the king size room instead of queen.. because the queen room is quite small.. The hotel design is quite cozy, i like it..

Reviewed October 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Nur from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Awesome”

cheap price on agoda, very clean, well maintained, and friendly staff, location wise is very near to other attraction place in penang, but limited parking for hotel guest, but overall, twas a nice stay here. keep up the good service.

Reviewed October 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
ZAIBO from China
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

It’s nice to stay!”

Location is perfect.One minute walk to the bus hub and food market.Room is too small but that’s how it is at that old town area in Penang.Staff was really awesome.Especially Sumon who helped me clean my room.Two suggestions to Hotel. One is please make a rooftop or somewhere where we can hang up washed shirt.Another one is please make the terrace or balcony nice again,just like the photos you are showing on website.Now there is nothing at balcony;)Anyway generally it’s a very good hotel I and my mum did enjoy our stay very much. Thank you guys!

Reviewed October 22, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Nur from Brunei Darussalam
Family with teens
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

good location for sightseeing”

its good location for sightseeing, as penang have streets with arts on wall, if you know where to go. easy to get food nearby & have small mini market near hotel. our room area were small but is ok space for two. overall is good hotel to stay for 1 night or two.

Reviewed October 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Manjit from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Totally highly recommended hotel”

Kimberley Hotel is simply the hotel of choice for all travellers regardless of budgets. Its heritage character is as striking as the incredibly friendly staff. Its location is central: you can explore the CBD and outlying areas on feet; the rest on Grab Taxi. Local eating joints are within walking distsnces. The entire hotel is very clean and secure. I’ll be returning to Kimberley Hotel in a shot the next time I visit Penang. Thank you to all its staff. Ny best wishes to each one of you. - Manjit Bhatia, London, UK

Reviewed October 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Potchana from Thailand
Group
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Best location in Gorge town ”

Modern hotel in center of Georgetown. We can walk anywhere we would. Good attention from hotel as I sent the inquiries message about extra bed via Agoda application chat box, hotel replied back within 15 minutes which is very impressive. The staffs (Receptions, Maids, Guards ) are helpful and smiley. Also there is excellent hotel restaurant (Actions), the food and price is more than valuable. Also the waitress are very helpful.

Reviewed September 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Song from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

'A Class Above' Among 3-Star Hotels”

This is my sincere compliment to Kimberley Hotel. Located at the centre of Georgetown, it has the most strategic access to the best street food within its close proximity, especially at night. Hotel maintenance is of excellent standards, keeping the cleanliness at tip-top condition. This hotel is also doing great in its cafe - "Auction Room", serving generous and quality breakfasts and brewed coffee. On the price against comparable peers, you will find this Hotel is relatively cheaper after considering the quality and comfort of stay. Staff are courteous and friendly would definitely cheer you up, whether you are on personal or business trip. No regret.

Reviewed September 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Samsuri from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Clean, great location.”

The room is small but clean. The housekeepers clean the room every day without fail. Located within a walking distance from Komtar. Parking spaces are limited, but Grab is very efficient and abundant of cars everywhere in Georgetown.

Reviewed August 21, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Chantal from Switzerland
Group
Standard King
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Exceptional”

Really friendly staff, rather small car parking - had to park in the street & buy coupons, breakfast too small for price of the hotel (continental: only toast and some fruits), clean room, walking distance to all major tourist points

Reviewed August 01, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Kim from Singapore
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Good clean budget hotel with excellent location”

Just a short walking distance to Komtar bus station on one end of the road and plenty of street food in the evening at the other end of the road. Friendly and helpful staff. Hope they can extend the WIFI connectivity until check-out time instead of cutting it off in the morning.

Reviewed July 28, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Alex from Malaysia
Group
Standard King
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Value for money & great location ”

Great small hotel in design, modern yet have colonial feel. Quality of detailing - very good.. very clean, air-con top notch. Water pressure - very good bones with good hot water. Location very central in Georgetown with all kinds of street food around,

Reviewed July 25, 2018
8.0
Excellent
WONG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Valued hotel and strategically located”

This hotel is very strategically located near Komtar and eateries. THE ROOM - booked twin single - was cramp but acceptable, bathroom was cramp but good. THE LOBBY - lobby was spacious . THE STAFF - Very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed June 05, 2018
7.6
Very good
Alexis from Malaysia
Group
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Noisy Apartment”

The hotel and the staff were decent but as a light sleeper, it was basically hell for me as this hotel is not sound proof at all. I could hear other guests walking about and the cleaners talking and laughing very loudly throughout my stay here. If you're a light sleeper like myself, please re-think before booking your stay here. After all, you would definitely need a good night's rest after a long and tiring day out in Penang...

Reviewed May 08, 2019
4.0
kam from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

cleanliness (Bad)”

The cleanliness is very bad in the room (205). A lot of feathers and oil stains on the bed sheet and so many ants on the table. Shower cap from last tenants still hanging on behind of the bedroom door. When I requested to change the bed sheets from receptionist (Winnie), she said we just stay one night. Cannot change for us. I very disappointed on this kind of service.

Reviewed May 02, 2019
7.2
Very good
Pency from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Very good”

Pros: good location, walking distance to Kimberly street food night market, Chowrasta market, Chulia Street food night market and other popular food stalls. Suitable for food lover. Cons: room is small, I able to hear my neighbour next door talking. No hair dryer but you can borrow from hotel if available.

Reviewed May 02, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Saravanan from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Superb Stay”

Worth the money you pay. Most of the places to visit are located around. Walking distance

Reviewed May 16, 2019